Title of Rule:Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Concerning Private Duty Nursing<br/>Benefits, Section 8.540.2Rule Number:MSB 22-08-29-ABSMD /Cassandra Keller / 5181

# SECRETARY OF STATE

## **RULES ACTION SUMMARY AND FILING INSTRUCTIONS**

## SUMMARY OF ACTION ON RULE(S)

- 1. Department / Agency Name: Health Care Policy and Financing / Medical Services Board
  - 2. Title of Rule: MSB 22-08-29-A, Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning Private Duty Nursing Benefits, Section 8.540.2
- 3. This action is an adoption of: an amendment
- 4. Rule sections affected in this action (if existing rule, also give Code of Regulations number and page numbers affected):

Sections(s) 8.540.2, Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing, (10 CCR 2505-10).

5. Does this action involve any temporary or emergency rule(s)? 
 Select One> 
 If yes, state effective date: 
 Is rule to be made permanent? (If yes, please attach notice of hearing). Yes

## **PUBLICATION INSTRUCTIONS\***

Replace the current text at 8.540.2.D with the proposed text beginning at 8.540.2.D through the end of 8.540.2.D. This rule is effective November 30, 2022.

Title of Rule:Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Concerning Private Duty Nursing<br/>Benefits, Section 8.540.2Rule Number:MSB 22-08-29-ABSMD /Cassandra Keller / 5181

# STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE

1. Summary of the basis and purpose for the rule or rule change. (State what the rule says or does and explain why the rule or rule change is necessary).

This rule sets forth the authority for the Private Duty Nursing benefit under the Health First Colorado State Plan. Private Duty Nursing provides nursing services for beneficiaries who require more individual and continuous care than is available from a visiting nurse or routinely provided by the nursing staff of the hospital or skilled nursing facility. In order to meet the urgent care needs of our members, the Department must create an exception process to meet the potentially unmet needs of our members. Current regulation states that adult members may not receive more than 16 hours per day of Private Duty Nursing. By revising the regulations to allow for an exception process to the limit, members will have access to medically necessary nursing services they require.

2. An emergency rule-making is imperatively necessary

to comply with state or federal law or federal regulation and/or
 for the preservation of public health, safety and welfare.

Explain:

3. Federal authority for the Rule, if any:

42 C.F.R. § 440.80

4. State Authority for the Rule:

Section § 25.5-5-303. (2022) Sections 25.5-1-301 through 25.5-1-303, C.R.S. (2022)

Title of Rule:Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Concerning Private Duty Nursing<br/>Benefits, Section 8.540.2Rule Number:MSB 22-08-29-ABSMD /Cassandra Keller / 5181

## **REGULATORY ANALYSIS**

5. Describe the classes of persons who will be affected by the proposed rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will benefit from the proposed rule.

The proposed rule will have an impact on members who utilize Private Duty Nursing (PDN). Adult members who have extraordinary medical needs that require more than 16 hours per day of PDN and receive approval to exceed the limit will benefit from this change.

6. To the extent practicable, describe the probable quantitative and qualitative impact of the proposed rule, economic or otherwise, upon affected classes of persons.

Members will have access to obtain all medically necessary skilled nursing care through the private duty nursing benefit, rather than having to supplement private duty nursing hours with additional skilled nursing hours provided through other benefits, and may obtain all skilled nursing services through a single provider.

7. Discuss the probable costs to the Department and to any other agency of the implementation and enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues.

The Department expects the increase in PDN expenditure to be offset by a reduction of (\$2,282,695) in Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS) expenditure, leading to a net increase of \$1,574,085 per state fiscal year. Compare the probable costs and benefits of the proposed rule to the probable costs and benefits of inaction.

Without revising these regulations, the Department does not have the authority to develop an exception to the unit limit.

8. Determine whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule.

There are no less intrusive or costly methods to achieve this purpose. This change must be done with a change to the regulations.

9. Describe any alternative methods for achieving the purpose for the proposed rule that were seriously considered by the Department and the reasons why they were rejected in favor of the proposed rule.

The Department estimates the rule change will increase PDN expenditure by \$3,856,780 per year. The regulations outline a hard cap of 16-hours that cannot be exceeded. Rule must be revised in order to allow for exception to this limit.

#### 8.540 PRIVATE DUTY NURSING SERVICES

#### 8.540.2 BENEFITS

- 8.540.2.A. Beginning November 1, 2021, providers must submit a prior authorization request for all new PDN services. For members currently receiving PDN services initiated prior to November 1, 2021, providers must submit a prior authorization request in accordance with the schedule provided in Section 8.540.7.G.
- 8.540.2.B. A pediatric client may be approved for up to 24 hours per day of PDN services if the client meets the URC medical necessity criteria. PDN for pediatric clients is limited to the hours determined medically necessary by the URC pursuant to Section 8.540.4.A, as applicable.
  - 1. The URC shall determine the number of appropriate pediatric PDN hours by considering age, stability, need for frequent suctioning and the ability to manage the tracheostomy.
  - 2. The URC shall consult with the Home Health Agency and the attending physician or primary care physician, to provide medical case management with the goal of resolving the problem that precipitated the need for extended PDN care of more than 16 hours.
  - 3. The URC shall consider combinations of technologies and co-morbidities when making medical criteria determinations.
- 8.540.2.C. Twenty-four hour care may be approved for pediatric clients during periods when the family caregiver is unavailable due to illness, injury or absence periodically for up to 21 days in a calendar year.
- 8.540.2.D. Adult clients may be approved for up to 16 hours of PDN per day. <u>The Department may</u> <u>approveauthorize a higher amount through the Department's utilization management</u> <u>process</u>additional hours, up to 23 hours per day when determined medically necessary., <del>a</del> <u>safetysafety</u>.
- 8.540.2.E. A client who is eligible and authorized to receive PDN services in the home may receive care outside the home during those hours when the client's activities of daily living take him or her away from the home. The total hours authorized shall not exceed the hours that would have been authorized if the client received all care in the home.

Title of Rule:Revision to the Special Financing Division Colorado Dental Health Care<br/>Program for Low-Income Seniors Schedule A, Section 8.960Rule Number:MSB 22-08-29-BDivision / Contact / Phone: Special Financing / Chandra Vital / 303-866-5506

# SECRETARY OF STATE

## **RULES ACTION SUMMARY AND FILING INSTRUCTIONS**

## SUMMARY OF ACTION ON RULE(S)

- 1. Department / Agency Name: Health Care Policy and Financing / Medical Services Board
  - 2. Title of Rule: MSB 22-08-29-B, Revision to the Special Financing Division Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors Schedule A, Section 8.960
- 3. This action is an adoption of: an amendment
- 4. Rule sections affected in this action (if existing rule, also give Code of Regulations number and page numbers affected):

Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing, Staff Manual Volume 8, Medical Assistance (10 CCR 2505-10).

5. Does this action involve any temporary or emergency rule(s)?No If yes, state effective date: Is rule to be made permanent? (If yes, please attach notice of hearing). Yes

## **PUBLICATION INSTRUCTIONS\***

Replace the text at 8.960 with the proposed text beginning at 8.960 through the end of 8.960. Replace the text at Appendix A with the proposed text beginning at Appendix A through the end of Appendix A. This rule is effective November 30, 2022.

Title of Rule:Revision to the Special Financing Division Colorado Dental Health Care Program<br/>for Low-Income Seniors Schedule A, Section 8.960Rule Number:MSB 22-08-29-BDivision / Contact / Phone: Special Financing / Chandra Vital / 303-866-5506

# STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE

1. Summary of the basis and purpose for the rule or rule change. (State what the rule says or does and explain why the rule or rule change is necessary).

Current rule mandates that the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Senior max program payments on Schedule A may not be less than Medicaid dental rates. Effective July 1, 2022, Medicaid dental rates were increased and two procedures under the program fell below the Medicaid rate. The procedures to be increased to match Medicaid rates are D1354, interim caries arresting medicament application-per tooth and D9219, evaluation for moderate sedation, deep sedation or general anesthesia.

The Dental Advisory Committee also recommended the addition of two new procedures. D7261, primary closure of a sinus perforation, this is exposure of sinus requiring repair, or immediate closure of oroantral or oralnasal communication in absence of fistulous tract. At this time, if seniors need this repair done the program does not cover this procedure. This leaves the senior with side effects and prosthodontics are not able to be placed. The low-income aging population is not able to pay for this type of repair. The other procedure is D9239, intravenous moderate (conscious) sedation/analgesia, first 15 minutes. Sedation is currently covered through the program, except for the first 15 minutes. Many seniors will forgo having much needed oral health care due to not being able to afford the first 15 minutes of sedation.

2. An emergency rule-making is imperatively necessary

to comply with state or federal law or federal regulation and/or
 for the preservation of public health, safety and welfare.

