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Introduction 
 

The Colorado Register is published pursuant to C.R.S. 24-4-103(11) and is the 

sole official publication for state agency notices of rule-making, proposed rules, attorney 

general's opinions relating to such rules, and adopted rules.  The register may also 

include other public notices including annual departmental regulatory agendas 

submitted by principal departments to the secretary of state. 

"Rule" means the whole or any part of every agency statement of general 

applicability and future effect implementing, interpreting, or declaring law or policy or 

setting forth the procedure or practice requirements of any agency. "Rule" includes 

"regulation". C.R.S. 24-4-102(15).  Adopted rules are effective twenty days after the 

publication date of this issue unless otherwise specified. 

The Colorado Register is published by the office of the Colorado Secretary of 

State twice monthly on the tenth and the twenty-fifth.  Notices of rule-making and 

adopted rules that are filed from the first through the fifteenth are published on the 

twenty-fifth of the same month, and those that are filed from the sixteenth through the 

last day of the month are published on the tenth of the following month.  All filings are 

submitted through the secretary of state’s electronic filing system. 

For questions regarding the content and application of a particular rule, please 

contact the state agency responsible for promulgating the rule. For questions about this 

publication, please contact the Administrative Rules Program at rules@sos.state.co.us.  
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2019-00115

200 - Department of Revenue

207 - Division of Gaming - Rules promulgated by Gaming Commission

1 CCR 207-1

GAMING REGULATIONS

04/18/2019 09:15 AM

17301 W. Colfax Ave., Suite 135, Golden, CO 80401

Proposed Amendment to Gaming regulation 30-305 Investigation Fees, to increase the
background investigation rate from $73.00 per hour to $77.00 per hour. The Colorado Limited
Gaming Commission will determine if the increase is warranted after hearing testimony.

Sections 44-30-102, C.R.S., 44-30-103, C.R.S., 44-30-201, C.R.S., 44-30-203, C.R.S., 44-
30-302, C.R.S., and part 5 of article 30 of title 44, C.R.S.

Kenya Collins Director of Administration

(303) 205-1324 kenya.collins@state.co.us
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BASIS AND PURPOSE FOR RULE 3

The purpose of Rule 3 is to establish and provide the specific information required on license applications;
to establish yearly license fees for each type of license; to establish nonrefundable application fees; to 
establish investigation fees for certain applicants and deposit procedures for investigation fees; to 
establish procedures for conducting background checks on applicants and other interested persons and 
assessing the costs of such background checks; to require certain information regarding the premises the
applicant wishes to be licensed, and to provide a procedure for approval of modifications of such 
premises; and to provide for the issuance of conditional, temporary, and duplicate licenses. The statutory 
basis for Rule 3 is found in sections 44-30-102, C.R.S., 44-30-103, C.R.S., 44-30-201, C.R.S., 44-30-203,
C.R.S., 44-30-302, C.R.S., and part 5 of article 30 of title 44, C.R.S. Amended 1/14/15

RULE 3 APPLICATIONS, INVESTIGATIONS AND LICENSURE

30-305 Investigation fees.

(1)  All applicants for licenses and persons seeking approval of variation games of blackjack, poker,   
craps, roulette, blackjack-poker combination games and table games with electronic betting 
terminals, except support licenses, shall pay the costs of investigations into their backgrounds, 
suitability, and qualifications for licensure.   Eff  04/01/2007 Amended 11/30/2012

(a)  The cost of such investigations shall be at the rate of $737  .00 per hour for each hour 
spent by investigators of the Division, the Colorado Bureau of Investigation, or the 
Department of Revenue investigating the applicants until the conclusion of the 
investigation.  Eff  7/1/2011, (30-305 (1)(a) amended temp. 7/1/16, amended perm. 7/16/16), (30-305 (1)(a) 
amended temp. 7/1/17, amended perm. 7/30/17), (Amended 7/1/19)
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2019-00114

200 - Department of Revenue

207 - Division of Gaming - Rules promulgated by Gaming Commission

1 CCR 207-1

GAMING REGULATIONS

04/18/2019 09:15 AM

17301 W Colfax Ave, Suite 135, Golden, CO 80401

No changes are being proposed to current Gaming Tax rates. The Commission will consider
changes after two months of testimony.

Sections 44-30-201, C.R.S., 44-30-203, C.R.S., 44-30-302, C.R.S., 44-30-602, C.R.S., and
44-30-604, C.R.S., (1991).

Kenya Collins Director of Administration

(303) 205-1338 kenya.colling@state.co.us
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BASIS AND PURPOSE FOR RULE 14

The purpose of Rule 14 is to establish the rate of the gaming tax on adjusted gross proceeds of gaming in
compliance with section 44-30-601, C.R.S., to provide for security for the payment of gaming taxes to the 
Department, and to provide for the payment of gaming taxes by electronic fund transfer and to change the
method of filing monthly gaming tax returns to electronically transmitted. The statutory basis for purpose 
for Rule 14 is found in sections 44-30-201, C.R.S., 44-30-203, C.R.S., 44-30-302, C.R.S., 44-30-602, 
C.R.S., and 44-30-604, C.R.S., (1991). 

RULE 14 GAMING TAX

30-1401 Gaming and device taxes.

Annually the Commission shall conduct rule making hearings concerning the gaming tax rate and device 
fee rate for the subsequent gaming year. Testimony regarding the consideration of the gaming tax shall 
include the following topics to be heard during the following time periods. Additional appropriate topics 
relating to these issues may also be considered as deemed necessary by the Commission. Furthermore, 
in addition to the topics outlined below, the Commission may receive testimony from any member of the 
public during any of the following time periods on the other topics relevant to the consideration of the 
gaming tax and device fee rates. The following general schedule is established to provide structure to the 
annual consideration by the Commission, however rigid compliance is not mandatory and this regulation 
shall in no way be construed to limit the time periods or subject matters which the Commission may 
consider in determining the various tax rates. During the month of April, the Commission shall receive 
testimony regarding the methodology to be utilized in the consideration of the gaming tax for the 
subsequent gaming year. In May, the Commission shall receive testimony regarding the following topics: 
the expenditure impacts and revenue benefits from limited gaming in the cities of Black Hawk, Central 
City, and Cripple Creek, and the counties of Gilpin and Teller; the expenditure impacts and revenue 
benefits from limited gaming for statutorily defined entities eligible for the Local Government Limited 
Gaming Impact Fund; and the expenditure impacts from limited gaming on agencies of the State of 
Colorado. During the month of June the Commission shall receive testimony regarding the financial 
conditions of licensees pertinent to the consideration of the gaming tax pursuant to the criteria expressed 
in part 6 of the limited gaming act of 1991. (30-1401(1) temp. 5/12/93. perm. 6/30/93)(30-1401 1/30/98 
amended perm 07/30/00)   Eff  07/30/2008

(1)    Each retail licensee conducting or offering limited gaming to the public shall be liable for, and 
shall pay to the Department of Revenue, a limited gaming tax upon the adjusted gross proceeds 
from limited gaming. The tax imposed by Section 44-30-601, C.R.S.(1991), shall be determined in
accordance with the following schedule:   Eff  07/30/2008

If the Annual Adjusted Gross Proceeds are: The Tax is:
Up to $2,000,000 (Including $2,000,000)  0.25%
Over $2,000,000 to $5,000,000  2%
Over $5,000,000 to $8,000,000  9%
Over $8,000,000 to $10,000,000  11%
Over $10,000,000 to $13,000,000  16%
Over $13,000,000  20%

(30-1401(1) temp. 9/29/94. perm. 11/30/94)(30-1401(1) temp. 10/01/96, perm. 10/30/96)(30-1401(1) temp 07/01/99. 
perm. 07/30/99)  Eff 07/01/2013
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2019-00111

700 - Department of Regulatory Agencies

731 - Division of Professions and Occupations - Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure

4 CCR 731-1

BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY LICENSURE

04/15/2019 10:00 AM

1560 Broadway, 19th Floor - Conference Room 1250 A

The purpose of this rulemaking is to amend and adopt language from an emergency rule
related to Chapter 4, Licensure by Endorsement, section 4.2 in order to further define the
term substantially equivalent as set forth in section 12-8-118(1)(a), C.R.S.

12-8-108 (1)(a), C.R.S. and 24-4-103, C.R.S.

Ofelia Duran Program DIrector

303.894.7800 dora_barber-cosmetology@state.co.us
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CHAPTER 4   LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT 

  
This chapter clarifies the qualifications and procedures for applicants seeking licensure by 
endorsement pursuant to section 12-8-118, C.R.S. 
 
… 

  
4.2    REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT 

  
A.   To be considered for licensure by endorsement under section 12-8-118, C.R.S., an 

applicant must submit a completed application form, all requested 
documentation, and the appropriate fee. 

 

  
B.   An applicant must submit verification of at least one active/ valid license, in good 

standing at the time of the application, from another state, territory, or foreign country.  
An applicant must also identify all licenses held in any other state, territory, or foreign 
country. 

 
 
 

C.   To be eligible for licensure by endorsement, the applicant must attest to the following   
qualifications: 

  
  

 1.   Graduation from a school approved by the appropriate governmental 
agency responsible for approving such schools in that state, territory, or 
foreign country; 

  
2.   Successful completion of training hours that are substantially equivalent 

to the equal to or greater than the training hours specified in Chapter 2 
for the license sought in this state as determined by the Director.  The 
Director deems  “substantially equivalent” to include: 

a. The successfully completed training hours are equal to or greater 
than the training hours specified in Chapter 2 for the license 
sought in this state; OR 

b. The successful completion of a minimum of 65% of the training 
hours specified in Chapter 2 for the license sought in this state at 
an approved training program AND five (5) hours of documented 
work experience performed as a licensee in good standing in 
another state, territory or foreign country for every one (1) hour 
of Colorado required training that has not been met. 

i. For example, if an applicant completes 1000 hours of the 
required 1500 hours of training, the applicant must 
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demonstrate 2500 hours of work experience to account 
for the 500 hour difference in training hours: OR 

 c.  Any other combination of successfully completed training hours 
at an approved training program and documented work 
experience performed as a licensee in good standing in another 
state, territory or foreign country as determined by the Director 
on a case by case basis. 

;         
3.   Passage of a written examination administered or accepted by the 

 appropriate licensing agency for that state, territory, or foreign 
country; and, 

  
4.   Passage of a practical examination administered by or accepted by the 

appropriate licensing agency for that state, territory, or foreign country OR 
at least 1,000 hours of work experience for the type of license being 
sought, within the 2 years immediately preceding the application receipt. 

  
C.  An applicant must submit verification of at least one active/ valid license, in good 
standing at the time of the application, from another state, territory, or foreign country.  An 
applicant must also identify all licenses held in any other state, territory, or foreign country. 
  
D.   The applicant must report any disciplinary actions taken against them in any other 

jurisdiction. 
  
  

E.    An applicant holding a current license from another jurisdiction that does not meet the 
qualification requirements for licensure by endorsement in Colorado may apply to take 
the examination(s) (practical or written, or both) not taken or passed in another 
jurisdiction. The Director will determine the examination(s) required on a case-by-case 
basis. 

  
… 
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2019-00116

700 - Department of Regulatory Agencies

752 - Division of Conservation

4 CCR 752-1

CONSERVATION EASEMENTS

04/18/2019 09:00 AM

1560 Broadway - Conf Room 110-D Denver

Proposed permanent rules for the Division of Conservation. Emergency Rules (chapters 2, 3 & 4) were adopted
12/21/2018. These proposed permanent rules include the three emergency rules plus one new rule consisting only
of definitions (chapter 1). Changes to the emergency rules are minor, affecting only chapter 2. They have been red-
lined.

part 11, article 61 of title 12 implementing HB 18-1291 signed into law May 29, 2018.

Mark Weston Director, Division of Conservation

303 -894-2316 mark.weston@state.co.us
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DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES 
Division of Conservation 
4 CCR 752-1 
Conservation Easements 

PROPOSED PERMANENT RULE 
 

Chapter 1: Definitions 

The following definitions are in addition to those set forth at section 12-61-1106(1), C.R.S. 

 

1.1. Conservation Easement: for the purpose of implementing part 11, article 61 title 12, C.R.S., an 
interest in real property as defined in section 38-30.5, C.R.S.,  

A. for which an income tax credit has been claimed, or 

B.  for which an income tax credit application has been filed, or  

C. for which an income tax credit application may be filed pursuant to section 39-22-522.  

1.2. Days: calendar days for the purposes of implementing part 11, article 61, title 12, C.R.S.  

1.3. Phased Conservation Easement: a conservation easement that is or is intended to be part of a 
series conveyed by the same landowner encumbering different areas of the same property.  

1.4. Contiguous: for purposes of section 12-61-1106, C.R.S., this is defined as physically touching, 
sharing any boundary or corner; lands transected by a strip or parcel owned in fee simple by 
others are not contiguous.  
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DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES 
Division of Conservation 
4 CCR 752-1 
Conservation Easements 

PROPOSED PERMANENT RULE 
 
CHAPTER 2: CERTIFICATION OF QUALIFIED ORGANIZATIONS THAT HOLD CONSERVATION 
EASEMENTS 

Statement of Basis and Purpose 

Pursuant to section 12-61-1104, C.R.S., the Division of Conservation, in consultation with the 
Conservation Easement Oversight Commission, establishes minimum qualifications for organizations that 
hold conservation easements as described and defined at rule 1.1 to encourage professionalism and 
stability. 

2.1. Qualifications for certification of qualified organizations that intend to accept and hold new 
conservation easements as described and defined at rule 1.1,for which a new tax credit may be 
claimed.  

 The Division may deny, refuse to renew, suspend or revoke the certification of a conservation 
easement holder who fails to meet any of the following minimum qualifications: 

A. Organization 

The conservation easement holder: 

1. pursuant to sections 12-61-1104(5) and (7)(a), C.R.S., is accredited by a 
national land conservation organization broadly accepted by the conservation 
industry; or 

2. meets the requirements of a qualified organization under section 12-61-1104, 
C.R.S. and the qualifications in section 38-30.5-104(2), C.R.S., to hold a 
conservation easement for which a state tax credit may be claimed; and 

3. has the capacity to accomplish the work of the holder including, but not 
limited to  

a. a board of sufficient size, skills, backgrounds and experience,  

b. a sufficient number of staff and/or volunteers; and 

4. if a non-governmental entity, the holder must be in good standing with the 
Colorado Secretary of State. 

B. Conservation Easement Selection, Review and Approval 

1. The conservation easement holder has and follows reasonable written 
policies and procedures for selecting conservation easements. These must 
include, but are not limited to 

a. establishing and following selection criteria to identify conservation 
easements with at least one conservation purpose as defined in section 
12-61-1106(1)(b), C.R.S.; 

b. documenting the conservation purpose(s); 
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c. working with the conservation easement grantor on an individual basis to 
identify and design the permitted uses, reserved rights, and prohibited 
uses intended to be memorialized in the conservation easement;  

d. establishing and following a written policy for accepting phased 
conservation easements as defined at rule 1.3 such that each proposed 
conservation easement of a phased project has at least one 
conservation purpose;  

e. advising potential conservation easement grantors in writing that  

i. they should seek their own legal, financial and tax advice;  

ii. the holder does not provide legal, financial or tax advice;  

iii. there may be adverse legal and other consequences if grantor 
terminates a conservation easement that was created or conveyed 
in expectation of receiving a tax credit; and  

iv. the holder neither promises nor guarantees that the proposed 
conservation easement qualifies for state income tax credit 
purposes. 

2. The conservation easement holder has and follows reasonable written 
policies and procedures for reviewing proposed conservation easements. 
These must include, but are not limited to: 

a. Declining projects that  

i. do not have at least one conservation purpose, or 

ii. do not appear to have the necessary donative intent, or 

iii. are potentially fraudulent or abusive. 

b. Having a title company or competent attorney investigate and report on 
the title, water and mineral rights comprising the property prior to 
accepting the donation; 

c. Evaluating title exceptions and, prior to accepting the donation, 
documenting how grantee addressed severed minerals or other 
exceptions to title so that they will not result in extinguishment or 
undermining of the expressed conservation purpose(s); 

d. Ensuring that, prior to accepting the donation, any liens or 
encumbrances are released, subordinated or addressed so that the 
conservation purpose(s) of the easement is protected in perpetuity; 

e. Providing sufficient information to the board of the holder, a qualified 
committee or other designee for review before a conservation easement 
is approved. 

f. Receiving, reviewing and acknowledging, prior to accepting the donation, 
a baseline documentation report for the conservation easement prepared 
pursuant to section 12-61-1106(5)(c), C.R.S. The review shall assess, at 
a minimum, that: 
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i. The report documents describe the physical condition of the 
property at the time of the gift; 

ii. The report documents accurately the conservation purposes of the 
easement; and  

iii. The report is signed and dated by its author(s), the easement 
grantor and the easement grantee. 

g. If a prior baseline documentation report is updated for use in connection 
with the second or subsequent phase of a conservation project, the 
update shall be a separate document preserved in the conservation 
easement holder’s records, along with the original report. 

h. Receiving and reviewing, before the donor submits a tax credit 
application pursuant to sections 12-61-1105 and 12-61-1106, C.R.S., a 
true copy of the signed “qualified appraisal” prepared by one or more 
“qualified appraisers” for all conservation easements for which a tax 
credit may be claimed pursuant to section 39-22-522, C.R.S. The 
holder’s review shall assess, at a minimum, that:  

i. The physical aspects and legal description of the property that was 
appraised are the same as those described in the conservation 
easement; 

ii. The conservation easement that was appraised is identical to the 
conservation easement that was recorded; 

iii. The ownership of the property that was appraised is identical to 
the grantor of the easement; and 

iv. The appraisal appears to be a qualified appraisal prepared by a 
qualified appraiser in compliance with section 12-61-1106(3)(b)(I)-
(IV), C.R.S.  

3. Having the board of the holder approve all conservation easement donations, 
or establishing policies delegating the authority to approve transactions to a 
qualified committee or other designee;  

i. Such review and approval must be documented; and   

ii. If an entity other than the holder performs the due diligence and 
analysis described in parts 2., b., c, and d. of this section B., the 
holder must review the transaction and document that the project 
is consistent with its policies and procedures. 

C. Stewardship and Enforcement: Practices and Capacity 

1. The conservation easement holder has the following written practices, policies 
and procedures to ensure the fulfillment of the perpetual stewardship 
responsibilities of each of its conservation easements including, but not limited 
to: 

a. Monitoring all conservation easements no less than annually, using at 
least one of the following methods: 
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i. On-the-ground physical inspection of the property; or 

ii. aerial inspection of the property using manned or unmanned 
aircraft, or other methods in general use by other holders that 
monitor easements encumbering similar properties; and 

iii. If aerial or other methods are used, conducting on-the-ground 
monitoring at least every five years. 

b. Monitoring is documented in writing, and the documentation is reviewed 
by either the board of the holder, a qualified committee, or other 
designee; 

c. Enforcing every conservation easement deed; 

d. Reviewing proposed amendments to conservation easement deeds to 
confirm they  

i. do not result in a net loss of conservation value, and 

ii. do not create any non-incidental benefits serving the interests of 
grantor (impermissible private benefit). 

e. Preserving important records, such as but not limited to, deeds, baseline 
documentation reports, monitoring reports and appraisals, in a safe and 
secure manner. 

2. The conservation easement holder has the capacity to maintain, monitor and 
defend the purposes of its easements. If a non-governmental entity, these 
written policies must include, but not be limited to: 

a. The holder maintains dedicated funds for the stewardship and legal 
defense of every conservation easement held. The funds must be 
managed in conformance with a financial plan, which may consider the 
value of insurance policies. The plan shall: 

i. Ensure the longevity of the dedicated stewardship and 
enforcement funds; 

ii. Determine the amount of stewardship and legal defense funds that 
will be needed. Minimum requirements are: 

A. For stewardship, maintain a minimum fund balance of 
$3,500 per conservation easement, and 

B. For legal defense, maintain a minimum fund balance of 
$100,000, or 

C. For holders lacking sufficient money, provide a detailed plan 
with specific funding targets and timelines to achieve the 
minimum requirements in no more than two years. 

b. Ensure that the dedicated funds for stewardship- and enforcement-
related purposes are used only for these purposes or, as established 
through written policies, other allowable uses. 



5 
 

c. If a government entity, sufficient funds must be allocated in the budget to 
steward and enforce conservation easements. Funds are not required to 
be held in a dedicated stewardship fund. 

D. Finance 

The conservation easement holder has and follows reasonable written fiscal policies and 
procedures to ensure the transparent and responsible management of its assets. These 
must include, but are not limited to: 

1. Having the board of the holder review and/or regularly assess the holder’s 
financial status, including the annual budget and any financial changes that 
have occurred; and 

2. Having a financial evaluation conducted on an annual basis by an 
independent qualified accountant who has no financial or other interest in the 
holder. The level of evaluation is determined by the holder’s total annual 
operating revenue, not including the cost or value of conservation easements 
or fee-owned properties: 

a. Less than $100,000 requires an annual compilation; 

b. $100,000-$500,000 requires an annual financial review; and 

c. More than $500,000 requires an annual financial audit. 

E. Governance 

The conservation easement holder has and follows reasonable written policies and 
procedures to ensure responsible management. These must include, but are not limited 
to: 

1. The holder has board meetings; 

2. The holder has a written conflict of interest policy; and 

3. Conservation easements and financial transactions with insiders must be 
documented and must demonstrate that there is no private inurement. 

 

2.2. Qualifications for certification of qualified holders that do not intend to accept and hold new 
conservation easements for which a new tax credit may be claimed 

Pursuant to 12-61-1104(7)(b), the Division shall offer a streamlined and lower-cost process for 
conservation easement holders that do not intend to accept new donations of conservation 
easements for which tax credits would be claimed. 

The Division may deny, refuse to renew, suspend or revoke the certification of a conservation 
easement holder who fails to meet any of the following minimum qualifications: 

A. Organization 

The conservation easement holder: 

1. pursuant to sections 12-61-1104(5) and (7)(a), C.R.S., is accredited by a 
national land conservation organization broadly accepted by the conservation 
industry; or 
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2. meets the requirements of a qualified organization under section 12-61-1104, 
C.R.S. and the qualifications in section 38-30.5-104(2), C.R.S., to hold a 
conservation easement for which a state tax credit may be claimed; and 

3. has the capacity to accomplish the work of the holder including, but not 
limited to  

a. a board of sufficient size, skills, backgrounds and experience,  

b. a sufficient number of staff and/or volunteers; and 

4. if a non-governmental entity, the holder must be in good standing with the 
Colorado Secretary of State. 

B. Stewardship and Enforcement: Practices and Capacity 

1. The conservation easement holder has the following written practices, 
policies and procedures to ensure the fulfillment of the perpetual stewardship 
responsibilities of each of its conservation easements including, but not 
limited to: 

a. Monitoring all conservation easements no less than annually, using 
at least one of the following methods: 

i. On-the-ground physical inspection of the property; or 

ii. aerial inspection of the property using manned or unmanned 
aircraft, or other methods in general use by other holders that 
monitor easements encumbering similar properties; and 

iii. if aerial or other methods are used, conducting on-the-ground 
monitoring at least every five years. 

b. Monitoring is documented in writing, and the documentation is 
reviewed by either the board of the holder, a qualified committee, or 
other designee; 

c. Enforcing every conservation easement deed, including violations; 

d. Reviewing proposed amendments to conservation easement deeds 
to confirm they  

i. do not result in a net loss of conservation value, and 

ii. do not create any non-incidental benefits serving the 
interests of grantor (impermissible private benefit). 

e. Preserving original and duplicate copies of necessary and important 
records, such as deeds, baseline documentation reports, monitoring 
reports and appraisals, in a safe and secure manner. 

2. The conservation easement holder has the capacity to maintain, monitor and 
defend the purposes of its easements. If a non-governmental entity, these 
written policies must include, but not be limited to: 

a. The holder maintains dedicated funds for the stewardship and legal 
defense of every conservation easement held. The funds must be 
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managed in conformance with a financial plan, which may consider 
the value of insurance policies. The plan shall: 

a. Ensure the longevity of the dedicated stewardship and 
enforcement funds; 

b. Determine the amount of stewardship and legal defense 
funds that will be needed. Minimum requirements are: 

i. For stewardship, maintain a minimum fund balance 
of $3,500 per conservation easement, and 

ii. For legal defense, maintain a minimum fund balance 
of $100,000, or 

iii. For holders lacking sufficient money, provide a 
detailed plan with specific funding targets and 
timelines to achieve the minimum requirements in no 
more than two years. 

b. Ensure that the dedicated funds for stewardship- and enforcement-
related purposes are used only for these purposes or, as established 
through written policies, other allowable uses. 

c. If a government entity, sufficient funds must be allocated in the 
budget to steward and enforce conservation easements. Funds are 
not required to be held in a dedicated stewardship fund. 

C. Finance 

The conservation easement holder has and follows reasonable written fiscal policies and 
procedures to ensure the transparent and responsible management of its assets. These 
must include, but are not limited to: 

1. Having the board review and/or regularly assess the holder’s financial status, 
including the annual budget and any financial changes that have occurred; 
and 

2. Having a financial evaluation conducted on an annual basis by an 
independent qualified accountant who has no financial or other interest in the 
holder. The level of evaluation is determined by the holder’s total annual 
operating revenue, not including the cost or value of conservation easements 
or fee-owned properties: 

a. Less than $100,000 requires an annual compilation; 

b. $100,000-$500,000 requires an annual financial review; and 

c. More than $500,000 requires an annual financial audit. 

D. Governance 

The conservation easement holder has and follows reasonable written policies and 
procedures to ensure responsible management. These must include, but are not limited 
to: 

1. The holder has board meetings; 
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2. The holder has a written conflict of interest policy; and 

3. Conservation easements and financial transactions with insiders must be 
documented to show that there is no private inurement. 

2.3. Expiration Date for Certification 

Certification for a conservation easement holder expires on December 31 following the date of 
issuance, or on the date set forth on the next year’s renewal application provided by the Division, 
whichever is later. 

2.4. Eligibility for Conservation Easement Holders After Revocation 

A conservation easement holder whose certification to hold a conservation easement has been 
revoked is not eligible to re-apply for certification until more than two years have elapsed from the 
date of certification revocation. Any re-application after such two-year period is required to be 
submitted on a new application. 

2.5. Certification Renewal  

Renewal of a conservation easement holder certification shall be executed only with the renewal 
application provided by the Division, submitted and accompanied by the prescribed non-
refundable fee prior to the expiration date of certification. 

2.6. Reinstatement of Certification After Expiration 

An expired certification may be reinstated within one year after the date of expiration if the holder 
meets all the requirements in section 12-61-1104, C.R.S. and rules 2.1 or 2.2. A complete 
renewal application and the prescribed non-refundable renewal fee must be submitted to the 
Division for reinstatement. Certification is effective on the date reinstatement is issued and shall 
not be effective retroactively. Any certification that has been expired for more than one year shall 
not be reinstated. 

2.7. Disciplinary Action 

The Director may impose an administrative fine not to exceed two thousand five hundred dollars 
($2,500) for each separate offense, as defined in subparagraphs A-E, below; and may revoke, 
suspend, or refuse to renew the certification of any conservation easement holder if, after an 
investigation and notice, and subject to the right to a hearing pursuant to the provisions of 
sections 24-4-104 and 24-4-105, C.R.S., the Director determines that the conservation easement 
holder: 

A. Has made false or misleading statements or material omission in their application for 
certification; 

B. Has misrepresented or concealed any material fact from a conservation easement 
grantor; 

C. Has employed any device, scheme, or artifice with intent to defraud a conservation 
easement grantor or any government agency; 

D. Has failed to comply with any stipulation or agreement made with the  Director; or 

E. Has failed to comply with any of the certification requirements, or any lawful rule or 
regulation promulgated by the Director. 
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2.8. Information Request 

A conservation easement holder must furnish to the Director such information or documentation 
as the Director in her/his sole discretion deems reasonably necessary for the enforcement of 12-
61-1104, C.R.S. or any rules enacted by the Division. If information or documentation is required, 
the Director must give written notice, in detail, of the information so required and must allow the 
holder an additional twenty-one (21) days from delivery to present such material, which period 
may be extended only upon showing of good cause. Written notice may be hand-delivered or 
mailed by regular first-class mail, postage pre-paid, to the party entitled thereto. If hand-delivered, 
said notice is deemed delivered upon hand delivery. If mailed, said notice is deemed delivered as 
of the date of mailing. 

2.9. Cease and Desist 

If the Division has reasonable cause to believe any public or private holder is not in compliance 
with section 38-30.5-104 (2), C.R.S. and section 12-61-1104, C.R.S., the Director may issue an 
order requiring such organization to cease and desist from holding a conservation easement for 
which a state tax credit may be claimed. 

2.10. Transferring Conservation Easements to Non-Certified Entities 

A. A conservation easement holder must not assign or otherwise transfer any interest in a 
conservation easement for which a state tax credit has been or may be claimed to a non-
certified holder.  

B. A non-certified entity must not accept an assigned or otherwise transferred interest in a 
conservation easement for which a state tax credit has been or may be claimed.  

C. Governmental entities transferring a partial interest in a conservation easement to 
another governmental entity in accordance with an established written agreement are 
exempt from this prohibition on transferring a partial interest in a conservation easement.   

D. All certified holders retaining any interest in a conservation easement must remain 
responsible for stewardship and defense of the conservation easement. 

2.11. Courtesy Filing  

 A certified conservation easement holder must notify the Division within 30 days of a substantive 
change in: 

A. Physical or mailing address of the holder, 

B. Authorized contact person, 

C. Holder name, 

D. Holder mission, or 

E. Holder structure. 



 

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES 
Division of Conservation 
4 CCR 752-1 
Conservation Easements 

PROPOSED PERMANENT RULE 
CHAPTER 3: CONSERVATION EASEMENT DONATIONS MADE ON OR AFTER MAY 29, 2018 

Statement of Basis and Purpose 

Pursuant to section 12-61-1104(7), the Division shall promulgate rules to effectuate the duties of the 
commission pursuant to article 4 of title 24. Such rules shall specifically address the following:  

(d) The adoption of best practices, processes, and procedures used by other entities that regularly review 
conservation easement transactions, including a practice, process, or procedure deeming qualified 
conservation easement appraisals approved by these entities based on their independent reviews as 
credible for purposes of the conservation easement tax credit. 

3.1 Tax credit application containing an appraisal that was prepared pursuant to section 12-61-
1106(3)(b)(I)-(IV). 

If another entity that regularly reviews conservation easement transactions has approved a 
qualified appraisal with a report date on or after May 29, 2018 for use by the other entity, the 
Director shall deem the appraisal as credible for purposes of the conservation easement tax 
credit if all of the following conditions are satisfied: 

A. The qualified appraisal has been independently reviewed by a real estate appraiser licensed 
in Colorado as a certified general appraiser who, as of the effective date of the review: 

1. is competent to appraise a conservation easement for the income tax purposes of its 
donor; and 

2. is competent to appraise the type of property appraised in the appraisal under review; 
and 

3. is in good standing with the Colorado Board of Real Estate Appraisers. 

B. The appraisal review was prepared in compliance with the uniform standards of professional 
appraisal. 

C. The other entity certifies in writing to the Division that:  

1. it approved the appraisal for its own use; and 

2. the reviewed appraisal was a qualified appraisal made for the income tax purposes of the 
donor of the easement; and 

3. the independent review obtained by the entity for its use was prepared by a real estate 
appraiser licensed in Colorado as a certified general appraiser who, as of the date of the 
review: 

a. was competent to appraise a conservation easement for the income tax purposes of 
its donor; and 

b. was competent to appraise the type of property appraised in the appraisal under 
review; and 

c. was in good standing with the Colorado Board of Real Estate Appraisers.  



 

D. The other entity provides the Division with a true copy of the independent appraisal review it 
relied on as the basis for its approval of the qualified appraisal that was reviewed. 



 

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES 
Division of Conservation 
4 CCR 752-1 
Conservation Easements 

PROPOSED PERMANENT RULE 
CHAPTER 4: APPLICATION FEES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2019 

Statement of Basis and Purpose 

Pursuant to section 12-61-1104(7), the Division shall promulgate rules to effectuate the duties of the 
commission pursuant to article 4 of title 24. Such rules shall specifically address the following:  

(a) Allowing for the expedited or automatic certification of an entity that is currently accredited by national 
land conservation organizations that are broadly accepted by the conservation industry; 

(b) A streamlined and lower-cost process for conservation easement holders that do not intend to accept 
new donations of conservation easements for which tax credits would be claimed that focuses on the 
holder's stewardship capabilities; 

(c) The fees charged pursuant to subsection (3) of this section or section 12-61-1106(6), specifically 
ensuring that the fees are adequate to pay for administrative costs but not so high as to act as a 
disincentive to the creation of conservation easements in the state 

 

4.1 Certification fees for entities currently accredited by a national land conservation organization 

A. Initial Certification Application Fee - Stewardship-only $500 

B. Initial Certification Application Fee - Full certification $1,000 

C. Conservation Easement Holder Renewal Fee - Stewardship-only $250 

D. Conservation Easement Holder Renewal Fee - Full certification $500 

4.2 Certification fees for entities not currently accredited by a national land conservation organization 

A. Initial Certification Application Fee - Stewardship-only 1,000 

B. Initial Certification Application Fee - Full certification $2,000 

C. Conservation Easement Holder Renewal Fee - Stewardship-only $500 

D. Conservation Easement Holder Renewal Fee - Full certification $1,000 

4.3 Optional preliminary advisory opinions 

A. For an appraisal of a proposed transaction $10,000 

B. For a proposed deed of conservation easement, conservation purpose, or other relevant 
aspect of a proposed transaction $2,000 

 

4.4 Tax credit certificate applications 

A. For Donations made in 2011-2013 $305 

B. For Donations made on or after January 1, 2014 or later $8,000 

 



Explanation of the March 15, 2019 filing 

On March 1, 2019, the Division of Conservation filed a rulemaking notice containing 
proposed permanent rules identical to those found in this March 15, 2019 filing.  

The March 1, 2019 filing contained the incorrect hearing date. This error was not 
discovered until after the March 1 notice was published in the Colorado Register, Vol. 
42, No. 5, March 10, 2019.  

This March 15, 2019 filing corrects the hearing date from April 1 to April 18, 
consistent with the original COPRRR filing, and consistent with notification to 
stakeholders of the correct April 18 hearing date and also of an in-person stakeholder 
meeting on March 21, 2019. 
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ARTICLE 1  GENERAL PROVISIONS 

Section 1-1 Statement of Basis and Purpose 

These regulations are promulgated to establish rules for the Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission (Safety 
Commission) responsibilities within the Excavation Requirements Act §§ 9-1.5-101, et. seq., C.R.S. (the Act). The 
purpose of the Safety Commission is to prevent injury to persons and damage to property. 

Section 1-2 Statutory Authority 

These regulations have been created pursuant to Section 104.2 (2)(d) and 104.2(6)(a) of the Act. 

Section 1-3 Effective Date 

These regulations shall be effective on June 14, 2019. The previous version of these regulations were filed as an 
emergency rule that was effective February 14, 2019. 

Section 1-4 Definitions 

Terms in these regulations shall have the same definitions as those found in the Act or as defined below. 

DAMAGE.  Includes the penetration or destruction of any protective coating, housing, or other protective device of an 
underground facility, the denting or partial or complete severance of an underground facility, or the rendering of 
any underground facility inaccessible. 

EMERGENCY SITUATIONS.  Includes ruptures and leakage of pipelines, explosions, fires, and similar instances where 
immediate action is necessary to prevent loss of life or significant damage to property, including, without 
limitation, underground facilities, and advance notice of proposed excavation is impracticable under the 
circumstances. 

EXCAVATION. Any operation in which earth is moved or removed by means of any tools, equipment, or explosives and 
includes augering, backfilling, boring, ditching, drilling, grading, plowing-in, pulling-in, ripping, scraping, trenching, 
hydro excavating, postholing, and tunneling. "Excavation" does not include: 

(1)  Routine maintenance on existing planted landscapes; or 

(2)  An excavation by a rancher or a Farmer, as defined in Section 42-20-108.5, C.R.S., occurring on a ranch or 
farm when the excavation involves: 

(a)  Any form of existing agricultural activity that is routine for that ranch or farm; 

(b)  Land clearing if the activity does not involve deep ripping or deep root removal of trees or shrubs; or 

(c)  Routine maintenance of: 

(i)  An existing irrigation facility if the facility has been subjected to maintenance in the previous 
24 months; or 

(ii)  Existing fence lines. 

FARMER. A person or such person's agent or contractor engaged in the production or raising of crops, poultry, or 
livestock. 

FRIVOLOUS COMPLAINT. A complaint filed with the Safety Commission that is entirely without merit and is made with 
the intention of causing inconvenience, harassment or expense. 
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GRAVITY-FED SYSTEM.  Any underground facility that is not pressurized and that utilizes gravity as the only means to 
transport its contents. These systems include sanitary sewer lines, storm sewer lines, and open-air irrigation 
ditches. 

LICENSED PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER.  A professional engineer as defined in Section 12-25-102, C.R.S. 

NOTIFICATION ASSOCIATION.  The statewide notification association of owners and operators of underground facilities 
created in Section 9-1.5-105, C.R.S., also known as Colorado 811 and the Utility Notification Center of Colorado. 

OPERATOR or OWNER.  Any person, including public utilities, municipal corporations, political subdivisions, or other 
persons having the right to bury underground facilities in or near a public road, street, alley, right-of-way, or utility 
easement. Operator or owner in these regulations does not include any railroad. 

PERSON.  Any individual acting on his or her own behalf, sole proprietor, partnership, association, corporation, or joint 
venture; the state, any political subdivision of the state, or any instrumentality or agency of either; or the legal 
representative of any of them. 

ROUTINE MAINTENANCE.  A regular activity that happens at least once per year on an existing planted landscape if 
earth is not disturbed at a depth of more than twelve inches by nonmechanical means or four inches by 
mechanical means and if the activities are not intended to permanently lessen the ground cover or lower the 
existing ground contours. Mechanical equipment used for routine maintenance tasks includes aerators, hand-held 
rototillers, soil injection needles, lawn edgers, overseeders, and hand tools. 

SAFETY COMMISSION. Also known as the “Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission.” The enforcement 
authority as established by statute. 

SUBSURFACE UTILITY ENGINEERING NOTIFICATION.  A notice to the notification association that a project is being 
designed by a licensed professional engineer and that the project will include the investigation and depiction of 
existing underground facilities that meet or exceed the ASCE 38 standard.  

SUBSURFACE UTILITY ENGINEERING-REQUIRED PROJECT.  A project that meets all of the following conditions: 

(1)  The project involves a construction contract with a public entity, as that term is defined in Section 24-91-102, 
C.R.S.; 

(2)  The project involves primarily horizontal construction and does not involve primarily the construction of 
buildings; 

(3) The project: 

(a)  Has an anticipated excavation footprint that exceeds two feet in depth, not including rotomilling, and 
is a contiguous one thousand square feet, not including fencing and signing projects; or 

(b)  Involves utility boring. 

(4)  The project requires the design services of a licensed professional engineer. 

UNDERGROUND FACILITY.  Any item of personal property which is buried or placed below ground for use in connection 
with the storage or conveyance of water or sewage, electronic, telephonic, or telegraphic communications or 
cable television, electric energy, or oil, gas, or other substances. An item of personal property, as used in this 
definition, includes, but is not limited to, pipes, sewers, conduits, cables, valves, lines, wires, manholes, and 
attachments thereto. 

VIOLATION. A determination by the Safety Commission that a violation of the Act has occurred. 
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VIOLATION, MAJOR. A major violation includes, but is not limited to, a violation that the Review Committee finds to be in 
blatant disregard of the best practices and the potential for injury to the public or property is highly probable. 

VIOLATION, MINOR. A minor violation includes, but is not limited to, a frivolous complaint or a violation that the Review 
Committee finds to be valid and the potential for injury to the public or property is not a factor. 

VIOLATION, MODERATE. A moderate violation includes, but is not limited to, a violation that the Review Committee finds 
to be not within best practices and the potential for injury to the public or property is foreseeable. 

Section 1-5 Scope 

These regulations apply to requirements defined in Sections 104.2, 104.4, 104.7 and 104.8 of the Act, although they may 
refer to other Sections of the Act. 

Section 1-6 Codes and Standards 

The following codes, documents or standards are incorporated by reference and may be purchased from the mailing 
addresses or websites listed with the title of each Institute or Association: 

(1) American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191; https://ascelibrary.org/ 

(a) Standard Guideline for the Collection and Depiction of Existing Subsurface Utility Data (ASCE 38-02) 

Interested parties may inspect the referenced incorporated materials by contacting the Division of Oil and Public Safety at 
633 17th Street, Suite 500, Denver, Colorado, 80202. 

This rule does not include later amendments to or editions of the incorporated material. 

Section 1-7 Safety Commission 

The Safety Commission will conduct itself according to its adopted Bylaws and Code of Conduct, and these regulations. 
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ARTICLE 2  ENFORCEMENT OF VIOLATIONS 

Section 2-1 Enforcement Process  

The Safety Commission provides these regulations to denote its process for reviewing complaints and conducting 
hearings. When a person is found to be in violation of the Act and/or these regulations, the Safety Commission will pursue 
penalties or remedial actions against the person. 

Section 2-2 Complaints 

(1) The Safety Commission may review complaints from any person of alleged violations of the Act. 

(a) A person who brings a frivolous complaint, as determined by the Safety Commission, commits a minor 
violation and is subject to a fine. 

(b) The person filing the complaint may voluntarily withdraw the complaint prior to a hearing. 

(2) The review of a complaint shall be completed by a review committee (Review Committee). The Review Committee 
shall: 

(a) Be comprised of three to five members of the Safety Commission. 

(b) Have an equal number of members representing excavators and owners/operators. 

(c) Include at least one member who does not represent either excavators or owners/operators. 

 (3) The complaint process shall include: 

(a) A complaint form, and if applicable a damage form, being completed and submitted to the Safety Commission. 

(b) Within 90 days of the complaint form being received a hearing will be scheduled.  

(i) Both the person filing the complaint and the alleged violator will be sent hearing notification letters to 
advise them of the logistics for the hearing. 

(ii) Both parties shall receive a copy of the complaint form, and, if applicable, a damage form. 

(iii) The scheduled hearing date may be modified by mutual agreement of all parties and rescheduled 
when the Review Committee is available. 

(c) If applicable, the Safety Commission will file a Data Request Form with Colorado 811 to gain ticket 
information. 

Section 2-3 Hearing 

(1)  Hearings shall be conducted in the following manner, unless otherwise directed by the Review Committee: 

(a) Presentation of positions - every party to the proceeding shall have the right to present its case by oral and 
documentary evidence and shall provide eight copies of supporting documentation at the time of the 
hearing. 
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(b) The Review Committee shall utilize the complaint and damage forms (as applicable), presentations, the 
response to the Colorado 811 Data Request Form, and committee members’ experience in the field in its 
discussion and finding of facts. 

(c) Any member of the Review Committee may ask questions of any person involved in the hearing. 

(2) Hearings shall be conducted in the following order, unless otherwise directed by the Review Committee:  

(a) Complaint Report number is called. 

(i) Introduction of Review Committee members and explanation of the proceedings.  

(ii) Determination of whether any Review Committee members have a conflict of interest; this can be 
determined prior to the formation of a Review Committee, and will be reviewed at the start of the 
hearing. 

(b) Presentation of position and submittal of documentation or other materials by the person filing the complaint. 

(c) Presentation of position and submittal of documentation or other material by the person alleged to be in 
violation, in the complaint.  

(d) Rebuttal by the person filing the complaint.  

(e) Questions from the Review Committee to both parties. 

(f) Discussion by the Review Committee on the findings of fact and recommendations for remedial action (if 
applicable). 

(3) Maximum time allowed for hearings shall be the following, unless otherwise directed by the Review Committee: 

(a) Each party shall have 20 minutes to present its case. 

(i) The Review Committee may allow additional time for presentations.  

(ii) If the Review Committee grants additional time to one person, the same amount of additional time will 
be offered to the other person. 

(b) The person filing the complaint shall have five minutes for rebuttal. 

(c) The Review Committee shall take as much time as is necessary to ask questions and discuss the complaint. 

(4) Burden of Proof 

(a) The person filing the complaint has the burden to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the alleged 
violator committed a violation.  

(5) Application of Technical Knowledge  

(a) The Review Committee may utilize its experience, technical competence, and specialized knowledge in the 
evaluation of the evidence presented to it.  
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(b) The Review Committee may take notice of general, technical, or scientific facts within its knowledge, but only if 
the facts so noticed are specified in the record or are brought to the attention of the persons involved in 
the complaint before the final decision and both the person filing the complaint and the person alleged to 
be in violation are afforded an opportunity to controvert the facts so noticed.  

(6) Representation by Counsel  

(a) Any person permitted or compelled to testify or to submit data or evidence shall be entitled to the benefit of 
legal counsel of his or her own choosing and at his or her own expense, but a person may appear for his 
or her self.  

(b) An attorney who is a witness may not act as counsel for the person involved in the hearing. 

Section 2-4 Final Decision 

(1) Review Committee’s Finding of Facts: 

(a) After due consideration of written and oral statements, and accompanying documentation, the Review 
Committee shall determine whether a violation of the law has occurred and, if appropriate, recommend 
remedial action, or make such determination of the matter as it shall deem appropriate consistent with the 
Act.  

(b) Within seven business days after the completion of the hearing, the Review Committee shall provide to the 
Safety Commission a report of its findings and recommendations.  

(2) Safety Commission’s Final Determination: 

(a) The Safety Commission shall review the Review Committee’s findings and recommendations at its next 
scheduled meeting. 

(i) The Safety Commission is bound by the Review Committee’s findings of fact and decision. 

(ii) The Safety Commission may adjust the Review Committee’s recommendation of remedial action or 
penalty if an adjustment is supported by at least 12 members of the Safety Commission.  

(b) Within 10 business days after the Safety Commission’s meeting to review the Review Committee’s findings 
and recommendations, the Safety Commission shall provide both parties involved in the complaint a 
summary of the Review Committee’s findings and the Safety Commission’s final determination with 
respect to any required remedial action or penalty.  

(c) The decision of the Safety Commission is a final agency action subject to review by the District Court pursuant 
to Section 24-4-106, C.R.S. 

Section 2-5 Remedial Actions 

(1) A recommendation of remedial action that includes a fine requires a unanimous vote of the Review Committee. 

(2) The Review Committee shall not recommend remedial action or a fine against a homeowner, rancher or Farmer (as 
defined), unless the Review Committee finds by clear and convincing evidence that a violation of the law has 
occurred.  
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(3)  The Safety Commission may consider training, support services or other remediation measures that will improve the 
behavior of the person found in violation. 

(4) Guidance for the recommendation of remedial action shall be consistent with the following principles: 

(a) Whether the alleged violation is classified as a Minor, Moderate or Major violation (as defined). 

(b) For a person who has not had a violation in the previous 12 months, the Safety Commission may consider 
alternatives to fines. 

(c) The number of violations, relative to the number of notifications received, are a part of the consideration. 

(d) The maximum fines are set forth in Table 2-5. 

Table 2-5: Potential Enforcement Penalties 

Type of Violation 
Number of Violations within the previous 12 months 

1 2 3 4 
Minor $250 $500 $1,000 $5,000 

Moderate $1,000 $2,500 $5,000 $25,000 

Major $5,000 $25,000 $50,000 $75,000 

Section 2-6 Home Rule Entity 

(1) This enforcement process shall not apply to a home rule county, city and county, municipality, or power authority 
established pursuant to Section 29-1-204 (1), C.R.S.; except that if the Safety Commission identifies an alleged 
violation by the home rule entity, the Safety Commission shall: 

(a) Inform the home rule entity of the alleged violation. 

(b) If requested by the home rule entity, suggest corrective action. 

(2) Every home rule entity described in subsection (1) shall: 

(a) Adopt by resolution, ordinance, or other official action either: 

(i) Its own damage prevention safety program similar to that established pursuant to the Act; or 

(ii) A waiver that delegates its damage prevention safety program to the Safety Commission. 

(b) Notify the Safety Commission of the decision in subsection (a). 
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ARTICLE 3  BEST PRACTICES 

(1) The Safety Commission shall advise the Notification Association and other state agencies, the general assembly, and 
the local government on: 

(a) Best practices and training to prevent damage to underground utilities.  

(b) Policies to enhance public safety, including the establishment and periodic updating of industry best 
standards, including marking and documentation best practices and technology advancements. 

(c) Policies and best practices to improve efficiency and cost savings to the Colorado 811 program, including the 
review, establishment, and periodic updating of industry standards, to ensure the highest level of 
productivity and service for the benefit of both excavators and owners and operators. 

  

 



Permanent Rules Adopted 
 
Department 

 
 
 
Agency 

 
 

CCR number  

 

Rule title  

 

 

 

Effective date 

Department of Revenue

Taxpayer Service Division - Tax Group

1 CCR 201-2

1 CCR 201-2 INCOME TAX 1 - eff 04/14/2019

04/14/2019

Colorado Register, Vol. 42, No. 6, March 25, 2019



DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Taxpayer Service Division - Tax Group

INCOME TAX

1 CCR 201-2

[Editor’s Notes follow the text of the rules at the end of this CCR Document.]

_________________________________________________________________________

Regulation 39-22-109. Colorado-Source Income.

(1) General Rule. A Nonresident who derives income from sources in Colorado and who has Nexus 
must file a Colorado income tax return and pay Colorado income tax on Colorado net taxable 
income. Deferred recognition of any income from sources in Colorado remains Colorado-source 
income when such income is finally recognized. A Nonresident’s Colorado income tax liability is 
calculated by first calculating the Nonresident’s Colorado income tax as if the Nonresident was a 
full year Colorado resident and multiplying such tentative tax by the ratio of the Nonresident’s 
Colorado modified federal adjusted gross income to the Nonresident’s total modified federal 
adjusted gross income. See Department Regulation 39-22-110 for rules governing modifications 
to income.

(2) Definitions. The following terms have the meanings set forth below unless the context of the 
regulation indicates otherwise:

(a) ‘Nonresident’ means an individual who is neither a domiciliary of Colorado nor a statutory
resident of Colorado as set forth in § 39-22-103(8), C.R.S., and Department Regulation 
39-22-103(8)(a).

(b) ‘Business’ means a business, trade, profession or occupation, including the activities of a
nonprofit Pass-through entity that has unrelated business taxable income for federal 
income tax purposes. Business does not include activities of a Nonresident whose only 
activity in Colorado is buying and selling intangible property on his or her own account 
(See § 39-22-109(2)(a)(V), C.R.S.).

(c) ‘Entertainer’ means an individual who receives compensation to act, entertain, or inform 
(e.g., speaker or lecturer) at one or more discrete events in Colorado. This includes, but 
is not limited to, actors, bands, singers, orchestras, dancers, comedians, speakers, 
lecturers and similar performers.

(d) ‘Member’ means a partner, member, or shareholder of a Pass-through entity as defined 
in subparagraph (2)(e), below.

(e) ‘Pass-through entity’ means a partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership,
a limited liability company that is treated as a partnership for Colorado tax purposes or a 
trust that is not taxed at the entity level (e.g., a grantor-type trust).

(f) ‘Nexus’ means the Nonresident’s presence in Colorado, whether by being personally 
present in Colorado or being present in Colorado through agents or representatives, 
including through membership in a Pass-through entity or in a series of Pass-through 
entities described in paragraph (3)(c), below, for the purpose of direct or indirect financial 
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profit, gain, benefit or advantage. Once nexus has been established, that nexus will 
continue for as long as the person continues to receive income from sources in Colorado 
that are related to such presence.

(3) Common Types of Income Derived from Sources Within Colorado. A Nonresident’s income 
derived from a source within Colorado is subject to Colorado income tax. The source of income 
refers to the location where income is earned and not to the location of the payor or to the 
residency of the taxpayer. § 39-22-109, C.R.S., lists several types of income that are conclusively
presumed to be Colorado-source income, but it is not an exclusive list of Colorado-source 
income. Colorado-source income includes any income derived from sources within Colorado 
including, but not limited to:

(a) Ownership of Real or Tangible Personal Property. Income derived from any ownership 
interest in real or tangible personal property located in Colorado (e.g., leases and 
licenses) is Colorado-source income, regardless of whether the Nonresident carries on a 
Business within Colorado and regardless of the place where the sale of such property is 
consummated. The following are examples of Colorado-source income.

(i) Rent and royalty income earned from real or tangible personal property located in
Colorado is Colorado-source income.

(ii) Any gain or loss realized from the sale of real property located in Colorado is 
Colorado-source income. Deferred recognition of a gain (or loss) from the sale or
exchange of real property located in Colorado remains Colorado-source income 
when such gain (or loss) is finally recognized. These types of transactions 
include installment sales, exchanges or transfers.

(A) Example: A Nonresident owns real property in Colorado and makes an 
I.R.C. § 1031 exchange of the Colorado property for real property located
in Texas. At the time of the exchange, the property had appreciated in 
value. In the following year, the Nonresident sells the Texas property. 
That portion of the gain attributable to the appreciation in value of the 
Colorado property is Colorado-source income even though the income 
was not recognized until the Texas property was sold. The Nonresident 
continues to have Colorado Nexus as long as the gain is deferred.

(iii) With respect to tangible personal property that appreciates in value while located 
in Colorado but is removed from Colorado for purposes of selling such property, 
the gain from the sale of such property is Colorado-source income.

(A) Example: A Nonresident owns a valuable painting that is displayed in her
vacation home in Colorado. The painting significantly appreciates in 
value while located in Colorado. The Nonresident moves the painting to 
Nevada and immediately sells the painting for significant gain. The gain 
is Colorado-source income.

(iv) Interest income paid on a tax lien certificate for property located in Colorado is 
Colorado-source income. Any other interest income derived from the ownership 
of real or tangible personal property located in Colorado is also Colorado-source 
income. However, interest income from a loan secured by real or tangible 
property located in Colorado is not Colorado-source income.

(v) Interest income from an installment sale of real or tangible personal property 
located in Colorado is Colorado-source income.
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(b) Business Income. Income earned by, credited to, derived from, accumulated for, or 
otherwise effectively attributable to (referred to herein as “derived from”) a Business 
carried on in Colorado is Colorado-source income. A Nonresident carries on a Business 
in Colorado if the Nonresident (a) is present in Colorado for Business or (b) directly or 
indirectly (e.g., through employees, representatives, or as a member of a pass-through 
entity) maintains, operates or shares in the maintaining or operating of any place in 
Colorado where Business affairs are conducted. When a Business is carried on within 
and outside Colorado, only such income that is fairly and equitably attributable to the 
Business carried on in Colorado is Colorado-source income. The following is a non-
exhaustive list of common types of Business income and rules for sourcing such income.

(i) Wage Income. Income earned as an employee for work performed in Colorado is
Colorado-source income, unless a more specific rule below applies. “Performed 
in Colorado” means the employee is physically in Colorado when the employee 
performs the work.

(A) Telecommuting. A Nonresident employee who telecommutes from a 
location outside of Colorado is not working in Colorado and the 
employee’s income from such work is not Colorado-source income.

(B) Work Days. An employee’s income is apportioned to Colorado based on 
the number of days the employee works (“Work Day”) in Colorado. A 
Work Day in Colorado means a day in which the majority of the 
employee’s work time for that day is performed in Colorado. Travel time 
to Colorado is included in calculating the Colorado Work Day hours, but 
travel time departing from Colorado is not included calculating the 
Colorado Work Day hours. The denominator of this ratio is the total 
number of Work Days the employee works in the year. A day is not a 
Work Day if the work done on such day is de minimis. See example (II) 
below.

(I) Example. Nonresident flies from California to Colorado on 
Tuesday but does not perform any other Business-related work 
in either California or Colorado on Tuesday. Nonresident attends
a 2 hour Business meeting on Wednesday, returns to California 
Wednesday afternoon, and works 1 hour in the California office. 
Travel time to Colorado on Tuesday is considered a Work Day in
Colorado because no other work was performed on Tuesday. 
Wednesday is not a Colorado Work Day because the majority of 
the work hours are allocated to California (flight to California and 
office work in California).

(II) Example. Nonresident prolongs his work trip to Colorado through
the weekend. While in Colorado on the weekend vacation, the 
Nonresident checks his or her email and responds to a few non-
substantive emails. Such a day is neither a Colorado Work Day 
nor a Work Day anywhere.

(ii) Independent Contractor. Business income of an independent contractor is 
sourced depending on whether the income is from a purely personal service or is
from other than purely personal service. Purely personal services consist of 
services performed by an individual independent contractor with only incidental 
contributions from either other individuals or property. Such services include, but 
are not limited to, legal, accounting, architecture, or other professional services.
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(A) Purely personal service income. If an independent contractor’s Business 
income is earned by performing purely personal services and the purely 
personal services are performed both within and outside Colorado, the 
Nonresident shall apportion such income in the ratio of the number of 
hours the individual performed such services in Colorado to the total 
number of hours the individual performed such services in the year. But 
see paragraph (4)(b)(iii) and (iv) if the Nonresident is paid on commission
or contingency for purely personal services. Each discrete Business 
activity shall be separately apportioned. See paragraph (4)(b)(ii)(3) for a 
discussion of discrete Business activities.

(I) Hours worked includes non-billable hours.

(II) Nonresidents independent contractors who work on a single job 
for entire days may utilize the Work Day rule described in 
paragraph (3)(b)(i)(B) of this regulation.

(III) Example. An expert witness testifies in trials conducted in 
Colorado during the year. The total hours the expert witness 
spent working in Colorado was 26. Therefore, the expert witness 
must apportion his or her income in the ratio of 26 hours in 
Colorado over the total number of work hours performed in that 
year.

(B) Other than purely personal services income. If an independent 
contractor’s Business income is earned from activities other than the 
performance of purely personal services, then the Business income is 
apportioned under the apportionment rules for corporations set forth in § 
39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and the regulations thereunder.

(I) Example. A Nonresident independent contractor provides oil and
gas consulting services and travels to Colorado to provide 
consultation services to an oil and gas exploration company. 
Consultant hires Company B to perform laboratory analysis, the 
results of which are used by consultant to provide consulting 
services to the exploration company. Consultant is not 
performing purely personal services because the personal 
services of Company B are not incidental in value to consultant’s
services. Consultant uses the apportionment rules set forth in §  
39-22-303.6(6), C.R.S., and the regulations thereunder.

(II) Example. Nonresident independent contractor provides interior 
design consulting services to homeowners. Designer also sells a
substantial amount of tangible personal property to Colorado 
homeowners. Designer is not performing purely personal 
services in Colorado because he or she makes sales of tangible 
personal property that are not incidental in value. The designer 
will apportion Business income using § 39-22-303.6(5), C.R.S., 
and the regulations thereunder.

(C) Discrete Business Activities. If the Nonresident independent contractor 
carries on two or more discrete Business activities in Colorado during the
year, then the Nonresident independent contractor shall separately 
apportion the income derived from each activity, unless the income from 
each cannot be separately determined. The apportionment for each 
discrete Business activity, if both are purely personal services, is 
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calculated based on the ratio of the number hours the individual 
performed such services in Colorado to the total number of hours the 
individual performed such purely personal services everywhere in the tax
year. If the Nonresident independent contractor carries on more than one
discrete Business activity, and at least one is a purely personal service 
while at least another is not a purely personal service, the Nonresident 
independent contractor may choose to either apportion his or her income
under 1) § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and the regulations thereunder or 2) may
separately calculate and apportion his or her income on the basis of work
hours.

(I) Example. An independent contractor provides purely personal 
services in the form of consulting services for two separate 
companies in the same year. Contractor is paid on an hourly 
basis and performs these services in and outside Colorado for 
the first company and performs all consulting services outside 
Colorado for the second company. Each consulting job is a 
discrete income producing activity and, in the absence of records
demonstrating a more accurate apportionment methodology, the 
Department will presume that the income for work performed for 
the first company should be apportioned based on the ratio of 
the number of work hours the consultant worked in Colorado to 
the total number of work hours in the tax year for the first 
company. Income from the second company is a discrete 
Business activity, the income from such work is entirely allocated
to a source outside Colorado, and neither the income nor the 
work hours for such work is included in the apportionment for the
first company.

(iii) Commissions. The amount of Colorado-source income of a Nonresident 
employee or independent contractor whose compensation is based on 
commissions is determined by multiplying the gross income earned from all 
commissions by a fraction, the numerator of which is the amount of sales made 
within Colorado and the denominator of which is the amount of sales made 
everywhere. The determination of whether sales are made within Colorado or 
elsewhere is based upon where the salesperson performs the activities in 
obtaining the order, not the location of the formal acceptance of the contract. If 
the Nonresident also earns income other than as commissions (e.g., wages as 
base pay), then the Nonresident must apportion such non-commission income 
based on the applicable rule (e.g., wage income apportioned as set forth in 
paragraph (4)(b)(i), above).

(iv) Contingency Fees. Each contingency fee arrangements is usually viewed as 
discrete Business activity and the fee is apportioned based on the ratio of the 
number of hours the Nonresident worked in Colorado on the discrete Business 
activity to the total number of hours worked everywhere on the discrete Business 
activity in the year.

(v) Board of Directors. Compensation paid by a corporation for services performed in
Colorado by a Nonresident member of the board of directors for director services,
including attendance at a board of directors' meeting, is Colorado-source income.
If all services are performed in Colorado, the total income for such services is 
Colorado-source income. If the director’s services are performed both within and 
outside Colorado, then the total income paid for performing such service is 
multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the number of hours the 
director is in Colorado performing director services and the denominator of which
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is the total hours the director provides services in the year. If the Nonresident is a
paid member of more than one board of directors in the year, then the ratio is 
determined separately for each board.

(vi) Construction Contractors. Income of a construction contractor or subcontractor 
for construction services is sourced to the state where construction service is 
performed.

(vii) Professional Athletes Employed by a Professional Team. Income earned in 
Colorado by a Nonresident professional athlete employed by a professional team
is Colorado-source income. The compensation received for services rendered as
a member of a professional athletic team reported for federal income tax 
purposes shall be apportioned in the ratio of the number of duty days of 
professional services performed in Colorado over the total number of duty days 
during the tax year for which the athlete is required to make his or her services 
available to the franchise under the terms of his or her contract. The formula 
applies to active team members, team members on the disabled list, and other 
persons required to travel with the team and to perform services on behalf of the 
team, including coaches, managers and trainers. Teams include, but are not 
limited to, any professional baseball, basketball, football, hockey, soccer, and 
lacrosse teams.

(A) Duty days include all days of game, practice or travel that occur on or 
after the beginning of the team's official pre-season training through the 
last game in which the team competes. Duty days also include days the 
Nonresident is required by contract to perform services, but which fall 
outside this period, such as instructional leagues, “Pro Bowl”, or 
promotional events. In addition, duty days include days during the off-
season when a team member undertakes training activities as part of a 
team-imposed program, but only if performed at the team facilities. Duty 
days for any member joining a team during the season shall begin on the
day such person becomes a member, and for any member leaving a 
team during the season shall end on the day such person ceases to be a
member. When a person switches teams during a taxable year, a 
separate duty day calculation shall be made for the period such person 
was with each team. Duty days do not include any try-out or pre-season 
cut days for which the Nonresident is not under contract with a team or 
any days for which a member is not compensated and is not rendering 
services for the team in any manner because such person has been 
suspended without pay and prohibited from performing any services for 
the team.

(B) Each duty day is assigned to the state in which the service is performed. 
Duty days during which a team member is on the disabled list performing
no substantial services for the team will not be apportioned to any 
particular state but will be included in the total number of duty days for 
apportionment purposes.

(C) Travel days are considered duty days and are apportioned as follows: 
Travel days which include a game, required practice, meeting, or other 
service are duty days apportioned to the state in which the game, 
practice, or service is conducted. Travel days not involving a game, 
practice, or required service will not be apportioned to any particular 
state, but will be included in the total number of duty days.
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(D) “Compensation received for services rendered as a member of a 
professional athletic team” means the total compensation received for 
the official pre-season training period through the last game in which the 
team competes or is scheduled to compete during the taxable year, plus 
any additional compensation received for rendering services for the team
on a date that is not during the season (e.g., compensation for 
representing a team at an all-star game) during the taxable year. 
“Compensation received for services rendered as a member of a 
professional athletic team” includes, but is not limited to, salaries; wages;
guaranteed payments; bonuses except as otherwise provided herein. 
Bonuses are includable in “compensation received for services rendered 
as a member of a professional athletic team” if they are earned as a 
result of play during the season or for playing in championship, playoff or 
“all-star” games. Bonuses are also includable if paid for signing a 
contract, unless all of the following conditions are met:

(I) The bonus is not conditional upon the athlete playing any games,
or performing any subsequent services, for the team, or even 
making the team,

(II) The bonus is separate from the payment of salary or any other 
compensation, and

(III) The bonus is nonrefundable.

(E) Income not subject to apportionment would include strike benefits 
contract buy-out payments, severance pay, termination pay, relocation 
payments, and other payments not related to the performance of service.

(F) Examples.

(I) Player A, a Nonresident individual, is a member of a professional
athletic team. His accounting period for federal income tax 
purposes (and, hence, for Colorado income tax purposes) is the 
calendar year. Player A's contract with the team requires Player 
A to report to his team's training camp and to participate in all 
exhibition, regular season and playoff games. This two-season 
contract covers an athletic season that begins during calendar 
year 2013 and ends during calendar year 2014 (for which Player 
A shall be paid $400,000) and an athletic season that begins 
during calendar year 2014 and ends during calendar year 2015 
(for which Player A shall be paid $600,000). Assuming that 
Player A is paid $500,000 during 2014 (50% of his salary for the 
2013-2014 season and 50% of his salary for the 2014-2015 
season), the proportion of such compensation received by Player
A for calendar year 2014 that is derived from Colorado sources 
is that proportion of the $500,000 Player A had duty days in 
Colorado during calendar year 2014 to the total duty days for 
Player A during calendar year 2014.

(II) Player C, a Nonresident individual, is a member of a professional
athletic team. During the season, Player C travels to Colorado to 
participate in the annual all-star game as a representative of his 
team. The days that Player C spends in Colorado for travel, 
practice and the game are considered to be duty days spent in 
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Colorado during the taxable year and are included in duty days 
for Player C during the taxable year.

(III) Assume that the facts are the same as in Example (c), except 
that Player C is not participating in the all-star game and is not 
rendering services for his team in any manner. Player C is 
travelling to and attending the game solely as a spectator. If 
Player C is not required to render services for the team during 
the all-star game, then the days that Player C spends in 
Colorado to attend the all-star game are not considered to be 
duty days spent in Colorado during the taxable year and are not 
included in duty days for Player C during the taxable year.

(viii) Entertainers and Professional Athletes Not Employed by a Professional Team. 
Income earned by a Nonresident professional athlete that is not a member of a 
professional team (e.g., golfers, boxers, wrestlers, racers, etc.) or a Nonresident 
Entertainer for performances, competitions, or events held within Colorado is 
Colorado-source income. If the Entertainer or professional athlete is paid an 
identifiable amount for each event performed in Colorado, that amount is the 
amount of Colorado-source income. If the Nonresident is not paid a specific 
amount for the performance or competition in Colorado, then the Department will 
presume that a fair apportionment of the Nonresident’s income for such activity is
the Nonresident’s gross income derived from the performance(s) or 
competition(s) multiplied by the ratio of the number of performances or 
competitions performed in Colorado divided by the total number of performances 
and competitions performed anywhere in the year.

(ix) Stock Options. Income from the exercise of employee stock options is Colorado-
source income if such income is treated as compensation for federal tax 
purposes and to the extent the employee worked in Colorado during the period 
the employee was required to work for the employer prior to the exercise of the 
option.

(x) Severance, Paid-out Sick and Vacation Leave, Disability Pay and Unemployment
Insurance. Severance pay, paid-out sick and vacation leave pay, disability pay 
and unemployment insurance is Colorado-source income to the extent that the 
income is attributable to employment in Colorado regardless of whether the 
person is a resident when the benefit is paid.

(xi) Deferred Compensation. Deferred compensation is Colorado-source income to 
the extent it is income derived from a Business, including employment, carried on
in Colorado. Deferred compensation includes all compensation paid or made 
available to the Nonresident in a tax year following the year in which the 
compensation was earned. Deferred compensation paid to a Nonresident is not 
subject to Colorado income tax if 4 U.S.C. § 114 applies to such income 
(including retirement plans under sections I.R.C. § 401(a), 403(a) and (b), 408(k),
7701(a)(38), 457, railroad retirement benefits (45 U.S.C. § 231(m)), Social 
Security benefits, or other income that federal law precludes Colorado from 
subjecting to Colorado income tax, even if the retirement benefits were earned in 
tax years when the taxpayer was a resident or was a Nonresident earning 
income from Colorado sources). Deferred compensation is often treated as wage
income and therefore paragraph 4(b)(i) above applies in determining whether or 
not the deferred compensation derived from a Business carried on in Colorado in
the year it was earned is Colorado-source income. Similarly, to the extent that 
deferred income reflects other types of income (e.g., royalties from patents 
employed in Colorado), then the relevant subparagraph of this regulation applies.
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(xii) Guaranteed Payments. Guaranteed payments typically are in lieu of wage 
income and the source of such income is determined in accordance with the 
rules for sourcing wage income (see paragraph (4)(b)(i), above). If the 
guaranteed payment is not in lieu of wage income, then the guaranteed payment 
is allocated or apportioned based on the income-generating activity (e.g., a 
guaranteed payment based on partnership income from the sale of real property 
located in Colorado is allocated pro rata to the Nonresident partner).

(xiii) State Income Tax Refunds. A state income tax refund is apportioned to Colorado
to the extent the underlying or related income is derived from any Business, 
including employment, carried on by the Nonresident in Colorado.

(xiv) Military Personnel and Their Spouses. Compensation paid by the United States 
for service in the armed forces of the United States performed by a Nonresident 
in Colorado is not Colorado-source income. See §§ 39-22-109(2)(b) and 103(8)
(b), C.R.S., and Department Regulation 39-22-103(8) governing income of 
military personnel and their spouses.

(xv) Payments from a Covenant Not to Compete. Income derived from a covenant not
to compete is Colorado-source income to the extent that it is derived from any 
Business, including employment, carried on by the Nonresident in Colorado.

(xvi) Disaster Relief Workers. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, the
income earned by a Nonresident disaster relief worker performing work in 
Colorado during a disaster period is exempt from Colorado income tax. See § 39-
22-104(4)(t), C.R.S.

(c) Distributive Share of a Member of a Pass-through Entity. Income received as part of the 
Nonresident individual's distributive share of a Pass-through entity income, gain, loss, or 
deduction is Colorado-source income to the extent that the Pass-through entity 
determines that income is Colorado-source income pursuant to § 39-22-203(1)(a), 
C.R.S., and the regulations promulgated thereunder. These rules apply to all Members of
a Pass-through entity regardless of the type of the entity (e.g., limited liability company, 
limited liability partnership, limited liability limited partnership) or the status of the Member
(e.g., limited or general).

(i) A Nonresident has Nexus with Colorado if the Nonresident is a Member of a 
Pass-through entity doing business in Colorado.

(ii) Character of income. The activities of a Pass-through entity are attributable to its 
Members. Therefore, a Member is engaged in a Business in Colorado to the 
extent the Pass-through entity is engaged in Business in Colorado. The character
of the item of income, loss, deduction or credit included in the Member’s 
distributive share is determined as if the item was realized or incurred directly by 
the Member from the source from which the item was realized by the Pass-
through entity or incurred in the same manner as the Pass-through entity. The 
principles of this paragraph apply in the case of an ownership chain that runs 
through multiple Pass-through entities.

(iii) A Nonresident Member of a Pass-through entity deriving income from within 
Colorado and elsewhere has Colorado-source income as determined by § 39-22-
109, C.R.S., and this regulation, or as determined by § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and 
the regulations thereunder if the Pass-through entity elects under § 39-22-203(1)
(a), C.R.S., to apportion its income pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S.
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(iv) A Nonresident Member’s share of Colorado-source Business income of a Pass-
through entity that elects to apportion its income pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, 
C.R.S. (including the special apportionment regulations adopted thereunder), 
shall be based on the Member’s pro rata share of such Pass-through entity’s 
income multiplied by the Pass-through entity’s apportionment percentage.

(v) In the case of a Nonresident who is a Member of a partnership (“first 
partnership”), which partnership is a partner in another partnership (“second 
partnership”), the following rules apply:

(A) Unitary Partnerships. In the case of unitary partnerships, the election 
made by the second partnership is irrelevant to the treatment of income 
of the first partnership.

(I) If the first partnership makes the election to apportion its income 
pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S. (including the special 
apportionment regulations adopted thereunder), and is unitary 
with the second partnership as determined by general unitary 
theory, then the Nonresident member of the first partnership’s 
share of Colorado source income is the Member’s pro rata share
of the partnership’s Colorado-source income as determined by § 
39-22-303.6, C.R.S. The first and second partnerships are 
treated as a single entity for purposes of calculating 
apportionment under § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S.

(II) If the first partnership makes the election not to apportion its 
income pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and is unitary with the
second partnership, then the partnerships are treated as one 
partnership and the income is sourced in accordance with this 
regulation.

(B) Non-unitary Partnerships. In the case of non-unitary partnerships, the 
election made by the first partnership is irrelevant to the treatment of 
income of the second partnership.

(I) If the two partnerships are non-unitary, then regardless of the 
election made by the first partnership, the first partnership’s pro-
rata share of the second partnership's Colorado-source income 
is directly allocated by the first partnership to Colorado and is not
apportioned. The pro-rata share of such income passes through 
to the Nonresident Member as Colorado-source income.

(vi) A Nonresident individual may include as a credit for taxes paid on their 
Nonresident individual income tax return any payment made on their behalf by a 
partnership or Subchapter S corporation on a composite return. See §§ 39-22-
601(2.5) and (5), C.R.S.

(vii) Investment Partnerships. A partnership whose sole activity is to buy and sell 
securities for its own account is not carrying on a Business in Colorado. 
Therefore, a Nonresident individual partner of such a partnership is not subject to
Colorado income tax on their distributive share of such partnership income. § 39-
22-109(2)(a)(V), C.R.S. A partnership that engages in other activities in Colorado
that are neither the described activities here nor entirely ancillary to such 
activities is carrying on Business in Colorado.

10



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 1 CCR 201-2
Taxpayer Service Division

(viii) Foreign Source Income of an Export Partnership. See, § 39-22-206, C.R.S., for 
the exclusion of foreign source income of an export partnership from Colorado 
taxable income.

(d) Estates and Trusts. The Colorado-source income of a Nonresident’s distributive share of 
estate or trust income shall be determined as follows:

(i) A Nonresident individual's share of estate or trust income, gain, loss or deduction
is Colorado-source income to the extent the estate or trust derives income from 
sources described in section (3), above. Estates or trusts that derive income from
a Business carried on partly within and without Colorado allocate and apportion 
their income in accordance with the provisions of this regulation.

(ii) Income received by a Nonresident fiduciary of a resident trust is sourced to 
Colorado.

(iii) The character of the item of income, loss, deduction or credit included in the 
Nonresident beneficiary’s distributive share is determined as if the item was 
realized or incurred directly by the beneficiary from the source from which the 
item was realized by the estate or trust, or incurred in the same manner as the 
estate or trust.

(e) Intangible Personal Property. Income, including gain, loss, interest, annuity benefits, and 
dividends earned by a Nonresident is Colorado-source income when the intangible 
property earning income is employed in a Business in Colorado. The following is a non-
exhaustive list of examples of intangible property employed in a Business activity.

(i) Patent and copyright (including trademark and other similar intangible interests) 
royalties constitute Colorado-source income if, in the case of a patent, the patent 
is employed in production, fabrication, manufacturing, processing or other 
commercial activity in Colorado and, in the case of copyright, if the printing or 
publication of the copyrighted material occurs in Colorado.

(ii) Sale of Interest in Pass-through Entity. Gain or loss from the sale of a Member’s 
active interest in a Pass-through entity is Colorado-source income in the same 
proportion as the entity’s average apportionment factor for the immediately prior 
three tax years. Gain or loss from the sale of a Member’s passive interest in a 
Pass-through entity is not Colorado-source income. A Member’s interest is 
passive if, in the tax year the interest is sold, the Member did not materially 
participate in the Business of the Pass-through entity as defined in I.R.C. § 
469(h).

(iii) Income from the sale of goodwill in a Business is allocated or apportioned in the 
same percentage as the sale of the Business’s other assets.

(f) Subchapter S Corporations.

(i) A Subchapter S corporation’s distribution of Colorado-source income to a 
Nonresident is subject to Colorado income tax. Subchapter S corporation 
distribution of income attributable to Colorado sources is allocated and 
apportioned pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and the regulations thereunder.

(ii) The character of income of a shareholder of a Subchapter S corporation is not 
determined as if the item of income or expense is incurred by the shareholder 
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but, rather, is determined as if the income is incurred directly by the Subchapter 
S corporation. See § 39-22-323(3), C.R.S

(iii) See § 39-22-326, C.R.S., for calculation for an individual who is a part-year 
Nonresident. A subchapter S corporation must file a tax return that applies 
apportionment as described in § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S. See § 39-22-601(2.5), 
C.R.S.

(g) Gambling and Games of Chance. Income from gambling and games of chance 
conducted in Colorado, including limited stakes gambling, bingo, raffle, Colorado Lottery, 
sweepstakes, door prizes and other games of chance, is Colorado-source income 
regardless of whether the Nonresident was present in Colorado when the gambling or 
game was conducted or the winnings or prize was awarded or paid.

(4) Net Operating Loss Carryforwards. A net operating loss carryforward is treated as Colorado or 
non-Colorado sourced based on the source in the year the loss was generated.

(a) Example: Taxpayer is a resident of California in tax year 1 and generates a federal net 
operating loss of $80,000 that is carried forward on the federal return. In tax year 2, 
taxpayer has $50,000 of California-source income and $60,000 in Colorado-source 
income. Pursuant to § 39-22-110, C.R.S., taxpayer calculates the tentative Colorado 
income tax based on the net income of $30,000. The numerator of the apportioning ratio 
that is applied to the tentative Colorado income tax does not include the net operating 
loss generated in California but the denominator includes the net operating loss. 
Assuming taxpayer has no “above-the-line” adjustments or adjustments described in §§ 
39-22-104(3) and (4), C.R.S., the ratio is 50/(50+60-80)=5/3. In this case, the taxpayer 
multiplies Colorado tentative tax by a ratio greater than one. See Department Regulation 
39-22-110 for a discussion of the tentative tax and adjustments to income of part-year 
residents and full-year nonresidents.

Cross References

1. See 1 CCR 201-2, Regulation 39-22-110 for guidance on how a part-year resident or nonresident
reports Colorado-source income, and for the treatment of modifications to federal income on the 
Colorado return.
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Regulation 39-22-303.7–1. Definitions for Sourcing Sales of Mutual Fund Service Corporations.

In addition to the definitions provided in §39-22-303.7, C.R.S., and for the purpose of implementing §§ 39-
22-303.5, 39-22-303.6, 39-22-304, and 39-22-303.7, C.R.S., and related regulations, the following terms 
are defined or further defined as follows:

(1) “Affiliate of” or “affiliated with” another person means any person directly or indirectly controlling, 
controlled by, or under common control with such other person.

(2) “Affiliated regulated investment company” or “affiliated RIC” means a regulated investment 
company that (1) is a shareholder in another regulated investment company and (2), in common 
with such other regulated investment company, obtains management or distribution services, as 
described in (4)(a) and (4)(b), from the same provider of such services or a related provider.

(3) “Direct” and “indirect” services:

(a) Direct services. Amounts are derived directly from the performance of management, 
distribution, or administration services when they are received as compensation for 
providing such services to a RIC or to a RIC’s officers, directors or trustees acting on 
behalf of the RIC. For example, the fee received by a person hired by a RIC’s trustees to 
manage the RIC’s assets is derived directly from the performance of management 
services.

(b) Indirect services. Amounts are derived indirectly from the performance of management, 
distribution, or administration services when they are received as compensation for 
providing such services to a person who is directly responsible for providing 
management, distribution or administration services to a RIC pursuant to a contract 
between such person and the RIC or the RIC’s officers, directors, or trustees acting on 
behalf of the RIC. For example, the fee received by a brokerage firm hired by a person 
that is under contract to provide management services to a RIC is derived indirectly from 
the performance of management services.

