DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES

Office of Massage Therapy Licensure

MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSURE RULES AND REGULATIONS

3 CCR 722-1

[Editor's Notes follow the text of the rules at the end of this CCR Document.]

. . .

1.4 Licensure by Endorsement

The purpose of this Rule is to delineate the requirements for licensure by endorsement set forth in section 12-20-202(3), C.R.S.

An applicant who currently possesses an unrestricted license or registration, in good standing in another state or United States territory or through the federal government, or who holds a military occupational specialty, as defined in section 24-4-201, C.R.S., to practice massage therapy under the laws of another state may apply for licensure by endorsement, provided that:

- A. The applicant provides all application requirements as follows:
 - 1. A completed application for licensure on forms provided by the Director;
 - 2. All fees established by the Director pursuant to section 12-235-108(1)(d), C.R.S.;
 - 3. Proof that the applicant is at least eighteen years old in the form and manner required by the Director;
 - 4. An attestation that the applicant will maintain professional liability insurance as required by section 12-235-116, C.R.S., while practicing massage therapy in Colorado;
 - 5. A fingerprint-based criminal history record check as required by section 12-235-108(2), C.R.S., and in accordance with procedures set forth by the Director;
 - 6. Additional information as may be requested by the Director to fully and fairly evaluate the applicant's qualifications for licensure and to protect the public health, safety, and welfare;
- B. The applicant holds substantially equivalent education, experience, and credentials for massage therapy licensure or registration, as determined by the Director, or the applicant submits satisfactory proof to the Director that the applicant has held for at least one year a current and valid license to practice massage therapy in a jurisdiction with a scope of practice substantially similar to the scope of practice as defined in the Massage Therapy Practice Act and these Rules.

The Director deems the <u>education</u>, experience, and credentials to be substantially equivalent to those required by Colorado if:

1. The applicant has completed a massage therapy program consisting of a minimum of 500 hours of course work and clinical work at an approved school as defined in Rule 1.2(C).

- a. In the event the applicant did not attend an approved massage therapy program that consisted of at least 500 hours of course work and clinical work, the Director may grant fifty hours of education and training for each year of 400 hours of documented practice as a licensed or registered massage therapist in another state or United States territory.
- b. An applicant who has completed a massage therapy program at an NCBTMB assigned school that is in good standing with NCBTMB at the time the applicant completed the program is deemed to have satisfied Rule 1.4(C)(1). Programs that have been suspended and/or revoked by NCBTMB after the applicant graduated will be reviewed by the Director on a case-by-case basis.
- 2. The applicant has taken and passed the Board Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork ("BCETMB") offered by the NCBTMB, the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork ("NCETMB"), the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination ("MBLEX") offered by the FSMTB, or an exam approved by the Director.
- C. The applicant discloses any disciplinary actions taken against them in any other jurisdiction. The Director will review any disciplinary actions taken against the applicant pursuant to section 12-235-108(4)(d), C.R.S. Failure to report disciplinary actions may result in disciplinary proceedings pursuant to section 12-235-112, C.R.S., including but not limited to revocation, suspension, or denial of an application to practice massage therapy in Colorado.

. . .

Editor's Notes

History

Entire rule eff. 01/01/2009.

Rule 10 emer. rule eff. 04/01/2009; expired eff. 06/23/2009.

Entire rule eff. 07/01/2014.

Rules 4.A, 4.C.1, 5.C.1, 7, 9 eff. 01/30/2015.

Rules 1-3, 5, 6 eff. 01/30/2017.

Rules 4, 5 eff. 10/30/2017.

Rule 1.13, Appendix A emer. rules eff. 01/01/2020; expired 04/29/2020.

Rule 1.13, Appendix A eff. 04/30/2020.

Rules 1.4, 1.14, Appendix B eff. 12/15/2020.

Rules 1.4, 1.14 E-F eff. 05/30/2021.

Annotations

Rules 1.4, 1.14 E.4 (adopted 10/21/2020) were not extended by Senate Bill 21-152 and therefore expired 05/15/2021.