Explain:

3. Federal authority for the Rule, if any:

42 C.F.R. 162-1002(a)(4)

4. State Authority for the Rule:

Sections 25.5-1-301 through 25.5-1-303, C.R.S. (2022); 25.5-2-101, C.R.S. (2022) 25.5-3-404(4), C.R.S. (2022)

Initial Review Proposed Effective Date Final Adoption Emergency Adoption

Final Adoption Emergency Adoption



Title of Rule:Revision to the Special Financing Division Colorado Dental Health Care<br/>Program for Low-Income Seniors Schedule A, Section 8.960Rule Number:MSB 22-08-29-BDivision / Contact / Phone: Special Financing / Chandra Vital / 303-866-5506

# **REGULATORY ANALYSIS**

1. Describe the classes of persons who will be affected by the proposed rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will benefit from the proposed rule.

The max program payment increases for D1354 and D9219 on Schedule A will put the program in line with current rule that no max program payment will be below the current Medicaid dental rates and grantees will receive the accurate amount for these procedures. Adding D7261 and D9239 will benefit all low-income aging individuals that are need of oral health but elect to forgo due to not having the funds to pay for these procedures. There will be no incurred costs for the program, the seniors within the program, the grantees, nor the Department due to the set allocated amount of the grant.

2. To the extent practicable, describe the probable quantitative and qualitative impact of the proposed rule, economic or otherwise, upon affected classes of persons.

This rule update will ensure that the grantees of the program receive the correct amount for procedures performed and the seniors of the program will be able to receive two new procedures that they would not otherwise be able to afford.

3. Discuss the probable costs to the Department and to any other agency of the implementation and enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues.

The Department will have no fiscal impact with this rule change. The funds for the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors are appropriated and this rule update will have no effect on the appropriation of funds.

4. Compare the probable costs and benefits of the proposed rule to the probable costs and benefits of inaction.

The increase of max program payment for D1354 and D9219 on Schedule A is required due to the max program payment amount falling below the Medicaid dental rate. The addition of D7261 and D9239 will allow seniors of the program to receive the needed oral health care required. Seniors of the program are not able to pay for these two new procedures and forgo much needed oral health care.

5. Determine whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule.

The Department does not foresee any fiscal impact on this rule change and there are not any less costly methods that were considered.

6. Describe any alternative methods for achieving the purpose for the proposed rule that were seriously considered by the Department and the reasons why they were rejected in favor of the proposed rule.

Updating these rules is the only method available to ensure compliance with current Medicaid dental rates and there is no alternative method for the new recommended procedures.

#### 8.960 COLORADO DENTAL HEALTH CARE PROGRAM FOR LOW-INCOME SENIORS

#### 8.960.1 Definitions

Arrange For or Arranging For means demonstrating established relations with Qualified Providers for any of the Covered Dental Care Services not directly provided by the applicant.

Covered Dental Care Services include Diagnostic Imaging, Emergency Services, Endodontic Services, Evaluation, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Palliative Treatment, Periodontal Treatment, Preventive Services, Prophylaxis, Removable Prosthesis, and Restorative Services as listed by alphanumeric procedure code in Appendix A.

C.R.S. means the Colorado Revised Statutes.

Dental Health Professional Shortage Area or Dental HPSA means a geographic area, population group, or facility so designated by the Health Resources and Services Administration of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Dental Prosthesis means any device or appliance replacing one or more missing teeth and associated structures if required.

Department means the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing established pursuant to title 25.5, C.R.S. (2020).

Diagnostic Imaging means a visual display of structural or functional patterns for the purpose of diagnostic evaluation.

Economically Disadvantaged means a person whose Income is at or below 250% of the most recently published federal poverty level for a household of that size.

Eligible Senior or Client means an adult who is 60 years of age or older, who is Economically Disadvantaged, who is able to demonstrate lawful presence in the country, who is not eligible for dental services under Medicaid or the Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program, and who does not have private dental insurance. An Eligible Senior or client is not ineligible solely because he/she is receiving dental benefits under Medicare or Medicare Advantage Plans. An Eligible Senior shall be considered lawfully present in the country if they produce a document or waiver in accordance with 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 5 (effective August 30, 2016), which is hereby incorporated by reference. This incorporation of 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 5 excludes later amendments to, or editions of, the referenced material. Pursuant to § 24-4-103 (12.5), C.R.S., the Department maintains copies of this incorporated text in its entirety, available for public inspection during regular business hours at: Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing, 1570 Grant Street, Denver, Colorado 80203. Certified copies of incorporated materials are provided at cost upon request.

Emergency Services means the need for immediate intervention by a Qualified Provider to stabilize an oral cavity condition.

Endodontic Services means services which are concerned with the morphology, physiology and pathology of the human dental pulp and periradicular tissues, including pulpectomy.

Evaluation means an assessment that may include gathering of information through interview, observation, examination, and use of specific tests that allows a dentist to diagnose existing conditions.

Federally Qualified Health Center means a federally funded nonprofit health center or clinic that serves medically underserved areas and populations as defined in 42 U.S.C. section 1395x (aa)(4).

Income means any cash, payments, wages, in-kind receipt, inheritance, gift, prize, rents, dividends, or interest that are received by an individual or family. Income may be self-declared. Resources are not included in Income.

Max Allowable Fee means the total reimbursement listed by procedure for Covered Dental Care Services under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors in Appendix A. The Max Allowable Fee is the sum of the Program Payment and the Max Client Co-Pay.

Max Client Co-Pay means the maximum amount that a Qualified Provider may collect from an Eligible Senior listed by procedure in Appendix A for Covered Dental Services under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors.

Medicaid means the Colorado medical assistance program as defined in article 4 of title 25.5, C.R.S. (2020).

Medicare means the federal health insurance program for people who are 65 or older; certain younger people with disabilities; or people with End-Stage Renal Disease.

Medicare Advantage Plans mean the plans offered by Medicare-approved private companies that must follow rules set by Medicare and may provide benefits for services Medicare does not, such as vision, hearing, and dental care.

Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program means the program described at 10 CCR 2505-10, section 8.940 et. seq. and as defined in sections 25.5-2-101 and 26-2-111(2), C.R.S. (2020).

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery means the diagnosis, surgical and adjunctive treatment of diseases, injuries and defects involving both the functional and esthetic aspects of the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial region.

Palliative Treatment for dental pain means emergency treatment to relieve the client of pain; it is not a mechanism for addressing chronic pain.

Periodontal Treatment means the therapeutic plan intended to stop or slow periodontal disease progression.

Preventive Services means services concerned with promoting good oral health and function by preventing or reducing the onset and/or development of oral diseases or deformities and the occurrence of oro-facial injuries.

Program Payment means the maximum amount by procedure listed in Appendix A for Covered Dental Care Services for which a Qualified Grantee may invoice the Department under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors. Program Payment must not be less than the reimbursement schedule for fee-for-service dental fees under the medical assistance program established in Articles 4, 5, and 6 of 10 CCR 2505-10.

Prophylaxis means the removal of dental plaque and calculus from teeth, in order to prevent dental caries, gingivitis and periodontitis.

Qualified Grantee means an entity that can demonstrate that it can provide or Arrange For the provision of Covered Dental Care Services and may include but is not limited to:

- 1. An Area Agency on Aging, as defined in section 26-11-201, C.R.S. (2020);
- 2. A community-based organization or foundation;

- 3. A Federally Qualified Health Center, safety-net clinic, or health district;
- 4. A local public health agency; or
- 5. A private dental practice.

Qualified Provider means a licensed dentist or dental hygienist in good standing in Colorado or a person who employs a licensed dentist or dental hygienist in good standing in Colorado and who is willing to accept reimbursement for Covered Dental Services. A Qualified Provider may also be a Qualified Grantee if the person meets the qualifications of a Qualified Grantee.

Removable Prosthesis means complete or partial Dental Prosthesis, which after an initial fitting by a dentist, can be removed and reinserted by the eligible senior.

Restorative Services means services rendered for the purpose of rehabilitation of dentition to functional or aesthetic needs of the client.

Senior Dental Advisory Committee means the advisory committee established pursuant to section 25.5-3-406, C.R.S. (2020).

### 8.960.2 Legal Basis

The Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors is authorized by state law at part 4 of article 3 of title 25.5, C.R.S. (2020).

### 8.960.3 Request of Grant Proposals and Grant Award Procedures

### 8.960.3.A Request for Grant Proposals

Grant awards shall be made through an application process. The request for grant proposals form shall be issued by the Department and posted for public access on the Department's website at https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/research-data-and-grants at least 30 days prior to the due date.