(4) “Mutual Fund Sales” means gross receipts derived, directly or indirectly, from the performance of 
the following services:

(a) “Management services.” The term management services includes, but is not limited to, 
the rendering of investment advice or investment research to or on behalf of a RIC, 
making determinations as to when sales and purchases of securities are to be made on 
behalf of the RIC, or the selling or purchasing of securities constituting assets of a RIC. 
Such activities must be performed:

(i) pursuant to a contract with the RIC entered into pursuant to 15 U.S.C. section 
80a-15(a);

(ii) for a person that has entered into a contract referred to in subsection i) with the 
RIC; or

(iii) for a person that is affiliated with a person that has entered into a contract 
referred to in i) with the RIC.

(b) “Distribution services.” The term distribution services includes, but is not limited to, 
advertising, servicing, marketing or selling shares of a RIC, including the receipt of 
contingent deferred sales charges and fees received pursuant to 17 CFR § 270.12b-1 
(Sept. 9, 2004), which is incorporated herein by reference, but such incorporation by 
reference does not include later amendments or editions of this referenced material. 
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Certified copies of this material are available for review in the executive director’s office of
the Department of Revenue at 1375 Sherman Street, Denver, Colorado 80261. 
Additionally, a copy of this material may be examined at any state publications depository
library.

(i) In the case of an open end company, advertising, servicing or marketing shares 
must be performed by a person who is either engaged in or affiliated with a 
person that is engaged in the services of selling shares of a RIC. The service of 
selling shares of a RIC must be performed pursuant to a contract entered into 
pursuant to 15 U.S.C. section 80a-15(b).

(ii) In the case of a closed end company, advertising, servicing or marketing shares 
must be performed by a person who was either engaged in or affiliated with a 
person that was engaged in the services of selling shares of a RIC.

(c) “Administration services.” The term administration services includes, but is not limited to, 
clerical, fund or shareholder accounting, participant record keeping, transfer agency, 
bookkeeping, data processing, custodial, internal auditing, legal and tax services 
performed for a RIC. The provider of administration services must also provide or be 
affiliated with a person that provides management or distribution services to any RIC.

(5) “Average Number of Shares” means the average of the number of shares owned by a class of 
shareholders at the beginning of each year and by the same class of shareholders at the end of 
the year, where “the year” refers to the RIC’s taxable year that ends with or within the mutual fund
service corporation’s taxable year.

(6) “RIC” or “regulated investment company” or “fund” means a regulated investment company as 
defined in section 851 of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, as amended. For purposes of
the apportionment of income pursuant to § 39-22-303.7or                                                                
§ 39-22-303.6(9), C.R.S., and these regulations, if the mutual fund service corporation principally 
provides management, distribution, or administration services to regulated investment companies
as defined in section 851 of the federal internal revenue code, such terms also include pension 
and employee retirement plans and foreign entities similar to regulated investment companies as 
defined in section 851 of the federal internal revenue code.

(7) “Shareholder factor” or “Colorado shareholder factor” means the Average Number of Shares 
owned by the RIC’s shareholders domiciled in Colorado divided by the Average Number of 
Shares owned by the RIC’s shareholders everywhere.

Regulation 39-22-303.7–2. Application.

(1) The Colorado net income of mutual fund service corporations shall be calculated pursuant to §§ 
39-22-303.6, and 39-22-304, C.R.S., with the modification to apportionment set out in § 39-22-
303.7, C.R.S., and related regulations.

(2) Colorado Receipts from Mutual Fund Sales. To determine Colorado receipts from mutual fund 
sales, a mutual fund service corporation must calculate mutual fund sales by fund and apply the 
Colorado shareholder factor for each fund to such mutual fund sales by fund.

(a) Colorado receipts by fund are calculated by multiplying mutual fund sales by fund by 
each fund’s shareholder factor.

(b) The total Colorado receipts from mutual fund sales are then calculated by adding 
together the Colorado receipts for each separate fund.
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(3) If the domicile of a shareholder is unknown to the mutual fund service corporation because the 
shareholder of record is a person that holds the shares of a regulated investment company as a 
depositor for the benefit of others, §39-22-303.7(2)(b) provides that the mutual fund service 
corporation may use any reasonable basis, such as ZIP codes of underlying shareholders or US 
census bureau data, in order to determine the proper location for the assignment of the shares. If 
no other basis appears reasonable, and if the number of such shares is not a majority of the total 
shares of the fund, then it shall be reasonable to exclude such shares from both the numerator 
and the denominator of the shareholder factor calculation.
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Regulation 39-22-303(10). Foreign Source Income.

“Foreign source income” is taxable income from sources outside the United States as defined in section 
862 of the internal revenue code. “Foreign source income” includes, but is not limited to, interest, 
dividends (including Sec. 78 “gross-up,”) compensation for personal services, rents and royalties, and net 
income from the sale of property. “Foreign source income” is gross income, less expenses, losses, and 
other deductions properly apportioned or allocated thereto and a ratable part of any other expenses, 
losses, or deductions that cannot be allocated to some item or class of gross income.

IRC Sec. 78 dividend shall be subtracted from federal taxable income in accordance with 39-22-304(3)(j), 
C.R.S.

(1) If a taxpayer elects to claim foreign income taxes as a deduction for federal income tax purposes,
such deductions shall also be allowed for Colorado income tax purposes.

Colorado modifications to federal taxable income shall include any foreign source income and 
related foreign income taxes included in a combined report but not included in the federal return.

(2)

(a) If a federal election is made to claim foreign taxes as a credit, a percentage of foreign 
source income shall be excluded from Colorado income subject to apportionment and 
from the numerator and denominator of the receipts factor.

For purposes of this regulation, foreign tax includes tax paid or accrued, deemed paid, or carried 
over or carried back to the tax year, per the federal income tax return. Not included are taxes 
carried over from, or carried back to, a tax year beginning before Jan. 1, 1986.

The foreign source income exclusion shall be the lesser of:

(i) Foreign source income (Excluding Sec. 78 Dividend), or

(ii) The product of Foreign Taxes Paid (“FT”) and the Foreign Source Income 
(Excluding Sec. 78 Dividend) (“FSI net §78”) divided by the product of the 
effective federal corporation tax rate (“Fed Rate”) and the Foreign Source Income
(Including Sec.78 Dividend) (“FSI”). This is expressed as the following formula:

(FT X “FSI net §78”) / (Fed Rate X FSI)

The effective federal corporation tax rate means the combined taxpayer's federal 
corporate income tax (calculated in accordance with section 11(a) and (b) of the 
internal revenue code for such tax year) divided by the combined taxpayer's 
federal taxable income. As a formula:

Effective federal corporate tax rate = federal corporate income tax / federal 
corporate taxable income

Modifications computed per this regulation shall be claimed as “other” additions 
or subtractions in the modification section of the Colorado corporate income tax 
return.

(b) For tax years commencing prior to January 1, 2000, the denominator of the formula in 
subsection (a)(ii) will use 46% in place of the effective federal corporation tax rate.

16



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 1 CCR 201-2
Taxpayer Service Division

(3) When determining foreign source income for a foreign corporation, such income shall not include 
any income of the foreign corporation that is derived from the conduct of a trade or business 
within the United States.

(4) The excess, if any, of a taxpayer’s foreign source income over the foreign source income 
exclusion shall not be included in the numerator of the Colorado receipts factor (see §39-22-
303.6(4)(b), C.R.S.).

17



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 1 CCR 201-2
Taxpayer Service Division

Regulation 39-22-303(11)(c). Apportionment of Income on a Combined Report or Consolidated 
Return.

Basis and Purpose. The basis for this regulation are §§ 39-21-112(1), 39-22-301, 39-22-303, 39-22-
303.6, 39-22-303.7, 39-22-303.9, and 39-22-305, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to clarify how 
an affiliated group of C corporations apportion their income when included in a combined report or 
consolidated return.

(1) When filing a combined report, the affiliated group of C corporations shall file one return, 
apportioning income under the provisions of §§ 39-22-303.6, 39-22-303.7, or 39-22-303.9, 
C.R.S., and summing the numerators of each affiliated C corporation doing business in Colorado 
to derive a single apportionment factor for the combined group.

(a) In making any calculation pursuant to this regulation, including calculations of income, 
gross receipts, apportionment, or minimal commercial activity determinations, all 
intercompany transactions shall be eliminated before making any such calculation.

(b) Example: Corporations A, B, and C are an affiliated group of C corporations meeting 
three of the six tests in § 39-22-303(11), C.R.S. Corporations A and B are doing business
in Colorado under 1 CCR 201-2, Department 39-22-301.1 and C is not. The Colorado 
receipts factors of the three corporations are as follows:

Colorado Receipts Total Receipts

Corporation A $5,160,118 $7,652,492

Corporation B $1,642,720 $80,009,652

Corporation C $183,290 $814,005

The combined receipts factor would be as follows:

Colorado receipts (A+B) = $6,802,838

Total receipts (A+B+C) = $88,476,149 (Assumes no intercompany transactions.)

Combined receipts factor (Colorado receipts divided by total receipts) = 7.6889%

The 7.6889% receipts factor is applied to the combined modified federal taxable income 
(after elimination of intercompany transactions) of the affiliated group to determine the 
Colorado taxable income to be reported on the combined report.

Cross References

1. For additional information on doing business in Colorado, see 1 CCR 201-2, Regulation 39-22-
301.1.

2. For information on which members of an affiliated group must be included in a combined report 
see 1 CCR 201-2, Regulation 39-22-303(11)(a).

3. For additional information for taxpayers subject to multiple apportionment methods, see 1 CCR 
201-2, Regulation 39-22-303.6–3.
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Regulation 39-22-305. Consolidated Returns.

Basis and Purpose. The bases for this regulation are §§ 39-21-112(1) and 39-22-305, C.R.S. The 
purpose of this regulation is to clarify how to make an election to file a consolidated return and how to 
withdraw such election.

(1) Election to File a Consolidated Return.

(a) The election to file a consolidated C corporation return pursuant to § 39-22-305, C.R.S., 
must be made on or before the due date of the filing of the return, including any 
extensions of time for filing the return. Such election must be made by indication on the 
return in the designated manner. If an election is made, such election may not be 
withdrawn after the due date, including any extension of time, for filing the return. A 
taxpayer who has not made a timely election may request permission from the Executive 
Director or his or her designee to make a consolidated return election consistent with the 
requirements set forth in Treas. Reg. (26 C.F.R.) § 301.9100-3.

(b) The election to file a consolidated return is binding for the election year and the next 
three tax years, unless permission is granted in writing by the Executive Director or the 
Executive Director’s designee for an earlier change.

(c) From the fifth year forward, a taxpayer may revoke the election prior to the due date for 
filing a consolidated return, including any extensions of time for filing the return. If 
revoked, the revocation may not be withdrawn after such due date or any extension of 
time for filing the return. If the taxpayer revokes the election, it may subsequently elect to 
file on a consolidated basis pursuant to (1)(a) of this regulation. The filing by multiple 
taxpayers of non-consolidated returns shall be considered the revocation of the election. 
However, the inadvertent exclusion of a corporation from a consolidated return shall not 
be considered a revocation of the election.

(i) Example. A taxpayer will not revoked its consolidated election if the taxpayer 
acquires a new C corporation doing business in Colorado and inadvertently fails 
to include such corporation in the consolidated return for the year of acquisition.

(d) For any year a consolidated return is filed, the taxpayer shall file an affiliation schedule 
with the return.

(2) Members of the Consolidated Return. The Colorado income tax liability for an affiliated group 
of corporations filing a consolidated return is based only on the net income of those members of 
the affiliated group that have substantial nexus in Colorado, exceed the minimum standards of 
Public Law 86-272 (15 U.S.C. § 381) in Colorado, and for which a tax is imposed under § 39-22-
301, C.R.S., during that tax year. The consolidated net income of such corporations is allocated 
and apportioned in accordance with § 39-22-303.6, § 39-22-303.7, or § 39-22-303.9, C.R.S. The 
apportionment factors of such consolidated group are based solely on the consolidated sales of 
the consolidated group.

(3) Consolidated Return that Includes a Combined Report.

(a) An election to file a consolidated return can be made even if the consolidated return will 
include members of an affiliated group of corporations that are required to file a combined
report. When filing a consolidated return that includes any member of an affiliated group 
that is required to be included in a combined report, such consolidated return must 
include the income as computed in the combined report even if that income calculation is 
based on business activities of one or more affiliated corporations not doing business in 
Colorado.
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(b) The affiliated group electing to file a consolidated return shall be treated as one taxpayer 
for purposes of filing the combined report.

Cross References

1. See 1 CCR 201-2, Regulation 39-22-301.1 for additional information on substantial nexus.

2. See 1 CCR 201-2, Regulation 39-22-303(11)(a) for additional information on filing a combined 
report.

20



 

 
PHILIP J. WEISER 
Attorney General 
 

NATALIE HANLON LEH 
Chief Deputy Attorney General 
  
ERIC R. OLSON 
Solicitor General 
 

JUNE TAYLOR 
Chief Operating Officer 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  STATE OF COLORADO 
     DEPARTMENT OF LAW 

 

 

 

RALPH L. CARR 

COLORADO JUDICIAL CENTER 

1300 Broadway, 10th Floor 

Denver, Colorado  80203 

Phone (720) 508-6000 

 

 

Office of the Attorney General 

 

 

          
 

Tracking number: 
 

 

Opinion of the Attorney General rendered in connection with the rules adopted by the 

 
 

 
on 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Philip J. Weiser 
Attorney General 

by Eric R. Olson  

Solicitor General 

2018-00706

02/22/2019

1 CCR 201-2

INCOME TAX

The above-referenced rules were submitted to this office on 02/25/2019 as required by section 24-4-103,
C.R.S. This office has reviewed them and finds no apparent constitutional or legal deficiency in their form
or substance.

March 12, 2019 16:48:13

Taxpayer Service Division - Tax Group



Permanent Rules Adopted 
 
Department 

 
 
 
Agency 

 
 

CCR number  

 

Rule title  

 

 

 

Effective date 

Department of Revenue

Taxpayer Service Division - Tax Group

1 CCR 201-2

1 CCR 201-2 INCOME TAX 1 - eff 04/14/2019

04/14/2019

Colorado Register, Vol. 42, No. 6, March 25, 2019



DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Taxpayer Service Division - Tax Group

INCOME TAX

1 CCR 201-2

_________________________________________________________________________

Regulation 39-22-303.5–1. Business and Nonbusiness Income.

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

(1) Section 39-22-303.5(1)(a), C.R.S., defines “business income” as income arising from transactions
and activity in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business and includes income from 
tangible and intangible property if the acquisition, management, and disposition of the property 
constitute integral parts of the taxpayer's regular trade or business operations. All income that 
arises from the conduct of trade or business operations of a taxpayer is business income. The 
income of the taxpayer is business income unless clearly classifiable as nonbusiness income 
under the standards set forth in this regulation, under constitutional law or otherwise as explicitly 
provided by law.

(2) The classification of income by the labels occasionally used, such as manufacturing income, 
compensation for services, sales income, interest, dividends, rents, royalties, gains, operating 
income, non-operating income, etc., is of no aid in determining whether income is business or 
nonbusiness income. Income of any type or class and from any source is business income if it 
arises from transactions and activity occurring in the regular course of a trade or business. 
Accordingly, the critical element in determining whether income is “business income” or 
“nonbusiness income” is the identification of the transactions and activities that are the elements 
of a particular trade or business. In general all transactions and activities of the taxpayer that are 
dependent upon or contribute to the operation of the taxpayer's economic enterprise as a whole 
constitute the taxpayer's trade or business and will be transactions and activity arising in the 
regular course of, and will constitute integral parts of, a trade or business. (See 1 CCR 201-2, 
paragraph (4) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–3 concerning the calculation of income when a taxpayer
engages in more than one commercial activity.)

(3) Business and Nonbusiness Income: Application of Definitions. The following are rules for 
determining whether particular income is business or nonbusiness income:

(a) Rents from real and tangible personal property. Rental income from real and tangible 
property is business income if the property with respect to which the rental income was 
received is used in the taxpayer's trade or business or is incidental thereto.

(b) Gains or losses from sales of assets.

(i) Gain or loss from the sale, exchange or other disposition of real or tangible or 
intangible personal property constitutes business income if the property while 
owned by the taxpayer was used in the taxpayer's trade or business. However, if 
such property was utilized exclusively for the production of nonbusiness income 
the gain or loss will constitute nonbusiness income. If the property was used both
for the production of business income and nonbusiness income then the gain 
from the sale is business income. If the property was held for sale after having 
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been used for the production of business income, the gain or loss shall be 
business income.

(ii) Gain or loss from the sale, exchange or other disposition of property shall be 
included in business income if such property is actually used or is available for or
capable of being used during the tax period in the regular course of the trade or 
business of the taxpayer. Gain or loss from the disposition of property held as 
reserves or standby facilities or property held as a reserve source of materials 
shall be included in business income. Gain or loss from the disposition of 
property or equipment under construction during the tax period shall be included 
in business income if such property was intended to be used in the regular 
course of the trade or business of the taxpayer.

(c) Interest. Interest income is business income where the intangible with respect to which 
the interest was received arises out of, is used, or was created in the regular course of 
the taxpayer's trade or business operations or where the purpose for acquiring and 
holding the intangible is related to or incidental to such trade or business operations.

(d) Dividends. Dividends are business income where the stock with respect to which the 
dividends are received arises out of or was acquired in the regular course of the 
taxpayer's trade or business operations or where the purpose for acquiring and holding 
the stock is related to or incidental to such trade or business operations.

(e) Patent and copyright royalties. Patent and copyright royalties are business income where
the patent or copyright with respect to which the royalties were received arises out of or 
was created in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business operations or where
the purpose for acquiring and holding the patent or copyright is related to or incidental to 
such trade or business operations.

(4) Proration of Deductions.

(a) In most cases an allowable deduction of a taxpayer will be applicable only to the 
business income arising from a particular trade or business or to a particular item of 
nonbusiness income. In some cases an allowable deduction may be applicable to the 
business incomes of more than one trade or business and/or to several items of 
nonbusiness income. In such cases the deduction shall be prorated among such trades 
or businesses and such items of nonbusiness income in a manner that fairly distributes 
the deduction among the classes of income to which it is applicable.

(b) Consistency and uniformity in reporting.

(i) Year-to-Year consistency. In filing returns with this state, if the taxpayer departs 
from or modifies the manner of prorating any such deduction used in returns for 
prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the return for the current year the 
nature and extent of the modifications.

(ii) State-to-State uniformity. If the returns or reports filed by a taxpayer with all 
states to which the taxpayer reports under this section, Article IV of the Multistate
Tax Compact or the Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act are not 
uniform in the application or proration of any deduction then the taxpayer shall 
disclose in its return to this state the nature and extent of the variance or 
variances, except where such non-uniformity in reporting is a direct and 
necessary consequence of differences between the law of this state and the law 
of another state.
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Regulation 39-22-303.5–2. Other Definitions. 

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

In addition to the definitions provided in § 39-22-303.5, C.R.S., the following terms are defined or further 
defined as follows:

(1) “Apportionment” refers to the division of business income among states by use of a formula 
containing apportionment factors.

(2) “Allocation” refers to the assignment of nonbusiness income to one or more particular states.

(3) “Business activity” refers to the transactions and activity occurring in the regular course of a 
particular trade or business of a taxpayer.

(4) “Sales” – See 1 CCR 201-2, Regulation 39-22-303.5–4.

Regulation 39-22-303.5–3. Apportionment and Allocation.

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

(1) Apportionment. If the business activity in respect to any trade or business of a taxpayer occurs 
both within and without this state, and if by reason of such business activity the taxpayer is 
taxable in another state, the portion of the net income (or net loss) arising from such trade or 
business that is derived from sources within this state shall be determined by apportionment in 
accordance with § 39-22-303.5(4), C.R.S.

(2) Allocation. Unless electing to treat all income as business income (see regulation 39-22-303.5–
8), any taxpayer subject to the taxing jurisdiction of this state shall allocate all of its nonbusiness 
income or loss within or without this state in accordance with § 39-22-303.5(5), C.R.S.

(3) Combined Report. If a particular trade or business is carried on by a taxpayer and one or more 
affiliated corporations, nothing in these regulations shall preclude the use of a “combined report” 
whereby the entire business income of such trade or business is apportioned in accordance with 
§ 39-22-303, § 39-22-303.5, or § 39-22-303.7, C.R.S. However, the income in the combined 
report may be required to be calculated pursuant to 1 CCR 201-2, Regulation 39-22-303.6–3 
paragraph (4) of and pursuant to any applicable special regulations for allocation and 
apportionment of corporate income.

(4) Consistency and Uniformity in Reporting. In filing returns with this state, if the taxpayer 
departs from or modifies the manner in which income has been classified as business income or 
nonbusiness income, except for nonbusiness income with respect to which an election has been 
made pursuant to § 39-22-303.5(6), C.R.S., in the returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall 
disclose in the return for the current year the nature and extent of the modification.

(5) Taxable in Another State.

(a) In general. Under § 39-22-303.5(3)(b), C.R.S., the taxpayer is subject to the allocation 
and apportionment provisions of this section if it has income from business activity that is 
taxable both within and without this state. A taxpayer's income from business activity is 
taxable without this state if such taxpayer, by reason of such business activity (i.e., the 
transactions and activity occurring in the regular course of a particular trade or business),
is taxable in another state within the meaning of § 39-22-303.5(3)(c), C.R.S.
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(b) Applicable tests. A taxpayer is taxable within another state if it meets either one of two 
tests: (1) If by reason of business activity in another state the taxpayer is subject to one 
of the types of taxes specified in § 39-22-303.5(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., namely: a net income tax,
a franchise tax measured by net income, a franchise tax for the privilege of doing 
business, a corporate stock tax, or other similar tax; or (2) If by reason of such business 
activity another state has jurisdiction to subject the taxpayer to a net income tax, 
regardless of whether or not the state imposes such a tax on the taxpayer.

(c) Producing nonbusiness income. A taxpayer is not taxable in another state with respect to 
a particular trade or business merely because the taxpayer conducts activities in such 
other state pertaining to the production of nonbusiness income or business activities 
relating to a separate trade or business.

(d) A taxpayer is “subject to” one of the taxes specified in § 39-22-303.5(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., if it 
carries on business activities in such state and such state imposes such a tax thereon. 
Any taxpayer that asserts that it is subject to one of the taxes specified in § 39-22-
303.5(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., in another state shall furnish to the executive director upon his or 
her request evidence to support such assertion. The executive director may request that 
such evidence include proof that the taxpayer has filed the requisite tax return in such 
other state and has paid any taxes imposed under the law of such other state; the 
taxpayer's failure to produce such proof may be taken into account in determining 
whether the taxpayer in fact is subject to one of the taxes specified in § 39-22-303.5(3)(c)
(I), C.R.S., in such other state.

(e) Voluntary tax payment. If the taxpayer voluntarily files and pays one or more of such 
taxes when not required to do so by the laws of that state or pays a minimal fee for 
qualification, organization or for the privilege of doing business in that state, but

(i) does not actually engage in business activity in that state, or

(ii) does actually engage in some business activity, not sufficient for nexus, and the 
minimum tax bears no relation to the taxpayer's business activity within such 
state, the taxpayer is not “subject to” one of the taxes specified within the 
meaning of § 39-22-303.5(3)(c)(I), C.R.S.

(f) Taxability. The concept of taxability in another state is based upon the premise that every
state in which the taxpayer is engaged in business activity may impose an income tax 
even though every state does not do so. In states that do not, other types of taxes may 
be imposed as a substitute for an income tax. Therefore, only those taxes enumerated in 
§ 39-22-303.5(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., that may be considered as basically revenue raising rather
than regulatory measures shall be considered in determining whether the taxpayer is 
“subject to” one of the taxes specified in § 39-22-303.5(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., in another state. 
By way of illustration and not of limitation, regulatory measures could include fees 
charged out-of-state cigarette and tobacco vendors for access to the state’s market or 
out-of-state alcoholic beverage vendors to ensure compliance with local liquor laws.

(g) The second test, that of § 39-22-303.5(3)(c)(II), C.R.S., applies if the taxpayer's business 
activity is sufficient to give the state jurisdiction to impose a net income tax by reason of 
such business activity under the Constitution and statutes of the United States. 
Jurisdiction to tax is not present where the state is prohibited from imposing the tax by 
reason of the provision of Public Law 86-272, 15 U.S.C.A., paragraphs 381-385. In the 
case of any “state” as defined in § 39-22-303.5(1)(e), C.R.S., other than a state of the 
United States or political subdivision of such state, the determination of whether such 
“state” has jurisdiction to subject the taxpayer to a net income tax shall be made as 
though the jurisdictional standards applicable to a state of the United States applies in 
that “state”. If jurisdiction is otherwise present, such “state” is not considered as without 
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jurisdiction by reason of the provisions of a treaty between that state and the United 
States.

Regulation 39-22-303.5–4. Calculation of Sales Factor.

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

(1) In General. Section 39-22-303.5(1)(d), C.R.S., generally defines the term “sales” to mean all 
gross receipts of the taxpayer not allocated under subsection (5) of section 303.5, C.R.S. Thus, 
except as otherwise specifically provided, for the purposes of the sales factor of the 
apportionment formula for each trade or business of the taxpayer, the term “sales” means all 
gross receipts derived by the taxpayer from transactions and activity in the regular course of such
trade or business. The following are rules for determining “sales” in various situations:

(a) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in manufacturing and selling or purchasing and 
reselling goods or products, “sales” includes all gross receipts from the sales of such 
goods or products (or other property of a kind that would properly be included in the 
inventory of the taxpayer if on hand at the close of the tax period) held by the taxpayer 
primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of its trade or business. Gross 
receipts for this purpose means gross sales less returns and allowances, and includes all
interest income, service charges, carrying charges, or time-price differential charges 
incidental to such sales. Federal and state excise taxes (including sales taxes) shall be 
included as part of such receipts if such taxes are passed on to the buyer or included as 
part of the selling price of the product.

(b) In the case of cost-plus-fixed fee contracts, such as the operation of a government-
owned plant for a fee, “sales” includes the entire reimbursed cost, plus the fee.

(c) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in providing services, such as the operation of an 
advertising agency, the performance of equipment service contracts, or research and 
development contracts, “sales” includes the gross receipts from the performance of such 
services including fees, commissions, and similar items.

(d) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in renting real or tangible property, “sales” includes the
gross receipts from the rental, lease, or licensing the use of the property.

(e) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in the assignment, or licensing of intangible personal 
property such as patents and copyrights, “sales” includes the gross receipts therefrom.

(f) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in the sale of intangible personal property, including 
patents and copyrights, “sales” means the gain therefrom.

(g) If a taxpayer derives receipts from the sale of equipment used in its business, such 
receipts constitute “sales”.

(h) “Safe Harbor” lease income. All income and deductions created by “safe harbor” lease 
transactions shall be included in the numerator of the Colorado sales factor only if the 
lessor's commercial domicile is located in Colorado. All income and deductions created 
by “safe harbor” lease transactions shall not be included in the numerator of the Colorado
sales factor if the lessor's commercial domicile is not in Colorado.

(2) Exceptions. In some cases certain gross receipts should be disregarded in determining the sales
factor in order that the apportionment formula will operate fairly to apportion to this state the 
income of the taxpayer's trade or business.
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(3) Colorado destination sales of a corporation not having nexus in Colorado when such corporation 
is an includable member of an affiliated group of corporations. In the case of a corporation that 
does not have nexus (is not doing business) in Colorado even though it is an “includable 
corporation” in an affiliated group of unitary corporations filing a combined Colorado return, the 
sales of such corporation of property delivered to purchasers in Colorado shall not constitute 
Colorado sales for purposes of determining the sales factor.

(4) Denominator. The denominator of the sales factor shall include the total sales derived by the 
taxpayer from transactions and activity in the regular course of its trade or business, except 
receipts excluded under § 39-22-303.5(7)(b), C.R.S.

(5) Numerator. The numerator of the sales factor shall include sales attributable to this state and 
derived by the taxpayer from transactions and activity in the regular course of its trade or 
business. All interest income, service charges, carrying charges, or time-price differential charges
incidental to such gross receipts shall be included regardless of (1) the place where the 
accounting records are maintained or (2) the location of the contract or other evidence of 
indebtedness.

(6) Consistency and Uniformity in Reporting.

(a) Numerator/denominator consistency. In filing returns with this state, the taxpayer must 
use the same methodology in calculating both the numerator and the denominator of the 
sales factor.

(b) Year-to-Year consistency. In filing returns with this state, if the taxpayer departs from or 
modifies the basis for excluding or including gross receipts in the sales factor used in 
returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the return for the current year the 
nature and extent of the modification.

(c) State-to-State uniformity. If the returns or reports filed by the taxpayer with all states to 
which the taxpayer reports under this section, Article IV of the Multistate Tax Compact or 
the Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act are not uniform in the inclusion or 
exclusion of gross receipts, then the taxpayer shall disclose in its return to this state the 
nature and extent of the variance or variances, except where such non-uniformity in 
reporting is a direct and necessary consequence of differences between the law of this 
state and the law of another state.

Regulation 39-22-303.5–5. Sales of Tangible Personal Property in this State. 

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

(1) Gross receipts from sales of tangible personal property are in this state:

(a) if the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within this state regardless of the 
f.o.b. point or other condition of sale; or

(b) if the property is shipped from an office, store, warehouse, factory, or other place of 
storage in this state and the taxpayer is not taxable in the state to which the property is 
shipped.

(2) Property shall be deemed to be delivered or shipped to a purchaser within this state if the 
recipient is located in this state, even though the property is ordered from outside this state.
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(3) Property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within this state if the shipment terminates in this 
state, even though the property is subsequently transferred by the purchaser to another state.

(4) The term “purchaser within this state” shall include the ultimate recipient of the property if the 
taxpayer in this state, at the designation of the purchaser, delivers to or has the property shipped 
to the ultimate recipient within this state.

(5) When property being shipped by a seller from the state of origin to a consignee in another state is
diverted while en route to a purchaser in this state, the sales are in this state.

(6) If the taxpayer is not taxable in the state of the purchaser, the sale is attributed to this state if the 
property is shipped from an office, store, warehouse, factory, or other place of storage in this 
state.

(7) If a taxpayer whose salesperson operates from an office located in this state makes a sale to a 
purchaser in another state in which the taxpayer is not taxable and the property is shipped 
directly by a third party to the purchaser, the following rules apply:

(a) If the taxpayer is taxable in the state from which the third party ships the property, then 
the sale is in this state only if the third party ships the property from this state.

(b) If the taxpayer is not taxable in the state from which the property is shipped, then the sale
is in this state.

Regulation 39-22-303.5–6. Sales Other Than Sales of Tangible Personal Property in This State.

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

(1) Gross receipts from services rendered are included in the Colorado sales factor numerator if the 
service that gave rise to the gross receipt is performed wholly within Colorado. If the service is 
performed within and without Colorado, and except as otherwise provided by § 39-22-303.7, 
C.R.S., or applicable special regulations for allocation and apportionment of corporate income or 
other regulation, the portion of the gross receipt included in the Colorado numerator is found by 
multiplying the gross receipt by a fraction, the numerator of which is the direct costs incurred in 
the performance of that service in Colorado and the denominator of which is the direct costs 
incurred in the performance of that service everywhere.

(a) Direct costs include:

(i) wages of employees engaged in the performance of the service;

(ii) taxpayer’s payments to an agent or independent contractor for the performance 
of personal services on behalf of the taxpayer which give rise to the particular 
item of gross receipts;

(iii) a reasonable measure of the real and tangible-personal property used in the 
performance of the service. Such reasonable measure could be a market lease 
rate, depreciation, or other reasonable method. However, the same method must
be used consistently from year to year and from state to state.

(iv) Services on Behalf of the Taxpayer. An activity giving rise to gross receipts 
performed on behalf of a taxpayer by an agent or independent contractor is 
attributed to this state if such activity giving rise to gross receipts is in this state. 
In order to be included as a sale of the taxpayer in either the numerator or 
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denominator of the sales factor, the activities described in this subparagraph iv 
must themselves directly give rise to gross receipts of the taxpayer. By way of 
illustration and not of limitation, such costs could include, for an accounting firm, 
amounts paid to an independent contractor accountant whose time or activities 
directly relate to the accounting of the firm’s client and which time or activities 
directly give rise to a billing item presented to the firm’s client. Such costs would 
not include, for the same firm, amounts paid to an independent contractor 
accountant whose services consist of accounting services related to the firm’s 
accounting, because these activities do not give rise to gross receipts of the 
taxpayer.

(1) Such activity giving rise to gross receipts is in this state:

(A) when the taxpayer can reasonably determine at the time of filing 
that the activity is actually performed in this state by the agent or 
independent contractor, but if the activity occurs in more than 
one state, the location where the activity is actually performed 
shall be deemed to be not reasonably determinable at the time of
filing under this subparagraph (1)(a)(iv)(1)(A);

(B) if the taxpayer cannot reasonably determine at the time of filing 
where the activity is actually performed, when the contract 
between the taxpayer and the agent or independent contractor 
indicates it is to be performed in this state and the portion of the 
taxpayer’s payment to the agent or contractor associated with 
such performance is determinable under the contract;

(C) if it cannot be determined where the activity is actually performed
and the agent or independent contractor's contract with the 
taxpayer does not indicate where it is to be performed, when the 
contract between the taxpayer and the taxpayer's customer 
indicates it is to be performed in this state and the portion of the 
taxpayer’s payment to the agent or contractor associated with 
such performance is determinable under the contract; or

(D) if it cannot be determined where the activity is actually performed
and neither contract indicates where it is to be performed or the 
portion of the payment associated with such performance, when 
the domicile of the taxpayer’s customer is in this state. If the 
taxpayer’s customer is not an individual, “domicile” means 
commercial domicile.

(2) If the location of the activity giving rise to gross receipts by an agent or 
independent contractor, or the portion of the payment associated with 
such performance, cannot be determined under subparagraphs (1)(a)(iv)
(1)(A) through (1)(a)(iv)(1)(C), or the taxpayer’s customer’s domicile 
cannot be determined under subparagraph (1)(a)(iv)(1)(D), or, although 
determinable, such activity is in a state in which the taxpayer is not 
taxable, such income producing activity shall be disregarded.

(b) Direct costs do not include:

(i) Overhead costs,
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(ii) Management costs, unless such management was directly involved in the 
performance of the service, and

(iii) The costs of property not directly used in the performance of the service.

(2) Rents and royalties from real property located in Colorado are included in the Colorado sales 
factor numerator.

(3) Gross proceeds from the sale of real property located in Colorado are included in the Colorado 
sales factor numerator.

(4) Interest and dividend income is included in the Colorado sales factor numerator if the taxpayer’s 
commercial domicile for that trade or business is located in Colorado.

(5) Gain from the sale of intangible property is included in the Colorado sales factor numerator if the 
taxpayer’s commercial domicile for that trade or business is located in Colorado.

(6) Patent and copyright royalties are included in the Colorado sales factor numerator if:

(a) The patent or copyright is utilized by the payer in Colorado, or

(b) The patent or copyright is utilized by the payer in a state in which the taxpayer is not 
taxable and the taxpayer’s commercial domicile for that trade or business is located in 
Colorado.

(7) Revenue from the performance of purely personal services is included in the Colorado sales 
factor numerator if the income producing activity is performed in Colorado.

(a) Purely personal services consist of services that are performed by individuals with only 
incidental contributions either from individuals not directly engaged in the performance of 
the service or from property.

(b) Such services include, but are not limited to:

(i) legal, accounting, or other professional services,

(ii) entertainment and sporting services.

(c) In general, the performance of each individual is a separate income producing activity. 
Where sales are generated by the performance of services of a number of individuals, 
such sales must be divided among the several individuals performing the services. Such 
division must be reasonably related to the generation of the revenue. The contributions of
individuals whose services are not the direct object of the contract (such as para-
professionals and support and administrative staff) are not considered income producing 
activities. Their contributions are not considered in performing the calculation described 
in subparagraph (d) of this paragraph (7). If the contributions of such personnel are more 
than incidental, then the activity is not a purely personal service and would be 
apportioned pursuant to § 39-22-303.5(4)(c)(I), C.R.S.

(d) Each income producing activity is performed in Colorado to the extent that the individual 
is in Colorado when performing the service. Thus, an income producing activity for the 
performance of purely personal services is in Colorado in the ratio of the time spent in 
Colorado in performing the service to the total time spent in performing the service. Time 
spent in performing the service includes the amount of time expended in the performance
of a contract or other obligation that gives rise to the revenue. Personal service not 
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directly connected with the performance of the contract or other obligation, as for 
example time expended in negotiating the contract, is excluded from the computation.

Regulation 39-22-303.5–7. Nonbusiness Income.

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

Tangible personal property has a situs in Colorado at the time of the sale if it is physically located in 
Colorado immediately prior to the sale of the property. The movement of property in anticipation of sale or
as part of the sale transaction is not considered in determining its situs immediately prior to the time of 
sale.

Regulation 39-22-303.5–8. Election to Treat Nonbusiness Income as Business Income.

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

(1) Every year, taxpayers have an election to treat all nonbusiness income as business income.

(a) The election must be made with the original return on the appropriate departmental form 
filed prior to the extended due date of the return (the fifteenth day of the tenth month 
following the close of the tax year). If no departmental form is available, the taxpayer may
make the election on its own form in a clear and unequivocal manner filed together with 
the original return. The taxpayer’s form must be clearly marked “Election to treat 
nonbusiness income as business income for the tax year ending MM, YYYY” (enter 
the appropriate month and year in which the tax year for which the election is being made
ends).

(b) Once the election has been filed for the year, it may not be changed, even if the extended
due date for the year has not passed.

(c) The filing of a return without the election constitutes the non-exercise of the election for 
that tax year, even if the return is calculated with all income as business income.

(d) The failure to file a return prior to the extended due date of the return constitutes the non-
exercise of the election for that tax year.

(2) If the election described in this regulation is made for the income tax year, all sales of the 
taxpayer are included in the denominator and, if appropriate, the numerator of the taxpayer’s 
sales factor.

Regulation 39-22-303.5–9. Alternative Apportionment.

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

(1) Section 39-22-303.5(7)(b), C.R.S., permits a departure from the allocation and apportionment 
provisions of § 39-22-303.5, C.R.S., (hereinafter “303.5”) only in limited and specific cases. 
Paragraph (7)(b) of 303.5 may be invoked only in specific cases where unusual fact situations 
(which ordinarily will be unique and nonrecurring) produce incongruous results under the 
apportionment and allocation provisions contained in section 303.5.

(2) In the case of certain industries, the general regulations under section 303.5 in respect to the 
apportionment formula do not set forth appropriate procedures for determining the apportionment 
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factors. Nothing in § 39-22-303.5(7)(b), C.R.S., or in this Regulation 39-22-303.5–9 shall preclude
the executive director from establishing appropriate procedures under 303.5 and paragraph (7)(a)
of 303.5 for determining the apportionment factors for each such industry, but such procedures 
shall be applied uniformly.

(3) In the case of certain taxpayers, the general regulations under §§ 39-22-303 and 303.5, C.R.S. 
do not set forth appropriate procedures for determining income or the apportionment factors. 
Nothing in § 39-22-303.5(7)(b), C.R.S., or in this Regulation 39-22-303.5–9 shall preclude the 
executive director from distributing or allocating income and deductions under § 39-22-303(6), 
C.R.S.

(4) Special rules.

(a) Where substantial amounts of gross receipts arise from an incidental or occasional sale 
of a fixed asset used in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business, such gross
receipts shall be excluded from the sales factor.

(b) Insubstantial amounts of gross receipts arising from incidental or occasional transactions 
or activities may be excluded from the sales factor unless such exclusion would 
materially affect the amount of income apportioned to this state.

(c) Where business income from intangible property cannot readily be attributed to any 
particular income-producing activity of the taxpayer, and such income cannot be 
assigned to the numerator of the sales factor for any state, such income shall be 
excluded from the denominator of the sales factor.

(d) Where the income-producing activity in respect to business income from intangible 
personal property can be readily identified, such income is included in the denominator of
the sales factor and, if the income-producing activity occurs in this state, in the numerator
of the sales factor as well.

Regulation 39-22-303.5–10. Income from Foreclosures.

The provisions of this regulation apply to income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2009, but 
prior to January 1, 2019.

A taxpayer who qualifies under the provisions of § 39-22-303.5(8), C.R.S., must file using the rules of that
provision (direct allocation). A taxpayer may not make an election pursuant to § 39-22-303.5(6), C.R.S., to
treat such income as business income.
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Regulation 39-22-2102. Colorado Affordable Housing Tax Credit.

Basis and Purpose. The bases for this regulation are § 39-21-112(1) and § 39-22-2102, C.R.S. The 
purpose of this regulation is to provide clarification for pass-through entities making an allocation of the 
Colorado affordable housing credit, as well as to establish when the carryforward period begins for the 
credit.

(1) Allocating the Credit for Pass-Through Entities.

(a) The owner of a qualified development project receiving an allocation of a Colorado 
affordable housing credit may allocate the credit among its partners, shareholders, 
members, or other qualified taxpayers in any manner agreed to by such persons. The 
owner must submit with the Colorado Partnership or S Corporation Return their Colorado 
State Affordable Housing Tax Credit Allocation Certificate (“Allocation Certificate”) along 
with a schedule detailing how the credit is allocated (“Allocation Schedule”). In addition, 
the owner shall send to the Department of Revenue the following information:

(i) The name(s) and federal taxpayer identification number(s) of the owner,

(ii) The address of the property for which the credit is received,

(iii) The name and federal taxpayer identification number of the qualified taxpayers 
who receive an allocation of the credit,

(iv) The total amount of credit allocated to all qualified taxpayers,

(v) The amount of credit each qualified taxpayer received,

(vi) The tax year in which the credit was allocated to each qualified taxpayer and the 
amount allocated to such qualified taxpayer for each such year, and

(vii) The amount of credit claimable in each year.

(b) Each partner, shareholder, member or other qualified taxpayer must attach a copy of the 
Allocation Certificate and the Allocation Schedule to their Colorado income tax return. 
Once the partners, shareholders, members or other qualified taxpayers claim the credits 
on their respective income tax returns, the allocation cannot be amended for that tax 
year.

(c) If the qualified taxpayer is a pass-through entity, then, to the extent that the owner's 
records reflect such information, the owner shall identify by name and federal taxpayer 
number the qualified taxpayer(s) of such pass-through entity and their taxpayer 
identification number and beginning credit allowances.
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(2) Carryforwards. Any amount of credit not applied to a qualified taxpayer’s tax liability may be 
carried forward up to eleven years from the tax year in which the allocation was made. An 
allocation is made when the Authority issues the Allocation Certificate to the owner of a qualified 
development after a qualified development is placed in service. The credit must be applied first to 
the earliest years possible. Any amount of credit not used during this carryforward period shall not
be refunded to the taxpayer.
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Regulation 39-22-303.6–1. Apportionment and Allocation Definitions.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide definitions for the terms used throughout 
Regulations 39-22-303.6–1 through –17. Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax 
Commission’s model statute and regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with 
Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

(1) Definitions. In addition to the definitions provided in § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and unless the 
context otherwise requires, the following terms, as used throughout Regulations 39-22-303.6–1 
through –17, are defined or further defined as follows:

(a) “Allocation” refers to the assignment of nonapportionable income to a particular state. 

(b) “Apportionment” refers to the division of apportionable income among states by use of a 
formula containing apportionment factors.

(c) “Billing address” means the location indicated in the books and records of the taxpayer as
the primary mailing address relating to a customer’s account as of the time of the 
transaction and kept in good faith in the normal course of business and not for tax 
avoidance purposes.

(d) “Business activity” refers to the transactions and activities occurring in the regular course 
of a particular trade or business of a taxpayer and includes the acquisition, employment, 
development, management, or disposition of property that is or was related to the 
operation of the taxpayer’s trade or business.

(e) “Business customer” means a customer that is a business operating in any form, 
including a sole proprietorship.  Sales to a nonprofit organization, to a trust, to the U.S. 
Government, to a foreign, state, or local government, or to an agency or instrumentality of
that government are treated as sales to a business customer and must be assigned 
consistent with the rules for those sales.

(f) “Code” means the Internal Revenue Code as currently written and subsequently 
amended.

(g) “Gross receipts” are the gross amounts realized (the sum of money and the fair market 
value of other property or services received) on the sale or exchange of property, the 
performance of services, or the use of property or capital in a transaction that produces 
apportionable income for which the income or loss is recognized under the Internal 
Revenue Code, and, where the income of foreign entities is included in apportionable 
income, amounts that would have been recognized under the Internal Revenue Code if 
the relevant transactions or entities were in the United States. Amounts realized on the 
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sale or exchange of property are not reduced for the cost of goods sold or the basis of 
property sold.

(h) “Individual customer” means a customer that is not a business customer.

(i) “Intangible property” generally means property that is not physical or whose 
representation by physical means is merely incidental and includes, without limitation, 
copyrights; patents; trademarks; trade names; brand names; franchises; licenses; trade 
secrets; trade dress; information; know-how; methods; programs; procedures; systems; 
formulae; processes; technical data; designs; literary, musical, or artistic compositions; 
ideas; contract rights including broadcast rights; agreements not to compete; goodwill 
and going concern value; securities; and, except as otherwise provided in this regulation, 
computer software.  Receipts from the sale of intangible property may be excluded from 
the numerator and denominator of the taxpayer’s receipts factor pursuant to § 39-22-
303.6(6)(d)(III), C.R.S., and paragraph (1)(d) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–12.

(j) “Place of order” means the physical location from which a customer places an order for a 
sale, other than a sale of tangible personal property from a taxpayer, resulting in a 
contract with the taxpayer. 

(k) “Population” means the most recent population data maintained by the U.S. Census 
Bureau for the year in question as of the close of the taxable period.

(l) “Receipts” means all gross receipts of the taxpayer that are not allocated under § 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S., and that are received from transactions and activity in the regular course 
of the taxpayer’s trade or business. The following are additional rules for determining 
"receipts" in various situations:

(i) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in manufacturing and selling or purchasing 
and reselling goods or products, "receipts" includes all gross receipts from the 
sale of such goods or products (or other property of a kind that would properly be
included in the inventory of the taxpayer if on hand at the close of the tax period) 
held by the taxpayer primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of its 
trade or business. Gross receipts for this purpose means gross sales less returns
and allowances.

(ii) In the case of cost-plus-fixed-fee contracts, such as the operation of a 
government-owned plant for a fee, “receipts” includes the entire reimbursed cost 
plus the fee.

(iii) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in providing services, such as the operation of 
an advertising agency or the performance of equipment service contracts or 
research and development contracts, "receipts" includes the gross receipts from 
the performance of such services including fees, commissions, and similar items.

(iv) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in the sale of equipment used in the 
taxpayer’s trade or business, where the taxpayer disposes of the equipment 
under a regular replacement program, “receipts” includes the gross receipts from 
the sale of this equipment. For example, a truck express company that owns a 
fleet of trucks, and sells its trucks under a regular replacement program, the 
gross receipts from the sale of the trucks would be included in “receipts.”

(v) In the case of a taxpayer with insubstantial amounts of gross receipts arising 
from sales in the ordinary course of business, the insubstantial amounts may be 

2



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 1 CCR 201-2
Taxpayer Service Division

excluded from the receipts factor unless their exclusion would materially affect 
the amount of income apportioned to Colorado.  

(vi) Receipts of a taxpayer from hedging transactions, or from holding cash or 
securities, or from the maturity, redemption, sale, exchange, loan, or other 
disposition of cash or securities, shall be excluded. Receipts arising from a 
business activity are receipts from hedging if the primary purpose of engaging in 
the business activity is to reduce the exposure to risk caused by other business 
activities.  Whether events or transactions not involving cash or securities are 
hedging transactions shall be determined based on the primary purpose of the 
taxpayer engaging in the activity giving rise to the receipts, including the 
acquisition or holding of the underlying asset.  Receipts from the holding of cash 
or securities, or maturity, redemption, sale, exchange, loan, or other disposition 
of cash or securities are excluded from the definition of receipts whether or not 
those events or transactions are engaged in for the purpose of hedging. The 
taxpayer’s treatment of the receipts as hedging receipts for accounting or federal 
tax purposes may serve as indicia of the taxpayer’s primary purpose, but shall 
not be determinative. 

(vii) Receipts, even if apportionable income, are presumed not to include such items 
as, for example:

(A) damages and other amounts received as the result of litigation;

(B) property acquired by an agent on behalf of another;

(C) tax refunds and other tax benefit recoveries;

(D) contributions to capital;

(E) income from forgiveness of indebtedness; 

(F) amounts realized from exchanges of inventory that are not recognized by
the Code; or

(G) amounts realized as a result of factoring accounts receivable recorded 
on an accrual basis.

(viii) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, foreign source income that is 
included in taxable income is not included as receipts of the taxpayer in Colorado
for purposes of apportioning apportionable income under § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., 
but may be included in the denominator as otherwise required by § 39-22-303.6, 
C.R.S., and its accompanying regulations.

(ix) Exclusion of an item from the definition of “receipts” is not determinative of its 
character as apportionable or nonapportionable income. Certain gross receipts 
that are “receipts” under the definition are excluded from the “receipts factor” 
under § 39-22-303.6(6), C.R.S. Nothing in this definition shall be construed to 
modify, impair, or supersede any provision of § 39-22-303.6(9), C.R.S.

(m) “Related party” means: 

(i) a stockholder who is an individual, or a member of the stockholder's family as set
forth in section 318 of the Code, if the stockholder and the members of the 
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stockholder's family own, directly, indirectly, beneficially, or constructively, in the 
aggregate, at least 50 percent of the value of the taxpayer's outstanding stock; 

(ii) a stockholder, or a stockholder's partnership, limited liability company, estate, 
trust, or corporation, if the stockholder and the stockholder's partnerships, limited 
liability companies, estates, trusts, and corporations own directly, indirectly, 
beneficially, or constructively, in the aggregate, at least 50 percent of the value of
the taxpayer's outstanding stock; or 

(iii) a corporation, or a party related to the corporation in a manner that would require
an attribution of stock from the corporation to the party or from the party to the 
corporation under the attribution rules of the Code, if the taxpayer owns, directly, 
indirectly, beneficially, or constructively, at least 50 percent of the value of the 
corporation's outstanding stock. The attribution rules of the Code shall apply for 
purposes of determining whether the ownership requirements of this definition 
have been met.

(n) "Security'' means any interest or instrument commonly treated as a security as well as 
other instruments that are customarily sold in the open market or on a recognized 
exchange, including, but not limited to, transferable shares of a beneficial interest in any 
corporation or other entity, bonds, debentures, notes, and other evidences of 
indebtedness, accounts receivable and notes receivable, cash and cash equivalents 
including foreign currencies, and repurchase and futures contracts.

(o) “State where a contract of sale is principally managed by the customer” means the 
primary location at which an employee or other representative of a customer serves as 
the primary contact person for the taxpayer with respect to the day-to-day execution and 
performance of a contract entered into by the taxpayer with the customer.

(p) “Trade or business,” as used in the definition of apportionable income and in the 
application of that definition means the unitary business of the taxpayer, part of which is 
conducted within Colorado.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–2.  Apportionable and Nonapportionable Income.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, and 39-22-303.6, C.R.S. 
The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining what is apportionable and 
nonapportionable income. Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., 
these regulations are intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s 
model statute and regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado 
statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

 (1) General Rule. Section 39-22-303.6(1)(a) and (c), C.R.S., requires every item of income be 
classified either as apportionable income or nonapportionable income. Income for purposes of 
classification as apportionable or nonapportionable includes gains and losses. Apportionable 
income is apportioned among jurisdictions by use of a formula. Nonapportionable income is 
specifically assigned or allocated to one or more specific jurisdictions pursuant to express rules. 
An item of income is classified as apportionable income if it falls within the definition of 
apportionable income. An item of income is nonapportionable income only if it does not meet the 
definitional requirements for being classified as apportionable income.
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 (2) Apportionable Income. 

(a) Apportionable income means:

(i) any income that would be allocable to Colorado under the United States 
Constitution, but that is apportioned rather than allocated pursuant to the laws of 
this state.  

(ii) all income that is apportionable under the United States Constitution and is not 
allocated under the laws of this state, including:

(A) income arising from transactions and activity in the regular course of the 
taxpayer’s trade or business; and 

(B) income arising from tangible and intangible property if the acquisition, 
management, employment, development, or disposition of the property is
or was related to the operation of the taxpayer’s trade or business.

(b) The classification of income by the labels occasionally used, such as manufacturing 
income, compensation for services, sales income, interest, dividends, rents, royalties, 
gains, income derived from accounts receivable, operating income, non-operating 
income, etc., is of no aid in determining whether income is apportionable or 
nonapportionable income.

(3) Principal Tests of Apportionable Income.  

(a) Transactional Test. Apportionable income includes income arising from transactions and 
activity in the regular course of the taxpayer’s trade or business.

(i) If the transaction or activity is in the regular course of the taxpayer’s trade or 
business, part of which trade or business is conducted within Colorado, the 
resulting income of the transaction or activity is apportionable income for 
Colorado. Income may be apportionable income even though the actual 
transaction or activity that gives rise to the income does not occur in Colorado.

(ii) For a transaction or activity to be in the regular course of the taxpayer’s trade or 
business, the transaction or activity need not be one that frequently occurs in the 
trade or business. Most, but not all, frequently occurring transactions or activities 
will be in the regular course of that trade or business and will, therefore, satisfy 
the transactional test. It is sufficient to classify a transaction or activity as being in
the regular course of a trade or business, if it is reasonable to conclude 
transactions of that type are customary in the kind of trade or business being 
conducted or are within the scope of what that kind of trade or business does. 
However, even if a taxpayer frequently or customarily engages in investment 
activities, if those activities are for the taxpayer’s mere financial betterment rather
than for the operations of the trade or business, such activities do not satisfy the 
transactional test. 

(iii) The transactional test includes, but is not limited to, income from sales of:

(A) inventory; 

(B) property held for sale to customers;

(C) services which are commonly sold by the trade or business; and
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(D) property used in the production of apportionable income of a kind that is 
sold and replaced with some regularity, even if replaced less frequently 
than once a year.

(b) Functional Test. Apportionable income also includes income arising from tangible and 
intangible property if the acquisition, management, employment, development, or 
disposition of the property is or was related to the operation of the taxpayer’s trade or 
business. 

(i) “Property” includes any direct or indirect interest in, control over, or use of real 
property, tangible personal property, and intangible property by the taxpayer.

(ii) Property that is “related to the operation of the trade or business” refers to 
property that is or was used to contribute to the production of apportionable 
income directly or indirectly, without regard to the materiality of the contribution. 
Property that is held merely for investment purposes is not related to the 
operation of the trade or business.

(iii) “Acquisition, management, employment, development or disposition” refers to a 
taxpayer’s activities in acquiring property, exercising control and dominion over 
property, and disposing of property, including dispositions by sale, lease, or 
license. Income arising from the disposition or other utilization of property that 
was acquired or developed in the course of the taxpayer’s trade or business 
constitutes apportionable income, even if the property was not directly employed 
in the operation of the taxpayer’s trade or business.

(iv) Application of Functional Test.

(A) Income from the disposition or other utilization of property is 
apportionable if the property is or was related to the operation of the 
taxpayer's trade or business. This is true even though the transaction or 
activity from which the income is derived did not occur in the regular 
course of the taxpayer's trade or business.

(B) Income that is derived from isolated sales, leases, assignments, 
licenses, and other infrequently occurring dispositions, transfers, or 
transactions involving property, including transactions made in the full or 
partial liquidation or the winding-up of any portion of the trade or 
business, is apportionable income if the property is or was related to the 
taxpayer's trade or business.  Income from the licensing of an intangible 
asset, such as a patent, copyright, trademark, service mark, know-how, 
trade secrets, or the like that was developed or acquired for use by the 
taxpayer in its trade or business constitutes apportionable income 
whether or not the licensing itself constituted the operation of a trade or 
business, and whether or not the taxpayer remains in the same trade or 
business from or for which the intangible asset was developed or 
acquired.

(C) Income from intangible property is apportionable income when the 
intangible property serves an operational function as opposed to solely 
an investment function.

(D) If the acquisition, management, employment, development, or disposition
of the property is or was related to the operation of the taxpayer’s trade 
or business, then income from that property is apportionable income 
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even if the actual transaction or activity involving the property that gives 
rise to the income does not occur in Colorado.

(E) Income from the disposition or other utilization of property that has been 
withdrawn from use in the taxpayer’s trade or business and is instead 
held solely for unrelated investment purposes is not apportionable. 
Property that was related to the operation of the taxpayer’s trade or 
business is not considered converted to investment purposes merely 
because it is placed for sale, but any property which has been withdrawn 
from use in the taxpayer’s trade or business for five years or more is 
presumed to be held for investment purposes.

(F) If, with respect to an item of property, a taxpayer takes a deduction from 
income that is apportioned to Colorado, it is presumed that the item of 
property is or was related to the operation of the taxpayer's trade or 
business. No presumption arises from the absence of any of these 
actions.

(G) Application of the functional test is generally unaffected by the form of 
the property (e.g., tangible, intangible, real, or personal property). Income
arising from an intangible interest, as, for example, corporate stock or 
other intangible interest in an entity or a group of assets, is apportionable
income when the intangible itself, or the property underlying or 
associated with the intangible, is or was related to the operation of the 
taxpayer's trade or business. Thus, while apportionment of income 
derived from transactions involving intangible property may be supported
by a finding that the issuer of the intangible property and the taxpayer are
engaged in the same trade or business, i.e., the same unitary business, 
establishment of such a relationship is not the exclusive basis for 
concluding that the income is subject to apportionment. It is sufficient to 
support the finding of apportionable income if the holding of the 
intangible interest served an operational rather than an investment 
function.

(v) Examples.

(A) Example (i):  Taxpayer purchases a chain of 100 retail stores for the 
purpose of merging those store operations with its existing business. 
Five of the retail stores are redundant under the taxpayer’s business plan
and are sold six months after acquisition. Even though the five stores 
were never integrated into the taxpayer’s trade or business, the income 
is apportionable because the property’s acquisition was related to the 
taxpayer’s trade or business. 

(B) Example (ii): Taxpayer is in the business of developing adhesives for 
industrial and construction uses. In the course of its business, it 
accidentally creates a weak but non-toxic adhesive and patents the 
formula, awaiting future applications. Another manufacturer uses the 
formula to create temporary body tattoos. Taxpayer wins a patent 
infringement suit against the other manufacturer. The entire damages 
award, including interest and punitive damages, constitutes 
apportionable income.

(C) Example (iii): Taxpayer is engaged in the oil refining business and 
maintains a cash reserve for buying and selling oil on the spot market as 
conditions warrant. The reserve is held in overnight “repurchase 
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agreement” accounts of U.S. treasuries with a local bank. The interest on
those amounts is apportionable income because the reserves are 
necessary for the taxpayer’s business operations. Over time, the cash in 
the reserve account grows to the point that it exceeds any reasonably 
expected requirement for acquisition of oil or other short-term capital 
needs and is held pending subsequent business investment 
opportunities. The interest received on the excess amount is 
nonapportionable income. 

(D) Example (iv): A manufacturer decides to sell one of its redundant 
factories to a real estate developer and transfers the ownership of the 
factory to a special purpose subsidiary, SaleCo, immediately prior to its 
sale to the real estate developer. The parties elect to treat the sale as a 
disposition of assets under section 338(h)(10) of the Code, resulting in 
SaleCo recognizing a capital gain on the sale. The capital gain is 
apportionable income. Note: although the gain is apportionable, 
application of the standard apportionment formula in § 39-22-303.6(6), 
C.R.S., may not fairly reflect the taxpayer’s business presence in any 
state, necessitating resort to equitable apportionment pursuant to § 39-
22-303.6(9), C.R.S.

(E) Example (v):   A manufacturer purchases raw materials to be 
incorporated into the product it offers for sale. The nature of the raw 
materials is such that the purchase price is subject to extreme price 
volatility.  In order to protect itself from extreme price increases (or 
decreases), the manufacturer enters into futures contracts pursuant to 
which the manufacturer can either purchase a set amount of the raw 
materials for a fixed price, within a specified time period, or resell the 
futures contract.  Any gain on the sale of the futures contract would be 
considered apportionable income, regardless of whether the contracts 
were made or resold in Colorado.

(F) Example (vi):  A national retailer produces substantial revenue related to 
the operation of its trade or business.  It invests a large portion of the 
revenue in fixed income securities that are divided into three categories: 
(a) short-term securities held pending use of the funds in the taxpayer’s 
trade or business; (b) short-term securities held pending acquisition of 
other companies or favorable developments in the long-term money 
market; and (c) long-term securities held as an investment.  Interest 
income on the short-term securities held pending use of the funds in the 
taxpayer’s trade or business (a) is apportionable income because the 
funds represent working capital necessary to the operations of the 
taxpayer’s trade or business.  Interest income derived from the other 
investment securities ((b) and (c)) is not apportionable income as those 
securities were not held in furtherance of the taxpayer’s trade or 
business.

(4) Nonapportionable Income. Nonapportionable income means all income other than 
apportionable income.

(5) General Rules for Certain Classes of Income. The following applies the foregoing principles for
purposes of determining whether particular income is apportionable or nonapportionable income. 
The examples used throughout these regulations are illustrative only and are limited to the facts 
they contain.

8



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 1 CCR 201-2
Taxpayer Service Division

(a) Rents from Real and Tangible Personal Property. Rental income from real and tangible 
property is apportionable income if the property with respect to which the rental income 
was received is or was used in the taxpayer's trade or business.

(i) Example (i): The taxpayer operates a multistate car rental business. The income 
from car rentals is apportionable income.

(ii) Example (ii): The taxpayer is engaged in the heavy construction business in 
which it uses equipment such as cranes, tractors, and earth-moving vehicles. 
The taxpayer makes short-term leases of the equipment when particular pieces 
of equipment are not needed on any particular project. The rental income is 
apportionable income.

(iii) Example (iii): The taxpayer operates a multistate chain of men's clothing stores. 
The taxpayer purchases a five-story office building for use in connection with its 
trade or business. It uses the street floor as one of its retail stores and the 
second and third floors for its general corporate headquarters. The remaining two
floors are held for future use in the trade or business and are leased to tenants 
on a short-term basis in the meantime. The rental income is apportionable 
income.

(iv) Example (iv): The taxpayer operates a multistate chain of grocery stores. It 
purchases as an investment an office building in another state with surplus funds 
and leases the entire building to others. The net rental income is not 
apportionable income of the grocery store trade or business. Therefore, the net 
rental income is nonapportionable income.

(v) Example (v): The taxpayer operates a multistate chain of men's clothing stores. 
The taxpayer invests in a 20-story office building and uses the street floor as one 
of its retail stores and the second floor for its general corporate headquarters. 
The remaining 18 floors are leased to others. The rental of the 18 floors is not 
done in furtherance of but rather is separate from the operation of the taxpayer's 
trade or business. The net rental income is not apportionable income of the 
clothing store trade or business. Therefore, the net rental income is 
nonapportionable income.

(vi) Example (vi): The taxpayer constructed a plant for use in its multistate 
manufacturing business, and 20 years later the plant was closed and put up for 
sale. The plant was rented for a temporary period from the time it was closed by 
the taxpayer until it was sold 18 months later. The rental income is apportionable 
income and the gain on the sale of the plant is apportionable income.

(b) Gains or Losses from Sales of Assets. Gain or loss from the sale, exchange, or other 
disposition of real property or of tangible or intangible personal property constitutes 
apportionable income if the property, while owned by the taxpayer, was related to the 
operation of the taxpayer’s trade or business. 

(i) Example (i): In conducting its multistate manufacturing business, the taxpayer 
systematically replaces automobiles, machines, and other equipment used in the 
trade or business. The gains or losses resulting from those sales constitute 
apportionable income.

(ii) Example (ii): The taxpayer constructed a plant for use in its multistate 
manufacturing business and 20 years later sold the property at a gain while it 
was in operation by the taxpayer. The gain is apportionable income.
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(iii) Example (iii): Same as (ii) except that the plant was closed and put up for sale 
but was not in fact sold until a buyer was found 18 months later. The gain is 
apportionable income.

(iv) Example (iv): Same as (ii) except that the plant was rented while being held for 
sale. The rental income is apportionable income and the gain on the sale of the 
plant is apportionable income.

(c) Interest. Interest income is apportionable income when the intangible with respect to 
which the interest was received arose out of, or was created in, the regular course of the 
taxpayer's trade or business, or the purpose of acquiring and holding the intangible is or 
was related to the operation of the taxpayer’s trade or business.

(i) Example (i): The taxpayer operates a multistate chain of department stores, 
selling for cash and on credit. Service charges, interest, or time-price differentials
and the like are received with respect to installment sales and revolving charge 
accounts. These amounts are apportionable income.

(ii) Example (ii): The taxpayer conducts a multistate manufacturing business. During 
the year, the taxpayer receives a federal income tax refund pertaining to the 
taxpayer’s trade or business and collects a judgment against a debtor of the 
business. Both the tax refund and the judgment bear interest. The interest 
income is apportionable income.

(iii) Example (iii): The taxpayer is engaged in a multistate manufacturing and 
wholesaling business. In connection with that business, the taxpayer maintains 
special accounts to cover such items as workmen's compensation claims, rain 
and storm damage, machinery replacement, etc. The funds in those accounts 
earn interest. Similarly, the taxpayer temporarily invests funds intended for 
payment of federal, state, and local tax obligations pertaining to the taxpayer’s 
trade or business. The interest income is apportionable income.

(iv) Example (iv): The taxpayer is engaged in a multistate money order and traveler's 
check business. In addition to the fees received in connection with the sale of the
money orders and traveler's checks, the taxpayer earns interest income by the 
investment of the funds pending their redemption. The interest income is 
apportionable income.

(v) Example (v): The taxpayer is engaged in a multistate manufacturing and selling 
business. The taxpayer usually has working capital and extra cash totaling 
$200,000 that it regularly invests in short-term interest bearing securities. The 
interest income is apportionable income.

(vi) Example (vi): In January, the taxpayer sold all of the stock of a subsidiary for 
$20,000,000. The funds are placed in an interest-bearing account pending a 
decision by management as to how the funds are to be utilized. The funds are 
not pledged for use in the business. The interest income for the entire period 
between the receipt of the funds and their subsequent utilization or distribution to 
shareholders is nonapportionable income.

(d) Dividends. Dividends are apportionable income when the stock with respect to which the 
dividends were received arose out of or was acquired in the regular course of the 
taxpayer's trade or business, or when the purpose for acquiring and holding the stock is 
or was related to the operation of the taxpayer’s trade or business, or contributes to the 
production of apportionable income of the trade or business.
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(i) Example (i): The taxpayer operates a multistate chain of stock brokerage houses.
During the year, the taxpayer receives dividends on stock that it owns. The 
dividends are apportionable income.

(ii) Example (ii): The taxpayer is engaged in a multistate manufacturing and 
wholesaling business. In connection with that business, the taxpayer maintains 
special accounts to cover such items as workmen's compensation claims, etc. A 
portion of the moneys in those accounts is invested in interest-bearing bonds. 
The remainder is invested in various common stocks listed on national stock 
exchanges. Both the interest income and any dividends are apportionable 
income.

(iii) Example (iii): The taxpayer and several unrelated corporations own all of the 
stock of a corporation whose business consists solely of acquiring and 
processing materials for delivery to the corporate owners. The taxpayer acquired 
the stock in order to obtain a source of supply of materials used in its 
manufacturing trade or business. The dividends are apportionable income.

(iv) Example (iv): The taxpayer is engaged in a multistate heavy construction 
business. Much of its construction work is performed for agencies of the federal 
government and various state governments. Under state and federal laws 
applicable to contracts for these agencies, a contractor must have adequate 
bonding capacity, as measured by the ratio of its current assets (cash and 
marketable securities) to current liabilities. In order to maintain an adequate 
bonding capacity, the taxpayer holds various stocks and interest-bearing 
securities. Both the interest income and any dividends received are 
apportionable income.

(v) Example (v): The taxpayer receives dividends from the stock of its subsidiary or 
affiliate that acts as the marketing agency for products manufactured by the 
taxpayer. The dividends are apportionable income.

(vi) Example (vi): The taxpayer is engaged in a multistate glass manufacturing 
business. It also holds a portfolio of stock and interest-bearing securities, the 
acquisition and holding of which are unrelated to the manufacturing business. 
The dividends and interest income received are nonapportionable income.

(e) Patent and Copyright Royalties. Patent and copyright royalties are apportionable income 
when the patent or copyright with respect to which the royalties were received arose out 
of or was created in the regular course of the taxpayer's trade or business, or when the 
acquiring and holding the patent or copyright is or was related to the operation of the 
taxpayer’s trade or business, or contributes to the production of apportionable income of 
the trade or business.

(i) Example (i): The taxpayer is engaged in the multistate business of manufacturing
and selling industrial chemicals. In connection with that business, the taxpayer 
obtained patents on certain of its products. The taxpayer licensed the production 
of the chemicals in foreign countries, in return for which the taxpayer receives 
royalties. The royalties received by the taxpayer are apportionable income.

(ii) Example (ii): The taxpayer is engaged in the music publishing trade or business 
and holds copyrights on numerous songs. The taxpayer acquires the assets of a 
smaller publishing company, including music copyrights. These acquired 
copyrights are thereafter used by the taxpayer in its trade or business. Any 
royalties received on these copyrights are apportionable income.
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(6) Proration of Deductions. In most cases, an allowable deduction of a taxpayer will be applicable 
to only the apportionable income arising from a particular trade or business or to a particular item 
of nonapportionable income. In some cases, an allowable deduction may be applicable to the 
apportionable incomes of more than one trade or business and to items of nonapportionable 
income. In such cases, the deduction shall be prorated among those trades or businesses and 
those items of nonapportionable income in a manner that fairly distributes the deduction among 
the classes of income to which it is applicable.

(a) Consistency in Reporting.

(i) Year-to-Year Consistency. In filing returns with Colorado, if the taxpayer departs 
from or modifies the manner of prorating any such deduction used in returns for 
prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the return for the current year the 
nature and extent of the modifications.

(ii) State-to-State Consistency. If the returns or reports filed by a taxpayer with all 
states to which the taxpayer reports under § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., Article IV of the
Multistate Tax Compact, or the Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act 
are not uniform in the application or proration of any deduction, the taxpayer shall
disclose in its Colorado return the nature and extent of the variance.

(7) Consistency and Uniformity in Reporting.

(a) Year-to-Year Consistency. In filing returns with Colorado, if the taxpayer departs from or 
modifies the manner in which income has been classified as apportionable income or 
nonapportionable income in returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the 
return for the current year the nature and extent of the modification. 

(b) State-to-State Consistency. If the returns or reports filed by a taxpayer for all states to 
which the taxpayer reports under § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., Article IV of the Multistate Tax 
Compact, or the Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act are not uniform in the 
classification of income as apportionable or nonapportionable income, the taxpayer shall 
disclose in its Colorado return the nature and extent of the variance. 

Regulation 39-22-303.6–3. Apportionment and Allocation of Income.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining whether income must 
be allocated or apportioned. Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., 
these regulations are intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s 
model statute and regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado 
statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

(1) Apportionment. If the business activity with respect to any trade or business of a taxpayer 
occurs both within and without Colorado, and if by reason of such business activity, the taxpayer 
is taxable in another state, the portion of the net income (or net loss) arising from such trade or 
business that is derived from sources within Colorado shall be determined by apportionment in 
accordance with § 39-22-303.6(4), (5), and (6), C.R.S.

(2) Allocation. Unless electing to treat all income as apportionable income, any taxpayer subject to 
the taxing jurisdiction of Colorado shall allocate all of its nonapportionable income or loss within 
or without Colorado in accordance with § 39-22-303.6(7), C.R.S., and the corresponding 
regulation.
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(3) Combined Report. If a particular trade or business is carried on by a taxpayer and one or more 
affiliated corporations, nothing in § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., or in these regulations, shall preclude the
use of a “combined report” whereby the entire apportionable income of such trade or business is 
apportioned in accordance with §§ 39-22-303, 39-22-303.6, 39-22-303.7, or 39-22-303.9, C.R.S.

(4) Taxpayers Subject to Multiple Apportionment Methodologies. A taxpayer may be engaged in
two or more distinctly different commercial activities. Each activity may require the use of different
apportionment methodologies described in Regulations 39-22-303.6–1 through –17 (regular 
apportionment of apportionable income) and Special Regulations for Allocation and 
Apportionment 1A through 8A.

(a) Minimal Commercial Activities. 

(i) When the sum of the gross receipts of one commercial activity that requires the 
use of a different apportionment methodology amounts to less than one percent 
of the taxpayer’s total gross receipts, such commercial activity is conclusively 
minimal and the taxpayer shall apportion the income from the minimal activity in 
the same ratio that it apportions its gross receipts pursuant to the receipts factor 
for the remainder of the commercial activity. 

(ii) When the sum of the gross receipts of one commercial activity that requires the 
use of a different apportionment methodology amounts to less than five percent 
of the taxpayer’s total gross receipts, such commercial activity may be minimal 
depending on the facts. If such commercial activity is considered minimal, the 
taxpayer shall apportion the income from the minimal activity in the same ratio 
that it apportions its gross receipts pursuant to the receipts factor for the 
remainder of the commercial activity. 

(b) Commercial Activities that are Not Minimal. If multiple activities give rise to gross receipts
that are not minimal, the taxpayer shall use the apportionment methodology most 
applicable to each commercial activity to separately allocate and apportion Colorado 
income for such commercial activities. The Colorado taxable income for each commercial
activity shall be computed on a separate apportionment schedule. Such Colorado taxable
incomes shall then be combined and any net operating loss carryforward applied. Any tax
and credits shall then be computed on the total Colorado taxable income.

(c) Examples.

(i) Example (i). Corporation A and Corporation B are an affiliated group of C 
corporations that are required to file a combined report. Corporation A engages 
in trucking and Corporation B engages in retail sales of tangible personal 
property. Corporation A derives all of its income from sales of transportation 
services to Corporation B. Corporation A and Corporation B have distinctly 
different commercial activities; however, Corporation A does not derive income 
from sources outside its affiliate, Corporation B. Corporation A and Corporation B
apportion their taxable income pursuant to § 39-22-303.6 C.R.S., and the 
regulations thereunder because of Corporation B’s retail sales. Special 
Regulation 6A, regarding the apportionment of trucking income, is not used to 
apportion Corporation A’s income because all of Corporation A’s receipts are 
excluded from the apportionment calculation as intercompany transactions. 

(ii) Example (ii). Same facts as Example (i), except Corporation A derives $2 million 
from sales of transportation services to third-parties who are not part of the 
affiliated group. Corporation B makes $20 million in sales of its goods to 
consumers. Total sales of the affiliated group are $22 million. Corporation A must
use Special Regulation 6A, prescribing apportionment of income for trucking 
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companies, and Corporation B must apportion its income pursuant to § 39-22- 
303.6, C.R.S., and the regulations thereunder. Corporation A and Corporation B 
must separately calculate their receipts factors using the appropriate 
methodologies. Each corporation must also calculate separate taxable income 
for each commercial activity and use the appropriate receipts factor to calculate 
Colorado taxable income. The combined group then calculates tax and applies 
any credits generated.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–4. Taxable in Another State.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, and 39-22-303.6, C.R.S. The 
purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining whether a taxpayer is taxable in another 
state. Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are 
intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and 
regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. 
Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

(1) General Rule. A taxpayer is subject to the allocation and apportionment provisions of § 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S., if it has income from business activity that is taxable both within and without 
Colorado. A taxpayer's income from business activity is taxable without Colorado if the taxpayer, 
by reason of such business activity (i.e., the transactions and activity occurring in the regular 
course of a particular trade or business), is taxable in another state within the meaning of § 39-
22-303.6(3)(c), C.R.S.

(2) Applicable Tests. A taxpayer’s income is taxable in another state if it meets either one of two 
tests:

(a) by reason of business activity in another state, the taxpayer is subject to one of the types 
of taxes specified in § 39-22-303.6(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., or 

(b) by reason of such business activity, another state has jurisdiction to subject the taxpayer 
to a net income tax, regardless of whether or not the state imposes such a tax on the 
taxpayer.

(3) Producing Nonapportionable Income. A taxpayer is not taxable in another state with respect to
a particular trade or business merely because the taxpayer conducts activities in that other state 
pertaining to the production of nonapportionable income or business activities relating to a 
separate trade or business.

(4) Subject to Tax in Another State. A taxpayer is “subject to” one of the taxes specified in § 39-22-
303.6(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., if it carries on business activities in a state and the state imposes such a 
tax thereon. Any taxpayer that asserts that it is subject to one of the taxes specified in § 39-22-
303.6(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., in another state shall furnish to the Department upon its request evidence 
to support such assertion. The Department may request that such evidence include proof that the
taxpayer has filed the requisite tax return in the other state and has paid any taxes imposed 
under the law of the other state; the taxpayer's failure to produce such proof may be taken into 
account in determining whether the taxpayer in fact is subject to one of the taxes specified in 
§ 39-22-303.6(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., in the other state.

(a) Voluntary Tax Payment. If the taxpayer voluntarily files and pays one or more of the taxes
specified in § 39-22-303.6(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., when not required to do so by the laws of that 
state, or pays a minimal fee for the qualification, organization, or privilege of doing 
business in that state, but:

(i) does not actually engage in business activity in that state, or
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(ii) engages in some business activity not sufficient for nexus, and

the minimum tax bears no relationship to the taxpayer's business activity within such 
state, the taxpayer is not “subject to” one of the taxes specified in  § 39-22-303.6(3)(c)(I), 
C.R.S.

(A) Example: State A has a corporation franchise tax measured by net 
income for the privilege of doing business in that state. Corporation X 
files a return and pays the $50 minimum tax, although it carries on no 
business activity in State A. Corporation X is not taxable in State A.

(b) The concept of taxability in another state is based upon the premise that every state in 
which the taxpayer is engaged in business activity may impose an income tax even 
though every state does not do so. In states that do not, other types of taxes may be 
imposed as a substitute for an income tax. Therefore, only those taxes enumerated in 
§ 39-22-303.6(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., that may be considered as basically revenue raising rather
than regulatory measures shall be considered in determining whether the taxpayer is 
“subject to” one of the taxes specified in § 39-22-303.6(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., in another state. 

(i) Example (i): State A requires all nonresident corporations which qualify or 
register in State A to pay to the Secretary of State an annual license fee or tax for
the privilege of doing business in the state regardless of whether the privilege is 
in fact exercised. The amount paid is determined according to the total 
authorized capital stock of the corporation; the rates are progressively higher by 
bracketed amounts. The statute sets a minimum fee of $50 and a maximum fee 
of $500. Failure to pay the tax bars a corporation from utilizing the state courts 
for enforcement of its rights. State A also imposes a corporation income tax. 
Nonresident Corporation X is qualified in State A and pays the required fee to the
Secretary of State but does not carry on any business activity in State A 
(although it may utilize the courts of State A). Corporation X is not "taxable" in 
State A.

(ii) Example (ii): Same facts as Example (i) except that Corporation X is subject to 
and pays the corporation income tax.  Payment is prima facie evidence that 
Corporation X is "subject to" the net income tax of State A and is "taxable" in 
State A.

(iii) Example (iii): State B requires all nonresident corporations qualified or registered 
in State B to pay to the Secretary of State an annual permit fee or tax for doing 
business in the state. The base of the fee or tax is the sum of (1) outstanding 
capital stock, and (2) surplus and undivided profits. The fee or tax base 
attributable to State B is determined by a three factor apportionment formula. 
Nonresident Corporation X, which operates a plant in State B, pays the required 
fee or tax to the Secretary of State. Corporation X is "taxable" in State B.

(iv) Example (iv): State A has a corporation franchise tax measured by net income 
for the privilege of doing business in that state. Corporation X files a return based
upon its business activity in the state but the amount of computed liability is less 
than the minimum tax.  Corporation X pays the minimum tax. Corporation X is 
subject to State A's corporation franchise tax.

(5) Another State has Jurisdiction to Subject Taxpayer to a Net Income Tax. The second test, 
that of § 39-22-303.6(3)(c), C.R.S., applies if the taxpayer's business activity is sufficient to give 
the state jurisdiction to impose a net income tax by reason of such business activity under the 
Constitution and statutes of the United States. Jurisdiction to tax is not present when the state is 
prohibited from imposing the tax by reason of the provision of Public Law 86-272, 15 U.S.C., §§ 
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381–385. In the case of any “state,” as defined in § 39-22-303.6(1)(e) C.R.S., other than a state 
of the United States or political subdivision thereof, the determination of whether the “state” has 
jurisdiction to subject the taxpayer to a net income tax shall be made as though the jurisdictional 
standards applicable to a state of the United States applied in that “state.” If jurisdiction is 
otherwise present, that “state” is not considered as without jurisdiction by reason of the provisions
of a treaty between that state and the United States.

