
 

 

1600 Broadway, Suite 100, Denver, CO 80202 P 303.862.3001 F 303.996.1330 highered.colorado.gov/dpos 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and Rulemaking Hearing 
 

Pursuant to § 24-4-103 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, you are hereby notified that the Colorado Private 
Occupational School Board will be holding a public rulemaking hearing as follows:  
DATE: October 22, 2019 
TIME:  9:30 AM 
LOCATION: Tivoli Student Center 

Auraria Higher Education Campus Room 320 B & C 
900 Auraria Parkway 
Denver, CO  80204 

 
The statutory authority for the rules is found in § 23-64-108(1)(i), C.R.S.  
 
Please be advised that the proposed rules may be changed after public comment and formal hearing.  At the time and 
place stated in this notice, the Board will afford interested persons an opportunity to submit written data, views, or 
arguments, and to submit the same orally.  The Board may limit the time allotted for oral submissions. Written 
submissions should be filed with the Board at least two (2) business days prior to the hearing. All submissions will be 
considered. Written submissions may be filed at the following address: 

 
Colorado Division of Private Occupational Schools 
1600 Broadway, Suite 2200  
Denver, CO 80202 
OR 
Lisa.Hill@dhe.state.co.us 

 
The basis and purpose of the proposed amendments to the Private Occupational School Board Rules and Regulations (8 
CCR 1504-1) is in large part for non-substantive changes such as typos, punctuation corrections, and other non-
substantive revisions.  Additional substantive changes throughout the rules: 

Revision/ 
Repeal/ 
Addition 

 
Rule I - Definitions 

 
Summary 

Revision D – Agent’s permit Revised to refer to agents as “(Sales Agent)”. 

Addition E - Ancillary/supplementary 
education 

Addition of this definition to clarify exemption provision in § 23-
64-104(1)(c), C.R.S. 

Revision G (now H) – Avocational/Ancillary 
Education 

Removal of “Ancillary” in order to create a separate definition for 
ancillary. 

New I – Bona fide Addition of this definition to clarify exemption provision in § 23-
64-104(1)(h), C.R.S. 

Revision 
 
 

J (now L) – Continuing Education • Definition is now limited to a professional license issued by a 

Colorado state licensing entity. 

• Added requirement for exemption pursuant to § 23-64-

104(1)(c). 

Repeal K - Correspondence occupational 
course/program 

Removal of this definition. 

New Q – Enrollment Addition of this definition. 

Revision S (now U) – In-state school Simplification of in-state school to include schools with physical 
presence offering educational services. 

Revision Y (now AA) - Out-of-state school Removal of schools offering educational services through the use 
of clinical sites within Colorado. 

Revision Z (now BB) – Physical presence Physical presence will no longer include educational services to 
be delivered within Colorado. 
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Revision GG (now II) – Stand-alone course Removal of occupational objective language to better distinguish 
between a “stand-alone course” and a “program”. 

Revision/ 
Repeal/ 
Addition 

Rule II Summary 

New G – GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE One-year expiration of all fee-based applications. 

Revision 
New 
New 

Fee Schedule • Formatting changes. 

• Addition of Exemption Request Fee of $100 per request. 

• Increase of Student Assessment Fee from $5.00/student to 

$6.00/student. 

Revision/ 
Repeal/ 
Addition 

Rule III Summary 

New A.3 – MINIMUM STANDARDS 
(Financial) 

Require financial statements submitted to the Board to be 
prepared by an independent public accountant or certified public 
accountant. 

Repeal B.4 MINIMUM STANDARDS (Approval 
of Education Services) 

Removal of administrative approval for continuing education 
courses that are approved through regulatory or governing 
agency, national professional association or trade organization, or 
through an accredited community college, college, or university.  

Repeal B.10 MINIMUM STANDARDS 
(Approval of Education Services) 

Removal of correspondence education requirements. 

Revision Rule E.2. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
(Educational staff) 

Clarification on the minimum employment/work experience 
requirements for instructional staff. 

Revision G Minimum Standards (Catalogs) 1.m.     Removal of correspondence requirements to be replaced 
by “distance education” requirements. 

1.r.      Reference to “licensed” agents changed to “approved” 
agents. 

1.u.(4).New requirement that the complaint policy not be in a 
smaller type-size.. 

 

Revision H MINIMUM STANDARDS (Student 
Enrollment Agreement) 

3.f      Removal of requirement to include school grievance 
policy. 

3.h      New requirement that the complaint policy not be in a 
smaller type-size. 

4.        New requirement that enrollment agreements be 
consistent with school catalog and that Division review is 
required prior to student distribution. 

Revision I MINIMUM STANDARDS (Student 
Records) 

Clarification on transcript and certificate of completion 
requirements. 

Revision/ 
Repeal/ 
Addition 

Rule IV Summary 

New Rule E APPLICATION FOR 
CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL AND 
SURETY REQUIREMENTS (Surety 
Bonds and Surety Bond 
Alternatives) 

Addition of process for Board to make demand on the surety of a 
school that has ceased operation. 

Revision/ 
Repeal/ 
Addition 

Rule V  

Revision ANNUAL FILINGS  • Clarification on annual filing requirements. 

• Restructuring of the rule for language clarification. 

• Removal of exemption for reporting stand-alone courses.  

 