### 8.960.3.B Evaluation of Grant Proposals

Proposals submitted for the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors will be evaluated by a review panel in accordance with the following criteria developed under the advice of the Senior Dental Advisory Committee.

- 1. The review panel will be comprised of individuals who are deemed qualified by reason of training and/or experience and who have no personal or financial interest in the selection of any particular applicant.
- 2. The sole objective of the review panel is to recommend to the Department's executive director those proposals which most accurately and effectively meet the goals of the program within the available funding.
- 3. Preference will be given to grant proposals that clearly demonstrate the applicant's ability to:
  - a. Outreach to and identify Eligible Seniors;
  - b. Collaborate with community-based organizations; and

- c. Serve a greater number of Eligible Seniors or serve Eligible Seniors who reside in a geographic area designated as a Dental HPSA.
- 4. The review panel shall consider the distribution of funds across the state in recommending grant proposals for awards. The distribution of funds should be based on the estimated percentage of Eligible Seniors in the state by Area Agency on Aging region as provided by the Department.

### 8.960.3.C Grant Awards

The Department's executive director, or his or her designee, shall make the final grant awards to selected Qualified Grantees for the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors.

### 8.960.3.D Qualified Grantee Responsibilities

A Qualified Grantee that is awarded a grant under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors is required to:

- 1. Identify and outreach to Eligible Seniors and Qualified Providers;
- 2. Demonstrate collaboration with community-based organizations;
- 3. Ensure that Eligible Seniors receive Covered Dental Care Services efficiently without duplication of services;
- 4. Maintain records of Eligible Seniors serviced, Covered Dental Care Services provided, and moneys spent for a minimum of six (6) years;
- 5. For Eligible Seniors with dental coverage through a Medicare Advantage Plan, bill the Medicare Advantage Plan for dental procedures covered by the Medicare Advantage Plan prior to seeking payment from the Department. The Colorado Dental Health Care Program is secondary to the Medicare Advantage Plan dental coverage;
- 6. Distribute grant funds to Qualified Providers in its service area or directly provide Covered Dental Care Services to Eligible Seniors;
- 7. Expend no more than seven (7) percent of the amount of its grant award for administrative purposes; and
- 8. Submit an annual report as specified under section 8.960.3.F.

#### 8.960.3.E Invoicing

A Qualified Grantee that is awarded a grant under the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors shall submit invoices on a form and schedule specified by the Department. Covered Dental Care Services shall be provided before a Qualified Grantee may submit an invoice to the Department.

- 1. Invoices shall include the number of Eligible Seniors served, the alphanumeric code and procedure description as listed in Appendix A, and any other information required by the Department.
- 2. The Department will pay no more than the established Program Payment per procedure rendered, as listed in Appendix A.

- 3. Eligible Seniors shall not be charged more than the Max Client Co-Pay as listed in Appendix A.
- 4. Qualified Grantees shall not bill the Department for any procedures covered by Medicare Advantage Plans that have been billed and paid by the Medicare Advantage Plans;
- 5. Qualified Grantees shall indicate on the invoice if the Eligible Senior has dental coverage through a Medicare Advantage Plan and any claim to the Medicare Advantage Plan was adjudicated prior to billing the Department;
- 6. Qualified Grantees may invoice for no more than seven (7) percent of the Program Payment for administrative costs.

### 8.960.3.F Annual Report

On or before September 1, 2016, and each September 1 thereafter, each Qualified Grantee receiving funds from the Colorado Dental Health Care Program for Low-Income Seniors shall submit a report to the Department following the state fiscal year contract period.

The annual report shall be completed in a format specified by the Department and shall include:

- 1. The number of Eligible Seniors served;
- 2. The types of Covered Dental Care Services provided;
- 3. An itemization of administrative expenditures;
- 4. The procedures and amounts billed to Medicare Advantage Plans for Eligible Seniors; and
- 5. Any other information deemed relevant by the Department.

### 10 CCR 2505-10 § 8.960 APPENDIX A: COLORADO DENTAL HEALTH CARE PROGRAM FOR LOW-INCOME SENIORS COVERED SERVICES AND PROCEDURE CODES

Capitalized terms within this appendix shall have the meaning specified in the Definitions section.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Periodic oral evaluation - established client	D0120	\$46.00	\$46.00	\$0.00	Evaluation performed on a client of record to determine any changes in the client's dental and medical health status since a previous comprehensive or periodic evaluation. This may include an oral cancer evaluation and periodontal evaluation, diagnosis, treatment planning. Frequency: One time per 6 month period per client.
Limited oral evaluation - problem focused	D0140	\$62.00	\$52.00	\$10.00	Evaluation limited to a specific oral health problem or complaint. This code must be used in association with a specific oral health problem or complaint and is not to be used to address situations that arise during multi-visit treatments covered by a single fee, such as, endodontic or post- operative visits related to treatments including prosthesis. Specific problems may include dental emergencies, trauma, acute infections, etc. Cannot be used for adjustments made to prosthesis provided within previous 6 months. Cannot be used as an encounter fee.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Comprehensive oral evaluation - new or established client	D0150	\$81.00	\$81.00	\$0.00	Evaluation used by general dentist or a specialist when evaluating a client comprehensively. Applicable to new clients; established clients with significant health changes or other unusual circumstances; or established clients who have been absent from active treatment for three or more years. It is a thorough evaluation and recording of the extraoral and intraoral hard and soft tissues, and an evaluation and recording of the client's dental and medical history and general health assessment. A periodontal evaluation, oral cancer evaluation, diagnosis and treatment planning should be included. Frequency: 1 per 3 years per client. Cannot be charged on the same date as D0180.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Comprehensive periodontal evaluation - new or established client		\$88.00	\$88.00	\$0.00	Evaluation for clients presenting signs & symptoms of periodontal disease & clients with risk factors such as smoking or diabetes. It includes evaluation of periodontal conditions, probing and charting, evaluation and recording of the client's dental and medical history and general health assessment. It may include the evaluation and recording of dental caries, missing or unerupted teeth, restorations, occlusal relationships and oral cancer evaluation. Frequency: 1 per 3 years per client. Cannot be charged on the same date as D0150.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Intraoral - complete series of radiographic images	D0210	\$125.00	\$125.00	\$0.00	Radiographic survey of whole mouth, usually consisting of 14-22 periapical & posterior bitewing images intended to display the crowns & roots of all teeth, periapical areas of alveolar bone. Panoramic radiographic image & bitewing radiographic images taken on the same date of service shall not be billed as a D0210. Payment for additional periapical radiographs within 60 days of a full month series or a panoramic film is not covered unless there is evidence of trauma. Frequency: 1 per 5 years per client. Any combination of x-rays taken on the same date of service that equals or exceeds the max allowable fee for D0210 must be billed and reimbursed as D0210. Should not be charged in addition to panoramic film D0330. Either D0330 or D0210 per 5 year period.
Intraoral - periapical first radiographic image	D0220	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$0.00	D0220 one (1) per day per client. Report additional radiographs as D0230. Any combination of D0220, D0230, D0270, D0272, D0273, D0274, or D0277 taken on the same date of service that exceeds the max allowed fee for D0210 is reimbursed at the same fee as D0210. D0210 will only be reimbursed every 5 years.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Intraoral - periapical each additional radiographic image	D0230	\$23.00	\$23.00	\$0.00	D0230 must be utilized for additional films taken beyond D0220. Any combination of D0220, D0230, D0270, D0272, D0273, D0274, or D0277 taken on the same date of service that exceeds the max allowed fee for D0210 is reimbursed at the same fee as D0210. D0210 will only be reimbursed every 5 years.
Bitewing - single radiographic image	D0270	\$26.00	\$26.00	\$0.00	Frequency: 1 in a 12 month period. Report more than 1 radiographic image as: D0272 two (2); D0273 three (3); D0274 four (4). Any combination of D0220, D0230, D0270, D0272, D0273, D0274, or D0277 taken on the same date of service that exceeds the max allowed fee for D0210 is reimbursed at the same fee as D0210.
Bitewings - two radiographic images	D0272	\$42.00	\$42.00	\$0.00	Frequency: 1 time in a 12 month period. Any combination of D0220, D0230, D0270, D0272, D0273, D0274, or D0277 taken on the same date of service that exceeds the max allowed fee for D0210 is reimbursed at the same fee as D0210.
Bitewings - three radiographic images	D0273	\$52.00	\$52.00	\$0.00	Frequency: 1 time in a 12 month period. Any combination of D0220, D0230, D0270, D0272, D0273, D0274, D0277 taken on the same date of service that exceeds the max allowed fee for D0210 is reimbursed at the same fee as D0210.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Bitewings - four radiographic images	D0274	\$60.00	\$60.00	\$0.00	Frequency: 1 time in a 12 month period. Any combination of D0220, D0230, D0270, D0272, D0273, D0274, or D0277 taken on the same date of service that exceeds the max allowed fee for D0210 is reimbursed at the same fee as D0210.
Vertical bitewings – seven to eight radiographic images	D0277	\$68.32	\$68.32	\$0.00	Frequency: 1 time in a 12- month period. This does not constitute a full mouth intraoral radiographic series. Any combination of D0220, D0230, D0270, D0272, D0273, D0274, or D0277 taken on the same date of service that exceeds the max allowed fee for D0210 is reimbursed at the same fee as D0210.
Panoramic radiographic image	D0330	\$63.00	\$63.00	\$0.00	Frequency: 1 per 5 years per client. Cannot be charged in addition to full mouth series D0210. Either D0330 or D0210 per 5 years.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Topical application of fluoride varnish	D1206	\$52.00	\$52.00	\$0.00	Topical fluoride application is to be used in conjunction with prophylaxis or preventive appointment. Should be applied to whole mouth. Frequency: up to four (4) times per 12 calendar months. Cannot be used with D1208.
Topical application of fluoride - excluding varnish	D1208	\$52.00	\$52.00	\$0.00	Any fluoride application, including swishing, trays or paint on variety, to be used in conjunction with prophylaxis or preventive appointment. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 calendar months. Cannot be used with D1206. D1206 varnish should be utilized in lieu of D1208 whenever possible.
Interim caries arresting medicament application – per tooth	D1354	\$ <del>5.60<u>5.71</u></del>	\$ <del>5.60<u>5.71</u></del>	\$0.00	Two of D1354 per 12 months per patient per tooth for primary and permanent teeth. Not to exceed 4 times per tooth in a lifetime. Cannot be billed on the same day as D1355 or any D2000 series code (D2140– D2954). Must Report both tooth number and surface(s).