(a) Example: Corporation X is actively engaged in manufacturing farm equipment in State A 
and in Foreign Country B.  Both State A and Foreign Country B impose a net income tax 
but Foreign Country B exempts corporations engaged in manufacturing farm equipment.  
Corporation X is subject to the jurisdiction of State A and Foreign Country B.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–5.  Calculating the Receipts Factor.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax 
Commission’s model statute and regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with 
Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

(1) General Rule. All apportionable income of each trade or business of the taxpayer shall be 
apportioned to this state by use of the apportionment formula set forth in § 39-22-303.6(4), C.R.S.

(a) Denominator. The denominator of the receipts factor shall include the gross receipts 
derived by the taxpayer from transactions and activity in the regular course of its trade or 
business, except gross receipts excluded under § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and these 
regulations.

(b) Numerator. The numerator of the receipts factor shall include the gross receipts 
attributable to Colorado and derived by the taxpayer from transactions and activity in the 
regular course of its trade or business, except gross receipts excluded under § 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S., and these regulations.

(c) Exceptions. In some cases, certain gross receipts should be disregarded in determining 
the receipts factor in order that the apportionment formula will operate fairly to apportion 
to Colorado the income of the taxpayer's trade or business.

(d) The receipts factor for an affiliated group of C corporations filing a combined return shall 
not include receipts from property delivered in Colorado by an includable C corporation 
that is not doing business in Colorado.

(e) Consistency in Reporting.

(i) Numerator and Denominator Consistency. In filing returns with Colorado, the 
taxpayer must use the same methodology in calculating both the numerator and 
the denominator of the receipts factor.

(ii) Year-to-Year Consistency. In filing returns with Colorado, if the taxpayer departs 
from or modifies the basis for excluding or including gross receipts in the receipts
factor used in returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the return for 
the current year the nature and extent of the modification.

(iii) State-to-State Consistency. If the returns or reports filed by the taxpayer with all 
states to which the taxpayer reports under § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., Article IV of the
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Multistate Tax Compact, or the Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act 
are not uniform in the inclusion or exclusion of gross receipts, the taxpayer shall 
disclose in its return to Colorado the nature and extent of the variance.

(2) Mediation. Whenever a taxpayer is subjected to different sourcing methodologies regarding 
intangibles or services by the Department and one or more other state taxing authorities, the 
taxpayer may petition for, and the Department may participate in, and encourage the other state 
taxing authorities to participate in, non-binding mediation in accordance with the alternative 
dispute resolution regulations promulgated by the Multistate Tax Commission from time to time, 
regardless of whether all the state taxing authorities are members of the Multistate Tax Compact.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–6. Sales of Tangible Personal Property in Colorado.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
from sales of tangible personal property are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. Consistent with the 
General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are intended to conform the 
state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and regulation except when 
those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 
1(2).

(1) General Rule. Gross receipts from sales of tangible personal property are in Colorado:

(a) if the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within Colorado regardless of the 
f.o.b. point or other condition of sale; or

(b) if the property is shipped from an office, store, warehouse, factory, or other place of 
storage in Colorado and the taxpayer is not taxable in the state to which the property is 
shipped.

(2) Property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within Colorado if the recipient is located in 
Colorado, even though the property is ordered from outside Colorado.

(a) Example: The taxpayer, with inventory in State A, sold $100,000 of its products to a 
purchaser having branch stores in several states, including Colorado. The order for the 
purchase was placed by the purchaser's central purchasing department located in State 
B.  $25,000 of the purchase order was shipped directly to purchaser's branch store in 
Colorado. The branch store in Colorado is the purchaser within Colorado with respect to 
$25,000 of the taxpayer's sales.

(3) Property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within Colorado if the shipment terminates in 
Colorado, even though the property is subsequently transferred by the purchaser to another 
state.

(a) Example: The taxpayer makes a sale to a purchaser who maintains a central warehouse 
in Colorado at which all merchandise purchases are received. The purchaser reships the 
goods to its branch stores in other states for sale.  All of the taxpayer's products shipped 
to the purchaser's warehouse in Colorado constitute property delivered or shipped to a 
purchaser within Colorado.

(4) The term “purchaser within Colorado” shall include the ultimate recipient of the property if the 
taxpayer, at the designation of the purchaser, delivers to or has the property shipped to the 
ultimate recipient within Colorado.
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(a) Example: A taxpayer sold merchandise to a purchaser in State A. Taxpayer directed the 
manufacturer or supplier of the merchandise in State B to ship the merchandise to the 
purchaser's customer in Colorado pursuant to purchaser's instructions. The sale by the 
taxpayer is in Colorado.

(5) When property being shipped by the taxpayer from the state of origin to a consignee in another 
state is diverted while en route to a purchaser in Colorado, the sales are in Colorado.

(a) Example: The taxpayer, a produce grower in State A, begins shipment of perishable 
produce to the purchaser's place of business in State B. While en route, the produce is 
diverted to the purchaser's place of business in Colorado in which state the taxpayer is 
subject to tax. The sale by the taxpayer is attributed to Colorado.

(6) If the taxpayer is not taxable in the state of the purchaser, the sale is attributed to Colorado if the 
property is shipped from an office, store, warehouse, factory, or other place of storage in 
Colorado.

(a) Example: The taxpayer has its head office and factory in State A. It maintains a branch 
office and inventory in Colorado. Taxpayer's only activity in State B is the solicitation of 
orders by a resident salesperson. All orders by the State B salesperson are sent to the 
branch office in Colorado for approval and are filled by shipment from the inventory in 
Colorado. Since the taxpayer is immune under Public Law 86-272 from tax in State B, all 
sales of merchandise to purchasers in State B are attributed to Colorado, the state from 
which the merchandise was shipped.

(7) If a taxpayer whose salesperson operates from an office located in Colorado makes a sale to a 
purchaser in another state in which the taxpayer is not taxable, and the property is shipped 
directly by a third party to the purchaser, the following rules apply:

(a) If the taxpayer is taxable in the state from which the third party ships the property, then 
the sale is in that state.

(b) If the taxpayer is not taxable in the state from which the third party ships the property, 
then the sale is in Colorado.

(c) Example: The taxpayer in Colorado sold merchandise to a purchaser in State A. 
Taxpayer is not taxable in State A. Upon direction of the taxpayer, the merchandise was 
shipped directly to the purchaser by the manufacturer in State B. If the taxpayer is 
taxable in State B, the sale is in State B. If the taxpayer is not taxable in State B, the sale 
is in Colorado.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–7. Sales Other Than Sales of Tangible Personal Property in Colorado. 

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
from sales other than sales of tangible personal property are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. 
Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are 
intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and 
regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. 
Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2). 
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(1) General Rule. 

(a) In general, § 39-22-303.6(6), C.R.S., provides for the inclusion in the numerator of the 
receipts factor of gross receipts arising from transactions other than sales of tangible 
personal property

(b) Receipts, other than receipts described in § 39-22-303.6(5), C.R.S., (from sales of 
tangible personal property) are in Colorado within the meaning of § 39-22-303.6(6), 
C.R.S., and Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13 if and to the extent that the 
taxpayer’s market for the sales is in Colorado. In general, the provisions in this section 
establish uniform rules for (1) determining whether and to what extent the market for a 
sale other than the sale of tangible personal property is in Colorado, (2) reasonably 
approximating the state or states of assignment when the state or states cannot be 
determined, (3) excluding receipts from the sale of intangible property from the numerator
and denominator of the receipts factor pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(6)(d)(III), C.R.S., and 
(4) excluding receipts from the denominator of the receipts factor, pursuant to § 39-22-
303.6(6)(f), C.R.S., where the state or states of assignment cannot be determined or 
reasonably approximated.

(2) General Principles of Application. In order to satisfy the requirements of Regulations 39-22-
303.6–7 through –13, a taxpayer’s assignment of receipts from sales of other than tangible 
personal property must be consistent with the following principles:

(a) A taxpayer shall apply the rules set forth in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13 
based on objective criteria and shall consider all sources of information reasonably 
available to the taxpayer at the time of its tax filing including, without limitation, the 
taxpayer’s books and records kept in the normal course of business. A taxpayer shall 
determine its method of assigning receipts in good faith, and apply it such method 
consistently with respect to similar transactions year to year. A taxpayer shall retain 
contemporaneous records that explain the determination and application of its method of 
assigning its receipts, including its underlying assumptions, and shall provide those 
records to the Department upon request.

(b) Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13 provide various assignment rules that apply 
sequentially in a hierarchy. For each sale to which a hierarchical rule applies, a taxpayer 
must make a reasonable effort to apply the primary rule applicable to the sale before 
seeking to apply the next rule in the hierarchy, and must continue to do so with each 
succeeding rule in the hierarchy, where applicable. For example, in some cases, the 
applicable rule first requires a taxpayer to determine the state or states of assignment, 
and if the taxpayer cannot do so, the rule requires the taxpayer to reasonably 
approximate the state or states. In these cases, the taxpayer must attempt to determine 
the state or states of assignment (i.e., apply the primary rule in the hierarchy) in good 
faith and with reasonable effort before it may reasonably approximate the state or states.

(c) A taxpayer’s method of assigning its receipts, including the use of a method of 
approximation, where applicable, must reflect an attempt to obtain the most accurate 
assignment of receipts consistent with the standards set forth in Regulations 39-22-
303.6–7 through –13, rather than an attempt to lower the taxpayer’s tax liability. A 
method of assignment that is reasonable for one taxpayer may not necessarily be 
reasonable for another taxpayer, depending upon the applicable facts.

(3) Rules of Reasonable Approximation.

(a) In general, Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13 establish uniform rules for 
determining whether and to what extent the market for a sale other than the sale of 
tangible personal property is in Colorado. Each regulation also sets forth rules of 
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reasonable approximation, which apply if the state or states of assignment cannot be 
determined. In some instances, the reasonable approximation must be made in 
accordance with specific rules of approximation prescribed in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 
through –13. In other cases, the applicable rule in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through     
–13 permits a taxpayer to reasonably approximate the state or states of assignment 
using a method that reflects an effort to approximate the results that would be obtained 
under the applicable rules or standards set forth in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through   
–13.

(b) Approximation Based Upon Known Sales. In an instance where, applying the applicable 
rules set forth in Regulation 39-22-303.6–10 (Sale of a Service), a taxpayer can ascertain
the state or states of assignment for a substantial portion of its receipts from sales of 
substantially similar services (“assigned receipts”), but not all of those sales, and the 
taxpayer reasonably believes, based on all available information, that the geographic 
distribution of some or all of the remainder of those sales generally tracks that of the 
assigned receipts, it shall include receipts from those sales that it believes tracks the 
geographic distribution of the assigned receipts in its receipts factor in the same 
proportion as its assigned receipts.  This rule also applies in the context of licenses and 
sales of intangible property where the substance of the transaction resembles a sale of 
goods or services. See paragraph (5) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–11 and paragraph (1)(c)
of Regulation 39-22-303.6–12.

(c) Related-Party Transactions. Where a taxpayer has receipts subject to these Regulations 
39-22-303.6–7 through –13 from transactions with a related-party customer, information 
that the customer has that is relevant to the sourcing of receipts from these transactions 
is imputed to the taxpayer.

(4) Rules with Respect to Exclusion of Receipts from the Receipts Factor.

(a) The receipts factor only includes those amounts defined as receipts under § 39-22-
303.6(1)(d), C.R.S., and applicable regulations.

(b) Certain receipts arising from the sale of intangibles are excluded from the numerator and 
denominator of the receipts factor pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(6)(d)(III), C.R.S. See 
paragraph (1)(d) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–12. 

(c) In a case in which a taxpayer cannot ascertain the state or states to which receipts of a 
sale are to be assigned pursuant to the applicable rules set forth in Regulations 39-22-
303.6–7 through –13 (including through the use of a method of reasonable 
approximation, when relevant) using a reasonable amount of effort undertaken in good 
faith, the receipts must be excluded from the denominator of the taxpayer’s receipts 
factor pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(6)(f), C.R.S., and these regulations.   

(d) Receipts of a taxpayer from hedging transactions, or from holding cash or securities, or 
from the maturity, redemption, sale, exchange, loan or other disposition of cash or 
securities, shall be excluded pursuant to §§ 39-22-303.6(1)(d) and (6), C.R.S. 

(5) Changes in Methodology; Department Review. 

(a) No Limitation on § 39-22-303.6(9), C.R.S., or Regulations 39-22-303.6–16 and –17. 
Nothing in the regulations adopted here pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(6), C.R.S., is intended
to limit the application of § 39-22-303.6(9), C.R.S., or the authority granted to the 
Department under § 39-22-303.6(9), C.R.S. To the extent that regulations adopted 
pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(9), C.R.S., conflict with provisions of these regulations 
adopted pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(6), C.R.S., the regulations adopted pursuant to § 39-
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22-303.6(9), C.R.S., control. If the application of § 39-22-303.6(6), C.R.S., or the 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto result in the attribution of receipts to the taxpayer’s 
receipts factor that do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer's business activity in 
Colorado, the taxpayer may petition for, or Department may require, the use of a different
method for attributing those receipts.  

(b) General Rules Applicable to Original Returns. In any case in which a taxpayer files an 
original return for a taxable year in which it properly assigns its receipts using a method 
of assignment, including a method of reasonable approximation, in accordance with the 
rules stated in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13, the application of such method of
assignment shall be deemed to be a correct determination by the taxpayer of the state or 
states of assignment to which the method is properly applied.  In those cases, neither the
Department nor the taxpayer (through the form of an audit adjustment, amended return, 
abatement application or otherwise) may modify the taxpayer’s methodology as applied 
for assigning those receipts for the taxable year.  However, the Department and the 
taxpayer may each subsequently, through the applicable administrative process, correct 
factual errors or calculation errors with respect to the taxpayer’s application of its filing 
methodology.

(c) Department’s Authority to Adjust a Taxpayer’s Return. The provisions contained in this 
paragraph (5)(c) are subject to paragraph (5)(b). The Department’s authority to review 
and adjust a taxpayer’s assignment of receipts on a return to more accurately assign 
receipts consistently with the rules or standards of Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through    
–13 includes, but is not limited to, each of the following potential actions.

(i) In a case in which a taxpayer fails to properly assign receipts from a sale in 
accordance with the rules set forth in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13, 
including the failure to properly apply a hierarchy of rules consistent with the 
principles of paragraph (2)(b), the Department may adjust the assignment of the 
receipts in accordance with the applicable rules in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 
through –13. 

(ii) In a case in which a taxpayer uses a method of approximation to assign its 
receipts and the Department determines that the method of approximation 
employed by the taxpayer is not reasonable, the  Department may substitute a 
method of approximation that the Department determines is appropriate or may 
exclude the receipts from the taxpayer’s numerator and denominator, as 
appropriate.  

(iii) In a case in which the Department determines that a taxpayer’s method of 
approximation is reasonable, but has not been applied in a consistent manner 
with respect to similar transactions or year to year, the Department may require 
that the taxpayer apply its method of approximation in a consistent manner.  

(iv) In a case in which a taxpayer excludes receipts from the denominator of its 
receipts factor on the theory that the assignment of the receipts cannot be 
reasonably approximated, the  Department may determine that the exclusion of 
those receipts is not appropriate, and may instead substitute a method of 
approximation that the  Department determines is appropriate.

(v) In a case in which a taxpayer fails to retain contemporaneous records that 
explain the determination and application of its method of assigning its receipts, 
including its underlying assumptions, or fails to provide those records to 
Department upon request, the Department may treat the taxpayer’s assignment 
of receipts as unsubstantiated, and may adjust the assignment of the receipts in 
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a manner consistent with the applicable rules in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 
through –13.

(vi) In a case in which the Department concludes that a customer’s billing address 
was selected by the taxpayer for tax avoidance purposes, the Department may 
adjust the assignment of receipts from sales to that customer in a manner 
consistent with the applicable rules in Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13.

(d) Taxpayer Authority to Change a Method of Assignment on a Prospective Basis. A 
taxpayer that seeks to change its method of assigning its receipts under Regulations 39-
22-303.6–7 through –13 must disclose, in the original return filed for the year of the 
change, the fact that it has made the change. If a taxpayer fails to adequately disclose 
the change, the Department may disregard the taxpayer’s change and substitute an 
assignment method that the Department determines is appropriate. 

(e) Department Authority to Change a Method of Assignment on a Prospective Basis. The 
Department may direct a taxpayer to change its method of assigning its receipts in tax 
returns that have not yet been filed, including changing the taxpayer’s method of 
approximation, if upon reviewing the taxpayer’s filing methodology applied for a prior tax 
year, the Department determines that the change is appropriate to reflect a more 
accurate assignment of the taxpayer’s receipts within the meaning of Regulations 39-22-
303.6–7 through –13, and determines that the change can be reasonably adopted by the 
taxpayer. The Department will provide the taxpayer with a written explanation as to the 
reason for making the change. In a case in which a taxpayer fails to comply with the 
Department’s direction on subsequently filed returns, the Department may deem the 
taxpayer’s method of assigning its receipts on those returns to be unreasonable, and may
substitute an assignment method that the Department determines is appropriate.   

(f) Further Guidance. The Department may issue further public written statements with 
respect to the rules set forth in this regulation. These statements may, among other 
things, include guidance with respect to: (1) what constitutes a reasonable method of 
approximation within the meaning of the regulations, and (2) the circumstances in which 
a filing change with respect to a taxpayer’s method of reasonable approximation will be 
deemed appropriate.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–8. Sale, Rental, Lease, or License of Real Property. 

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
from the sale, rental, lease, or license of real property are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. 
Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are 
intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and 
regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. 
Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

In the case of a sale, rental, lease, or license of real property, the receipts from the sale are in Colorado if 
and to the extent that the property is in Colorado. 

Regulation 39-22-303.6–9. Rental, Lease, or License of Tangible Personal Property. 

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
from the rental, lease, or license of tangible personal property are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. 
Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are 
intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and 
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regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. 
Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

In the case of a rental, lease, or license of tangible personal property, the receipts from the sale are in 
Colorado if and to the extent that the property is in Colorado. If property is mobile property that is located 
both within and without Colorado during the period of the lease or other contract, the receipts assigned to 
Colorado are the receipts from the contract period multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the 
total time within Colorado during the tax period and the denominator of which is the total time during the 
tax period (as adjusted when necessary to reflect differences between usage during the contract period 
and usage during the taxable year).

Regulation 39-22-303.6–10. Sale of a Service. 

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
from sales of services are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. Consistent with the General 
Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are intended to conform the state’s 
income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and regulation except when those 
model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2). 

(1) General Rule. The receipts from a sale of a service are in Colorado if and to the extent that the 
service is delivered to a location in Colorado. In general, the term “delivered to a location” refers 
to the location of the taxpayer’s market for the service, which may not be the location of the 
taxpayer’s employees or property. The rules to determine the location of the delivery of a service 
in the context of several specific types of service transactions are set forth in paragraphs (2)–(4).

(2) In-Person Services. 

(a) In General. Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph (2), in-person services are 
services that are physically provided in person by the taxpayer, where the customer or 
the customer’s real or tangible property upon which the services are performed is in the 
same location as the service provider at the time the services are performed. This rule 
includes situations where the services are provided on behalf of the taxpayer by a third-
party contractor.  Examples of in-person services include, without limitation, warranty and
repair services; cleaning services; plumbing services; carpentry; construction contractor 
services; pest control; landscape services; medical and dental services, including medical
testing, x-rays, and mental health care and treatment; child care; hair cutting and salon 
services; live entertainment and athletic performances; and in-person training or lessons. 
In-person services include services within the description above that are performed at (1) 
a location that is owned or operated by the service provider or (2) a location of the 
customer, including the location of the customer’s real or tangible personal property.  
Although various professional services, including legal, accounting, financial, and 
consulting services, and other similar services as described in paragraph (4), may involve
some amount of in-person contact, they are not treated as in-person services within the 
meaning of this paragraph (2).

(b) Assignment of Receipts. 

(i) Rule of Determination. Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph (2)(b), if 
the service provided by the taxpayer is an in-person service, the service is 
delivered to the location where the service is received.  Therefore, the receipts 
from a sale are in Colorado if and to the extent the customer receives the in-
person service in Colorado. In assigning receipts from sales of in-person 
services, a taxpayer must first attempt to determine the location where a service 
is received, as follows:
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(A) If the service is performed with respect to the body of an individual 
customer in Colorado (e.g., hair cutting or x-ray services) or in the 
physical presence of the customer in Colorado (e.g., live entertainment 
or athletic performances), the service is received in Colorado.

(B) If the service is performed with respect to the customer’s real estate in 
Colorado, or if the service is performed with respect to the customer’s 
tangible personal property at the customer’s residence or in the 
customer’s possession in Colorado, the service is received in Colorado.

(C) If the service is performed with respect to the customer’s tangible 
personal property and the tangible personal property is to be shipped or 
delivered to the customer, whether the service is performed within or 
outside Colorado, the service is received in Colorado if the property is 
shipped or delivered to the customer in Colorado.

(c) Rule of Reasonable Approximation. In an instance in which the state or states where a 
service is actually received cannot be determined, but the taxpayer has sufficient 
information regarding the place of receipt from which it can reasonably approximate the 
state or states where the service is received, the taxpayer shall reasonably approximate 
such state or states. 

(d) Examples. For purposes of the examples, it is irrelevant whether the services are 
performed by an employee of the taxpayer or by an independent contractor acting on the 
taxpayer’s behalf.

(i) Example (i).  Salon Corp has retail locations in Colorado and in other states 
where it provides hair cutting services to individual and business customers, the 
latter of whom are paid for through the means of a company account.  The 
receipts from sales of services provided at Salon Corp’s Colorado locations are 
in Colorado.  The receipts from sales of services provided at Salon Corp’s 
locations outside Colorado, even when provided to residents of Colorado, are not
receipts from Colorado sales.

(ii) Example (ii). Landscape Corp provides landscaping and gardening services in 
Colorado and in neighboring states.  Landscape Corp provides landscaping 
services at the in-state vacation home of an individual who is a resident of 
another state and who is located outside Colorado at the time the services are 
performed. The receipts from sale of services provided at the Colorado location 
are in Colorado.

(iii) Example (iii). Same facts as Example (ii), except that Landscape Corp provides 
the landscaping services to Retail Corp, a corporation with retail locations in 
several states, and the services are with respect to those locations of Retail Corp
that are in Colorado and the other states. The receipts from the sale of services 
provided to Retail Corp are in Colorado to the extent the services are provided in 
Colorado.

(iv) Example (iv). Camera Corp provides camera repair services at a Colorado retail 
location to walk-in individual and business customers. In some cases, Camera 
Corp actually repairs a camera that is brought to its Colorado location at a facility 
that is in another state. In these cases, the repaired camera is then returned to 
the customer at Camera Corp’s Colorado location. The receipts from the sale of 
these services are in Colorado.
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(v) Example (v). Same facts as Example (iv), except that a customer located in 
Colorado mails the camera directly to the out-of-state facility owned by Camera 
Corp to be fixed, and receives the repaired camera back in Colorado by mail. 
The receipts from the sale of the service are in Colorado. 

(vi) Example (vi). Teaching Corp provides seminars in Colorado to individual and 
business customers. The seminars and the materials used in connection with the
seminars are prepared outside Colorado, the teachers who teach the seminars 
include teachers that are resident outside Colorado, and the students who attend
the seminars include students that are resident outside Colorado. Because the 
seminars are taught in Colorado, the receipts from sales of the services are in 
Colorado.

(3) Services Delivered to the Customer or on Behalf of the Customer, or Delivered 
Electronically Through the Customer. 

(a) In General. If the service provided by the taxpayer is not an in-person service within the 
meaning of paragraph (2), or a professional service within the meaning of paragraph (4), 
and the service is delivered to or on behalf of the customer, or delivered electronically 
through the customer, the receipts from a sale are in Colorado if and to the extent that 
the service is delivered in Colorado. 

(i) For purposes of this paragraph (3):

(A) A service that is delivered “to” a customer is a service in which the 
customer and not a third party is the recipient of the service. 

(B) A service that is delivered “on behalf of” a customer is one in which a 
customer contracts for a service but one or more third parties, rather than
the customer, is the recipient of the service, such as fulfillment services 
or the direct or indirect delivery of advertising to the customer’s intended 
audience. (See paragraph (3)(b)(i) and Example (iv) under paragraph (3)
(b)(i)(C)) 

(C) A service can be delivered to or on behalf of a customer by physical 
means or through electronic transmission.

(D) A service that is delivered electronically “through” a customer is a service
that is delivered electronically to a customer for purposes of resale and 
subsequent electronic delivery in substantially identical form to an end 
user or other third-party recipient.

(b) Assignment of Receipts. The assignment of receipts to a state or states in the instance of
a sale of a service that is delivered to the customer or on behalf of the customer, or 
delivered electronically through the customer, depends upon the method of delivery of 
the service and the nature of the customer. Separate rules of assignment apply to 
services delivered by physical means and services delivered by electronic transmission.  
(For purposes of this paragraph (3), a service delivered by an electronic transmission is 
not a delivery by a physical means). If a rule of assignment set forth in this paragraph (3) 
depends on whether the customer is an individual or a business customer, and the 
taxpayer acting in good faith cannot reasonably determine whether the customer is an 
individual or business customer, the taxpayer shall treat the customer as a business 
customer. 
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(i) Delivery to or on Behalf of a Customer by Physical Means Whether to an 
Individual or Business Customer. Services delivered to a customer or on behalf 
of a customer through physical means include, for example, product delivery 
services where property is delivered to the customer or to a third party on behalf 
of the customer; the delivery of brochures, fliers, or other direct mail services; the
delivery of advertising or advertising-related services to the customer’s intended 
audience in the form of a physical medium; and the sale of custom software (e.g.,
when software is developed for a specific customer in a case where the 
transaction is properly treated as a service transaction for purposes of corporate 
income taxation) when the taxpayer installs the custom software at the 
customer’s site. The rules in this paragraph (3)(b)(i) apply whether the taxpayer’s
customer is an individual customer or a business customer.

(A) Rule of Determination. In assigning the receipts from a sale of a service 
delivered to a customer or on behalf of a customer through physical 
means, a taxpayer must first attempt to determine the state or states 
where the service is delivered. If the taxpayer is able to determine the 
state or states where the service is delivered, it shall assign the receipts 
to that state or states.

(B) Rule of Reasonable Approximation. If the taxpayer cannot determine the 
state or states where the service is actually delivered, but has sufficient 
information regarding the place of delivery from which it can reasonably 
approximate the state or states where the service is delivered, it shall 
reasonably approximate the state or states.

(C) Examples. 

(I) Example (i).  Direct Mail Corp, a corporation based outside 
Colorado, provides direct mail services to its customer, Business
Corp.  Business Corp contracts with Direct Mail Corp to deliver 
printed fliers to a list of customers that is provided to it by 
Business Corp. Some of Business Corp’s customers are in 
Colorado and some of those customers are in other states.  
Direct Mail Corp will use the postal service to deliver the printed 
fliers to Business Corp’s customers. The receipts from the sale 
of Direct Mail Corp’s services to Business Corp are assigned to 
Colorado to the extent that the services are delivered on behalf 
of Business Corp to Colorado customers (i.e., to the extent that 
the fliers are delivered on behalf of Business Corp to Business 
Corp’s intended audience in Colorado).

(II) Example (ii).  Ad Corp is a corporation based outside Colorado 
that provides advertising and advertising-related services in 
Colorado and in neighboring states.  Ad Corp enters into a 
contract at a location outside Colorado with an individual 
customer, who is not a Colorado resident, to design 
advertisements for billboards to be displayed in Colorado, and to 
design fliers to be mailed to Colorado residents. All of the design 
work is performed outside Colorado. The receipts from the sale 
of the design services are in Colorado because the service is 
physically delivered on behalf of the customer to the customer’s 
intended audience in Colorado.  

(III) Example (iii).  Same facts as Example (ii), except that the 
contract is with a business customer that is based outside 
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Colorado. The receipts from the sale of the design services are 
in Colorado because the services are physically delivered on 
behalf of the customer to the customer’s intended audience in 
Colorado.       

(IV) Example (iv).  Fulfillment Corp, a corporation based outside 
Colorado, provides product delivery fulfillment services in 
Colorado and in neighboring states to Sales Corp, a corporation 
located outside Colorado that sells tangible personal property 
through a mail order catalog and over the Internet to customers. 
In some cases when a customer purchases tangible personal 
property from Sales Corp to be delivered in Colorado, Fulfillment 
Corp will, pursuant to its contract with Sales Corp, deliver that 
property from its fulfillment warehouse located outside Colorado. 
The receipts from the sale of the fulfillment services of Fulfillment
Corp to Sales Corp are assigned to Colorado to the extent that 
Fulfillment Corp’s deliveries on behalf of Sales Corp are to 
recipients in Colorado.  

(V) Example (v).  Software Corp, a software development 
corporation, enters into a contract with a business customer, 
Buyer Corp, which is physically located in Colorado, to develop 
custom software to be used in Buyer Corp’s business. Software 
Corp develops the custom software outside Colorado, and then 
physically installs the software on Buyer Corp’s computer 
hardware located in Colorado. The development and sale of the 
custom software is properly characterized as a service 
transaction, and the receipts from the sale are assigned to 
Colorado because the software is physically delivered to the 
customer in Colorado.  

(ii) Delivery to a Customer by Electronic Transmission. Services delivered by 
electronic transmission include, without limitation, services that are transmitted 
through the means of wire, lines, cable, fiber optics, electronic signals, satellite 
transmission, audio or radio waves, or other similar means, whether or not the 
service provider owns, leases, or otherwise controls the transmission equipment. 
In the case of the delivery of a service by electronic transmission to a customer, 
the following rules apply. 

(A) Services Delivered By Electronic Transmission to an Individual 
Customer.

(I) Rule of Determination. In the case of the delivery of a service to 
an individual customer by electronic transmission, the service is 
delivered in Colorado if and to the extent that the taxpayer’s 
customer receives the service in Colorado. If the taxpayer can 
determine the state or states where the service is received, it 
shall assign the receipts from that sale to that state or states.

(II) Rules of Reasonable Approximation. If the taxpayer cannot 
determine the state or states where the customer actually 
receives the service, but has sufficient information regarding the 
place of receipt from which it can reasonably approximate the 
state or states where the service is received, it shall reasonably 
approximate the state or states. If a taxpayer does not have 
sufficient information from which it can determine or reasonably 
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approximate the state or states in which the service is received, 
it shall reasonably approximate the state or states using the 
customer’s billing address.

(B) Services Delivered By Electronic Transmission to a Business Customer.

(I) Rule of Determination. In the case of the delivery of a service to 
a business customer by electronic transmission, the service is 
delivered in Colorado if and to the extent that the taxpayer’s 
customer receives the service in Colorado. If the taxpayer can 
determine the state or states where the service is received, it 
shall assign the receipts from that sale to the state or states. For 
purposes of this paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B), it is intended that the 
state or states where the service is received reflect the location 
at which the service is directly used by the employees or 
designees of the customer.

(II) Rule of Reasonable Approximation. If the taxpayer cannot 
determine the state or states where the customer actually 
receives the service, but has sufficient information regarding the 
place of receipt from which it can reasonably approximate the 
state or states where the service is received, it shall reasonably 
approximate the state or states.

(III) Secondary Rule of Reasonable Approximation. In the case of the
delivery of a service to a business customer by electronic 
transmission where a taxpayer does not have sufficient 
information from which it can determine or reasonably 
approximate the state or states in which the service is received, 
the taxpayer shall reasonably approximate the state or states as 
set forth in this paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(III). In these cases, unless 
the taxpayer can apply the safe harbor set forth in paragraph (3)
(b)(ii)(B)(IV), the taxpayer shall reasonably approximate the state
or states in which the service is received as follows:

(1) first, by assigning the receipts from the sale to the state 
where the contract of sale is principally managed by the 
customer; 

(2) second, if the state where the customer principally 
manages the contract is not reasonably determinable, by
assigning the receipts from the sale to the customer’s 
place of order; and 

(3) third, if the customer’s place of order is not reasonably 
determinable, by assigning the receipts from the sale 
using the customer’s billing address; 

provided, however, if the taxpayer derives more than 5% of its 
receipts from sales of services from any single customer, the 
taxpayer is required to identify the state in which the contract of 
sale is principally managed by that customer.

(IV) Safe Harbor. In the case of the delivery of a service to a 
business customer by electronic transmission, a taxpayer may 
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not be able to determine or reasonably approximate under 
paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(II) the state or states in which the service 
is received. In these cases, the taxpayer may, in lieu of the rule 
stated in paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(III), apply the safe harbor stated 
in this paragraph. Under this safe harbor, a taxpayer may assign 
its receipts from sales to a particular customer based upon the 
customer’s billing address in a taxable year in which the 
taxpayer:

(1) engages in substantially similar service transactions with
more than 250 customers, whether business or 
individual, and 

(2) does not derive more than 5% of its receipts from sales 
of all services from that customer. 

This safe harbor applies only for purposes of services delivered 
by electronic transmission to a business customer, and not 
otherwise.

(V) Related Party Transactions. In the case of a sale of a service by 
electronic transmission to a business customer that is a related 
party, the taxpayer may not use the secondary rule of 
reasonable approximation in (3)(b)(ii)(B)(III) but may use the rule
of reasonable approximation in paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(II) and the 
safe harbor in paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(IV), provided that the 
Department may aggregate sales to related parties in 
determining whether the sales exceed 5% of receipts from sales 
of all services under that safe harbor provision if necessary or 
appropriate to prevent distortion.

(C) Examples. In these examples, unless otherwise stated, assume that the 
taxpayer is not related to the customer to which the service is delivered. 
Further, assume if relevant, unless otherwise stated, that the safe harbor 
set forth in paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(IV) does not apply.

(I) Example (i).  Support Corp, a corporation based outside 
Colorado, provides software support and diagnostic services to 
individual and business customers that have previously 
purchased certain software from third-party vendors. These 
individual and business customers are located in Colorado and 
other states. Support Corp supplies its services on a case by 
case basis when directly contacted by its customer. Support 
Corp generally provides these services through the Internet but 
sometimes provides these services by phone. In all cases, 
Support Corp verifies the customer’s account information before 
providing any service. Using the information that Support Corp 
verifies before performing a service, Support Corp can determine
where its services are received, and therefore must assign its 
receipts to these locations. The receipts from sales made to 
Support Corp’s individual and business customers are in 
Colorado to the extent that Support Corp’s services are received 
in Colorado. See paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(A) and (B).

(II) Example (ii).  Online Corp, a corporation based outside 
Colorado, provides web-based services through the Internet to 
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individual customers who are resident in Colorado and in other 
states. These customers access Online Corp’s web services 
primarily in their states of residence, and sometimes, while 
traveling, in other states. For a substantial portion of its receipts 
from the sale of services, Online Corp can either determine the 
state or states where the services are received, or, where it 
cannot determine the state or states, it has sufficient information 
regarding the place of receipt to reasonably approximate the 
state or states. However, Online Corp cannot determine or 
reasonably approximate the state or states of receipt for all of the
sales of its services.  Assuming that Online Corp reasonably 
believes, based on all available information, that the geographic 
distribution of the receipts from sales for which it cannot 
determine or reasonably approximate the location of the receipt 
of its services generally tracks those for which it does have this 
information, Online Corp must assign to Colorado the receipts 
from sales for which it does not know the customers’ location in 
the same proportion as those receipts for which it has this 
information. See paragraph (3)(b) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–7. 

(III) Example (iii). Same facts as Example (ii), except that Online 
Corp reasonably believes that the geographic distribution of the 
receipts from sales for which it cannot determine or reasonably 
approximate the location of the receipt of its web-based services 
do not generally track the sales for which it does have this 
information. Online Corp must assign the receipts from sales of 
its services for which it lacks information as provided to its 
individual customers using the customers’ billing addresses. See
paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(A).

(IV) Example (iv). Net Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, 
provides web-based services to a business customer, Business 
Corp, a company with offices in Colorado and two neighboring 
states. Particular employees of Business Corp access the 
services from computers in each Business Corp office. Assume 
that Net Corp determines that Business Corp employees in 
Colorado were responsible for 75% of Business Corp’s use of 
Net Corp’s services, and Business Corp employees in other 
states were responsible for 25% of Business Corp’s use of Net 
Corp’s services. In this case, 75% of the receipts from the sale 
are received in Colorado. See paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(I).

(V) Example (v). Same facts as Example (iv), except assume 
alternatively that Net Corp lacks sufficient information regarding 
the location or locations where Business Corp’s employees used
the services to determine or reasonably approximate the location
or locations.  Under these circumstances, if Net Corp derives 5%
or less of its receipts from sales to Business Corp, Net Corp 
must assign the receipts under paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(III) to the 
state where Business Corp principally managed the contract, or 
if that state is not reasonably determinable, to the state where 
Business Corp placed the order for the services, or if that state is
not reasonably determinable, to the state of Business Corp’s 
billing address.  If Net Corp derives more than 5% of its receipts 
from sales of services to Business Corp, Net Corp is required to 
identify the state in which its contract of sale is principally 
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managed by Business Corp and must assign the receipts to that 
state.  

(VI) Example (vi).  Net Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, 
provides web-based services through the Internet to more than 
250 individual and business customers in Colorado and in other 
states. Assume that for each customer Net Corp cannot 
determine the state or states where its web services are actually 
received, and lacks sufficient information regarding the place of 
receipt to reasonably approximate the state or states. Also 
assume that Net Corp does not derive more than 5% of its 
receipts from sales of services to a single customer. Net Corp 
may apply the safe harbor stated in paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B)(IV), 
and may assign its receipts using each customer’s billing 
address. 

(iii) Services Delivered Electronically Through or on Behalf of an Individual or 
Business Customer. A service delivered electronically “on behalf of” the customer
is one in which a customer contracts for a service to be delivered electronically 
but one or more third parties, rather than the customer, is the recipient of the 
service, such as the direct or indirect delivery of advertising on behalf of a 
customer to the customer’s intended audience. A service delivered electronically 
“through” a customer to third-party recipients is a service that is delivered 
electronically to a customer for purposes of resale and subsequent electronic 
delivery in substantially identical form to end users or other third-party recipients.

(A) Rule of Determination. In the case of the delivery of a service by 
electronic transmission, where the service is delivered electronically to 
end users or other third-party recipients through or on behalf of the 
customer, the service is delivered in Colorado if and to the extent that the
end users or other third-party recipients are in Colorado. For example, in 
the case of the direct or indirect delivery of advertising on behalf of a 
customer to the customer’s intended audience by electronic means, the 
service is delivered in Colorado to the extent that the audience for the 
advertising is in Colorado. In the case of the delivery of a service to a 
customer that acts as an intermediary in reselling the service in 
substantially identical form to third-party recipients, the service is 
delivered in Colorado to the extent that the end users or other third-party 
recipients receive the services in Colorado. The rules in this paragraph 
(3)(b)(iii) apply whether the taxpayer’s customer is an individual customer
or a business customer and whether the end users or other third-party 
recipients to which the services are delivered through or on behalf of the 
customer are individuals or businesses.

(B) Rule of Reasonable Approximation. If the taxpayer cannot determine the 
state or states where the services are actually delivered to the end users 
or other third-party recipients either through or on behalf of the customer,
but has sufficient information regarding the place of delivery from which it
can reasonably approximate the state or states where the services are 
delivered, the taxpayer shall reasonably approximate the state or states.

(C) Select Secondary Rules of Reasonable Approximation.

(I) If a taxpayer’s service is the direct or indirect electronic delivery 
of advertising on behalf of its customer to the customer’s 
intended audience, and if the taxpayer lacks sufficient 
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information regarding the location of the audience from which it 
can determine or reasonably approximate that location, the 
taxpayer shall reasonably approximate the audience in a state 
for the advertising using the following secondary rules of 
reasonable approximation. If a taxpayer is delivering advertising 
directly or indirectly to a known list of subscribers, the taxpayer 
shall reasonably approximate the audience for advertising in a 
state using a percentage that reflects the ratio of the state’s 
subscribers in the specific geographic area in which the 
advertising is delivered relative to the total subscribers in that 
area. For a taxpayer with less information about its audience, the
taxpayer shall reasonably approximate the audience in a state 
using the percentage that reflects the ratio of the state’s 
population in the specific geographic area in which the 
advertising is delivered relative to the total population in that 
area.  

(II) If a taxpayer’s service is the delivery of a service to a customer 
that then acts as the taxpayer’s intermediary in reselling that 
service to end users or other third party recipients, and if the 
taxpayer lacks sufficient information regarding the location of the 
end users or other third party recipients from which it can 
determine or reasonably approximate that location, the taxpayer 
shall reasonably approximate the extent to which the service is 
received in a state by using the percentage that reflects the ratio 
of the state’s population in the specific geographic area in which 
the taxpayer’s intermediary resells the services, relative to the 
total population in that area.

(III) When using the secondary reasonable approximation methods 
provided above, the relevant specific geographic area of delivery
includes only the areas where the service was substantially and 
materially delivered or resold. Unless the taxpayer demonstrates 
the contrary, it will be presumed that the area where the service 
was substantially and materially delivered or resold does not 
include areas outside the United States.

(D) Examples. 

(I) Example (i).  Cable TV Corp, a corporation based outside of 
Colorado, has two revenue streams. First, Cable TV Corp sells 
advertising time to business customers pursuant to which the 
business customers’ advertisements will run as commercials 
during Cable TV Corp’s televised programming. Some of these 
business customers, though not all of them, have a physical 
presence in Colorado. Second, Cable TV Corp sells monthly 
subscriptions to individual customers in Colorado and in other 
states. The receipts from Cable TV Corp’s sale of advertising 
time to its business customers are assigned to Colorado to the 
extent that the audience for Cable TV Corp’s televised 
programming during which the advertisements run is in 
Colorado.  See paragraph (3)(b)(iii)(A). If Cable TV Corp is 
unable to determine the actual location of its audience for the 
programming, and lacks sufficient information regarding 
audience location to reasonably approximate the location, Cable 
TV Corp must approximate its Colorado audience using the 
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percentage that reflects the ratio of its Colorado subscribers in 
the geographic area in which Cable TV Corp’s televised 
programming featuring the advertisements is delivered relative to
its total number of subscribers in that area.  See paragraph (3)
(b)(iii)(C)(I). To the extent that Cable TV Corp’s sales of monthly 
subscriptions represent the sale of a service, the receipts from 
these sales are properly assigned to Colorado in any case in 
which the programming is received by a customer in Colorado.  
See paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(A).  In any case in which Cable TV Corp 
cannot determine the actual location where the programming is 
received, and lacks sufficient information regarding the location 
of receipt to reasonably approximate the location, the receipts 
from these sales of Cable TV Corp’s monthly subscriptions are 
assigned to Colorado where its customer’s billing address is in 
Colorado. See paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(A)(II). Note that whether and 
to the extent that the monthly subscription fee represents a fee 
for a service or for a license of intangible property does not affect
the analysis or result as to the state or states to which the 
receipts are properly assigned. See paragraph 5 of Regulation 
39-22-303.6–11. 

(II) Example (ii).  Network Corp, a corporation based outside of 
Colorado, sells advertising time to business customers pursuant 
to which the customers’ advertisements will run as commercials 
during Network Corp’s televised programming as distributed by 
unrelated cable television and satellite television transmission 
companies. The receipts from Network Corp’s sale of advertising
time to its business customers are assigned to Colorado to the 
extent that the audience for Network Corp’s televised 
programming during which the advertisements will run is in 
Colorado. See paragraph (3)(b)(iii)(A). If Network Corp cannot 
determine the actual location of the audience for its programming
during which the advertisements will run, and lacks sufficient 
information regarding audience location to reasonably 
approximate the location, Network Corp must approximate the 
receipts from sales of advertising that constitute Colorado sales 
by multiplying the amount of advertising receipts by a percentage
that reflects the ratio of the Colorado population in the specific 
geographic area in which the televised programming containing 
the advertising is run relative to the total population in that area. 
See paragraphs (3)(b)(iii)(C)(II) and (III).    

(III) Example (iii).  Web Corp, a corporation based outside of 
Colorado, provides Internet content to viewers in Colorado and 
other states.  Web Corp sells advertising space to business 
customers pursuant to which the customers’ advertisements will 
appear in connection with Web Corp’s Internet content. Web 
Corp receives a fee for running the advertisements that is 
determined by reference to the number of times the 
advertisement is viewed or clicked upon by the viewers of its 
website. The receipts from Web Corp’s sale of advertising space 
to its business customers are assigned to Colorado to the extent 
that the viewers of the Internet content are in Colorado, as 
measured by viewings or clicks. See paragraph (3)(b)(iii)(A). If 
Web Corp is unable to determine the actual location of its 
viewers, and lacks sufficient information regarding the location of
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its viewers to reasonably approximate the location, Web Corp 
must approximate the amount of its Colorado receipts by 
multiplying the amount of receipts from sales of advertising by a 
percentage that reflects the Colorado population in the specific 
geographic area in which the content containing the advertising 
is delivered relative to the total population in that area. See 
paragraph (3)(b)(iii)(C). 

(IV) Example (iv).  Retail Corp, a corporation based outside of 
Colorado, sells tangible property through its retail stores located 
in Colorado and other states, and through a mail order catalog. 
Answer Co, a corporation that operates call centers in multiple 
states, contracts with Retail Corp to answer telephone calls from 
individuals placing orders for products found in Retail Corp’s 
catalogs. In this case, the phone answering services of Answer 
Co are being delivered to Retail Corp’s customers and 
prospective customers. Therefore, Answer Co is delivering a 
service electronically to Retail Corp’s customers or prospective 
customers on behalf of Retail Corp and must assign the 
proceeds from this service to the state or states from which the 
phone calls are placed by the customers or prospective 
customers. If Answer Co cannot determine the actual locations 
from which phone calls are placed, and lacks sufficient 
information regarding the locations to reasonably approximate 
the locations, Answer Co must approximate the amount of its 
Colorado receipts by multiplying the amount of its fee from Retail
Corp by a percentage that reflects the Colorado population in the
specific geographic area from which the calls are placed relative 
to the total population in that area. See paragraph (3)(b)(iii)(C)(I).

(V) Example (v). Web Corp, a corporation based outside of 
Colorado, sells tangible property to customers via its Internet 
website. Design Co. designed and maintains Web Corp’s 
website, including making changes to the site based on 
customer feedback received through the site. Design Co.’s 
services are delivered to Web Corp, the proceeds from which are
assigned pursuant to paragraph (3)(b)(ii). The fact that Web 
Corp’s customers and prospective customers incidentally benefit 
from Design Co.’s services, and may even interact with Design 
Co in the course of providing feedback, does not transform the 
service into one delivered “on behalf of” Web Corp to Web 
Corp’s customers and prospective customers.

(VI) Example (vi). Wholesale Corp, a corporation based outside of 
Colorado, develops an Internet-based information database 
outside Colorado and enters into a contract with Retail Corp 
whereby Retail Corp will market and sell access to this database 
to end users. Depending on the facts, the provision of database 
access may be either the sale of a service or the license of 
intangible property or may have elements of both, but for 
purposes of analysis it does not matter. See paragraph (5) of 
Regulation 39-22-303.6–11. Assume that on the particular facts 
applicable in this example, Wholesale Corp is selling database 
access in transactions properly characterized as involving the 
performance of a service. When an end user purchases access 
to Wholesale Corp’s database from Retail Corp, Retail Corp in 
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turn compensates Wholesale Corp in connection with that 
transaction. In this case, Wholesale Corp’s services are being 
delivered through Retail Corp to the end user. Wholesale Corp 
must assign its receipts from sales to Retail Corp to the state or 
states in which the end users receive access to Wholesale 
Corp’s database. If Wholesale Corp cannot determine the state 
or states where the end users actually receive access to 
Wholesale Corp’s database, and lacks sufficient information 
regarding the location from which the end users access the 
database to reasonably approximate the location, Wholesale 
Corp must approximate the extent to which its services are 
received by end users in Colorado by using a percentage that 
reflects the ratio of the Colorado population in the specific 
geographic area in which Retail Corp regularly markets and sells
Wholesale Corp’s database relative to the total population in that
area. See paragraph (3)(b)(iii)(C)(II). Note that it does not matter 
for purposes of the analysis whether Wholesale Corp’s sale of 
database access constitutes a service or a license of intangible 
property, or some combination of both. See paragraph (5) of 
Regulation 39-22-303.6–11.

(4) Professional Services. 

(a) In General. Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph (4), professional services are 
services that require specialized knowledge and in some cases require a professional 
certification, license, or degree. These services include the performance of technical 
services that require the application of specialized knowledge. Professional services 
include, without limitation, management services, bank and financial services, financial 
custodial services, investment and brokerage services, fiduciary services, tax 
preparation, payroll and accounting services, lending services, credit card services 
(including credit card processing services), data processing services, legal services, 
consulting services, video production services, graphic and other design services, 
engineering services, and architectural services.

(b) Overlap with Other Service Categories.

(i) Certain services that fall within the definition of “professional services” set forth in
this paragraph (4) are nevertheless treated as “in-person services” within the 
meaning of paragraph (2), and are assigned under the rules of paragraph (2). 
Specifically, professional services that are physically provided in person by the 
taxpayer such as carpentry, certain medical and dental services, or child care 
services, where the customer or the customer’s real or tangible property upon 
which the services are provided is in the same location as the service provider at 
the time the services are performed, are “in-person services” and are assigned 
as such, notwithstanding that they may also be considered to be “professional 
services.”  However, professional services where the service is of an intellectual 
or intangible nature, such as legal, accounting, financial, and consulting services,
are assigned as professional services under the rules of this paragraph (4), 
notwithstanding the fact that these services may involve some amount of in-
person contact. 

(ii) Professional services may, in some cases, include the transmission of one or 
more documents or other communications by mail or by electronic means. In 
some cases, all or most communications between the service provider and the 
service recipient may be by mail or by electronic means. However, in these 
cases, despite this transmission, the assignment rules that apply are those set 
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forth in this paragraph (4), and not those set forth in paragraph (3), pertaining to 
services delivered to a customer or through or on behalf of a customer.

(c) Assignment of Receipts. In the case of a professional service, it is generally possible to 
characterize the location of delivery in multiple ways by emphasizing different elements of
the service provided, no one of which will consistently represent the market for the 
services. Therefore, the location of delivery in the case of professional services is not 
susceptible to a general rule of determination, and must be reasonably approximated. 
The assignment of receipts from a sale of a professional service depends, in many 
cases, upon whether the customer is an individual or business customer. In any instance 
in which the taxpayer, acting in good faith, cannot reasonably determine whether the 
customer is an individual or business customer, the taxpayer shall treat the customer as 
a business customer. For purposes of assigning the receipts from a sale of a professional
service, a taxpayer’s customer is the person who contracts for the service, irrespective of 
whether another person pays for or also benefits from the taxpayer’s services. 

(i) General Rule. Receipts from sales of professional services other than those 
services described in paragraph (4)(c)(ii) (architectural and engineering 
services), paragraph (4)(c)(iii) (services provided by a financial institution) and 
paragraph (4)(h)(iv) (transactions with related parties) are assigned in 
accordance with this paragraph (4)(c)(i).

(A) Professional Services Delivered to Individual Customers.  Except as 
otherwise provided in this paragraph (4) (see, in particular, paragraph (4)
(c)(v)), in any instance in which the service provided is a professional 
service, and the taxpayer’s customer is an individual customer, the state 
or states in which the service is delivered must be reasonably 
approximated as set forth in this paragraph (4)(c)(i)(A). In particular, the 
taxpayer shall assign the receipts from a sale to the customer’s state of 
primary residence, or, if the taxpayer cannot reasonably identify the 
customer’s state of primary residence, to the state of the customer’s 
billing address; provided, however, in any instance in which the taxpayer 
derives more than 5% of its receipts from sales of all services from an 
individual customer, the taxpayer shall identify the customer’s state of 
primary residence and assign the receipts from the service or services 
provided to that customer to that state.

(B) Professional Services Delivered to Business Customers.  Except as 
otherwise provided in paragraph (4), in any instance in which the service 
provided is a professional service and the taxpayer’s customer is a 
business customer, the state or states in which the service is delivered 
must be reasonably approximated as set forth in this paragraph (4)(c)(i)
(B). In particular, unless the taxpayer may use the safe harbor set forth in
paragraph (4)(c)(i)(C), the taxpayer shall assign the receipts from the 
sale as follows: 

(I) first, by assigning the receipts to the state where the contract of 
sale is principally managed by the customer; 

(II) second, if the place of customer management is not reasonably 
determinable, to the customer’s place of order; and 

(III) third, if the customer’s place of order is not reasonably 
determinable, to the customer’s billing address; 
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provided, however, in any instance in which the taxpayer derives more 
than 5% of its receipts from sales of all services from any single 
customer, the taxpayer is required to identify the state in which the 
contract of sale is principally managed by the customer.  

(C) Safe Harbor. Large Volume Transactions. Notwithstanding the rules set 
forth in paragraph (4)(c)(i)(A) and (B), a taxpayer may assign its receipts 
from sales to a particular customer based on the customer’s billing 
address in any taxable year in which the taxpayer (1) engages in 
substantially similar service transactions with more than 250 customers, 
whether individual or business, and (2) does not derive more than 5% of 
its receipts from sales of all services from that customer. This safe harbor
applies only for purposes of paragraph (4)(c)(i) and not otherwise.

(ii) Architectural and Engineering Services with Respect to Real or Tangible 
Personal Property. Architectural and engineering services with respect to real or 
tangible personal property are professional services within the meaning of this 
paragraph (4). However, unlike in the case of the general rule that applies to 
professional services, (a) the receipts from a sale of an architectural service are 
assigned to a state or states if and to the extent that the services are with respect
to real estate improvements located, or expected to be located, in the state or 
states; and (b) the receipts from a sale of an engineering service are assigned to 
a state or states if and to the extent that the services are with respect to tangible 
or real property located in the state or states, including real estate improvements 
located in, or expected to be located in, the state or states. These rules apply 
whether or not the customer is an individual or business customer. In any 
instance in which architectural or engineering services are not described in this 
paragraph (4)(c)(ii), the receipts from a sale of these services must be assigned 
under the general rule for professional services. See paragraph (4)(c)(i). 

(iii) Services Provided by a Financial Institution. The apportionment rules that apply 
to financial institutions are set forth in 1 CCR 201-2, Special Regulation 7A, 
which includes specific rules for determining a financial institution’s receipts 
factor. However, 1 CCR 201-2, Special Regulation 7A also provides that receipts 
from sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, including service 
transactions that are not otherwise apportioned under 1 CCR 201-2, Special 
Regulation 7A, are to be assigned pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and these 
regulations. In any instance in which a financial institution performs services that 
are to be assigned pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., and these regulations, 
including, for example, financial custodial services, those services are considered
professional services within the meaning of this paragraph (4) and are assigned 
according to the general rule for professional service transactions as set forth 
paragraph (4)(c)(i).

(iv) Services Provided by a Mutual Fund Service Corporation. To the extent the 
services that give rise to “mutual fund sales” as defined in § 39-22-303.7(1)(e), 
C.R.S., would be considered professional services, the apportionment rules that 
apply to “mutual fund sales” by a “mutual fund service corporation,” as that term 
is defined in § 39-22-303.7(1)(f), C.R.S., are set forth in § 39-22-303.7, C.R.S., 
and the regulations thereunder.

(v) Related Party Transactions. In any instance in which the professional service is 
sold to a related party, rather than applying the rule for professional services 
delivered to business customers in paragraph (4)(c)(i)(B), the state or states to 
which the service is assigned is the place of receipt by the related party as 
reasonably approximated using the following hierarchy: 
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(A) if the service primarily relates to specific operations or activities of a 
related party conducted in one or more locations, then to the state or 
states in which those operations or activities are conducted in proportion 
to the related party’s payroll at the locations to which the service relates 
in the state or states; or 

(B) if the service does not relate primarily to operations or activities of a 
related party conducted in particular locations, but instead relates to the 
operations of the related party generally, then to the state or states in 
which the related party has employees, in proportion to the related 
party’s payroll in those states. 

The taxpayer may use the safe harbor provided in paragraph (4)(c)(i)(C) provided
that the Department may aggregate the receipts from sales to related parties in 
applying the 5% rule if necessary or appropriate to avoid distortion.

(vi) Examples. Unless otherwise stated, assume in each of these examples that the 
customer is not a related party and that the safe harbor set forth in paragraph (4)
(c)(i)(C) does not apply.

(A) Example (i).  Broker Corp provides securities brokerage services to 
individual customers who are residents in Colorado and in other states. 
Assume that Broker Corp knows the state of primary residence for many 
of its customers, and where it does not know the state of primary 
residence, it knows the customer’s billing address. Also assume that 
Broker Corp does not derive more than 5% of its receipts from sales of 
all services from any one individual customer. If Broker Corp knows its 
customer’s state of primary residence, it shall assign the receipts to that 
state. If Broker Corp does not know its customer’s state of primary 
residence, but rather knows the customer’s billing address, it shall assign
the receipts to that state. See paragraph (4)(c)(i)(A).

(B) Example (ii).  Same facts as Example (i), except that Broker Corp has 
several individual customers from whom it derives, in each instance, 
more than 5% of its receipts from sales of all services. Receipts from 
sales to customers from whom Broker Corp derives 5% or less of its 
receipts from sales of all services must be assigned as described in 
Example (i). For each customer from whom it derives more than 5% of its
receipts from sales of all services, Broker Corp is required to determine 
the customer’s state of primary residence and must assign the receipts 
from the services provided to that customer to that state. In any case in 
which a 5% customer’s state of primary residence is Colorado, receipts 
from a sale made to that customer must be assigned to Colorado; in any 
case in which a 5% customer’s state of primary residence is not 
Colorado receipts from a sale made to that customer are not assigned to 
Colorado. 

(C) Example (iii).  Architecture Corp provides building design services for 
buildings located, or expected to be located, in Colorado to individual 
customers who are resident in Colorado and other states, and to 
business customers that are based in Colorado and other states. The 
receipts from Architecture Corp’s sales are assigned to Colorado 
because the locations of the buildings to which its design services relate 
are in Colorado, or are expected to be in Colorado. For purposes of 
assigning these receipts, it is not relevant where, in the case of an 
individual customer, the customer primarily resides or is billed for the 
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services, and it is not relevant where, in the case of a business customer,
the customer principally manages the contract, placed the order for the 
services, or is billed for the services. Further, these receipts are assigned
to Colorado even if Architecture Corp’s designs are either physically 
delivered to its customer in paper form in a state other than Colorado or 
are electronically delivered to its customer in a state other than Colorado.
See paragraphs (4)(b)(ii) and (c)(ii).

(D) Example (iv).  Law Corp provides legal services to individual clients who 
are resident in Colorado and in other states. In some cases, Law Corp 
may prepare one or more legal documents for its client as a result of 
these services and/or the legal work may be related to litigation or a legal
matter that is ongoing in a state other than where the client is a resident. 
Assume that Law Corp knows the state of primary residence for many of 
its clients, and where it does not know the state of primary residence, it 
knows the client’s billing address. Also assume that Law Corp does not 
derive more than 5% of its receipts from sales of all services from any 
one individual client. If Law Corp knows its client’s state of primary 
residence, it shall assign the receipts to that state. If Law Corp does not 
know its client’s state of primary residence, but rather knows the client’s 
billing address, it shall assign the receipts to that state. For purposes of 
the analysis, it is irrelevant whether the legal documents relating to the 
service are mailed or otherwise delivered to a location in another state, 
or the litigation or other legal matter that is the underlying predicate for 
the services is in another state. See paragraphs (4)(b)(ii) and (c)(i).

(E) Example (v).  Law Corp provides legal services to several multistate 
business clients. In each case, Law Corp knows the state in which the 
agreement for legal services that governs the client relationship is 
principally managed by the client. In one case, the agreement is 
principally managed in Colorado; in the other cases, the agreements are 
principally managed in states other than Colorado. If the agreement for 
legal services is principally managed by the client in Colorado, the 
receipts from sale of the services are assigned to Colorado; in the other 
cases, the receipts are not assigned to Colorado. In the case of receipts 
that are assigned to Colorado, the receipts are so assigned even if (1) 
the legal documents relating to the service are mailed or otherwise 
delivered to a location in another state, or (2) the litigation or other legal 
matter that is the underlying predicate for the services is in another state.
See paragraphs (4)(b)(ii) and (c)(i).

(F) Example (vi).  Consulting Corp, a company that provides consulting 
services to law firms and other customers, is hired by Law Corp in 
connection with legal representation that Law Corp provides to Client Co.
Specifically, Consulting Corp is hired to provide expert testimony at a trial
being conducted by Law Corp on behalf of Client Co. Client Co pays for 
Consulting Corp’s services directly. Assuming that Consulting Corp 
knows that its agreement with Law Corp is principally managed by Law 
Corp in Colorado, the receipts from the sale of Consulting Corp’s 
services are assigned to Colorado. It is not relevant for purposes of the 
analysis that Client Co is the ultimate beneficiary of Consulting Corp’s 
services, or that Client Co pays for Consulting Corp’s services directly. 
See paragraph (4)(c)(i)(B).

(G) Example (vii). Bank Corp provides financial custodial services, including 
the safekeeping of some of its customers’ financial assets, to 100 
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individual customers who are resident in Colorado and in other states. 
Assume for purposes of this example that Bank Corp knows the state of 
primary residence for many of its customers, and where it does not know 
the state of primary residence, it knows the customer’s billing address. 
Also assume that Bank Corp does not derive more than 5% of its 
receipts from sales of all of its services from any single customer. Note 
that because Bank Corp does not have more than 250 customers, it may 
not apply the safe harbor for professional services stated in paragraph 
(4)(c)(i)(C). If Bank Corp knows its customer’s state of primary residence,
it must assign the receipts to that state. If Bank Corp does not know its 
customer’s state of primary residence, but rather knows the customer’s 
billing address, it must assign the receipts to that state. Bank Corp’s 
receipts are assigned to Colorado if the customer’s state of primary 
residence (or billing address, in cases where it does not know the 
customer’s state of primary residence) is in Colorado, even if Bank 
Corp’s financial custodial work, including the safekeeping of the 
customer’s financial assets, takes place in a state other than Colorado. 
See paragraph (4)(c)(i)(A).

(H) Example (viii). Same facts as Example (vii), except that Bank Corp has 
more than 250 customers, individual or business. Bank Corp may apply 
the safe harbor for professional services stated in paragraph (4)(c)(i)(C), 
and may assign its receipts from sales to a state or states using each 
customer’s billing address.  

(I) Example (ix). Same facts as Example (viii), except that Bank Corp 
derives more than 5% of its receipts from sales from a single individual 
customer. As to the sales made to this customer, Bank Corp is required 
to determine the individual customer’s state of primary residence and 
must assign the receipts from the service or services provided to that 
customer to that state. See paragraphs (4)(c)(i)(A) and (c)(iii). Receipts 
from sales to all other customers are assigned as described in Example 
(viii).

(J) Example (x). Advisor Corp, a corporation that provides investment 
advisory services, provides these advisory services to Investment Co. 
Investment Co is a multistate business client of Advisor Corp that uses 
Advisor Corp’s services in connection with investment accounts that it 
manages for individual clients, who are the ultimate beneficiaries of 
Advisor Corp’s services. Assume that Investment Co’s individual clients 
are persons that are resident in numerous states, which may or may not 
include Colorado.  Assuming that Advisor Corp knows that its agreement 
with Investment Co is principally managed by Investment Co in Colorado,
receipts from the sale of Advisor Corp’s services are assigned to 
Colorado. It is not relevant for purposes of the analysis that the ultimate 
beneficiaries of Advisor Corp’s services may be Investment Co’s clients, 
who are residents of numerous states. See paragraph (4)(c)(i)(B).

(K) Example (xi). Advisor Corp provides investment advisory services to 
Investment Fund LP, a partnership that invests in securities and other 
assets. Assuming that Advisor Corp knows that its agreement with 
Investment Fund LP is principally managed by Investment Fund LP in 
Colorado, receipts from the sale of Advisor Corp’s services are assigned 
to Colorado. See paragraph (4)(c)(i)(B). Note that it is not relevant for 
purposes of the analysis that the partners in Investment Fund LP are 
residents of other states.
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(L) Example (xii).  Design Corp is a corporation based outside Colorado that 
provides graphic design and similar services in Colorado and in 
neighboring states. Design Corp enters into a contract at a location 
outside Colorado with an individual customer to design fliers for the 
customer. Assume that Design Corp does not know the individual 
customer’s state of primary residence and does not derive more than 5%
of its receipts from sales of services from the individual customer. All of 
the design work is performed outside Colorado. Receipts from the sale 
are in Colorado if the customer’s billing address is in Colorado. See 
paragraph (4)(c)(i)(A).

Regulation 39-22-303.6–11. License or Lease of Intangible Property. 

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
from the license or lease of intangible property are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. Consistent 
with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are intended to 
conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and regulation 
except when those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, 
ch. 369, § 1(2). 

(1) General Rules. 

(a) The receipts from the license of intangible property are in Colorado if and to the extent 
the intangible is used in Colorado. In general, the term “use” is construed to refer to the 
location of the taxpayer’s market for the use of the intangible property that is being 
licensed and is not to be construed to refer to the location of the property or payroll of the 
taxpayer. The rules that apply in determining the location of the use of intangible property
in the context of several specific types of licensing transactions are set forth in 
paragraphs (2) through (5) of this regulation.  For purposes of the rules set forth in this 
Regulation 39-22-303.6–11, a lease of intangible property is to be treated the same as a 
license of intangible property. 

(b) In general, a license of intangible property that conveys all substantial rights in that 
property is treated as a sale of intangible property for purposes of Regulations 39-22-
303.6–7 through –13. See Regulation 39-22-303.6–12.  Note, however, that for purposes 
of Regulations 39-22-303.6–11 and –12, a sale or exchange of intangible property is 
treated as a license of that property where the receipts from the sale or exchange derive 
from payments that are contingent on the productivity, use, or disposition of the property. 

(c) Intangible property licensed as part of the sale or lease of tangible property is treated 
under Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13 as the sale or lease of tangible property.  

(d) Nothing in this Regulation 39-22-303.6–11 shall be construed to allow or require the 
inclusion of receipts in the receipts factor that are not included in the definition of 
“receipts” pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(1)(d), C.R.S., or related regulations, or that are 
excluded from the numerator and the denominator of the receipts factor pursuant to § 39-
22-303.6(6)(d)(III), C.R.S. For examples of the types of intangibles that are excluded 
pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(1)(d), C.R.S., see paragraphs (1)(i), (1)(l)(vi), and (1)(l)(vii) of 
Regulation 39-22-303.6–1. For examples of the types of intangibles that are excluded 
pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(6)(d)(III), C.R.S., see paragraph (1)(d) of Regulation 39-22-
303.6–12. To the extent that the transfer of either a security, as defined in paragraph (1)
(n) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–1, or business “goodwill” or similar intangible value, 
including, without limitation, “going concern value” or “workforce in place,” may be 
characterized as a license or lease of intangible property, receipts from such transaction 
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shall be excluded from the numerator and the denominator of the taxpayer’s receipts 
factor.

(2) License of a Marketing Intangible. Where a license is granted for the right to use intangible 
property in connection with the sale, lease, license, or other marketing of goods, services, or 
other items (a “marketing intangible”) to a consumer, the royalties or other licensing fees paid by 
the licensee for that marketing intangible are assigned to Colorado to the extent that those fees 
are attributable to the sale or other provision of goods, services, or other items purchased or 
otherwise acquired by consumers or other ultimate customers in Colorado.  

(a) Examples of a license of a marketing intangible include, without limitation, the license of a
service mark, trademark, or trade name; certain copyrights; the license of a film, 
television, or multimedia production, or event for commercial distribution; and a franchise 
agreement. In each of these instances the license of the marketing intangible is intended 
to promote consumer sales.  

(b) In the case of the license of a marketing intangible, where a taxpayer has actual evidence
of the amount or proportion of its receipts that is attributable to Colorado, it shall assign 
that amount or proportion to Colorado. In the absence of actual evidence of the amount 
or proportion of the licensee's receipts that are derived from Colorado consumers, the 
portion of the licensing fee to be assigned to Colorado must be reasonably approximated 
by multiplying the total fee by a percentage that reflects the ratio of the Colorado 
population in the specific geographic area in which the licensee makes material use of 
the intangible property to regularly market its goods, services, or other items relative to 
the total population in that area. If the license of a marketing intangible is for the right to 
use the intangible property in connection with sales or other transfers at wholesale rather 
than directly to retail customers, the portion of the licensing fee to be assigned to 
Colorado must be reasonably approximated by multiplying the total fee by a percentage 
that reflects the ratio of the Colorado population in the specific geographic area in which 
the licensee's goods, services, or other items are ultimately and materially marketed 
using the intangible property relative to the total population of that area. Unless the 
taxpayer demonstrates that the marketing intangible is materially used in the marketing of
items outside the United States, the fees from licensing that marketing intangible will be 
presumed to be derived from within the United States.

(3) License of a Production Intangible. If a license is granted for the right to use intangible property
other than in connection with the sale, lease, license, or other marketing of goods, services, or 
other items, and the license is to be used in a production capacity (a “production intangible”), the 
licensing fees paid by the licensee for that right are assigned to Colorado to the extent that the 
use for which the fees are paid takes place in Colorado.  

(a) Examples of a license of a production intangible include, without limitation, the license of 
a patent, a copyright, or trade secrets to be used in a manufacturing process, where the 
value of the intangible lies predominately in its use in that process. 

(b) In the case of a license of a production intangible to a party, other than a related party 
where the location of actual use is unknown, it is presumed that the use of the intangible 
property takes place in the state of the licensee's commercial domicile (where the 
licensee is a business) or the licensee’s state of primary residence (where the licensee is 
an individual). If the Department can reasonably establish that the actual use of intangible
property pursuant to a license of a production intangible takes place in part in Colorado, it
is presumed that the entire use is in Colorado except to the extent that the taxpayer can 
demonstrate that the actual location of a portion of the use takes place outside Colorado. 
In the case of a license of a production intangible to a related party, the taxpayer must 
assign the receipts to where the intangible property is actually used.
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(4) License of a Mixed Intangible. If a license of intangible property includes both a license of a 
marketing intangible and a license of a production intangible (a “mixed intangible”) and the fees to
be paid in each instance are separately and reasonably stated in the licensing contract, the 
Department will accept that separate statement for purposes of Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 
through –13. If a license of intangible property includes both a license of a marketing intangible 
and a license of a production intangible and the fees to be paid in each instance are not 
separately and reasonably stated in the contract, it is presumed that the licensing fees are paid 
entirely for the license of the marketing intangible except to the extent that the taxpayer or the 
Department can reasonably establish otherwise.

(5) License of Intangible Property where the Substance of the Transaction Resembles a Sale 
of Goods or Services. 

(a) In General. In some cases, the license of intangible property will resemble the sale of an 
electronically delivered good or service rather than the license of a marketing intangible 
or a production intangible. In these cases, the receipts from the licensing transaction are 
assigned by applying the rules set forth in paragraphs (3)(b)(ii) and (iii) of Regulation 39-
22-303.6–10, as if the transaction were a service delivered to an individual or business 
customer or delivered electronically through an individual or business customer, as 
applicable.  Examples of transactions to be assigned under this paragraph (5) include, 
without limitation, the license of database access, the license of access to information, 
the license of digital goods (see paragraph (2) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–13), and the 
license of certain software (e.g., where the transaction is not the license of pre-written 
software that is treated as the sale of tangible personal property see paragraph (1) of 
Regulation 39-22-303.6–13).

(b) Sublicenses. Pursuant to paragraph (5)(a), the rules of paragraph (3)(b)(iii) of Regulation 
39-22-303.6–10 may apply where a taxpayer licenses intangible property to a customer 
that, in turn, sublicenses the intangible property to end users as if the transaction were a 
service delivered electronically through a customer to end users. In particular, the rules 
set forth at paragraph (3)(b)(iii) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–10 that apply to services 
delivered electronically to a customer for purposes of resale and subsequent electronic 
delivery in substantially identical form to end users or other recipients may also apply with
respect to licenses of intangible property for purposes of sublicense to end users. For this
purpose, the intangible property sublicensed to an end user shall not fail to be 
substantially identical to the property that was licensed to the sublicensor merely because
the sublicense transfers a reduced bundle of rights with respect to that property (e.g., 
because the sublicensee’s rights are limited to its own use of the property and do not 
include the ability to grant a further sublicense), or because that property is bundled with 
additional services or items of property.

(6) Examples. In these examples, unless otherwise stated, assume that the customer is not a 
related party.

(a) Example (i).  Crayon Corp and Dealer Co enter into a license contract under which 
Dealer Co, as licensee, is permitted to use trademarks that are owned by Crayon Corp in 
connection with Dealer Co's sale of certain products to retail customers. Under the 
contract, Dealer Co is required to pay Crayon Corp a licensing fee that is a fixed 
percentage of the total volume of monthly sales made by Dealer Co of products using the
Crayon Corp trademarks. Under the contract, Dealer Co is permitted to sell the products 
at multiple store locations, including store locations that are both within and without 
Colorado. Further, the licensing fees that are paid by Dealer Co are broken out on a per-
store basis. The licensing fees paid to Crayon Corp by Dealer Co represent fees from the
license of a marketing intangible. The portion of the fees to be assigned to Colorado are 
determined by multiplying the fees by a percentage that reflects the ratio of Dealer Co’s 
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receipts that are derived from its Colorado stores relative to Dealer Co’s total receipts. 
See paragraph (2).

(b) Example (ii).  Program Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, licenses 
programming that it owns to licensees, such as cable networks, that, in turn, will offer the 
programming to their customers on television or other media outlets in Colorado and in all
other U.S. states. Each of these licensing contracts constitutes the license of a marketing
intangible. For each licensee, assuming that Program Corp lacks evidence of the actual 
number of viewers of the programming in Colorado, the component of the licensing fee 
paid to Program Corp by the licensee that constitutes Program Corp’s Colorado receipts 
is determined by multiplying the amount of the licensing fee by a percentage that reflects 
the ratio of the Colorado audience of the licensee for the programming relative to the 
licensee’s total U.S. audience for the programming. See paragraph (5). Note that the 
analysis and result as to the state or states to which receipts are properly assigned would
be the same to the extent that the substance of Program Corp’s licensing transactions 
may be determined to resemble a sale of goods or services, instead of the license of a 
marketing intangible. See paragraph (5).

(c) Example (iii).  Moniker Corp enters into a license contract with Wholesale Co. Pursuant to
the contract, Wholesale Co is granted the right to use trademarks owned by Moniker 
Corp to brand sports equipment that is to be manufactured by Wholesale Co or an 
unrelated entity and to sell the manufactured equipment to unrelated companies that will 
ultimately market the equipment to consumers in a specific geographic region, including a
foreign country. The license agreement confers a license of a marketing intangible, even 
though the trademarks in question will be affixed to property to be manufactured. In 
addition, the license of the marketing intangible is for the right to use the intangible 
property in connection with sales to be made at wholesale rather than directly to retail 
customers. The component of the licensing fee that constitutes the Colorado receipts of 
Moniker Corp is determined by multiplying the amount of the fee by a percentage that 
reflects the ratio of the Colorado population in the specific geographic region relative to 
the total population in that region. See paragraph (2). If Moniker Corp is able to 
reasonably establish that the marketing intangible was materially used throughout a 
foreign country, then the population of that country will be included in the population ratio 
calculation. However, if Moniker Corp is unable to reasonably establish that the 
marketing intangible was materially used in the foreign country in areas outside a 
particular major city; then none of the foreign country’s population beyond the population 
of the major city is included in the population ratio calculation. 

(d) Example (iv).  Formula, Inc and Appliance Co enter into a license contract under which 
Appliance Co is permitted to use a patent owned by Formula, Inc to manufacture 
appliances. The license contract specifies that Appliance Co is to pay Formula, Inc a 
royalty that is a fixed percentage of the gross receipts from the products that are later 
sold. The contract does not specify any other fees. The appliances are both 
manufactured and sold in Colorado and several other states. Assume the licensing fees 
are paid for the license of a production intangible, even though the royalty is to be paid 
based upon the sales of a manufactured product (i.e., the license is not one that includes 
a marketing intangible). Because the Department can reasonably establish that the actual
use of the intangible property takes place, in part, in Colorado, the royalty is assigned 
based to the location of that use rather than to the location of the licensee’s commercial 
domicile in accordance with paragraph (1). It is presumed that the entire use is in 
Colorado except to the extent that the taxpayer can demonstrate that the actual location 
of some or all of the use takes place outside Colorado. Assuming that Formula, Inc can 
demonstrate the percentage of manufacturing that takes place in Colorado using the 
patent relative to the manufacturing in other states, that percentage of the total licensing 
fee paid to Formula, Inc under the contract will constitute Formula, Inc's Colorado 
receipts. See paragraph (5).
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(e) Example (v).  Axle Corp enters into a license agreement with Biker Co in which Biker Co 
is granted the right to produce motor scooters using patented technology owned by Axle 
Corp and also to sell the scooters by marketing the fact that the scooters were 
manufactured using the special technology. The contract is a license of both a marketing 
and production intangible, i.e., a mixed intangible. The scooters are manufactured 
outside Colorado. Assume that Axle Corp lacks actual information regarding the 
proportion of Biker Co’s receipts that are derived from Colorado customers. Also assume 
that Biker Co is granted the right to sell the scooters in a U.S. geographic region in which 
the Colorado population constitutes 25% of the total population during the period in 
question. The licensing contract requires an upfront licensing fee to be paid by Biker Co 
to Axle Corp and does not specify what percentage of the fee derives from Biker Co's 
right to use Axle Corp's patented technology. Because the fees for the license of the 
marketing and production intangible are not separately and reasonably stated in the 
contract, it is presumed that the licensing fees are paid entirely for the license of a 
marketing intangible, unless either the taxpayer or the Department reasonably establish 
otherwise. Assuming that neither party establishes otherwise, 25% of the licensing fee 
constitutes Colorado receipts. See paragraphs (2) and (4).

(f) Example (vi).  Same facts as Example (v), except that the license contract specifies 
separate fees to be paid for the right to produce the motor scooters and for the right to 
sell the scooters by marketing the fact that the scooters were manufactured using the 
special technology. The licensing contract constitutes both the license of a marketing 
intangible and the license of a production intangible. Assuming that the separately stated 
fees are reasonable, the Department will: (1) assign no part of the licensing fee paid for 
the production intangible to Colorado, and (2) assign 25% of the licensing fee paid for the
marketing intangible to Colorado. See paragraph (4).

(g) Example (vii).  Better Burger Corp, which is based outside Colorado, enters into franchise
contracts with franchisees that agree to operate Better Burger restaurants as franchisees 
in various states. Several of the Better Burger Corp franchises are in Colorado. In each 
case, the franchise contract between the individual and Better Burger provides that the 
franchisee is to pay Better Burger Corp an upfront fee for the receipt of the franchise and 
monthly franchise fees, which cover, among other things, the right to use the Better 
Burger name and service marks, food processes and cooking know-how, as well as fees 
for management services. The upfront fees for the receipt of the Colorado franchises 
constitute fees paid for the licensing of a marketing intangible. These fees constitute 
Colorado receipts because the franchises are for the right to make Colorado sales. The 
monthly franchise fees paid by Colorado franchisees constitute fees paid for (1) the 
license of marketing intangibles (the Better Burger name and service marks), (2) the 
license of production intangibles (food processes and know-how) and (3) personal 
services (management fees). The fees paid for the license of the marketing intangibles 
and the production intangibles constitute Colorado receipts because in each case the use
of the intangibles is to take place in Colorado. See paragraphs (2) and (3). The fees paid 
for the personal services are to be assigned pursuant to Regulation 39-22-303.6–10. 

(h) Example (viii).  Online Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, licenses an 
information database through the Internet to individual customers who are resident in 
Colorado and in other states. These customers access Online Corp’s information 
database primarily in their states of residence, and sometimes, while traveling, in other 
states. The license is a license of intangible property that resembles a sale of goods or 
services and are assigned in accordance with paragraph (5).  If Online Corp can 
determine or reasonably approximate the state or states from which its database is 
accessed, it must do so. Assuming that Online Corp cannot determine or reasonably 
approximate the location from which its database is accessed, Online Corp must assign 
the receipts made to the individual customers using the customers’ billing addresses to 
the extent known.  Assume for purposes of this example that Online Corp knows the 
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billing address for each of its customers. In this case, Online Corp’s receipts from sales 
made to its individual customers are in Colorado in any case in which the customer’s 
billing address is in Colorado. See paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(A) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–10.

