REGULATORY ANALYSIS FOR COLORADO MINIMUM WAGE ORDER NUMBER 31 7 CCR 1103-1

1. Description of classes of persons who will be affected by the rules, including classes that will bear the costs of the rules and classes that will benefit from the rules.

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 31 covers certain employers and employees in the following industries: retail and service, commercial support service, food and beverage, and health and medical. The coverage of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 31 is identical to the coverage of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 30. The Colorado State minimum wage also applies to those who receive federal minimum wage.

2. Description of the probable quantitative and qualitative impact of the adopted rules, economic or otherwise, upon the classes of affected persons.

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 31 adjusts the minimum wage rates pursuant to the provisions of Section 15 of Article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution. The state minimum wage increases from \$8.00 per hour to \$8.23 per hour, and the state minimum wage for tipped employees increases from \$4.98 per hour to \$5.21 per hour. Colorado Minimum Wage Order 31 also includes reference to the newly enacted Wage Protection Act of 2014.

3. Probable costs to the agency and other agencies of the implementation and enforcement of the adopted rules and any anticipated effect on state revenues.

No impact on costs or revenues is anticipated as a result of the rule changes.

4. Comparison of the probable costs and benefits of the adopted rules to the probable costs and benefits of inaction.

The Director finds that adoption of the rule is imperatively necessary to comply with state law.

5. Determination of whether there are less costly or less intrusive methods for achieving the purpose of the rules.

There are no known less costly or less intrusive means.

6. Description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rules that were seriously considered by the agency, and the reasons they were rejected in favor of the adopted rules.

Due to the requirements of Section 15 of Article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution and the Wage Protection Act of 2014, no alternative methods were seriously considered.