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Caries preventive medicament application – per tooth	D1355	\$5.47	\$5.47	\$0.00	For primary prevention or remineralization. Medicaments applied do not include topical fluorides. Medicaments that may be applied during the delivery of D1355 procedure include Silver Diamine Fluoride (SDF), Silver Nitrate (SN), thymol-CHX varnish, and topical povidone iodine (PVP-I). Cannot be billed on the same day as: D1206, D1208, D1354, D0140, D9110, or any restoration codes on the same day or within 12 months of D2140 thru D2954. Maximum of four D1355 per tooth per lifetime. Must report both tooth number and surface(s).
Amalgam - one surface, primary or permanent	D2140	\$112.67	\$102.67	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, polishing, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Amalgam - two surfaces, primary or permanent	D2150	\$141.20	\$131.20	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, polishing, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Amalgam - three surfaces, primary or permanent	D2160	\$170.88	\$160.88	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, polishing, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Amalgam - four or more surfaces, primary or permanent	D2161	\$204.96	\$194.96	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, polishing, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Resin-based composite - one surface, anterior	D2330	\$115.00	\$105.00	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, etching, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Resin-based composite - two surfaces, anterior	D2331	\$146.00	\$136.00	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, etching, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Resin-based composite - three surfaces, anterior	D2332	\$179.00	\$169.00	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, etching, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Resin-based composite - four or more surfaces or involving incisal angle (anterior)		\$212.00	\$202.00	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, etching, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Resin-based composite - one surface, posterior	D2391	\$134.00	\$124.00	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, etching, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Resin-based composite -two surfaces, posterior	D2392	\$176.00	\$166.00	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, etching, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Resin-based composite - three surfaces, posterior	D2393	\$218.00	\$208.00	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, etching, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Resin-based composite - four or more surfaces, posterior	D2394	\$268.00	\$258.00	\$10.00	Includes tooth preparation, all adhesives, liners, etching, and bases. Adjustments are included. Frequency: 36 months for the same restoration. See Explanation of Restorations.
Crown - porcelain/ceramic	D2740	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.
Crown - porcelain fused to high noble metal	D2750	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Crown - porcelain fused to predominantly base metal	D2751	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.
Crown - porcelain fused to noble metal	D2752	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.
Crown - 3/4 cast predominantly base metal	D2781	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.
Crown - 3/4 cast noble metal	D2782	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Crown - 3/4 porcelain/ceramic	D2783	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.
Crown - full cast high noble metal	D2790	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.
Crown - full cast predominantly base metal	D2791	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.
Crown - full cast noble metal	D2792	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Crown - titanium	D2794	\$780.00	\$730.00	\$50.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed each 84 months per client per tooth: D2740, D2750, D2751, D2752, D2781, D2782, D2783, D2790, D2791, D2792, or D2794. Second molars are only covered if it is necessary to support a partial denture or to maintain eight posterior teeth in occlusion.
Re-cement or re-bond inlay, onlay, veneer or partial coverage restoration	D2910	\$87.00	\$77.00	\$10.00	Not allowed within 6 months of placement.
Re-cement or re-bond crown	D2920	\$89.00	\$79.00	\$10.00	Not allowed within 6 months of placement.
Core buildup, including any pins when required	D2950	\$225.00	\$200.00	\$25.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed per 84 months per client per tooth. D2950, D2952, or D2954. Refers to building up of coronal structure when there is insufficient retention for a separate extracoronal restorative procedure. A core buildup is not a filler to eliminate any undercut, box form, or concave irregularity in a preparation. Not payable on the same tooth and same day as D2951.
Pin retention per tooth	D2951	\$50.00	\$40.00	\$10.00	Pins placed to aid in retention of restoration. Can only be used in combination with a multi- surface amalgam.
Cast post and core in addition to crown	D2952	\$332.00	\$307.00	\$25.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed per 84 months per client per tooth. D2950, D2952, or D2954. Refers to building up of anatomical crown when restorative crown will be placed. Not payable on the same tooth and same day as D2951.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Prefabricated post and core in addition to crown	D2954	\$269.00	\$244.00	\$25.00	Only one of the following will be reimbursed per 84 months per client per tooth. D2950, D2952, or D2954. Core is built around a prefabricated post. This procedure includes the core material and refers to building up of anatomical crown when restorative crown will be placed. Not payable on the same tooth and same day as D2951.
Endodontic therapy, anterior tooth (excluding final restoration)	D3310	\$566.40	\$516.40	\$50.00	Complete root canal therapy; Includes all appointments necessary to complete treatment; also includes intra- operative radiographs. Does not include diagnostic evaluation and necessary radiographs/diagnostic images. Teeth covered: 6- 11 and 22-27.
Endodontic therapy, premolar tooth (excluding final restoration)		\$661.65	\$611.65	\$50.00	Complete root canal therapy; Includes all appointments necessary to complete treatment; also includes intra- operative radiographs. Does not include diagnostic evaluation and necessary radiographs/diagnostic images. Teeth covered: 4, 5, 12, 13, 20, 21, 28, and 29.
Endodontic therapy, molar tooth (excluding final restoration)	D3330	\$786.31	\$736.31	\$50.00	Complete root canal therapy; Includes all appointments necessary to complete treatment; also includes intra- operative radiographs. Does not include diagnostic evaluation and necessary radiographs/diagnostic images. Teeth covered: 2, 3, 14, 15, 18, 19, 30, and 31.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Periodontal scaling & root planing - four or more teeth per quadrant	D4341	\$177.00	\$167.00	\$10.00	<ul> <li>Involves instrumentation of the crown and root surfaces of the teeth to remove plaque and calculus from these surfaces. For clients with periodontal disease and is therapeutic, not prophylactic. D4341 and D1110 can be reported on same service date when D1110 is utilized for areas of the mouth that are not affected by periodontal disease. D1110 can only be charged once, not per quadrant; A diagnosis of periodontitis with clinical attachment loss (CAL) included. Diagnosis and classification of the periodontology case type must be in accordance with documentation as currently established by the American Academy of Periodontal charting must be present in client chart documenting active periodontal disease. Frequency:</li> <li>1 time per quadrant per 36 month interval.</li> <li>No more than 2 quadrants may be considered in a single visit in a non-hospital setting. Documentation of other treatment provided at same time will be requested.</li> <li>Cannot be charged on same date as D4346.</li> <li>Any follow-up and reevaluation are included in the initial reimbursement.</li> </ul>

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Periodontal scaling & root planing - one to three teeth per quadrant		\$128.00	\$128.00	\$0.00	<ul> <li>Involves instrumentation of the crown and root surfaces of the teeth to remove plaque and calculus from these surfaces. For clients with periodontal disease and is therapeutic, not prophylactic. D4342 and D1110 can be reported on same service date when date when D1110 is utilized for areas of the mouth that are not affected by periodontal disease. D1110 can only be charged once, not per quadrant; A diagnosis of periodontal charting must be present in client chart documenting active periodontal disease. Frequency:</li> <li>1 time per quadrant per 36 month interval.</li> <li>No more than 2 quadrants may be considered in a single visit in a non-hospital setting Documentation of other treatment provided at same time will be requested.</li> <li>Cannot be charged on a single visit in a non-hospital setting Documentation of other treatment provided at same time will be requested.</li> <li>Any follow-up and reevaluation are included in the initial reimbursement.</li> </ul>