(i) Example (ix).  Net Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, licenses an information 
database through the Internet to a business customer, Business Corp, a company with 
offices in Colorado and two neighboring states. The license is a license of intangible 
property that resembles a sale of goods or services and are assigned in accordance with 
paragraph (5). Assume that Net Corp cannot determine the location from which its 
database is accessed but reasonably approximates that 75% of Business Corp’s 
database access took place in Colorado, and 25% of Business Corp’s database access 
took place in other states. In that case, 75% of the receipts from database access is in 
Colorado. Assume alternatively that Net Corp lacks sufficient information regarding the 
location from which its database is accessed to reasonably approximate the location. 
Under these circumstances, if Net Corp derives 5% or less of its receipts from database 
access from Business Corp, Net Corp must assign the receipts under paragraph (3)(b)(ii)
(B) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–10  to the state from which Business Corp principally 
managed the contract, or if that state is not reasonably determinable, to the state where 
Business Corp placed the order for the services, or if that state is not reasonably 
determinable, to the state of Business Corp’s billing address. If Net Corp derives more 
than 5% of its receipts from database access from Business Corp, Net Corp is required to
identify the state in which its contract of sale is principally managed by Business Corp 
and must assign the receipts to that state. See paragraph (3)(b)(ii)(B) of Regulation 39-
22-303.6–10

(j) Example (x).  Net Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, licenses an information 
database through the Internet to more than 250 individual and business customers in 
Colorado and in other states. The license is a license of intangible property that 
resembles a sale of goods or services and receipts from that license are assigned in 
accordance with paragraph (5). Assume that Net Corp cannot determine or reasonably 
approximate the location where its information database is accessed. Also assume that 
Net Corp does not derive more than 5% of its receipts from sales of database access 
from any single customer. Net Corp may apply the safe harbor stated in paragraph (3)(b)
(ii)(B)(IV) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–10 and may assign its receipts to a state or states 
using each customer’s billing address. 

(k) Example (xi). Web Corp, a corporation based outside of Colorado, licenses an Internet-
based information database to business customers that then sublicense the database to 
individual end users that are resident in Colorado and in other states. These end users 
access Web Corp’s information database primarily in their states of residence, and 
sometimes, while traveling, in other states. Web Corp’s license of the database to its 
customers includes the right to sublicense the database to end users, but the sublicenses
provide that the rights to access and use the database are limited to the end users’ own 
use and prohibit the individual end users from further sublicensing the database. Web 
Corp receives a fee from each customer based upon the number of sublicenses issued to
end users. The license is a license of intangible property that resembles a sale of goods 
or services and are assigned by applying the rules set forth in paragraph (3)(b)(iii) of 
Regulation 39-22-303.6–10. See paragraph (5). If Web Corp can determine or 
reasonably approximate the state or states from which its database is accessed by end 
users, it must do so. Assuming that Web Corp lacks sufficient information from which it 
can determine or reasonably approximate the location from which its database is 
accessed by end users, Web Corp must approximate the extent to which its database is 
accessed from Colorado using a percentage that represents the ratio of the Colorado 
population in the specific geographic area in which Web Corp’s customer sublicenses the
database access relative to the total population in that area. See paragraph (3)(b)(iii)(C) 
of Regulation 39-22-303.6–10.
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Regulation 39-22-303.6–12. Sale of Intangible Property.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
from the sale of intangible property are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. Consistent with the 
General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are intended to conform the 
state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and regulation except when 
those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 
1(2).

(1) Assignment of Receipts. The assignment of receipts to a state or states in the instance of a 
sale or exchange of intangible property depends upon the nature of the intangible property sold. 
For purposes of this Regulation 39-22-303.6–12, a sale or exchange of intangible property 
includes a license of that property where the transaction is treated for tax purposes as a sale of 
all substantial rights in the property and the receipts from the transaction are not contingent on 
the productivity, use, or disposition of the property. For the rules that apply where the 
consideration for the transfer of rights is contingent on the productivity, use, or disposition of the 
property, see paragraph (1) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–11.

(a) Contract Right or Government License that Authorizes Business Activity in Specific 
Geographic Area. In the case of a sale or exchange of intangible property where the 
property sold or exchanged is a contract right, government license, or similar intangible 
property that authorizes the holder to conduct a business activity in a specific geographic 
area, the receipts from the sale are assigned to a state if and to the extent that the 
intangible property is used or is authorized to be used within the state. If the intangible 
property is used or may be used only in Colorado, the taxpayer shall assign the receipts 
from the sale to Colorado. If the intangible property is used or is authorized to be used in 
Colorado and one or more other states, the taxpayer shall assign the receipts from the 
sale to Colorado to the extent that the intangible property is used in or authorized for use 
in Colorado through reasonable approximation.

(b) Sale that Resembles a License (Receipts are Contingent on Productivity, Use, or 
Disposition of the Intangible Property). In the case of a sale or exchange of intangible 
property where the receipts from the sale or exchange are contingent on the productivity, 
use, or disposition of the property, the receipts from the sale are assigned by applying the
rules set forth in Regulation 39-22-303.6–11 (pertaining to the license or lease of 
intangible property). 

(c) Sale that Resembles a Sale of Goods and Services. In the case of a sale or exchange of 
intangible property where the substance of the transaction resembles a sale of goods or 
services, and where the receipts from the sale or exchange do not derive from payments 
contingent on the productivity, use, or disposition of the property, the receipts from the 
sale are assigned by applying the rules set forth in paragraph (5) of Regulation 39-22-
303.6–11 (relating to licenses of intangible property that resemble sales of goods and 
services). Examples of these transactions include those that are analogous to the license
transactions cited as examples in paragraph (5) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–11.

(d) Excluded Receipts. Receipts from the sale of intangible property are not included in the 
receipts factor in any case in which the sale does not give rise to receipts within the 
meaning of § 39-22-303.6(1)(d), C.R.S. In addition, in any case in which the sale of 
intangible property does result in receipts within the meaning of § 39-22-303.6(1)(d), 
C.R.S., those receipts are excluded from the numerator and the denominator of the 
taxpayer’s receipts factor if the receipts are not referenced in §§ 39-22-303.6(6)(d)(I), 39-
22-303.6(6)(d)(II)(A), or 39-22-303.6(6)(d)(II)(B), C.R.S. See §§ 39-22-303.6(6)(d)(III), 
C.R.S. The sale of intangible property that is excluded from the numerator and 
denominator of the taxpayer’s receipts factor under this provision includes, without 
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limitation, the sale of a partnership interest, the sale of business “goodwill,” the sale of an 
agreement not to compete, or similar intangible value. 

(2) Examples. 

(a) Example (i).  Airline Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, sells its rights to use 
several gates at an airport located in Colorado to Buyer Corp, a corporation based 
outside Colorado. The contract of sale is negotiated and signed outside of Colorado. The 
receipts from the sale are in Colorado because the intangible property sold is a contract 
right that authorizes the holder to conduct a business activity solely in Colorado. See 
paragraph (1).

(b) Example (ii). Wireless Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, sells a license issued 
by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to operate wireless 
telecommunications services in a designated area in Colorado to Buyer Corp, a 
corporation based outside Colorado. The contract of sale is negotiated and signed 
outside of Colorado. The receipts from the sale are in Colorado because the intangible 
property sold is a government license that authorizes the holder to conduct business 
activity solely in Colorado. See paragraph (1)(a).

(c) Example (iii).  Same facts as Example (ii) except that Wireless Corp sells to Buyer Corp 
an FCC license to operate wireless telecommunications services in a designated area in 
Colorado and an adjacent state. Wireless Corp must attempt to reasonably approximate 
the extent to which the intangible property is used in or may be used in Colorado. For 
purposes of making this reasonable approximation, Wireless Corp may rely upon credible
data that identifies the percentage of persons that use wireless telecommunications in the
two states covered by the license. See paragraph (1)(a).

(d) Example (iv).  Sports League Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, sells the rights
to broadcast the sporting events played by the teams in its league in all 50 U.S. states to 
Network Corp. Although the games played by Sports League Corp will be broadcast in all
50 states, the games are of greater interest in the western region of the country, including
Colorado. Because the intangible property sold is a contract right that authorizes the 
holder to conduct a business activity in a specified geographic area, Sports League Corp 
must attempt to reasonably approximate the extent to which the intangible property is 
used in or may be used in Colorado. For purposes of making this reasonable 
approximation, Sports League Corp may rely upon audience measurement information 
that identifies the percentage of the audience for its sporting events in Colorado and the 
other states. See paragraph (1)(a).

(e) Example (v).  Inventor Corp, a corporation based outside Colorado, sells patented 
technology that it has developed to Buyer Corp, a business customer that is based in 
Colorado. Assume that the sale is not one in which the receipts derive from payments 
that are contingent on the productivity, use, or disposition of the property. See paragraph 
(1)(a). Inventor Corp understands that Buyer Corp is likely to use the patented technology
in Colorado, but the patented technology can be used anywhere (i.e., the rights sold are 
not rights that authorize the holder to conduct a business activity in a specific geographic 
area). The receipts from the sale of the patented technology are excluded from the 
numerator and denominator of Inventor Corp’s receipts factor. See § 39-22-303.6(6)(III), 
C.R.S., and paragraph (1)(d).

Regulation 39-22-303.6–13. Special Rules.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance for determining which gross receipts 
from sales of certain property are included in a taxpayer’s receipts factor. Consistent with the General 
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Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., these regulations are intended to conform the state’s 
income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s model statute and regulation except when those 
model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2). 

(1) Software Transactions. A license or sale of pre-written software for purposes other than 
commercial reproduction (or other exploitation of the intellectual property rights) transferred on a 
tangible medium is treated as the sale of tangible personal property, rather than as either the 
license or sale of intangible property or the performance of a service. In these cases, the receipts 
are in Colorado as determined under the rules for the sale of tangible personal property set forth 
under § 39-22-303.6(5), C.R.S., and Regulation 39-22-303.6–6. In all other cases, the receipts 
from a license or sale of software are to be assigned to Colorado as determined otherwise under 
Regulations 39-22-303.6–7 through –13 (e.g., depending on the facts, as the development and 
sale of custom software, see paragraph (3) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–10; as a license of a 
marketing intangible, see paragraph (2) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–11; as a license of a 
production intangible, see paragraph (3) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–11; as a license of intangible 
property where the substance of the transaction resembles a sale of goods or services, see 
paragraph (5) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–11; or as a sale of intangible property, see Regulation 
39-22-303.6–12).

(2) Sales or Licenses of Digital Goods or Services. 

(a) In General. In the case of a sale or license of digital goods or services, including, among 
other things, the sale of various video, audio and software products or similar 
transactions, the receipts from the sale or license are assigned by applying the same 
rules as set forth in paragraph (3)(b)(ii) or (iii) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–10 as if the 
transaction were a service delivered to an individual or business customer or delivered 
through or on behalf of an individual or business customer. For purposes of the analysis, 
it is not relevant what the terms of the contractual relationship are or whether the sale or 
license might be characterized, depending upon the particular facts, as, for example, the 
sale or license of intangible property or the performance of a service. See paragraph (5) 
of Regulation 39-22-303.6–11 or paragraph (1)(c) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–12. 

(b) Telecommunications Companies.  In the case of a taxpayer that provides 
telecommunications or ancillary services, and that is thereby subject to 1 CCR 201-2, 
Special Regulation 8A, receipts from the sale or license of digital goods or services not 
otherwise assigned for apportionment purposes pursuant to that regulation are assigned 
pursuant to this paragraph (2)(b) by applying the rules set forth in paragraphs (3)(b)(ii) or 
(iii) of Regulation 39-22-303.6–10 as if the transaction were a service delivered to an 
individual or business customer or delivered through or on behalf of an individual or 
business customer.  However, in applying these rules, if the taxpayer cannot determine 
the state or states where a customer receives the purchased product, it may reasonably 
approximate this location using the customer’s “place of primary use” of the purchased 
product, applying the definition of “place of primary use” set forth in 1 CCR 201-2, Special
Regulation 8A. 

Regulation 39-22-303.6–14. Nonapportionable Income.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, 39-22-303.6, 
C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance in the allocation of nonapportionable income.

In the allocation of nonapportionable income, tangible personal property has a situs in Colorado at the 
time of the sale if it is physically located in Colorado immediately prior to the sale of the property. The 
movement of property in anticipation of sale or as part of the sale transaction is not considered in 
determining its situs immediately prior to the time of sale.
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Regulation 39-22-303.6–15. Election to Treat All Income as Apportionable Income.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, 39-22-303.6, 
C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to clarify how a taxpayer makes an election to treat all income as 
apportionable income. 

(1) Every year, taxpayers may elect to treat all income as apportionable income.

(a) The election to treat all income as apportionable income must be made on or before the 
extended due date of the return (the fifteenth day of the tenth month following the close of
the tax year) by marking the appropriate box on the original return.

(b) Once the original return has been filed for the year, the election may not be changed 
even if the extended due date for the year has not passed.

(c) Filing a return without making the election as provided in paragraph (1)(a) constitutes the 
non-exercise of the election for that tax year, even if the return is calculated with all 
income as apportionable income.

(d) The failure to file a return prior to the extended due date of the return constitutes the non-
exercise of the election for that tax year.

(2) If the election described in this regulation is made for the income tax year, all income of the 
taxpayer is apportionable income and is included in the denominator and, if appropriate, the 
numerator of the taxpayer’s receipts factor if not excluded pursuant to §§ 39-22-303.6(6)(d)(III) or 
(6)(f), C.R.S.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–16. Alternative Apportionment.

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance regarding the use of alternative 
apportionment methods. Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., 
these regulations are intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax Commission’s 
model statute and regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with Colorado 
statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

(1) General Rule. Section 39-22-303.6(9), C.R.S., provides that if the allocation and apportionment 
provisions of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer's business 
activity in Colorado, the taxpayer may petition for, or the Department may require, with respect to 
all or any part of the taxpayer's business activities, if reasonable:

(a) separate accounting;

(b) the inclusion of one or more additional factors that will fairly represent the taxpayer's 
business activity in Colorado;

(c) the inclusion of any receipts of a taxpayer otherwise excluded under § 39-22-303.6(1)(d), 
C.R.S., including those from hedging transactions or from the maturity, redemption, sale, 
exchange, loan, or other disposition of cash or securities; or

(d) the employment of any other method, notwithstanding any other provision of § 39-22-
303.6(9), C.R.S., to effectuate an equitable apportionment or allocation of the taxpayer's 
income, fairly calculated to determine the net income derived from or attributable to 
sources in Colorado.
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(2) Section 39-22-303.6(9)(b), C.R.S., permits a departure from the allocation and apportionment 
provisions of § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., only in limited and specific cases where the apportionment 
and allocation provisions contained in § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., produce incongruous results.

(3) In the case of certain industries, transactions, or activities, Regulations 39-22-303.6–1 through    
–13, with respect to the apportionment formula, may not set forth appropriate procedures for 
determining the apportionment factor. Nothing in § 39-22-303.6(9)(b), C.R.S., or in this 
Regulation 39-22-303.6–16 shall preclude the Department from establishing appropriate 
procedures under §§ 39-22-303.6(4) through (6), C.R.S., for determining the apportionment factor
for each such industry, but such procedures shall be applied uniformly. 

(4) In the case of certain taxpayers, the general rules under §§ 39-22-303 and 39-22-303.6, C.R.S., 
and the regulations thereunder may not set forth appropriate procedures for determining gross 
income or the apportionment factor. Nothing in § 39-22-303.6(9)(b), C.R.S., or in this regulation,  
shall preclude the Department from distributing or allocating gross income and deductions under 
§ 39-22-303(6), C.R.S.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–17. Apportioning Gross Receipts of Taxpayers with De Minimis or No 
Receipts. 

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, and 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to clarify how taxpayers with de minimis or no receipts 
shall determine their receipts factor. Consistent with the General Assembly’s adoption of § 39-22-303.6, 
C.R.S., these regulations are intended to conform the state’s income tax laws to the Multistate Tax 
Commission’s model statute and regulation except when those model provisions are inconsistent with 
Colorado statute. See 2018 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 369, § 1(2).

(1) General Rule. This Regulation 39-22-303.6–17 applies to the determination of the receipts factor 
if the taxpayer’s receipts are less than 3.33 percent of the taxpayer’s gross receipts. A taxpayer’s 
receipts subject to assignment under § 39-22-303.6 paragraph (5) and (6), C.R.S., are assigned 
under those sections and are not assigned by this Regulation 39-22-303.6–17.   

(2) Definitions. 

(a) “Gross receipts from lending activities” means interest income and other gross receipts 
arising from the activities described in paragraphs (1)(c)(iv) through (1)(c)(x) of 1 CCR 
201-2, Special Regulation 7A, Financial Institutions.

(b) An entity’s apportionment factor is “de minimis” if the denominator is less than 3.33 
percent of the entity’s apportionable gross receipts or if the factor is insignificant in 
producing income. 

(3) The following gross receipts are included in the receipts factor denominator and are assigned to 
the receipts factor numerator in Colorado as follows: 

(a) Dividends paid by a related party are assigned to the receipts factor numerator in 
Colorado as follows: 

(i) If paid from earnings that can be reasonably attributed to a particular year, the 
dividends are assigned to the receipts factor numerator in Colorado in a 
proportion equal to the dividend payor’s apportionment factor in Colorado for that
year as determined pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S.

(ii) If the dividends were paid from earnings that cannot reasonably be attributed to a
particular year, the dividends are assigned to the receipts factor numerator in 
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Colorado in a proportion equal to the dividend payor’s average apportionment 
factor in Colorado for the current and preceding year as determined pursuant to §
39-22-303.6, C.R.S. 

(iii) Example. Taxpayer Bigbox Holding, Inc. (Holding) is a domestic corporation, 
domiciled in Delaware, with numerous foreign and domestic subsidiaries. Holding
has no “receipts.” Holding is the corporate parent of Bigbox Retailing, Inc. 
(Retailing), a domestic corporation with its commercial domicile in State X. 
During the tax year, Holding receives $100 million in dividends from Retailing. In 
both the current tax year and the prior tax year, Retailing conducted operations in
ten states, including Colorado. Retailing’s apportionment factor in Colorado in the
current year is 20%, and the factor was 18% in the prior year. The dividends 
received from Retailing cannot be reasonably attributed to that entity’s earnings 
in any specific year. Therefore, pursuant to paragraph (3)(a)(ii), Holding’s 
receipts factor in Colorado is calculated by including the $100 million of 
apportionable dividends received from Retailing in the denominator, and $19 
million in the receipts factor numerator in Colorado, based on the average of 
Retailing’s apportionment factors in Colorado in the current year (20%) and prior 
year (18%). 

(b) Gains are assigned to the receipts factor numerator in Colorado as follows:

(i) Gains (net of related losses, but not less than zero) from the disposition of stock 
(or other intangible property rights) representing at least a 20% ownership 
interest in an entity are assigned to the receipts factor numerator in Colorado in a
proportion equal to what the entity’s separate apportionment factor was in 
Colorado for the tax year preceding the disposition as determined pursuant to 
§ 39-22-303.6, C.R.S. 

(ii) Gains (net of related losses, but not less than zero) from the disposition of assets
of an entity or segment of a business are assigned to the receipts factor 
numerator in Colorado in a proportion equal to what the entity’s separate 
apportionment factor was in Colorado in the tax year preceding the disposition as
determined pursuant to § 39-22-303.6, C.R.S.

(iii) In applying paragraphs (3)(b)(i) or (ii), in any case in which the  entity did not 
exist in the prior year, or had an apportionment factor of zero, or had only a de 
minimis apportionment factor, the gross receipts from the gain are attributed to 
the receipts factor numerator of Colorado under paragraphs (4) or (5) of this 
Regulation 39-22-303.6–17, as appropriate. 

(iv) In applying this paragraph (b), in the case of an entity that was not subject to 
entity-level taxation, the apportionment percentage shall be computed as if the 
entity were a C corporation. 

(v) Examples. 

(A) Example (i). Taxpayer, Nuclear Corp. (Nuclear) is a holding company 
with no “receipts” from transactions and activities in the ordinary course 
of business. In the prior tax year, Nuclear formed Target Corp. (Target) 
and transferred its stock ownership interest in three power plants, located
in three states, one of which is in Colorado, to Target in exchange for the
stock of Target. In the current tax year, Nuclear sells the stock of Target 
to Risky Investments for $500 million in cash, recognizing a gain of $100 
million. In the tax year preceding the sale, Target’s apportionment factor 
in Colorado was 30%. Based on Target’s prior year apportionment factor,
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Nuclear would include $100 million in the denominator of its receipts 
factor and would assign $30 million to the receipts factor numerator in 
Colorado.  

(B) Example (ii). Same facts as example (i) except during the current tax 
year Nuclear formed Target and then sold the Target stock on the same 
day. Because Target did not exist in the year preceding the disposition, 
Nuclear would have to use paragraph (4) or (5), as appropriate, to assign
a portion of the $100 million gain to its receipts factor numerator in 
Colorado.

 (c) Gross receipts from lending activities are included in the receipts factor denominator and 
assigned to the receipts factor numerator in Colorado to the extent those gross receipts 
would have been assigned to Colorado under 1 CCR 201-2, Special Regulation 7A, 
Financial Institutions (including the rule of assignment to commercial domicile under (1)
(c)(xv) of that regulation) as if the taxpayer were a financial institution subject to Special 
Regulation 7A, except that:

(i)  in the case of gross receipts derived from loans to a related party, which are not 
secured by real property, including interest, fees, and penalties, the gross 
receipts are included in Colorado’s numerator in a proportion equal to the related 
party’s apportionment factor in Colorado as determined by § 39-22-303.6, 
C.R.S., in the year the gross receipts were included in apportionable income; and

(ii) gross receipts derived from accounts receivable previously sold to or otherwise 
transferred to the taxpayer are assigned under paragraph (3)(d). 

(iii) Examples. 

(A) Example (i). Taxpayer Bigbox Holding, Inc. (Holding) is a domestic 
corporation domiciled in Delaware, with numerous foreign and domestic 
subsidiaries. Holding has no “receipts.” Holding is the corporate parent of
Bigbox Retailing, Inc. (Retailing), a domestic corporation with its 
commercial domicile in state X.  During the current tax year, Holding 
receives $100 million in dividends from Retailing.  In both the current tax 
year and the prior tax year, Retailing conducted operations in ten states, 
including Colorado. Retailing’s apportionment factor in Colorado in the 
current year is 20%, and its factor was 18% in the prior year. In a prior 
year, Holding lent its excess capital to Retailing as an unsecured loan. In 
repayment of that loan, Holding received $40 million of interest income 
from Retailing in the current tax year, in addition to the $100 million of 
dividend income that Holding received from Retailing. Pursuant to 
paragraph (3)(c) of this Regulation 39-22-303.6–17, Holding’s interest 
income would be included in its receipts factor denominator, and 20% of 
Holding’s interest income ($8 million) would be included in its receipts 
factor numerator in Colorado because 20% of Retailing’s apportionment 
factors were in Colorado in the year the interest income was included in 
taxable income.  Assuming Holding had no other gross receipts, 
Holding’s receipt factor numerator in Colorado is 19.28% ($27 million /
$140 million). 

(B) Example (ii). Taxpayer Loan Participation Inc. (LPI) was formed to 
acquire and hold a participation in loans secured by real property 
originated by an unrelated financial institution. LPI has no employees or 
property and no other gross receipts except for payments of interest on 
the participation loan held. Even though LPI would not be considered a 
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financial institution under 1 CCR 201-2, Special Regulation 7A, LPI’s 
gross receipts are included in the denominator and assigned to the 
receipts factor numerator in Colorado under paragraph (1)(c)(iv) of 1 
CCR 201-2, Special Regulation 7A in proportion to the value of loans 
secured by real property in Colorado compared to the value of loans 
secured by real property everywhere. 

(d) Gross receipts derived from accounts receivable previously sold to or otherwise 
transferred to the taxpayer are included in the denominator and assigned to the receipts 
factor numerator in Colorado to the extent those accounts receivable are attributed to 
borrowers located in Colorado.

(i) Examples.

(A) Example (i). Taxpayer IH Factoring, Inc. (Factoring) is a Delaware 
corporation that has twenty employees, all of whom are located in 
Delaware. Factoring purchases installment agreements (accounts 
receivable) from its parent corporation, Iron Horse Motorcycles, Inc. (Iron
Horse). Factoring has access to information showing the addresses of 
the installment agreement customers. Factoring purchases installment 
agreements originating from Iron Horse’s borrowers in States A and 
Colorado. Factoring is taxable in State A and Colorado. Factoring re-sells
the agreements as securitized instruments to institutional investors. 
Factoring’s gross receipts from selling the securitized instruments 
originating from Iron Horse’s borrowers in State A and Colorado would 
be included in the receipts factor denominator, and Factoring’s gross 
receipts from selling securitized instruments originating from Iron Horse’s
borrowers in Colorado would be assigned to the receipts factor 
numerator in Colorado.

(B) Example (ii). Same facts as example (i), but IH Factoring retains its 
ownership in the installment agreements and receives principal, interest, 
and related fees from Iron Horse’s customers (borrowers). The principal, 
interest, and related fees received by Factoring from borrowers in State 
A and Colorado would be included in Factoring’s receipts factor 
denominator, and Factoring’s receipts received from Iron Horse’s 
customers (borrowers) in Colorado would be assigned to the receipts 
factor numerator in Colorado. 

(e) The net amount (but not less than zero) of gross receipts not otherwise assigned under 
this paragraph (3)  arising from investment activities, including the holding, maturity, 
redemption, sale, exchange, or other disposition of marketable securities or cash, are 
assigned to the receipts factor numerator in Colorado if the gross receipts would be 
assigned to Colorado under paragraphs (1)(c)(xiii) or (1)(c)(xv) of 1 CCR 201-2, Special 
Regulation 7A; all other gross receipts from investment activities not otherwise assigned 
under this paragraph (3) are assigned to the receipts factor numerator in Colorado if the 
investments are managed in Colorado. 

(4) Except for gross receipts included and assigned under paragraph (3), gross receipts of a 
taxpayer whose income and receipts factor are included in a combined report in Colorado are 
included in the receipts factor denominator and are assigned to the receipts factor numerator in 
Colorado in the same proportion as the ratio of: (A) the total of the receipts factor numerators of 
all members of the combined group in Colorado, whether taxable or nontaxable, as determined 
pursuant to § 39-22-303(11), C.R.S., to (B) the denominator of the combined group.
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(a) Example. Taxpayer Windfall, Inc. (Windfall) is a wholly owned subsidiary of ABC 
Manufacturing Company (ABC). Windfall’s only gross receipt during the year is $1 billion 
received in settlement of ABC’s patent infringement suit against a business competitor 
that has been ongoing for several years. Windfall is included on a combined report filed 
by ABC on behalf of ABC, Windfall, and other direct and indirect controlled subsidiaries of
ABC (collectively, the Combined Subsidiaries). The ratio of the total numerators of ABC 
and Combined Subsidiaries in Colorado, as reported on the combined report, to the 
denominator of the combined group is 25 percent. Windfall would include $1 billion in its 
receipts factor denominator and would include $250 million in the receipts factor 
numerator in Colorado.

(5) Except for those gross receipts included and assigned under paragraphs (3) or (4), gross receipts
of a taxpayer that files as part of a federal consolidated return are included in the receipts factor 
denominator and are assigned to the receipts factor numerator in Colorado in a proportion equal 
to a percentage (but not greater than 100%), the numerator of which is the total of the 
consolidated group members’ income allocated or apportioned to Colorado pursuant to § 39-22-
303.6, C.R.S., and the denominator of which is the total federal consolidated taxable income. 

(a) Example.  Taxpayer Windfall, Inc. (Windfall) is a wholly owned subsidiary of ABC 
Manufacturing Corp. (ABC). Windfall’s only gross receipt is $1 billion received in 
settlement of ABC’s patent infringement suit against a business competitor that has been 
ongoing for several years. Windfall is not included on a combined report filed in Colorado,
but is included on a consolidated federal return filed by ABC on behalf of Windfall and 
other affiliated corporations that are included in such consolidated return. The total 
federal taxable income of that consolidated group is $5 billion, and the total amount of 
that income that is apportioned to Colorado by members of the consolidated group other 
than Windfall is $500 million. Because the percentage of the consolidated group’s income
that would be apportioned to Colorado is 10%, Windfall would include $1 billion in its 
receipts factor denominator and would assign 10% of that amount ($100 million) to the 
receipts factor numerator in Colorado.

(6) Nothing in this Regulation 39-22-303.6–17 shall prohibit a taxpayer from petitioning for, or the 
Department from applying, an alternative method to calculate the taxpayer’s receipts factor in 
order to fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer’s business activity in Colorado as provided for 
in § 39-22-303.6(9)(b), C.R.S., including the application of this rule in situations that do not meet 
the threshold of paragraph (1) of this Regulation 39-22-303.6–17. Such alternative method may 
be appropriate, for example, in situations otherwise addressed under paragraph (3)(a) where 
dividends were paid from earnings that were generated by the activities of a related party of the 
dividend payor, in which case the dividends may be more appropriately assigned to the receipts 
factor numerator in Colorado using the related party’s average apportionment factors in Colorado.

Regulation 39-22-303.6–18. Income from Foreclosures. 

Basis and Purpose. The bases of this regulation are §§ 39-21-112, 39-22-301, 39-22-303, 39-22-303.6, 
C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to clarify that a taxpayer who qualifies under § 39-22-303.6(10), 
C.R.S., may not make an election pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(8), C.R.S.

A taxpayer who qualifies under the provisions of § 39-22-303.6(10), C.R.S., must file using the rules of 
that provision (direct allocation). A taxpayer may not make an election pursuant to § 39-22-303.6(8), 
C.R.S., to treat such income as apportionable income.
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Regulation 39-22-522. Conservation Easement Credit.

Basis and Purpose. The bases for this regulation are §§ 39-21-112(1), 39-21-113, 39-22-522, and 39-
22-522.5, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to clarify the requirements and procedures to claim the 
conservation easement credit.

(1) Qualified Taxpayers.

(a) Taxpayers qualified to claim the gross conservation easement credit (including 
transferees of these credits) are:

(i) Colorado residents,

(ii) C corporations,

(iii) Trusts,

(iv) Estates,

(v) Partners, shareholders or members of a pass-through entity donor who receive 
the credit from such entity, regardless of whether such individuals are Colorado 
residents.

(b) Joint tenancies, tenancies in common, pass-through entities such as partnerships or S 
corporations, or other similar entities or groups that donate a conservation easement 
must allocate the credit to such entities’ owners, partners, shareholders or members in 
proportion to their distributive shares of income or ownership percentage.

(c) A limited liability company with only one member will generally be disregarded for federal 
tax purposes (26 C.F.R. § 301.7701-3) as well as state income tax purposes. Therefore, 
the sole member does not qualify as a “member of a pass-through entity” and does not 
qualify for the credit unless the member is a Colorado resident.

(d) Individuals who are not residents of Colorado cannot claim the credit for a donation they 
make, or receive a credit transfer. Part-year residents may claim the credit, but only if 
they make the donation while they are a Colorado resident. Only a credit allocated to 
nonresident partners, shareholders or members of a pass-through entity may be claimed 
by nonresidents. Nonresident owners included in a joint tenancy, tenancy in common, 
and similar ownership arrangements cannot claim the credit.

(e) A nonprofit corporation, regardless of whether it has unrelated business taxable income, 
may claim a gross conservation easement credit for a conservation easement donation it 
makes to a qualified organization; except that a nonprofit corporation that has a state 
governmental entity as a shareholder cannot claim such a credit.
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(2) Donor Limitations.

(a) A taxpayer may claim only one credit per tax year as a donor, including as a partner, 
shareholder, or member of a pass-through entity donor. A taxpayer cannot claim multiple 
credits in one year from multiple donations even if the donations are made by different 
pass-through entities. [See § 39-22-522(6), C.R.S.]

(b) For donations made prior to January 1, 2014, a taxpayer cannot claim a credit from a 
new donation if:

(i) In the year of the donation, the taxpayer has a carryforward credit from a prior tax
year, or

(ii) In the year of the donation, another taxpayer has a carryforward credit from the 
taxpayer’s prior donation.

(c) Amount per Donation.

(i) For donations made on or after January 1, 2000 but prior to January 1, 2003, the 
credit cannot exceed $100,000 (100% of the first $100,000).

(ii) For donations made on or after January 1, 2003 but prior to January 1, 2007, the 
credit cannot exceed $260,000 (100% of the first $100,000 plus 40% of the next 
$400,000).

(iii) For donations made on or after January 1, 2007 but prior to January 1, 2015, the 
credit cannot exceed $375,000 (50% of the first $750,000).

(iv) For donations made on or after January 1, 2015, including donations made by 
pass-through entities, the credit cannot exceed $1,500,000 (75% of the first 
$100,000 plus 50% of the next $2,850,000).

(v) The limits in this paragraph (c) apply in aggregate to a married couple, 
regardless of whether they file jointly or separately, all partners, shareholders or 
members of a pass-through entity, and all tenants in common, joint tenants, and 
similar ownership arrangements that make a donation.

(d) Tax Credit Certificate. Donors of conservation easements made on or after January 1, 
2011 must obtain a Tax Credit Certificate from the Department of Regulatory Agencies. 
The credit may not be claimed or used on a Colorado income tax return for a tax year 
commencing prior to the year designated in the certificate. The credit may be waitlisted to
a later tax year if the cap for the donation year has been exceeded.

(i) For donations made prior to January 1, 2014, the taxpayer must establish with 
the Department of Revenue that their credit claim complies with all requirements 
of § 39-22-522, C.R.S., including the federal statutory and regulatory 
requirements incorporated therein, and with this regulation. The determination of 
whether a claimed conservation easement tax credit complies with the statutory 
and regulatory requirements rests with the Department of Revenue and not with 
the Department of Regulatory Agencies. 

(ii) Any limitation to the number of credits that may be claimed by the taxpayer in the
designated year will include a waitlisted credit. If the taxpayer makes another 
easement donation in the designated year, a credit will not be allowed for that 
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donation even if the Department of Regulatory Agencies would have waitlisted 
the second credit to a later year.

(iii) The charitable deduction addback for any waitlisted credit must still be reported 
beginning in the year of the donation.

(iv) The twenty year carryforward period will be based on the year of the certificate, 
not the year of the donation.

(v) Fiscal year filers cannot claim a credit for a donation that occurs in 2011 prior to 
the end of their fiscal year that begins in 2010 because the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies must certify all credits generated by donations made on or 
after January 1, 2011.

(vi) The amount of the credit allowed on the Tax Credit Certificate may be further 
reduced if other limitations apply including, but not limited to, a reduction in the 
appraised or donated value of the easement made prior to January 1, 2014, a 
reduction to the taxpayer’s basis in the conservation easement, or a 
determination that a prior year credit is not fully utilized by the taxpayer.

(vii) Due to the annual cap, a single credit generated by one easement donation may 
be split between two tax years with a Tax Credit Certificate being issued for each
year. In this situation, the taxpayer may claim the second part of the credit in the 
second designated tax year in addition to using any unused carryforward from 
the first part of the credit. Despite the limitation on when parts of the credit may 
be claimed and utilized, only one credit is generated by the donation. The twenty 
year carryforward period for each part of the credit will be based on the 
designated tax year for that part of the credit. The limitation referenced in 
paragraph (2)(d)(ii) of this regulation still prohibits the taxpayer from claiming 
another credit from a separate donation.

(e) If the donated property is held by the taxpayer making the donation for less than one year
prior to the date of donation, the value of the conservation easement will be reduced by 
the gain the taxpayer would have realized had the easement been sold on the date of 
donation for the fair market value of the easement as established in the qualified 
appraisal.

(3) Transfer of Credit.

(a) A taxpayer may transfer all or part of a credit to a transferee who is a qualified taxpayer 
as described in paragraph (1) of this regulation. The portion of the credit being 
transferred must not be utilized by the transferor to offset tax or to claim a refund on any 
income tax return.

(i) A pass-through entity may not be the transferee of a credit. The partners, 
shareholders, or members must independently qualify as transferees.

(ii) A pass-through entity may directly transfer a credit if:

(A) Each partner, shareholder or member consents to the transfer, and

(B) Each partner, shareholder or member could, under the restrictions of the 
law and this regulation, have claimed and transferred their pro rata share
of the credit directly.
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(iii) Upon the death of a taxpayer, a gross conservation easement credit passes to 
the decedent’s estate. If the decedent is the donor of the easement, the estate 
may use the credit to offset income tax owed by the estate or may transfer some 
or all of the credit according to the transfer rules. If the decedent is a transferee 
of the credit, the estate may use the credit to offset income tax owed by the 
estate but cannot transfer the credit.

(b) A credit may be transferred only once. A transferee cannot thereafter transfer the credit 
to another taxpayer. Thus, a transferee cannot transfer the credit back to the donor of the
easement for the donor to utilize or transfer again to another taxpayer.

(c) If a taxpayer transfers a credit to one or more taxpayers, and any part of that credit is 
later disallowed by the Department of Revenue, the transferee will be held liable for the 
disallowed credits to the extent utilized plus any applicable penalty and interest.

(d) Number of Credits.

(i) During tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2000, but prior to January 1, 
2003, a transferee may receive and use one credit each tax year.

(ii) During tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, a transferee may receive
an unlimited number of credits. 

(e) Transfer Amount.

(i) For donations made during tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2003, a 
minimum of $20,000 in credit may be transferred to any one taxpayer. Credits 
transferred after January 1, 2003 that arise from donations made prior to that 
date are subject to the $20,000 limit.

(ii) For donations made during tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, the 
donor may transfer any portion of the credit.

(f) Transfer Date.

(i) From June 7, 2005 through May 28, 2018, a transfer must be completed by the 
due date, not including any extensions, of the transferee’s income tax return on 
which they use the credit.

(ii) Beginning on or after May 29, 2018, a transfer must be completed by the 
extension date of the transferee’s income tax return on which they use the credit.

(g) Limit Due to Prior Donations.

(i) A taxpayer cannot receive a credit transfer during a tax year beginning on or after
January 1, 2000, but prior to January 1, 2014, if, in the same year:

(A) The taxpayer claimed a new or carryforward credit as a donor of a 
conservation easement for the tax year, including as a member of a 
pass-through entity, regardless of whether the credit is utilized on that 
taxpayer’s return or transferred to another taxpayer, or

(B) Another taxpayer has a carryforward credit from a prior donation the 
taxpayer made.
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(ii) A taxpayer cannot receive a credit transfer during a tax year beginning on or after
January 1, 2014 if the taxpayer claimed a new credit as a donor of conservation 
easement for the tax year, including as a member of a pass-through entity, 
regardless of whether the credit is utilized on that taxpayer’s return or transferred
to another taxpayer.

(h) Tax Matters Representative. The tax matters representative (TMR) is the person who 
donates the conservation easement and/or transfers the credit. A pass-through entity that
donates the easement and passes the credit to, or sells the credit on behalf of, its 
partners, shareholders or members, is the TMR, unless the entity’s status as the TMR is 
otherwise revoked or changed in accordance with paragraphs (3)(h)(iv), (v), and (vi).

(i) Representation. The value and validity of a gross conservation easement credit 
held by a transferee is derived from, and dependent on, the credit generated 
and/or transferred by the TMR. Therefore, an adjustment of a credit, to the extent
such adjustment is based on the transfer of a gross conservation easement 
credit (“Transfer Item Adjustment”), made by the Department of Revenue against
the TMR shall also be binding on the credit held by a transferee. Final resolution 
of disputes between the Department of Revenue and the TMR determines the 
Transfer Item Adjustments and such resolution is binding on transferees of the 
credit.

(ii) The TMR represents a transferee for Transfer Item Adjustments in matters 
including, but are not limited to:

(A) A donor’s failure to file all required documents;

(B) A donor’s improper claim of more than one credit per tax year;

(C) A donor’s improper transfer of credit above the allowable or available 
amounts; and

(D) Any other such matters regarding the donation or credit that affect the 
value or validity of the credit, except those requirements for which the 
authority is granted to the Department of Regulatory Agencies or the 
Conservation Easement Oversight Commission for donations made on or
after January 1, 2014 pursuant to § 12-61-727, C.R.S.

(iii) The TMR does not represent a transferee in matters that are an inappropriate 
use of the credit by a donor or transferee, including, but not limited to:

(A) An out-of-state resident attempting to use a credit in violation of § 39-22-
522(1), C.R.S.;

(B) A transferee using a transferred credit and generating his or her own 
credit as a donor in the same year in violation of § 39-22-522(6), C.R.S.; 
or,

(C) A transferee claiming a refund of a credit in violation of §§ 39-22-522(5) 
& (7)(c), C.R.S.

(iv) Effective Date. The rights and responsibilities of the TMR and transferee, 
including the right to a hearing, appeal, notification, and limitations of action set 
forth in §§ 39-22-522(7)(i) and (j), C.R.S., apply to Transfer Item Adjustments 
initiated by the Department of Revenue on or after June 7, 2005.
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(v) Changing the TMR Designation. Any person who has claimed a credit or who 
may be eligible to claim a credit in relation to a TMR’s conservation easement 
donation may petition the Department of Revenue to change the TMR’s 
designation if the TMR:

(A) Is incarcerated;

(B) Is residing outside the United States, its possessions, or territories;

(C) Is deceased or, if the representative is an entity, is liquidated or 
dissolved;

(D) Is under eighteen years of age at the time the Transfer Item Adjustment 
is initiated by the Department of Revenue, or a court determines the 
person to be legally incompetent;

(E) Does not request a hearing for the Transfer Item Adjustment pursuant to 
§§ 39-21-103 or 104, C.R.S., provided that the petition to change the 
TMR’s designation is filed within 10 business days after the final date for 
requesting a hearing;

(F) Does not appear at hearing or fails to adequately participate in such 
hearing, including by failing to file a required pleading or to appear at a 
scheduled conference; or

(G) Does not file an appeal of a final determination pursuant to §§ 39-21-105 
and 39-22-522.5(6), C.R.S., provided that the petition to change the 
TMR’s designation is filed within 10 business days after the final date for 
filing an appeal.

(vi) Petition to Change TMR’s Designation.

(A) The petition to change the TMR’s designation must be in writing and filed
with the Department of Revenue.

(B) The petition must contain at least the following information:

(I) The petitioner’s name, address, and tax account number;

(II) A statement that the petitioner is a person who has claimed a 
credit or who may be eligible to claim a credit in relation to the 
TMR’s conservation easement donation, including the taxable 
period(s) and amount of tax in dispute;

(III) A summary statement of the grounds upon which the petitioner 
relies for changing the TMR’s designation; and

(IV) A proposed replacement TMR, including the replacement TMR’s 
qualifications to serve as TMR in accordance with the criteria for 
representation listed in paragraph (3)(h)(vii) .

(C) The Department of Revenue may provide the TMR and transferees with 
notice of the petition and an opportunity to respond.
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(D) The Executive Director of the Department of Revenue will issue an order 
regarding the petition as soon as practicably possible.

(vii) Criteria for Representation. The Department of Revenue will determine whether a
TMR is unavailable or unwilling to act as a TMR and whether a petition to change
the TMR’s designation should be granted. The Department of Revenue will then 
determine the appropriate person to serve as the TMR. Criteria to be considered 
when determining who will serve as the TMR includes:

(A) The general knowledge of the donor or transferor and any proposed 
replacement TMR regarding the gross conservation easement credit 
transfer items at issue.

(B) The donor’s or transferor’s and any proposed replacement TMR’s access
to the records of the conservation easement.

(C) The views of the transferees involved in the transaction.

(viii) Statute of Limitations. The statute of limitations of the transferor and any 
extension to the statute of limitations agreed to by the TMR will also apply to the 
transferees of the credit, but only to the extent that it applies to Transfer Item 
Adjustments.

(4) Refundable Credit.

(a) Taxpayers, but not transferees of such credits, may claim a refund of the conservation 
easement credit if state revenues are in excess of the limitation on state fiscal year 
spending imposed by Section 20(7)(a) of Article X of the Colorado Constitution. 

(b) For each donation made during tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2000, but 
before January 1, 2003, a maximum of $20,000 of the credit may be utilized by all 
taxpayers, including transferees, if any portion is to be refunded to a donor. This limit 
increases to $50,000 for credits arising from donations made in tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 2003.

(c) The limits in subparagraph (b) of this paragraph (4) apply in aggregate to a married 
couple, regardless of whether they file jointly or separately, and all partners, shareholders
or members of a pass-through entity, tenants in common, joint tenants, or similar 
ownership arrangements that make a donation, if one or more such partners, 
shareholders, members or owners request a refund of the credit.

(5) Qualifying Donation. For donations made prior to January 1, 2014, the Department of Revenue 
has the authority to review whether a donation qualifies for the credit as:

(a) A perpetual conservation easement in gross on real property located in Colorado,

(b) A donation to a governmental entity or a charitable organization that is exempt under 
section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended, and

(c) A charitable contribution for federal income tax purposes under the Internal Revenue 
Code.
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(6) Credit Carryforward.

(a) Any excess credit not utilized or transferred may be carried forward by the taxpayer for 
up to twenty years from the tax year of the return on which the credit is first claimed. A 
credit must be utilized in the earliest tax year possible.

(b) A taxpayer who moves to another state after receiving a credit remains eligible to 
carryforward the credit.

(c) A taxpayer may elect to abandon and not carryforward a credit by stating the 
abandonment on their return, thereby avoiding the prohibition against claiming a new 
credit set forth in paragraph (2) of this regulation.

(7) Documentation.

(a) Every taxpayer who claims, transfers, passes through, carries forward, or utilizes a credit 
must file a return with all appropriate Colorado Gross Conservation Easement Credit 
Schedules for each tax year with such activity. This includes claiming a credit that has 
been transferred to another taxpayer, reporting that a credit will be carried forward to the 
following year, and reporting that a carryforward credit has been transferred for that year.

(b) Every donor who claims a credit must attach the documents listed in this paragraph (7)(b)
to their return, or submit them to the Department of Revenue at the same time the return 
is filed. The requirements of this paragraph (7)(b) apply without regard to whether the 
credit has been transferred to another taxpayer. The requirements of this paragraph (7)
(b) also apply to returns filed by pass-through entities that donate a conservation 
easement, and the partners, shareholders or members of such entities. The Department 
of Revenue may waive the requirements of this paragraph (7)(b) for any taxpayer(s) in 
writing. The documents required are:

(i) All Colorado Conservation Easement Schedules required for the relevant year, 
including all required attachments;

(ii) A federal form 8283 with a summary of the qualified appraisal that meets the 
requirements set forth in § 39-22-522(3.3), C.R.S.;

(iii) For donations made on or after January 1, 2011, a copy of the Tax Credit 
Certificate obtained from the Department of Regulatory Agencies.

(8) Appraisals. Appraisals for donations made prior to January 1, 2014 are subject to review by the 
Department of Revenue.

(a) The appraiser must hold a valid license as a certified general appraiser in accordance 
with the provisions of part 7 of article 61 of title 12, C.R.S.

(b) The appraiser must meet all applicable education and experience requirements 
established by the Board of Real Estate Appraisers in accordance with § 12-61-704(k), 
C.R.S.

(c) A qualified appraisal for computing the gross conservation easement credit must meet 
requirements for claiming a federal charitable deduction for the donation of the easement.

(d) The Department of Revenue may require a taxpayer to submit a copy of the complete 
appraisal upon request.
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(e) The Department of Revenue may require the taxpayer to provide a second appraisal at 
the taxpayer’s expense if the Executive Director:

(i) Reasonably believes that the appraisal represents a gross valuation 
misstatement,

(ii) Receives notice of such a valuation misstatement from the Division of Real 
Estate, or

(iii) Receives notice from the Division of Real Estate that an enforcement action has 
been taken by the Board of Real Estate Appraisers against the appraiser.

(f) Any second appraisal required pursuant to this paragraph (8) and § 39-22-522(3.5), 
C.R.S. must be prepared by a certified general appraiser who is not affiliated with the 
appraiser who prepared the first appraisal, is in good standing and has met qualifications 
established by the Division of Real Estate.

(g) If, upon final determination, it is determined that an appraisal submitted in connection 
with a gross conservation easement credit claim is a substantial or gross valuation 
misstatement, the Department of Revenue must submit a complaint to the Board of Real 
Estate Appraisers and may pursue any other penalties or remedies authorized by law.

(9) Requests for Documents.

(a) If a taxpayer has not provided a document related to the gross conservation easement 
credit that was required to be provided as part of the taxpayer’s return, including the 
return itself—or, if requested by the Department of Revenue for conservation easements 
donated prior to January 1, 2014, a copy of the complete appraisal obtained at the time of
donation—the Department may send a written request to the taxpayer or TMR for such 
document. Such request may be sent by certified mail. Failure to provide the requested 
document to the Department of Revenue within 60 days of the mailing of the 
Department’s request shall constitute grounds for the Executive Director of the 
Department of Revenue to issue a notice denying the credit.

(b) Documents that may be requested by the Department of Revenue include, but are not 
limited to, all or any part of the taxpayer’s return, the Tax Credit Certificate from the 
Department of Regulatory Agencies, the Colorado Gross Conservation Easement Credit 
Schedule, the Colorado Conservation Easement Donor Schedule, the federal Form 8283,
a summary of the appraisal, a copy of the complete appraisal, a copy of the appraiser’s 
affidavit submitted to the Department of Regulatory Agencies, and the recorded deed of 
conservation easement.

(10) Disallowance of Conservation Easement Tax Credits.

(a) Notice to TMR and Transferee. The Department of Revenue shall initiate a Transfer Item 
Adjustment to a credit by issuing to the TMR a notice setting forth the proposed 
adjustment, regardless of whether the state tax liability of the TMR is affected by the 
proposed adjustment. The Department of Revenue shall also send to each transferee a 
notice of the Department’s proposed Transfer Item Adjustment for such transferee’s 
credit.

(b) Multiple Transferees. If there is more than one transferee of a credit, the Department of 
Revenue will generally allocate proportionally the Transfer Item Adjustment based on the 
percentage of the overall credit originally transferred to the transferees. However, the 
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Department of Revenue may allocate the adjustment among and between the 
transferees in any manner appropriate to the circumstances.

(c) Request for Hearing. A request pursuant to §§ 39-21-103 or 104, C.R.S. for hearing on a 
Transfer Item Adjustment, including a Transfer Item Adjustment that results in the denial 
or modification of the transferee’s credit, may be made only by the TMR. A transferee 
does not have a right to protest the Notice of Deficiency or refund change issued to the 
transferee (including the allocation of the adjustment between or among transferees) to 
the extent the adjustment is based on a Transfer Item Adjustment. If the TMR does not 
timely request a hearing pursuant to §§ 39-21-103 or 104, C.R.S., a transferee may 
petition the Department of Revenue to change the TMR’s designation within 10 business 
days after the final date for requesting a hearing in accordance with paragraphs (3)(h)(v), 
(3)(h)(vi), and (3)(h)(vii) of this regulation. If the Department of Revenue grants the 
petition, the new TMR may request a hearing pursuant to §§ 39-21-103 or 104, C.R.S., 
within 30 days of the Department’s order regarding the petition.

(d) Notification and Request to be Admitted as Party. The Department of Revenue will issue 
a notice of the hearing to the TMR and each transferee of the credit. Such notice shall 
advise the transferee of the right to be admitted as a party to the hearing upon the filing 
of a written request setting forth a brief and plain statement of the facts that entitle the 
transferee to be admitted and the matters to be decided. The Executive Director of the 
Department of Revenue may admit parties for limited purposes.

(e) Transfer of Jurisdiction. If the Executive Director of the Department of Revenue issues a 
final order pursuant to § 39-22-522.5(5)(b), C.R.S., finding that a case cannot reasonably 
be resolved through the administrative process and transferring jurisdiction of the case to 
the district court, the Department will not oppose waiver of surety bond or other deposit in
connection with the case.

(11) Hearing Process. To expedite the equitable resolution of requests for administrative hearings 
regarding conservation easement tax credits, avoid inconsistent determinations, and allow the 
Executive Director of the Department of Revenue to consider the full scope of applicable issues 
of law and fact, such hearings will be conducted in accordance with the following provisions:

(a) The Executive Director of the Department of Revenue may invite the participation in the 
hearing of any person who has claimed a credit or who may be eligible to claim a credit in
relation to the TMR’s conservation easement donation. Such participation shall include 
the right to be admitted as a party to the hearing upon the filing of a written request in 
accordance with paragraph (10)(d) of this regulation.

(b) The Executive Director of the Department of Revenue may resolve the issues raised by 
the parties in phases:

(i) The first phase will address issues regarding the validity of the credit and any 
other claims or defenses touching the regularity of the proceedings;

(ii) The second phase will address the value of the easement; and

(iii) The third phase will address determinations of the tax, interest, and penalties due
and apportionment of such tax liability among persons who claimed a tax credit in
relation to the TMR’s conservation easement donation.

(c) Any request by a taxpayer to continue, stay, or otherwise postpone the hearing, 
including, but not limited to, a request for continuance to pursue mediation, shall be 
deemed consent by the taxpayer to enter into a written agreement with the Executive 
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Director of the Department of Revenue to extend the time for the Executive Director to 
issue a final determination by a period of days equal to the requested period of 
postponement.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to abrogate or diminish the ability of the 
taxpayer to assert any facts, make any arguments, and file any briefs and affidavits the 
taxpayer believes pertinent to the case.

(12) Final Determination and Appeal. The Department of Revenue will issue, pursuant to § 39-21-
103, C.R.S., a notice of final determination regarding the Transfer Item Adjustment(s) to the TMR 
and transferee of the credit. The TMR, not the transferee, may appeal the determination in 
accordance with §§ 39-21-105 and 39-22-522.5(6), C.R.S. If the TMR does not file an appeal 
pursuant to §§ 39-21-105 and 39-22-522.5(6), C.R.S., a transferee may petition the Department 
of Revenue to change the TMR’s designation within 10 business days after the final date for filing 
an appeal, in accordance with § 39-22-522(6), C.R.S., and paragraphs (3)(h)(v), (3)(h)(vi), and (3)
(h)(vii) of this regulation.

(13) Confidentiality. Except as otherwise provided in § 39-21-113, C.R.S. and regulation thereunder, 
every tax return and all information contained therein is confidential. Section 39-21-113(17.5), 
C.R.S., provides an exception to the Department of Revenue’s confidentiality rule for tax 
information relating to conservation easement tax credits. For the purposes of this exception, 
“cases”, as used in statute, is not limited to cases in administrative hearing, in district court, or in 
further appellate courts, but also includes information pertinent to any disallowed conservation 
easement tax credit.

Cross References

1. See Department Regulation 39-21-113 for additional information about the confidentiality of tax 
returns and all information therein.
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REGULATION 39-22-303.1.      APPORTIONMENT FOR TAX YEARS BEGINNING PRIOR TO 
JANUARY 1, 2009.

For income tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2009, every corporation doing business in Colorado 
and one or more other states has an annual election to apportion income under the provisions of section 
39-22-303, C.R.S. (the Colorado Income Tax Act) or under the provisions of section 24-60-1301, C.R.S. 
(the Multistate Tax Compact). The election must be made with the filing of the Colorado income tax return
and cannot be changed after the due date of the return. Statutory references in this regulation refer to 
those sections as they existed prior to January 1, 2009.

REGULATION 39-22-303.3.      Inclusion of Tangible Drilling Costs in the Property Factor.

(1)        The provisions of this regulation apply for income tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2009. 
Statutory sections referenced in the regulation refer to those sections as they existed prior to 
January 1, 2009.

(2)        Inclusion of intangible drilling costs in the property factor. Intangible drilling costs should be 
included in both the numerator and the denominator of the property factor as computed under 
section 39-22-303(3), C.R.S. Since intangible drilling costs represent long range investments in 
the hope of producing oil or gas income, they are properly includable in the computation of the 
property factor.

(3)        “Safe Harbor” lease property. “Safe Harbor” lease property shall be included in the property 
factor of the lessee/user and shall be excluded from the property factor of the lessor/owner.
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Regulation 39-22-121. Child Care Contribution Credit.

Basis and Purpose. The bases for this regulation are § 39-21-112(1) and § 39-22-121, C.R.S. The 
purpose of this regulation is to provide clarification regarding the child care contribution credit and the 
conditions necessary to qualify for the credit. 

(1) Computation of the Credit.

(a) Any taxpayer that makes a qualifying monetary contribution to promote child care in 
Colorado may claim an income tax credit of fifty percent of the total value of the qualifying
contribution.

(b) No credit may be claimed for in-kind contributions made in tax years commencing on or 
after January 1, 2000.

(2) Limitation on Amount of Credit that May be Generated.

(a) The amount of credit generated for contributions made during any one tax year may not 
exceed $100,000 per taxpayer and is further subject to the limitations in this paragraph 
(2), and in paragraphs (3), and (8). For purposes of this regulation, two taxpayers filing a 
joint return are considered one taxpayer.

(b) Credits for contributions made to facilities listed in paragraph 5(a)(viii) in tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2013 but before January 1, 2014 shall not be claimed 
until a tax year commencing on or after January 1, 2014.

(c) Qualifying contributions made in tax years 2011 and 2012 may only be used beginning in 
tax year 2013 and after. See paragraph (8) of this regulation for information on the 
calculation of such credit. See § 39-22-121(6.7)(a), C.R.S.

(3) Carryforwards. If the amount of credit generated in one tax year exceeds the amount of tax due, 
the excess may be carried forward for up to five tax years. A credit carryforward does not restrict 
additional credits from being generated in future years. Notwithstanding the suspension of the 
credit in tax years 2011 and 2012, no extension of the five-year carryforward is allowed by the 
statute.

(4) Qualifying Contributions. In order for a contribution to be a qualifying contribution, it must be 
one of the following:

(a) Monetary contributions made to a qualifying child care facility, as defined in paragraph (5)
(a) below, to the extent that the facility utilizes the contribution for child care provided to 
children who are twelve years of age or younger.
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(b) Monetary contributions made to a qualifying grandfathered facility or program, as defined 
in paragraph (7) below, and utilizes the contribution for child care provided to children 
eighteen years of age or under.

(5) Qualifying Child Care Facilities or Programs.

(a) Qualifying contributions to the following child care facilities or programs are eligible for 
the child care contribution credit. Programs and facilities specified in paragraphs (i) 
through (viii) qualify only if the programs or facilities are licensed by the Department of 
Human Services. Programs and facilities specified in paragraphs (ix) through (xiii) qualify 
only if the facility or program is registered with the Department of Revenue.

(i) A child care center as defined in § 26-6-102(5), C.R.S.,

(ii) A child placement agency as defined in § 26-6-102(7), C.R.S.,

(iii) A family child care home as defined in § 26-6-102(13), C.R.S.,

(iv) A foster care home as defined in § 26-6-102(14), C.R.S.,

(v) A homeless youth shelter as defined in § 26-6-102(17), C.R.S.,

(vi) A residential child care facility as defined in § 26-6-102(33), C.R.S.,

(vii) A secure residential treatment center as defined in § 26-6-102(35), C.R.S.,

(viii) Any approved facility school as such term is defined in section § 22-2-402(1), 
C.R.S., that is also affiliated with a licensed or certified hospital in the state and is
also a nonprofit organization (see the restriction on a credit for contributions 
made to such facilities in paragraph 2(b) of this regulation),

(ix) An unlicensed child care facility that provides child care services similar to those 
provided by a licensed child care center as defined in § 26-6-102(5), C.R.S. This 
includes child care provided for the whole or part of a day. The program must 
provide for the care of five or more children who are not related to the owner, 
operator, or manager. This does not include; 

(A) facilities or programs that provide services identical or similar to day 
treatment centers, guest child care facilities, family child care homes, 
foster care homes, homeless youth shelters, medical foster care, 
residential care facilities, secure residential treatment centers, 
specialized group facilities, or therapeutic foster care, 

(B) facilities or programs that qualify for the enterprise zone administrator 
credit, or 

(C) school programs maintained during regular school hours including 
kindergartens; 

(I) maintained in connection with a public, private, or parochial 
elementary school system of at least six grades, or 

(II) operated as a component of a school district’s preschool 
program operated pursuant to article 28 of title 22, C.R.S.,
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(x) A grant or loan program for a parent or parents in Colorado requiring financial 
assistance for child care,

(xi) A training program for child care providers in Colorado,

(xii) An information dissemination program in Colorado to provide information and 
referral services to assist a parent or parents in obtaining child care,

(xiii) A grandfathered child care facility or program as defined in paragraph (7) below.

(6) Registration of Unlicensed Facilities or Programs.

(a) Facilities or programs that are licensed by the Department of Human Services as a child 
care facility or program do not need to separately register with the Department of 
Revenue. However, unlicensed facilities or programs must register with the Department 
of Revenue to be a qualified facility or program for the purposes of this credit. The 
application for registration must include:

(i) An explanation why they are a qualified facility or program,

(ii) An explanation why licensing with the Department of Human Services is not 
required,

(iii) Brochures, newspaper articles, community publications and other documentation
describing the facility or program.

(b) Applicants for registration, either pursuant to this paragraph (6) or (7) below, whose 
application has been denied in whole or in part, may appeal the denial by filing a request 
for hearing before the Executive Director pursuant to the Colorado Administrative 
Procedures Act (§ 24-4-104, C.R.S.) and not pursuant to § 39-21-103, C.R.S.

(7) Grandfathered Facilities or Programs.

(a) A grandfathered child care program is considered a qualifying facility or program on or 
after March 9, 2004 if the facility or program:

(i) Received contributions prior to January 1, 2004 for which a child care 
contribution credit was properly allowed and claimed,

(ii) No longer qualifies for the credit under the new rules because the program no 
longer meets the qualifications of the law and/or some or all children cared for in 
the program are age thirteen through eighteen,

(iii) Has applied for eligibility with the Department of Revenue and been approved to 
continue to accept contributions that qualify for the credit.

(b) The grandfather application must include:

(i) Documentation proving the program qualified for the credit under the law as it 
existed prior to March 9, 2004,

(ii) Documentation regarding the children age thirteen through eighteen that were 
assisted by contributions received in 2003 or prior, and

(iii) A list of taxpayers who claimed the credit in tax year 2003 or prior.
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(8) Limitation to the Credit for Tax Years 2013 and 2014.

(a) For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013 but prior to January 1, 2014 (tax year
2013), the maximum credit that can be used to offset tax is limited to 50% of the total of 
the carryforward credits from 2012 and any credit generated by contributions made 
during 2013. Any unused credits must be carried forward to tax year 2014.

(b) For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 but prior to January 1, 2015 (tax year
2014), the maximum credit that can be used to offset tax is limited to 75% of the total of 
the carryforward credits from 2013 and any credit generated by contributions made 
during 2014. Any unused credits must be carried forward to tax year 2015.

(c) There is no similar limitation to the percentage of the credit that can be used in tax year 
2015 or later.

(9) Exceptions. Contributions will not qualify for this credit if any of the following apply:

(a) The contribution is made to a child care facility or program in which the taxpayer or a 
person related to the taxpayer has a financial interest.

(i) A “person related to the taxpayer” means a person connected with another 
person by blood or marriage. The term also includes: 

(A) a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, trust or association 
controlled by the taxpayer; 

(B) an individual, corporation, limited liability company, partnership, trust or 
association under the control of the taxpayer; or 

(C) a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, trust, or association 
controlled by an individual, corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, trust, or association under the control of the taxpayer.

(b) The contribution is made to a for-profit business, unless the contribution is directly used 
for the acquisition or improvement of facilities, equipment, or services, including the 
improvement of staff salaries, staff training, or the quality of child care.

(c) The contribution is not directly related to promoting child care in Colorado as defined in 
this rule.

(d) The contribution is made in a tax year commencing after December 31, 2024.

(e) The donor receives consideration from the donee facility or program facility or program in 
exchange for the contribution. If this is the case, a sale occurs rather than a contribution. 
However, this will not restrict a company from contributing to a child care facility and 
claiming a credit based on that contribution if the employees of the company receive a 
benefit in the form of discounted child care, assuming that the employer has no financial 
interest in the child care facility.

(10) Contributions Split Between Qualified and Nonqualified Purposes.

(a) Donee facilities or programs may accept contributions that are used in part for qualified 
child care purposes but are also used, in part, for nonqualified purposes. Examples 
include:
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(i) A child care facility that cares for children both 12 and under and 13 and over,

(ii) A church that uses part of the contribution to fund its child care facility and part to
fund other charitable functions,

(iii) Contributions to a community center construction project where a child care 
facility is only part of the overall project.

(b) The donee facility or program must allocate the portion of a contribution that qualifies for 
the child care contribution credit for the donor. This allocation must be done in a 
reasonable manner based on the facts of the situation. Examples of methods that can be 
used to allocate the contribution include:

(i) A child care facility that cares for children of various ages, some of which are 13 
or older who do not qualify for the credit.

(A) The child care facility can compute the percentage of children in its care 
that qualify for the credit. This percentage can be used to allocate 
contributions that are made to the facility.

(B) The child care facility can document the expenses incurred in caring for 
children who are 12 and younger versus children who are 13 and older. 
The contribution would be allocated using this percentage. This method 
requires extensive supporting documentation.

(ii) A facility or program that operates several different programs, not all of which 
qualify for the credit.

(A) The expenses of the various programs must be accounted for and 
contributions can be directly allocated to the qualified programs.

(B) The contribution can be allocated on a percentage basis utilizing total 
expense figures for the entire facility.

(iii) The construction of a community center, which includes a child care facility.

(A) A percentage of area method can be utilized if this provides an equitable 
calculation of the credit (i.e. 30% of the floor space is for the child care 
facility so 30% of the costs are allocated to the child care facility).

(B) If construction costs vary greatly between the child care area of the 
building and other areas, a more equitable allocation of the contribution 
would be achieved by determining the difference between the cost of the 
facility with and without the child care facility. That difference can be 
used to determine the percentage of costs to allocate to the child care 
facility.

(C) If construction costs are reasonably allocated using the method in 
paragraph (1), above, but the costs of equipping the child care facility 
varies significantly from other areas of the building, a hybrid method of 
allocating contributions can be used. Construction costs can be allocated
using a percentage of area method with equipment costs directly 
allocated. These factors could then be combined into one overall 
percentage to be used in allocating the contributions.
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(iv) If the methods above do not equitably allocate the contribution to the child care 
facility or program, a written request to the Department of Revenue may be made
to obtain permission to use an alternate method of allocation.

(c) If contributions are accepted as earmarked for only the child care facility despite the 
existence of nonqualified programs, the full contribution will qualify for the 50% credit. 
The facility must have accounting procedures in place to verify that those contributions 
are indeed utilized 100% for the child care function and no funds are utilized for 
nonqualified purposes. Any excess funds left over at the end of the year must be carried 
forward for eligible expenses in the next year. Accounting procedures must be in place to 
track and document this allocation process. A separate fund cannot be arbitrarily set up 
to accept contributions for the child care facility while funds from other sources (such as 
federal or state funds, charitable organizations, nonresident donors) are used to pay 
other expenses that would not qualify for the credit.

(11) Documentation. Any contribution must be supported by a signed statement from the donee child
care facility or program and furnished to the donor.

(a) The statement must state the amount of the monetary contribution.

(b) The statement must list the name and Department of Human Service’s license number, if 
applicable, of the eligible facility or program, or the name and Department of Revenue 
registration number of a pre-registered facility or program that qualifies for the credit.

(c) The statement must include a detailed description of the eligible purpose(s) for which the 
contribution will be used and that the contribution will be utilized one-hundred percent for 
purposes directly related to promoting child care.

(d) If the contribution is not being utilized one-hundred percent for purposes directly related 
to promoting child care, the statement must clearly state the portion of the contribution 
that qualifies for the credit computation. It will be the responsibility of the donee facility or 
program to prove that the percentage of the contribution reported as utilized for purposes 
directly related to promoting child care is accurate and no portion has been expended on 
any other expense or purpose. Example: A contribution of $1,000 is made to a qualifying 
child care facility. Seventy percent of the contribution is expended on qualifying purposes 
and the other thirty percent is expended on unrelated overhead expenses of the 
organization. The statement must clearly state that only $700 of the contribution is 
eligible for calculating the fifty percent credit.

(e) The donor must provide the statement to the Department of Revenue with an income tax 
return filed on a paper form. In the case of an income tax return filed electronically, the 
certification must be provided to the Department of Revenue upon request with all 
information specified by the Department provided.

(12) Investment Funds. Money donated to a qualified facility or program may be invested by that 
facility or program in an account that provides future payments to the facility or program. The 
interest and the principal, when removed from the account in any future year, must be utilized 
100% for qualifying child care purposes in order for the original contribution to qualify for the 
credit.
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Regulation 39-22-119. Child Care Expenses Tax Credit.

Basis and Purpose. The bases for this regulation are § 39-21-112(1) and § 39-22-119, C.R.S. The 
purpose of this regulation is to provide clarification regarding the child care expenses tax credit.

(1) Child Care Expenses Tax Credit. Resident individuals who claim the federal tax credit for child 
care expenses on their federal income tax return shall be allowed a credit against their Colorado 
income tax liability as follows:

(a) For income tax years beginning before January 1, 2019:

(i) A credit equal to 50% of the federal tax credit for taxpayers whose federal 
adjusted gross income is $25,000 or less.

(ii) A credit equal to 30% of the federal tax credit for taxpayers whose federal 
adjusted gross income is between $25,001 and $35,000.

(iii) A credit equal to 10% of the federal credit for taxpayers whose federal adjusted 
gross income is between $35,001 and $60,000.

(b) For income tax years beginning on and after January 1, 2019, a credit equal to 50% of 
the federal tax credit for taxpayers whose federal adjusted gross income is less than or 
equal to $60,000.

(c) This credit cannot be claimed by taxpayers whose federal adjusted gross income 
exceeds $60,000 in a given tax year.

(2) Part-year Residents. A part-year Colorado resident is allowed only that portion of the Colorado 
child care expenses tax credit that is equal to the credit multiplied by the ratio (not to exceed 
100%) of the taxpayer’s Colorado modified adjusted income over the taxpayer’s entire federal 
modified taxable income.
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REGULATION 39-22-303.5.7(A)

For special regulations for allocation and apportionment of corporate income of certain industries for tax 
years beginning before January 1, 2009, see special regulations issued pursuant to the Multistate Tax 
Compact, title 24, article 60, part 13. The following special regulations implement the single sales factor 
apportionment methodology set forth in §39-22-303.5, C.R.S. as modified pursuant to §39-22-303.5(7)(a),
C.R.S., and apply to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009.

Special Regulation 1A – Airlines

Special Regulation 2A – Contractors

Special Regulation 3A– Publishing

Special Regulation 4A – Railroads

Special Regulation 5A – Television and Radio Broadcasting

Special Regulation 6A – Trucking

Special Regulation 7A – Financial institutions

Special Regulation 8A – Telecommunications
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Regulation 39-26-718. Charitable and Other Exempt Organizations.

Basis and Purpose. The bases for this regulation are § 39-21-112(1), § 39-26-102(2.5), § 39-26-718, 
and § 39-26-725, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide clarification regarding what 
organizations, activities, and purchases qualify for the charitable and other exempt organizations 
exemption. 

(1) General Rule.

(a) Purchases by charitable organizations are exempt from state sales and use taxes and 
state-administered local sales and use taxes if the purchases are part of the charitable 
organization’s regular charitable functions and activities.

(b) Sales by charitable organizations generally are not exempt from sales tax, except for 
occasional sales, sales where a portion of the purchase price is a donation, and sales by 
certain school-related entities.

(c) The following are common situations where the acquisition of property by a charitable 
organization is not subject to sales tax.

(i) The charitable organization does not pay the donor for the donation (sales tax 
does not apply to transactions when consideration is not paid), or

(ii) The purchase was part of its regular charitable function and activity, or

(iii) The purchase was made with the intention of reselling the item at a fundraising 
event, in which case the charitable organization’s purchase is exempt as a 
wholesale purchase for resale.

(2) Types of Charitable Organizations.

(a) Charitable organizations must serve a public rather than a private interest and be 
organized and operated exclusively for one or more of the following purposes or 
functions:

(i) Religious; to the extent consistent with Catholic Health Initiatives Colo. v. City of 
Pueblo, 207 P.3d 812, (Colo. 2009).

(ii) Charitable;

(iii) Scientific;

(iv) Literary;
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(v) Educational;

(vi) Testing for public safety;

(vii) Fostering national or international amateur sports competition, as long as no part 
of its activities involves providing athletic facilities or equipment;

(viii) Preventing cruelty to children or animals;

(b) Veterans’ Organizations. A veterans’ organization registered under section 501(c)(19) of 
the Internal Revenue Code is a charitable organization for purposes of the Colorado 
charitable organizations exemption.

(c) Charitable, as used in paragraph (2)(a)(ii) of this regulation, is used in its generally 
accepted legal sense and is, therefore, not to be construed as limited by the separate 
enumeration of other tax-exempt purposes which may fall within the broad outlines of 
charity as developed by judicial decisions. Charitable includes:

(i) Relief of the poor and distressed or of the underprivileged;

(ii) Advancement of education or science;

(iii) Erection or maintenance of public buildings, monuments, or works;

(iv) Lessening of the burdens of government;

(v) Care of the sick, infirm, or aged;

(vi) Lessen neighborhood tensions;

(vii) Eliminate prejudice and discrimination;

(viii) Defend human and civil rights secured by law; or

(ix) Combat community deterioration and juvenile delinquency.

(d) Educational, as used in (2)(a)(v) of this regulation, relates to:

(i) The instruction or training of the individual for the purpose of improving or 
developing his capabilities; or

(ii) The instruction of the public on subjects useful to the individual and beneficial to 
the community.

(e) Testing for public safety, as used in paragraph (2)(a)(vi) of this regulation, includes the 
testing of consumer products to determine whether they are safe for use by the general 
public.

(f) Scientific, as used in paragraph (2)(a)(iii) of this regulation, includes carrying on of 
scientific research in the public interest. For research to be scientific, it must be carried 
on in furtherance of the scientific purpose.

(g) IRS 501(c)(3) Certificates. A charitable organization that holds a 501(c)(3) determination 
letter from the Internal Revenue Service is provisionally presumed to qualify as a 
charitable organization that is exempt from Colorado sales and use tax. However, the 
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Department is not bound by an IRS determination of an organization’s charitable status, 
and the Department may independently evaluate whether the entity qualifies as a 
charitable entity.

(h) Religious Organization. The IRS does not require religious organizations to apply for a 
501(c)(3) certificate in order to qualify as a tax-exempt charitable organization. In such 
cases, the Department will issue a sales tax exemption certificate to a religious charitable
entity, even in the absence of an 501(c)(3) certificate, if the organization has a charitable 
purpose and meets the conditions set forth below. In lieu of the 501(c)(3) certificate, a 
religious organization shall provide to the Department a copy of its IRS No Record of 
Exempt Organization letter and Department Form DR 0716, “Statement of Nonprofit 
Church, Synagogue, or Organization”.

(i) If the applicant is a religious organization that is an affiliate of a national 
organization that holds a Colorado exemption certificate, applicant may submit, in
lieu of such a determination letter, documentation from the national organization 
demonstrating that applicant is an affiliate of such organization.

(i) Nonprofit Organizations. An organization that is a nonprofit or an organization that 
performs some charitable services or provides funding to a qualified charitable 
organization does not automatically qualify as a charitable organization for sales and use 
tax purposes. In order to qualify, the organization must be established and operated 
exclusively for one or more of the charitable purposes listed above. Examples of 
organizations that do not typically qualify as a charitable organization for purposes of this 
exemption are nonprofit country clubs, private clubs, employees or social clubs or 
organizations, nonprofit recreational organizations, lodges, patriotic organizations, 
fraternities, sororities, professional and trade associations, civic organizations, labor 
unions, political organizations, and other nonprofit entities.

(3) Application for Exemption Certificates.

(a) Applicants must submit a completed application for a sales tax exemption certificate and 
include a copy of the organization's federal exemption determination letter.

(b) Notwithstanding a determination by the IRS of an applicant’s exempt status, the 
Department may conduct, either before or after the issuance of an exemption certificate, 
an independent review of whether the organization qualifies for the exemption authorized 
by § 39-26-718, C.R.S.

(4) Restrictions on Charitable Organization Activities. The restrictions in this paragraph (4) are 
applicable only to charitable organizations described in paragraph (2)(a) of this regulation.

(a) Exclusively. A charitable organization described in paragraph (2)(a) of this regulation will 
be regarded as operating exclusively for one or more exempt purpose only if the 
organization exclusively engages in activities in furtherance of its exempt purpose. A 
charitable organization described in paragraph (2)(a) of this regulation will not lose its 
exempt charitable status if its non-charitable activities are insubstantial.

(i) Examples.

(A) If the religious organization operates a restaurant or coffee shop for the 
public unrelated to its charitable purpose, then the organization does not 
qualify for the exemption because this activity is not considered part of 
the organization’s charitable function. Note that sales by a charitable 
organization are not generally exempt from sales tax. For example, sales
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by a church in a coffee shop operated on church property are subject to 
sales tax even if the revenues from such sales are insubstantial, unless 
the sales qualify under the occasional sale exemption or the donation 
exemption, discussed below.

(B) Providing meals to the poor or homeless for free or below cost is 
generally considered a charitable activity.

(b) Other Restrictions. A charitable organization described in paragraph (2)(a) of this 
regulation is subject to the following limitations in order to qualify for the sales and use 
tax exemption certificate:

(i) No part of an organization’s net earnings can benefit any private shareholder or 
individual. Compensation paid by the organization for services rendered, 
including services performed by employees or officers of the charitable 
organization, must be reasonable.

(A) The fact that an organization charges a fee for its goods or services is 
not fatal to a claim that it is a charitable organization. However any profit 
that a charitable organization generates must be used for charitable 
purposes. Factors that the Department will consider with respect to 
whether an organization that charges fees is a charitable organization 
include: (i) whether such fees vary depending on the need of the 
recipient of the goods or services; and (ii) the extent to which such fees 
show material reciprocity or quid pro quo transactions between the 
organization and those it serves.

(B) Example: A mutual benefit society is an organization whose benefits are 
available only to its members and/or their beneficiaries and requires 
payment by its members as a condition to receiving such benefits. A 
mutual benefit society is not organized for a charitable purpose, and is 
not a charitable organization exempt from sales and use taxes under this
exemption.

(ii) No substantial part of an organization’s activities can be carrying-on propaganda 
or otherwise attempting to influence legislation. For example, an organization 
whose main activity is scientific is not a charitable organization for sales and use 
tax purposes if a substantial portion of the organization's activities involves 
dissemination of propaganda that is favorable to its political objectives or consists
of lobbying for legislation that supports the organization's activities and mission.

(iii) An organization may not participate in, or intervene in, a political campaign on 
behalf of any candidate for public office (including the publishing or distributing of
statements).

(5) Purchases by Charitable Organizations.

(a) Purchases by charitable organizations are exempt from sales and use taxes if the goods 
or services are used exclusively in the conduct of the charitable organization’s regular 
charitable functions and activities. Purchases must be made directly from the 
organization’s funds and, for purchases over two-hundred fifty dollars, must be made with
a check or credit card issued in the organization’s name. Purchases made with funds 
other than the organization’s own funds or purchases made with a charitable 
organization’s funds but reimbursed by someone who is not a qualified charitable 
organization are not exempt from sales or use tax. Whenever a charitable organization 
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purchases tangible personal property (such as cards, food, cars, etc.) that is to be 
transferred to anyone else for personal use and all or part of the price of the goods is 
recouped from the user through direct payment, donation or games of chance (but not 
including a sale), the organization's exempt status does not apply and sales tax must be 
paid to the vendor by the exempt organization. If such purchases are made outside 
Colorado or in Colorado without payment of Colorado sales tax, the tax must be paid 
directly to the Department by the organization.

(i) Examples.

(A) A purchase made on behalf of a charitable organization with a credit card
issued in the name of an individual is not exempt.

(B) An educational charitable organization’s purchase of computers is not 
exempt if the computers are given to members of the organization who 
use the computers for their own personal use or who reimburse the 
organization.

(C) An educational institution’s purchase of athletic equipment or uniforms is 
not exempt from sales and use tax if the educational institution is 
reimbursed for the equipment or uniforms from students or their families.

 (6) Donor’s Obligation for Sales and Use Tax.

(a) A donor who purchases tangible personal property for the purpose of donating it to a 
charity must pay sales or use tax on the purchase and cannot claim the charitable 
organization’s exemption. The donor cannot claim a sale for resale exemption because 
the property is donated, not resold, to the charitable organization.

(b) A retailer who initially makes a wholesale (exempt) purchase of an item for resale (e.g., 
retailer buys an item for its inventory it plans to resale) and later withdraws that item from 
inventory and donates it to a charitable organization incurs use tax on the withdrawal 
from inventory. However, see cross reference (3) for information on the exemption for 
donations of manufactured goods by manufacturers.

(7) Sales by Charitable Organizations.

