Colorado Secretary of State logo - cube with a C in it

Colorado
Secretary of State
Wayne W. Williams

Picture of Secretary of State Wayne W. Williams

×
Colorado Secretary of State logo - cube with a C in it

Colorado
Secretary of State
Wayne W. Williams

×

Small-Scale Issue Committee

PDF version

What is a Small-Scale Issue Committee (SSIC)?

A committee that raises or spends money between $200 and $5,000 to support or oppose ballot measures. This new type of Issue Committee was created by Senate Bill 16-186. Colorado Revised Statutes are available on LexisNexis.

When does a Small-Scale Issue Committee need to register?

Within 10 calendar days of raising or spending in excess of $200 to support or oppose a ballot issue or question.

Where does a Small Scale Issue Committee need to register?

Small-Scale Issue Committees supporting or opposing statewide, county, school board, and special district issues register and file reports with the Secretary of State’s Office. Committees supporting or opposing municipal issues file with the municipal clerk. Committees in home-rule jurisdictions should check with the clerk in that jurisdiction.

What are the reporting requirements for Small-Scale Issue Committees?

A Small-Scale Issue Committee must begin filing disclosure reports when it exceeds $5,000.

What happens if a Small-Scale Issue Committee raises or expends more than $5,000?

Within 15 days of exceeding the $5,000 threshold, a Small-Scale Issue Committee must file a notice with the Secretary of State. Within 5 days of filing this notice, a SSIC must file an initial disclosure report detailing contribution and expenditure activity from $0 to $5,000, and convert its registration to a regular Issue Committee.

How does a Small-Scale Issue Committee notify the Secretary of State that it has exceeded the $5,000 activity threshold?

The Small-Scale Issue Committee files the form titled “ Notice of Change in Committee Type.”

A Small-Scale Issue Committee converting its registration to an Issue Committee must file an initial disclosure report; when is the report due and what information is required?

The initial disclosure report is due 5 days after notifying the Secretary of State that the Small-Scale Issue Committee has exceeded the $5,000 activity threshold. The report must include the name, address, and amount of each contribution and expenditure.

What disclosure schedule is assigned to a Small-Scale Issue Committee after it becomes an Issue Committee?

After the initial report is filed, an Issue Committee is assigned a schedule based on the committee’s purpose and whether or not the measure(s) being supported or opposed attempts access to or appears on the current year’s ballot or a future year’s ballot. Please review Campaign and Political Finance Rule 17.2.3 for more details. Note: Rules related to SSICs were adopted on August 11, 2016 with an anticipated effective date of September 30, 2016. View the current and updated rules.

After registering a Small-Scale Issue Committee in the Secretary of State’s online campaign finance filing system, TRACER, will the Small-Scale Issue Committees receive login information?

Yes. Registered Agents and Designated Filing Agents will have TRACER access. This access provides agent(s) with the ability to update registration information, enter contributions and expenditures, and file disclosure reports.

Do I have to register as a Small-Scale Issue Committee and then convert to an Issue Committee, or may I register as an Issue Committee from the beginning?

If you want to register as an Issue Committee from the beginning you may do so. The committee will be assigned a reporting schedule in accordance with Campaign and Political Finance Rule 17.2.3, and must to comply with all Colorado laws related to Issue Committees.

If I have more questions who should I contact?

Contact Campaign Finance Support by email at cpfhelp@sos.state.co.us or call 303-894-2200 (dial 3, then 1).