School Board Candidates
For more information about school board elections and candidates, including upcoming filing dates, see the Campaign finance information sheet and filing calendar (PDF).
Q1. When do I file my candidate affidavit?
A1. Candidates must file a candidate affidavit with our office within 10 days of becoming a candidate. A person becomes a candidate when they publicly announce their intent to run for office and thereafter receives a contribution or makes an expenditure in support of their candidacy. The candidate must fill out and submit the candidate affidavit electronically through the Secretary of State’s online campaign finance disclosure website, TRACER.
Q2. Do I have to register a candidate committee?
A2. If a candidate plans to accept contributions in support of his or her candidacy, you must register a candidate committee. If the candidate only spends his or her own money in support of the candidacy, registration of a candidate committee is not required. Candidates must register their candidate committee online using the Secretary of State’s online campaign finance disclosure website, TRACER.
Q3. Do I have to file reports about my expenditures?
A3. Yes. Candidates must file disclosure reports for all expenditures using the Secretary of State’s online campaign finance disclosure website, TRACER.
Q4. I was offered a contribution, but I haven't registered a candidate committee. Can I accept the contribution and register the committee afterward?
A4. No. Candidates cannot accept any contributions before registering a candidate committee.
Q5. How many people have to be on a candidate committee?
A5. A committee can be composed of only the candidate; beyond the candidate, Colorado law does not restrict the number of natural persons a candidate committee may consist of.
Q6. Where do I register my candidate committee and file disclosure reports?
A6. Candidates must file their committee registration and disclosure reports electronically with the Secretary of State’s online campaign finance disclosure website, TRACER.
Q7. Does my candidate committee have to file reports if we had no activity?
A7. Yes. Candidate Committees must file a disclosure report even if no activity (contributions or expenditures) occurred during the reporting period.
Q8. Is there a penalty for filing my disclosure report late?
A8. Yes. The Secretary of State’s Office assesses a penalty of $50 per day for late filing of disclosure reports, including weekends and holidays.
Q9. Who is prohibited from contributing?
A9. Contributions from the following entities and individuals are prohibited:
- Corporations (for profit, non-profit, domestic, & foreign)
- Labor organizations
- Foreign governments
- Foreign citizens
- Anonymous or unknown persons (identity of the person contributing is unknown)
- Other candidate committees
Colorado law prohibits traditional "Pass the Hat" or "Fish Bowl" events unless they are modified to avoid anonymous contributions of $20 or more. (CPF Rule 10.7)
Q10. I have questions about campaign finance laws.
A10. Contact the Secretary of State’s Office at email@example.com or call 303-894-2200 (dial 3 then 1), or download the Campaign and Political Finance Manual (PDF).
Q11. I have questions about online filing (TRACER).
A11. Contact the Secretary of State’s Office at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 303-894-2200 (dial 3 then 1). Additional resources include the “Help with this page” or the “Learn to use TRACER” links on TRACER. The “Learn to use TRACER” section contains short videos on the various functions and features of the online campaign finance disclosure website.
Q12. I have questions about the school board elections.
A12. Questions specific to school board elections should be directed to the Colorado Association of School Boards.