(a) General Rule. Sales made by charitable organizations are generally not exempt from 
sales tax, unless the sale qualifies for the occasional sale exemption, as a donation, or 
for any other exemption that may apply (see paragraphs (8) and (9) of this regulation). 
For that reason, a charitable organization that makes repeated sales of tangible personal 
property to the public and otherwise meets the definition of a retailer must have a sales 
tax license and collect and remit tax in the same manner as any other retailer. For 
example, a charitable organization that operates a gift or book shop, rummage store, or 
coffee shop must collect sales tax on sales. The fact that the merchandise sold may have
been acquired by gift or donation, or that the proceeds are to be used for charitable 
purposes, does not make the sales exempt from tax.

(b) Occasional Sale Exemption. Occasional sales of taxable tangible personal property by a 
charitable organization that holds a Colorado exemption certificate are exempt from sales
and use taxes. See paragraph (10), below, for information of local taxes. An occasional 
sale must meet the following criteria:

(i) The charitable organization conducts sales for a total of twelve days or less 
during a calendar year, and
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(A) Each day a sale occurs is counted as an entire day, even if the sale 
occurs for less than a full day or the organization characterizes a multi-
day sale as one event.

(ii) The “net proceeds” from all these events do not exceed twenty-five thousand 
dollars in that calendar year. “Net proceeds” means the total gross receipt(s) 
minus expenses directly attributable to the event(s).

(A) “Directly attributable” generally means those expenses that would not 
have arisen but for the occurrence of the event and do not include 
indirect and overhead costs, such as administrative staff wages, 
insurance unless purchased for the specific event, rent otherwise due 
even if no event was held, property taxes, and other expenses that would
be incurred even in the absence of the event.

(B) Payment by the charitable organization to acquire any goods that are 
later sold at a fundraising event is an expense that is deducted from the 
gross proceeds to determine net proceeds.

(C) When a charitable organization exceeds either threshold described in 
paragraph (7)(b)(i) or (ii) of this regulation, then all sales that occur in that
calendar year are subject to tax, including sales in that calendar year that
were previously exempt prior to the date when the threshold was 
exceeded. Sales tax applies to the gross proceeds, not the net proceeds.
The charitable organization must have a sales tax license if and when 
either of these limits is exceeded.

(I) Example 1. Charitable organization conducts one auction sale 
which generates $30,000 in gross proceeds and $20,000 in net 
proceeds. Because neither threshold was exceeded, the 
charitable organization does not collect, report, or remit sales 
tax.

(II) Example 2. Same facts as Example No. 1, but net proceeds are 
$26,000. Charitable organization has exceeded the $25,000 
threshold, and, therefore, must collect, report, and remit sales 
tax on the gross proceeds of $30,000.

(iii) The funds retained by the charitable organization are used in the course of the 
organization’s charitable service.

(iv) Living accommodations and other taxable services. The exemption for 
occasional sales applies only to the sale of tangible personal property. Therefore,
sales of taxable services by a charitable organization are subject to tax. For 
example, a charitable organization conducts a silent auction at which it auctions 
a weekend rental of a timeshare or hotel room. The sale of living 
accommodations is a sale of a service. The sale is subject to state and local 
sales taxes applicable to where the accommodation is located even if the 
charitable organization has not exceeded the twelve day or twenty-five thousand 
dollar thresholds. The sale of the living accommodation is not included in the 
calculation of the twenty-five thousand dollar threshold.

(A) If the auction is not conducted in the same state-administered local 
jurisdiction in which the living accommodation is located, then the 
charitable organization must register with the Department for the local 
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jurisdiction where the accommodation is located and collect the local 
sales taxes, including any lodging or local marketing district taxes, 
applicable to the rental of living accommodations.

(v) Goods sold on consignment. Goods given by a retailer to a charitable 
organization for sale at a fundraising event with the understanding that the goods
will be offered for sale at a minimum price and the minimum price is paid to the 
retailer, and with the further understanding that the goods would be returned to 
the retailer if not sold at the event are subject to sales tax on the minimum price 
even if the twenty-five thousand dollar threshold is not met. For example, a bike 
shop offers a bike to a charitable organization to be sold at a fundraising auction, 
but the bike shop requires the charitable organization to pay the bike shop a 
portion of the purchase price in the event the bike is sold. The charitable 
organization must collect sales tax from the successful bidder for the payment 
made to the bike shop, even if the net proceeds from the event do not exceed the
twenty-five thousand dollar threshold.

(c) Donations. A portion of the purchase price for a sale made by a charitable organization 
may be a donation if the amount paid exceeds the fair market value of the good 
purchased.

(i) The exclusion of donations from the tax base applies even if the charitable 
organization exceeds the twelve day / twenty-five thousand dollar threshold of 
the occasional sale exemption. This rule also applies to state-administered local 
sales taxes even if the local tax jurisdiction elected to tax occasional sales of 
charitable organizations.

(ii) The donation amount is not included in the calculation of the twenty-five 
thousand dollar net proceeds threshold for the occasional sale exemption.

(iii) Examples.

(A) An electronic retailer donates a laptop computer that it sells for $700 at 
retail. The charitable organization offers the laptop computer at a silent 
auction and discloses that the fair market value of the laptop computer is 
$700. The winning bid is $1,000. $300 is a donation not subject to tax.

(B) Charitable organization sells 300 tickets for $100 for a dinner and silent 
auction event. This is the charitable organization’s only event that 
calendar year. Organization discloses to ticket purchasers that $75 of the
$100 ticket price is a donation. Each dinner costs the charitable 
organization $10. Charitable organization generates $33,000 in silent 
auction gross sale proceeds ($30,000 derived from the auction of taxable
tangible personal property, $1,000 from the auction of non-taxable 
services and gift certificates, and $2,000 from the auction of taxable 
vacation rentals), $20,000 in net proceeds from the silent auction, and 
$4,500 from the sale of dinner (($25-$10) X 300), for a total in net 
proceeds of $24,500. Because the $75 is a donation and not proceeds 
from a sale of what would otherwise be taxable goods, the $22,500 ($75 
X 300) in donations from ticket sales is not added to the $24,500 in net 
proceeds to determine whether the $25,000 in net proceeds threshold is 
exceeded. Sales tax is not due on the net proceeds because the charity 
has not exceeded the $25,000 threshold. The $1,000 in non-taxable 
services and gift certificates and the $2,000 in taxable living 
accommodations are excluded from the net proceeds calculations 
because the services and gift certificates are not taxable and the living 
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accommodations do not qualify under the occasional sales exemption, 
which applies only to taxable tangible personal property and not taxable 
services. (Tax must be collected on the living accommodations.)

(I) Local Sales Taxes. If the state-administered local tax jurisdiction 
in which the sale occurred elected not to exempt occasional 
sales by charitable organizations, then the local tax applies to 
the gross proceeds from the sale of dinner and auction items, 
even if the organization did not exceed the $25,000 net proceeds
threshold, but local tax does not apply to the $75 per ticket 
because a donation is not subject to state or local sales taxes.

(C) Same facts as Example No. 2, except the net proceeds from the auction 
sale are $23,000. Because the net proceeds threshold is exceeded 
($23,000 + $4,500), sale tax applies to the gross price, not just the net 
proceeds, for all dinners ($25 X 300) and to the gross price all of the 
sales at auction ($30,000 + $2,000). Sales tax is not collected on the 
$1,000 in the sales of non-taxable services and gift cards and not on the 
$22,500 in donations.

(iv) In order to claim a sales tax exemption for a donation included in the buyer’s 
purchase price, the buyer and charitable organization must establish the 
following:

(A) the fair market value of the taxable item or service, and

(B) that the buyer knowingly paid in excess of the fair market value with the 
intent to donate that excess portion of the price to the charitable 
organization.

(v) The Department will presume that the price paid for an item sold at auction is the 
item’s fair market value and that the buyer did not knowingly pay in excess of the 
fair market value. These presumptions can be rebutted by reasonable evidence, 
such as the price for comparable goods sold by a retailer in its regular course of 
business and that buyer knew the fair market value of the goods at the time of 
the purchase. For example, the fair market value of a signed professional sports 
jersey sold at auction will be presumed to be the price paid by the successful 
bidder, but the presumption can be rebutted by documentation of the sales price 
of a comparable signed jersey sold to the public at the professional team’s or 
other retail store.

(A) Examples.

(I) A charitable organization holds a fundraising dinner for which 
patrons purchase a ticket for $100 per person. The organization 
compiles information that establishes that the fair market value of
the dinner is $25 and the cost per meal is $10. The organization 
establishes that purchasers knowingly paid in excess of the fair 
market value of the item by disclosing to patrons, at the time 
tickets are sold, that the fair market value of the dinner is $25 (or 
that $75 of the $100 purchase price is a donation). State sales 
tax is due on the $25 if the organization exceeded the $25,000 
net proceeds threshold.
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(II) The fair market value of an item sold at auction is not based on 
the cost to the organization to acquire the item. For example, a 
donor may donate a set of golf clubs or a night stay at a 
condominium to the organization to be auctioned at a fundraising
event. The fair market value of the golf clubs or room is not zero 
even though the organization acquired the golf clubs or room for 
free. The fair market value is the price at which the item would 
sell on the open market.

(III) A charitable organization holds a fundraising auction. The 
organization previously conducted concession sales and other 
fundraising sales for twelve days in the same year. The 
organization compiles information of the fair market value of 
each of the items sold at auction. The organization establishes 
that the purchaser knowingly paid in excess of the fair market 
value of the item by disclosing the fair market value of the 
auctioned items to potential bidders prior to bidding. The 
organization does not collect sales tax on that portion of the 
purchase price that exceeds the fair market value.

(vi) The Department will presume that any donation that qualifies as a donation for 
federal income tax purposes also qualifies as a donation for sales tax purposes.

(8) Parent-Teacher Associations. Sales by associations or organizations of parents and teachers 
of public school students are exempt from sales tax if:

(a) The association or organization is a charitable organization, and;

(b) The sale proceeds are used for the benefit of a public school, an organized public school 
activity, or to pay reasonable expenses of the association or organization.

(c) The exemption does not apply to sales by private schools. However, sales by private 
schools that qualify as charitable organizations are exempt as occasional sales or are not
taxable to the extent the purchase price is a donation, or are exempt pursuant to 
paragraph 9, below. §39-26-718(1)(c), C.R.S. See paragraph (10), below, for information 
on local taxes.

(d) Occasional Sales Restrictions Do Not Apply. This exemption applies even if the sale has 
exceeded the occasional sale exemption threshold (twelve days / twenty-five thousand 
dollar as discussed in (7)(b) “Occasional Sale Exemption”).

(i) Example. A public school parent-teacher association can raise funds by selling 
candy exempt from sales tax in order to purchase school sports uniforms. 
However, if the parent-teacher association is supporting a private school, its 
sales are taxable, unless the association is a charitable organization for 
educational purposes. In addition, if students reimburse the school for the 
uniforms, then tax must be collected on the amount paid by students.

(9) Sales by Public, Private Schools and Supporting Organizations. Sales by public and private 
schools and supporting organizations are exempt from sales tax if the conditions described in 
paragraphs (a) to (d) are met. See paragraph (10), below, for information on local taxes.

(a) The school is for students in kindergarten through twelfth grade.

(b) Preschools, trade schools and post-secondary schools do not qualify.
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(c) The sale is made by any of the following:

(i) the school;

(ii) an association or organization of parents and school teachers;

(iii) booster club or other club, group or organization whose primary purpose is to 
support a school activity; or

(iv) a school class, student club, group or organization.

These organizations qualify for this exemption even if they are not charitable 
organizations. Examples include: concession sales by booster club or a silent auction 
sales conducted by a parent-teacher association or school are exempt if all the proceeds 
are donated to the school or school-approved student organization

(d) All the proceeds from the sale, except the actual cost incurred by a person or entity to 
acquire the good or service sold, must be donated to the school or school-approved 
student organization. Actual costs incurred to acquire the goods or services include, 
payment facility charges (rent for space, furniture or equipment), labor (wages for 
security, independent contractors, employees), transportation, meals, insurance, and 
other costs.

(e) Sales by a parent-teacher association that are not exempt under this paragraph (9) may, 
nevertheless, be as exempt if the sale meets the requirements for an exempt sale as a 
charitable organization or as a public school parent-teacher association or organization.

(f) Occasional Sales Restrictions do not apply. This exemption applies even if the sale has 
exceeded the thresholds for the occasional sale exemption (twelve days / twenty-five 
thousand dollar as discussed in (7)(b) “Occasional Sale Exemption”).

(g) Purchases by public schools are exempt from sales tax. § 39-26-704(4), C.R.S. 
Purchases by private schools are not exempt unless the private school is a charitable 
organization.

(10) State-Administered Local Tax Jurisdictions. State-administered cities and counties have the 
option to adopt the following exemptions from sales tax (1) occasional sales by charitable 
organizations, (2) sales that benefit a Colorado school, and (3) sales by an association or 
organization of parents and teachers of public school students that is a charitable organization. 
See, § 29-2-105(1)(d)(I)(E), (K), and (L), C.R.S., respectively. However, state-administered 
special districts, such as the Regional Transportation District, must always exempt such sales 
from sales tax in conformity with state sales tax exemptions. Unless exempt, charitable 
organizations are responsible for collecting state-administered city and county sales taxes for the 
local jurisdiction in which the sale occurs. If the state-administered city or county taxes occasional
sales, then the charitable organization must obtain a Colorado sales tax license prior to such 
sales so that the organization can report and remit the local sales tax to the Department, even 
though these sales are exempt from Colorado state sales tax. Home rule cities are not governed 
by these rules and procedures and should be contacted directly for more information on their 
procedures

(11) Other Tax Exempt Organizations. Other tax-exempt organizations (including governmental 
entities) that sell tangible personal property (for example, through a secondhand goods retail 
store, a fundraiser sales event or routine sales of organization-related items) must obtain a sales 
tax license and collect all applicable state and local sales taxes.
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Cross References

1. For a list of state-administered local tax jurisdictions that levy sales tax on occasional sales, see 
Department publication “Colorado Sales/Use Tax Rates” (DR 1002), available at 
www.colorado.gov/pacific/tax > Instructions and Forms > Sales Tax > DR 1002.

2. For a list of home rule cities, see also Department publication “Colorado Sales/Use Tax Rates” 
(DR 1002).

3. For information on the exemption for donations of manufactured goods by manufacturers, see § 
39-26-705(2), C.R.S.

4. For additional information on sales related to schools, see § 39-26-725, C.R.S.

5. Catholic Health Initiatives Colo. v. City of Pueblo, 207 P.3d 812, (Colo. 2009).
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Regulation 39-26-204(2). Retailer's Use Tax.

(1) Every retailer that has substantial nexus with Colorado and is doing business in this state, as 
defined in § 39-26-102(3), C.R.S., shall collect retailer’s use tax, pursuant to § 39-26-204(2), 
C.R.S., with respect to any sale of tangible personal property for storage, use, or consumption in 
Colorado for which the retailer was not, under state and federal law, required to collect sales tax. 
Retailers are considered to have a substantial nexus with Colorado for use tax purposes if they 
meet any of the following criteria:

(a) the retailer maintains a physical presence in Colorado pursuant to §§ 39-26-102(3)(a), 
(d), and (e), C.R.S.; or

(b) in the previous calendar year or the current calendar year, the retailer’s retail sales of 
tangible personal property or services delivered into Colorado exceeds one hundred 
thousand dollars.

(2) Paragraph (1)(b) of this regulation shall not apply in determining a retailer’s obligation to collect 
tax under § 39-26-204(2), C.R.S. and this regulation for any sale made prior to December 1, 
2018.

(3) A retailer that has substantial nexus with Colorado as defined in paragraph (1) of this regulation is
not a “remote seller” as defined in § 39-26-102(7.7), C.R.S. and sales made by any such retailers 
are not “remote sales” as defined in § 39-26-102(7.6), C.R.S.
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Regulation 39-26-102(1.3). Auctioneers. 

(1) Auctioneer's Duty to Collect Tax

(a) Definitions

(i) Auction sale. An auction sale is a sale conducted by an auctioneer who solicits 
offers to purchase tangible personal property or services until the highest offer is 
made.

(ii) Auctioneer. An auctioneer is a person who sells an interest in tangible personal 
property or taxable services owned by the auctioneer or another person at an 
auction sale. An auctioneer has the legal authority to accept on behalf of the 
seller an offer to buy. An interest in property or services includes a lease and 
license. A person selling goods on consignment for another is an auctioneer if 
the sale is made at an auction sale. An auctioneer includes a person who is a 
lienholder, such as storageman, pawnbroker, motor vehicle mechanic, or artisan,
and is selling the property at an auction sale to foreclose such lien.

(b) General Rule. An auctioneer is a retailer and, therefore, must collect, report, and remit 
Colorado sales tax and state-administered local sales taxes to the Department, even if 
the auctioneer is a disclosed agent of the owner.

(c) Calculation of Tax. Sales tax is calculated on the gross price paid by the buyer for the 
purchase of taxable tangible personal property or a taxable service, including any non-
optional fee that only successful bidders must pay in order to purchase taxable goods or 
services, even if the non-optional fee is separately stated from the bid price paid for the 
auctioned item.

(i) Examples.

(A) Auctioneer sells restaurant equipment at auction for $10,000 and 
charges a fee of ten percent of the selling price, which is deducted from 
the total sale proceeds paid by the purchaser(s). Sales tax is calculated 
on the selling price paid by a successful bidder ($10,000), which includes
the ten percent auctioneer's fee. Similarly, the fee is included in the sales
tax calculation if the purchaser is required to pay the fee in addition to the
successful bid price (i.e., tax calculated on $11,000) because the fee is 
included in the overall purchase price of the item.

(B) Auctioneer charges owners or bidders a flat “entrance” fee which 
compensates auctioneer for its cost to rent the auction facilities, 
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advertising, insurance, and/or auctioneer's administrative overhead. The 
fee is collected from sellers and bidders regardless of whether the 
owner's good(s) sells or the bidder purchases auctioned property or a 
service. The fee is not included in the calculation of sales tax because 
the fee is charged regardless of whether there is a taxable sale of goods 
or services. However, the fee is included in the calculation of sales tax if 
the fee (whether a flat or percentage fee) is due and payable only when 
goods or services are sold.

(C) Auctioneer charges buyer a fee for additional services that buyer has the 
option, but is not required, to purchase as part of buyer's purchase of 
auctioned property or services, such as an optional fee for auctioneer's 
or seller's service of delivering the auctioned goods to buyer. The 
optional fee paid by buyer is not included in the sales tax calculation if, 
and only if, the fee is separately stated on the buyer's invoice.

(d) Local Sales Taxes. Auctioneers must collect any applicable state-administered local 
sales taxes. For motor vehicles sold at auction, an auctioneer, who is required to collect 
sales tax (see paragraph (2)(b), below), must collect any applicable state-administered 
local sales taxes, unless the motor vehicle is exempted from such local sales tax by § 29-
2-105(1)(e), C.R.S.

 (2) Exceptions to Auctioneer's Duty to Collect.

(a) Licensed Owners. An auctioneer is not required to collect sales tax if the auctioneer sells 
taxable tangible personal property or services on behalf of a seller who, at the time of the 
sale, holds a current Colorado sales tax license issued by the Department. The licensed 
owner is responsible for collecting, remitting, and filing a sales tax return, even if the 
auctioneer was contractually obligated to the owner to collect the sales tax from the 
purchaser(s) and report and remit the tax to the Department, or if the auctioneer was 
contractually required to remit such collected tax to the licensed owner. An auctioneer, 
who is not legally required to collect tax because the owner is a licensed retailer but is 
collecting such tax on behalf of the owner, must disclose to the successful bidder the 
owner's name and owner's retail license number. An auctioneer who is not legally 
responsible to collect sales tax because the owner is a licensed retailer, but who 
nevertheless collects sales tax from a purchaser must hold the same in trust on behalf of 
the State of Colorado, and is liable for such tax if the tax is not remitted to the licensed 
seller or the Department.

(b) Sales of motor vehicles. An auctioneer is not required to collect sales taxes due on the 
sale of a motor vehicle, unless the auctioneer is licensed by Colorado as an automotive 
dealer pursuant to §12-6-101, et seq., C.R.S and the sale or use of the vehicle is subject 
to tax. § §39-26-113(7)(a) and (b), C.R.S.

(c) Property Exempt from Sales Tax. An auctioneer does not collect sales tax if the property 
is exempt from sales tax, such as an exempt farm close-out sale.

(d) Burden of Proof. An auctioneer has the burden of establishing with objective, verifiable 
documentation an exception or exemption from collecting, reporting, and remitting sales 
tax. An auctioneer selling on behalf of a licensed seller or to a purchaser with a sales tax 
exemption certificate must obtain a copy of the owner's sales tax license or, in the case of
an exempt sale, the sales tax license number or the purchaser's sales tax exemption 
certificate, and verify that such license or certificate is valid at the time of the sale.
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Cross References

1. Please visit the Department's website (www.colorado.gov/tax) for online services available for 
verifying tax licenses and exemption certificates.

2. See 1 CCR 201-4, Rule 39-26-716.4(a) regarding an auctioneer's duties for an exempt farm 
close-out sale.

3. See 1 CCR 201-4, Regulation 39-26-718 for information on charitable entities conducting 
fundraising by auction sales.

4. See 1 CCR 201-4, Regulation 39-26-102(9) for the sourcing of sales for state and local sales tax 
purposes.
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Regulation 39-26-105(1)(A)      TAX RATE

(1)        General Rule. A retailer shall collect the state sales tax and any applicable state-administered 
local sales taxes in effect at the time of the sale. If the retailer’s filing period does not end on the 
day preceding the effective date of a new tax rate, the retailer must compute the amount of sales 
tax on its sales tax return using both tax rates.

(a)        Leases and Credit Sales. Retailers who enter into leases or credit sales subject to 
Colorado sales or use taxes must collect for each such payment the tax at the rate in 
effect when the credit sale or lease was first made.

(i)         Retailers who receive payments for a lease or credit sale after the effective date 
of a change in the tax rate must continue to collect the tax at the original rate. If 
the tax rate decreases and the retailer collects tax at the old rate on payments 
made after the effective date of the new tax rate, the retailer must report on their 
sales tax return the difference between the old tax rate and the new tax rate on 
the “Excess tax collected” line that is applicable to the tax jurisdiction whose tax 
rate has changed. Retailers cannot distribute the excess tax to the reporting 
columns of tax jurisdictions whose rate has not changed. If the tax rate increases
and the retailer collects tax at the old rate on payments made after the effective 
date of the new tax rate, the retailer should contact the Department for 
instructions on filing the return.

(A)        Retailers who renew or extend a lease must collect on each subsequent 
payment the tax rate in effect on the effective date of such renewal or 
extension.

(b)        Deferred Transactions. Retailers who have conditional sales contracts or who remit tax 
on a cash basis for sales that occurred before a change in the tax rate must continue to 
collect the tax related to all payments made after the effective date of the new tax rate at 
the rate in effect at the time the contract or sale was originally made.
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REGULATION 39- 26-102.3

1)         “Doing business in this state” under C.R.S. 39-26-102(3)(a) requires that the person both (1) sell, 
lease, or deliver tangible personal property in this state, and (2) maintain, directly or indirectly, an 
office, salesroom, warehouse, or similar place of business within the state. A person meeting 
these requirements must obtain a Colorado Sales Tax License. “Doing business in this state” 
under C.R.S. 39-26-102(3)(b) requires that the person both (1) sell, lease, or deliver tangible 
personal property in this state, and (2) regularly or systematically make solicitations in this state. 
A person meeting these requirements should obtain a Colorado Retailer's Use Tax License or a 
Colorado Sales Tax License.

2)         The solicitation required by (3)(b)(I) of section 39-26-102 C.R.S. may be by any means 
whatsoever, including advertising by catalogues, newspapers, radio, television, e-mail, or 
Internet. The solicitation need not originate in this state. It is sufficient that the vendor purposefully
direct the advertising into the state, which includes national or international advertising that 
includes Colorado.

3)

a)         Any retailer that does not collect Colorado tax (the “remote retailer”) and is a component 
member of a controlled group of corporations, which controlled group also contains a 
retailer with a physical presence in this state (the “in-state retailer”), is presumed to be 
doing business in the state at a level sufficient to require the collection of Colorado sales 
tax. The remote retailer is required to register with the department and is required to 
collect Colorado sales tax.

b)         The presumption articulated in a) may be rebutted by the remote retailer by a showing 
that the in-state retailer did not engage in any constitutionally sufficient solicitation on 
behalf of the remote retailer.

c)         A retailer that does not collect Colorado tax is a retailer that sells taxable property or 
services to customers who are not exempt from sales tax, but does not collect sales or 
use tax.

d)         In-state retailer includes any member of the controlled group of corporations that has a controlling
interest in any in-state retailer regardless of the form of doing business of the in-state retailer.
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Regulation 39-26-102(9). Retail Sales.

Basis and Purpose. The bases for this regulation are §§ 29-2-105(1)(b), 39-21-112(1), 39-26-102(9), 39-
26-102(10), 39-26-104, 39-26-107, 39-26-204(2), and 39-26-713, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is 
to establish the location to which a retail sale is sourced within Colorado.

(1) “Retail sale” includes all sales on which sales tax is imposed under § 39-26-104, C.R.S. 

(2) A retail sale is a sale to the user or consumer of tangible personal property or service whether the
sale is made by a licensed vendor or is between private parties.

 (3) “Retail sale” includes only those sales made within Colorado. For purposes of determining 
whether a sale of tangible personal property or services, other than leases or rentals controlled by
paragraphs (4), (5), or (6) below, and sales of mobile telecommunications services under §39-26-
104(1)(c), C.R.S., is made within Colorado, the following rules apply:

(a) When tangible personal property or services are received by the purchaser at a business 
location of the seller, the sale is sourced to that business location.

(b) When tangible personal property or services are not received by the purchaser at a 
business location of the seller, the sale is sourced to the location where receipt by the 
purchaser (or the purchaser’s donee, designated as such by the purchaser) occurs, 
including the location indicated by instructions for delivery to the purchaser (or donee), if 
that location is known to the seller.

(c) When subparagraphs (3)(a) and (3)(b) do not apply, the sale is sourced to the location 
indicated by an address for the purchaser that is available from the business records of 
the seller that are maintained in the ordinary course of the seller’s business when use of 
this address does not constitute bad faith.

(d) When subparagraphs (3)(a) through (3)(c) do not apply, the sale is sourced to the 
location indicated by an address for the purchaser obtained during the consummation of 
the sale, including the address of a purchaser’s payment instrument, if no other address 
is available, when use of this address does not constitute bad faith.

(e) When subparagraphs (3)(a) through (3)(d) do not apply, including the circumstance in 
which the seller is without sufficient information to apply the previous rules, then the 
location will be determined by the address from which tangible personal property was 
shipped.

(f) For the purpose of applying subparagraphs (3)(a) through (3)(e), the terms “receive” and 
“receipt” mean:

(i) Taking possession of tangible personal property; or
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(ii) Making first use of services; but not

(iii) Possession by a shipping company on behalf of the purchaser.

(4) Except as provided in paragraph (7) of this regulation, the lease or rental of tangible personal 
property, other than property identified in paragraphs (5) or (6) shall be sourced as follows:

(a) For a lease or rental that requires recurring periodic payments, the first periodic payment 
is sourced the same as a retail sale in accordance with paragraph (3) of this regulation. 
Periodic payments made subsequent to the first payment are sourced to the primary 
property location for each period covered by the payment. The primary property location 
shall be as indicated by an address for the property provided by the lessee that is 
available to the lessor from its records maintained in the ordinary course of business, 
when use of this address does not constitute bad faith. The property location shall not be 
altered by intermittent use at different locations, such as use of business property that 
accompanies employees on business trips and service calls.

(b) For a lease or rental that does not require periodic payments, the payment is sourced the
same as a retail sale in accordance with the provisions of paragraph (3) of this regulation.

(c) This subparagraph does not affect the imposition or computation of sales or use tax on 
leases or rentals based on a lump sum or accelerated basis, or on the acquisition of 
property for lease.

(5) Except as provided in paragraph (7) of this regulation, the lease or rental of motor vehicles, 
trailers, semi-trailers, or aircraft that do not qualify as transportation equipment, as defined in 
paragraph (6), shall be sourced as follows:

(a) For a lease or rental that requires recurring periodic payments, each periodic payment is 
sourced to the primary property location. The primary property location shall be as 
indicated by an address for the property provided by the lessee that is available to the 
lessor from its records maintained in the ordinary course of business, when use of this 
address does not constitute bad faith. The location shall not be altered by intermittent use
at different locations.

(b) For a lease or rental that does not require recurring periodic payments, the payment is 
sourced the same as a retail sale in accordance with the provisions of paragraph (3).

(c) This subparagraph does not affect the imposition or computation of sales or use tax on 
leases or rentals based on a lump sum or accelerated bases, or on the acquisition of 
property for lease.

(6) The retail sale, including the lease or rental, of transportation equipment shall be sourced the 
same as a retail sale in accordance with the provisions of paragraph (3), notwithstanding the 
exclusion of lease or rental in paragraph (3). “Transportation equipment” means any of the 
following:

(a) Locomotives and railcars that are utilized for the carriage of persons or property in 
interstate commerce.

(b) Trucks and truck-tractors with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 10,001 pounds 
or greater, trailers, semi-trailers, or passenger buses that are:

(i) Registered through the International Registration Plan; and
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(ii) Operated under authority of a carrier authorized and certificated by the U.S. 
Department of Transportation or another federal or a foreign authority to engage 
in the carriage of persons or property in interstate or foreign commerce.

(c) Aircraft that are operated by air carriers authorized and certificated by the U.S. 
Department of Transportation or another federal or foreign authority to engage in the 
carriage of persons or property in interstate or foreign commerce.

(d) Containers designed for use on and component parts attached or secured on the items 
set forth in subparagraphs (6)(a) through (6)(c).

(7) Paragraphs (4) and (5) of this regulation do not apply to any payment made pursuant to a lease 
or rental agreement executed prior to December 1, 2018. Lease or rental payments described in 
this paragraph (7) are subject to any state and state-administered local sales taxes applicable to 
the lease or rental agreement at the time of execution. Any state and state-administered local 
sales taxes that did not apply to the lease or rental agreement at the time of execution will not 
apply to any lease payments made pursuant thereto and described in this paragraph (7).
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Regulation 39-26-103.5. Direct Payment Permit.

(1) General Rule. A purchaser who holds a direct payment permit (“Qualified Purchaser”) shall remit 
sales and use taxes directly to the Colorado Department of Revenue (“Department”) and not to 
the retailer. Retailers who sell taxable goods or services to a Qualified Purchaser shall not collect 
sales tax from such purchasers.

(2) Qualified Purchaser Qualifications. An applicant, which can be an entity or individual, for a 
direct payment permit must meet the following conditions.

(a) Dollar Threshold. An applicant must have had a minimum of $7,000,000 in purchases on 
which Colorado state sales or use tax was owed during the twelve months preceding the 
application. The dollar threshold excludes purchases that are exempt from Colorado state
sales and use tax, even if such purchases are subject to state-administered local sales or
use taxes. See, § 29-2-105, C.R.S. for a description of the local tax base. For example, 
the dollar threshold excludes exempt wholesale purchases of inventory. Additionally, 
commodities or tangible personal property that are to be erected upon or affixed to real 
property, such as building and construction materials and fixtures, are not included in the 
dollar threshold. See, § 39-26-103.5(1)(a), C.R.S.

(b) Good Standing. If an applicant has been subject to any tax administered by the 
Department for at least three years prior to the date of the application, an applicant 
cannot have been delinquent in collecting, remitting, or reporting any sales, use, income, 
or other tax administered by the Department for the immediate three years prior to the 
date applicant submits its application. If an applicant has not been subject to any tax 
administered by the Department for at least three years, the applicant cannot have been 
delinquent in collecting, remitting, or reporting taxes for any period after the date the 
applicant was first obligated to collect, remit, and report such taxes. The Department can 
waive this requirement if an applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the director or 
their designee that the failure to comply with the collecting, remitting, and reporting 
requirements was due to reasonable cause. In determining whether reasonable cause 
exists, the Department will consider, among other relevant aggravating and mitigating 
factors, whether:

(i) the failure was due to willful or reckless disregard of applicant’s tax obligations;

(ii) the applicant failed to comply on more than one occasion;

(iii) the magnitude of the failure was significant in terms of dollars or time; and

(iv) the applicant made subsequent efforts to avoid future failures.

(c) Accounting Systems and Practices. An applicant must have in place an accounting 
system and set of practices that are acceptable to the Department. The accounting 

1



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 1 CCR 201-4
Taxpayer Service Division – Tax Group

system and practices must fully and accurately report the amount of sales or use tax to 
be reported on the appropriate sales or use tax return(s), including state-administered 
local tax jurisdictions. The Department may revoke a direct payment permit and may 
make assessments of tax, penalties, or interest if such system or practices are not 
adequate to enable the Department to fully and accurately collect and allocate to cities, 
counties, and other local taxing entities all the sales and use taxes that the Department 
collects on behalf of such entities.

(d) A Qualified Purchaser is not required to be subject to the collection, remittance, and 
reporting requirements for sales taxes in order to obtain such a permit. Rather, a 
Qualified Purchaser can be subject to the collection, remittance, and reporting 
requirements for any tax administered by the Department.

(3) Effective Date. A direct payment permit is effective from the date of issuance until December 31 
of the third year following the year in which it is issued unless sooner revoked.

(4) Purchaser’s Funds. When a Qualified Purchaser uses a direct payment permit, the Qualified 
Purchaser must use its own funds when paying a retailer for a transaction to which the direct 
payment permit applies. Retailers cannot accept payment from persons other than the Qualified 
Purchaser, including payment from the personal funds of an individual if the permit is held in the 
name of an entity. Retailers must collect tax if a Qualified Purchaser is making a purchase with 
funds other than the Qualified Purchaser’s funds and will be liable for unpaid taxes for 
transactions paid in contravention of this subsection (4).

(5) Revocation of Permits.

(a) The Department may revoke a direct payment permit if the Qualified Purchaser violates 
any statute or regulation governing the administration of sales and use taxes, or if in the 
opinion of the Department the Qualified Purchaser becomes otherwise unable to meet 
any of the conditions for holding a direct payment permit. The Department shall provide 
written notice of the revocation by first-class mail to the last known address of the 
Qualified Purchaser thirty days prior to the effective date of such revocation. The notice 
of revocation shall set forth:

(i) the factual and legal basis for revocation,

(ii) advise the Qualified Purchaser of its right to appeal, and

(iii) the date the Department issued the notice.

The Department will issue a denial of a direct payment permit application in the same 
manner.

(b) An applicant who is denied a permit or a Qualified Purchaser whose permit was revoked, 
may appeal the decision by submitting to the Department’s executive director a written 
request for hearing. The notice of appeal must be received by the Department within 
thirty days of the date of issuance of the notice of revocation or denial and contain the 
permit holder’s name, address, permit account number (for revocations), and the legal 
and factual basis explaining why the permit should not be revoked or denied. Qualified 
Purchaser’s notice of appeal shall suspend the effective date of the revocation until a 
final order resolving the appeal is issued by the executive director or the director’s 
designee. The executive director or director’s designee shall conduct a hearing and issue
a final ruling on such appeal within a reasonable time.
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(6) Reporting Requirements.

(a) A Qualified Purchaser holding a direct payment permit must directly remit to the 
Department all state and state-administered city, county and special district sales taxes 
that would have been collected by the retailer had the Qualified Purchaser purchased 
such goods or services without a direct payment permit.

(i) Exceptions. A Qualified Purchaser holding a direct payment permit cannot pay 
county lodging taxes, county short-term rental taxes, and local marketing district 
taxes directly to the Department because such taxes are not sales taxes. Retailer
must collect such taxes from the Qualified Purchaser and remit them to the 
Department. See, § 30-11-107.5 and § 30-11-107.7, C.R.S.

(b) A Qualified Purchaser must report and remit state and state-administered local taxes on 
or before the 20th day of each month following the month the Qualified Purchaser 
purchases taxable goods or services with a direct payment permit.

(c) The vendor must retain a copy of Qualified Purchaser’s direct pay permit.

Cross References

1. See Regulation 1 CCR 201-4, 39-26-102(9) for the sourcing of sales for state and local sales tax 
purposes.
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Regulation 39-26-104(1)(b)(I). Exchanged Tangible Personal Property.

(1) General Rule. When tangible personal property is received by a retailer as part or full payment 
for the sale of tangible personal property, sales tax shall be calculated upon the purchase price of
the tangible personal property sold, minus the fair market value of the tangible personal property 
exchanged by the purchaser, provided the property taken by the retailer in the exchange is to be 
resold in the usual course of the retailer's trade or business. 

(2) Exceptions. The general rule does not apply if:

(a) The property transferred from purchaser, or by a third party on behalf of the purchaser, to
seller is not tangible personal property.

(i) Examples.

(A) Intangible property, such as stock certificates, and real property are not 
subject to sales or use tax.

(B) Services (because they are not property).

(b) Retailer does not resell, in the usual course of its business, the property transferred from 
purchaser.

(i) Examples.

(A) Retailer does not resell the property in a commercially reasonable period.

(B) Retailer takes a used computer from buyer in exchange for the sale of a 
new computer to buyer. Retailer then donates the used computer to a 
school. A donation does not constitute a sale and, therefore, the initial 
exchange does not qualify under the general rule.

(C) Retailer is in the business of selling only construction equipment. Buyer 
exchanges a boat as partial payment of its purchase of a large 
compressor. Retailer cannot reduce the price on which sales tax is 
calculated for the compressor by the fair market value of the boat even if 
the seller resells the boat. The resale of boats is not part of the retailer’s 
usual course of business. Retailer and buyer also do not qualify for the 
vehicle exchange, even though the boat qualifies as a vehicle, because 
both the buyer and retailer must exchange vehicles. Therefore, both the 
retailer, as a licensed vendor, and buyer are liable for the sales tax on 
the purchase of the equipment and the retailer, as a buyer, is liable for 
sales tax on the fair market value of the boat (buyer would also be liable 
for the sales tax on the boat if buyer is a licensed retailer).
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(ii) Exception to the Resale Requirement - Vehicles. The resale requirement does 
not apply if the property transferred (exchanged) by the seller to buyer is a 
vehicle and the property transferred (exchanged) by the buyer to the seller is a 
vehicle. Both vehicles must be subject to licensing, registration, or certification by
the laws of Colorado. “Vehicles” include:

(A) Trailers, semi-trailers, trailer coach,

(B) Special mobile machinery (except such machinery used solely on 
property of the owner),

(C) Vehicles designed primarily to be operated or drawn on public highways, 
(§§ 42-3-103(1) and 104, C.R.S.),

(D) Watercraft (§ 33-13-103, C.R.S.),

(E) Aircraft (Colorado does not license aircraft but Colorado law requires 
aircraft possessed in this state be licensed by FAA) (§ 43-10-114(1), 
C.R.S.).

Purchaser, on whom the obligation to pay sales tax is levied, is the person who 
pays money or other consideration in addition to the exchanged vehicle. If the 
seller is a licensed retailer, then the retailer must collect sales tax from the 
purchaser. Persons who engage in three or more such exchanges may be 
required to obtain a motor vehicle dealer’s license

(c) Exchanges that do not occur at the same time and place. See, § 39-26-104(1)(b).

(i) Examples.

(A) Motor vehicle dealer sells a motor vehicle to buyer, who pays cash. Two 
weeks later, buyer decides to sell another vehicle he owns to the dealer. 
Buyer cannot claim a refund for taxes paid for the first purchase because
the second vehicle was not exchanged as part of the first sale.

(B) Retailer is in the business of leasing equipment. Customer rents a forklift 
for 30 days and retailer and customer agree at the time the lease is 
signed that customer will give retailer, as part of the payment, a used 
compressor that retailer intends to lease to third parties. The exchange 
does not qualify because the use of the forklift occurs over thirty days 
and does not occur at the same time and place as the exchange of the 
compressor. In contrast, a finance lease is treated as a credit sale and 
not as a true lease. An exchange involving a finance lease is treated as 
occurring at the same time and place as the other party’s exchange of 
property.

Cross References

1. For additional requirements regarding the collection of tax for motor vehicles, see § 39-26-113, 
C.R.S.

2. See, § 39-26-104(1)(b)(I)(B), C.R.S. and § 12-6-101, et seq., C.R.S. for laws governing motor 
vehicle dealer licensing.
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Regulation 39-26-105. Remittance of Sales Tax.

Basis and Purpose. The statutory bases for this regulation are §§ 39-21-112(1) and 39-21-119, 39-26-
105, 39-26-107, 39-26-109, 39-26-112, 39-26-118, and 39-26-704(2), C.R.S. The purpose of this 
regulation is to clarify sales tax remittance requirements and conditions under which a retailer is eligible to
deduct a retailer’s service fee from the sales tax they remit.

(1) Retailer Requirements.

(a) A retailer is liable and responsible for tax on the retailer’s taxable sales made during the 
tax period prescribed for the retailer pursuant to 1 CCR 201-4, Regulation 39-26-109, 
calculated using the tax rate in effect at the time of the sale and applied to all taxable 
sales, including all taxable sales made for less than the minimum amount subject to tax 
pursuant to § 39-26-106, C.R.S. A retailer is also liable and responsible, pursuant to § 
39-26-112, C.R.S., for the payment of any tax collected in excess of the tax rate in effect 
at the time of the sale and must remit such excess amount to the Department.

(b) A retailer shall file with the Department a return reporting its sales, including any sales 
exempt from taxation under article 26 of title 39, C.R.S., made during the preceding tax 
period. If a retailer makes no retail sales during its preceding tax period, the retailer must 
file a return reporting zero sales. Returns and any required supplemental forms must be 
completed in full.

(c) A retailer must file returns and remit any tax due to the Department in accordance with 
the filing schedules prescribed by 1 CCR 201-4, Regulation 39-26-109.

(2) Due Date of Returns. Sales tax returns and payments of tax reported thereon are due the 
twentieth day of the month following the close of the tax period. If the twentieth day of the month 
following the close of the tax period is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date shall be 
the next business day.

(3) Retailer’s Service Fee. Except as provided in this paragraph (3), a retailer may, in the remittance
of collected sales tax, deduct and retain a retailer’s service fee in the amount prescribed by § 39-
26-105(1)(c), C.R.S.

(a) If the retailer is delinquent in remitting any portion of the tax due, other than in unusual 
circumstances shown to the satisfaction of the executive director, the retailer shall not 
retain a retailer’s service fee for any portion of the tax for which the retailer is delinquent.

(b) If a retailer has retained a retailer’s service fee pursuant to paragraph (3) of this 
regulation and, subsequent to the applicable due date, owes additional tax for the filing 
period as the result of an amended return or an adjustment made by the Department, the 
retailer shall not be permitted to retain a retailer’s service fee with respect to the 
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additional tax, but the retailer may retain the retailer’s service fee associated with the 
original return, so long as the retailer filed the original return in good faith.

(4) Application. 

(a) The liability and responsibility imposed by § 39-26-105, C.R.S. and this regulation apply 
to any retailer that has substantial nexus with Colorado and is doing business in this 
state, as defined in § 39-26-102(3), C.R.S. Retailers are considered to have a substantial
nexus with Colorado for sales tax purposes if they meet any of the following criteria: 

(i) the retailer maintains a physical presence in Colorado pursuant to §§ 39-26-
102(3)(a), (d), or (e), C.R.S.; or

(ii) in the previous calendar year or the current calendar year, the retailer’s retail 
sales of tangible personal property and services delivered into Colorado exceeds
one hundred thousand dollars.

(b) Paragraph (4)(a)(ii) of this regulation shall not apply in determining a retailer’s liability and
responsibility for tax pursuant to § 39-26-105, C.R.S. and this regulation for any sale 
made prior to December 1, 2018. 

(c) A retailer that has substantial nexus with Colorado as defined in paragraph (4)(a) of this 
regulation is not a “remote seller” as defined in § 39-26-102(7.7), C.R.S. and sales made by any 
such retailers are not “remote sales” as defined in § 39-26-102(7.6), C.R.S.

Cross References

1. Forms, returns, and instructions can be found online at www.colorado.gov/tax.

2. For additional information about excess tax collected by a retailer, see § 39-26-112, C.R.S. and 1 
CCR 201-4, Regulation 39-26-106.

3. For information about electronic funds transfer (EFT) requirements and the timeliness of 
payments made via EFT, see 1 CCR 201-1, Special Regulation 1 Electronic Funds Transfer.

4. For information about dates payments or returns are deemed to have been made, see § 39-21-
119, C.R.S. and 1 CCR 201-1, Regulation 39-21-119.

5. For information about electronic filing, see § 39-21-120, C.R.S. and 1 CCR 201-1, Regulation 39-
21-120.

2



 

 
PHILIP J. WEISER 
Attorney General 
 

NATALIE HANLON LEH 
Chief Deputy Attorney General 
  
ERIC R. OLSON 
Solicitor General 
 

JUNE TAYLOR 
Chief Operating Officer 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  STATE OF COLORADO 
     DEPARTMENT OF LAW 

 

 

 

RALPH L. CARR 

COLORADO JUDICIAL CENTER 

1300 Broadway, 10th Floor 

Denver, Colorado  80203 

Phone (720) 508-6000 

 

 

Office of the Attorney General 

 

 

          
 

Tracking number: 
 

 

Opinion of the Attorney General rendered in connection with the rules adopted by the 

 
 

 
on 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Philip J. Weiser 
Attorney General 

by Eric R. Olson  

Solicitor General 

2018-00586

02/14/2019

1 CCR 201-4

SALES AND USE TAX

The above-referenced rules were submitted to this office on 02/21/2019 as required by section 24-4-103,
C.R.S. This office has reviewed them and finds no apparent constitutional or legal deficiency in their form
or substance.

March 04, 2019 10:47:29

Taxpayer Service Division - Tax Group



Permanent Rules Adopted 
 
Department 

 
 
 
Agency 

 
 

CCR number  

 

Rule title  

 

 

 

Effective date 

Department of Revenue

Taxpayer Service Division - Tax Group

1 CCR 201-4

1 CCR 201-4 SALES AND USE TAX 1 - eff 04/14/2019

04/14/2019

Colorado Register, Vol. 42, No. 6, March 25, 2019



DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Taxpayer Service Division – Tax Group

SALES AND USE TAX

1 CCR 201-4

_________________________________________________________________________

Regulation 39-26-704(2).

(1) All sales which the state of Colorado is prohibited from taxing under the constitution or laws of the
United States or the state of Colorado are exempt, including sales to ambassadors, consuls, and 
their employees who are citizens of the nation they are representing.

(2) Sales involving interstate commerce are exempt only in cases where the tax would be 
unconstitutional.

(3) All sales to railroads, except as provided in C.R.S. 1973, 39-26-710(1)(a) and to other common 
carriers doing an interstate business, to telephone and telegraph companies, and to all other 
agencies engaged in interstate commerce are taxable in the same manner as are sales to other 
persons.
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Regulation 39-28.8-101. Retail Marijuana Definitions.

Basis and Purpose. The basis for this regulation is §§ 39-21-112(1), 39-28.8-101, 39-28.8-205, and 39-
28.8-308, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to establish definitions for terms used in 1 CCR 201-18 
regarding retail marijuana sales tax and retail marijuana excise tax.

With respect to regulations promulgated under Article 28.8 of Title 39, the following terms have the 
following meanings:

(1) Unless the context clearly requires otherwise, terms defined by section 39-28.8-101, C.R.S., 
section 44-12-103, C.R.S., or in Rule R 103 of 1 CCR 212-2 of the Marijuana Enforcement 
Division’s rules related to the Colorado Retail Marijuana Code, shall have the same meanings in 
these regulations as therein defined.

(2) “Affiliated” means being owned or controlled by the same or related interests, where “related 
interests” includes individuals who are related by blood or marriage or entities that are directly or 
indirectly controlled by an entity or individual or related individuals.

(3) “Average Market Rate” shall have the same meaning as defined in subsection 39-28.8-101(1.5), 
C.R.S., and shall be calculated pursuant to Department Regulation 39-28.8-302(5) in the 
following categories:

(a) Bud

(b) Trim

(c) Bud Allocated for Extraction

(d) Trim Allocated for Extraction

(e) Immature Plant

(f) Wet Whole Plant

(g) Seed

(4) “Bud” shall have the same meaning as the product of the “Flowering” stage as set forth by Rule R
103 of 1 CCR 212-2 including the actual flower.

(5) “Bud Allocated for Extraction” means Bud that is designated for the extraction of Retail Marijuana 
Concentrate and not for direct sale to consumers.

(6) “Immature Plant” shall have the same meaning as set forth by Rule R 103 of 1 CCR 212-2.
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(7) “Inventory Tracking System” shall have the same meaning as set forth by Rule R 103 of 1 CCR 
212-2.

(8) “Marijuana” means Medical Marijuana or Retail Marijuana.

(9) “Retail Marijuana” shall have the same meaning as defined in subsection 39-28.8-101(7), C.R.S.

(10) “Retail Marijuana Concentrate” shall have the same meaning as “Retail Marijuana Concentrate” 
as set forth by Rule R 103 of 1 CCR 212-2.

(11) “Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility” shall have the same meaning as defined in subsection 39-
28.8-101(8), C.R.S.

(12) “Retail Marijuana Excise Tax” or “Excise Tax” means excise tax imposed by Part 3 of Article 28.8 
of Title 39, C.R.S.

(13) “Retail Marijuana Excise Tax Return” means the excise tax return upon which all sales or 
Transfers of Retail Marijuana subject to Retail Marijuana Excise Tax and the amount of Retail 
Marijuana Excise Tax are reported.

(14) “Retail Marijuana Plant” means a plant of the genus cannabis, other than an Immature Plant, 
whether growing or harvested, that is cultivated by a licensed Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility.

(15) “Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility” shall have the same meaning as defined in 
subsection 39-28.8-101(10), C.R.S.

(16) “Retail Marijuana Sales Tax” means sales tax imposed by Part 2 of Article 28.8 of Title 39, C.R.S.

(17) “Retail Marijuana Sales Tax Return” means the sales tax return upon which all sales of Retail 
Marijuana and Retail Marijuana Products and the amount of state and local Retail Marijuana 
Sales Tax are reported.

(18) “Retail Sales Tax” means the sales tax imposed by Part 1 of Article 26 of Title 39, C.R.S.

(19) “Test Period” means the period of time used to calculate the Average Market Rate. The Test 
Period shall be each November 1st to the subsequent January 31st, each February 1st to the 
subsequent April 30th, each May 1st to the subsequent July 31st, and each August 1st to the 
subsequent October 31st.

(20) “Transfer(s)(ed)(ing)” means to grant, convey, hand over, assign, sell, exchange, or barter, in any
manner or by any means, with or without consideration, any Retail Marijuana or Retail Marijuana 
Product from one licensee to another licensee or to a consumer. A Transfer includes the 
movement of Retail Marijuana or Retail Marijuana Product from one licensed premises to 
another, even if both premises are contiguous, and even if both premises are owned by a single 
entity or individual or group of individuals.

(21) “Trim” means any part of a Retail Marijuana Plant other than Bud or Wet Whole Plant. Trim 
includes “sweet leaf” or “sugar leaf”.

(22) “Trim Allocated for Extraction” means Trim that is designated for the extraction of Retail 
Marijuana Concentrate and not for direct sale to consumers.

(23) “Unaffiliated” means not being owned or controlled by the same or related interests, where 
“related interests” includes individuals who are related by blood or marriage or entities that are 
directly or indirectly controlled by an entity or individual or related individuals. 
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(24) “Unprocessed Retail Marijuana” means all Retail Marijuana that is first Transferred by a Retail 
Marijuana Cultivation Facility to a Retail Marijuana Store or a Retail Marijuana Products 
Manufacturing Facility, even though it may have gone through some processing, and even though
it may be subject to further processing by another licensee.

(25) “Wet Whole Plant” means a Retail Marijuana Plant that is cut off just above the roots and is not 
trimmed, dried, or cured. The weight of the Wet Whole Plant includes all bud, leaves, stems, and 
stalk. The Wet Whole Plant must be weighed within 2 hours of the plant being harvested. The 
plant must not undergo any further processing prior to being weighed, and tax must be paid on 
the weight of the entire unprocessed plant.
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Regulation 39-28.8-302. Retail Marijuana Excise Tax.

Basis and Purpose. The basis for this regulation is §§ 39-21-112(1), 39-28.8-101, 39-28.8-301, 39-28.8-
302, and 39-28.8-308, C.R.S. The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance regarding the 
imposition and calculation of retail marijuana excise tax and the record keeping requirements therefor.

(1) Incidence of Tax. The Excise Tax is imposed upon the Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility, 
which shall pay the Excise Tax to the Department on the first Transfer of Retail Marijuana to a 
Retail Marijuana Store or a Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility. No Excise Tax is 
imposed on the Transfer of Retail Marijuana from one Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility to 
another Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility. In the case of such Transfer, the Excise Tax is 
imposed on the subsequent Transfer of the Retail Marijuana to a Retail Marijuana Store or a 
Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility.

(2) Exempt Transfers. The Transfer of Retail Marijuana to a Retail Marijuana Testing Facility for 
testing purposes is exempt from Retail Marijuana Excise Tax so long as the marijuana is 
destroyed by the Retail Marijuana Testing Facility during or following the testing. 

(3) Inventory Tracking System. When a Transfer is entered into the Inventory Tracking System, all 
Transfers between Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana business licensees must be entered in a manner 
that allows the contract price to be recorded in such Inventory Tracking System. The contract 
price recorded in the Inventory Tracking System must be  the actual contract price as described 
in paragraph 4(b) of this regulation. 

(4) Calculation and Payment of Tax.

(a) The method for calculating Retail Marijuana Excise Tax depends on the relationship 
between Retail Marijuana business licensees. 

(i) Transfers from Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facilities to Unaffiliated Retail 
Marijuana Stores or Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing 
Facilities. 

(A) If the first Transfer from a Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility is to an 
Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana Store or Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana 
Product Manufacturing Facility, the Excise Tax is calculated based on the
actual contract price, as defined in paragraph (4)(b) of this regulation, of 
the Retail Marijuana Transferred. 

(B) If no contract price is established at the time of the first Transfer 
referenced in paragraph (4)(a)(i)(A), the Excise Tax is calculated based 
on the Average Market Rate of the Retail Marijuana Transferred. 
Examples of such Transfers include:

1
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(I) a temporary Transfer, which does not constitute a sale, of Retail 
Marijuana from a Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility to an 
Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility that 
will process or manufacture the Retail Marijuana before returning
it to the Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility or to a Retail 
Marijuana Store Affiliated with the Retail Marijuana Cultivation 
Facility; or

(II) a Transfer of Retail Marijuana from a Retail Marijuana Cultivation
Facility to an Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana Store for which a price
is not established at the time of Transfer, but instead depends 
upon the revenue generated from the subsequent sale of the 
Retail Marijuana to the end consumer.

(ii) Transfers between Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facilities of Retail 
Marijuana Harvested for Sale or for Extraction.

(A) If the first Transfer of Retail Marijuana is between Unaffiliated Retail 
Marijuana Cultivation Facilities, the Excise Tax is calculated based on 
the contract price, as defined in paragraph (4)(b) of this regulation, 
provided the Retail Marijuana had, at the time of Transfer between 
Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facilities, been harvested for 
sale at a Retail Marijuana Store or for extraction by a Retail Marijuana 
Product Manufacturing Facility, and underwent no further cultivation 
following the Transfer between Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana Cultivation 
Facilities.

(B) The Excise Tax calculated pursuant to paragraph (4)(a)(ii)(A) of this 
regulation shall be imposed on the first Transfer of the Retail Marijuana 
from the Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility to a Retail Marijuana Store 
or Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility.

(C) If no contract price is established prior to the first Transfer between 
Unaffiliated Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facilities, the Excise Tax is 
calculated on the Average Market Rate at the time of the Transfer. An 
example of such a transfer includes, but is not limited to:

(I) a transfer of Retail Marijuana between Unaffiliated Retail 
Marijuana Cultivation Facilities for which a price is not 
established at the time of Transfer, but instead depends on the 
revenue generated from the subsequent Transfer to a Retail 
Marijuana Store or Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing 
Facility.

(iii) Affiliated Retail Marijuana business licensees.

(A) Except as provided in paragraph (4)(a)(ii) of this regulation, if the first 
Transfer from a Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility is to an Affiliated 
Retail Marijuana Store or an Affiliated Retail Marijuana Product 
Manufacturing Facility, the Excise Tax is calculated based on the 
Average Market Rate of the Retail Marijuana Transferred.

(b) Contract Price. The contract price is the invoice price charged by a Retail Marijuana 
Cultivation Facility to each licensed purchaser for each Transfer of Unprocessed Retail 
Marijuana, exclusive of any tax that is included in the written invoice price, and exclusive 

2
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of any discount or other reduction. In the case of multiple invoices reflecting multiple 
prices for the same transaction, the contract price used to calculate the tax is the highest 
such price. For the purpose of this paragraph (4)(b), the invoice price charged includes all
consideration the seller receives from the buyer in whatever form and regardless of the 
time of receipt.

(c) Calculation of Average Market Rate. The Department will calculate the Average Market 
Rate using reported sales of each category during the Test Period. The Department will 
determine the best methodology to arrive at the Average Market Rate. The Department 
may, from time to time, change its method of calculating the Average Market Rate if, in 
the judgment of the Department, such change is necessary to arrive at the most accurate
Average Market Rate given the market conditions.

(d) In the case of Retail Marijuana Excise Tax calculated using Average Market Rate, the 
Excise Tax shall be calculated based on the category of Retail Marijuana (i.e., Bud, Trim, 
Immature Plant, Wet Whole Plant, Seed, Bud Allocated for Extraction, or Trim Allocated 
for Extraction) being Transferred. The provisions of this paragraph (4)(d) apply only to 
Excise Tax calculated using Average Market Rate.

(i) For the categories of Bud, Trim, Bud Allocated for Extraction, and Trim Allocated 
for Extraction, the Excise Tax is computed on the total weight of the Retail 
Marijuana Transferred. If multiple categories of Retail Marijuana are included in 
the Transfer, the Excise Tax shall be calculated separately for each category of 
Retail Marijuana included in the Transfer by separately calculating the total 
weight of the Retail Marijuana included in each category and multiplying the 
weight by the Average Market Rate of each category and the applicable Excise 
Tax rate. Notwithstanding this rule, inconsequential amounts of Bud inadvertently
included in a Transfer that is otherwise Trim shall be treated as Trim and not as 
Bud.

(A) Retail Marijuana categorized for the purpose of Excise Tax calculation as
Bud Allocated for Extraction or Trim Allocated for Extraction may not be 
subsequently Transferred for direct sale to consumers unless it has first 
been subject to extraction as allocated. 

(B) If Bud Allocated for Extraction or Trim Allocated for Extraction is 
subsequently Transferred for direct sale to consumers and has not been 
subjected to extraction, the Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility shall 
amend the Retail Marijuana Excise Tax Return upon which the Excise 
Tax was initially paid in order to recalculate the Excise Tax, and any 
applicable penalty and interest, using the Average Market Rates for the 
category of Bud or Trim, respectively. 

(C) The Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility shall notify, in 
writing, the Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility of any subsequent 
Transfer of Bud Allocated for Extraction or Trim Allocated for Extraction 
that has not first been subjected to extraction within seven (7) days of the
Transfer by the Retail Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility. Any 
failure by a Retail Marijuana Production Manufacturing Facility to notify a 
Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility in accordance with this paragraph (4)
(d)(i)(C) shall not relieve the Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility of 
liability for any additional tax, penalty, and interest due pursuant to 
paragraph (4)(d)(i)(B) of this regulation.

(ii) The Retail Marijuana Excise Tax for Immature Plants is calculated on the total 
number of Immature Plants being sold or Transferred.

3
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(iii) The Retail Marijuana Excise Tax for Wet Whole Plants is calculated on the total 
weight of the entire Retail Marijuana Wet Whole Plant. The weight of the entire 
Retail Marijuana Wet Whole Plant is subject to the Excise Tax because the 
Average Market Rate for Wet Whole Plant already reflects an allowance for water
weight and waste. The Wet Whole Plant may not undergo any further processing 
(i.e., drying the plant and subsequently selling separately the Bud and Trim) prior
to being weighed when using the Wet Whole Plant basis. The Wet Whole Plant 
must be harvested and packaged in the same day.

(A) The Retail Marijuana Wet Whole Plant must be weighed within 2 hours of
the plant being harvested and without any further processing, including 
any artificial drying such as increasing the ambient temperature of the 
room or any other form of drying, curing, or trimming. The Retail 
Marijuana Excise Tax must be calculated and paid on the total Wet 
Whole Plant weight. If the Wet Whole Plant is not weighed within 2 hours
of being harvested or is subjected to further processing before being 
weighed, the Excise Tax on such plant cannot be calculated and paid on 
the Wet Whole Plant basis and must instead be calculated and paid at 
the Bud and Trim rates.

(B) A Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility that calculates and pays the Excise
Tax using the Wet Whole Plant rate must maintain records of the time 
each Wet Whole Plant (identified by its RFID tag) was harvested and 
weighed and the weight of each Wet Whole Plant. The records must be 
in writing and created contemporaneously with the harvesting and 
weighing.

(iv) The Retail Marijuana Excise Tax for seeds is calculated on the total number of 
seeds being Transferred.

(v) The Retail Marijuana Excise Tax for Retail Marijuana Concentrate produced by a 
Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility shall be calculated either pursuant to 
paragraph (4)(d)(i) of this regulation based on the weight of Bud Allocated for 
Extraction and/or Trim Allocated for Extraction used in the extraction or pursuant 
to paragraph (4)(d)(iii) of this regulation based on the weight of Wet Whole 
Plant(s) used in the extraction.

(5) Evidence of Payment of Tax.

(a) Both the Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility and the first purchaser or transferee shall 
maintain documentation sufficient to determine the Excise Tax due for the Transfer. Such
documentation must include:

(i) the name and license number of the Retail Marijuana Cultivation Facility, 

(ii) the name and license number of first purchaser or transferee, 

(iii) the category of Retail Marijuana Transferred, 

(iv) the date of Transfer, 

(v) the weight or quantity, as applicable, of the Retail Marijuana Transferred, and 

(vi) the contract price for the Transfer, if applicable.

4
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Cross References

1. See §§ 29-2-114 and 32-1-1004, C.R.S. and the applicable local ordinance or resolution for 
information about the application of any local excise taxes to Retail Marijuana Transfers.
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RULE 6 RULES FOR THE APPLICATION FOR A DRIVER’S LICENSE OR IDENTIFICATION 
CARD FOR U.S. CITIZENS AND INDIVIDUALS WHO CAN DEMONSTRATE PERMANENT 
LAWFUL PRESENCE AND COLORADO RESIDENCY

Purpose

The purpose of this rule is to set forth regulations for the types of documents the Department will accept 
as proof of the applicant’s identity, date of birth, social security number, residency, and U.S. citizenship or
permanent lawful presence when applying for a driver’s license or identification card. Additionally, this 
rule describes the process the applicant will be required to follow for completing the application and what 
will occur if an application is incomplete or denied, including the process the applicant may use to request
a hearing if their application is denied.

Statutory Authority

The statutory bases for this regulation are sections 24-4-103, 24-72.1-102(5), 24-72.1-103, 42-1-204, 42-2-
107, 42-2-108, and 42-2-302, C.R.S.

Incorporation By Reference Of Federal Law

The Department adopts, as part of Rule 6 of the Department of Revenue Regulations, the Illegal 
Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996, Pub. L. 104-208, section 384, 110 Stat. 
3009 (Sept. 30, 1996), referred to in this Rule 6.  Such Act is published by the Department of Homeland 
Security in full in the United States Statutes at Large, Volume 110, page 3009.  Rule 6 does not include 
any later amendments or editions of such Act. 

A copy of such Act is available for a reasonable charge from the Colorado Department of Revenue, 1881 
Pierce Street, Suite 136, Lakewood, Colorado 80214.  A copy of such Act is maintained by the Colorado 
Department of Revenue and may be inspected by contacting the Records Custodian at the Colorado 
Department of Revenue, 1881 Pierce Street, Suite 136, Lakewood, Colorado 80214 during normal 
business hours.  The incorporated material may also be examined at any state publications depository 
library.  A copy, including a certified copy, of such Act is also available from the United States Citizenship 
and Immigration Services (“USCIS”) Historical Reference Library at 111 Massachusetts Avenue NW, First
Floor (MS2180), Washington, DC 20529-2180. 
 
1.0 Definitions

1.1 Applicant–Any natural person applying to the Department for a Colorado driver’s license or 
identification card who is a U.S. citizen or who can demonstrate permanent lawful presence in 
the U.S. and residency in Colorado.

1.2 Department–The Colorado Department of Revenue.

1.3 Document–An original document certified by the issuing agency, an amended original document 
certified by the issuing agency, or a true copy certified by the issuing agency, excluding 
miniature, wallet sized, or photocopies of documents.

1.4 Driver’s License–A driver’s license, minor driver’s license, or instruction permit.

1.5 Exceptions Processing–The procedure the Department has established for persons who are 
unable, for reasons beyond their control, to present all necessary documents and must rely 
on alternative documents to establish identity, date of birth, SSN, or U.S. citizenship.

1.6 Full Legal Name –The applicant’s first name, middle name(s), and last name or surname, 
without use of initials or nicknames.

1.7 Hearing–Hearing before a Department Administrative Hearing Officer.



1.8 Identification Card– A document issued by A Department of Motor Vehicles or its equivalent 
that contains the applicant’s full legal name, full facial digital photograph, date of birth, and sex,
but does not confer upon the bearer the right to operate a motor vehicle.

1.9 Identity–The verifiable characteristics that when taken together make a person unique 
and identifiable. Evidence of identity includes proof of name, date of birth, and physical 
characteristics and must include a verifiable photograph unless approved through 
Exceptions Processing.

1.10 Incomplete Application–An application for a Colorado driver’s license or identification card
that does not satisfy federal and state requirements for the issuance of a Colorado driver’s
license or identification card.

1.11 Lawful Presence– The status of a person who demonstrates U.S. citizenship or permanent 
lawful presence.

1.12 SAVE– The Department of Homeland Security Systematic Alien Verification for 
Entitlements system, managed by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services of the 
Department of Homeland Security.

1.13 SSA – The U.S. Social Security Administration.

1.14 SSN – The Social Security Number issued by SSA.

1.15 SSOLV–The Social Security Online Verification system managed by SSA.

1.16 USCIS – United States Citizenship and Immigration Services 

2.0 Proof of Identity, Date of Birth, and Lawful Presence

2.1 Every application for a Colorado driver’s license or identification card shall include the applicant’s 
full legal name, date of birth, sex, SSN, and address of principal residence.

2.2 An applicant must provide source documents that are secure and verifiable as defined in 
section 24-72.1-102(5), C.R.S.

2.3 The following documents or combination of documents are acceptable to establish identity, date
of birth, and lawful presence:

2.3.1 A valid, unexpired Colorado driver’s license or identification card except that a Colorado 
driver’s license or identification card issued under the Colorado Road and Community 
Safety Act, section 42-2-501 et seq., C.R.S. is not acceptable.

2.3.2 A valid, unexpired U.S. passport verified using U.S. Passport Verification Services.

2.3.3 A certified copy of a birth certificate filed with a State Office of Vital Statistics 
or equivalent agency in the applicant’s state of birth.

2.3.4 A Consular Report of Birth Abroad (CRBA) issued by the U.S. Department of State 
(Form FS-240, DS-1350, or FS-545).

2.3.5 A valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551) issued by the Department of
Homeland Security (DHS) or USCIS.

2.3.6 A Certificate of Naturalization issued by DHS or USCIS (Form N-550 or N-570).

2.3.7 A Certificate of Citizenship issued by DHS or USCIS (Form N-560 or N-561).

2.3.8 A valid unexpired driver’s license or identification card verified with the state of issuance.



2.3.9 Such other documents as determined by the Department consistent with the REAL ID 
Act.

2.4 To establish a name other than the name that appears on a source document (for example 
through marriage, adoption, court order or other mechanism permitted by state law or regulation),
the Department shall require evidence of the name change through the presentation of 
documents issued by a court, governmental body, or other entity as determined by the 
Department.  

3.0 Social Security Requirements

3.1 An applicant must provide evidence of his or her SSN by presenting one of the following 
documents bearing the applicant’s full SSN:

3.1.1 An SSA account number card,

3.1.2 A W–2 form,

3.1.3 An SSA–1099 form,

3.1.4 A non-SSA–1099 form, or

3.1.5 A pay stub with the applicant’s name and SSN on it.

3.2        An applicant’s SSN shall be verified using SSOLV.

4.0 Address of Principal Residence in Colorado

4.1 To document the address of principal residence in Colorado, an applicant must present at least 
two documents that include the applicant's name and address of principal residence. Examples 
include, but are not limited to: utility bill, credit card statements, pay stub or earnings statement, 
rent receipt, telephone bill, or bank statement.

4.2 A Colorado street address must be displayed except as provided below:

4.2.1 An alternative address may be displayed for individuals for whom a State law, 
regulation, or the procedures of the Department permit display of an alternative address.

4.2.2 An alternative address may be displayed for individuals who satisfy any of the following:

4.2.2.1 If the individual is enrolled in a State address confidentiality program, which 
allows victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, stalking, or 
a severe form of trafficking, to keep, obtain and use alternative addresses; and 
provides that the address of such person must be kept confidential, or other 
similar program; or

4.2.2.2 If the individual is entitled to have their address suppressed under state or 
federal law or suppressed by a court order including an administrative order 
issued by a State or Federal court; or

4.2.2.3 If the individual is protected from disclosure of information pursuant to section 
384 of the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996.

4.2.3 In areas where a number and street name has not been assigned for U.S. mail 
delivery, an address convention used by the U.S. Postal Service is acceptable.

5.0 Qualifications for Issuance of a Duplicate Driver’s License

5.1 Applicants may apply for a duplicate of an existing driver’s license as provided below:



5.1.1 Applicants for a duplicate credential who are within Colorado must appear in person and 
certify, under penalty of perjury, that the previous credential was lost, stolen, or destroyed by 
completing the “Request for Duplicate Instruction Permit/Driver’s License” (DR2989) form 
provided by the Department.

5.1.2 Applicants for a duplicate credential who are out of state must submit, by mail, the “Request 
for Duplicate Instruction Permit/Driver’s License” (DR2989) form provided by the Department 
on which the applicant must certify, under penalty of perjury, that the previous credential was
lost, stolen, or destroyed.

5.1.2.1 Duplicates by mail will be processed only for applicants who are out of state and 
provide an out of state mailing address.

5.1.3 Only two duplicate credentials may be issued per renewal period unless additional duplicates
are approved by the Department. 

6.0 Process for Complete Application

6.1 When an applicant has completed the required application and met the standards established in 
this rule, the applicant will be required to review and verify the information on the application by 
signing a “signature capture device”; a fingerprint will be captured; and a photograph of the 
applicant will be taken. A temporary Colorado driver’s license or identification card will be issued. 
The permanent Colorado driver’s license or identification card will be mailed to the applicant at the 
address provided on the applicant’s application.

7.0       Process for Incomplete Application

7.1 If an application is incomplete or the applicant has failed to provide documents verifiable by the 
Department for identity, date of birth, lawful presence, SSN, or residency in Colorado the 
Department shall provide a Notice of Incomplete Application unless the Department provides a 
Notice of Denial per Section 8.0 below.

7.2 The Notice of Incomplete Application shall include a notation of the information that is incomplete or
of the documentation that is unverifiable. If the authenticity of a document cannot be verified, then 
an application may be considered incomplete and additional documentation may be required, or the
applicant may be referred to Exceptions Processing. An applicant may return to the Department 
with additional documentation prior to being denied a Colorado driver’s license or identification 
card.

7.3 Any applicant who has received a Notice of Incomplete Application and believes he or she has 
provided sufficient documentation to establish identity, date of birth, lawful presence, or SSN may 
proceed with Exceptions Processing.

7.4 Any applicant who has received a Notice of Incomplete Application and believes he or she has 
provided sufficient documentation to establish identity, date of birth, lawful presence, SSN, or 
residency may request a Notice of Denial and contest the decision through the process described 
in section 9.0 below.

8.0       Denial of Applications

8.1 If an application is incomplete or the applicant has failed to provide documents verifiable by the 
Department for identity, date of birth, lawful presence, SSN, or residency, the Department may 
provide a Notice of Denial.

8.2 Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to prevent the Department from denying an application
on the basis that an applicant has presented documents that are fraudulent or that are not secure 
and verifiable pursuant to section 24-72.1-102(5), C.R.S.

8.3 Nothing in this regulation restricts or prohibits the Department from verifying any document 



presented by an applicant.

8.4 An application shall be denied if the applicant presents fraudulent or altered documents or commits 
any other fraud in the application process.

9.0        Hearing and Final Agency Action

9.1 An Applicant who has received a Notice of Denial may, within 60 days of the date of the Notice of 
Denial, request a hearing on the denial by filing a written request for hearing with the Hearings 
Section of the Department at the address specified on the Notice of Denial..

9.2 Hearings shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the State Administrative Procedure Act 
and the provisions of Title 42 of the Colorado Revised Statutes.

9.3 The only issue at the hearing shall be whether the applicant has satisfied federal and state 
requirements for the issuance of a Colorado driver’s license or identification card.

9.4 The hearing officer shall issue a written decision. If the hearing officer finds that the applicant has 
not satisfied federal and state requirements for the issuance of a Colorado driver’s license or 
identification card, then the denial shall be sustained. If the hearing officer finds that the applicant 
has satisfied federal and state requirements for the issuance of a Colorado driver’s license or 
identification card, then the denial shall be rescinded and the Department shall issue the Colorado 
driver’s license or identification card.

9.5 The decision by the hearing officer shall constitute final agency action, and is subject to judicial 
review as provided by section 24-4-106, C.R.S.
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DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Division of Motor Vehicles

DRIVER’S LICENSE – DRIVER CONTROL 

1 CCR 204-32

RULE 1 SEX DESIGNATION FOR DRIVER LICENSES, IDENTIFICATION CARDS, 
AND IDENTIFICATION DOCUMENTS

BASIS, PURPOSE, and STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The purpose of the rule is to ensure the accuracy of the sex designation on driver licenses, identification 
cards, and identification documents issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles. The rule authorizes 
individuals to obtain a correct sex designation on their license, identification card, or identification 
document. The rule also ensures that the Division of Motor Vehicles collects and maintains accurate sex 
designation data.

Pursuant to the rule, an applicant may choose from one of three sex designations, including female, male, 
and intersex. Under the rule, the holder of an existing license, identification card, or identification document 
may amend their sex designation using a form created by the Department, which form requires confirmation
from a licensed treating medical or behavioral healthcare provider that the individual has received 
appropriate clinical treatment for their correct sex. The rule does not require that an individual undergo any 
specific surgery, treatment, clinical care, or behavioral healthcare. The rule also does not require that the 
treating medical or behavioral healthcare provider be licensed by the State of Colorado, and may instead 
be licensed in another jurisdiction.

The rule is consistent with a recent Colorado federal district court decision ordering the U.S. Department of 
State to issue a passport with an intersex sex designation to a Colorado citizen. See Zzyym v. Pompeo, 
Case No. 15-CV-2362-RBJ, 2018 WL 4491434 (D. Colo. Sept. 19, 2018). Adopting the rule allowing the 
designation will also make the Division of Motor Vehicle’s practices consistent with American Association 
of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) Card Design Standards as well as the practices of four other 
states and the District of Columbia.

The statutory authorities for the rule are sections 24-4-103, 24-4-104, 42-1-201, 42-1-204, 42-2-107, 42-2-
108, 42-2-302, 42-2-303, 42-2-403, 42-2-505, C.R.S.

1.0 Definitions

1.1 Department – The Colorado Department of Revenue

1.2 Sex or Gender – For purposes of Article 2 of Title 42, and all rules, regulations, and forms related to
Article 2 of Title 42, "sex" or "gender" means female, male, or intersex.

2.0 Changing a Sex Designation

2.1 Before changing the sex designation on a driver’s license, identification card, or identification
document issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles, the Department must:

2.1.1 Confirm that the name on the driver's license, identification card, or identification 
document and the name of the individual for whom the change is requested, match or can 
be linked through submitted documentation.



2.1.2 Receive a “Change of Sex Designation” (DR2083) form completed by a licensed treating 
medical or behavioral healthcare provider confirming the individual has received 
appropriate clinical treatment for their correct sex. The form must be signed and include 
the provider's license or certificate number and the issuing U.S. State/Foreign Country.

3.0 Sex Designation Changes Must Be Processed in Person

3.1 Requests for a change of sex designation must be processed in person, at a Driver’s License 
Office. Online renewal and renewal by mail cannot be used to change the sex designation on a 
Colorado driver license, identification card, or identification document.

4.0 No Surgery, Treatment, Clinical Care, or Behavioral Healthcare Requirements

4.1 Nothing in this rule should be read to require an individual to undergo any specific surgery, 
treatment, clinical care, or behavioral healthcare to change the sex designation on a Colorado 
driver license, identification card, or identification document.
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3.601 – All jockeys who intend to ride at a recognized race meet shall be required to show 
written documentation of a complete physical examination by a licensed physician affirming 
fitness to participate as a jockey and must include a baseline concussion test.  This examination 
must have taken place within a thirty (30) day period prior to the start of the meet at which the 
rider intends to participate.  The board may waive the thirty (30) day requirement for riders that 
can provide written proof of a physical and baseline concussion test within one year that meets 
the requirements of this rule.

4.713 – Effective January 1, 2020, the Racing Secretary shall ensure that the foal certificates for 
all Thoroughbred horses entered to race that were foaled in 2018, or thereafter, have a “Digital 
Tattoo.”  This Digital Tattoo shall indicate that the Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau has 
confirmed the identity of the horse and uploaded updated digital photographs to the breed 
registry database.

5.314 – Medication Stacking and Combined Use

(a) The concurrent use, or stacking, of medications or unauthorized substances bearing 
similar pharmacological properties and/or effects shall not be permitted.  No blood or 
urine sample shall have two or more substances bearing similar pharmacological 
properties and/or effects present at any time, without regard to whether any detected 
substances are found by the primary testing laboratory at or below any established 
regulatory threshold. Medications and unauthorized substances shall be deemed to have 
similar properties or effects if they would be classified under the same subsection of Rule
5.300.  

(b) The combined use of medications or unauthorized substances shall not be permitted.  No 
blood or urine sample shall have any combination of substances known to have any 
adverse or performance enhancing effect at any time, regardless of whether any detected 
substances are found by the primary testing laboratory at or below any established 
regulatory threshold.  

(c) This Rule 5.314 shall not apply when:

a. The substances detected are NSAIDS and would be addressed by NSAID stacking
as detailed by Rule 5.312; 

b. Any concurrent use of medications bearing similar pharmacological properties 
and/or effects or combined used of medication known to have any adverse or 
performance enhancing effect has been approved in advance by the Division 
veterinarian.

(d) Violations of this Rule 5.314 shall be penalized as a Class A medication violation as 
prescribed by Rule 5.441.
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6.114 – The Director may, upon written request from a racing association, order the release of 
funds credited to the horse purse trust account from the source market fee to the requesting 
association for the limited purposes of ensuring the continuity of racing operations or Capital 
Improvements to the licensed racing facility.  All requests shall contain a statement that the 
horsemen’s association has been consulted and has approved the release of funds to the racing 
association, a brief statement of the issue for which the funds are requested and shall be 
accompanied by documentation evidencing the cost incurred for resolving the issue or proposed 
cost of the improvement. The Director may approve, in any fraction or in full, or deny the 
request and may include any oversight provisions or conditions the Director sees fit to include in 
granting the request. Any order approving the release of funds must be accepted by the 
requesting association prior to the funds being released.

11.110 – An association shall adopt, have posted, and implement a protocol for education, 
evaluation, diagnosis, and management of concussion of all participants exposed to potential or 
actual head trauma which shall be approved by the Commission. At a minimum, the protocol 
shall include:

(a) Each jockey shall acknowledge in writing that they have been made aware of the 
concussion protocols in place for the facility at which they are riding;

(b) A minimum assessment shall include the most current Sport Concussion Assessment 
Tool examination, when necessary, and be performed by a medical professional 
authorized in that jurisdiction to perform such evaluation;

(c) Each jockey shall obtain a baseline concussion test to be submitted with the physical 
fitness forms.

(d) A return-to-ride and return-to-work guideline shall be established in order to clear a 
participant who has been concussed, or is believed to have been concussed, once the 
participant is declared fit-to-ride or fit-to-work by a medical professional authorized 
to do so; and,

(e) The Stewards shall be notified when a jockey is not permitted to ride and when the 
jockey has been authorized to return to riding.

