# RULE 17 FEES FOR TESTING AND FOR ISSUANCE OF RECORDS, LICENSES, PERMITS, AND IDENTIFICATION DOCUMENTS BY THE COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

## BASIS, PURPOSE, and STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The purposes of this rule are to establish fees collected by the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles for testing, and for the issuance of records, licenses, permits, and identification documents. The statutory bases for this regulation are sections: 24-4-103, 24-72.1-103, 42-1-206 (2), 42-2-107, 42-2-114, 42-2-114.5, 42-2-117, 42-2-118, 42-2-127.7, 42-2-133, 42-2-306, and 42-2-406, C.R.S.

\* Section (3.15) of this rule addresses a typographical error in section 42-2-114.5, C.R.S. Section 42-2-114.5 (2)(o), C.R.S., incorrectly cites section 42-2-406 (3), C.R.S. The correct citation is section 42-2-406 (5), C.R.S.

### 1.0 DEFINITIONS

- 1.1 **CDL**: Commercial Driver's License.
- 1.2 **C.R.S.**: Colorado Revised Statutes.
- 1.3 **Department**: Colorado Department of Revenue.
- 1.4 **Driver's License**: A driver's license, minor driver's license, or instruction permit.
- 1.5 **Identification Card**: For the purpose of this rule, a document issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles or its equivalent that contains the applicant's full legal name, full facial digital photograph, date of birth, and gender, but does not confer the right to operate a motor vehicle.

### 2.1 APPLICABILITY

2.2 This Rule applies to specific fees collected on or after the effective date of this rule.

#### **3.0 FEES**

- 3.1 The fee for a driving record under section 42-1-206 (2), C.R.S. is nine dollars (\$9.00).
- 3.2 The fee for a certified driving record under section 42-1-206 (2), C.R.S. is ten dollars (\$10.00).
- 3.3 The application fee for an instruction permit under section 42-2-107, C.R.S. is sixteen dollars and eighty centseighteen dollars and fifty two cents (\$17.6418.52).
- The fee for a driver's license or minor driver's license under section 42-2-114 (2) (a) or (4) (a), C.R.S., respectively, is thirty dollars and eighty seven cents \$29.4030.87
  - 3.4.1 Twenty-six dollars (\$26.00) beginning July 1, 2016 but before July 1, 2017;
  - 3.4.2 Twenty-seven dollars (\$27.00) beginning July 1, 2017 but before July 1, 2018;
  - 3.4.3 Twenty-eight dollars (\$28.00) beginning July 1, 2018.
- 3.5 The fee for retaking (after initially failing) either of the following examinations under section 42-2-114.5(2)(e), C.R.S. is:
  - 3.5.1 Knowledge test eleven dollars and fifteen cents (\$11.15); and
  - 3.5.2 Demonstration of skills ability fifteen dollars (\$15.00).

- 3.6 The fee for a duplicate permit or minor driver's license under section 42-2-117 (1), C.R.S. is:
  - 3.6.1 Twelve dollars (\$12.00) for the first duplicate; and
  - 3.6.2 Sixteen dollars (\$16.00) for subsequent duplicates.
- 3.7 The fee for a driver's license extension under section 42-2-118 (1) (b) (l), C.R.S. is six dollars and fifty cents (\$6.50).
- 3.8 The fee for the return of a license under section 42-2-127.7 (4) (d) (II), C.R.S. is six dollars (\$6.00).
- 3.9 The fee for a replacement of a surrendered license under section 42-2-133 (2), C.R.S. is six dollars (\$6.00).
- 3.10 The fee for issuing or renewing an identification card under section 42-2-306 (1) (a), C.R.S. is eleven dollars and fifty centstwelve dollars and sixty seven cents (\$12.0712.67).
- 3.11 The fee for reissuance of an identification card that has been cancelled or denied under section 42-2-306 (1) (b), C.R.S. is twenty dollars (\$20.00).
- 3.12 The fee for issuance of a commercial driver's license by the Department under section 42-2-406 (1) and (2), C.R.S. is fifteen dollars and fifty cents seventeen dollars and eight cents (\$16.2717.08).
- 3.13 The fee for the Department's administration of a driving test for licensing a commercial driver under section 42-2-406 (3) (b), C.R.S. is one hundred twenty dollars (\$120.00).
- 3.14 The annual license fee for a commercial driver's license testing unit's license under section 42-2-406 (4), C.R.S. is:
  - 3.14.1 three thousand ninety-four dollars (\$3,094.00) for the initial license; and
  - 3.14.2 one thousand fifty-two dollars (\$1,052.00) for each subsequent annual license renewal.
- 3.15 The annual license fee for a commercial driver's license driving tester under section 42-2-406(5), C.R.S. is:
  - 3.15.1 one hundred forty-eight dollars (\$148.00) for the initial license; and
  - 3.15.2 one hundred forty dollars (\$140.00) for each subsequent annual license renewal.