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Scaling in presence of generalized moderate or severe gingival inflammation – full mouth, after oral evaluation	D4346	\$102.00	\$92.00	\$10.00	The removal of plaque, calculus, and stains from supra- and sub-gingival tooth surfaces when there is generalized moderate or severe gingival inflammation in the absence of periodontitis. It is indicated for patients who have swollen, inflamed gingiva, generalized suprabony pockets, and moderate to severe bleeding on probing. Should not be reported in conjunction with prophylaxis, scaling and root planing, or debridement procedures. Frequency: once in a lifetime.
					<ul> <li>Any follow-up and re- evaluation are included in the initial reimbursement.</li> </ul>
					<ul> <li>Cannot be charged on the same date as D1110, D4341, D4342, or D4910.</li> </ul>
Full mouth debridement to enable a comprehensive evaluation and diagnosis on a subsequent visit	D4355	\$94.02	\$84.02	\$10.00	One of (D4335) per 3 year(s) per patient. Prophylaxis D1110 is not reimbursable when provided on the same day of service as D4355. D4355 is not reimbursable if patient record indicates D1110 or D4910 have been provided in the previous 12 month period. Other D4000 series codes are not reimbursable when provided on the same date of service as D4355.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Periodontal maintenance procedures	D4910	\$136.00	\$136.00	\$0.00	<ul> <li>Procedure following periodontal therapy D4341 or D4342. This procedure includes removal of the bacterial plaque and calculus from supragingival and subgingival regions, site specific scaling and root planing where indicated and polishing the teeth. Frequency:</li> <li>Up to four times per fiscal year per client.</li> <li>Cannot be charged on the same date as D4346.</li> <li>Cannot be charged within the first three months following active periodontal treatment.</li> </ul>

			Reimbursement made upon delivery of a complete maxillary
Complete denture - maxillary D5110 \$874.52	\$794.52	\$80.00	denture to the client. D5110 or D5120 cannot be used to report an immediate denture, D5130 or D5140. Routine follow-up adjustments/relines within 6 months are to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. A complete denture is made after teeth have been removed and the gum and bone tissues have healed - or to replace an existing denture. Complete dentures are provided once adequate healing has taken place following extractions. This can vary greatly depending upon client, oral health, overall health, and other confounding factors. Frequency: Program will only pay for one per every five years - documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.

			Reimbursement made upon delivery of a complete mandibular denture to the client. D5110 or D5120 cannot be used to report an
Complete denture - mandibular D5120 \$875.94	\$795.94	\$80.00	immediate denture, D5130, D5140. Routine follow-up adjustments/relines within 6 months are to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. A complete denture is made after teeth have been removed and the gum and bone tissues have healed - or to replace an existing denture. Complete dentures are provided once adequate healing has taken place following extractions. This can vary greatly depending upon client, oral health, overall health, and other confounding factors. Frequency: Program will only pay for one per every five years - documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Immediate denture – maxillary	D5130	\$874.52	\$794.52	\$80.00	Reimbursement made upon delivery of an immediate maxillary denture to the client. Routine follow-up adjustments/soft tissue condition relines within 6 months are to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. An immediate denture is made prior to teeth being extracted and is inserted same day of extraction of remaining natural teeth. Frequency: D5130 can be reimbursed only once per lifetime per client. Complete denture, D5110, may be considered 5 years after immediate denture was reimbursed. Documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Immediate denture - mandibular	D5140	\$875.94	\$795.94	\$80.00	Reimbursement made upon delivery of an immediate mandibular denture to the client. Routine follow-up adjustments/soft tissue condition relines within 6 months are to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. An immediate denture is made prior to teeth being extracted and is inserted same day of extraction of remaining natural teeth. Frequency: D5140 can be reimbursed only once per lifetime per client. Complete dentures, D5120, may be considered 5 years after immediate denture was reimbursed — documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.

Maxillary partial denture - resin base (including retentive/clasping materials, rests, and teeth)
maintained.

Mandibular partial denture - resin base (including materials, rests, and teeth) Mandibular partial denture - rests, and teeth) Mandibular partial denture - rests, and teeth)	Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
	resin base (including retentive/clasping materials,	D5212	\$778.00	\$718.00	\$60.00	upon delivery of a complete partial mandibular denture to the client. D5211 and D5212 are considered definitive treatment. Routine follow- up adjustments/relines within 6 months are to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. A partial resin base denture can be made right <u>after</u> having teeth extracted (healing from only a few teeth is not as extensive as healing from multiple). A partial resin base denture can also be made before having teeth extracted if the teeth being removed are in the front or necessary healing will be minimal. Several impressions and "try-in" appointments may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: Program will only pay for one resin mandibular per every 3 years - documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made

Maxillary partial denture – cast metal framework with resin
denture bases (including any conventional clasps, rests and teeth) D5213 \$844.31 \$784.31 \$60.00 healing fro partial cas denture of before if extracted being remo- front or nee will be mi impressions appointmer necessary included Frequency: only pay fo be made se be made se be made se be maintair

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Mandibular partial denture – cast metal framework with resin denture bases (including any conventional clasps, rests and teeth)	D5214	\$844.31	\$784.31	\$60.00	Reimbursement made upon delivery of a complete partial mandibular denture to the client. D5213 and D5214 are considered definitive treatment. Routine follow- up adjustments or relines within 6 months are to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. A partial cast metal base can be made right after having teeth extracted (healing from only a few teeth is not as extensive as healing from multiple). A partial cast metal base denture can also be made before having teeth extracted if the teeth being removed are in the front or necessary healing will be minimal. Several impressions and "try-in" appointments may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: Program will only pay for one mandibular per every five years - documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.

	imeric ode	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
nmediate maxillary partial enture – resin base (including ny conventional clasps, rests nd teeth)	5221	\$607.61	\$547.61	\$60.00	Reimbursement made upon delivery of an immediate partial maxillary denture to the client. D5221 can be reimbursed only once per lifetime per client and must be on the same date of service as the extraction. Routine follow- up adjustments or relines within 6 months is to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. An immediate partial resin base denture can be made before having teeth extracted if the teeth being removed are in the front or necessary healing will be minimal. Several impressions and "try-in" appointments may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A maxillary partial denture may be considered 3 years after immediate partial denture was reimbursed. Documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.

Immediate mandibular partial denture - resin base (including any conventional clasps, rests and teeth) D5222 \$607.61 \$547.61 \$60.00 Reimbursement made upon delivery of an immediate partial mandibular denture to the client. D5222 can be reimbursed only once per lifetime per client and must be on the same date of service as the extraction. Routine follow-up adjustments or relines within 6 months is to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. An immediate partial resin base denture can be made before having teeth extracted if the teeth being removed are in the fort or necessary healing will be minimal. Several impressions and "try-in" appointments may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular partial denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular partial denture may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular partial denture may be necessary beach and the match and the partial denture may be necessary beach and the partial
existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
mmediate maxillary partial denture – cast meta ramework with resin denture bases (including any conventional clasps, rests and eeth)	D5223	\$844.31	\$784.31	\$60.00	Reimbursement made upon delivery of an immediate partial maxillary denture to the client. D5223 can be reimbursed only once per lifetime per client and must be on the same date of service as the extraction. Routine follow- up adjustments or relines within 6 months is to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. An immediate partial cast metal framework with resin base denture can be made before having teeth extracted if the teeth being removed are in the front or necessary healing will be minimal. Several impressions and "try-in" appointments may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A maxillary partial denture may be considered 5 years after immediate partial denture was reimbursed. Documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Immediate mandibular partial denture – cast metal framework with resin denture bases (including any conventional clasps, rests and teeth)	D5224	\$844.31	\$784.31	\$60.00	Reimbursement made upon delivery of an immediate partial mandibular denture to the client. D5224 can be reimbursed only once per lifetime per client and must be on the same date of service as the extraction. Routine follow- up adjustments or relines within 6 months are to be anticipated and are included in the initial reimbursement. An immediate partial cast metal framework with resin base denture can be made before having teeth extracted if the teeth being removed are in the front or necessary healing will be minimal. Several impressions and "try-in" appointments may be necessary and are included in the cost. Frequency: A mandibular partial denture may be considered 5 years after immediate partial denture was reimbursed. Documentation that existing prosthesis cannot be made serviceable must be maintained.
Repair broken complete denture base, mandibular	D5511	\$123.70	\$113.70	\$10.00	Repair broken complete denture base, mandibular
Repair broken complete denture base, maxillary	D5512	\$123.70	\$113.70	\$10.00	Repair broken complete denture base, maxillary
Replace missing or broken teeth - complete denture (each tooth)	D5520	\$92.91	\$82.91	\$10.00	Replacement/repair of missing or broken teeth.
Repair resin partial denture base, mandibular	D5611	\$95.00	\$85.00	\$10.00	Repair resin partial denture base, mandibular
Repair resin partial denture base, maxillary	D5612	\$95.00	\$85.00	\$10.00	Repair resin partial denture base, maxillary
Repair cast partial framework, mandibular	D5621	\$121.29	\$111.29	\$10.00	Repair cast partial framework, mandibular
Repair cast partial framework, maxillary	D5622	\$121.29	\$111.29	\$10.00	Repair cast partial framework, maxillary