11.404 – Transmitting any race information through the use of a telephone or other device at the 
racetrack or simulcast facility is prohibited, unless express authorization is granted by the 
Commission or Director.

11.465 – The association shall develop a hazardous weather and lightning protocol to be 
approved by the Commission which shall include the use of an early warning detection system. 
The association shall designate a person responsible for monitoring the system who shall notify 
the Stewards if conditions exist that warrant delay and/or cancellation of a performance and/or 
the notification to the public of such threatening weather conditions.  The Stewards shall 
commence a race delay and/or cancellation when lightning is detected within an 8 mile radius of 
the racetrack which shall remain in effect until a minimum of 30 minutes has passed since the 
last strike is observed within an 8 mile radius.
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12.127 – At the start of the business day, an additional simulcast facility shall have adequate 
resources on premises to cash winning pari-mutuel tickets or vouchers issued by the facility. 
Upon tender of a winning pari-mutuel ticket or voucher issued by the facility for payment, an 
additional simulcast facility is required to pay out, in cash, the winning pari-mutuel ticket or 
voucher issued by the facility up to $5,000, unless the facility has depleted its adequate 
resources. Any remaining amount or ticket or voucher over $5,000 may be paid by check within 
seven days of tender for payment. “Adequate resources” are defined as: 50% of daily average 
wagering handle or $5,000, whichever is greater.

12.178 – Vouchers not cashed by the end of the race meet shall be valid for a minimum of one 
year from the date issued. At that time, the value of any uncashed vouchers shall revert to the 
association that issued them. The expiration policy for all vouchers shall be published daily in 
the racing program and posted at the racing facility.

12.400 – All contracts governing participation in interstate common pools, along with the host 
state’s commission approval, shall be approved by the Commission. Request shall be submitted 
to the Division at least two business days prior to the effective date of such contract and/or 
agreement. The request shall include the following minimum information:  name of the host 
track, date contract was executed, type of contract, start date, end date, days taken, signal fees, 
takeout, tote company, and date submitted. At any time, the Commission or the Division may 
request additional information or that any or all agreements or contracts be provided. These 
contracts shall include but are not limited to horsemen’s agreements and simulcast contracts.
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5.6 Replacement Plans – New appropriations of designated ground water from aquifers which
are  otherwise  overappropriated  or  where  such  appropriations  may  result  in  an  unreasonable
impairment to existing water rights may be allowed pursuant to a detailed Replacement Plan. The
source of water proposed to be delivered as replacement supply is referred to in this Rule as
Replacement Source Water.

5.6.1 Requirements for approval of all Replacement Plans. The Applicant shall have the
burden of  proving the  adequacy of the plan in  all respects. If the Applicant meets its burden of
proof, the Commission shall grant approval of a Replacement Plan to the Applicant which shall
include any terms and conditions established by the Commission.

A. The plan must not cause any material injury to water rights of other   appropriators.

B. The plan must not cause unreasonable impairment of water quality.

1. In  making  this  determination,  there  shall  be  a  rebuttable  presumption of no
unreasonable impairment  of  water  quality if the  Replacement Source Water
complies with one of the criteria listed below.

a. If  the Replacement  Source Water  is  subject  to a Colorado Department  of
Public Health, Water Quality Control Division permit authorizing discharges
into the  aquifer  that  is  not  subject  to  a  compliance  order  or enforcement
actions, and the Applicant demonstrates compliance with the Water Quality
Control Division groundwater discharge permit, using the relevant points of
compliance established in the permit; or

b. If  the Replacement  Source Water  is  from an onsite  wastewater  treatment
system permitted by a local health agency, and the applicant demonstrates
the source is in compliance with that permit; or

c. If the Replacement Source Water meets site specific standards contained in
the Department of Public Health and Environment,  Water Quality Control
Commission’s Regulation No. 42 (5 CCR 1002-42, effective June 30, 2018),
or if there are not site specific standards, meets standards set forth in the
Department  of  Public  Health  and  Environment,  Water  Quality  Control
Commission’s Regulation No. 41 (5 CCR 1002-41, effective December 30,
2018), including all of the standards in Tables 1-4, and, in both instances, the
point of compliance is  the point at  which the water is  recharged into the
aquifer.  The Commission may consult with the Department of Public Health
and Environment Water Quality Control Division in determining whether the
source meets the standards of the relevant regulation.

2. Other  methods  of  proving  Replacement  Source  Water  will  not  cause
unreasonable impairment of water quality may be proposed.  The Commission
may  consult  with  the  Department  of  Public  Health  and  Environment  Water
Quality  Control  Division  in  determining  whether  the  source  will  or  will  not
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cause unreasonable impairment of water quality.

3. During any hearing, once the Applicant presents evidence sufficient to make a
prima facie showing of no unreasonable impairment of water quality, any party
opposing  the  Replacement  Plan  bears  the  burden  of  providing  evidence  of
unreasonable  impairment  to  water  quality.  If  Commission  Staff  or  a  party
opposing the replacement plan provides contrary evidence of impairment,  the
burden shifts back to the Applicant to rebut that evidence and show an absence
of unreasonable impairment of water quality by a preponderance of the evidence.

C. The  proposed  Replacement  Plan,  including  the  uses  of  the  new  withdrawals  of
designated ground water, must not be speculative under Colorado law.  The Applicant
must demonstrate the plan’s technical and financial  feasibility and the Applicant’s
ability to complete the project.

D. The Replacement Plan must be able to be operated and administered on an ongoing and
reliable basis.

1. Replacement  Source  Water  consisting  of  designated  ground  water  must  be
diverted from its source and delivered into the aquifer for which the replacement
water  must  be  provided  using  a  structure  or  method  acceptable  to  the
Commission. Delivery of the Replacement Source Water to an aquifer by way of
claiming credit for not diverting a proposed source of water out of an aquifer is
not allowed.

2. Pursuant  to  C.R.S.  37-90-107.5,  a  Replacement  Plan  shall  not  be  used  as  a
vehicle for avoiding limitations on existing wells, including but not limited to
restrictions  on  change  of  well  locations.   Therefore,  before  approving  any
Replacement  Plan  that  includes  existing  wells,  the  Commission  shall  require
independent compliance with all rules governing those existing wells in addition
to compliance with any guidelines or rules governing replacement plans.

3. Flow or other measurement devices must be installed, operated, and maintained on
all wells, replacement water delivery structures, and any other structure involved in
the plan unless the Commission finds that such devices would be unnecessary or
impractical.

4. Water quality sampling and monitoring shall be done of the Replacement Source
Water at the point the Replacement Source Water is introduced into the aquifer,
at  any other point of compliance and at  monitoring well(s) in the aquifer,  as
required  by  the  Replacement  Plan.  The  Commission  may require  a  different
location and frequency of water quality monitoring if the evidence indicates that
a different location or frequency is more appropriate or feasible for the aquifer.

5. The Applicant must record, maintain and submit records of Replacement Plan
operations on forms acceptable to the Commission on a schedule determined by
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the Commission but no less than on an annual basis, which shall also be made
available  to  the ground water  management  district  and parties  to the original
Replacement Plan proceedings on request without charge.

6. Replacement Plan approvals shall include appropriate terms and conditions for
updating  and/or  recalibration  of  groundwater  model(s)  and  a  schedule  for
specified adjustments to the plan in accordance with the potential results of any
such  updated/recalibrated  modeling.   Plan  approvals  shall  also  include
appropriate  terms  and  conditions  for  ongoing  water  quality  sampling  and
monitoring and monitoring of groundwater levels and a schedule for specified
adjustments to the plan in accordance with the potential results of any ongoing
sampling and monitoring.

E. A copy of the approved Replacement Plan must be recorded by the Applicant in the
clerk and recorder’s  records of the county in which structures that recharge and
withdraw water involved in the plan are located so that a title examination of the land
on which such structures are located reveals the existence of the plan.

F. Diversions must be limited to the extent necessary to ensure that the potential for
material injury caused by the diversions will be prevented by  Replacement Source
Water physically and legally available for delivery to the aquifer in time, place and
amount sufficient to prevent material injury to potentially affected water rights holders.
Plan approvals may include terms and conditions to account for recharged water that is
lost to vegetative consumption or evaporation.

G. Applicant must demonstrate that any Replacement Source Water identified for use in
the Replacement Plan is legally available for use pursuant to the plan prior to actually
being used as Replacement Source Water pursuant to the Replacement Plan.

1. For any Replacement Source Water decreed by a water court in a tributary system,
the legality of the use of the water shall be determined by  consideration of the
water  court  decree  consistent  with  the  provisions  of  the  Water  Rights
Determination and Administration Act of 1969 (“1969 Act”) and Colorado case
law regarding decree interpretation.

2. Any determination concerning a 1969 Act source of water shall pertain only to the
use of such right in the Replacement Plan.

3. The  Commission  may  approve  a  Replacement  Plan  including  proposed
Replacement Source Water that is not legally available for use pursuant to the plan
at  the  time  the  Replacement  Plan  is  approved,  if  the  Applicant:  (1)  has
demonstrated  it  has  a  legal  right  to  use  the  Replacement  Source  Water,  as
demonstrated by ownership or contract and that the replacement water will not be
used by any other person; and (2) has demonstrated a reasonable probability of
obtaining such approvals as are necessary to make the Replacement Source Water
legally available for use in the Replacement Plan.  An Applicant seeking approval
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of proposed Replacement Source Water shall have the burden of proving the time,
place,  amount  and  quality  of  the  supplies  anticipated  in  a  manner  sufficiently
detailed to permit  the Commission,  the ground water management  district,  and
other parties the ability to assess the actual use of the Replacement Source Water in
the plan.

4. A Replacement Plan approving the future use of  proposed Replacement Source
Water not legally available at the time of the application shall include the following
procedures requiring the Applicant to provide written notice to the Commission,
the ground water management  district,  and all  parties in the Replacement  Plan
proceedings when that Replacement Source Water has become legally available:

a. Applicant shall give at least sixty-three (63) days advance written Notice of
Legal Availability of Replacement Source (“Notice”) to the Commission, the
ground water management district, and the parties in the original Replacement
Plan  proceedings,  prior  to  using  such  Replacement  Source  Water  in  the
Replacement  Plan,  which  shall  identify:  (1)  the  amount  available  for  use
pursuant  to  the  Replacement  Plan;  (2)  documentation  as  to  how  the
Replacement Source Water became legally available, including copies of all
decrees,  permits,  findings  and  orders  and  determinations  issued  by  the
Commission and Courts.

b. Any  person  may  provide  written  comments  on  the  Notice,  which  shall  be
submitted to the Commission and provided to the ground water management
district and all parties to the original Replacement Plan proceedings within sixty-
three (63) days after the date the Notice was submitted.  Commission Staff shall
consider  any  comments  in  determining:  (1)  whether  the  requirements  of
5.6.1.G.4.a are met; and (2) any plan adjustments under the terms and conditions
of 5.6.1.D.6 that are to be implemented for use of the Replacement Source Water
in the Replacement Plan.  Applicant may not use the Replacement Source Water
until  Commission  Staff  provides  written  confirmation  the  requirements  of
5.6.1.G.4.a are met and setting forth any plan adjustments under 5.6.1.D.6 that
are necessary for use of the Replacement Source Water in the Replacement
Plan.

c. The Replacement Plan shall state that any Notice must be served no later than
six  (6)  years  after  the  date  of  approval  of  the  Replacement  Plan  by  the
Commission or the Applicant’s right to use the source water shall expire. After
the expiration, Applicant may only add the Replacement Source Water to the
Replacement Plan by a new application to the Commission.

H. Once  a  Replacement  Plan  has  been  approved,  any  proposed  Replacement  Source
Water  not  included  in  the  Replacement  Plan approval  shall  only  be  added to  the
Replacement Plan by a new application to the Commission. The Commission shall
determine the terms and conditions under which the proposed Replacement Source
Water shall be added to the Replacement Plan.
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I. Replacement  Source  Water  introduced  into  a  designated  aquifer  is  designated
groundwater available to other appropriators in the basin.

J. Ground  water  management  districts  may  have  additional  rules  governing  the
operation of Commission approved Replacement Plans and may require compliance
with such rules.

5.6.2 Applications for Replacement Plans must contain the following.

A. Name, mailing address, email address and telephone number of Applicant(s).

B. Name of  designated basin  in  which  plan  will  be  located,  and  management district, if
any, and aquifer in which the plan will operate.

C. Information regarding  other  water  rights  diverted from  the  structures involved  in the
plan.

D. Maps (either USGS topographic base map or other base map as appropriate) showing
the  locations  of  all  structures  involved  in  the  Replacement  Plan,  including  all
recharge  wells,  recharge  ponds,  and  other  structures  involved  in  recharging
Replacement  Source  Water,  all  structures  involved  in  delivering  the  Replacement
Source Water to the project location, and all structures involved in delivering the new
diversions to the end use.

E. A detailed description of the plan and its operation, including the following.

1. A general description of the Replacement Plan project location.

2. The purpose of the Replacement Plan.

3. The  detailed  description  of  the  physical  and  legal  sources  of  all  proposed
Replacement  Source  Water.   Identify  the  amount  of  water  available  for
replacement  use from each source  and provide  copies  of  all  decrees,  permits,
findings and orders and determinations issued by the Ground Water Commission
and Courts. 

4. The  description  of  how  the  Replacement  Source  Water  is  delivered  to  the
Replacement Plan project for recharge.

5. The method, location, timing, and amount of Replacement Source Water being
recharged  into  the  aquifer  including  without  limitation  identification  of  the
structures that will recharge the Replacement Source Water, such as by recharge
through a well or through a pond.
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6. Based  on  Applicant’s  proposed  Replacement  Plan  operations,  the  maximum
volume of water proposed to be introduced into the aquifer in any day, month and
year, as applicable.

7. The detailed description of the method, location, timing and amount of proposed
new diversions and depletions caused by the new appropriations of designated
basin water, including without limitation identification of the structures that will
divert,  legal descriptions of their  locations,  and identification and copies of all
decrees,  permits,  findings  and  orders  and  determinations  issued  by  the
Commission and Courts involving the structures.

8. The proposed use of the new diversions.

9. The proposed quantity and quality monitoring plan.

10. The approximate cost of the Replacement Plan project and the approximate date
construction will begin and end.

F. Evidence that the plan will not injure other water rights.

G. Evidence  that  the  plan  does  not  cause  unreasonable  impairment  of  water  quality.
Such evidence shall include water quality for the Replacement Source Water and the
water quality of the receiving aquifer unless 5.6.1.B.1.a applies.

H. Proposed terms and conditions required to prevent injury to other water rights, and
prevent unreasonable impairment of water quality.

I. If required by Commission Staff, the Applicant shall submit  a ground water model
evidencing no material injury to vested rights or unreasonable impairment of water
quality will result from operation of the plan.

J. A detailed description of the proposed use of the new appropriation of designated
ground water which would result under the plan, including where the use will occur.

K. Name(s)  and  address(es)  of  owner(s)  or  reputed  owner(s)  of  the  land  upon which
structures that withdraw water and recharge replacement water involved in the plan are
located. The Applicant must notify these owners that the Applicant is applying for this
Replacement Plan, and provide proof to the Commission that the Applicant has done
so,  no  later  than  14 days  after  filing  the  application. Applicant  may  rely  on  the
records maintained by the applicable County, including records available online, to
determine the owner(s) or reputed owner(s), unless Applicant has actual knowledge
or information of others not identified in said records.

L. If  proposed  Replacement  Source  Water  is  not  legally  available  for  use  in the
Replacement Plan at the time the application is submitted, the Applicant must identify
any applications it has or is submitting or actions it has or is taking to make the
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source legally available.

M. Applicant  must  provide  information  demonstrating  the  Applicant’s  right  to  use all
proposed Replacement Source Water and that the Replacement Source Water will not
be used  by any other person.

N. A summary of the application for publication.  If required by the Commission, the
summary  must  be  submitted  in  an  electronic  form  that  can  be  provided  to  the
newspaper in which publication occurs.

5.6.3 Other than approval of a Replacement Plan the Commission does not permit or
license the physical act of Artificial Recharge, and the Applicant is responsible for obtaining
any and all necessary approvals for Artificial Recharge as may be required by federal, state, and
local agencies. A well permit from the State Engineer is required for the construction of a well
to be used solely for the purpose of Artificial Recharge.

5.6.4 Upon receipt of an application for a replacement plan, the staff shall review it to
determine whether the application is complete under these rules, in order for the application to be
published. If  the  plan  is  located  within  a  ground  water  management  district,  a  copy  of  the
application shall be sent by the staff to the management district and the staff shall consider any
comments  or  recommendations  from the  management district. If requested by the Applicant or
any  other  party  after  publication  of  the  application,  Commission  staff  shall  host  a  meeting
including  all  interested  parties  to  discuss  the  nature  and scope  of  submitted  and/or  required
modeling and to provide the Applicant feedback on its proposed modeling approach.  If agreed to
by all parties in the meeting, in order to encourage open discussion, communications in and related
to the meeting shall be considered conduct or statements made in compromise negotiations within
the ambit of C.R.E. 408, not discoverable, and not to be offered as evidence by any party in the
course of the litigation.  Staff  may  propose  any  additional  terms and  conditions  or  limitations
which are necessary to prevent material injury and meet the requirements of these rules.

5.6.5 All rules and regulations referenced in this Rule 5.6 are available from the office
of the Division of Water Resources, 1313 Sherman St., Room 821, Denver, CO 80203 and are
available  for  public  inspection  during  regular  business  hours.   Certified  copies  of  these
materials  shall  be  provided  at  cost  upon  request.   This  Rule  does  not  contain  any  later
amendments or editions of the materials.
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5.8 Aquifer storage and recovery plans (ASR Plan).  An ASR Plan is a plan to artificially 
recharge water into, store water in, and recover water from a designated aquifer.  The source of 
water that is so recharged, stored, and recovered is referred to in this Rule as ASR Source Water.

5.8.1 Requirements for Approval. The Applicant has the burden of proving the 
adequacy of the plan in all respects. If the Applicant meets its burden of proof, the Commission 
shall grant approval of an ASR Plan to the Applicant which shall include any terms and 
conditions established by the Commission.

A. The ASR Plan must not cause any material injury to water rights.

B. The ASR Plan must not cause unreasonable impairment of groundwater quality

1. In making this determination, there shall be a rebuttable presumption of no 
unreasonable impairment of water quality if the ASR Source Water is from a 
source described in 5.8.1.B.1.a and b below. 

a. If the ASR Source Water is subject to a Colorado Department of Public 
Health, Water Quality Control Division permit authorizing discharges into the
aquifer that is not subject to a compliance order or enforcement actions, and 
the Applicant demonstrates compliance with the Water Quality Control 
Division groundwater discharge permit, using the relevant points of 
compliance established in the permit; or

b. If the ASR Source Water meets site specific standards contained in the 
Department of  Public Health and Environment, Water Quality Control 
Commission’s Regulation No. 42 (5 CCR 1002-42, effective June 30, 2018), 
or if there are not site specific standards, meets  the standards set forth in the 
Department of Public Health and Environment, Water Quality Control 
Commission’s Regulation No. 41 (5 CCR 1002-41, effective December 30, 
2018), including all of the standards in Tables 1-4, and, in both instances, the 
point of compliance is the point at which the water is recharged into the 
aquifer. The Commission may consult with the Department of Public Health 
and Environment Water Quality Control Division in determining whether the 
source meets the standards of the relevant regulation.

2. Other methods of proving ASR Source Water will not cause unreasonable 
impairment of water quality may be proposed. The Commission may consult with
the Department of Public Health and Environment Water Quality Control 
Division in determining whether the source will or will not cause unreasonable 
impairment of water quality

3. During any hearing, once the Applicant present evidence sufficient to make a 
prima facie showing of no unreasonable impairment of water quality, any party 
opposing the ASR Plan bears the burden of providing evidence of unreasonable 
impairment to water quality. If Commission Staff or a party opposing the ASR 
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Plan provides contrary evidence of impairment, the Applicant has the ultimate 
burden of showing an absence of unreasonable impairment of water quality by a 
preponderance of the evidence.

C. The proposed ASR Plan, including uses of the recovered ASR Source Water, must 
not be speculative under Colorado law.  The Applicant must demonstrate the plan’s 
technical and financial feasibility and the Applicant’s ability to complete the project.

D. The ASR Plan must be able to be operated and administered on an ongoing and 
reliable basis.

1. The ASR Source Water must be diverted from its source and delivered into the 
aquifer using a structure or method acceptable to the Commission. Delivery of the
ASR Source Water to an aquifer by way of claiming credit for not diverting a 
proposed source of water out of an aquifer is not allowed.

2. Flow or other measurement devices must be installed, operated, and maintained 
on all wells or other structures artificially recharging water into and recovering 
water from the aquifer, and any other structure involved in the plan, unless the 
Commission finds that such devices would be unnecessary or impractical.

3. Water quality sampling and monitoring shall be done of the ASR Source Water at 
the point the ASR Source Water is introduced into the aquifer, at any other point 
of compliance, and at monitoring well(s), as required by the ASR Plan. The 
Commission may require a different location and frequency of water quality 
monitoring if the evidence indicates that a different location or frequency is more 
appropriate or feasible for the aquifer.

4. The Applicant must record, maintain and submit records of ASR Plan operations 
on forms acceptable to the Commission on a schedule determined by the 
Commission but no less than on an annual basis, which shall also be made 
available to the ground water management district and parties to the original ASR 
Plan proceedings on request without charge.

5. If a ground water model is submitted or required, then plan approvals shall 
include appropriate terms and conditions for updating and/or recalibration of any 
groundwater model(s) and a schedule for specified adjustments to the plan in 
accordance with the potential results of any such updated/recalibrated modeling.  
Plan approvals shall also include appropriate terms and conditions for ongoing 
water quality sampling and monitoring and monitoring of groundwater levels and 
a schedule for specified adjustments to the plan in accordance with the potential 
results of any ongoing sampling and monitoring.

E. A copy of the approved ASR Plan must be recorded by the Applicant in the clerk and 
recorder’s records of the county in which any structure involved in the ASR Plan is 
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located so that a title examination of the land on which such structure is located 
reveals the existence of the plan.

F. All ASR Source Water must be artificially recharged and stored in an aquifer. The 
aquifer must be capable of accommodating the water being recharged and stored 
without the water appearing within any surface or subsurface structure other than a 
well, and without contributing to evaporation or consumption by plants.  Storage may
be limited in order to maintain a minimum depth below the ground surface to avoid 
losses of stored water  due to vegetative consumption, evaporation, or otherwise. Plan
approvals may include terms and conditions for specified adjustments to the amounts 
of water that may be stored and limits on a minimum depth below the ground surface.

G. Except for  plans proposed pursuant to Rule 5.8.2, the Applicant must demonstrate
dominion and control over the ASR Source Water by showing the change in the water
table and an ability to recover stored water within the ASR Boundary as described
below.  An Applicant is not required to own or have a legal right to use all of the land
overlying the portions of the aquifer in which water will be stored.  Water over which
dominion and control is not maintained becomes designated ground water available to
other appropriators within the basin.  The following applies when determining whether
or not dominion and control has been maintained.

1. The plan may contain methods or man-made structures to confine or restrict the
water artificially recharged and stored in the aquifer from moving within the aquifer
and/or mingling with the water previously existing in the aquifer.

2. Applicant has lost dominion and control over recharged and stored water that is
pumped by wells other than the recovery wells identified in the plan.

3. An ASR Boundary concept that defines the area where water is recharged into,
stored in and recovered from the aquifer.

a. The ASR Boundary shall be based upon the expected lateral extent of 
mounding resulting from proposed quantities and locations of recharge before 
any recovery of water.

b. Dominion and control has been lost on any water that flows across the ASR
Boundary or is otherwise not available  to the recovery wells.   All recovery
wells must be located within the ASR Boundary.

4. Consideration must be given to aquifer characteristics that result in the inability to
recover amounts of water artificially recharged and stored in the aquifer.

H. Applicant must demonstrate that any ASR Source Water identified for use in the ASR
Plan is legally available for recharge, storage, recovery and use pursuant to the plan 
prior to actually being recharged and stored in the aquifer under the ASR Plan.
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1. For any ASR Source Water decreed by a water court in a tributary system, the 
legality of the use of the water shall be determined by  consideration of the water 
court decree consistent with the provisions of the Water Rights Determination and
Administration Act of 1969 (“1969 Act”) and Colorado case law regarding decree
interpretation.

2. Any determination concerning a 1969 Act source of water shall pertain only to the
use of such right in the ASR Plan.

3. The Commission may approve an ASR Plan including a potential source of ASR 
Source Water that is not legally available for recharge, storage, recovery and use 
pursuant to the plan if, at the time the ASR Plan is approved,  the Applicant: (1) 
has demonstrated it has a legal right to use the ASR Source Water, as 
demonstrated by ownership or contract and that the ASR Source Water will not be
used by any other person; (2) has demonstrated a reasonable probability  of 
obtaining such approvals as are necessary to make the ASR Source Water legally 
available for use in the ASR Plan.  An Applicant seeking approval of such a 
potential source of ASR Source Water shall have the burden of proving the time, 
place, amount and quality of the supplies anticipated in a manner sufficiently 
detailed to permit the Commission, the ground water management district, and 
other parties the ability to assess the actual use of the ASR Source Water in the 
plan.

4. An ASR Plan approving the future use of a potential source of ASR Source Water
not legally available at the time of the application shall include the following 
procedures requiring the Applicant to provide written notice to the Commission, 
the ground water management district, and all parties in the ASR Plan 
proceedings when that ASR Source Water has become legally available:

a. Applicant shall give at least sixty-three (63) days advance written Notice of  
Legal Availability of ASR Source Water (“Notice”) to the Commission, the 
ground water management district, and the parties in the original ASR Plan 
proceedings, prior to recharging and storing such source in the aquifer, which 
shall identify: (1) the amount available for recharge, storage, recovery and use
pursuant to the ASR plan; and (2) documentation as to how the ASR Source 
Water became legally available, including copies of all decrees, permits, 
findings and orders and determinations issued by the Commission and Courts. 

b. Any person may provide written comments on the Notice, which shall be 
submitted to the Commission and provided to the ground water management 
district and all parties to the original ASR Plan proceedings within sixty-three 
(63) days after the date the Notice was submitted.  Commission Staff shall 
consider any comments in determining: (1) whether the requirements of 
5.8.1.H.4.a are met; and (2) any plan adjustments under the terms and 
conditions of 5.8.1.D.5 that are to be implemented for use of the ASR Source 
Water in the ASR plan.  Applicant may not use the ASR Source Water until 
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Commission Staff provides a written determination confirming the 
requirements of 5.8.1.H.4.a are met and setting forth any plan adjustments 
under 5.8.1.D.5 that are necessary for use of the ASR Source Water in the 
ASR Plan.   

c. The ASR Plan shall state that any Notice must be served no later than six (6) 
years after the date of approval of the ASR Plan by the Commission or the 
Applicant’s right to use the ASR Source Water shall expire. After the 
expiration, Applicant may only add the ASR Source Water to the ASR Plan 
by a new application to the Commission. 

I. Once an ASR Plan has been approved, any proposed ASR Source Water not included 
in the ASR Plan approval shall only be added to the ASR Plan by a new application 
to the Commission. The Commission shall determine the terms and conditions under 
which the proposed ASR Source Water shall be added to the ASR Plan.

J. While the ASR Plan may contain methods or man-made structures to confine or 
restrict the ASR Source Water within in the aquifer and/or prevent mingling with the 
water previously existing in the aquifer or other aquifers in the Designated Basin, 
such methods or structures are not required.

K. ASR Source Water that is recovered under the plan does not have to consist of the 
same molecules as the ASR Source Water that was initially recharged and stored.

L. ASR Source Water that is recharged, stored and recovered retains the same 
classification (e.g. designated ground water, waters of the state, nontributary 
groundwater, not-nontributary ground water) as the ASR Source Water had prior to 
being recharged and stored.

M. ASR Source Water that is recharged, stored and recovered remains subject to 
applicable provisions of the decrees and/or permits regarding types, manner and place
of use under which it was originally diverted, the terms and conditions of the ASR 
Plan, and applicable Commission rules.  Subsequent withdrawal of such water by 
Applicant’s recovery wells under an ASR Plan is not subject to the flow rate, 
volumetric limits and three-year modified banking provision of Rule 7.11 contained 
in the original well permit or decree.

N. Recharge or recovery wells used in an ASR Plan must have their producing zone 
completed in the single aquifer in which the water is intended to be stored. An ASR 
Plan must operate in only one aquifer.

O. ASR Plans shall include terms and conditions to prevent material injury to water 
rights or to prevent unreasonable impairment of the water quality.
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P. Ground water management districts may have additional rules governing the 
operation of Commission approved ASR Plans and may require compliance with the 
District rules. 

5.8.2 ASR Plans in aquifers for which appropriations are determined pursuant to Rule 
5.3 or 5.4 have the following requirements for approval, in addition to those contained in 5.8.1.

A. Definitions

1. “Contiguous Extraction Area” means an area within an aquifer for which 
allocations are determined pursuant to Rule 5.3 or 5.4 from which the Applicant 
has the right to withdraw the naturally occurring water and from which the 
Applicant is proposing to recover ASR Source Water.  The Applicant’s right to 
withdraw the naturally occurring water through overlying land ownership, consent
of the landowner as described in Rules 5.3 or 5.4, or other means, must be 
continuous throughout the contiguous extraction area.  The land area overlying 
the contiguous extraction area need not be a single legal tract of land.

2. “Remote Recovery Well” means the recovery of ASR Source Water from 
a well other than a well through which the volume of water to be recovered was 
injected or recharged.

B. No recovery well shall be located closer than one (1) mile to any point of contact 
between any natural stream including its alluvium and the outcrop/subcrop of the 
aquifer from which the ASR Source Water would be recovered.

C. Recovery from a Confined Aquifer.

1. Recovery of ASR Source Water from a confined aquifer within a 
designated basin shall be through the same well through which the water 
was recharged or shall be through a Remote Recovery Well located within
the same Contiguous Extraction Area, but in no case shall the Remote 
Recovery Well be located more than five (5) miles from the farthest 
artificial recharge well within the same Contiguous Extraction Area. If, 
prior to or during recovery, the confined aquifer becomes an unconfined 
aquifer between any recharge well and the Remote Recovery Well, as 
determined by the Commission, recovery of the ASR Source Water by the 
Remote Recovery Well shall be subject to the provisions of Rule 5.8.2.D 
unless an exception is requested and granted by the Commission.  The 
exception request shall include an analysis of continued operation of the 
Remote Recovery Well upon the change from a confined aquifer to an 
unconfined aquifer and the potential for material injury to all rights of 
record in the State Engineer’s office allowing the withdrawal of water 
from the same aquifer owned by other parties, which are located within 
one (1) mile of the Remote Recovery Well, or over a larger distance if 
requested by the Commission.  The analysis shall consider the hydraulic 
gradient between the recharge wells and the Remote Recovery Well in the 
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unconfined aquifer state.  Requirements for submittal, publication and 
hearings of exception requests shall be the same as for variance requests as
described in Rules 11.2.2 through 11.2.5.  The Commission may also 
require the Applicant to provide specific notice of the exception request to 
the owners of those water rights identified in the above referenced 
analysis.  If the exception request is granted, the Commission may require 
the exception request be repeated at a future specified date based on 
potential changes to unconfined aquifer conditions.

2. No Remote Recovery Well withdrawing ASR Source Water from a 
confined aquifer shall be located within the cylinder of appropriation, as 
calculated pursuant to Rule 4.2.15, for any existing or permitted well 
subject to Rule 5.3.3, owned by other than the Applicant, and authorized 
to withdraw water from the same aquifer, without the written permission 
of the owner of the well.

D. Recovery of ASR Source Water from an unconfined aquifer shall be through the same 
well through which the water was recharged, or shall be through a Remote Recovery 
Well located down hydraulic gradient from the recharge well and within the same 
Contiguous Recovery Parcel, but in no case shall the Remote Recovery Well be located 
more than one thousand (1,000) feet from the farthest recharge well.

E. The maximum amount of ASR Source Water that may be recovered from an aquifer 
through any one recovery well in any one calendar year shall not exceed five (5) times 
the maximum amount of water recharged into that aquifer in any one calendar year, and 
in no case shall the amount of water recovered exceed the total amount of water 
recharged into that aquifer less any amounts previously recovered.

F. ASR Source Water may be retained in the aquifer indefinitely by the person who has 
artificially recharged the water. Nothing in these rules shall limit the right of any person 
to withdraw naturally occurring ground water which has been “banked” pursuant to Rule 
5.3.2.5.

5.8.3 Form of ASR Applications.

A. All applications for ASR Plans must contain the following:

1. Name, mailing address, email address and telephone number of Applicant(s).

2. Name of designated basin, ground water management district (if any), and aquifer
in which the plan will operate.

3. Evidence that the plan will not injure other water rights.

4. A detailed description of the plan and its operation, including the following.
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a. A general description of the ASR project location and ASR Boundary.

b. The purpose of the ASR Plan.

c. The description of the ASR Source Water (see Rule 5.8.3.A.8).

d. The description of how the ASR Source Water is delivered to the ASR project for
recharge.

e. The method, location, timing, and amount of ASR Source Water being recharged 
into the aquifer including without limitation identification of the structures that 
will recharge the ASR Source Water, such as by recharge through a well or 
through a pond.

f. The maximum volume of water that would be stored in the aquifer at any one 
time.

g. Whether the Applicant proposes to use structures or methods to restrict or direct 
the underground flow of the water.

h. The method, location, timing, and amount of recovery of the ASR Source Water, 
including without limitation identification of the structures that will recover the 
stored water, legal descriptions of their locations, and identification and copies of
all decrees, permits, findings and orders and determinations issued by the 
Commission and Courts involving the structures.

i. The proposed use of the ASR Source Water after it is recovered and where the 
use will occur if the use is not on the site of the ASR project.

j. The proposed plan to monitor both water quantity and water quality.

k. The approximate cost of the ASR project and the approximate date construction 
will begin and end.

l. An estimate of the amount of ASR Source Water that will be pumped by wells 
other than the recovery wells identified in the plan, and an explanation of how 
that estimate was made.

m. An estimate of the amount of ASR Source Water over which the Applicant will 
lose dominion and control, and an explanation of how that estimate was made.

n. Proposed terms and conditions required to prevent injury to other water rights.

5. If required by Commission Staff, the Applicant shall submit a ground water 
model evidencing: (a) that no material injury to vested rights or unreasonable impairment
of water quality will result from operation of the plan, (b) maintenance of dominion and 
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control over the water, (c) the timing and amount of recharged and stored water available 
to permitted wells other than the recovery wells identified in the plan.

6. Maps (either USGS topographic base map or other base map as appropriate) 
showing the following information:

a. A depiction of the project location and ASR Boundary, including a depiction of 
land owned by the Applicant within the boundaries.

b. The locations of all structures involved in the ASR Plan, including all recharge 
and recovery wells, recharge ponds and other structures involved in recharging 
and recovering the ASR Source Water, all structures involved in delivering the 
ASR Source Water to the project location, and all structures involved in 
delivering the recovered ASR Source Water to its end use.

7. The amount of storage space available in the aquifer within the ASR Boundary, 
how that amount was calculated, the amount of that available storage space the ASR Plan
will utilize, the depth to water within the ASR Boundary prior to operation of the ASR 
Plan and the projected minimum depth to water during operation of the plan.

8. A detailed description of the physical and legal source of all proposed ASR 
Source Water, including without limitation identifying the amount of water available 
from each source, and providing copies of all decrees, permits, findings and orders and 
determinations issued by the Commission and Courts.  If a proposed source of ASR 
Source Water is not legally available for storage, recovery, and subsequent use in the plan 
at the time the application is submitted, the Applicant must identify any applications it has 
or is submitting, or actions it has or is taking, to make the water legally available. 
Applicant must also provide information demonstrating the Applicant’s right to use all 
proposed ASR Source Water and that the ASR Source Water will not be used by any 
other person.

9. Evidence that the plan does not cause unreasonable impairment of ground water 
quality.  Such evidence shall include water quality for the source water and the water 
quality of the receiving aquifer unless 5.8.1.B.1.a applies.

10. Name(s) and address(es) of owner(s) or reputed owner(s) of the land upon which 
structures that recharge and withdraw water involved in the plan are located. The 
Applicant must notify these owners that the Applicant is applying for the ASR Plan, and 
provide proof to the Commission that the Applicant has done so, no later than 14 days 
after filing the application. Applicant may rely on the records maintained by the 
applicable County, including records available online, to determine the owner(s) or 
reputed owner(s), unless Applicant has actual knowledge or information of others not 
identified in said records.

11 Information regarding other water rights diverted from the structures involved in 
the plan.
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12. A summary of the application for publication.  If required by the Commission, the
summary must be submitted in an electronic form that can be provided to the newspaper 
in which publication occurs.

B. All ASR applications pursuant to Rule 5.8.2 must contain the following:

1. The items required by Rule 5.8.3.A.

2. A report summarizing the hydrological conditions in the aquifer, including, but 
not limited to, evidence as to whether the aquifer is confined or unconfined at the 
artificial recharge well(s) and any Remote Recovery Well(s) and any location between 
those wells, static water levels, and aquifer hydraulic gradient.  The report must identify 
all large capacity wells of record in the State Engineer’s office allowing the withdrawal 
of ground water from the aquifer within one (1) mile of the proposed recovery site(s) that 
are subject to Rule 5.3.3, and identify the cylinder of appropriation of those wells as 
calculated pursuant to Rule 4.2.15. 

5.8.4 A well used for recovery of ASR Source Water pursuant to an ASR Plan must be 
permitted for such use by the Commission. The Commission may permit wells for recovery that 
are not otherwise permitted for withdrawal of designated groundwater. 

5.8.5 A well permit from the State Engineer is required for the construction of a well to 
be used solely for the purpose of Artificial Recharge or injection. Other than approval of an ASR
Plan, the Commission does not permit or license the physical act of Artificial Recharge or 
storage. The Applicant is responsible for obtaining any and all necessary approvals to allow the 
physical act of Artificial Recharge or storage as may be required by federal, state, and local 
agencies. 

5.8.6 Upon receipt of an application for an ASR Plan, the staff shall review it to 
determine whether the application is complete under these rules in order for the application to be 
published. If the plan is located within a ground water management district, a copy of the 
application shall be sent by the staff to the management district and the staff shall consider any 
comments or recommendations from the management district.  If requested by the Applicant or 
any other party after publication of the ASR application, Commission staff shall host a meeting 
including all interested parties to discuss the nature and scope of submitted and/or required 
modeling and to provide the Applicant feedback on its proposed modeling approach.  If agreed to
by all parties in the meeting, in order to encourage open discussion, communications in and 
related to the meeting shall be considered conduct or statements made in compromise 
negotiations within the ambit of C.R.E. 408, not discoverable, and not to be offered as evidence 
by any party in the course of the litigation.    Staff may propose any additional terms and 
conditions or limitations which are necessary to prevent material injury to water rights and meet 
the requirements of these rules.

5.8.7.  All rules and regulations referenced in this Rule 5.8 are available from the office 
of the Division of Water Resources, 1313 Sherman St., Room 821, Denver, CO 80203 and are 
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available for public inspection during regular business hours.  Certified copies of these materials 
shall be provided at cost upon request.  This Rule does not contain any later amendments or 
editions of the materials.
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Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of §§ 
10-1-109, 10-3-1110, 10-16-109, and 10-16-113(2) and (10), C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to set forth guidelines for carrier compliance with the provisions of §§ 10-
3-1104(1)(h), 10-16-409(1)(a), and 10-16-113, C.R.S., in situations involving utilization review and certain 
denials of benefits for treatment, as well as rescission, cancellation, or denial of coverage based on an 
eligibility determination, as described herein. Among other things, § 10-3-1104(1)(h), C.R.S., requires 
carriers to adopt and implement reasonable standards for the prompt investigation of claims arising from 
health coverage plans; promptly provide a reasonable explanation of the basis in the health coverage 
plan in relation to the facts or applicable law for denial of a claim or for the offer of a compromise 
settlement; and refrain from denying a claim without conducting a reasonable investigation based upon all
available information.

This regulation is designed to provide minimum standards for handling appeals and grievances involving 
utilization review determinations, certain denials of benefits for treatments excluded by health coverage 
plans, and as otherwise required by § 10-16-113, C.R.S.

Section 3 Applicability



The provisions of this regulation shall apply to all health coverage plans, including, but not limited to, 
dental insurance policies. It does not apply to long-term care insurance policies as the requirements for 
the appeals process for that type of health coverage plan is covered under a separate regulation. This 
regulation shall not apply to automobile medical payment policies, worker’s compensation policies, or 
property and casualty insurance. Where a decision concerning a claim is not based on utilization review, 
a carrier is not required to use the specific procedures outlined in this regulation. However, this regulation 
shall apply to a carrier’s denial of a benefit because the treatment is excluded by the health coverage plan
if the covered person presents evidence from a medical professional that there is a reasonable medical 
basis that the contractual exclusion does not apply. Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to 
supplant any appeal or due process rights that a person may have under federal or state law.

Section 4 Definitions

A. “Adverse determination” means, for the purposes of this regulation:

1. A determination by a carrier or its designee that a request for a pre-service or post-
service benefit has been reviewed and, based upon the information provided, does not 
meet the carrier’s requirement for medical necessity, or that the benefit is not appropriate,
effective, efficient, is not provided in or at the appropriate health care setting or level of 
care, or is determined to be experimental or investigational, and is therefore denied, 
reduced, or terminated;

2. A denial for a benefit excluded by a health coverage plan for which the covered person is 
able to present evidence from a medical professional that there is a reasonable medical 
basis that the contractual exclusion does not apply to the denied benefit;

3. A rescission or cancellation of coverage applied retroactively that is not attributed to a 
failure to pay premiums. However, a physician is not required to evaluate an appeal of 
this type of adverse determination; and

4. A denial of coverage to an individual based on an initial eligibility determination for all:

a. Individual sickness and accident insurance policies issued by a carrier subject to 
Part 2 of Article 16 of Title 10; and

b. Individual health care or indemnity contracts issued by a carrier subject to Parts 3
or 4 of Article 16 of Title 10.

Section 4.A.4. does not apply to supplemental policies covering a specified disease or 
other limited benefit. A physician is not required to evaluate an appeal of this type of 
adverse determination.

B. “Ambulatory review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a utilization review of health care 
services performed or provided in an outpatient setting.

C. “Applicable non-English language” means, for the purposes of this regulation, with respect to an 
address in any Colorado county to which a notice is sent, a non-English language that ten 
percent (10%) or more of the population residing in the county is only literate in as determined by 
the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services.

D. “Carrier” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(8), C.R.S.

E. “Carrier’s receipt” means, for the purposes of this regulation, the receipt date as date-stamped by 
the carrier in a legible manner; an electronically-formatted receipt date; a facsimile transmission 



date; or a receipt date imprinted on the document in some type of permanent manner. The 
earliest receipt date on the document will be considered the carrier’s receipt date.

F. “Case management” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a coordinated set of activities 
conducted for individual patient management of serious, complicated, protracted, or other health 
conditions.

G. “Clinical peer” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a physician or other health care 
professional who holds a non-restricted license in a state of the United States and in the same or 
similar specialty as typically manages the medical condition, procedure or treatment under 
review.

H. “Complaint” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a written communication primarily 
expressing a grievance.

I. “Covered person” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(15), C.R.S.

J. “Date of receipt of a notice” means, for the purposes of this regulation, the date that shall be 
calculated to be no less than three (3) calendar days after the date the notice is postmarked by 
the carrier.

K. “Designated representative” means, for the purposes of this regulation:

1. A person, including the treating health care professional or a person authorized by 
subsection 4.K.2., to whom a covered person has given express written consent to 
represent the covered person;

2. A person authorized by law to provide substituted consent for a covered person, including
but not limited to a guardian, agent under a power of attorney, a proxy, or a designee of 
the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing; and/or

3. In the case of an urgent care request, a health care professional with knowledge of the 
covered person’s medical condition.

L. “Discharge planning” means, for the purposes of this regulation, the formal process for 
determining, prior to discharge from a medical facility or service, the coordination and 
management of the care that a covered person receives following discharge from a medical 
facility or service.

M. “Emergency medical condition” means, for the purposes of this regulation, the sudden, and at the 
time, unexpected onset of a health condition that requires immediate medical attention, where 
failure to provide medical attention would result in serious impairment to bodily functions or 
serious dysfunction of a bodily organ or part, or would place the covered person’s health in 
serious jeopardy.

N. “Grievance” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a circumstance regarded as a cause for 
protest, including the protest of an adverse determination.

O. “Health care professional” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a physician or other health 
care practitioner licensed, accredited, or certified to perform specified health care services 
consistent with state law.

P. “Health care services” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(33), C.R.S.

Q. “Health coverage plan” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(34), C.R.S.



R. “Life or limb threatening emergency” means, for the purposes of this regulation, any event that a 
prudent layperson would believe threatens his or her life or limb in such a manner that a need for 
immediate medical care is created to prevent death or serious impairment of health.

S. “Managed care plan” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(43), C.R.S.

T. “Medical facility” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a facility licensed or otherwise 
authorized to furnish health care services, including, but not limited to, residential treatment 
facilities.

U. “Medical professional” means, for the purposes of this regulation, an individual licensed pursuant 
to the “Colorado Medical Practice Act”, article 36 of title 12, C.R.S., or, for dental plans only, a 
dentist licensed pursuant to the “Dental Practice Law of Colorado”, article 35 of title 12, C.R.S., 
acting within his or her scope of practice.

V. “Prospective review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a utilization review conducted 
prior to an admission or course of treatment. Also known as a “pre-service review”.

W. “Rescission” means, for the purposes of this regulation, the cancellation or discontinuance of 
coverage that has a retroactive effect. This includes a cancellation that treats a policy as void 
from the time of enrollment and a cancellation that voids benefits paid up to a year before the 
cancellation takes place. A rescission of coverage shall be treated as an adverse determination. 
A cancellation or discontinuance of coverage is not a rescission if the cancellation or 
discontinuance is exclusively prospective, or the cancellation or discontinuance is retroactive only
to the extent attributable to a failure to pay premiums or contributions toward the cost of coverage
in a timely manner.

X. “Retrospective review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, utilization review conducted 
after services have been provided to a covered person, but does not include the review of a claim
that is limited to an evaluation of reimbursement levels, veracity of documentation, accuracy of 
coding, or adjudication for payment. Also known as a “post-service review”.

Y. “Second opinion” means, for the purposes of this regulation, an opportunity or requirement to 
obtain a clinical evaluation by a health care professional other than the one originally making a 
recommendation for a proposed health care service to assess the medical necessity and 
appropriateness of the initial proposed health care service.

Z. “Voluntary second level review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a request for a review 
of an adverse determination from a first-level appeal which is only available to persons covered 
under a group health coverage plan.

AA. “Stabilized” means, for the purposes of this regulation, with respect to an emergency medical 
condition or a life or limb threatening emergency, that no material deterioration of the condition is 
likely, within reasonable medical probability, to result or occur before an individual can be 
transferred.

AB. “Urgent care request” means, for the purposes of this regulation:

1. A request for a health care service or course of treatment with respect to which the time 
periods for making a non-urgent care request determination that:

a. Could seriously jeopardize the life or health of the covered person or the ability of
the covered person to regain maximum function; or for a covered person with a 
physical or mental disability, creates an imminent and substantial limitation on his
or her existing ability to live independently; or



b. In the opinion of a physician with knowledge of the covered person’s medical 
condition, would subject the covered person to severe pain that cannot be 
adequately managed without the health care service or treatment that is the 
subject of the request.

2. Except as provided in section 4.AB.3., in determining whether a request is to be treated 
as an urgent care request, a person acting on behalf of the carrier shall apply the 
judgment of a prudent layperson who possesses an average knowledge of health and 
medicine.

3. Any request that a physician with knowledge of the covered person’s medical condition 
determines and states is an urgent care request within the meaning of section 4.AB.1. 
shall be treated as an urgent care request.

AC. “Utilization review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a set of formal techniques designed
to monitor the use of, or evaluate the medical necessity, appropriateness, efficacy, or efficiency 
of, health care services, procedures, or settings. Techniques include ambulatory review, 
prospective review, second opinion, authorization, concurrent review, case management, 
discharge planning, and retrospective review. It also includes reviews for the purpose of 
determining coverage based on whether or not a procedure or treatment is considered 
experimental or investigational in a given circumstance, and reviews of a covered person's 
medical circumstances when necessary to determine if an exclusion applies in a given situation.

Section 5 Compliance Requirements

A. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(IV), C.R.S., a carrier that does not use a procedure for 
investigating claims involving utilization review consistent with this regulation shall be deemed to 
be in violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive practice insurance 
statutes of Colorado that a carrier refrain from denying a claim without conducting a reasonable 
investigation based upon all available information.

B. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(III), C.R.S., a carrier using standards in the review of claims 
involving utilization review that are not in compliance with the rules contained in this regulation 
shall be deemed to be in violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive 
practice insurance statutes of Colorado that a carrier use reasonable standards for the prompt 
investigation of claims.

C. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(II), C.R.S., a carrier that does not investigate claims involving 
utilization review within the time frames set out in this regulation shall be deemed to be in 
violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive practice insurance 
statutes of Colorado that a carrier promptly investigate claims.

D. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(XIV), C.R.S., a carrier that does not follow the procedures for 
explaining the basis of a utilization review decision set forth in this regulation shall be deemed to 
be in violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive practice insurance 
statutes of Colorado that a carrier promptly provide a reasonable explanation of the basis in the 
insurance policy in relation to the facts or applicable law for denial of a claim.

E. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(IV), C.R.S., a carrier that does not allow an appeal, consistent with
the procedures set forth in this regulation, of a benefit denial for a treatment excluded by the 
health coverage plan when the covered person presents evidence from a medical professional 
that there is a reasonable medical basis that the contractual exclusion does not apply shall be 
deemed to be in violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive practice 
insurance statutes of Colorado that a carrier refrain from denying a claim without conducting a 
reasonable investigation based upon all available information.



F. Carriers shall avoid conflicts of interest to ensure all benefit reviews and appeals are adjudicated 
in a manner designed to guarantee the independence and impartiality of the persons involved in 
making the decision. With respect to any person involved in the review of benefit requests and/or 
the review of appeals, decisions regarding hiring, compensation, termination, or promotion shall 
not be made based upon the likelihood that the person will support the denial of benefits.

Section 6 Form and Manner of Notices

A. Carriers shall provide all relevant notices in a culturally and linguistically appropriate manner as 
follows:

1. In the English versions of all notices, a statement prominently displayed in any applicable
non-English language clearly indicating how to access the language services provided by
the carrier; and

2. Shall provide, upon request, a notice in any applicable non-English language and shall 
allow the covered person the option of electing to receive all subsequent notices in the 
requested applicable non-English language.

B. Carriers shall provide oral language services in any applicable non-English language, providing 
assistance with answering questions about the filing of benefit requests and appeals.

Section 7 Standard Utilization Review

A. A carrier shall maintain written procedures pursuant to this section for making utilization review 
decisions and for notifying covered persons of its decisions. For purposes of this section, 
"covered person" includes the designated representative of a covered person.

B. Prospective review determinations.

1. Time period for determination and notification.

a. Subject to section 7.B.1.b., a carrier shall make the determination and notify the 
covered person and the covered person’s medical facility and/or health care 
professional of the determination, whether the carrier certifies the provision of the
benefit or not, within a reasonable period of time appropriate to the covered 
person’s medical condition, but in no event later than fifteen (15) calendar days 
after the carrier’s receipt of the request. Whenever the determination is an 
adverse determination, the carrier shall make the notification of the adverse 
determination in accordance with section 7.E.

b. The time period for making a determination and notifying the covered person of 
the determination pursuant to section 7.B.1.a. may be extended one (1) time by 
the carrier for up to fifteen (15) calendar days, provided the carrier:

(1) Determines that an extension is necessary due to matters beyond the 
carrier’s control; and

(2) Notifies the covered person, prior to the expiration of the initial fifteen 
(15) calendar day time period, of the circumstances requiring the 
extension of time and the date by which the carrier expects to make a 
determination.



c. If the extension under section 7.B.1.b. is necessary due to the failure of the 
covered person to submit information necessary to reach a determination on the 
request, the notice of extension shall:

(1) Specifically describe the required information necessary to complete the 
request; and

(2) Give the covered person at least forty-five (45) calendar days from the 
date of receipt of a notice to provide the specified information. If the 
deadline for submitting the specified information ends on a weekend or 
holiday, the deadline be extended to the next business day.

2. Failure to meet the carrier’s filing procedures.

a. Whenever the carrier receives a prospective review request from a covered 
person that fails to meet the carrier’s filing procedures, the carrier shall notify the 
covered person of this failure and provide in the notice information on the proper 
procedures to be followed for filing a request.

b. Required notice.

(1) The notice required under section 7.B.2.a. shall be provided as soon as 
possible, but in no event later than five (5) calendar days following the 
date of the failure.

(2) The carrier shall provide the notice in writing.

c. The provisions of section 7.B.2. shall apply only in the case of a failure that:

(1) Is a communication by a covered person that is received by a person or 
organizational unit of the carrier responsible for handling benefit matters; 
and

(2) Is a communication that refers to a specific covered person, a specific 
medical condition or symptom, and a specific health care service, 
treatment or medical facility and/or health care professional for which 
authorization is being requested.

3. For an adverse determination regarding a prospective review decision that occurs during 
a covered person’s hospital stay or course of treatment, also known as concurrent 
review, the health care service or treatment that is the subject of an adverse 
determination shall continue to be covered according to the provisions of the health 
coverage plan until the covered person has been notified of the determination by the 
carrier.

4. The requirements of section 7.B. apply to all written requests involving utilization review 
received by the carrier which are submitted by a covered person or a medical facility 
and/or health care professional requesting a determination of coverage for a specific 
health care service or treatment for the covered person.

C. Retrospective review determinations.

1. For retrospective review determinations, a carrier shall make the determination and notify
the covered person and the covered person’s medical facility and/or health care 
professional of the determination within a reasonable period of time, but in no event later 



than thirty (30) calendar days after the carrier’s receipt of the benefit request. Whenever 
the determination is an adverse determination, the carrier shall provide notice of the 
adverse determination to the covered person in accordance with section 7.E.

2. Time period for determination and notification.

a. The time period for making a determination and notifying the covered person of 
the determination pursuant to section 7.C.1. may be extended one (1) time by the
carrier for up to fifteen (15) calendar days, provided the carrier:

(1) Determines that an extension is necessary due to matters beyond the 
carrier’s control; and

(2) Notifies the covered person, prior to the expiration of the initial thirty (30) 
calendar day time period, of the circumstances requiring the extension of
time and the date by which the carrier expects to make a determination.

b. If the extension under section 7.C.2.a. is necessary due to the failure of the 
covered person to submit information necessary to reach a determination on the 
request, the notice of extension shall:

(1) Specifically describe the required information necessary to complete the 
request; and

(2) Give the covered person at least forty-five (45) calendar days from the 
date of receipt of a notice to provide the specified information. If the 
deadline for submitting the specified information ends on a weekend or 
holiday, the deadline shall be extended to the next business day.

D. Calculation of time periods.

1. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a determination is required to 
be made under sections 7.B. and 7.C., the time period shall begin on the date of the 
carrier’s receipt of the request in accordance with the carrier’s procedures for filing a 
request without regard to whether all of the information necessary to make the 
determination accompanies the request.

2. Extensions.

a. If the time period for making the determination under sections 7.B. or 7.C. is 
extended due to the covered person’s failure to submit the information necessary
to make the determination, the time period for making the determination shall be 
tolled from the date on which the carrier sends the notification of the extension to 
the covered person until the earlier of:

(1) The date on which the covered person responds to the request for 
additional information; or

(2) The date on which the specified information was to have been submitted.

b. If the covered person fails to submit the information before the end of the period 
of the extension, as specified in sections 7.B. or 7.C., the carrier may deny the 
authorization of the requested benefit.

E. Requirements for adverse determination notifications.



1. Except for the adverse determinations described section 7.E.2., a notification of an 
adverse determination under this section shall, in a manner calculated to be understood 
by the covered person, set forth:

a. An explanation of the specific medical basis for the adverse determination;

b. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination;

c. Reference to the specific plan provisions on which the determination is based;

d. A description of any additional material or information necessary for the covered 
person to perfect the benefit request, including an explanation of why the 
material or information is necessary to perfect the request;

e. If the carrier relied upon an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion to make the adverse determination, either the specific rule, guideline, 
protocol, or other similar criterion or a statement that a specific rule, guideline, 
protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon to make the adverse 
determination and that a copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion will be provided free of charge to the covered person upon request;

f. If the adverse determination is based on a medical necessity, experimental or 
investigational treatment, or similar exclusion or limitation, either an explanation 
of the scientific or clinical judgment for making the determination, applying the 
terms of the health coverage plan to the covered person’s medical circumstances
or a statement that an explanation will be provided to the covered person free of 
charge upon request;

g. Information sufficient for the covered person to be able to identify the claim 
involved and a statement describing the availability, upon request, of the 
diagnosis code and its corresponding meaning, and the treatment code and its 
corresponding meaning;

h. If applicable, instructions for requesting:

(1) A copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion relied 
upon in making the adverse determination, as provided in section 
7.E.1.e.;

(2) The written statement of the scientific or clinical rationale for the adverse 
determination, as provided in section 7.E.1.f.; and/or

(3) The information necessary to identify the claim, as provided in section 
7.E.1.g.;

i. A description of the carrier’s review procedures and the time limits applicable to 
such procedures; and

j. An explanation of the right of the covered person to appeal an initial adverse 
determination with a description of the procedures for requesting an appeal.

(1) For individual health coverage plans, the notice shall include:

(a) An explanation of the right to a single level of internal appeal 
through a written appeal review or, unless it is an expedited 



appeal, the ability to appear in person or by telephone 
conference at a review meeting; and

(b) A description of the process to schedule a review meeting 
including the covered person’s rights pursuant to section 12.

(2) For group health coverage plans, the notice shall advise that the covered
person does not have the right to be present during the first level review.

2. For denials based on a contractual exclusion, the adverse determination notice shall 
include the health coverage plan’s specific exclusion language and shall advise the 
covered person of the right to appeal the applicability of the exclusion by providing 
evidence from a medical professional that there is a reasonable medical basis that the 
contractual exclusion does not apply.

3. A carrier shall provide the notice required under this section in writing, either on paper or 
electronically.

4. All written adverse determinations, except an adverse determination described in § 10-
16-113(1)(b)(I)(C) and (E), C.R.S., shall be reviewed and signed by a licensed physician 
familiar with standards of care in Colorado. In the case of written denials of requests for 
covered benefits for dental care, a licensed dentist familiar with standards of care in 
Colorado may review and sign the written denial.

5. The notice of the initial adverse determination shall include information concerning the 
covered person's ability to request an internal and external expedited review on a 
concurrent basis. This information may be included in the letter or other notice advising 
the covered person of the finding of an adverse determination, or it may be included as a 
separate document within the same mailing.

F. The requirements of section 7 apply to all written requests involving standard utilization review 
received by the carrier which are submitted by a covered person or a medical facility and/or 
health care professional requesting a determination of coverage for a specific health care service 
or treatment for the covered person.

Section 8 Expedited Utilization Review

A. Procedures.

1. A carrier shall establish written procedures in accordance with this section for receiving 
benefit requests from covered persons and for making and notifying covered persons of 
expedited utilization review with respect to urgent care requests. For purposes of this 
section, "covered person" includes the designated representative of a covered person.

2. Notification requirements.

a. As part of the procedures required under section 8.A.1., a carrier shall provide 
that, in the case of a failure by a covered person to follow the carrier’s 
procedures for filing an urgent care request, the covered person shall be notified 
of the failure and the proper procedures to be followed for filing the request.

b. The notice required under section 8.A.2.a.:

(1) Shall be provided to the covered person as soon as possible but not later
than twenty-four (24) hours after the carrier’s receipt of the request; and



(2) Shall be in writing.

c. The provisions of section 8.A.2. apply only in the case of a failure that:

(1) Is a communication by a covered person that is received by a person or 
organizational unit of the carrier responsible for handling benefit matters; 
and

(2) Is a communication that refers to a specific covered person, a specific 
medical condition or symptom, and a specific health care service, 
treatment or medical facility and/or health care professional for which 
approval is being requested.

B. Urgent care requests.

1. Notification requirements for carrier determinations.

a. For an urgent care request, unless the covered person has failed to provide 
sufficient information for the carrier to determine whether, or to what extent, the 
benefits requested are covered benefits or payable under the covered person’s 
health coverage plan, the carrier shall notify the covered person and the covered 
person’s medical facility and/or health care professional of the carrier’s 
determination with respect to the request, whether or not the determination is an 
adverse determination, as soon as possible, taking into account the medical 
condition of the covered person, but in no event later than seventy-two (72) hours
after the carrier’s receipt of the request.

b. If the carrier’s determination is an adverse determination, the carrier shall provide
notice of the adverse determination in accordance with section 8.E.

2. Notification requirements for insufficient information.

a. If the covered person fails to provide sufficient information for the carrier to make 
a determination, the carrier shall notify the covered person either orally or, if 
requested by the covered person, in writing of this failure and state what specific 
information is needed as soon as possible, but in no event later than twenty-four 
(24) hours after the carrier’s receipt of the request.

b. The carrier shall provide the covered person a reasonable period of time to 
submit the necessary information, taking into account the circumstances, but in 
no event less than forty-eight (48) hours after notifying the covered person of the 
failure to submit sufficient information, as provided in section 8.B.2.a.

c. The carrier shall notify the covered person and the covered person’s medical 
facility and/or health care professional of its determination with respect to the 
urgent care request as soon as possible, but in no event more than forty-eight 
(48) hours after the earlier of:

(1) The carrier’s receipt of the requested specified information; or

(2) The end of the period provided for the covered person to submit the 
requested specified information.



d. If the covered person fails to submit the information before the end of the period 
of the extension, as specified in section 8.B.2.b., the carrier may deny the 
authorization of the requested benefit.

e. If the carrier’s determination is an adverse determination, the carrier shall provide
notice of the adverse determination in accordance with section 8.E.

C. Concurrent urgent care review requests.

1. For concurrent urgent care review requests involving a request by the covered person to 
extend the course of treatment beyond the initial period of time or the number of 
treatments authorized, if the request is made at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to the 
expiration of the authorized period of time or authorized number of treatments, the carrier
shall make a determination with respect to the request and notify the covered person and
the covered person’s medical facility and/or health care professional of the determination,
whether it is an adverse determination or not, as soon as possible, taking into account 
the covered person’s medical condition, but in no event more than twenty-four (24) hours 
after the carrier’s receipt of the request.

2. If the carrier’s determination is an adverse determination, the carrier shall provide notice 
of the adverse determination in accordance with section 8.E. The health care service or 
treatment that is the subject of an adverse determination shall continue to be covered 
according to the provisions of the health coverage plan until the covered person has been
notified of the determination by the carrier.

D. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a determination is required to be made 
under sections 8.B. or 8.C., the time period shall begin on the date of the carrier’s receipt of the 
request in accordance with the carrier’s procedures established for filing a request without regard 
to whether all of the information necessary to make the determination accompanies the request.

E. Adverse determination notification requirements.

1. A notification of an adverse determination under this section shall, in a manner calculated
to be understood by the covered person, set forth:

a. An explanation of the specific medical basis for the adverse determination;

b. The specific reasons or reasons for the adverse determination;

c. Reference to the specific plan provisions on which the determination is based;

d. A description of any additional material or information necessary for the covered 
person to perfect the benefit request, including an explanation of why the 
material or information is necessary;

e. If the carrier relied upon an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion to make the adverse determination, either the specific rule, guideline, 
protocol, or other similar criterion or a statement that a specific rule, guideline, 
protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon to make the adverse 
determination and that a copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion will be provided free of charge to the covered person upon request;

f. If the adverse determination is based on a medical necessity, experimental or 
investigational treatment or similar exclusion or limitation, either an explanation of
the scientific or clinical judgment for making the determination, applying the 



terms of the health coverage plan to the covered person’s medical circumstances
or a statement that an explanation will be provided to the covered person free of 
charge upon request;

g. Information sufficient for the covered person to be able to identify the claim 
involved and a statement describing the availability, upon request, of the 
diagnosis code and its corresponding meaning, and the treatment code and its 
corresponding meaning;

h. If applicable, instructions for requesting:

(1) A copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion relied 
upon in making the adverse determination, as provided in section 
8.E.1.e.;

(2) The written statement of the scientific or clinical rationale for the adverse 
determination, as provided in section 8.E.1.f.; and/or

(3) The information necessary to identify the claim, as provided in section 
8.E.1.g.;

i. A description of the carrier’s expedited review procedures and the time limits 
applicable to such procedures; and

j. An explanation of the right of the covered person to appeal an initial adverse 
determination with a description of the procedures for requesting an appeal.

(1) For individual health coverage plans, the notice shall include an 
explanation of the right to a single level of internal appeal through a 
written appeal review and, because it is an expedited appeal, the inability
to appear in person or by telephone conference at a review meeting.

(2) For group health coverage plans, the notice shall advise that the covered
person does not have the right to be present during the first level review.

2. Additional notification requirements.

a. A carrier may provide the notice required under this section orally, in writing, or 
electronically.

b. If notice of the adverse determination is provided orally, the carrier shall provide 
a written or electronic notice of the adverse determination within three (3) 
calendar days following the oral notification.

3. All written adverse determinations shall be reviewed and signed by a licensed physician 
familiar with standards of care in Colorado. In the case of written denials of requests for 
covered benefits for dental care, a licensed dentist familiar with standards of care in 
Colorado may review and sign the written denial.

4. The notice of the initial adverse determination shall include information concerning the 
covered person's ability to request an internal and external expedited review on a 
concurrent basis. This information may be included in the letter or other notice advising 
the covered person of the finding of an adverse determination, or it may be included as a 
separate document within the same mailing.



F. The requirements of section 8 apply to all written requests involving expedited utilization review 
received by the carrier which are submitted by a covered person or a medical facility and/or 
health care professional requesting a determination of coverage for a specific health care service 
or treatment for the covered person.

Section 9 Emergency Services

A. A carrier shall not deny a claim for emergency services necessary to screen and stabilize a 
covered person on the grounds that an emergency medical condition did not actually exist if a 
prudent layperson having average knowledge of health care services and medicine and acting 
reasonably would have believed that an emergency medical condition or life or limb threatening 
emergency existed. Under these same circumstances, a claim for emergency services necessary
to screen and stabilize a covered person shall not be denied for failure by the covered person or 
the emergency service medical facility or health care professional to secure prior authorization. 
With respect to care obtained from a non-contracted medical facility and/or health care 
professional within the service area of a managed care plan, a carrier shall not deny a claim for 
emergency services necessary to screen and stabilize a covered person and shall not require 
prior authorization of the services if a prudent layperson would have reasonably believed that use
of a contracted medical facility and/or health care professional would result in a delay that would 
worsen the emergency, or if a provision of federal, state, or local law requires the use of a specific
medical facility and/or health care professional.

B. Health maintenance organizations shall also comply with the life or limb threatening emergency 
coverage provisions of § 10-16-407(2), C.R.S., in reviewing claims for emergency services 
necessary to screen and stabilize a covered person.

Section 10 Peer-to-Peer Conversation

A. In a case involving a prospective review determination, a carrier shall give the medical facility 
and/or health care professional rendering the service an opportunity to request, on behalf of the 
covered person, a peer-to-peer conversation regarding an adverse determination by the reviewer 
making the adverse determination. Such a request may be made either orally or in writing.

B. The peer-to-peer conversation shall occur within five (5) calendar days of the carrier’s receipt of 
the request and shall be conducted between the medical facility and/or health care professional 
rendering the health care service and the reviewer who made the adverse determination or a 
clinical peer designated by the reviewer if the reviewer who made the adverse determination 
cannot be available within five (5) calendar days.

C. If the peer-to-peer conversation does not resolve the difference of opinion, the adverse 
determination may be appealed by the covered person. A peer-to-peer conversation is not a 
prerequisite to a first level review or an expedited review of an adverse determination.

D. For the purposes of § 10-3-1104(1)(i), C.R.S., a request for a peer-to-peer conversation shall not 
be considered a complaint.

Section 11 First Level Review

A. General requirements.

1. A carrier shall establish written procedures for the review of an adverse determination 
that does not involve an urgent care request in compliance with § 10-16-113, C.R.S., and
this regulation. The procedures shall specify whether a first level review request must be 
in writing or may be submitted orally. The procedures shall also allow the covered person



to identify the medical facility and/or health care professionals to whom the carrier shall 
send a copy of the review decision.

2. A first level review shall be available to, and may be initiated by, the covered person. For 
purposes of this section, “covered person” includes the designated representative of a 
covered person.

3. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(i), C.R.S., all written requests for a first level review shall be 
entered into the carrier’s complaint record.

4. Within 180 calendar days after the date of receipt of a notice of an adverse determination
sent pursuant to sections 7 or 8 or after the date of receipt of notification of a benefit 
denied due to a contractual exclusion, a covered person may file a grievance with the 
carrier requesting a first level review of the adverse determination. In order to secure a 
first level review after the receipt of the notification of a benefit denied due to a 
contractual exclusion, the covered person must be able to provide evidence from a 
medical professional that there is a reasonable medical basis that the exclusion does not 
apply. If the deadline for filing a request ends on a weekend or holiday, the deadline shall
be extended to the next business day.

5. Full and fair review.

a. Before issuing a final internal adverse benefit determination based on new and/or
additional evidence, the carrier shall provide the covered person, free of charge, 
the new and/or additional evidence considered, relied upon, or generated by the 
carrier in connection with the claim. Such evidence shall be provided as soon as 
possible and sufficiently in advance of the date on which the notice of the final 
internal adverse benefit determination is required to be provided pursuant to 
section 11.E. to give the covered person a reasonable opportunity to respond 
prior to that date.

b. Before issuing a final internal adverse benefit determination based on new and/or
additional rationale, the carrier shall provide the covered person, free of charge, 
with the rationale considered, relied upon, or generated by the carrier in 
connection with the claim. Such rationale shall be provided as soon as possible 
and sufficiently in advance of the date on which the notice of the final internal 
adverse benefit determination is required to be provided pursuant to section 
11.E. to give the covered person a reasonable opportunity to respond prior to 
that date.

B. Individual health coverage plans.

1. Covered persons shall be provided a choice between a written appeal review and a 
review meeting for their first level appeal.

2. Written appeal reviews shall comply with the requirements of section 11.C.

3. Review meetings shall comply with the requirements of section 12. The covered person’s
right to a fair review shall not be made conditional on the covered person’s appearance at
the review meeting.

4. The covered person is entitled to a single internal appeal review.

C. Conduct of first level written appeal reviews.



1. First level reviews shall be evaluated by a physician who shall consult with an appropriate
clinical peer(s), unless the reviewing physician is a clinical peer. The physician and 
clinical peer(s) shall not have been involved in the initial adverse determination. However,
a person that was previously involved with the denial may answer questions.

2. In conducting a review under this section, the reviewer(s) shall take into consideration all 
comments, documents, records, and other information regarding the request for services 
or benefits submitted by the covered person without regard to whether the information 
was submitted or considered in making the initial adverse determination. If the appeal is 
pursuant to § 10-16-113(1)(c), C.R.S., regarding the applicability of a contractual 
exclusion, the determination shall be made on the basis of whether the contractual 
exclusion applies to the denied benefit.

D. Covered person’s rights for first level written appeal review for individual and group health 
coverage plans. A covered person is entitled to:

1. Submit written comments, documents, records, and other material relating to the request 
for benefits for the reviewer(s) to consider when conducting the review. For review of a 
benefit denial due to a contractual exclusion, the covered person shall provide evidence 
from a medical professional that there is a reasonable medical basis that the exclusion 
does not apply; and

2. Receive from the carrier, upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to, and 
copies of all documents, records, and other information relevant to the covered person’s 
request for benefits. A document, record, or other information shall be considered 
“relevant” to a covered person’s request for benefits if the document, record, or other 
information:

a. Was relied upon in making the benefit determination;

b. Was submitted, considered, or generated in the course of making the adverse 
determination, without regard to whether the document, record, or other 
information was relied upon in making the benefit determination;

c. Demonstrates that, in making the benefit determination, the carrier or its 
designated representatives consistently applied required administrative 
procedures and safeguards with respect to the covered person as with other 
similarly-situated covered persons; and/or

d. Constitutes a statement of policy or guidance with respect to the health coverage
plan concerning the denied health care service or treatment for the covered 
person’s diagnosis, without regard to whether the advice or statement was relied 
upon in making the benefit determination.

3. A covered person does not have the right to be present for the written appeal review.

E. Notification requirements.

1. A carrier shall notify and issue a decision in writing or electronically to the covered person
within the time frames provided in section 11.E.2.

2. With respect to a request for a first level review of an adverse determination involving a 
prospective review request, the carrier shall notify and issue a decision within a 
reasonable period of time that is appropriate given the covered person’s medical 



condition, but no later than thirty (30) calendar days after the date of the carrier’s receipt 
of the grievance containing a request for the first level review.

3. With respect to a request for a first level review of an adverse determination involving a 
retrospective review request, the carrier shall notify and issue a decision within a 
reasonable period of time, but no later than sixty (60) calendar days after the date of the 
carrier’s receipt of a request for the first level review.

F. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a determination is required to be made 
and notice provided under section 11.E.3., the time period shall begin on the date of the carrier’s 
receipt of the grievance requesting the review provided in accordance with the carrier’s 
procedures for filing a request without regard to whether all of the information necessary to make 
the determination accompanies the request.

G. The decision issued pursuant to section 11.E. shall set forth in a manner calculated to be 
understood by the covered person:

1. The name, title and qualifying credentials of the physician evaluating the appeal, and the 
qualifying credentials of the clinical peer(s) with whom the physician consulted. For the 
purposes of section 11, the physician and consulting clinical peers shall be called “the 
reviewers”;

2. A statement of the reviewers’ understanding of the covered person’s request for a review 
of an adverse determination;

3. The reviewers’ decision in clear terms; and

4. A reference to the evidence or documentation used as the basis for the decision.

H. A first level review decision involving an adverse determination issued pursuant to section 11.E. 
shall include, in addition to the requirements of section 11.G.:

1. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination, including the specific plan 
provisions and medical rationale;

2. A statement that the covered person is entitled to receive, upon request and free of 
charge, reasonable access to, and copies of, all documents, records, and other 
information relevant, as the term “relevant” is defined in section 11.D.2., to the covered 
person’s benefit request;

3. If the reviewers relied upon an internal rule, guideline, protocol or other similar criterion to
make the adverse determination, either the specific rule, guideline, protocol, or other 
similar criterion or a statement that a specific rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion was relied upon to make the adverse determination and that a copy of the rule, 
guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion will be provided free of charge to the covered
person upon request;

4. If the adverse determination is based on a medical necessity, experimental or 
investigational treatment, or similar exclusion or limitation, either an explanation of the 
scientific or clinical judgment for making the determination, applying the terms of the 
health coverage plan to the covered person’s medical circumstances or a statement that 
an explanation will be provided to the covered person free of charge upon request;



5. Information sufficient for the covered person to be able to identify the claim involved and 
a statement describing the availability, upon request, of the diagnosis code and its 
corresponding meaning, and the treatment code and its corresponding meaning;

6. If applicable, instructions for requesting:

a. A copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion relied upon in 
making the adverse determination, as provided in section 11.H.3.;

b. The written statement of the scientific or clinical rationale for the determination, 
as provided in section 11.H.4.; and/or

c. The information necessary to identify the claim, as provided in section 11.H.5.; 
and

7. A description of the procedures for obtaining an independent external review of the 
adverse determination pursuant to section 5 of Colorado Insurance Regulation 4-2-21.

8. For group health coverage plans, a description of the process to obtain a voluntary 
second level review, including:

a. The written procedures governing the voluntary second level review, including 
the required time frames for the review;

b. The right of the covered person to:

(1) Request the opportunity to appear in person before a health care 
professional (reviewer) or, if offered by the carrier, a review panel of 
health care professionals, who have appropriate expertise, who were not 
previously involved in the appeal, and who do not have a direct financial 
interest in the outcome of the review;

(2) Receive, upon request, a copy of the materials that the carrier intends to 
present at the review at least five (5) calendar days prior to the date of 
the review meeting. Any new material developed after the five-day 
deadline shall be provided by the carrier when practicable;

(3) Present written comments, documents, records, and other material 
relating to the request for benefits for the reviewer or review panel to 
consider when conducting the review both before and, if applicable, at 
the review meeting;

(a) A copy of the materials the covered person plans to present or 
have presented on his or her behalf at the review meeting should
be provided to the carrier at least five (5) calendar days prior to 
the date of the review meeting;

(b) Any new material developed after the five-day deadline shall be 
provided to the carrier when practicable;

(4) Present the covered person’s case to the reviewer or review panel;

(5) If applicable, ask questions of the reviewer or review panel; and



(6) Be assisted or represented by an individual(s) of the covered person’s 
choice, including counsel, advocates, and health care professionals;

c. A statement that the carrier will provide to the covered person, upon request, 
sufficient information relating to the voluntary second level review to enable the 
covered person to make an informed judgment about whether to submit the 
adverse determination to a voluntary second level review, including a statement 
that the decision of the covered person as to whether or not to submit the 
adverse determination to a voluntary second level review will have no effect on 
the covered person’s rights to any other benefits under the plan, the process for 
selecting the decision maker, and the impartiality of the decision maker.

d. A description of the procedures for obtaining an independent external review of 
the adverse determination pursuant to section 5 of Colorado Insurance 
Regulation 4-2-21 if the covered person chooses not to request a voluntary 
second level review of the first level review decision involving an adverse 
determination.

Section 12 General Requirements for First Level and Voluntary Second Level Review
Meetings

A. A carrier shall establish procedures for a review process in which the covered person has the 
right to appear in person or by telephone conference at the review meeting before a health care 
professional (reviewer) or, if offered by the carrier, a review panel of health care professionals, 
selected by the carrier. The procedures shall allow the covered person to identify the medical 
facility and/or health care professional(s) to whom the carrier shall send a copy of the review 
decision. The purpose of the review meeting process is to give the covered person the 
opportunity to explain his or her grievance and to provide any relevant evidence in support of his 
or her claim for benefits.

B. For purposes of this section, "covered person" includes the designated representative of a 
covered person.

C. A complaint record entry shall be made for all review meeting requests, pursuant to § 10-3-
1104(1)(i), C.R.S.

D. Covered person’s review request filing requirements.

1. For individual health coverage plans, the requirements of section 11.A.4. apply.

2. For group health coverage plans, within sixty (60) calendar days after the date of receipt 
of a notice of a first level review adverse determination, the covered person may file a 
request with the carrier requesting a voluntary second level review of the adverse 
determination. If the deadline for filing a request ends on a weekend or holiday, the 
deadline shall be extended to the next business day.

E. The covered person’s right to a fair review shall not be made conditional on the covered person’s 
appearance at the review meeting.

F. Carrier’s requirements.

1. The adverse determination or, with respect to a voluntary second level review of a first 
level review decision, the denial shall be reviewed by a health care professional 
(reviewer) or, if offered by the carrier, a review panel of health care professionals, who 
have appropriate expertise in relation to the case presented by the covered person.



2. The reviewer or each review panel member, shall meet the following criteria:

a. Were not previously involved in the appeal;

b. Do not have a direct financial interest in the appeal or outcome of the review; and

c. Are not a subordinate of any person previously involved in the appeal.

3. The reviewer or the review panel shall have the legal authority to bind the carrier to the 
reviewer’s or review panel’s decision.

G. The carrier's procedures for conducting a review meeting shall include the following:

1. The reviewer or review panel shall schedule and hold a review meeting within sixty (60) 
calendar days of the carrier’s receipt of a request from a covered person for a review 
meeting. The covered person shall be notified in writing at least twenty (20) calendar 
days in advance of the review meeting date. The carrier shall not unreasonably deny a 
request for postponement of the review meeting made by a covered person even if the 
postponement causes the review meeting to occur beyond the sixty (60) calendar day 
requirement.

