Colorado Secretary of State logo - cube with a C in it

Colorado
Secretary of State
Jena Griswold

Colorado Secretary of State logo - Colorado Secretary of State Jena Griswold

Picture of Secretary of State Jena Griswold

×
Colorado Secretary of State logo - cube with a C in it

Colorado
Secretary of State
Jena Griswold

×

Election Crimes, Rules, and Penalties FAQs

Q1. What are the rules about campaigning in or near polling places?

A1. Under Colorado law, Electioneering (aka, campaigning) is prohibited from taking place either inside a polling place or within 100 feet of any building in which a polling location is located. In addition, electioneering is prohibited within 100 feet of a drop-box. Each polling place must post signs marking the limit.

Q2. What campaign activities are not allowed in a polling place?

A2. Voters may NOT advocate for the election or defeat of a candidate or a ballot measure either inside a polling place or within 100 feet of the entrance to a polling place or drop-box. While inside a polling place, voters may NOT wear pins, t-shirts, hats, or other apparel that displays the name or likeness of any candidate who is on the ballot or bearing the number, title, subject or logo of a ballot issue or question that is on the ballot. Additionally, the soliciting of signatures for a candidate petition, a recall petition, or a petition to place a ballot issue or ballot question on a subsequent ballot may NOT occur within 100 feet of a polling place.

Campaign workers are allowed outside of polling places to offer water, snacks, and other items to voters who are waiting to vote. These "comfort teams," however, may NOT campaign or wear any apparel or accessories bearing the name or image of a candidate, political party, or ballot measure if they operate within 100 feet of the polling place.

Q3. What are the penalties for voting or registering to vote if I am ineligible?

A3. It is unlawful for any person to procure a false voter registration. To do so, is considered a Class 5 Felony, resulting in either a fine of up to $5,000.00, imprisonment in the county jail for up to 18 months, or both.

See Sections 1-13-203 and 1-13-704.5 of the Colorado Revised Statutes for the full description of the law and corresponding penalties.

Q4. Is it illegal to vote twice?

A4. Yes. Casting two ballots in an election is a crime. Upon discovering that a voter cast two ballots, the clerk and recorder must refer the matter to the appropriate District Attorney’s office or to the Colorado Attorney General for investigation and prosecution.

Q5. Is it illegal for voters to show their ballots to others to reveal how they voted?

A5. Voters can show their ballot to others, if it is not done in furtherance of an election violation—like vote buying. Your local county clerk may, however, impose certain restrictions on where and how you can reveal how you voted. To ensure you are in full compliance with the law, please contact your local county clerk for more details.