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Repair or replace broken retentive/clasping materials – per tooth	D5630	\$131.00	\$121.00	\$10.00	Repair of broken clasp on partial denture base – per tooth.
Replace broken teeth-per tooth	D5640	\$94.02	\$84.02	\$10.00	Repair/replacement of missing tooth.
Add tooth to existing partial denture	D5650	\$109.00	\$99.00	\$10.00	Adding tooth to partial denture base. Documentation may be requested when charged on partial delivered in last 12 months.
Add clasp to existing partial denture	D5660	\$136.05	\$126.05	\$10.00	Adding clasp to partial denture base – per tooth. Documentation may be requested when charged on partial delivered in last 12 months.
Rebase complete maxillary denture	D5710	\$322.00	\$297.00	\$25.00	Rebasing the denture base material due to alveolar ridge resorption. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Completed at laboratory. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a reline in a 12 month period.
Rebase complete mandibular denture	D5711	\$322.00	\$297.00	\$25.00	Rebasing the denture base material due to alveolar ridge resorption. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Completed at laboratory. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a reline in a 12 month period.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Rebase maxillary partial denture	D5720	\$304.00	\$279.00	\$25.00	Rebasing the partial denture base material due to alveolar ridge resorption. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Completed at laboratory. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a reline in a 12 month period.
Rebase mandibular partial denture	D5721	\$304.00	\$279.00	\$25.00	Rebasing the partial denture base material due to alveolar ridge resorption. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Completed at laboratory. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a reline in a 12 month period.
Reline complete maxillary denture (chairside)	D5730	\$182.00	\$172.00	\$10.00	Chair side reline that resurfaces without processing denture base. Frequency: One (1) time per 12 months. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a rebase in a 12 month period.
Reline complete mandibular denture (chairside)	D5731	\$182.00	\$172.00	\$10.00	Chair side reline that resurfaces without processing denture base. Frequency: One (1) time per 12 months. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a rebase in a 12 month period.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Reline maxillary partial denture (chairside)	D5740	\$175.82	\$165.82	\$10.00	Chair side reline that resurfaces without processing partial denture base. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a rebase in a 12 month period.
Reline mandibular partial denture (chairside)	D5741	\$177.49	\$167.49	\$10.00	Chair side reline that resurfaces without processing partial denture base. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a rebase in a 12 month period.
Reline complete maxillary denture (laboratory)	D5750	\$243.00	\$218.00	\$25.00	Laboratory reline that resurfaces with processing denture base. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a rebase in a 12 month period.
Reline complete mandibular denture (laboratory)	D5751	\$243.00	\$218.00	\$25.00	Laboratory reline that resurfaces with processing denture base. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a rebase in a 12 month period.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Reline maxillary partial denture (laboratory)	D5760	\$239.00	\$214.00	\$25.00	Laboratory reline that resurfaces with processing partial denture base. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a rebase in a 12 month period.
Reline mandibular partial denture (laboratory)	D5761	\$239.00	\$214.00	\$25.00	Laboratory reline that resurfaces with processing partial denture base. Frequency: one (1) time per 12 months. Cannot be charged on denture provided in the last 6 months. Cannot be charged in addition to a rebase in a 12 month period.
Extraction, erupted tooth or exposed root (elevation and/or forceps removal)		\$111.78	\$101.78	\$10.00	Routine removal of tooth structure, including minor smoothing of socket bone, and closure as necessary. Treatment notes must include documentation that an extraction was done per tooth.
Surgical removal of erupted tooth requiring removal of bone and/or sectioning of tooth, and including elevation of mucoperiosteal flap if indicated	D7210	\$172.88	\$162.88	\$10.00	Includes removal of bone, and/or sectioning of erupted tooth, smoothing of socket bone and closure as necessary. Treatment notes must include documentation that a surgical extraction was done per tooth.
Removal of impacted tooth- soft tissue	D7220	\$207.25	\$187.25	\$20.00	Occlusal surface of tooth covered by soft tissue; requires mucoperiosteal flap elevation. Teeth 1-32 One of D7220 per 1 lifetime per patient per tooth

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Removal of impacted tooth- partially bony	D7230	\$255.53	\$235.53	\$20.00	Part of crown covered by bone; requires mucoperiosteal flap elevation and bone removal. Teeth 1-32 One of D7230 per 1 lifetime per patient per tooth
Removal of impacted tooth- completely bony	D7240	\$296.38	\$276.38	\$20.00	Most or all of crown covered by bone; requires mucoperiosteal flap elevation and bone removal. Teeth 1-32 One of D7240 per 1 lifetime per patient per tooth.
Removal of impacted tooth- completely boney, with unusual surgical complications	D7241	\$389.20	\$369.20	\$20.00	Most or all of crown covered by bone; unusually difficult or complicated due to factors such as nerve dissection required, separate closure of maxillary sinus required or aberrant tooth position. Teeth 1-32 One of D7241 per lifetime per patient per tooth.
Surgical removal of residual tooth roots (cutting procedure)	D7250	\$182.30	\$172.30	\$10.00	Includes removal of bone, and/or sectioning of residual tooth roots, smoothing of socket bone and closure as necessary. Treatment notes must include documentation that a surgical extraction was done per tooth. Can only be charged once per tooth. Cannot be charged for removal of broken off roots for recently extracted tooth.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
<u>Primary closure of a sinus</u> perforation	<u>D7261</u>	<u>\$452.46</u>	<u>\$442.46</u>	<u>\$10.00</u>	Subsequent to surgical removal of tooth, exposure of sinus requiring repair, or immediate closure of oroantral or oralnasal communication in absence of fisulous tract. Narrative of medical necessity may be required and if the sinus perforation was caused by a current grantee or provider of the program.
Incisional biopsy of oral tissue- soft	D7286	\$381.00	\$381.00	\$0.00	Removing tissue for histologic evaluation. Treatment notes must include documentation and proof that biopsy was sent for evaluation.
Alveoloplasty in conjunction with extractions - four or more teeth or tooth spaces, per quadrant		\$150.00	\$140.00	\$10.00	Substantially reshaping the bone after an extraction procedure, much more than minor smoothing of the bone. Reported per quadrant.
Alveoloplasty in conjunction with extractions - one to three teeth or tooth spaces, per quadrant		\$139.42	\$129.42	\$10.00	Substantially reshaping the bone after an extraction procedure, much more than minor smoothing of the bone. Reported per quadrant.
Alveoloplasty not in conjunction with extractions - four or more teeth or tooth spaces, per quadrant	D7320	\$200.47	\$190.47	\$10.00	Substantially reshaping the bone after an extraction procedure, correcting anatomical irregularities. Reported per quadrant.
Alveoloplasty not in conjunction with extractions - one to three teeth or tooth spaces, per quadrant	D7321	\$200.47	\$190.47	\$10.00	Substantially reshaping the bone after an extraction procedure, correcting anatomical irregularities. Reported per quadrant.
Removal of lateral exostosis (maxilla or mandible)	D7471	\$290.11	\$280.11	\$10.00	Removal of a benign bony outgrowth (bone spur) for proper prosthesis fabrication. Reported per arch.