2. Notice requirements. The notice to the covered person of the review meeting date shall 
include:

a. The right of the covered person to present written comments, documents, 
records, and other material relating to the request for benefits for the reviewer or 
review panel to consider when conducting the review both before and, if 
applicable, at the review meeting.

b. The right of the covered person to receive, upon request, a copy of the materials 
that the carrier intends to present at the review meeting at least five (5) calendar 
days prior to the date of the review meeting. Any new material developed after 
the five-day deadline shall be provided by the carrier when practicable.

c. The responsibility of the covered person to submit a copy of the materials that 
the covered person plans to present or have presented on his or her behalf at the
review meeting to the carrier at least five (5) calendar days prior to the date of 
the review meeting. Any new material developed after the five-day deadline shall 
be provided to the carrier when practicable.

d. The responsibility of the covered person to, within seven (7) calendar days in 
advance of the review meeting, inform the carrier if the covered person intends to
have an attorney present to represent such person’s interests. If the covered 
person decides to have an attorney present after the seven-day deadline, notice 
shall be provided to the carrier when practicable.

e. The carrier shall use this notification to advise the covered person if it intends to 
have an attorney present to represent the interests of the carrier.

f. The carrier shall use this notification to advise the covered person that it will 
make an audio or video recording of the review meeting unless neither the 
covered person nor the carrier wants the recording made. The notice shall advise
that this recording will be made available to the covered person and that if there 
is an external review, the audio or video recording shall be included in the 



material provided by the carrier to the reviewing entity unless the covered person
specifically requests that it not be included.

3. Carriers shall in no way discourage a covered person from requesting a face-to-face 
review meeting. Whenever a covered person has requested the opportunity to appear in 
person, the review meeting shall be held during regular business hours at a location 
reasonably accessible to the covered person, including accommodation for disabilities. In
cases where a face-to-face meeting is not practical for geographic reasons, a carrier shall
offer the covered person the opportunity to communicate, at the carrier's expense, by 
telephone conference call. A carrier may also offer video conferencing or other 
appropriate technology.

4. In conducting the review meeting, if applicable, the reviewer or review panel shall take 
into consideration all comments, documents, records, and other information regarding the
request for benefits submitted by the covered person without regard to whether the 
information was submitted or considered in reaching the first level review decision. If the 
appeal is pursuant to § 10-16-113(1)(c), C.R.S., regarding the applicability of a 
contractual exclusion, the determination shall be made on the basis of whether the 
contractual exclusion applies to the denied benefit.

5. Full and fair review.

a. Before issuing a final internal adverse benefit determination based on new and/or
additional evidence, the carrier shall provide the covered person, free of charge, 
the new and/or additional evidence considered, relied upon, or generated by the 
carrier in connection with the claim. Such evidence shall be provided as soon as 
possible and sufficiently in advance of the date on which the notice of the final 
internal adverse benefit determination is required to be provided pursuant to 
section 12.G.6. to give the covered person a reasonable opportunity to respond 
prior to that date.

b. Before issuing a final internal adverse benefit determination based on new and/or
additional rationale, the carrier shall provide the covered person, free of charge, 
with the rationale considered, relied upon, or generated by the carrier in 
connection with the claim. Such rationale shall be provided as soon as possible 
and sufficiently in advance of the date on which the notice of the final internal 
adverse benefit determination is required to be provided pursuant to section 
12.G.6. to give the covered person a reasonable opportunity to respond prior to 
that date.

6. The reviewer or review panel shall issue a written decision, as provided in section 12.H., 
to the covered person within seven (7) calendar days of completing the review meeting.

7. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a review meeting is required to 
be scheduled, the time period shall begin on the date of the carrier’s receipt of the 
request for a review meeting provided in accordance with the carrier’s procedures for 
filing a request without regard to whether all of the information necessary to make the 
determination accompanies the request.

H. A decision issued pursuant to section 12.G. shall include:

1. The name(s), title(s), and qualifying credentials of the reviewer or the members of the 
review panel;



2. A statement of the reviewer’s or the review panel’s understanding of the covered 
person’s request for review of an adverse determination;

3. The reviewer’s or the review panel’s decision in clear terms;

4. A reference to the evidence or documentation used as the basis for the decision;

5. For a decision issued involving an adverse determination:

a. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination, including the 
specific plan provisions and medical rationale;

b. A statement that the covered person is entitled to receive, upon request and free 
of charge, reasonable access to, and copies of, all documents, records, and 
other information relevant, as the term “relevant” is defined in section 11.D.2., to 
the covered person’s benefit request;

c. If the reviewer or review panel relied upon an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or 
other similar criterion to make the adverse determination, either the specific rule, 
guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion or a statement that a specific rule, 
guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon to make the adverse
determination and that a copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion will be provided free of charge to the covered person upon request;

d. If the adverse determination is based on a medical necessity, experimental or 
investigational treatment, or similar exclusion or limitation, either an explanation 
of the scientific or clinical judgment for making the determination, applying the 
terms of the health coverage plan to the covered person’s medical circumstances
or a statement that an explanation will be provided to the covered person free of 
charge upon request;

e. If applicable, instructions for requesting:

(1) A copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion relied 
upon in making the adverse determination, as provided in section 
12.H.5.c.; and

(2) The written statement of the scientific or clinical rationale for the 
determination, as provided in section 12.H.5.d.; and

f. A description of the procedures for obtaining an independent external review of 
the adverse determination pursuant to section 5 of Colorado Insurance 
Regulation 4-2-21.

Section 13 Expedited Review of an Adverse Determination

A. A carrier shall establish written procedures for the expedited review of urgent care requests or 
grievances involving an adverse determination. A carrier shall also provide an expedited review 
for a request for a benefit for a covered person who has received emergency services but has not
been discharged from a medical facility. The procedures shall allow a covered person to request 
an expedited review under this section orally or in writing. The procedures shall also allow the 
covered person to identify a medical facility and/or health care professional(s) to whom the carrier
shall send a copy of the review decision. Pursuant to § 10-16-113.5(7), C.R.S., a covered person 
requesting an expedited external review may request such review concurrently with a request for 
an expedited internal review.



B. An expedited review shall be available to, and may be initiated by, the covered person or the 
medical facility and/or health care professional acting on behalf of the covered person. For 
purposes of this section, "covered person" includes the designated representative of a covered 
person.

C. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(i), C.R.S., all written requests for an expedited review shall be 
entered into the carrier’s complaint record.

D. Expedited appeal evaluations.

1. Expedited appeals shall be evaluated by an appropriate clinical peer(s) in the same or 
similar specialty as would typically manage the case under review. For the purposes of 
this section, the clinical peer(s) shall be called “the reviewer(s)”. The clinical peer(s) shall 
not have been involved in the initial adverse determination.

2. In conducting a review under this section, the reviewer(s) shall take into consideration all 
comments, documents, records, and other information regarding the request for services 
submitted by, or on behalf of, the covered person without regard to whether the 
information was submitted or considered in making the initial adverse determination.

E. Covered person’s rights. A covered person does not have the right to attend or to have a 
representative in attendance at the expedited review, but the covered person is entitled to:

1. Submit written comments, documents, records, and other materials relating to the 
request for benefits for the reviewer(s) to consider when conducting the review; and

2. Receive from the carrier, upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to, and 
copies of, all documents, records, and other information relevant to the covered person’s 
request for benefits, as described in section 11.D.2.

F. In an expedited review, all necessary information, including the carrier's decision, shall be 
transmitted between the carrier and the covered person or the medical facility and/or health care 
professional acting on behalf of the covered person by telephone, facsimile or similar expeditious 
method available.

G. In an expedited review, a carrier shall make a decision and notify the covered person or the 
medical facility and/or health care professional acting on the covered person's behalf as 
expeditiously as the covered person's medical condition requires, but in no event more than 
seventy-two (72) hours after the carrier’s receipt of the request. If the expedited review is a 
concurrent review and an adverse determination is made, the health care service or treatment 
shall continue to be covered according to the provisions of the health coverage plan until the 
covered person has been notified of the determination by the carrier.

H. A carrier shall provide a written confirmation of its decision concerning an expedited review within
three (3) calendar days of providing notification of that decision, if the initial notification was not in 
writing.

I. In the case of an adverse determination, the written decision shall comply with the requirements 
specified in sections 11.G. and 11.H. of this regulation.

J. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a decision is required to be made under 
section 13.G., the time period within which the decision is required to be made shall begin on the 
date of the carrier’s receipt of the request in accordance with the carrier’s procedures for filing a 
request without regard to whether all of the information necessary to make the determination 
accompanies the request.



K. In any case where the expedited review process does not resolve a difference of opinion between
the carrier and the covered person or the medical facility and/or health care professional acting 
on behalf of the covered person, the covered person or the medical facility and/or health care 
professional acting on behalf of the covered person may request an independent external review.

L. Retrospective adverse determinations are not eligible for the expedited review process.

Section 14 Rescission and Initial Eligibility Determinations

A. The rescission of coverage and denials of coverage to an individual based on initial eligibility 
determinations are considered adverse determinations for the purposes of this regulation.

B. A carrier shall provide notice thirty (30) calendar days in advance of the policy rescission to each 
person covered by the policy.

C. An individual has the right to appeal a rescission or denial of coverage based on an initial 
coverage determination in accordance with sections 11 and 12 of this regulation. However, a 
physician or panel of health care professionals is not required to evaluate these appeals or 
consult with an appropriate clinical peer pursuant to § 10-16-113(4)(b)(II), C.R.S.

D. The carrier’s rescission notification or denial of coverage based on an initial coverage 
determination do not have to be reviewed and signed by a physician.

Section 15 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason 
held to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation shall not be affected.

Section 16 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in 
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition 
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license, 
subject to the requirements of due process.

Section 17 Effective Date

This amended regulation is effective on June 1, 2019.

Section 18 History

Originally promulgated effective July 1, 1997.
Amended effective April 1, 2000.
Amended effective April 1, 2004 to comply with ERISA claims/appeals procedures.
Amended effective October 1, 2004, to correct internal references and to provide clarification with respect 
to the expedited appeal.
Emergency Regulation 05-E-5 effective January 1, 2006.
Amended effective February 1, 2006.
Amended regulation effective November 1, 2010.
Amended regulation effective December 1, 2013.
Amended regulation effective June 1, 2019.
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Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of §§ 
10-1-109, 10-3-1110, 10-16-109, and 10-16-113(2) and (10), C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to set forth guidelines for insurer compliance with the provisions of §§ 
10-3-1104(1)(h) and 10-16-113, C.R.S., in situations involving utilization review and certain denials of 
long-term care insurance benefits as described herein. Among other things, § 10-3-1104(1)(h), C.R.S., 
requires insurers to adopt and implement reasonable standards for the prompt investigation of claims 
arising from long-term care policies; promptly provide a reasonable explanation of the basis in the long-
term care policy in relation to the facts or applicable law for denial of a claim or for the offer of a 
compromise settlement; and refrain from denying a claim without conducting a reasonable investigation 
based upon all available information.

This regulation is designed to provide minimum standards for handling appeals and grievances involving 
utilization review determinations, certain denials of benefits for treatments excluded by long-term care 
policies, and as otherwise required by § 10-16-113, C.R.S.

Section 3 Applicability



The provisions of this regulation shall apply to all long-term care insurance policies marketed and issued 
in Colorado. Where a decision concerning a claim is not based on utilization review, an insurer is not 
required to use the specific procedures outlined in this regulation. However, this regulation shall apply to 
an insurer’s denial of a benefit because the treatment is excluded by the long-term care policy if the 
covered person presents evidence from a medical professional that there is a reasonable medical basis 
that the contractual exclusion does not apply. Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to supplant any
appeal or due process rights that a person may have under federal or state law.

Section 4 Definitions

A. “Activities of daily living” mean, for the purposes of this regulation, bathing, continence, dressing, 
eating, toileting, and transferring.

B. “Adverse determination” means, for the purposes of this regulation:

1. A determination by an insurer or its designee that a request for a pre-service or post-
service benefit has been reviewed and, based upon the information provided, does not 
meet the insurer’s requirement for medical necessity, or that the benefit is not 
appropriate, effective, efficient, is not provided in or at the appropriate health care setting 
or level of care, and is therefore denied, reduced, or terminated;

2. A denial for a benefit excluded by a long-term care policy for which the covered person is 
able to present evidence from a medical professional that there is a reasonable medical 
basis that the contractual exclusion does not apply to the denied benefit; and/or

3. A determination that the covered person has not met the necessary benefit trigger 
criteria.

C. “Ambulatory review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a utilization review of health care 
services performed or provided in an outpatient setting.

D. “Applicable non-English language” means, for the purposes of this regulation, with respect to an 
address in any Colorado county to which a notice is sent, a non-English language that ten 
percent (10%) or more of the population residing in the county is only literate in as determined by 
the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services.

E. “Benefit trigger” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a contractual provision in the covered 
person’s long-term care insurance policy conditioning the payment of benefits on a determination 
of the covered person’s ability to perform activities of daily living; on cognitive impairment; or, for 
tax-qualified long-term care policies, that the covered person is a chronically ill individual.

F. “Case management” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a coordinated set of activities 
conducted for individual patient management of serious, complicated, protracted, or other health 
conditions.

G. “Chronically ill individual” means, for the purposes of this regulation, any individual who has been 
certified by a licensed health care professional as:

1. Being unable to perform, without substantial assistance from another individual, at least 
two (2) activities of daily living for a period of at least ninety (90) days due to a loss of 
functional capacity; or

2. Requiring substantial supervision to protect such individual from threats to health and 
safety due to severe cognitive impairment.



H. “Clinical peer” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a physician or other health care 
professional who holds a non-restricted license in a state of the United States and in the same or 
similar specialty as typically manages the medical condition or treatment under review.

I. “Complaint” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a written communication primarily 
expressing a grievance.

J. “Covered person” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(15), C.R.S.

K. “Date of receipt of a notice” means, for the purposes of this regulation, the date that shall be 
calculated to be no less than three (3) calendar days after the date the notice is postmarked by 
the insurer.

L. “Designated representative” means, for the purposes of this regulation:

1. A person, including the treating health care professional or a person authorized by 
section 4.L.2., to whom a covered person has given express written consent to represent 
the covered person;

2. A person authorized by law to provide substituted consent for a covered person, including
but not limited to a guardian, agent under a power of attorney, a proxy, or a designee of 
the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing;

3. In the case of an urgent care request, a health care professional with knowledge of the 
covered person’s medical condition; and/or

4. A family member of the covered person or the covered person’s treating health care 
professional only when the covered person is unable to provide consent.

M. “Discharge planning” means, for the purposes of this regulation, the formal process for 
determining, prior to discharge from a facility or service, the coordination and management of the 
care that a covered person receives following discharge from a facility.

N. “Facility” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a facility licensed or otherwise authorized to 
furnish health or long-term care services.

O. “Grievance” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a circumstance regarded as a cause for 
protest, including the protest of an adverse determination.

P. “Health care professional” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a physician or other health 
care practitioner licensed, accredited, or certified to perform specified health care services 
consistent with state law.

Q. “Health care services” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(33), C.R.S.

R. “Insurer’s receipt” means, for the purposes of this regulation, the receipt date as date-stamped by
the insurer in a legible manner; an electronically-formatted receipt date; a facsimile transmission 
date; or a receipt date imprinted on the document in some type of permanent manner. The 
earliest receipt date on the document will be considered the insurer’s receipt date.

S. “Long-term care insurance” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-19-103(5), C.R.S. For 
the purposes of this regulation, it includes the term “long-term care policy”.

T. “Medical professional” means, for the purposes of this regulation, an individual licensed pursuant 
to the “Colorado Medical Practice Act”, article 36 of title 12, C.R.S.



U. “Prospective review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a utilization review conducted 
prior to an admission or course of treatment. Also known as a “pre-service review”.

V. “Retrospective review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, utilization review conducted 
after services have been provided to a covered person, but does not include the review of a claim
that is limited to an evaluation of reimbursement levels, veracity of documentation, accuracy of 
coding, or adjudication for payment. Also known as a “post-service review”.

W. “Voluntary second level review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a request for a review 
of an adverse determination from a first-level appeal which is only available to persons covered 
under a group long-term care policy.

X. “Urgent care request” means, for the purposes of this regulation:

1. A request for a health care service or course of treatment with respect to which the time 
periods for making a non-urgent care request determination that could seriously 
jeopardize the life or health of the covered person or the ability of the covered person to 
regain maximum function; or for a covered person with a physical or mental disability, 
creates an imminent and substantial limitation on this or her existing ability to live 
independently.

2. Except as provided in section 4.X.3., in determining whether a request is to be treated as 
an urgent care request, a person acting on behalf of the insurer shall apply the judgment 
of a prudent layperson who possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine.

3. Any request that a physician with knowledge of the covered person’s medical condition 
determines and states is an urgent care request within the meaning of section 4.X.1. shall
be treated as an urgent care request.

Y. “Utilization review” means, for the purposes of this regulation, a set of formal techniques designed
to monitor the use of, or evaluate the medical necessity, appropriateness, efficacy, or efficiency 
of, health care services or settings. Techniques include ambulatory review, prospective review, 
second opinion, certification, concurrent review, case management, discharge planning, and 
retrospective review. It also includes reviews of a covered person's medical circumstances when 
necessary to determine if a policy exclusion applies in a given situation.

Section 5 Compliance Requirements

A. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(IV), C.R.S., an insurer that does not use a procedure for 
investigating claims involving utilization review consistent with this regulation shall be deemed to 
be in violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive practice insurance 
statutes of Colorado that an insurer refrain from denying a claim without conducting a reasonable 
investigation based upon all available information.

B. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(III), C.R.S., an insurer using standards in the review of claims 
involving utilization review that are not in compliance with the rules contained in this regulation 
shall be deemed to be in violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive 
practice insurance statutes of Colorado that an insurer use reasonable standards for the prompt 
investigation of claims.

C. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(II), C.R.S., an insurer that does not investigate claims involving 
utilization review within the time frames set out in this regulation shall be deemed to be in 
violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive practice insurance 
statutes of Colorado that an insurer promptly investigate claims.



D. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(XIV), C.R.S., an insurer that does not follow the procedures for 
explaining the basis of a utilization review decision set forth in this regulation shall be deemed to 
be in violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive practice insurance 
statutes of Colorado that an insurer promptly provide a reasonable explanation of the basis in the 
insurance policy in relation to the facts or applicable law for denial of a claim.

E. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(h)(IV), C.R.S., an insurer that does not allow an appeal, consistent 
with the procedures set forth in this regulation, of a benefit denial for a treatment excluded by the 
long-term care policy when the covered person presents evidence from a medical professional 
that there is a reasonable medical basis that a contractual exclusion does not apply shall be 
deemed to be in violation of the requirement under the unfair competition and deceptive practice 
insurance statutes of Colorado that an insurer refrain from denying a claim without conducting a 
reasonable investigation based upon all available information.

E. Insurers shall avoid conflicts of interest to ensure all benefit reviews and appeals are adjudicated 
in a manner designed to guarantee the independence and impartiality of the persons involved in 
making the decision. With respect to any person involved in the review of benefit requests and/or 
the review of appeals, decisions regarding hiring, compensation, termination, or promotion shall 
not be made based upon the likelihood that the person will support the denial of benefits.

Section 6 Form and Manner of Notices

A. Insurers shall provide all relevant notices in a culturally and linguistically appropriate manner as 
follows:

1. In the English versions of all notices, a statement prominently displayed in any applicable
non-English language clearly indicating how to access the language services provided by
the insurer; and

2. Shall provide, upon request, a notice in any applicable non-English language and shall 
allow the covered person the option of electing to receive all subsequent notices in the 
requested applicable non-English language.

B. Insurers shall provide oral language services in any applicable non-English language, providing 
assistance with answering questions about the filing of benefit requests and appeals.

Section 7 Standard Utilization Review

A. An insurer shall maintain written procedures pursuant to this section for making utilization review 
decisions and for notifying covered persons of its decisions. For purposes of this section, 
"covered person" includes the designated representative of a covered person.

B. Prospective review determinations.

1. Time period for determination and notification.

a. Subject to section 7.B.1.b., an insurer shall make the determination and notify the
covered person and the covered person’s facility and/or health care professional 
of the determination, whether the insurer certifies the provision of the benefit or 
not, within a reasonable period of time appropriate to the covered person’s 
medical condition, but in no event later than fifteen (15) calendar days after the 
insurer’s receipt of the request. Whenever the determination is an adverse 
determination, the insurer shall make the notification of the adverse 
determination in accordance with section 7.E.



b. The time period for making a determination and notifying the covered person of 
the determination pursuant to section 7.B.1.a. may be extended one (1) time by 
the insurer for up to fifteen (15) calendar days, provided the insurer:

(1) Determines that an extension is necessary due to matters beyond the 
insurer’s control; and

(2) Notifies the covered person prior to the expiration of the initial fifteen (15)
calendar day time period, of the circumstances requiring the extension of
time and the date by which the insurer expects to make a determination.

c. If the extension under section 7.B.1.b. is necessary due to the failure of the 
covered person to submit information necessary to reach a determination on the 
request, the notice of extension shall:

(1) Specifically describe the required information necessary to complete the 
request; and

(2) Give the covered person at least forty-five (45) calendar days from the 
date of receipt of a notice to provide the specified information. If the 
deadline for submitting the specified information ends on a weekend or 
holiday, the deadline shall be extended to the next business day.

2. Failure to meet the insurer’s filing procedures.

a. Whenever the insurer receives a prospective review request from a covered 
person that fails to meet the insurer’s filing procedures, the insurer shall notify the
covered person of this failure and provide in the notice information on the proper 
procedures to be followed for filing a request.

b. Required notice.

(1) The notice required under section 7.B.2.a. shall be provided as soon as 
possible, but in no event later than five (5) calendar days following the 
date of the failure.

(2) The insurer shall provide the notice in writing.

c. The provisions of section 7.B.2. shall apply only in the case of a failure that:

(1) Is a communication by a covered person that is received by a person or 
organizational unit of the insurer responsible for handling benefit matters;
and

(2) Is a communication that refers to a specific covered person, a specific 
medical condition, and a specific health care service, treatment or facility 
and/or health care professional for which authorization is being 
requested.

3. For an adverse determination regarding a prospective review decision that occurs during 
a covered person’s facility stay or course of treatment, also known as concurrent review, 
the health care service that is the subject of an adverse determination shall continue to 
be covered according to the provisions of the long-term care policy until the covered 
person has been notified of the determination by the insurer.



4. The requirements of section 7.B. apply to all written requests involving utilization review 
received by the insurer which are submitted by a covered person or a facility and/or 
health care professional requesting a determination of coverage for a specific health care
service for the covered person.

C. Retrospective review determinations.

1. For retrospective review determinations, an insurer shall make the determination and 
notify the covered person and the covered person’s facility and/or health care 
professional of the determination within a reasonable period of time, but in no event later 
than thirty (30) calendar days after the insurer’s receipt of the benefit request. Whenever 
the determination is an adverse determination, the insurer shall provide notice of the 
adverse determination to the covered person in accordance with section 7.E.

2. Time period for determination and notification.

a. The time period for making a determination and notifying the covered person of 
the determination pursuant to section 7.C.1. may be extended one (1) time by the
insurer for up to fifteen (15) calendar days, provided the insurer:

(1) Determines that an extension is necessary due to matters beyond the 
insurer’s control; and

(2) Notifies the covered person prior to the expiration of the initial thirty (30) 
calendar day time period, of the circumstances requiring the extension of
time and the date by which the insurer expects to make a determination.

b. If the extension under section 7.C.2.a. is necessary due to the failure of the 
covered person to submit information necessary to reach a determination on the 
request, the notice of extension shall:

(1) Specifically describe the required information necessary to complete the 
request; and

(2) Give the covered person at least forty-five (45) calendar days from the 
date of receipt of a notice to provide the specified information. If the 
deadline for submitting the specified information ends on a weekend or 
holiday, the deadline shall be extended to the next business day.

D. Calculation of time periods.

1. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a determination is required to 
be made under sections 7.B. and 7.C., the time period shall begin on the date of the 
insurer’s receipt of the request in accordance with the insurer’s procedures for filing a 
request without regard to whether all of the information necessary to make the 
determination accompanies the request.

2. Extensions.

a. If the time period for making the determination under sections 7.B. or 7.C. is 
extended due to the covered person’s failure to submit the information necessary
to make the determination, the time period for making the determination shall be 
tolled from the date on which the insurer sends the notification of the extension to
the covered person until the earlier of:



(1) The date on which the covered person responds to the request for 
additional information; or

(2) The date on which the specified information was to have been submitted.

b. If the covered person fails to submit the information before the end of the period 
of the extension, as specified in sections 7.B. or 7.C., the insurer may deny the 
authorization of the requested benefit.

E. Requirements for adverse determination notifications.

1. Except for the adverse determinations described section 7.E.2., a notification of an 
adverse determination under this section shall, in a manner calculated to be understood 
by the covered person, set forth:

a. An explanation of the specific medical basis for the adverse determination;

b. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination;

c. Reference to the specific policy provisions on which the determination is based;

d. A description of any additional material or information necessary for the covered 
person to perfect the benefit request, including an explanation of why the 
material or information is necessary to perfect the request;

e. If the insurer relied upon an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion to make the adverse determination, either the specific rule, guideline, 
protocol, or other similar criterion or a statement that a specific rule, guideline, 
protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon to make the adverse 
determination and that a copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion will be provided free of charge to the covered person upon request;

f. If the adverse determination is based on a medical necessity or similar exclusion 
or limitation, either an explanation of the scientific or clinical judgment for making 
the determination, applying the terms of the long-term care policy to the covered 
person’s medical circumstances or a statement that an explanation will be 
provided to the covered person free of charge upon request;

g. Information sufficient for the covered person to be able to identify the claim 
involved and a statement describing the availability, upon request, of the 
diagnosis code and its corresponding meaning, and the treatment code and its 
corresponding meaning;

h. If applicable, instructions for requesting:

(1) A copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion relied 
upon in making the adverse determination, as provided in section 
7.E.1.e.;

(2) The written statement of the scientific or clinical rationale for the adverse 
determination, as provided in section 7.E.1.f.; and/or

(3) The information necessary to identify the claim, as provided in section 
7.E.1.g.;



i. A description of the insurer’s review procedures and the time limits applicable to 
such procedures; and

j. An explanation of the right of the covered person to appeal an initial adverse 
determination with a description of the procedures for requesting an appeal.

(1) For individual long-term care policies, the notice shall include:

(a) An explanation of the right to a single level of internal appeal 
through a written appeal review or, unless it is an expedited 
appeal, the ability to appear in person or by telephone 
conference at a review meeting; and

(b) A description of the process to schedule a review meeting 
including the covered person’s rights pursuant to section 11.

(2) For group long-term care policies, the notice shall advise that the 
covered person does not have the right to be present during the first level
review.

2. For denials based on a contractual exclusion, the adverse determination notice shall 
include the long-term care policy’s specific exclusion language and shall advise the 
covered person of the right to appeal the applicability of the exclusion by providing 
evidence from a medical professional that there is a reasonable medical basis that the 
contractual exclusion does not apply.

3. An insurer shall provide the notice required under this section in writing, either on paper 
or electronically.

4. All written adverse determinations subject to the requirements of this regulation shall be 
reviewed and signed by a licensed physician familiar with standards of care in Colorado.

5. The notice of the initial adverse determination shall include information concerning the 
covered person's ability to request an internal and external expedited review on a 
concurrent basis. This information may be included in the letter or other notice advising 
the covered person of the finding of an adverse determination, or it may be included as a 
separate document within the same mailing.

F. The requirements of section 7 apply to all written requests involving standard utilization review 
received by the insurer which are submitted by a covered person or a facility and/or health care 
professional requesting a determination of coverage for a specific health care service for the 
covered person.

Section 8 Expedited Utilization Review

A. Procedures.

1. An insurer shall establish written procedures in accordance with this section for receiving 
benefit requests from covered persons and for making and notifying covered persons of 
expedited utilization review with respect to urgent care requests. For purposes of this 
section, "covered person" includes the designated representative of a covered person.

2. Notification requirements.



a. As part of the procedures required under section 8.A.1., an insurer shall provide 
that, in the case of a failure by a covered person to follow the insurer’s 
procedures for filing an urgent care request, the covered person shall be notified 
of the failure and the proper procedures to be followed for filing the request.

b. The notice required under section 8.A.2.a.:

(1) Shall be provided to the covered person as soon as possible but not later
than twenty-four (24) hours after the insurer’s receipt of the request; and

(2) Shall be in writing.

c. The provisions of section 8.A.2. apply only in the case of a failure that:

(1) Is a communication by a covered person that is received by a person or 
organizational unit of the insurer responsible for handling benefit matters;
and

(2) Is a communication that refers to a specific covered person, a specific 
medical condition or symptom, and a specific health care service, 
treatment or facility and/or health care professional for which approval is 
being requested.

B. Urgent care requests.

1. Notification requirements for insurer determinations.

a. For an urgent care request, unless the covered person has failed to provide 
sufficient information for the insurer to determine whether, or to what extent, the 
benefits requested are covered benefits or payable under the covered person’s 
long-term care policy, the insurer shall notify the covered person and the covered
person’s facility and/or health care professional of the insurer’s determination 
with respect to the request, whether or not the determination is an adverse 
determination, as soon as possible, taking into account the medical condition of 
the covered person, but in no event later than seventy-two (72) hours after the 
insurer’s receipt of the request.

b. If the insurer’s determination is an adverse determination, the insurer shall 
provide notice of the adverse determination in accordance with section 8.E.

2. Notification requirements for insufficient information.

a. If the covered person fails to provide sufficient information for the insurer to make
a determination, the insurer shall notify the covered person either orally or, if 
requested by the covered person, in writing of this failure and state what specific 
information is needed as soon as possible, but in no event later than twenty-four 
(24) hours after the insurer’s receipt of the request.

b. The insurer shall provide the covered person a reasonable period of time to 
submit the necessary information, taking into account the circumstances, but in 
no event less than forty-eight (48) hours after notifying the covered person of the 
failure to submit sufficient information, as provided in section 8.B.2.a.

c. The insurer shall notify the covered person and the covered person’s facility 
and/or health care professional of its determination with respect to the urgent 



care request as soon as possible, but in no event more than forty-eight (48) 
hours after the earlier of:

(1) The insurer’s receipt of the requested specified information; or

(2) The end of the period provided for the covered person to submit the 
requested specified information.

d. If the covered person fails to submit the information before the end of the period 
of the extension, as specified in section 8.B.2.b., the insurer may deny the 
authorization of the requested benefit.

e. If the insurer’s determination is an adverse determination, the insurer shall 
provide notice of the adverse determination in accordance with section 8.E.

C. Concurrent urgent care review requests.

1. For concurrent urgent care review requests involving a request by the covered person to 
extend the course of treatment beyond the initial period of time or the number of 
treatments authorized, if the request is made at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to the 
expiration of the authorized period of time or authorized number of treatments, the insurer
shall make a determination with respect to the request and notify the covered person and
the covered person’s facility and/or health care professional of the determination, whether
it is an adverse determination or not, as soon as possible, taking into account the 
covered person’s medical condition, but in no event more than twenty-four (24) hours 
after the insurer’s receipt of the request.

2. If the insurer’s determination is an adverse determination, the insurer shall provide notice 
of the adverse determination in accordance with section 8.E. The health care service that
is the subject of an adverse determination shall continue to be covered according to the 
provisions of the long-term care policy until the covered person has been notified of the 
determination by the insurer.

D. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a determination is required to be made 
under sections 8.B. or 8.C., the time period shall begin on the date of the insurer’s receipt of the 
request in accordance with the insurer’s procedures established for filing a request without regard
to whether all of the information necessary to make the determination accompanies the request.

E. Adverse determination notification requirements.

1. A notification of an adverse determination under this section shall, in a manner calculated
to be understood by the covered person, set forth:

a. An explanation of the specific medical basis for the adverse determination;

b. The specific reasons or reasons for the adverse determination;

c. Reference to the specific policy provisions on which the determination is based;

d. A description of any additional material or information necessary for the covered 
person to perfect the benefit request, including an explanation of why the 
material or information is necessary;

e. If the insurer relied upon an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion to make the adverse determination, either the specific rule, guideline, 



protocol, or other similar criterion or a statement that a specific rule, guideline, 
protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon to make the adverse 
determination and that a copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion will be provided free of charge to the covered person upon request;

f. If the adverse determination is based on a medical necessity or similar exclusion 
or limitation, either an explanation of the scientific or clinical judgment for making 
the determination, applying the terms of the long-term care policy to the covered 
person’s medical circumstances or a statement that an explanation will be 
provided to the covered person free of charge upon request;

g. Information sufficient for the covered person to be able to identify the claim 
involved and a statement describing the availability, upon request, of the 
diagnosis code and its corresponding meaning, and the treatment code and its 
corresponding meaning;

h. If applicable, instructions for requesting:

(1) A copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion relied 
upon in making the adverse determination, as provided in section 
8.E.1.e.;

(2) The written statement of the scientific or clinical rationale for the adverse 
determination, as provided in section 8.E.1.f.; and/or

(3) The information necessary to identify the claim, as provided in section 
8.E.1.g.;

i. A description of the insurer’s expedited review procedures and the time limits 
applicable to such procedures; and

j. An explanation of the right of the covered person to appeal an initial adverse 
determination with a description of the procedures for requesting an appeal.

(1) For individual long-term care policies, the notice shall include an 
explanation of the right to a single level of internal appeal through a 
written appeal review and, because it is an expedited appeal, the inability
to appear in person or by telephone conference at a review meeting.

(2) For group long-term care policies, the notice shall advise that the 
covered person does not have the right to be present during the first level
review.

2. Additional notification requirements.

a. An insurer may provide the notice required under this section orally, in writing, or 
electronically.

b. If notice of the adverse determination is provided orally, the insurer shall provide 
a written or electronic notice of the adverse determination within three (3) 
calendar days following the oral notification.

3. All written adverse determinations shall be reviewed and signed by a licensed physician 
familiar with standards of care in Colorado.



4. The notice of the initial adverse determination shall include information concerning the 
covered person's ability to request an internal and external expedited review on a 
concurrent basis. This information may be included in the letter or other notice advising 
the covered person of the finding of an adverse determination, or it may be included as a 
separate document within the same mailing.

F. The requirements of section 8 apply to all written requests involving expedited utilization review 
received by the insurer which are submitted by a covered person or a facility and/or health care 
professional requesting a determination of coverage for a specific health care service for the 
covered person.

Section 9 Peer-to-Peer Conversation

A. In a case involving a prospective review determination, an insurer shall give the facility and/or 
health care professional rendering the service an opportunity to request, on behalf of the covered 
person, a peer-to-peer conversation regarding an adverse determination by the reviewer making 
the adverse determination. Such a request may be made either orally or in writing.

B. The peer-to-peer conversation shall occur within five (5) calendar days of the insurer’s receipt of 
the request and shall be conducted between the facility and/or health care professional rendering 
the health care service and the reviewer who made the adverse determination or a clinical peer 
designated by the reviewer if the reviewer who made the adverse determination cannot be 
available within five (5) calendar days.

C. If the peer-to-peer conversation does not resolve the difference of opinion, the adverse 
determination may be appealed by the covered person. A peer-to-peer conversation is not a 
prerequisite to a first level review or an expedited review of an adverse determination.

D. For the purposes of § 10-3-1104(1)(i), C.R.S., a request for a peer-to-peer conversation shall not 
be considered a complaint.

Section 10 First Level Review

A. General requirements.

1. An insurer shall establish written procedures for the review of an adverse determination 
that does not involve an urgent care request in compliance with § 10-16-113, C.R.S., and
this regulation. The procedures shall specify whether a first level review request must be 
in writing or may be submitted orally. The procedures shall also allow the covered person
to identify the facility and/or health care professionals to whom the insurer shall send a 
copy of the review decision.

2. A first level review shall be available to, and may be initiated by, the covered person. For 
purposes of this section, “covered person” includes the designated representative of a 
covered person.

3. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(i), C.R.S., all written requests for a first level review shall be 
entered into the insurer’s complaint record.

4. Within 180 calendar days after the date of receipt of a notice of an adverse determination
sent pursuant to sections 7 or 8 or after the date of receipt of notification of a benefit 
denied due to a contractual exclusion, a covered person may file a grievance with the 
insurer requesting a first level review of the adverse determination. In order to secure a 
first level review after the receipt of the notification of a benefit denied due to a 
contractual exclusion, the covered person must be able to provide evidence from a 



medical professional that there is a reasonable medical basis that the exclusion does not 
apply. If the deadline for filing a request ends on a weekend or holiday, the deadline shall
be extended to the next business day.

5. Full and fair review.

a. Before issuing a final internal adverse benefit determination based on new and/or
additional evidence, the insurer shall provide the covered person, free of charge, 
the new and/or additional evidence considered, relied upon, or generated by the 
insurer in connection with the claim. Such evidence shall be provided as soon as 
possible and sufficiently in advance of the date on which the notice of the final 
internal adverse benefit determination is required to be provided pursuant to 
section 10.E. to give the covered person a reasonable opportunity to respond 
prior to that date.

b. Before issuing a final internal adverse benefit determination based on new and/or
additional rationale, the insurer shall provide the covered person, free of charge, 
with the rationale considered, relied upon, or generated by the insurer in 
connection with the claim. Such rationale shall be provided as soon as possible 
and sufficiently in advance of the date on which the notice of the final internal 
adverse benefit determination is required to be provided pursuant to section 
10.E. to give the covered person a reasonable opportunity to respond prior to 
that date.

B. Individual long-term care policies.

1. Covered persons shall be provided a choice between a written appeal review or a review 
meeting for their first level appeal.

2. Written appeal reviews shall comply with the requirements of section 10.C.

3. Review meetings shall comply with the requirements of section 11. The covered person’s
right to a fair review shall not be made conditional on the covered person’s appearance at
the review meeting.

4. The covered person is entitled to a single internal appeal review.

C. Conduct of first level written appeal reviews.

1. First level reviews shall be evaluated by a physician who shall consult with an appropriate
clinical peer(s), unless the reviewing physician is a clinical peer. The physician and 
clinical peer(s) shall not have been involved in the initial adverse determination. However,
a person that was previously involved with the denial may answer questions.

2. In conducting a review under this section, the reviewer(s) shall take into consideration all 
comments, documents, records, and other information regarding the request for services 
or benefits submitted by the covered person without regard to whether the information 
was submitted or considered in making the initial adverse determination. If the appeal is 
pursuant to § 10-16-113(1)(c), C.R.S., regarding the applicability of a contractual 
exclusion, the determination shall be made on the basis of whether the contractual 
exclusion applies to the denied benefit.

D. Covered person’s rights for first level written appeal review for individual and group long-term 
care policies. A covered person is entitled to:



1. Submit written comments, documents, records, and other material relating to the request 
for benefits for the reviewer(s) to consider when conducting the review. For review of a 
benefit denial due to a contractual exclusion, the covered person shall provide evidence 
from a medical professional that there is a reasonable medical basis that the exclusion 
does not apply; and

2. Receive from the insurer, upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to, and 
copies of all documents, records, and other information relevant to the covered person’s 
request for benefits. A document, record, or other information shall be considered 
“relevant” to a covered person’s request for benefits if the document, record, or other 
information:

a. Was relied upon in making the benefit determination;

b. Was submitted, considered, or generated in the course of making the adverse 
determination, without regard to whether the document, record, or other 
information was relied upon in making the benefit determination;

c. Demonstrates that, in making the benefit determination, the insurer or its 
designated representatives consistently applied required administrative 
procedures and safeguards with respect to the covered person as with other 
similarly-situated covered persons; and/or

d. Constitutes a statement of policy or guidance with respect to the long-term care 
policy concerning the denied health care service for the covered person’s 
diagnosis, without regard to whether the advice or statement was relied upon in 
making the benefit determination.

3. A covered person does not have the right to be present for the written appeal review.

E. Notification requirements.

1. An insurer shall notify and issue a decision in writing or electronically to the covered 
person within the time frames provided in section 10.E.2.

2. With respect to a request for a first level review of an adverse determination involving a 
prospective review request, the insurer shall notify and issue a decision within a 
reasonable period of time that is appropriate given the covered person’s medical 
condition, but no later than thirty (30) calendar days after the date of the insurer’s receipt 
of the grievance containing a request for the first level review.

3. With respect to a request for a first level review of an adverse determination involving a 
retrospective review request, the insurer shall notify and issue a decision within a 
reasonable period of time, but no later than sixty (60) calendar days after the date of the 
insurer’s receipt of a request for the first level review.

F. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a determination is required to be made 
and notice provided under section 10.E.3., the time period shall begin on the date of the insurer’s 
receipt of the grievance requesting the review provided in accordance with the insurer’s 
procedures for filing a request without regard to whether all of the information necessary to make 
the determination accompanies the request.

G. The decision issued pursuant to section 10.E. shall set forth in a manner calculated to be 
understood by the covered person:



1. The name, title and qualifying credentials of the physician evaluating the appeal, and the 
qualifying credentials of the clinical peer(s) with whom the physician consulted. For the 
purposes of section 10, the physician and consulting clinical peers shall be called “the 
reviewers”;

2. A statement of the reviewers’ understanding of the covered person’s request for a review 
of an adverse determination;

3. The reviewers’ decision in clear terms; and

4. A reference to the evidence or documentation used as the basis for the decision.

H. A first level review decision involving an adverse determination issued pursuant to section 10.E. 
shall include, in addition to the requirements of section 10.G.:

1. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination, including the specific policy
provisions and medical rationale;

2. A statement that the covered person is entitled to receive, upon request and free of 
charge, reasonable access to, and copies of, all documents, records, and other 
information relevant, as the term “relevant” is defined in section 10.D.2., to the covered 
person’s benefit request;

3. If the reviewers relied upon an internal rule, guideline, protocol or other similar criterion to
make the adverse determination, either the specific rule, guideline, protocol, or other 
similar criterion or a statement that a specific rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion was relied upon to make the adverse determination and that a copy of the rule, 
guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion will be provided free of charge to the covered
person upon request;

4. If the adverse determination is based on a medical necessity or similar exclusion or 
limitation, either an explanation of the scientific or clinical judgment for making the 
determination, applying the terms of the long-term care policy to the covered person’s 
medical circumstances or a statement that an explanation will be provided to the covered 
person free of charge upon request;

5. Information sufficient for the covered person to be able to identify the claim involved and 
a statement describing the availability, upon request, of the diagnosis code and its 
corresponding meaning, and the treatment code and its corresponding meaning;

6. If applicable, instructions for requesting:

a. A copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion relied upon in 
making the adverse determination, as provided in section 10.H.3.;

b. The written statement of the scientific or clinical rationale for the determination, 
as provided in section 10.H.4.; and/or

c. The information necessary to identify the claim, as provided in section 10.H.5.; 
and

7. A description of the procedures for obtaining an independent external review of the 
adverse determination pursuant to section 5 of Colorado Insurance Regulation 4-2-21.



8. For group long-term care policies, a description of the process to obtain a voluntary 
second level review including:

a. The written procedures governing the voluntary second level review, including 
the required time frames for the review;

b. The right of the covered person to:

(1) Request the opportunity to appear in person before a health care 
professional (reviewer) or, if offered by the insurer, a review panel of 
health care professionals, who have appropriate expertise, who were not 
previously involved in the appeal, and who do not have a direct financial 
interest in the outcome of the review;

(2) Receive, upon request, a copy of the materials that the insurer intends to
present at the review at least five (5) calendar days prior to the date of 
the review meeting. Any new material developed after the five-day 
deadline shall be provided by the insurer when practicable;

(3) Present written comments, documents, records and other material 
relating to the request for benefits for the reviewer or review panel to 
consider when conducting the review both before and, if applicable, at 
the review meeting;

(a) A copy of the materials the covered person plans to present or 
have presented on his or her behalf at the review meeting should
be provided to the insurer at least five (5) calendar days prior to 
the date of the review meeting.

(b) Any new material developed after the five-day deadline shall be 
provided to the insurer when practicable;

(4) Present the covered person’s case to the reviewer or review panel;

(5) If applicable, ask questions of the reviewer or review panel; and

(6) Be assisted or represented by an individual(s) of the covered person’s 
choice, including counsel, advocates, and health care professionals;

c. A statement that the insurer will provide to the covered person, upon request, 
sufficient information relating to the voluntary second level review to enable the 
covered person to make an informed judgment about whether to submit the 
adverse determination to a voluntary second level review, including a statement 
that the decision of the covered person as to whether or not to submit the 
adverse determination to a voluntary second level review will have no effect on 
the covered person’s rights to any other benefits under the policy, the process for
selecting the decision maker, and the impartiality of the decision maker.

d. A description of the procedures for obtaining an independent external review of 
the adverse determination pursuant to section 5 of Colorado Insurance 
Regulation 4-2-21 if the covered person chooses not to request a voluntary 
second level review of the first level review decision involving an adverse 
determination.

Section 11 General Requirements for First Level and Voluntary Second Level Review Meetings



A. An insurer shall establish procedures for a review process in which the covered person has the 
right to appear in person or by telephone conference at the review meeting before a health care 
professional (reviewer) or, if offered by the insurer, a review panel of health care professionals, 
selected by the insurer. The procedures shall allow the covered person to identify the facility 
and/or health care professional(s) to whom the insurer shall send a copy of the review decision. 
The purpose of the review meeting process is to give the covered person the opportunity to 
explain his or her grievance and to provide any relevant evidence in support of his or her claim for
benefits.

B. For purposes of this section, "covered person" includes the designated representative of a 
covered person.

C. A complaint record entry shall be made for all reviews meeting requests, pursuant to § 10-3-
1104(1)(i), C.R.S.

D. Covered person’s review request filing requirements.

1. For individual long-term care policies, the requirements of section 10.A.4. apply.

2. For group long-term care policies, within sixty (60) calendar days after the date of receipt 
of a notice of a first level review adverse determination, the covered person may file a 
request with the insurer requesting a voluntary second level review of the adverse 
determination. If the deadline for filing a request ends on a weekend or holiday, the 
deadline shall be extended to the next business day.

E. The covered person’s right to a fair review shall not be made conditional on the covered person’s 
appearance at the review meeting.

F. Insurer’s requirements.

1. The adverse determination or, with respect to a voluntary second level review of a first 
level review decision, the denial shall be reviewed by a health care professional 
(reviewer) or, if offered by the insurer, a review panel of health care professionals, who 
have appropriate expertise in relation to the case presented by the covered person.

2. The reviewer or each review panel member, shall meet the following criteria:

a. Was not previously involved in the appeal;

b. Did not have a direct financial interest in the appeal or outcome of the review; 
and

c. Are not a subordinate of any person previously involved in the appeal.

3. The reviewer or the review panel shall have the legal authority to bind the insurer to the 
reviewer’s or review panel’s decision.

G. The insurer's procedures for conducting a review meeting shall include the following:

1. The reviewer or review panel shall schedule and hold a review meeting within sixty (60) 
calendar days of the insurer’s receipt of a request from a covered person for a review 
meeting. The covered person shall be notified in writing at least twenty (20) calendar 
days in advance of the review meeting date. The insurer shall not unreasonably deny a 
request for postponement of the review meeting made by a covered person even if the 



postponement causes the review meeting to occur beyond the sixty (60) calendar day 
requirement.

2. Notice requirements. The notice to the covered person of the review meeting date shall 
include:

a. The right of the covered person to present written comments, documents, 
records, and other material relating to the request for benefits for the reviewer or 
review panel to consider when conducting the review both before and, if 
applicable, at the review meeting.

b. The right of the covered person to receive, upon request, a copy of the materials 
that the insurer intends to present at the review meeting at least five (5) calendar 
days prior to the date of the review meeting. Any new material developed after 
the five-day deadline shall be provided by the insurer when practicable.

c. The responsibility of the covered person to submit a copy of the materials that 
the covered person plans to present or have presented on his or her behalf at the
review meeting to the insurer at least five (5) calendar days prior to the date of 
the review meeting. Any new material developed after the five-day deadline shall 
be provided to the insurer when practicable.

d. The responsibility of the covered person to, within seven (7) calendar days in 
advance of the review meeting, inform the insurer if the covered person intends 
to have an attorney present to represent such person’s interests. If the covered 
person decides to have an attorney present after the seven-day deadline, notice 
shall be provided to the insurer when practicable.

e. The insurer shall use this notification to advise the covered person if it intends to 
have an attorney present to represent the interests of the insurer.

f. The insurer shall use this notification to advise the covered person that it will 
make an audio or video recording of the review meeting unless neither the 
covered person nor the insurer wants the recording made. The notice shall 
advise that this recording will be made available to the covered person and that if
there is an external review, the audio or video recording shall be included in the 
material provided by the insurer to the reviewing entity unless the covered person
specifically requests that it not be included.

3. Insurers shall in no way discourage a covered person from requesting a face-to-face 
review meeting. Whenever a covered person has requested the opportunity to appear in 
person, the review meeting shall be held during regular business hours at a location 
reasonably accessible to the covered person, including accommodation for disabilities. In
cases where a face-to-face meeting is not practical for geographic reasons, an insurer 
shall offer the covered person the opportunity to communicate, at the insurer's expense, 
by telephone conference call. An insurer may also offer video conferencing or other 
appropriate technology.

4. In conducting the review meeting, if applicable, the reviewer or review panel shall take 
into consideration all comments, documents, records, and other information regarding the
request for benefits submitted by the covered person without regard to whether the 
information was submitted or considered in reaching the first level review decision. If the 
appeal is pursuant to § 10-16-113(1)(c), C.R.S., regarding the applicability of a 
contractual exclusion, the determination shall be made on the basis of whether the 
contractual exclusion applies to the denied benefit.



5. Full and fair review.

a. Before issuing a final internal adverse benefit determination based on new and/or
additional evidence, the insurer shall provide the covered person, free of charge, 
the new and/or additional evidence considered, relied upon, or generated by the 
insurer in connection with the claim. Such evidence shall be provided as soon as 
possible and sufficiently in advance of the date on which the notice of the final 
internal adverse benefit determination is required to be provided pursuant to 
section 11.G.6. to give the covered person a reasonable opportunity to respond 
prior to that date.

b. Before issuing a final internal adverse benefit determination based on new and/or
additional rationale, the insurer shall provide the covered person, free of charge, 
with the rationale considered, relied upon, or generated by the insurer in 
connection with the claim. Such rationale shall be provided as soon as possible 
and sufficiently in advance of the date on which the notice of the final internal 
adverse benefit determination is required to be provided pursuant to section 
11.G.6. to give the covered person a reasonable opportunity to respond prior to 
that date.

6. The reviewer or review panel shall issue a written decision, as provided in section 11.H., 
to the covered person within seven (7) calendar days of completing the review meeting.

7. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a review meeting is required to 
be scheduled, the time period shall begin on the date of the insurer’s receipt of the 
request for a review meeting provided in accordance with the insurer’s procedures for 
filing a request without regard to whether all of the information necessary to make the 
determination accompanies the request.

H. A decision issued pursuant to section 11.G. shall include:

1. The name(s), title(s), and qualifying credentials of the reviewer or the members of the 
review panel;

2. A statement of the reviewer’s or the review panel’s understanding of the covered 
person’s request for review of an adverse determination;

3. The reviewer’s or the review panel’s decision in clear terms;

4. A reference to the evidence or documentation used as the basis for the decision;

5. For a decision issued involving an adverse determination:

a. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination, including the 
specific policy provisions and medical rationale;

b. A statement that the covered person is entitled to receive, upon request and free 
of charge, reasonable access to, and copies of, all documents, records, and 
other information relevant, as the term “relevant” is defined in section 10.D.2., to 
the covered person’s benefit request;

c. If the reviewer or review panel relied upon an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or 
other similar criterion to make the adverse determination, either the specific rule, 
guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion or a statement that a specific rule, 
guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon to make the adverse



determination and that a copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar 
criterion will be provided free of charge to the covered person upon request;

d. If the adverse determination is based on a medical necessity or similar exclusion 
or limitation, either an explanation of the scientific or clinical judgment for making 
the determination, applying the terms of the long-term care policy to the covered 
person’s medical circumstances or a statement that an explanation will be 
provided to the covered person free of charge upon request;

e. If applicable, instructions for requesting:

(1) A copy of the rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion relied 
upon in making the adverse determination, as provided in section 
11.H.5.c.; and

(2) The written statement of the scientific or clinical rationale for the 
determination, as provided in section 11.H.5.d.; and

f. A description of the procedures for obtaining an independent external review of 
the adverse determination pursuant to section 5 of Colorado Insurance 
Regulation 4-2-21.

Section 12 Expedited Review of an Adverse Determination

A. An insurer shall establish written procedures for the expedited review of urgent care requests for 
grievances involving an adverse determination. The procedures shall allow a covered person to 
request an expedited review under this section orally or in writing. The procedures shall also 
allow the covered person to identify a facility and/or health care professional(s) to whom the 
insurer shall send a copy of the review decision. Pursuant to § 10-16-113.5(7), C.R.S., a covered 
person requesting an expedited external review may request such review concurrently with a 
request for an expedited internal review.

B. An expedited review shall be available to, and may be initiated by, the covered person or the 
facility and/or health care professional acting on behalf of the covered person. For purposes of 
this section, "covered person" includes the designated representative of a covered person.

C. Pursuant to § 10-3-1104(1)(i), C.R.S., all written requests for an expedited review shall be 
entered into the insurer’s complaint record.

D. Expedited appeal evaluations.

1. Expedited appeals shall be evaluated by an appropriate clinical peer(s) in the same or 
similar specialty as would typically manage the case under review. For the purposes of 
this section, the clinical peer(s) shall be called “the reviewer(s)”. The clinical peer(s) shall 
not have been involved in the initial adverse determination.

2. In conducting a review under this section, the reviewer(s) shall take into consideration all 
comments, documents, records, and other information regarding the request for services 
submitted by, or on behalf of, the covered person without regard to whether the 
information was submitted or considered in making the initial adverse determination.

E. Covered person’s rights. A covered person does not have the right to attend or to have a 
representative in attendance at the expedited review, but the covered person is entitled to:



1. Submit written comments, documents, records, and other materials relating to the 
request for benefits for the reviewer(s) to consider when conducting the review; and

2. Receive from the insurer, upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to, and 
copies of, all documents, records, and other information relevant to the covered person’s 
request for benefits, as described in section 10.D.2.

F. In an expedited review, all necessary information, including the insurer's decision, shall be 
transmitted between the insurer and the covered person or the facility and/or health care 
professional acting on behalf of the covered person by telephone, facsimile or similar expeditious 
method available.

G. In an expedited review, an insurer shall make a decision and notify the covered person or the 
facility and/or health care professional acting on the covered person's behalf as expeditiously as 
the covered person's medical condition requires, but in no event more than seventy-two (72) 
hours after the insurer’s receipt of the request. If the expedited review is a concurrent review and 
an adverse determination is made, the health care service shall continue to be covered according
to the provisions of the long-term care policy until the covered person has been notified of the 
determination by the insurer.

H. An insurer shall provide a written confirmation of its decision concerning an expedited review 
within three (3) calendar days of providing notification of that decision, if the initial notification was
not in writing.

I. In the case of an adverse determination, the written decision shall comply with the requirements 
specified in sections 10.G. and 10.H. of this regulation.

J. For purposes of calculating the time periods within which a decision is required to be made under 
section 12.G., the time period within which the decision is required to be made shall begin on the 
date of the insurer’s receipt of the request in accordance with the insurer’s procedures for filing a 
request without regard to whether all of the information necessary to make the determination 
accompanies the request.

K. In any case where the expedited review process does not resolve a difference of opinion between
the insurer and the covered person or the facility and/or health care professional acting on behalf 
of the covered person, the covered person or the facility and/or health care professional acting on
behalf of the covered person may request an independent external review.

L. Retrospective adverse determinations are not eligible for the expedited review process.

Section 13 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason 
held to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation shall not be affected.

Section 14 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in 
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition 
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license, 
subject to the requirements of due process.

Section 15 Effective Date

This regulation is effective on June 1, 2019.



Section 16 History

New regulation effective June 1, 2019.
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT

Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission/Hazardous Materials and
Waste Management Division

6 CCR 1007-2

PART 1  REGULATIONS PERTAINING TO SOLID WASTE SITES AND FACILITIES

Amendment of Section 1.7.5 Waste Grease Annual Fees

(Adopted by the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission on February 19, 2019)

1) Revise paragraph (B) of Section 1.7.5 to read as follows:

Section 1 

Administrative Information

1.7.5   Waste Grease Transporters, Facilities, and Personal Users of Waste Grease Annual Fees

(A)  Authorization: The Department is authorized per Section 30-20-123(9)(a.5), C.R.S. as 
amended, to collect an annual registration fee for Waste Grease Transporters, Facilities and 
Personal Users of Waste Grease. 

(B) Applicability: Beginning July 1, 2019 all “Waste Grease Transporters”, “Waste Grease Facilities”
and “Personal Users of Waste Grease Other than For Use as Biofuel”, as defined in Section 1.2 
of these regulations are subject to the following annual fees as noted below:

1. Waste Grease Transporter: 

a. $280 per vehicle per year; and 

b. $25 per set of five (5) temporary decals. 

2. Waste Grease Facility: $700 per year

3. Personal Users of Waste Grease Other than For Use as Biofuel: $96 per year.

(C) ******* 



DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT

Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission

Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division

6 CCR 1007-2

STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE
AND SPECIFIC STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR

Part 1 – Regulations Pertaining to Solid Waste Sites and Facilities (6 CCR 1007-2)
Amendment of Waste Grease Regulations – Modification of waste grease transporter and facility
annual fees requirements

(Adopted by the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission on February 19, 2019)

Basis and Purpose

I. Statutory Authority

These amendments to 6 CCR 1007-2, Part 1 are made pursuant to the authority granted to
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission in § 30-20-123, C.R.S.

II. Purpose of revised regulations

The Waste Grease Fund and registration fees were created in § 30-20-123, C.R.S. to 
provide funding to cover the Department’s cost to implement the waste grease regulatory 
requirements.  The Department has accrued a balance each year that is greater than the 
program administrative costs and needs to lower the annual registration fees for waste 
grease transporters and facilities.

III. Discussion of Regulatory Proposal

Annual Waste Grease Facility and Transporter Fees

The current fees charged to waste grease transporters and facilities pursuant § 30-20-
123, C.R.S. and Section 1.7.5 of the solid waste regulations were estimated in 2012 as
an estimate of Department cost to implement the regulatory requirements for Section 
18, Waste Grease Transporters, Facilities, and Personal Users of Waste Grease.  The 
Department has since found that the fees paid by waste grease registrants exceeds the 
cost to implement the program.  The purpose of this change to the regulation is to 
lower the annual waste grease transporter and facility fees in Section 1.7.5 of the solid
waste regulations to be in line with the cost to implement the program.  

Section 1.7.5 will be changed to reflect a drop in annual registration fees for waste 
grease transporters from $570 per vehicle annually to $280 per vehicle annually.  The
annual registration fees for waste grease facilities will drop from $1,140 to $700 



annually.

Issues Encountered During the Stakeholder Process

No issues were encountered during the stakeholder process.

Description of Local Government Involvement in the Stakeholder Process

Executive Order D 2011-005 (EO5), “Establishing a Policy to Enhance the Relationship between
State and Local Government” requires state rulemaking agencies to consult with and engage 
local governments prior to the promulgation of any rules containing mandates. The Department 
completed an EO5 – Internal Communication Form – Internal Conception Phase which was 
transmitted to local governments. The revised recycling regulations will have little effect on local
governments.

Cost/Benefit Analysis

A cost benefit analysis will be performed upon request.
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT

Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission/Hazardous Materials and 
Waste Management Division

6 CCR 1007-3

HAZARDOUS WASTE

User Fees for the Electronic Hazardous Waste Manifest System and Amendments to 
Manifest Regulations  .

(Adopted by the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission on February 19, 2019)

1) Revise the Table of Contents for Part 260 by adding listings for Sections 260.4 and 
260.5 to read as follows:  

PART 260   HAZARDOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM:  GENERAL

Subpart A   General 
Sec.
260.1 Purpose, scope applicability, and effective date. 
260.2 Incorporation by Reference.
260.3 Use of number and gender.
260.4 Manifest copy submission requirements for certain interstate waste shipments.
260.5 Applicability of electronic manifest system and user fee requirements to facilities receiving

state-only regulated waste shipments.  

*******

2) Revise Part 260 by adding Section 260.4 to read as follows:  

§ 260.4   Manifest copy submission requirements for certain interstate waste shipments.

(a) In any case in which the state in which waste is generated, or the state in which waste will be 
transported to a designated facility, requires that the waste be regulated as a hazardous waste or 
otherwise be tracked through a hazardous waste manifest, the designated facility that receives the waste 
shall, regardless of the state in which the facility is located:

(1) Complete the facility portion of the applicable manifest;

(2) Sign and date the facility certification;

(3) Submit to the e-Manifest system a final copy of the manifest for data processing purposes; and



(4) Pay the appropriate per manifest fee to EPA for each manifest submitted to the e-Manifest system, 
subject to the fee determination methodology, payment methods, dispute procedures, sanctions, and 
other fee requirements specified in subpart FF of 40 CFR part 264.  40 CFR part 264 is incorporated 
by reference to include those versions in effect as of the date this regulation was adopted, and does 
not include later amendments to the incorporated material. Materials incorporated by reference are 
available for public inspection during normal business hours from the Hazardous Materials and Waste 
Management Division, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246. Copies may also be found 
at the Environmental Protection Agency through the Government Printing Office at 
https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/cfr/

3) Revise Part 260 by adding Section 260.5 to read as follows:  

§ 260.5   Applicability of electronic manifest system and user fee requirements to facilities 
receiving state-only regulated waste shipments.

(a) For purposes of this section, “state-only regulated waste” means:

(1) A non-RCRA waste that a state regulates more broadly under its state regulatory program, or

(2) A RCRA hazardous waste that is federally exempt from manifest requirements, but not exempt 
from manifest requirements under state law.

(b) In any case in which a state requires a RCRA manifest to be used under state law to track the 
shipment and transportation of a state-only regulated waste to a receiving facility, the facility receiving 
such a waste shipment for management shall:

(1) Comply with the provisions of §§ 264.71 (use of the manifest) and 264.72 (manifest discrepancies) 
of this chapter; and

(2) Pay the appropriate per manifest fee to EPA for each manifest submitted to the e-Manifest system, 
subject to the fee determination methodology, payment methods, dispute procedures, sanctions, and 
other fee requirements specified in subpart FF of 40 CFR part 264.

4) Revise the Table of Contents for Part 262 by removing and reserving the listing for the 
Appendix to Part 262 as follows:  

PART 262   STANDARDS APPLICABLE TO GENERATORS OF HAZARDOUS WASTE

*******

APPENDIX TO PART 262 -  RESERVED

5) Revise paragraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of Section 262.20 to read as follows:

Subpart B   Manifest Requirements Applicable to Small and Large Quantity Generators 
 

§ 262.20 General requirements.

(a)(1) A generator that transports, or offers for transport a hazardous waste for offsite treatment, storage, 
or disposal, or a treatment, storage, or disposal facility that offers for transport a rejected hazardous 



 

waste load, must prepare a Manifest (OMB Control number 2050-0039) on EPA form 8700-22 and, if 
necessary, EPA form 8700-22A. 

(2) The revised manifest form and procedures in §§ 260.10, 261.7, 262.20, 262.21, 262.27, 262.32, 
262.34, 262.54, and 262.60, shall not apply until September 5, 2006.  The manifest form and 
procedures contained in §§ 260.10, 261.7, 262.20, 262.21, 262.32, 262.34, 262.54, and 262.60, of 
these regulations at the time of the May 2006 rulemaking hearing shall be applicable until September 
5, 2006.

*******

6) Revise paragraphs (f)(5), (f)(6) and (f)(7) of Section 262.21 and add paragraph (f)(8) to 
read as follows:

§ 262.21  Manifest tracking numbers, manifest printing, and obtaining manifests.

*******  

(f) Paper manifests and continuation sheets must be printed according to the following specifications:

******* 

(5) The manifest and continuation sheet must be printed as five-copy forms. Copy-to-copy registration 
must be exact within 1/32nd of an inch. Handwritten and typed impressions on the form must be 
legible on all five copies. Copies must be bound together by one or more common stubs that 
reasonably ensure that they will not become detached inadvertently during normal use.

(6) Each copy of the manifest and continuation sheet must indicate how the copy must be distributed, 
as follows:

(i) Page 1 (top copy): “Designated facility to EPA’s e-Manifest system”.

(ii) Page 2: “Designated facility to generator”.

(iii) Page 3: “Designated facility copy”.

(iv) Page 4: “Transporter copy”; and

(v) Page 5 (bottom copy): “Generator’s initial copy”.

(7) The instructions for the manifest form (EPA Form 8700-22) and the manifest continuation sheet 
(EPA Form 8700-22A) shall be printed in accordance with the content that is currently approved under 
OMB Control Number 2050-0039 and published to the e-Manifest program's website. The instructions 
must appear legibly on the back of the copies of the manifest and continuation sheet as provided in 
this paragraph (f). The instructions must not be visible through the front of the copies when 
photocopied or faxed.

(i) Manifest Form 8700-22.

(A) The “Instructions for Generators” on Copy 5;

(B) The “Instructions for International Shipment Block” and “Instructions for Transporters'' on 
Copy 4; and

(C) The “Instructions for Treatment, Storage, and Disposal Facilities” on Copy 3.



  (ii) Manifest Form 8700-22A.

(A) The “Instructions for Generators” on Copy 5;

(B) The “Instructions for Transporters” on Copy 4; and

(C) The “Instructions for Treatment, Storage, and Disposal Facilities” on Copy 3.

(8) The designated facility copy of each manifest and continuation sheet must include in the bottom 
margin the following warning in prominent font: “If you received this manifest, you have responsibilities 
under the e-Manifest Act. See instructions on reverse side.”

******* 

7) Revise paragraphs (c) and (e) of Section 262.24; remove and reserve paragraph (g); 
and add paragraph (h) to read as follows:

§ 262.24  Use of the electronic manifest. 

******* 

(c) Restriction on use of electronic manifests. A generator may use an electronic manifest for the 
tracking of hazardous waste shipments involving any RCRA hazardous waste only if it is known at the 
time the manifest is originated that all waste handlers named on the manifest participate in the use of the 
electronic manifest, except that:

(1) A generator may sign by hand and retain a paper copy of the manifest signed by hand by the initial 
transporter, in lieu of executing the generator copy electronically, thereby enabling the transporter and 
subsequent waste handlers to execute the remainder of the manifest copies electronically.

(2) [Reserved]

******* 

(e) Special procedures when electronic manifest is unavailable. If a generator has prepared an 
electronic manifest for a hazardous waste shipment, but the national electronic manifest system becomes
unavailable for any reason prior to the time that the initial transporter has signed electronically to 
acknowledge the receipt of the hazardous waste from the generator, then the generator must obtain and 
complete a paper manifest and if necessary, a continuation sheet (EPA Forms 8700-22 and 8700-22A) in 
accordance with the manifest instructions, and use these paper forms from this point forward in 
accordance with the requirements of § 262.23. 

*******

(g) Reserved.

(h) Post-receipt manifest data corrections. After facilities have certified to the receipt of hazardous 
wastes by signing Item 20 of the manifest, any post-receipt data corrections may be submitted at any time
by any interested person (e.g., waste handler) named on the manifest. Generators may participate 
electronically in the post-receipt data corrections process by following the process described in §264.71(l)
of these regulations, which applies to corrections made to either paper or electronic manifest records.



 

8)  Revise the Appendix to Part 262 by removing the Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest 
and Instructions in their entirety and reserving the Appendix to Part 262 to read as 
follows:  

Appendix to Part 262 --  RESERVED

9) Revise Section 263.20 by removing and reserving paragraph (a)(8) and adding 
paragraph (a)(9) to read as follows:  

§ 263.20 The manifest system. 

(a)(1) Manifest requirements. A transporter may not accept hazardous waste from a generator unless 
the transporter is also provided with a manifest signed in accordance with the provisions of § 262.23. 

*******  

(8) Reserved. 

(9) Post-receipt manifest data corrections. After facilities have certified to the receipt of hazardous 
wastes by signing Item 20 of the manifest, any post-receipt data corrections may be submitted at any 
time by any interested person (e.g., waste handler) named on the manifest. Transporters may 
participate electronically in the post-receipt data corrections process by following the process 
described in §264.71(l) of these regulations, which applies to corrections made to either paper or 
electronic manifest records.

*******

10) Revise Section 263.21 to read as follows:  

§ 263.21 Compliance with the manifest. 

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this section, the transporter must deliver the entire quantity of 
hazardous waste which he/she has accepted from a generator or a transporter to: 

(1) The designated facility listed on the manifest; or 

(2) The alternate designated facility, if the hazardous waste cannot be delivered to the designated 
facility because an emergency prevents delivery; or 

(3) The next designated transporter; or 

(4) The place outside the United States designated by the generator. 

(b)(1) Emergency condition. If the hazardous waste cannot be delivered in accordance with paragraph 
(a)(1), (2), or (4) of this section because of an emergency condition other than rejection of the waste by 
the designated facility or alternate designated facility, then the transporter must contact the generator for 
further directions and must revise the manifest according to the generator's instructions.

(2) Transporters without agency authority. If the hazardous waste is not delivered to the next 
designated transporter in accordance with paragraph (a)(3) of this section, and the current transporter 
is without contractual authorization from the generator to act as the generator's agent with respect to 
transporter additions or substitutions, then the current transporter must contact the generator for 
further instructions prior to making any revisions to the transporter designations on the manifest. The 



current transporter may thereafter make such revisions if:

(i) The hazardous waste is not delivered in accordance with paragraph (a)(3) of this section 
because of an emergency condition; or

(ii) The current transporter proposes to change the transporter(s) designated on the manifest by 
the generator, or to add a new transporter during transportation, to respond to an emergency, or 
for purposes of transportation efficiency, convenience, or safety; and

(iii) The generator authorizes the revision.

(3) Transporters with agency authority. If the hazardous waste is not delivered to the next 
designated transporter in accordance with paragraph (a)(3) of this section, and the current transporter 
has authorization from the generator to act as the generator's agent, then the current transporter may 
change the transporter(s) designated on the manifest, or add a new transporter, during transportation 
without the generator's prior, explicit approval, provided that:

(i) The current transporter is authorized by a contractual provision that provides explicit agency 
authority for the transporter to make such transporter changes on behalf of the generator;

(ii) The transporter enters in Item 14 of each manifest for which such a change is made, the 
following statement of its agency authority: “Contract retained by generator confers agency 
authority on initial transporter to add or substitute additional transporters on generator's behalf;” 
and

(iii) The change in designated transporters is necessary to respond to an emergency, or for 
purposes of transportation efficiency, convenience, or safety.

(4) Generator liability. The grant by a generator of authority to a transporter to act as the agent of the
generator with respect to changes to transporter designations under paragraph (b)(3) of this section 
does not affect the generator's liability or responsibility for complying with any applicable requirement 
under this chapter, or grant any additional authority to the transporter to act on behalf of the generator.

(c) If hazardous waste is rejected by the designated facility while the transporter is on the facility's 
premises, then the transporter must obtain the following:
 

(1) For a partial load rejection or for regulated quantities of container residues, a copy of the original 
manifest that includes the facility's date and signature, and the Manifest Tracking Number of the new 
manifest that will accompany the shipment, and a description of the partial rejection or container 
residue in the discrepancy block of the original manifest. The transporter must retain a copy of this 
manifest in accordance with § 263.22 of these regulations, and give the remaining copies of the 
original manifest to the rejecting designated facility. If the transporter is forwarding the rejected part of 
the shipment or a regulated container residue to an alternate facility or returning it to the generator, 
the transporter must obtain a new manifest to accompany the shipment, and the new manifest must 
include all of the information required in § 264.72(e)(1) through (6) or (f)(1) through (6) of these 
regulations or § 265.72(e)(1) through (6) or (f)(1) through (6) of these regulations.

(2) For a full load rejection that will be taken back by the transporter, a copy of the original manifest 
that includes the rejecting facility's signature and date attesting to the rejection, the description of the 
rejection in the discrepancy block of the manifest, and the name, address, phone number, and 
Identification Number for the alternate facility or generator to whom the shipment must be delivered. 
The transporter must retain a copy of the manifest in accordance with § 263.22 of these regulations, 
and give a copy of the manifest containing this information to the rejecting designated facility. If the 
original manifest is not used, then the transporter must obtain a new manifest for the shipment and 
comply with § 264.72(e)(1) through (6) of these regulations or § 265.72(e)(1) through (6) of these 
regulations.



 

11) Revise paragraphs (a)(2) and (j) of Section 264.71, and add paragraph (l) to read as 
follows:  

§ 264.71 Use of manifest system.

(a)(1) If a facility receives hazardous waste accompanied by a manifest, the owner, operator or his/her 
agent must sign and date the manifest as indicated in paragraph (a)(2) of this section to certify that the 
hazardous waste covered by the manifest was received, that the hazardous waste was received except 
as noted in the discrepancy space of the manifest, or that the hazardous waste was rejected as noted in 
the manifest discrepancy space.

(2) If the facility receives a hazardous waste shipment accompanied by a manifest, the owner, 
operator or his/her agent must:

(i) Sign and date each copy of the manifest;

(ii) Note any discrepancies (as defined in § 264.72(a)) on each copy of the manifest;

(iii) Immediately give the transporter at least one copy of the manifest;

(iv) Within 30 days of delivery, send a copy (Page 2) of the manifest to the generator;  

(v) Paper manifest submission requirements are:

(A) Options for compliance on June 30, 2018. Beginning on June 30, 2018, send the top 
copy (Page 1) of any paper manifest and any paper continuation sheet to the e-Manifest 
system for purposes of data entry and processing, or in lieu of submitting the paper copy to 
EPA, the owner or operator may transmit to the EPA system an image file of Page 1 of the 
manifest and any continuation sheet, or both a data file and image file corresponding to 
Page 1 of the manifest and any continuation sheet, within 30 days of the date of delivery. 
Submissions of copies to the e-Manifest system shall be made at the mailing address or 
electronic mail/submission address specified at the e-Manifest program website's directory 
of services. Beginning on June 30, 2021, EPA will not accept mailed paper manifests from 
facilities for processing in e-Manifest.

(B) Options for compliance on June 30, 2021. Beginning on June 30, 2021, the 
requirement to submit the top copy (Page 1) of the paper manifest and any paper 
continuation sheet to the e-Manifest system for purposes of data entry and processing may 
be met by the owner or operator only by transmitting to the EPA system an image file of 
Page 1 of the manifest and any continuation sheet, or by transmitting to the EPA system 
both a data file and the image file corresponding to Page 1 of the manifest and any 
continuation sheet, within 30 days of the date of delivery. Submissions of copies to the e-
Manifest system shall be made to the electronic mail/submission address specified at the e-
Manifest program website's directory of services; and

(vi) Retain at the facility a copy of each manifest for at least three years from the date of delivery.

******* 

*******  

(j) Imposition of user fee for electronic manifest use.



(1) As prescribed in 40 CFR § 264.1311, and determined in 40 CFR § 264.1312, an owner or operator
who is a user of the national electronic manifest system shall be assessed a user fee by EPA for the 
submission and processing of each electronic and paper manifest. EPA shall update the schedule of 
user fees and publish them to the user community, as provided in 40 CFR § 264.1313. 40 CFR part 
264 is incorporated by reference to include those versions in effect as of the date this regulation was 
adopted, and does not include later amendments to the incorporated material. Materials incorporated 
by reference are available for public inspection during normal business hours from the Hazardous 
Materials and Waste Management Division, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246. 
Copies may also be found at the Environmental Protection Agency through the Government Printing 
Office at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/cfr/

(2) An owner or operator subject to user fees under this section shall make user fee payments in 
accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR § 264.1314, subject to the informal fee dispute resolution
process of 40 CFR § 264.1316, and subject to the sanctions for delinquent payments under 40 CFR § 
264.1315.

(k) Electronic manifest signatures. Electronic manifest signatures shall meet the criteria described in 40 
CFR § 262.25. 

(l) Post-receipt manifest data corrections. After facilities have certified to the receipt of hazardous 
wastes by signing Item 20 of the manifest, any post-receipt data corrections may be submitted at any time
by any interested person (e.g., waste handler) shown on the manifest.

(1) Interested persons must make all corrections to manifest data by electronic submission, either by 
directly entering corrected data to the web based service provided in e-Manifest for such corrections, 
or by an upload of a data file containing data corrections relating to one or more previously submitted 
manifests.

(2) Each correction submission must include the following information:

(i) The Manifest Tracking Number and date of receipt by the facility of the original manifest(s) for 
which data are being corrected;

(ii) The item number(s) of the original manifest that is the subject of the submitted correction(s); 
and

(iii) For each item number with corrected data, the data previously entered and the corresponding 
data as corrected by the correction submission.

(3) Each correction submission shall include a statement that the person submitting the corrections 
certifies that to the best of his/her knowledge or belief, the corrections that are included in the 
submission will cause the information reported about the previously received hazardous wastes to be 
true, accurate, and complete:

(i) The certification statement must be executed with a valid electronic signature; and

(ii) A batch upload of data corrections may be submitted under one certification statement.

(4) Upon receipt by the system of any correction submission, other interested persons shown on the 
manifest will be provided electronic notice of the submitter's corrections.

(5) Other interested persons shown on the manifest may respond to the submitter's corrections with 
comments to the submitter, or by submitting another correction to the system, certified by the 
respondent as specified in paragraph (l)(3) of this section, and with notice of the corrections to other 
interested persons shown on the manifest.



 

12) Revise paragraphs (c)(4)(i) and (d)(4)(i) of Section 264.1086 to read as follows:  

§ 264.1086  Standards: Containers.

******* 

(c) Container Level 1 standards.

******* 
 

(4) The owner or operator of containers using Container Level 1 controls shall inspect the containers 
and their covers and closure devices as follows:

(i) In the case when a hazardous waste already is in the container at the time the owner or 
operator first accepts possession of the container at the facility and the container is not emptied 
within 24 hours after the container is accepted at the facility (i.e., does not meet the conditions for 
an empty container as specified in § 261.7(b) of these regulations), the owner or operator shall 
visually inspect the container and its cover and closure devices to check for visible cracks, holes, 
gaps, or other open spaces into the interior of the container when the cover and closure devices 
are secured in the closed position.  The container visual inspection shall be conducted on or 
before the date that the container is accepted at the facility (i.e., the date the container becomes 
subject to the Subpart CC container standards).  For purposes of this requirement, the date of 
acceptance is the date of signature that the facility owner or operator enters on Item 20 of the 
Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest (EPA Forms 8700-22 and 8700-22A), as required under 
Subpart E of this part, at § 264.71 of these regulations. If a defect is detected, the owner or 
operator shall repair the defect in accordance with the requirements of paragraph (c)(4)(iii) of this 
section.

*******  

******* 

(d) Container Level 2 standards.

*******   
 

(4) The owner or operator of containers using Container Level 2 controls shall inspect the containers 
and their covers and closure devices as follows:

(i) In the case when a hazardous waste already is in the container at the time the owner or 
operator first accepts possession of the container at the facility and the container is not emptied 
within 24 hours after the container is accepted at the facility (i.e., does not meet the conditions for 
an empty container as specified in § 261.7(b) of these regulations), the owner or operator shall 
visually inspect the container and its cover and closure devices to check for visible cracks, holes, 
gaps, or other open spaces into the interior of the container when the cover and closure devices 
are secured in the closed position. The container visual inspection shall be conducted on or 
before the date that the container is accepted at the facility (i.e., the date the container becomes 
subject to the Subpart CC container standards).  For purposes of this requirement, the date of 
acceptance is the date of signature that the facility owner or operator enters on Item 20 of the 
Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest (EPA Forms 8700-22 and 8700-22A), as required under 
Subpart E of this part, at § 264.71 of these regulations. If a defect is detected, the owner or 
operator shall repair the defect in accordance with the requirements of paragraph (d)(4)(iii) of this 
section.

*******



*******  

13) Revise paragraphs (a)(1), (a)(2) and (j) of Section 265.71, and add paragraph (l) to read
as follows:  

§ 265.71 Use of manifest system. 

(a)(1) If the facility receives hazardous waste shipment accompanied by a manifest, the owner, operator 
or his/her agent must sign and date the manifest as indicated in paragraph (a)(2) of this section to certify 
that the hazardous waste covered by the manifest was received, that the hazardous waste was received 
except as noted in the discrepancy space of the manifest, or that the hazardous waste was rejected as 
noted in the manifest discrepancy space.