Procedure Description	Alpha- numeric Code	Max Allowable Fee	Program Payment	Max Client Co-Pay	PROGRAM GUIDELINES
Removal of torus palatinus	D7472	\$341.08	\$331.08	\$10.00	To remove a malformation of bone for proper prosthesis fabrication.
Removal of torus mandibularis	D7473	\$332.69	\$322.69	\$10.00	To remove a malformation of bone for proper prosthesis fabrication.
Incision & drainage of abscess - intraoral soft tissue	D7510	\$193.00	\$183.00	\$10.00	Incision through mucosa, including periodontal origins.
Palliative (emergency) treatment of dental pain - minor procedure	D9110	\$78.23	\$53.23	\$25.00	Emergency treatment to alleviate pain/discomfort. This code cannot be used for filing claims or writing or calling in a prescription to the pharmacy or to address situations that arise during multi-visit treatments covered by a single fee such as surgical or endodontic treatment. Report per visit, no procedure. Frequency: Limit 1 time per year. Maintain documentation that specifies problem and treatment.
Evaluation for moderate sedation, deep sedation or general anesthesia	D9219	\$ <u>41.72</u> 4 <del>0.90</del>	\$40.90 <u>41.72</u>	\$0.00	One of D9219 or D9310 per 12 month(s) per provider or location
Deep sedation/general anesthesia-each 15 minute increment	D9223	\$103.40	\$93.40	\$10.00	Ten of D9223 per 1 day per patient. Not allowed with D9243
Intravenous moderate (conscious) sedation/analgesia-first 15 minutes	<u>D9239</u>	<u>\$109.23</u>	<u>\$99.23</u>	<u>\$10.00</u>	<u>One of D9239 per 1 day</u> per patient.
Intravenous moderate (conscious)sedation/analgesia- each 15 minute increment	D9243	\$103.40	\$93.40	\$10.00	Fourteen of D9243 per 1 day per patient. Not allowed with D9223

EXPLANATION OF RESTORATIONS					
Location	Number of Surfaces	Characteristics			
	1	Placed on one of the following five surface classifications – Mesial, Distal, Incisal, Lingual, or Labial.			
Anterior	2	Placed, without interruption, on two of the five surface classifications – e.g., Mesial–Lingual.			
	3	Placed, without interruption, on three of the five surface classifications – e.g., Lingual–Mesial–Labial.			

	4 or more	Placed, without interruption, on four or more of the five surface
		classifications – e.g., Mesial-Incisal-Lingual-Labial.
	1	Placed on one of the following five surface classifications – Mesial, Distal,
		Occlusal, Lingual, or Buccal.
	2	Placed, without interruption, on two of the five surface classifications -
Posterior		e.g., Mesial-Occlusal.
Postenoi	3	Placed, without interruption, on three of the five surface classifications -
		e.g., Lingual-Occlusal-Distal.
	4 or more	Placed, without interruption, on four or more of the five surface
		classifications – e.g., Mesial-Occlusal-Lingual-Distal.

**NOTE:** Tooth surfaces are reported using the letters in the following table.

Surface	Code
Buccal	В
Distal	D
Facial (or Labial)	F
Incisal	1
Lingual	L
Mesial	М
Occlusal	0

Title of Rule:Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning Long-Term<br/>Home Health Prior Authorization Correction, Section 8.520.8.CRule Number:MSB 22-08-29-CDivision / Contact / Phone: Health Programs Office / Russ Zigler / 303-866-5927

## SECRETARY OF STATE

## **RULES ACTION SUMMARY AND FILING INSTRUCTIONS**

## SUMMARY OF ACTION ON RULE(S)

- 1. Department / Agency Name: Health Care Policy and Financing / Medical Services Board
  - 2. Title of Rule: MSB 22-08-29-C, Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning Long-Term Home Health Prior Authorization Correction, Section 8.520.8.C Correction
- 3. This action is an adoption of: an amendment
- 4. Rule sections affected in this action (if existing rule, also give Code of Regulations number and page numbers affected):

Sections(s) 8.520.8, Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing, Staff Manual Volume 8, Medical Assistance (10 CCR 2505-10).

5. Does this action involve any temporary or emergency rule(s)? No If yes, state effective date: Is rule to be made permanent? (If yes, please attach notice of hearing). Yes

## **PUBLICATION INSTRUCTIONS\***

Insert the newly proposed language at 8.520.8.C. This rule is effective November 30, 2022.

Title of Rule:Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning Long-Term Home<br/>Health Prior Authorization Correction, Section 8.520.8.CRule Number:MSB 22-08-19-CDivision / Contact / Phone: Health Programs Office / Russ Zigler / 303-866-5927

# STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE

1. Summary of the basis and purpose for the rule or rule change. (State what the rule says or does and explain why the rule or rule change is necessary).

The original language of Section 8.520.8.C.1 was inadvertently deleted along with the new prior authorization reinstatement language in Sections 8.520.8.C.1.a-j. This emergency rulemaking restores the original Section 8.520.8.C.1 language that preceded the addition of the prior authorization reinstatement language in Sections 8.520.8.C.1.a-j. This does not alter the current Department policy to temporarily pause the pediatric long-term home health prior authorization reinstatement process, effective November 1, 2021 until at least March 2024.

The Department recently met with Health First Colorado (Colorado's Medicaid program) members and families, providers, and other stakeholders about concerns related to the pediatric long-term home health (LTHH) benefit prior authorization request (PAR) reinstatement process. Based on these conversations, the Department has made the decision to temporarily pause the PAR process effective November 1, 2021 until at least March 2024.

The pause allows the Department and partners time to robustly engage with stakeholders, train providers on operational changes, evaluate benefit policy, and notify Health First Colorado members before the pause is lifted. This also gives the Department time to ensure full compliance with federal and state policy while keeping Health First Colorado members and their needs front and center.

2. An emergency rule-making is imperatively necessary

to comply with state or federal law or federal regulation and/or
 for the preservation of public health, safety and welfare.

Explain:

- 3. Federal authority for the Rule, if any:
- 4. State Authority for the Rule:

Final Adoption Emergency Adoption

Sections 25.5-1-301 through 25.5-1-303, C.R.S. (2022);

Final Adoption Emergency Adoption



Title of Rule:Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning Long-Term<br/>Home Health Prior Authorization Correction, Section 8.520.8.CRule Number:MSB 22-08-29-CDivision / Contact / Phone: Health Programs Office / Russ Zigler / 303-866-5927

# **REGULATORY ANALYSIS**

1. Describe the classes of persons who will be affected by the proposed rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will benefit from the proposed rule.

Members receiving pediatric long-term home health services, and the providers of such services, are impacted by this rule.

2. To the extent practicable, describe the probable quantitative and qualitative impact of the proposed rule, economic or otherwise, upon affected classes of persons.

The proposed rule maintains the removal of the requirement that pediatric longterm home health services be prior authorized in accordance with the tiered reinstatement of long-term home health prior authorizations established in previous Sections 8.520.8.C.1.a-j, temporarily pausing the pediatric long-term home health prior authorization reinstatement process, effective November 1, 2021 until at least March 2024.

3. Discuss the probable costs to the Department and to any other agency of the implementation and enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues.

The Department anticipates that expenditure for pediatric long-term home health services would remain in line with spending for the last two years when all prior authorizations for such services were suspended.

4. Compare the probable costs and benefits of the proposed rule to the probable costs and benefits of inaction.

The benefit of the proposed rule is providing the Department and stakeholders time to discuss long-term solutions concerning prior authorization of pediatric long-term home health services. The cost of the proposed rule is suspension of prior authorization requirements for such services. The cost of inaction would be continuing the tiered reinstatement of prior authorization of such services while the Department is actively working with stakeholders to discuss the long-term solutions. There are no benefits to inaction.

5. Determine whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule.

There are no less costly or less intrusive methods for pausing the prior authorization of the services at issue in order to provide the Department and stakeholders time to discuss long-term solutions.

6. Describe any alternative methods for achieving the purpose for the proposed rule that were seriously considered by the Department and the reasons why they were rejected in favor of the proposed rule.

There are no alternative methods for pausing the prior authorization of the services at issue in order to provide the Department and stakeholders time to discuss longterm solutions.

#### 8.520 HOME HEALTH SERVICES

#### 8.520.8.C. Long-Term Home Health

- 1. Long-term Home Health Services do not require prior authorization under Section 8.017.E.Beginning November 1, 2021, providers must submit a prior authorization request (PAR) for all new long-term pediatric Home Health Services under Section 8.017.E, except for Certified Nurse Assistant services, physical therapy services, occupational therapy services, and speech-language pathology services. For members currently receiving long-term pediatric Home Health Services initiated prior to November 1, 2021, providers must submit a PAR in accordance with the following schedule: Ten percent (10%) of PARs must be submitted by November 30, 2021; a..... b. An additional 10% of PARs must be submitted by December 31, 2021; c. An additional 10% of PARs must be submitted by January 31, 2022; An additional 10% of PARs must be submitted by February 28, 2022; An additional 10% of PARs must be submitted by March 31, 2022: An additional 10% of PARs must be submitted by April 30, 2022; g. An additional 10% of PARs must be submitted by May 31, 2022; An additional 10% of PARs must be submitted by June 30, 2022; An additional 10% of PARs must be submitted by July 31, 2022: The final 10% of PARs, with a total of 100% of PARs initiated prior to November 1, 2021, must be submitted by August 31, 2022. When an agency accepts an HCBS waiver client to long-term Home Health Services, the 2. Home Health Agency shall contact the client's case management agency to inform the case manager of the client's need for Home Health Services. The complete formal written PAR shall include: 3. A completed Department-prescribed Prior Authorization Request Form, see а. Section 8.058; A home health Plan of Care, which includes all clinical assessments and current b. clinical summaries or updates of the client. The Plan of Care shall be on the CMS-485 form, or a form that is identical in content to the CMS-485, and all sections of the form shall be completed. For clients 20 years of age or younger.
  - all therapy services requested shall be included in the Plan of Care or addendum, which lists the specific procedures and modalities to be used and the amount, duration, frequency and goals. If extended aide units, as described in 8.520.9.B. are requested, there shall be sufficient information about services on each visit to justify the extended units. Documentation to support any PRN visits shall also be provided. If there are no nursing needs, the Plan of Care and

assessments may be completed by a therapist if the client is 20 years of age or younger and is receiving home health therapy services;

- c. Written documentation of the results of the EPSDT medical screening, or other equivalent examination results provided by the client's third-party insurance;
- d. Any other medical information which will document the medical necessity for the Home Health Services;
- e. If applicable, written instructions from the therapist or other medical professional to support a current need when range of motion or other therapeutic exercise is the only skilled service performed on a CNA visit;
- f. When the PAR includes a request for nursing visits solely for the purpose of prepouring medications, evidence that the client's pharmacy was contacted, and advised the Home Health Agency that the pharmacy will not provide medication set-ups, shall be documented; and
- g. When a PAR includes a request for reimbursement for two aides at the same time to perform two-person transfers, documentation supporting the current need for two-person transfers, and the reason adaptive equipment cannot be used instead, shall be provided.
- h. Long Term Home Health Services for clients 20 years of age or younger require prior authorization by the Department or its Designee using the approved utilization management tool.
- 4. Authorization time frames:
  - a. PARs shall be submitted for, and may be approved for up to a one year period.
  - b. The Department or its Designee may initiate PAR revisions if the Plans of Care indicate significantly decreased services.
  - c. PAR revisions for increases initiated by Home Health Agencies shall be submitted and processed according to the same requirements as for new PARs, except that current written assessment information pertaining to the increase in care may be submitted in lieu of the CMS-485.
- 5. The PAR shall not be backdated to a date prior to the 'from' date of the CMS-485.
- 6. The Department or its Designee shall approve or deny according to the following guidelines for safeguarding clients:
  - a. PAR Approval: If services requested are in compliance with Medicaid rules are medically necessary and appropriate for the diagnosis and treatment plan, the services are approved retroactively to the start date on the PAR form. Services may be approved retroactively for no more than 10 days prior to the PAR submission date.
  - b. PAR Denial:
    - i) The Department or its Designee shall notify Home Health Agencies in writing of denials that result from non-compliance with Medicaid rules or failure to establish medical necessity (e.g. the PAR is not consistent with

the client's documented medical needs and functional capacity). Denials based on medical necessity shall be determined by a registered nurse or physician.

- ii) When denied or reduced, services shall be approved for 60 additional days after the date on which the notice of denial is mailed to the client, through August 31, 2022. If the denial is appealed by the member in accordance with Section 8.057, services will be maintained for the duration of the appeal until the final agency action is rendered. After August 31, 2022, services shall be approved for an additional 15 days after the date on which the notice of denial is mailed to the client. Services may be approved retroactively for no more than 10 days prior to the PAR submission date.
- c. Interim Services: Services provided during the period between the provider's submission of the PAR form to the Department or its Designee, to the final approval or denial by the Department may be approved for payment. Payment may be made retroactive to the start date on the PAR form, or up to 30 working days, whichever is shorter.

Title of Rule:Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning In-State<br/>Inpatient Hospital High Acuity Rate Negotiation, Section 8.300.5.GRule Number:MSB 22-04-06-ADivision / Contact / Phone: Health Programs Office / Russ Zigler / 303-866-5927

## SECRETARY OF STATE

## **RULES ACTION SUMMARY AND FILING INSTRUCTIONS**

## SUMMARY OF ACTION ON RULE(S)

- 1. Department / Agency Name: Health Care Policy and Financing / Medical Services Board
  - 2. Title of Rule: MSB 22-04-06-A, Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning In-State Inpatient Hospital High Acuity Rate Negotiation, Section 8.300.5.G
- 3. This action is an adoption of: an amendment
- 4. Rule sections affected in this action (if existing rule, also give Code of Regulations number and page numbers affected):

Sections(s) 8.300.5.G, Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing, Staff Manual Volume 8, Medical Assistance (10 CCR 2505-10).

5. Does this action involve any temporary or emergency rule(s)?No If yes, state effective date: Is rule to be made permanent? (If yes, please attach notice of hearing). Yes

## **PUBLICATION INSTRUCTIONS\***

Replace the current text at 8.500.3.G with the proposed text beginning at 8.500.3.G.1 through the end of 8.500.3.G.1.c. This rule is effective November 30, 2022.

Title of Rule:Revision to the Medical Assistance Act Rule concerning In-State Inpatient<br/>Hospital High Acuity Rate Negotiation, Section 8.300.5.GRule Number:MSB 22-04-06-ADivision / Contact / Phone: Health Programs Office / Russ Zigler / 303-866-5927

# STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE

1. Summary of the basis and purpose for the rule or rule change. (State what the rule says or does and explain why the rule or rule change is necessary).

The in-state inpatient hospital high acuity rate negotiation rule section requires updating to match a State Plan Amendment (SPA) recently approved by CMS. The SPA includes more specific requirements and limitations not currently included in the broad rule language. In particular, the SPA language is more specific than the broad language of the rule by requiring the hospital to submit evidence that the standard inpatient methodology is insufficient (including, but not limited to, an anticipated cost report for Department review) and limiting the negotiated high acuity rate increase to no more than 100% of the costs anticipated by the hospital (as indicated in the hospital's anticipated cost report). This rulemaking is necessary to align the rule with the State Plan.

2. An emergency rule-making is imperatively necessary

to comply with state or federal law or federal regulation and/or
 for the preservation of public health, safety and welfare.

Explain:

3. Federal authority for the Rule, if any:

42 CFR 440.10 (2021)

4. State Authority for the Rule:

Sections 25.5-1-301 through 25.5-1-303, C.R.S. (2022); Section 25.5-5-102(1)(a), C.R.S. (2021)

Initial Review Proposed Effective Date 08/12/22Final Adoption11/30/22Emergency Adoption

10/14/22



# **REGULATORY ANALYSIS**

1. Describe the classes of persons who will be affected by the proposed rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will benefit from the proposed rule.

High acuity members, and the hospitals that serve high acuity members, are affected by this rule. Hospitals bear the cost of submitting an anticipated cost report for Department review to justify a negotiated high acuity rate increase for inpatient hospital services.

2. To the extent practicable, describe the probable quantitative and qualitative impact of the proposed rule, economic or otherwise, upon affected classes of persons.

Hospitals will not receive more than 100% of the anticipated costs associated with a high acuity member when a high acuity rate is negotiated with, and deemed necessary by, the Department.

3. Discuss the probable costs to the Department and to any other agency of the implementation and enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues.

The Department anticipates that this proposed rule will be budget neutral as it aligns the Department's rules with current practice under the approved state plan requirements.

4. Compare the probable costs and benefits of the proposed rule to the probable costs and benefits of inaction.

The costs of the proposed rule are requiring hospitals to submit an anticipated cost report for Department review to justify higher reimbursement for high acuity members. The benefit of the proposed rule is aligning Department rule with the State Plan. The cost of inaction is maintaining broad rule language that does not specify the requirements in the State Plan that hospitals provide an anticipated cost report to justify the higher rate and limitation of the negotiated rate to 100% of anticipated costs. There are no benefits to inaction.

5. Determine whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule.

There are no less costly or less intrusive methods to align Department rule with the State Plan.

6. Describe any alternative methods for achieving the purpose for the proposed rule that were seriously considered by the Department and the reasons why they were rejected in favor of the proposed rule.

There are no alternative methods for aligning Department rule with the State Plan.

#### 8.300 HOSPITAL SERVICES

#### 8.300.5 Payment for Inpatient Hospital Services

#### 8.300.5.G Payment for High Acuity In-State Services

- 1. The Department may negotiate a higher reimbursement rate for in-state inpatient hospital services up to, but no greater than, 100% of the costs anticipated by the hospital—which must be demonstrated by evidence, including but not limited to an anticipated cost report submitted to the Department for review—where, as determined by the Department, all of the following conditions are fulfilled:
  - a. The in-state inpatient payment methodology insufficiently accounts for the level of acuity;
  - b. All other placement options have been exhausted; and
  - c. The services have been reviewed and authorized by the Medical Director for the Department.