(2) If a facility receives a hazardous waste shipment accompanied by a manifest, the owner, operator 
or his/her agent must:

(i) Sign and date, by hand, each copy of the manifest; 

(ii) Note any discrepancies (as defined in § 265.72(a)) on each copy of the manifest; 

(iii) Immediately give the transporter at least one copy of the manifest; 

(iv) Within 30 days of delivery, send a copy (Page 2) of the manifest to the generator;  

(v) Paper manifest submission requirements are:

(A) Options for compliance on June 30, 2018. Beginning on June 30, 2018, send the top 
copy (Page 1) of any paper manifest and any paper continuation sheet to the e-Manifest 
system for purposes of data entry and processing, or in lieu of submitting the paper copy to 
EPA, the owner or operator may transmit to the EPA system an image file of Page 1 of the 
manifest and any continuation sheet, or both a data file and image file corresponding to Page 
1 of the manifest and any continuation sheet, within 30 days of the date of delivery. 
Submissions of copies to the e-Manifest system shall be made at the mailing address or 
electronic mail/submission address specified at the e-Manifest program website's directory of 
services. Beginning on June 30, 2021, EPA will not accept mailed paper manifests from 
facilities for processing in e-Manifest.

(B) Options for compliance on June 30, 2021. Beginning on June 30, 2021, the 
requirement to submit the top copy (Page1) of the paper manifest and any paper continuation
sheet to the e-Manifest system for purposes of data entry and processing may be met by the 
owner or operator only by transmitting to the EPA system an image file of Page 1 of the 
manifest and any continuation sheet, or by transmitting to the EPA system both a data file 
and the image file corresponding to Page 1 of the manifest and any continuation sheet, within
30 days of the date of delivery. Submissions of copies to the e-Manifest system shall be 
made to the electronic mail/submission address specified at the e-Manifest program website's
directory of services; and

(vi) Retain at the facility a copy of each manifest for at least three years from the date of delivery. 

*******  

*******  



 

(j) Imposition of user fee for electronic manifest use.

(1) As prescribed in 40 CFR § 265.1311, and determined in 40 CFR § 265.1312, an owner or operator   
who is a user of the national electronic manifest system shall be assessed a user fee by EPA for the 
submission and processing of each electronic and paper manifest. EPA shall update the schedule of 
user fees and publish them to the user community, as provided in 40 CFR § 265.1313. 40 CFR part  
265 is incorporated by reference to include those versions in effect as of the date this regulation was 
adopted, and does not include later amendments to the incorporated material. Materials incorporated 
by reference are available for public inspection during normal business hours from the Hazardous 
Materials and Waste Management Division, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246. 
Copies may also be found at the Environmental Protection Agency through the Government Printing 
Office at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/cfr/

(2) An owner or operator subject to user fees under this section shall make user fee payments in 
accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR § 265.1314, subject to the informal fee dispute 
resolution process of 40 CFR § 265.1316, and subject to the sanctions for delinquent payments under
40 CFR § 265.1315.

(k) Electronic manifest signatures. (1) Electronic manifest signatures shall meet the criteria described 
in 40 CFR § 262.25. 

(l) Post-receipt manifest data corrections. After facilities have certified to the receipt of hazardous wastes 
by signing Item 20 of the manifest, any post-receipt data corrections may be submitted at any time by any
interested person (e.g., waste handler) shown on the manifest.

(1) Interested persons must make all corrections to manifest data by electronic submission, either by 
directly entering corrected data to the web based service provided in e-Manifest for such corrections, 
or by an upload of a data file containing data corrections relating to one or more previously submitted 
manifests.

(2) Each correction submission must include the following information:

(i) The Manifest Tracking Number and date of receipt by the facility of the original manifest(s) for 
which data are being corrected;

(ii) The Item Number(s) of the original manifest that is the subject of the submitted correction(s); 
and

(iii) For each Item Number with corrected data, the data previously entered and the corresponding
data as corrected by the correction submission.

(3) Each correction submission shall include a statement that the person submitting the corrections 
certifies that to the best of his/her knowledge or belief, the corrections that are included in the 
submission will cause the information reported about the previously received hazardous wastes to be 
true, accurate, and complete.

(i) The certification statement must be executed with a valid electronic signature; and

(ii) A batch upload of data corrections may be submitted under one certification statement.

(4) Upon receipt by the system of any correction submission, other interested persons shown on the 
manifest will be provided electronic notice of the submitter's corrections.

(5) Other interested persons shown on the manifest may respond to the submitter's corrections with 
comments to the submitter, or by submitting another correction to the system, certified by the 
respondent as specified in paragraph (l)(3) of this section, and with notice of the corrections to other 



interested persons shown on the manifest.

14) Revise paragraphs (c)(4)(i) and (d)(4)(i) of Section 265.1087 to read as follows:  

§ 265.1087  Standards:  Containers.

*******  
(c) Container Level 1 standards.

*******   

(4) The owner or operator of containers using Container Level 1 controls shall inspect the containers 
and their covers and closure devices as follows:

(i) In the case when a hazardous waste already is in the container at the time the owner or 
operator first accepts possession of the container at the facility and the container is not emptied 
within 24 hours after the container is accepted at the facility (i.e., does not meet the conditions for
an empty container as specified in § 261.7(b) of these regulations), the owner or operator shall 
visually inspect the container  and its cover and closure devices to check for visible cracks, holes,
gaps, or other open spaces into the interior of the container when the cover and closure devices 
are secured in the closed position.  The container visual inspection shall be conducted on or 
before the date that the container is accepted at the facility (i;e;, the date the container becomes 
subject to the Subpart CC container standards).  For purposes of this requirement, the date of 
acceptance is the date of signature that the facility owner or operator enters on Item 20 of the 
Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest (EPA Forms 8700-22 and 8700-22A), as required under 
subpart E of this part, at § 265.71 of these regulations. If a defect is detected, the owner or 
operator shall repair the defect in accordance with the requirements of paragraph (c)(4)(iii) of this 
section.

 
*******  

*******   

(d) Container Level 2 standards.

*******   

(4) The owner or operator of containers using Container Level 2 controls shall inspect the containers 
and their covers and closure devices as follows:

(i) In the case when a hazardous waste already is in the container at the time the owner or 
operator first accepts possession of the container at the facility and the container is not emptied 
within 24 hours after the container is accepted at the facility (i.e., does not meet the conditions for
an empty container as specified in § 261.7(b) of these regulations), the owner or operator shall 
visually inspect the container and its cover and closure devices to check for visible cracks, holes, 
gaps, or other open spaces into the interior of the container when the cover and closure devices 
are secured in the closed position.  The container visual inspection shall be conducted on or 
before the date that the container is accepted at the facility (i;e;, the date the container becomes 
subject to the Subpart CC container standards).  For purposes of this requirement, the date of 
acceptance is the date of signature that the facility owner or operator enters on Item 20 of the 
Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest (EPA Forms 8700-22 and 8700-22A), as required under 
subpart E of this part, at § 265.71 of these regulations. If a defect is detected, the owner or 
operator shall repair the defect in accordance with the requirements of paragraph (d)(4)(iii) of this 



 

section.

*******   
******* 

15) Add Section 8.93 (Statement of Basis for the Rulemaking Hearing of February 19, 
2019) to Part 8 of the Regulations to read as follows:

Statement of Basis and Purpose
Rulemaking Hearing of February 19, 2019

8.93 Basis and Purpose.

These amendments to 6 CCR 1007-3, Parts 260, 262, 263, 264, and 265 are made pursuant to 
the authority granted to the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission in § 25-15-302(2), C.R.S.

User Fees for the Electronic Hazardous Waste Manifest System and Amendments to the 
Manifest Regulations

These amendments to the Colorado Hazardous Waste Regulations (6 CCR 1007-3) correspond 
to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest User Fee 
rule published in the Federal Register on January 3, 2018 {83 FR 420-462}, and which became 
effective on June 30, 2018. 

The January 3, 2018 federal rule established the methodology the EPA will use to determine and 
revise the user fees applicable to the electronic and paper manifests to be submitted to the
national electronic manifest system (e-Manifest system) that EPA developed under the 
Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest Establishment Act, P.L. 112-195.  That Act directed EPA to
establish a national electronic manifest system (or e-Manifest system) and to impose reasonable 
user service fees as a means to fund the development and operation of the e-Manifest system.
  
EPA’s Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest rule was published in the Federal Register on 
February 7, 2014 {79 FR 7518-7563}.  Corresponding amendments to the Colorado Hazardous 
Waste Regulations were adopted by the Colorado Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission on 
October 17, 2017, and became effective on November 30, 2017.

EPA began operation of its e-Manifest system on June 30, 2018. The goal of the e-Manifest 
system is to transition away from the use of paper manifests and move to a fully electronic 
process for tracking hazardous waste shipments.  Establishment of an electronic tracking system 
for hazardous waste shipments will allow tracking to be conducted in a more cost-effective 
manner, and result in reduced paperwork and processing burdens to the regulated community, as
well as to the regulators.  The e-Manifest system should also provide more timely access to 
manifest data and shipment information, and improve data quality shared among users, 
regulators, and their data management systems.

As a state with an authorized RCRA program under 40 CFR Part 271, Colorado is required to 
revise its state program in order to be equivalent to, consistent with, and no less stringent than 
the requirements of the federal e-Manifest User Fee rule.  

Many of the regulatory provisions promulgated in the federal e-Manifest User Fee rule were 
issued under the authority of the e-Manifest Act, and can only be administered and enforced by 
the EPA. Colorado is required to adopt these provisions in order to maintain manifest program 
consistency.  



Two sets of provisions in the federal that can only be administered by the EPA include the 
following:

1) Manifest printing specifications of § 262.21(f)(5), (6), and(7). These provisions describe the
revised printing specification for the five-copy paper manifest and continuation sheet paper 
forms, the revised copy distribution requirements to be printed on each copy of the form, and 
the revised specification for printing the appropriate manifest instructions on the back of the 
form copies. These printing specifications apply to registered manifest printers and are 
administered solely by EPA, and 

2) Fee methodology and related fee implementation provisions of subpart FF of 40 CFR Parts
264 & 265. The user fee provisions of subpart FF describe the methods and processes that 
EPA will use in setting fees to recover its program costs, and in administering and enforcing 
the user fee requirements. Although Colorado cannot receive authorization to administer or 
enforce EPA’s e-Manifest system, Colorado is adopting the required state analog to 40 CFR 
§ 264.71(j) and § 265.71(j) to reference the federal subpart FF provisions. This is necessary 
to ensure that members of the regulated community are on notice of their responsibilities to 
submit their final manifest copies to the system and to pay user fees to EPA for the 
processing of their manifests.

Additional provisions being adopted as part of this rulemaking include the following amendments:

                      Regulation                                   

Subject
§ 260.4 Copy submission requirements for interstate shipments.

§ 260.5 Applicability of e-Manifest system and fees to facilities 
receiving state-only regulated wastes.

§ 262.20(a)(1) and (a)(2) Removal of references to the Appendix to Part 262

§ 262.24(c)(1) Use of mixed paper/electronic manifests.

§ 262.24(e) Removal of references to the Appendix to Part 262

§ 262.24(g) Removal of paragraph regarding imposition of user fees 
for electronic manifest use.

§ 262.24(h) Generators and post-receipt data corrections.

Appendix to Part 262 Removal of the manifest form and instructions in the 
Appendix to Part 262

§ 263.20(a)(8) Removal of paragraph regarding imposition of user fees 
for electronic manifest use for Transporters. 

§ 263.20(a)(9) Transporters and post-receipt data corrections.

§ 263.21(b) En route changes to transporters

§ 264.71(a)(2)(v) and § 265.71.(a)(2)(v) Receiving facilities’ required paper manifest submissions 
to system.

§ 264.71(j) and § 265.71(j) Imposition of user fees on receiving facilities for their 
manifest submissions.

§ 264.71(l) and § 265.71(l) Receiving facilities and post-receipt data corrections.

§ 264.1086(c)(4)(i) and (d)(4)(i) and 

§ 265.1087(c)(4)(i) and (d)(4)(i) Removal of references to the Appendix to Part 262

This Basis and Purpose incorporates by reference the applicable portions of the preamble 



 

language for the EPA regulations as published in the Federal Register at 83 FR 420-462, January
3, 2018.
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT

Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission/Hazardous Materials and 
Waste Management Division

6 CCR 1007-3

HAZARDOUS WASTE

Amendment of Section 262.14(a) 

(Adopted by the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission on February 19, 2019)

1) Revise paragraph (a) of Section 262.14 to read as follows:  

§ 262.14  Conditions for exemption for a very small quantity generator.

(a) Provided that the very small quantity generator meets all the conditions for exemption listed in this 
section, hazardous waste generated by the very small quantity generator is not subject to the 
requirements of Part 262 (except §§ 262.9-262.14 and 262.43) through 268, and 100 of these regulations, 
and the very small quantity generator may accumulate hazardous waste on site without complying with 
such requirements. VSQGs generating 3 gallons or more of F001, F002, F004, or F005 hazardous waste 
in a calendar year must also comply with § 262.18.  The conditions for exemption are as follows: 

*******

2) Add Section 8.93 (Statement of Basis for the Rulemaking Hearing of February 19, 2019)
to Part 8 of the Regulations to read as follows:

Statement of Basis and Purpose
Rulemaking Hearing of February 19, 2019

8.93 Basis and Purpose.

These amendments to 6 CCR 1007-3, Part 262 are made pursuant to the authority granted to the
Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission in § 25-15-302(2), C.R.S.

Amendment of the Section 262.14(a)

These amendments correct technical errors and inadvertent omissions in paragraph (a) of 
Section 262.14 of the Colorado Hazardous Waste Regulations (6 CCR 1007-3) that were 
identified after Colorado adopted state analogs to the federal Hazardous Waste Generator 
Improvements Rule on May 15, 2018, and after the previous HW Generator Improvement 
Amendments had been filed for the November 20, 2018 rulemaking hearing.  



Paragraph (a) of the Section 262.14 conditions for exemption for a very small quantity generator 
(VSQG) of hazardous waste is being amended to:

1) Exempt VSQGs of hazardous waste from complying with the requirements of Part 263 
(Standards Applicable to Transporters of Hazardous Waste).  As § 262.14(a) is currently written, 
VSQGs are subject to the Part 263 requirements.  VSQGs are not required to manifest their 
hazardous waste under RCRA, and it is not the Division’s intent to require VSQGs to do so under 
the state regulations.  This amendment corrects this issue.

2) Clarify that only VSQGs generating 3 gallons or more of F001, F002, F004, and/or F005 
hazardous waste in a calendar year are required to comply with the requirements of § 262.18 
(EPA identification numbers and re-notification for large quantity generators, small quantity 
generators, and very small quantity generators that generate 3 gallons or more in a calendar year
of hazardous waste codes F001, F002, F004, and/or F005).  As currently written, § 262.14(a) 
implies that all   VSQGs are required to comply with the requirements of § 262.18.  This 
amendment corrects the VSQG exemption to specify that only VSQGs generating 3 gallons or 
more of F001, F002, F004, and/or F005 hazardous waste in a calendar year are required to 
comply with the requirements of § 262.18.

This amendment is more stringent than the federal regulations.  The Commission has evaluated 
the information presented at the rulemaking hearing, as well as the information in the Statement 
of Basis and Purpose. The Commission considers this information sufficient to justify adopting the
proposed rule.  The Commission finds that this rule is necessary to protect public health and the 
environment.

3) Add a reference to § 262.43 in Section 262.14 to require VSQGs to complete and return a Self-
Certification Checklist if requested by the Division.  VSQGs are already required to comply with 
the Self-Certification requirements of § 262.43 through § 262.10(a)(1)(i)(E).  This amendment 
simply provides further clarification of this requirement.
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT

Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission/Hazardous Materials and 
Waste Management Division

6 CCR 1007-3

HAZARDOUS WASTE

Amendment of the Part 279 Standards for the Management of Used Oil  .

(Adopted by the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission on February 19, 2019)

1) Revise the definition of “Petroleum refining facility” in Section 279.1 to read as 
follows:  

Subpart A -  Definitions

§ 279.1 Definitions.

*******

Petroleum refining facility means an establishment primarily engaged in producing gasoline, kerosene, 
distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, and lubricants, through fractionation, straight distillation of crude oil, 
redistillation of unfinished petroleum derivatives, cracking or other processes (i.e. facilities classified as 
SIC 2911).

******* 

2) Remove and reserve paragraph (b)(3) of Section 279.10 to read as follows:  

Subpart B -  Applicability

§ 279.10 Applicability.

This section identifies those materials which are subject to regulation as used oil under this part.  This 
section also identifies some materials that are not subject to regulation as used oil under this part, and 
indicates whether these materials may be subject to regulation as hazardous waste under Parts 260 
through 268, and Part 100 of these regulations.

(a) Used oil.  EPA presumes that used oil is to be recycled unless a used oil handler disposes of used oil,
or sends used oil for disposal.  Except as provided in § 279.11, the regulations of this part apply to used 
oil, and to materials identified in this section as being subject to regulation as used oil, whether or not the 



used oil or material exhibits any characteristics of hazardous waste identified in Subpart C of Part 261 of 
these regulations.

(b) Mixtures of used oil and hazardous waste

*******

(3) Reserved.  

3) Revise paragraph (i) of Section 279.10 to read as follows:  

Subpart B -  Applicability

§ 279.10 Applicability.

*******

(i) Used oil containing PCBs.  Used oil containing PCBs (as defined at 40 CFR § 761.3) at any 
concentration less than 50 ppm is subject to the requirements of Part 279 unless, because of dilution, it is 
regulated under 40 CFR Part 761 as a used oil containing PCBs at 50 ppm or greater. PCB-containing 
used oil subject to the requirements of Part 279 may also be subject to the prohibitions and requirements 
found at 40 CFR Part 761, including § 761.20(d) and (e).  Used oil containing PCBs at concentrations of 
50 ppm or greater is not subject to the requirements of Part 279, but is subject to regulation under 40 
CFR Part 761. No person may avoid these provisions by diluting used oil containing PCBs, unless 
otherwise specifically provided for in this Part 279 or 40 CFR Part 761.  40 CFR part 761 is incorporated 
by reference to include those versions in effect as of the date this regulation was adopted, and does not 
include later amendments to the incorporated material. Materials incorporated by reference are available 
for public inspection during normal business hours from the Hazardous Materials and Waste Management
Division, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246. Copies may also be found at the 
Environmental Protection Agency through the Government Printing Office at 
https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/cfr/

4) Revise Section 279.11 to read as follows:

§ 279.11 Used oil specifications. 

Used oil burned for energy recovery, and any fuel produced from used oil by processing, blending, or 
other treatment, is subject to regulation under this part unless it is shown not to exceed any of the 
allowable levels of the constituents and properties shown in Table 1.  Once used oil that is to be burned 
for energy recovery has been shown not to exceed any allowable level and the person making that 
showing complies with §§ 279.72, 279.73, and 279.74(b), the used oil is no longer subject to this part.

Table 1--Used Oil Not Exceeding Any Allowable Level Shown Below Is Not Subject to this Part 
When Burned for Energy Recovery{1} 

Constituent/property Allowable level

Arsenic
Cadmium
Chromium
Lead
Flash point

    5 ppm maximum.
    2 ppm maximum.
   10 ppm maximum.
  100 ppm maximum.
  100 EF minimum.



 

    Total Halogens 4,000 ppm maximum.{2}

{1} The allowable levels do not apply to mixtures of used oil and hazardous waste that continue to be 
regulated as hazardous waste (see § 279.10(b)).

{2} Used oil containing more than 1,000 ppm total halogens is presumed to be a hazardous waste 
under the rebuttable presumption provided under § 279.10(b)(1).  Such used oil is subject to Subpart 
D of Part 267 of these regulations rather than this part when burned for energy recovery unless the 
presumption of mixing can be successfully rebutted.                        
Note:  Applicable standards for the burning of used oil containing PCBs are imposed by 40 CFR § 
761.20(e).

5) Revise paragraph (d) of Section 279.22 to read as follows:

§ 279.22 Used oil storage.

*******  
 
(d) Response to releases.  Upon detection of a release of used oil to the environment that is not subject 
to the requirements of 40 CFR Part 280, Subpart F,  and which has occurred after the effective date of 
these regulations, a generator must perform the following cleanup steps:

(1) Stop the release;

(2) Contain the released used oil;

(3) Clean up and manage properly the released used oil and other materials; and

(4) If necessary to prevent future releases, repair or replace any leaking used oil storage containers 
or tanks prior to returning them to service.

Note: 40 CFR part 280, subpart F, is incorporated by reference to include those versions in effect as 
of the date this regulation was adopted, and does not include later amendments to the incorporated 
material. Materials incorporated by reference are available for public inspection during normal 
business hours from the Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division, 4300 Cherry Creek 
Drive South, Denver, CO 80246. Copies may also be found at the Environmental Protection Agency 
through the Government Printing Office at https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/cfr/262.18

*******

6) Revise paragraph (c)(2) of Section 279.44 to read as follows:

§ 279.44 Rebuttable presumption for used oil.

*******  

(c) If the used oil contains greater than or equal to 1,000 ppm total halogens, it is presumed to be a 
hazardous waste because it has been mixed with halogenated hazardous waste listed in Subpart D of 
Part 261 of these regulations.  The owner or operator may rebut the presumption by demonstrating that 
the used oil does not contain hazardous waste (for example, by showing that the used oil does not 
contain significant concentrations of halogenated hazardous constituents listed in Appendix VIII of Part 
261 of these regulations).  



******* 

(2) The rebuttable presumption does not apply to used oils contaminated with chlorofluorocarbons 
(CFCs) removed from refrigeration units if the CFCs are destined for reclamation.  The rebuttable 
presumption does apply to used oils contaminated with CFCs that have been mixed with used oil from 
sources other than refrigeration units.

7) Revise paragraph (h) of Section 279.45 to read as follows:

§ 279.45 Used oil storage at transfer facilities.

*******

(h) Response to releases.  Upon detection of a release of used oil to the environment that is not subject 
to the requirements of 40 CFR Part 280, Subpart F, and which has occurred after the effective date of 
these regulations, the owner/operator of a transfer facility must perform the following cleanup steps: 

******* 

8) Revise paragraph (b)(6)(ii) of Section 279.52 to read as follows:

§ 279.52 General facility standards.

*******  

(b) Contingency plan and emergency procedures.  Owners and operators of used oil processing 
and re refining facilities must comply with the following requirements:

*******

(6) Emergency procedures.

******* 

(ii) Whenever there is a release, fire, or explosion, the emergency coordinator must immediately 
identify the character, exact source, amount, and areal extent of any released materials. He/she 
may do this by observation or review of facility records or manifests and, if necessary, by chemical 
analyses.

*******

9) Revise paragraph (g) of Section 279.54 to read as follows:

§ 279.54 Used oil management.

*******

(g) Response to releases.  Upon detection of a release of used oil to the environment that is not subject 
to the requirements of 40 CFR Part 280, Subpart F, and which has occurred after the effective date of 
these regulations, an owner/operator must perform the following cleanup steps:



 

*******

10) Revise paragraph (b)(2)(i)(B) of Section 279.55 to read as follows:  

§ 279.55  Analysis plan.

*******

(b) On specification used oil fuel in § 279.72.  At a minimum, the plan must specify the following if § 
279.72 is applicable:

(1) Whether sample analyses or other information will be used to make this determination;

(2) If sample analyses are used to make this determination:

(i) The sampling method used to obtain representative samples to be analyzed. A representative 
sample may be obtained using either:

(A) One of the sampling methods in Appendix I of Part 261 of these regulations; or
 
(B) A method shown to be equivalent under § 260.20 and § 260.21 of these regulations;

(ii) Whether used oil will be sampled and analyzed prior to or after any processing/re refining;

11) Revise paragraph (g) of Section 279.64 to read as follows:  

§ 279.64 Used oil storage.

(g) Response to releases.  Upon detection of a release of used oil to the environment that is not subject 
to the requirements of 40 CFR Part 280, Subpart F, and which has occurred after the effective date of 
these regulations, a burner must perform the following cleanup steps:

******* 

12) Revise paragraph (b) of Section 279.74 to read as follows:  

§ 279.74 Tracking.

******* 

(b) On specification used oil delivery.  A generator, transporter, processor/re refiner, or burner who first
claims that used oil that is to be burned for energy recovery meets the fuel specifications under § 279.11 
must keep a record of each shipment of used oil to the facility to which it delivers the used oil.  Records 
for each shipment must include the following information:

******* 
*******

13) Add Section 8.93 (Statement of Basis for the Rulemaking Hearing of February 19, 



2019) to Part 8 of the Regulations to read as follows:

Statement of Basis and Purpose
Rulemaking Hearing of February 19, 2019

8.93 Basis and Purpose.

These amendments to 6 CCR 1007-3, Part 279 are made pursuant to the authority granted to the
Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission in § 25-15-302(2), C.R.S.

Amendment of the Part 279 Standards for the Management of Used Oil

These amendments revise sections 279.1, 279.10, 279.11, 279.22, 279.44, 279.45, 279.52, 
279.54 279.55, 279. 64, and 279.74 of Colorado’s Part 279 Standards for the Management of 
Use Oil.  

With the exception of the revisions to section 279.10, these amendments consist mainly of 
corrections to minor typographical and technical errors that exist in the Part 279 regulations.
The more substantive changes to section 279.10 include the following:

1) Amendment of Section 279.10(i) – Applicability of the Used Oil Management Standards 
to PCB contaminated used oil.   Paragraph (i) of section 279.10 is being amended to clarify the 
applicability of the RCRA used oil management standards to used oil containing PCBs.  The 
amendment clarifies that used oil that contains less than 50 ppm of PCBs is generally subject to 
regulation under the RCRA used oil management standards.  However, the amendment notes 
that the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) prohibition against the dilution of PCB 
concentrations below regulatory thresholds (40 CFR 761.1(b)(5)) applies to the dilution of PCB-
containing used oil  Used oil, therefore, that contains, or contained prior to dilution, 50 ppm or 
greater of PCBs in not subject to regulation under the RCRA used oil management standards, 
because the TSCA regulations at 40 CFR Part 761 provide comprehensive management of such 
used oil.

2) Removal of Section 279.10(b)(3) – Mixtures of used oil and very small quantity generator
hazardous waste.  The Division is removing the provision at § 279.10(b)(3) to clarify the state’s 
intent to be more stringent than the federal requirements regarding the management of mixtures 
of used oil and listed hazardous waste from very small quantity generators (VSQGs) of 
hazardous waste.

Pursuant to the federal provisions of §§ 262.13(f)(iii) and  279.10(b)(3), mixtures of VSQG listed 
hazardous waste and used oil are exempt from regulation under the hazardous waste 
management regulations, and may be managed as used oil under the used oil management 
standards of 40 CFR Part 279.  

The Division believes that VSQG generated mixtures of used oil and listed hazardous waste 
should be managed in accordance with the same requirements applicable to mixtures of used oil 
and listed hazardous waste generated by small quantity generators and large quantity 
generators.  Allowing VSQG generated mixtures of used oil and listed hazardous waste to be 
managed as used oil makes compliance assurance difficult and significantly reduces a VSQG’s 
incentive to minimize the amount of listed hazardous waste it generates, and may also lead to 
management of the waste in a manner that is not protective of human health and the 
environment.

In adopting state analogs to the federal hazardous waste generator improvements rule on May  
15, 2018, Colorado included more stringent language in § 262.13(f) regarding VSQG mixtures of 
used oil and hazardous waste.  



 

Pursuant to the requirements of 6 CCR 1007-3, § 262.13(f)(iii), if a VSQG’s characteristic 
hazardous wastes are mixed with used oil, and the resulting mixture does not exhibit any 
hazardous waste characteristic, the mixture is subject to the Part 279 used oil regulations.  Any 
material produced from such a mixture by processing, blending, or other treatment is also 
regulated under the Part 279 regulations.  However, pursuant to 6 CCR 1007-3, § 262.13(f)(iv), if 
a VSQG mixes any hazardous waste listed in subpart D of Part 261 of the Colorado Hazardous 
Waste Regulations (6 CCR 1007-3) with used oil, the resultant mixture is a newly generated listed
hazardous waste and must be managed as hazardous waste. The VSQG must count both the 
resultant mixture amount plus all other hazardous waste generated in the calendar month to 
determine whether the total quantity exceeds the very small quantity generator calendar month 
quantity limits identified in the definition of generator categories found in § 260.10 of these  
regulations. If so, to remain exempt from the permitting, interim status, and operating standards, 
the very small quantity generator must meet the conditions for exemption applicable to either a 
small quantity generator or a large quantity generator. The very small quantity generator must 
also comply with the applicable independent requirements for either a small quantity generator or 
a large quantity generator. 

In its adoption of the hazardous waste generator improvements rule, Colorado inadvertently failed
to amend § 279.10(b)(3) to be consistent with the more stringent provisions of  § 262.13(f), and to
include a discussion of this more stringent provision in the Statement of Basis and Purpose for 
the May 18, 2018 rulemaking.

This amendment removing the provision at § 279.10(b)(3) clarifies the state’s intent pursuant to § 
262.13(f)(iv) to be more stringent than the federal requirements regarding the management of 
VSQG mixtures of used oil and hazardous waste.

This amendment is more stringent than the federal regulations.  The Commission has evaluated 
the information presented at the rulemaking hearing, as well as the information in the Statement 
of Basis and Purpose. The Commission considers this information sufficient to justify adopting the
proposed rule.  The Commission finds that this rule is necessary to protect public health and the 
environment. 

This Basis and Purpose incorporates by reference the applicable portions of the preamble 
language for the EPA regulations as published in the Federal Register at 68 FR 44659-44665, 
July 30, 2003 regarding the amendment of Section 279.10(i).
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT

Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission/Hazardous Materials and
Waste Management Division

6 CCR 1007-3

HAZARDOUS WASTE

Proposed Acme Manufacturing F006 Delisting

(Adopted by the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission on February 19, 2019)

1) Appendix IX of Part 261 is amended by adding Delisting #10 to read as follows:

PART 261, APPENDIX IX – WASTES EXCLUDED UNDER §§ 260.20 AND 260.22 

******* 

DELISTING #: 10

FACILITY: Acme Manufacturing

ADDRESS: 4650 S. Leydon St., Unit A, Denver, Colorado  80216

WASTE: Wastewater treatment sludge from the on-site treatment of wastewater generated
from zinc and chromate plating on cold rolled steel.  EPA hazardous waste code 
F006 generated after the effective date of this delisting.

CONDITIONS: This delisting is valid only for the waste stream specified above and referenced in
the delisting petition submitted on October 18, 2018 and under the following 
conditions:

a. Changes to Current Operations

1. Acme Manufacturing must notify the Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division (the 
Division) at least 30-days prior to implementing any major change to the electroplating processes 
at the Facility.  A major change is any change including alteration of the current wastewater 
treatment process or incorporating different chemicals or reagents into the process such that the 
composition of the wastewater treatment sludge is altered.  

2. Acme Manufacturing must notify the Division within 15-days after implementing any change to the
wastewater treatment or electroplating processes that causes a significant change in the type or 
concentration of any hazardous constituent in the waste or causes the waste to exhibit a 
hazardous waste characteristic.  A significant change is defined as an increase in the total waste 



concentration for any constituent identified below:

Constituent Average
Concentration

(ppm)

2xs the Standard
Deviation

Concentration Requiring
Notification to the Division (Two
Standard Deviations above the

Average Concentration)

Arsenic Non-detect Non-detect Detection
Barium 13.2 1.4 14.6

 Cadmium Non-detect Non-detect Detection
Chromium (Total) 1,740 193 1,933

Chromium VI Non-detect Non-detect Detection 
Copper 40.1 6.8 46.9

Cyanide (amenable) Non-detect Non-detect Detection
Cyanide (free/reactive) Non-detect Non-detect Detection

Lead 6.1 1.0 7.1
Mercury Non-detect Non-detect Detection
Nickel 28.8 3.7 32.5

Selenium Non-detect Non-detect Detection
Silver Non-detect Non-detect Detection
Zinc 78,325 8,569 86,894

A significant change also includes the detection of any additional Part 264, Appendix IX 
hazardous constituents that are not identified in the above table.

3. The Division reserves the right to re-evaluate and, if necessary, remove this approval or modify 
these conditions in the event that a significant change, as defined above, is reported by Acme 
Manufacturing.  In such case, the Division may remove this delisting or impose temporary 
requirements on the delisted waste until such time as an appropriate amendment to this delisting 
can be considered by the Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission.  

b. Sampling Requirements

Acme Manufacturing shall conduct annual verification sampling of the delisted waste in January 
of each year to monitor for any significant change in the type or concentration of any hazardous 
constituents in the delisted waste.  Annual verification sampling shall be submitted to the Division 
within sixty (60) days of the sampling event for review against initial criteria and sampling 
methodology.  

c. Storage Requirements

1. The delisted waste generated by Acme Manufacturing may not be accumulated on-site for a 
period in excess of one year.

2. The volume of delisted waste accumulated on-site may not exceed 20 cubic yards at any given 
time.

3. The delisted waste must be stored in a container that is capable of being closed.  The container 
must be marked or labeled to identify the contents as “delisted waste” and with an accumulation 
start date.  The container must be kept closed except for when waste is being added to or 
removed from the container.  



d. Recordkeeping Requirements

1. Acme Manufacturing shall maintain records of the disposal or recycling of all delisted waste that 
documents that such activities are in accordance with the delisting petition.

2. Acme Manufacturing shall maintain all records required by paragraph d.1 above for a period of at 
least three years.

e. Disposal Requirements

The delisted waste shall be disposed in a landfill meeting the requirements of the Colorado Solid 
Waste Regulations (6 CCR 1007-2) or recycled at an appropriate metals reclamation facility.  

2) Section 8.93 {Statement of Basis and Purpose for the Rulemaking Hearing of February 
19, 2019} is added to Part 8 of the Regulations to read as follows:

Statement of Basis and Purpose
Rulemaking Hearing of February 19, 2019

8.93 Basis and Purpose

This amendment to 6 CCR 1007-3, Part 261, Appendix IX is made pursuant to the authority granted to the
Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission in § 25-15-302(2), C.R.S.

Amendment of Part 261, Appendix IX to Conditionally Delist F006 Hazardous Waste Generated by 
Acme Manufacturing located at 4650 S. Leydon St., Unit A in Denver, Colorado 80216.

Appendix IX of Part 261 is being amended to conditionally delist F006 hazardous waste generated at 
Acme Manufacturing in Denver, Colorado.  This delisting will allow Acme Manufacturing to dispose of this 
waste at a solid waste landfill meeting the requirements of the Colorado Solid Waste Regulations (6 CCR 
1007-2) or a metals recycling facility provided it complies with the conditions of the delisting.  The Solid 
and Hazardous Waste Commission (the “Commission”) is requiring an annual verification sampling of the 
delisted waste and the results of that verification sampling must be submitted to the Division within sixty 
(60) days of the sampling event for review against initial delisting criteria and sampling methodology.  

Acme Manufacturing operates a manufacturing facility in Denver, Colorado for the production of steel 
threaded rods for use in the construction industry.  Manufacturing processes at the facility include the zinc
plating of steel parts, followed by either a clear or yellow chromate seal.  Rinse water from these metal 
finishing operations is treated on-site in a wastewater treatment unit to remove heavy metals prior to 
discharging the treated wastewater to the publicly owned treatment works (POTW).  The process of 
treating the wastewater generates wastewater treatment sludge.  Pursuant to the listing description at § 
261.31, wastewater treatment sludge generated from electroplating operations is classified as F006 
hazardous waste.  

The basis for the F006 hazardous waste listing is described in Appendix VII of Part 261 of the hazardous 
waste regulations.  Each listing is based on hazardous constituents that are typically contained in the 
waste described by the listing.  The hazardous constituents that formed the basis for the F006 listing 
include cadmium, hexavalent chromium (Chromium VI), nickel and complexed cyanide.  

Samples of the wastewater treatment sludge generated at Acme Manufacturing were collected and 
submitted for analysis prior to submittal of the delisting petition.  Four discrete samples of the wastewater 
treatment sludge were collected in accordance with a sampling and analysis plan that was reviewed and 
approved by the Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division at the Colorado Department of 
Public Health and Environment.  The waste samples were analyzed using the toxicity characteristic 



leaching procedure (TCLP) to determine the leachability of contaminants from the waste as well as total 
concentrations.

TCLP results of the wastewater treatment sludge indicate that the sludge does not exhibit any of the 
hazardous waste characteristics.  Sample results confirmed that the sludge does not contain any organic 
toxicity characteristic constituents above detection levels.  In addition, the sludge does not exhibit the 
toxicity characteristic for the eight heavy metals.  The waste also does not exhibit the hazardous waste 
characteristic of corrosivity, ignitability or reactivity.

Zinc concentrations in the waste sludge was also analyzed using TCLP.  The results of the analysis 
indicate that zinc was present at an average concentration of 195 mg/L, with the State of Colorado 
Regulation 41 Domestic Water Supply – Drinking Water Standard for zinc being 5 mg/L.  At such levels, 
zinc may leach out of the waste at concentrations that would not be protective of human health and the 
environment under unrestricted use standards.

The sample results indicated that the level of zinc that may leach from the waste is too high for 
unconditional delisting of the waste. However, further evaluation of the physical and chemical nature of 
the waste indicate that the waste does not pose an unacceptable risk to human health and the 
environment if subject to certain conditions regarding handling and disposal at a Subtitle D landfill. Zinc 
present in the sludge at 195 mg/L is less than 100 times the State of Colorado Regulation 41 Domestic 
Water Supply – Drinking Water Standard of 500 mg/L (5 mg/L X 100).  Based on the zinc being present at
levels less than 100 times the State of Colorado Regulation 41 Domestic Water Supply – Drinking Water 
Standard, using Table A2-1 of Appendix 2 of the Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division’s 
May 2002 Corrective Action Guidance, Option II: Restricted Use, the sludge may be disposed of as a 
solid waste in a Subtitle D landfill.

Total analysis of the wastewater treatment sludge also indicated that the petitioned sludge contains a 
hazardous constituent, nickel, which is a basis for listing the waste as a F006 hazardous waste.  Based 
on the chemical analysis of the waste samples, the average total concentration for nickel is 28.8 parts per
million (ppm).  The total average concentration of nickel is below the EPA Residential and Industrial Soil 
Screening Level.  

Hazardous constituents detected in the waste samples which were not a basis for listing the waste as a 
F006 hazardous waste include barium, chromium (Total), copper, lead and zinc.  The average total 
concentration for these constituents is: 13.2 ppm barium, 1,740 chromium (Total), 40.1 ppm copper, 6.1 
ppm lead, and 78,325 ppm zinc.  The average total concentration for these constituents is below the EPA 
Residential Soil Screening Level with the exception of zinc, which is present greater than the EPA 
Residential Soil Screening Level of 23,000 ppm.  Zinc present in the sludge at 78,325 ppm is less than 
100 times the EPA Residential Soil Screening Level of 2,300,000 ppm (23,000 ppm X 100).  Based on the
zinc being present at levels less than 100 times the EPA Residential Soil Screening Level, using Table 
A2-1 of Appendix 2 of the Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division’s May 2002 Corrective 
Action Guidance, Option II: Restricted Use, the sludge may be disposed as a solid waste in Subtitle D 
landfill.

This delisting is being granted under conditions specifying disposal, record keeping, storage and sampling
requirements for the delisted sludge.  Conditional delisting of the waste also prohibits any major changes 
to the metal finishing operations or wastewater treatment process without prior notification, evaluation, 
and approval by the Division.  

The Colorado Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission, after a public hearing on February 19, 2019, 
voted to tentatively approve the petition to delist F006 hazardous waste generated by electroplating 
operations at the Acme Manufacturing Facility located at 4650 S. Leydon St., Unit A in Denver, Colorado 
80216.  The Commission’s tentative decision is subject to public written comment until April 24, 2019.  If 
no adverse comments are received, the tentative decision will become the final decision, and the delisting
will become effective on May 30, 2019 without further notice.  If the Commission receives adverse 
comments, the Commission will publish a timely withdrawal in the Colorado Register informing the public 



that the rule will not take effect.  

This delisting does not apply to waste that demonstrates a  “significant change” as defined in Delisting 
#010 in Part 261, Appendix IX—Wastes Excluded Under § 260.20 and 260.22(d), or if any of the 
conditions specified in Part 261, Appendix IX for this delisting are not met.  Should either of these occur, 
the waste is and must be managed as a hazardous waste.  While the Commission is approving this 
conditional delisting for this specific waste at this specific site, the findings and criteria associated with the
approval are unique.  Other petitions for delisting, even if similar in material or use, will be reviewed by the
Division on a case-by-case basis.
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11.2.9 Conduct of Hearing. Hearings shall be conducted informally with as few technical 
requirements as possible. The hearing officer shall control the evidence taken during a hearing 
in a manner best suited to fully and fairly develop the relevant evidence, safeguard the rights of 
all parties, and ascertain the substantive rights of the parties based on the merits of the issue(s) 
to be decided. The appealing party shall be required to present evidence that supports the 
party’s position on the issues raised by the appeal. Parties to the appeal may present any 
relevant evidence. However, the hearing officer is charged with ensuring that the record is fully 
developed to the extent practicable based on the evidence reasonably available at the time of 
the hearing, whether or not a party is represented. Therefore, the hearing officer should oversee
the development of the evidence and participate in the interrogation process to the extent 
necessary to fully develop the record.

.1 Parties and witnesses shall ordinarily participate by telephone. However, based on the
individual circumstances of a case, the chief hearing officer or designee shall have the 
discretion to determine the method of participation, that will best achieve the purposes of
this rule 11.2.9 and to order the parties to participate in that manner. 

.2 An interested party to a hearing must submit to the hearing officer any documents, 
subpoenaed documents, and any physical exhibits that can be reproduced that he or 
she intends to introduce at the hearing. Such materials must be submitted in time to 
ensure that the hearing officer receives them before the date of the scheduled hearing. 
Such party must also provide copies of all documents and physical exhibits sent to the 
hearing officer to any other interested party to the hearing or to that interested party's 
representative as shown on the hearing notice, in time to ensure the materials are 
received prior to the date of the scheduled hearing. Failure to timely submit such 
materials to the hearing officer, or to timely send the materials to the opposing party or 
such party’s representative may result in their exclusion from the record. However, if a 
party has made a good faith effort to provide documents or physical exhibits in time to be
received prior to the hearing, such materials shall not be excluded due to the failure of 
the hearing officer, the other interested party, or an interested party’s representative to 
receive the materials. In any appropriate case where documents have been timely sent 
but not received in advance, an adjournment of the hearing may be permitted by the 
hearing officer pursuant to rule 11.2.11 unless waived on the record by both parties.

.3 Hearing Procedure. Prior to taking evidence, the hearing officer shall state the issues 
and the order in which evidence will be received. The hearing officer also shall inform 
the parties of any written documents or other tangible materials that have been received 
and explain the procedure for introducing the materials and offering them into evidence. 
The sequence of receiving testimony shall be in the hearing officer’s discretion. 
Computer records of the division concerning continued weeks claimed or payment for 
continued weeks claimed are admissible as evidence and may be filed in the record as 
evidence without formal identification if relevant to the issues raised by the appeal. The 
hearing officer also may consider any other relevant division file documents without a 



formal request or identification. However, parties shall be advised during the hearing of 
the division records and documents to be considered. All physical materials offered into 
the record shall be clearly identified and marked. Further, materials admitted shall be 
expressly received for the record. The hearing officer shall permit the parties to testify on
their own behalf and present witnesses, and opposing parties may cross-examine each 
other and the others’ witnesses. The hearing officer shall examine the parties and 
witnesses as necessary and, after notice to the parties, may hear such additional 
evidence as deemed necessary. All testimony shall be presented under oath and the 
hearing shall be timed. At the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing officer shall inform 
the parties of the time consumed by the hearing and the approximate cost of the 
preparation of the transcript of the hearing, if any, and shall instruct the parties that a 
decision will be promptly issued as to the issues brought forth at the hearing. The 
hearing officer shall also instruct the parties that such decision may be appealed and, if 
applicable, that the appellant must bear the cost of preparation of a transcript. The sum 
paid may, at a later date, be reimbursed by the panel without interest, if such appeal 
results in a decision favorable to the appellant. It shall also be stated to the parties that 
the cost of preparation of the transcript may be waived pursuant to rule 11.2.15. The 
hearing officer shall verify the accuracy of the addresses on file for the parties.

.4 New Issues. Parties are entitled to advance notice of the factual issues that may be 
considered at a hearing. The hearing officer shall not permit an interested party to 
present factual issues at a hearing that have not been disclosed to the other interested 
party(ies) in writing, as shown by the claim file. If good cause, as set forth in rule 12.1.8, 
is found for a party not providing proper notice of the factual issues it intends to present, 
the hearing officer may adjourn the hearing. If good cause is not found, the hearing shall 
proceed as scheduled, and those new factual issues raised shall not be considered. In 
determining whether there is good cause for permitting a new factual issue, the hearing 
officer shall give substantial weight to an absence of prejudice to the other interested 
party and to the overall interests of an accurate and fair resolution. An interested party 
may, at the hearing, waive the requirement that it be provided with proper notice.

11.2.13 Failure to Appear.

    
.1 Appealing Party. If the appealing party fails to participate in the hearing as directed, the 
appeal shall be dismissed and the decision that was the subject of the appeal shall become 
final. Written notice that the appeal has been dismissed shall be provided to the interested 
parties named in the caption. The appealing party may request that the appeal be reinstated 
and the hearing be rescheduled pursuant to the procedures set forth in part XII of the 
regulations. The request must be received by the division within twenty calendar days after the 
date the dismissal notice was mailed by the division. An untimely request that a hearing be 
rescheduled may be permitted by the division for good cause shown, pursuant to the procedure 
set forth in part XII of the regulations.



.2 Nonappealing Party. If any other interested party fails to participate as directed for a 
scheduled hearing, and a decision is issued by a hearing officer on the merits of the appeal, the 
party who failed to participate as directed may request that a new hearing be scheduled either 
by filing a written request with the panel or filing a written appeal from the hearing officer's 
decision. The written statement shall include details, pursuant to part XII of the regulations, to 
establish that he or she had good cause for the failure to participate in  the appeal hearing. The 
request for a new hearing shall be filed with the panel in person, by mail, by facsimile machine, 
by panel-approved electronic means, or at a public employment office, the central office of the 
division, the office where the hearing officer is located, or by division-approved electronic means
and shall be received by the panel within twenty calendar days after the date mailed on the 
hearing officer’s decision. An untimely request for a new hearing may be permitted by the panel 
for good cause shown, pursuant to the procedure set forth in part XII of the regulations. If it is 
determined that the party has shown good cause for the failure to participate, the hearing 
officer's decision that was issued on the merits of the appeal shall be vacated and a new 
hearing scheduled forthwith.

12.1.3 Procedure.
.1 Whenever an interested party files an untimely appeal from a deputy’s decision, a rebuttable 
presumption of good cause shall be established and a hearing shall be scheduled unless the 
appeal was received more than 180 days beyond the expiration of the timely filing period. The 
notice of hearing shall contain a statement indicating that the appeal was filed beyond the 
expiration of the timely filing period and that the nonappealing party may object to the hearing 
being granted at the time of the new hearing. If the nonappealing party fails at the time of the 
hearing to object to the hearing proceeding, that party waives the opportunity to object to the 
hearing going forward. If the nonappealing party objects at the time of the hearing to the matter 
being scheduled, the hearing officer shall determine whether good cause has been shown, 
pursuant to section 12.1.8, for permitting the untimely appeal. If the hearing officer determines 
that good cause has been shown for permitting the untimely appeal, the hearing shall proceed. 
If the hearing officer determines that good cause has not been shown for permitting the untimely
appeal, the appeal shall be dismissed.

.2 In the event an interested party files an untimely appeal from a deputy’s decision or makes a 
request for a new hearing and the appeal or hearing request is received more than 180 days 
beyond the expiration of the timely filing period, good cause may not be established, a hearing 
shall not be scheduled, the appeal shall be dismissed, and the deputy’s decision shall become 
final.

.3 Whenever an interested party files an untimely appeal from a hearing officer’s decision, or 
fails to participate as directed in a hearing held on an appeal from a deputy’s decision and has 
filed a request for a new hearing, the panel shall determine if good cause has been shown, 
pursuant to section 12.1.8, for permitting the untimely appeal or excusing the failure to 
participate in the hearing as directed. The panel shall make a determination of good cause only 
if the untimely appeal or request for new hearing contains a statement of the reasons for which 
the party failed to act in a timely manner or if information within the appeal file supports a 



determination of good cause. If the party’s untimely appeal or request for a new hearing does 
not establish good cause, the panel may request an explanation in writing, by postal mail, by 
approved electronic means, or by telephone. The party shall respond to any such request within
ten days.

.4 Whenever an appeal from a deputy’s decision has been dismissed because the appealing 
party failed to participate as directed in a scheduled hearing before a hearing officer and the 
appealing party requests that a new hearing be scheduled, a rebuttable presumption of good 
cause shall be established and a new hearing shall be scheduled. The notice of the new hearing
shall contain a statement indicating that the hearing is being rescheduled because the 
appealing party did not participate in the prior hearing AS DIRECTED and that the nonappealing
party may object at the beginning of the new hearing to the matter being rescheduled. If, at the 
time of the new hearing, the nonappealing party objects to the matter being rescheduled, the 
hearing officer shall determine whether good cause has been shown, pursuant to section 
12.1.8, to excuse the failure to participate in the hearing as directed. If, at the time of the 
hearing, the nonappealing party fails to object to the hearing proceeding, that party waives the 
opportunity to object to the hearing going forward. If the hearing officer determines that good 
cause has been shown to excuse the failure to participate in the hearing as directed, the hearing
on the deputy’s decision shall proceed. If the hearing officer determines that good cause has not
been shown to excuse the failure to participate in the hearing as directed, the appeal shall be 
dismissed.

.5 Notwithstanding these provisions, good cause may not be established for the failure of an 
appealing party to participate in a second hearing AS DIRECTED which was set because that 
party failed to participate as directed in the first hearing. In the event that the appealing party 
fails to participate as directed in the first setting of a hearing on a deputy’s decision and then 
subsequently fails to participate as directed iN the second setting of a hearing, the appeal shall 
be dismissed and the deputy’s decision shall become final. Under such circumstances, the 
division shall issue a notice to all interested parties that the appeal has been dismissed and that
no further rescheduled hearings shall be granted.
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ARTICLE 1 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

Section 1-1 Basis and Purpose 

These regulations are promulgated to establish rules for the use, manufacture, possession, sale, storage, 
transport, or disposal of explosives materials or blasting agents in the interest of the life, health, and 
safety of employees and the general public, as well as the protection of property. 
 
To this end, a procedure for the granting of explosives permits is contained herein whereby the 
opportunity to use, manufacture, possess, sell, store, transport, or dispose of explosives materials is 
restricted to such permittees and conditioned upon satisfactory continued compliance with these rules 
and regulations. Failure to comply with these rules and regulations subjects the permittee to suspension, 
denial, or revocation of the permit. 
 
Adoption of these rules and regulations is intended to greatly clarify the Division of Oil and Public Safety 
requirements pertaining to the use of explosive materials, to ease the burden on the permittee where 
interpretation has been necessary, and to better incorporate the numerous requirements from other 
governmental agencies. These rules and regulations provide for uniformity of compliance and elimination 
of numerous areas of confusion and duplication in an effort to better serve and protect the public. 

Section 1-2 Statutory Authority 

The amendments to these regulations are created pursuant to Section 9-7-105, C.R.S. (2004) of the 
Colorado Revised Statutes. All prior rules for explosive materials are hereby repealed.  

Section 1-3 Effective Date 

These amended regulations shall be effective on May 1, 2019. The previous versions of these regulations 
were effective on December 1, 2018, March 10, 2015, and January 1, 2009.  

Section 1-4 Scope 

These rules and regulations shall apply to the use, manufacture, purchase, possession, sale, storage, 
transportation, and disposal of explosive materials in the State of Colorado by any individual, corporation, 
company, firm, partnership, association, or state or local government agency. 
 
These rules and regulations shall not apply to: 
 
(A) The shipment, transportation, and handling of military explosives by the Armed Forces of the 

United States or the State Militia. 

(B) The normal and emergency operations of any government law enforcement agency including all 
departments, and divisions thereof, provided they are acting in their official capacity and in the 
proper performance of their duties and functions. 

(C) Explosives in the forms prescribed by the official United States Pharmacopoeia or the National 
Formulary and used in medicines and medicinal agents. 

(D) Explosive materials while in the course of transportation by for-hire commercial carriers via 
railroad, water, highway, or air when the explosive materials are moving under the jurisdiction of, 
and in conformity with, regulations adopted by any Federal Department or Agency. 

(E) The components for hand loading rifle, pistol, and shotgun ammunition and/or rifle, pistol, and 
shotgun ammunition. 
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(F) The manufacture, sale and use (public display) of pyrotechnics commonly known as fireworks, 
including signaling devices such as flares, fuses, and torpedoes. 

(G) Gasoline, fertilizers, installed propellant/powder-actuated safety devices or propellant/powder-
actuated power tools. 

(H) The use and storage of model rocket motors containing a propellant weight of 62.5 grams or less 
and which produce less than 17.92 pound seconds of total impulse. 

No permit shall be required for the occasional purchase of explosives by a person for normal agricultural 
purposes where such person is known by the seller of such explosives, and a record is kept of such 
transactions by the seller, including the specific purpose for which such explosives will be used, the 
location of the purposed use, the signature of the purchaser, and the certification of the seller as to his 
personal knowledge of the purchaser. Violation of this record requirement shall cause the seller’s permit 
to be canceled. A permit is required for any manufacturing, storage, dealing, or non-agricultural use of 
explosives as outlined in Article 3 of this regulation. 
 
No person, firm, partnership, or corporation whose possession of explosive materials is for the purpose of 
underground mining, surface or underground metal mining, or surface or underground coal mining and 
whose use and storage is subject to regulation by the provisions of 30 Code of Federal Regulations 
(CFR) - Parts 56, 57, 75 or 77 shall be subject to the provisions of the Explosives Act, Sections 9-7-101, 
et seq., Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.). 
 
No person, firm, partnership, or corporation whose possession, use, or storage of explosive materials is 
subject to regulation by the provisions of Colorado Mining Law, Sections 34-21-104 and 34-21-110, 
C.R.S. shall be subject to the provisions of the Explosives Act, Sections 9-7-101, et seq., C.R.S. 
 
A permit issued by the Division of Oil and Public Safety shall be required for the possession, use, or 
storage of explosives in mining operations whose use and storage is not subject to the provisions of 30 
CFR - Parts 56, 57, 75 or 77 or Colorado Mining Law, Sections 34-21-104 and 34-21-110, C.R.S. 
 
Except as noted in the foregoing, the Division of Oil and Public Safety may approve or disapprove the 
location for, and limit the quantity of, explosives or blasting agents which may be loaded, unloaded, 
reloaded, stored, or temporarily retained at any facility within the State of Colorado. 
 
The Division of Oil and Public Safety may issue an explosive permit for continued use for a period of time 
not to exceed 36 months. 

Section 1-5 Definitions 

The following publications and codes are hereby incorporated by this reference: 
 
 Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), U.S. Department of Justice, Publication 

ATF P 5400.7, ATF- Explosives Law and Regulations (2012) – Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms 
and Explosives (ATF), 99 New York Avenue, NE; Washington, DC  20226.  https://www.atf.gov 

 Title 49 CFR - Parts 100-177 (inclusive)   https://www.govinfo.gov  Parts 390-397 U.S. Department 
of Transportation (Revised September 27, 2012) – US DOT FMCSA, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE; 
Washington, DC  80590.  https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov 

 National Electric Code (NEC),  2017 Edition, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) – NFPA 
(NEC), 1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA  02169.  https://catalog.nfpa.org 

 Institute of Makers of Explosives (IME) Safety Library Publication No. 22 (February 2007) – IME, 
1212 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 650; Washington, DC  20005.  https://www.ime.org 
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 Institute Of Makers Of Explosives (IME) Safety Library Publication No. 20 (December 2011) - IME, 
1212 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 650; Washington, DC  20005.  https://www.ime.org 

 The Avalanche Artillery Users of North America Committee (AAUNAC) Training Standard (Revised 
May 16, 2012) – AAUNAC, PO Box 8095, 8920 South Collins Road; Alta, UT  84092 

These rules incorporate the editions and revisions specified. Subsequent editions and revisions have not 
been incorporated by this reference. The publications incorporated by this reference may be examined 
and a copy of them may be obtained upon request and payment of the cost of reproduction during regular 
business hours from the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, Division of Oil and Public 
Safety, 633 17th Street, Suite 500, Denver, CO 80202, and may also be inspected at the state depository 
libraries. 
 
The following words when used in these rules and regulations shall mean: 
 
AIR OVERPRESSURE, OVERPRESSURE: The airborne shock wave or acoustic transient generated by 

an explosive. 

AMERICAN TABLE OF DISTANCES: A quantity-distance table prepared and approved by the Institute of 
the Makers of Explosives, for storage of explosive materials to determine safe distances from 
inhabited buildings, public highways, passenger railways, and other stored explosive materials. 
See Section 4.6 of these regulations. 

AMMONIUM NITRATE: The ammonium salt of nitric acid represented by the formula NH4NO3. 

APPROVED STORAGE FACILITY (APPROVED MAGAZINE): A facility for the storage of explosives 
materials conforming to the requirements of these rules and regulations. 

ATTEND(ED): The physical presence of an authorized person within the field of vision of explosives or 
the use of explosives. 

AUTHORIZED, APPROVED, OR APPROVAL: Terms which mean approved, approval, or authorized by 
the Division. 

AUTHORIZED PERSON: A person approved or assigned by the management to perform a specific type 
of duty or duties or to be at a specific location or locations at the job site. 

ARMED CHARGE: An explosive cartridge that contains a detonator. 

ARTIFICIAL BARRICADE: An artificial mound, berm, or wall of earth of a minimum thickness of 3 feet, or 
any other approved barricade that offers equivalent protection. 

AVALAUNCHER: A compressed gas explosives delivery system designed for avalanche hazard 
mitigation. 

BARRICADED: The effective screening of a building or magazine containing explosive materials from 
another magazine or building, railway, or highway by a natural or artificial barrier. A straight line 
from the top of any sidewall of the building or magazine containing explosives materials to the 
eave line of any magazine or building or to a point 12 feet above the center of a railway or 
highway shall pass through the barrier. 

BINARY (TWO-COMPONENT) EXPLOSIVE: A blasting explosive formed by the mixing or combining of 
two  precursor chemicals, (e.g., ammonium nitrate and nitromethane). 

BLACK POWDER: A deflagrating or low explosive compound of an intimate mixture of sulfur, charcoal 
and an alkali nitrate (usually potassium or sodium nitrate). 
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BLAST AREA: Area of the blast within the influence of flying rock missiles, gases, vibration, and 
concussion. 

BLASTER: A Type I permitted individual who is permitted by the Division to possess and control the use 
of explosives. 

BLASTER IN CHARGE: A Type I permittee who is in charge of and responsible for the loading or 
preparing of the explosives charges, and either physically initiates the charge or is physically 
present when the charge is initiated at a specific job site. This individual is in charge of the 
planning of the blast at a specific job site, the supervision of all persons assisting on the blast and 
all persons in training, and is responsible for the inventory, inventory records, and blast records 
for the blast. 

BLASTING AGENT: An explosive material which meets prescribed criteria for insensitivity to initiation.  

For storage, Title 27, CFR, Section 55.11, defines a blasting agent as any material or mixture 
consisting of fuel and oxidizer intended for blasting, not otherwise defined as an explosive 
provided that the finished product, as mixed for use or shipment, cannot be detonated by means 
of a No. 8 Blasting Cap when unconfined (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives 
Regulation). 

For transportation, Title 49 CFR defines a blasting agent as a material designed for blasting 
which has been tested and found to be so insensitive that there is very little probability of 
accidental initiation to explosion or transition from deflagration to detonation (US Department of 
Transportation Regulation). 

BLASTING MAT: A mat of woven steel, wire, rope, scrap tires, or other suitable material or construction 
to cover blast holes for the purpose of preventing flying rock missiles. 

BLAST PATTERN, DRILL PATTERN: The plan of the drill holes laid out for blasting; an expression of the 
burden distance, the spacing distance and their relationship to each other. 

BLAST SITE: Area where explosive material is handled during blasting operations, including the 
perimeter of blast holes and a distance of 50 feet in all directions from explosive charges, loaded 
boreholes or boreholes to be loaded. 

BOOSTER: An explosive charge, usually of high detonation velocity and detonation pressure, designed 
to be used in the initiation sequence between an initiator or primer and the main charge. 

BOREHOLE, BLAST HOLE, DRILL HOLE: A hole drilled in the material to be blasted, for the purpose of 
containing an explosive charge. 

BULK MIX: A mass of explosive material prepared for use in bulk form without packaging. 

BULK MIX DELIVERY EQUIPMENT: Equipment (usually a motor vehicle with or without a mechanical 
delivery device) which transports explosive material in bulk form for mixing and/or loading directly 
into blast holes. 

BULLET-RESISTANT: Magazine walls or doors of construction resistant to penetration of a bullet of 150-
grain M2 ball ammunition having a nominal muzzle velocity of 2,700 feet per second fired from a 
.30 caliber rifle from a distance of 100 feet perpendicular to the wall or door. 

When a magazine ceiling or roof is required to be bullet-resistant, the ceiling or roof shall be 
constructed of materials comparable to the side walls or of other materials which will withstand 
penetration of the bullet described above when fired at an angle of 45 degrees from 
perpendicular. 
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Tests to determine bullet resistance shall be conducted on test panels or empty magazines which 
shall resist penetration of 5 out of 5 shots placed independently of each other in an area of at 
least 3 feet by 3 feet. Examples of construction that meet this definition are given in Article 4 as 
alternate construction standards for Type 1 and Type 2 magazines. 

BULLET-SENSITIVE EXPLOSIVE MATERIAL: Explosive material that can be detonated by 150 grain 
M2 ball ammunition having a nominal muzzle velocity of 2,700 feet per second when the bullet is 
fired from a .30 caliber rifle at a distance of not more than 100 feet and the test material, at a 
temperature of 70-75 degrees Fahrenheit, is placed against a backing material of 2 inch steel 
plate. 

BURDEN: The distance from the borehole and the nearest free face, or the distance between boreholes 
measured perpendicular to the spacing. Also, the total amount to be blasted by a given hole, 
which is usually measured in cubic yards or tons. 

BUS WIRE: Expendable heavy gauge bare copper wire used to connect detonators or series of 
detonators in parallel. 

CHARGE-PER-DELAY: Any charges firing within any 8-millisecond time period are considered to have a 
cumulative effect on vibration and air over-pressure effects.  Therefore, the maximum charge-per-
delay (w) is the maximum weight of all charges firing within any 8-millisecond (ms) time period 
from the time a blast starts until the time it ends. For example, if two 10-lb charges fire at 100 ms 
and one 15-lb charge fires at 105 ms, the maximum charge-per-delay (w) for this time period 
would be 35 lbs. 

COLLAR: The mouth or opening of a borehole. 

CONNECTING WIRE: Wire used to extend the firing line or leg wires in the electric blasting circuit. 

CONTROL: To directly exercise authority or dominating influence over the use, manufacture, acquisition, 
purchase, sale, distribution, storage, transportation, or disposal of explosive materials. 

CORNICE: An overhanging mass of windblown snow or ice, usually located near a sharp terrain break. 

DATE-SHIFT CODE: A code, required by federal regulation (ATF), applied by manufacturers to the 
outside shipping containers, and, in many instances, to the immediate containers of explosive 
materials to aid in their identification and tracing. The code indicates the date, work shift and plant 
of manufacture. 

DAY BOX: A portable magazine for the temporary and attended storage of explosives. Day boxes shall 
meet construction requirements of a Type 3 magazine. 

DEALER: Any person engaged in the business of distributing explosive material at wholesale or retail. 

DECK: An explosive charge that is separated from other charges in the blast hole by stemming or an air 
cushion. 

DEFLAGRATION: An explosive reaction, such as rapid combustion, that moves through an explosive 
material at a velocity less than the speed of sound in the material. 

DENSITY: The mass of an explosive per unit volume, usually expressed in grams per cubic centimeter or 
pounds per cubic foot.   

DETONATING CORD: A flexible cord containing a center core of high explosives, which may be used to 
initiate other high explosives. 
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DETONATION: An explosive reaction that moves through an explosive material at a velocity greater than 
the speed of sound in the material.  

DETONATOR: Any device containing any initiating or primary explosive that is used for initiating 
detonation. A detonator may not contain more than 10 grams of total explosives by weight, 
excluding ignition or delay charges. The term includes, but is not limited to, electric blasting caps 
of instantaneous and delay types, electronic detonators, blasting caps for use with safety fuses, 
detonating cord delay connectors, and non-electric instantaneous and delay blasting caps which 
use detonating cord, shock tube, or any other replacement for electric leg wires. 

DIVISION: The Director of the Division of Oil and Public Safety of the Department of Labor and 
Employment or any designees thereof which may include certain employees of the Division of 
Oil and Public Safety or other persons. 

DOWN LINE: A line of detonating cord or plastic tubing in a blast hole which transmits detonation from 
the trunkline or surface delay system down the hole to the primer. 

ELECTRIC DETONATOR: A detonator designed for and capable of initiation by means of an electric 
current. 

ELECTRONIC DETONATORS: A detonator that utilizes stored electrical energy as a means of powering 
an electronic timing delay element/module and that provides initiation energy for firing the base 
charge. 

EMULSION: An explosive material containing substantial amounts of oxidizers dissolved in water droplets 
surrounded by an immiscible fuel, or droplets of an immiscible fuel surrounded by water 
containing substantial amounts of oxidizer. 

EXPLOSIVE: Any chemical compound, mixture or device, the primary or common purpose of which is to 
function by explosion; the term includes, but is not limited to, dynamite and other high explosives, 
black powder, pellet powder, initiating explosives, detonators, safety fuses, squibs, detonating 
cord, igniter cord and igniters. 

EXPLOSIVE MATERIALS: These include explosives, blasting agents, and detonators. The term includes 
but is not limited to dynamite and other high explosives; slurries, emulsions, and water gels, black 
powder, initiating explosives, propellant rockbreaking cartridges (such as Rockrackers™), 
detonators (blasting caps), safety fuses, squibs, detonating cord, igniter cord, and igniters. 
Binary explosives (such as Kinepak™ or Execon™), sold in two or more components, are 
considered an explosive material requiring a Division explosives permit. 

EXPLOSIVE OILS: Liquid explosive sensitizers for explosive materials (.e.g., nitroglycerin, ethylene 
glycol dinitrate and metriol trinitrate). 

EXTRANEOUS ELECTRICITY: Electrical energy, other than actual firing current or the test current from a 
blasting galvanometer, that is present at a blast site and that could enter a blasting circuit. It 
includes stray current, static electricity, electromagnetic waves, and time varying electric and 
magnetic fields. 

FIRE EXTINGUISHER RATING: A rating set forth in the National Fire Code which may be identified on 
an extinguisher by a number (5, 20, 70, etc.) indicating the extinguisher’s relative effectiveness, 
followed by a letter (A, B, C, etc.) indicating the class or classes of fires for which the extinguisher 
has been found to be effective. 

FIRE-RESISTANT: Construction designed to provide reasonable protection against fire. For exterior walls 
or magazine constructed of wood, this shall mean fire resistance equivalency provided by sheet 
metal of not less than #26 gauge. 



11 

FIRING LINE: The wire(s) connecting the electrical power source with the electric or electronic blasting 
circuit. 

FLYROCK: Dirt, mud, stone, fragmented rock or other material that is propelled from the blast site by the 
force of an explosion. 

FREE FACE: A rock surface exposed to air or water which provides room for expansion upon 
fragmentation. 

FUSE (SAFETY): A flexible cord containing an internal burning medium by which fire or flame is 
conveyed at a continuous and uniform rate from the point of ignition to a cut end. A fuse 
detonator is usually attached to that end, although safety fuse may be used without a detonator to 
ignite material such as deflagrating explosives. 

FUSE DETONATOR, BLASTING CAP: A detonator which is initiated by a safety fuse or used in an 
avalauncher round; also referred to as an ordinary blasting cap. Also see detonator. 

FUSE LIGHTERS: Pyrotechnic devices for the rapid and certain lighting of safety fuse. 

FUEL: A substance which may react with oxygen to produce combustion. 

GRAINS: In the avoirdupois system of weight measurement, 7,000 7000 grains are equivalent to one 
standard, 16-ounce pound (0.45 kg). A grain is 0.0648 grams in both the avoirdupois and troy 
systems. 

GROUND VIBRATION: Shaking the ground by elastic waves emanating from a blast; usually measured 
in inches per second of particle velocity.  

HARDWOOD: Red Oak, White Oak, Hard Maple, Ash, or Hickory, free from loose knots, wind shakes, or 
similar defects. 

HIGH EXPLOSIVES: Explosives which are characterized by a very high rate of reaction, high pressure 
development and the presence of a detonation wave, including, but not limited to, dynamite, 
detonating cord, cast boosters, detonators, cap-sensitive slurry, emulsion, or water gels, and 
mixed binaries. 

HOWITZER: A military cannon that delivers projectiles at medium muzzle velocity at low or high 
trajectories. 

INHABITED AREA OR BUILDING: A building regularly occupied in whole or in part as a habitation for 
human beings, or any church, schoolhouse, railroad station, store, or other structure where 
people are accustomed to assemble, except any building or structure occupied in connection with 
the manufacture, transportation, storage, and use of explosive materials. 

INSPECTOR: An Inspector of the Division.  

INITIATION: The start of deflagration or detonation in an explosive material. 

INITIATION SYSTEM: Combination of explosive devices and accessories (detonators, wire, cord, etc.) 
designed to convey a signal and initiate an explosive charge. 

LAWFUL POSSESSOR: A Type II permittee who has legally purchased or acquired explosive materials. 

LOADING DENSITY: The weight of explosive, expressed as pounds per foot or kilograms per meter of 
borehole. 
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LOW EXPLOSIVES: Explosives which are characterized by deflagration or a low rate of reaction and the 
development of low pressure. 

MAGAZINE: Any building, structure, or container, other than an explosives manufacturing building, 
approved for the storage of explosive materials. 

MAGAZINE DISTANCE: Shall mean the minimum distance permitted between any two storage 
magazines which is expected to prevent propagation of an explosion from one magazine to 
another from a blast. 

MAKE-UP ROOM: A room located inside an uninhabited building which shall be used for the assembly of 
cap and fuse or for the arming of explosive charges used in avalanche mitigation work. 

MANUFACTURER: Any individual, corporation, company, firm, partnership, association, or state or local 
government agency engaged in the business of manufacturing explosive materials for the 
purpose of sale, distribution or for his own use. 

MASS DETONATION: When a unit or any part or quantity of explosive material detonates and causes all 
or a substantial part of the remaining material to detonate. 

MISFIRE: A blast that fails to detonate completely after an attempt at initiation. This term is also used to 
describe the explosive material itself that has failed to detonate as planned. 

MOTOR VEHICLE: A vehicle, machine, tractor, semi-trailer or other conveyance propelled or drawn by 
mechanical power. Does not include vehicles operated exclusively on rail. 

NATURAL BARRICADE: Natural features of the ground, such as hills, or timber of sufficient density that 
the surrounding exposures which require protection cannot be seen from the magazine when the 
trees are bare of leaves. 

NON-ELECTRIC DETONATOR: A detonator that does not require the use of electric energy to function. 

OXIDIZER OR OXIDIZING MATERIAL: A substance, such as nitrite, that readily yields oxygen or other 
oxidizing substances to promote the combustion of organic matter or other fuel. 

PERMANENT STORAGE MAGAZINE: Type 1 magazines or Type 2, Type 4, or Type 5 magazines that 
have been at the same location for longer than 90 days. 

PARTICLE BOARD: A composition board made of small pieces of wood that have been bonded 
together. 

PARTICLE VELOCITY: A measure of the intensity of ground vibration, specifically the velocity of motion 
of the ground particles as they are excited by the wave energy.  

PERMITTEE: Any user, purchaser, manufacturer, dealer, storer, disposer, or transporter of explosives for 
a lawful purpose, who has obtained a permit from the Division. 

PERSON: Any individual, corporation, company, firm, partnership, association, or state or local 
government agency. 

PETN: Pentaerythritol tetranitrate. 

PLACARDS: Division of Transportation Approved Title 49 CFR signs placed on vehicles transporting 
hazardous materials (including explosive materials) indicating the nature of the cargo. 
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PLYWOOD: Exterior construction-grade plywood. 

 

POSSESS: The physical possession of explosives on one’s person, or in the person’s vehicle, magazine 
or building. 

POWDER: A common synonym for explosive materials.  

POWDER FACTOR: The amount of explosives used per unit of blasted material (see Loading Density). 

PRIMER: A unit, package, or cartridge of explosives used to initiate other explosives or blasting agents, 
which contains either a detonator or a detonating cord to which a detonator designed to initiate 
the detonating cord is attached. 

PROPELLANT/POWDER-ACTUATED POWER DEVICE: Any tool or special mechanized device or gas 
generator system which is actuated by a propellant or which releases and directs work through a 
propellant charge. 

PUBLIC CONVEYANCE: Any railroad car, streetcar, ferry, cab, bus, aircraft, or other vehicle carrying 
passengers for hire. 

PUBLIC HIGHWAY: Shall mean any public street, alley, or road. 

PUBLIC HIGHWAY DISTANCE: Shall mean the minimum distance permitted between a public highway 
and an explosives magazine. 

PUBLIC PLACE: A place which the public or a substantial number of the public has access, and includes 
but is not limited to, highways, transportation facilities, schools, places of amusement, parks, 
playgrounds, and the common areas of public and private buildings and facilities. 

PURCHASER: A Type II permittee who acquires explosives. 

PYROTECHNICS, FIREWORKS: Any combustible or explosive compositions or manufactured articles 
designed and prepared for the purpose of producing audible or visible effects.  

RAILWAY: Any steam, electric, or other type of railroad or railway. 

RESPONSIBLE PERSON: A Type I permitted individual who is directly responsible for a Type II 
permittee’s compliance with the provisions of the Explosives Act, 9-7, C.R.S., and any rules and 
regulations promulgated thereunder. 

SAFETY FUSE: A flexible cord containing an internal burning medium by which fire or flame is conveyed 
at a continuous and uniform rate from the point of ignition to a cut end. A fuse detonator is usually 
attached to that end, although safety fuse may be used without a detonator to ignite material such 
as deflagrating explosives. 

SCALED DISTANCE (DS): A factor relating similar blast effects from various weight charges of explosive 
material at various distances. Scaled Distances referring to blasting effects are obtained by 
dividing the distance of concern by a fractional power of the charge weight per delay of the 
explosive materials. 

SECURED STORAGE: An area which is protected from weather and is theft-resistant and in compliance 
with the uniform fire code. 

SEISMOGRAPH: An instrument that is useful in monitoring blasting operations for recording records 
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ground vibration. Particle velocity, displacement or acceleration is generally measured and 
recorded in three mutually-perpendicular directions.  

SEMI-CONDUCTIVE HOSE: A hose used for pneumatic conveying of explosive materials, having an 
electrical resistance high enough to limit flow of stray electric currents to safe levels yet not so 
high as to prevent drainage of static electric charges to ground. A hose of not more than 2 
megohms resistance over its entire length and of not less than 1,000 ohms per foot (3280 ohms 
per meter) meets this requirement. 

SENSITIVITY: A physical characteristic of an explosive material classifying its ability to be initiated upon 
receiving an external impulse, such as heat impact, shock, friction, static electricity, stray current 
or other influence which can cause explosive decomposition. 

SHALL: Means that the rule establishes a minimum standard which is mandatory. 

SHOCK TUBE: A small diameter plastic tube containing reactive material used for initiating detonators. It 
contains only a limited amount of reactive material such that the energy that is transmitted 
through the tube by means of a detonation wave is guided through and confined within the walls 
of the tube. 

SITE: Area where active blasting is taking place or the location of explosives storage magazines. 

SLURRY/WATER GEL: An explosive material containing substantial portions of a liquid, oxidizers, and 
fuel, plus a thickener. 

SMALL ARMS AMMUNITION: Any cartridge for a shotgun, rifle, pistol, or revolver, and cartridges for 
propellant-actuated power device and industrial guns. Military-type ammunition containing 
explosive bursting charges, or any incendiary, tracer, spotting, or pyrotechnic projectile is 
excluded from this definition. 

SOFTWOOD: Douglas Fir, or other wood of equal bullet-resistance, free of loose knots, wind shakes, or 
similar defects. 

SPACING: The distance between boreholes. In bench blasting, the distance is measured parallel to the 
free face and perpendicular to the burden. 

STATIC ELECTRICITY: Electric charge at rest on a person or object. It is most often produced by the 
contact and separation of dissimilar insulating materials. 

STEMMING: Inert material placed in a borehole on top of or between separate charges of explosive 
material, used for the purpose of confining explosive materials or to separate charges of 
explosive material in the same borehole. 

STEEL: General purpose (hot or cold rolled) low carbon steel, such as specification ASTM A366 or 
equivalent. 

STORAGE: The safekeeping of explosives in unattended magazines. 

TEMPORARY STORAGE MAGAZINE: A Type 1, Type 2, Type 4, or Type 5 magazine that is at a 
location for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

THEFT-RESISTANT: Construction designed to deter illegal entry into facilities used for the storage of 
explosive material. 

TWO-COMPONENT: See binary explosive. 
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TRANSPORTATION: The conveyance or carrying of explosives from one place to another by means of a 
motorized vehicle or device. 

TYPE I EXPLOSIVES PERMIT: A permit issued by the Division to individuals who possess and control 
explosive materials during the use, manufacture, acquisition, purchase, sale, distribution, storage, 
transportation, or disposal of explosives materials. 

TYPE II EXPLOSIVES PERMIT: A permit issued by the Division to corporations, companies, 
partnerships, firms, individuals operating a business, associations, or state or local government 
agencies involved in the use, purchase, sale, manufacture, transportation, acquisition, distribution 
or disposal of explosives materials. 

TYPE III EXPLOSIVES PERMIT: A permit issued by the Division to corporations, companies, 
partnerships, firms, individuals operating a business, associations, or state or local government 
agencies for the storage of explosives in approved magazines. 

WEATHER-RESISTANT: Construction designed to offer reasonable protection against weather. 

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION EXPLOSIVE CLASSIFICATIONS FOR THE 
TRANSPORTATION OF EXPLOSIVES: 
 
Division 1.1: Explosives that have a mass explosion hazard  
 
Division 1.2: Explosives that have a projection hazard but not a mass explosion hazard  
 
Division 1.3: Explosives that have a fire hazard and either a minor blast hazard or minor 

projection hazard or both, but not a mass explosion hazard  
 
Division 1.4: Explosives that present minor explosion hazard 
 
Division 1.5: Very insensitive explosives that have a mass explosion hazard, but are so 

insensitive that there is little probability of initiation or of transition from burning to 
detonation under normal conditions of transport (Blasting Agents)  
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ARTICLE 2 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

Section 2-1 Miscellaneous Requirements 

(A) No person shall sell, display, or expose for sale an explosive or blasting agent on any public way 
or public place. 

(B) No person shall sell, deliver, or give possession and control of explosives materials to any person 
not in possession of a valid permit except an authorized for-hire commercial carrier transporting 
between two valid permittees. 

(C) No person shall sell, purchase, store, transport, use or otherwise possess or control any 
explosive material without the authorization of the lawful possessor of the explosive material. The 
lawful possessor shall file a written list of authorized Type I permittees with the Division and shall 
notify the Division of any changes in writing. 

(D) Any theft or loss of explosives or blasting agents, whether from a storage magazine or area, a 
vehicle in which they are being transported, or from a site where they are being used, or from any 
other location, shall immediately (but in no event later than 24 hours) be reported by the person 
having control of such explosives or blasting agents to the local sheriff or local police, the Bureau 
of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF), and the Division. 

(E) All individuals, corporations, companies, firms, partnerships, associations, or state or local 
government agencies conducting an operation or activity requiring the use, possession, 
purchase, sale, manufacturing, storage, acquisition, distribution, transportation or disposal of any 
explosive materials shall:  

(1) Obtain a permit from the Division prior to conducting such operation or activity and shall be 
responsible for the results and any other consequences of any loading and firing of the 
explosive materials; and  

(2) NOT delegate either performance of the blast or accountability for such performance to 
another person(s). 

(F) The Division, Public Safety Section and local law enforcement authority shall be notified 
immediately by the permittee of any accident, explosion, fire, or misuse of explosives which 
occurs in connection with the use, manufacture, possession, sale, transportation, storage or 
disposal of explosives that results in the loss of life, personal injury, or damage to any property. 

(G) The Division may inspect the site where any accident, explosion, fire, misuse, theft or loss of 
explosives occurred. 

(H) A Division representative may enter during normal business hours, without advance notice, the 
premises of any permittee, including places of storage or use, for the purpose of inspecting or 
examining any records or documents required under these regulations and any explosives 
material used or stored at the premises. 

(I) All corporations, companies, partnerships, firms, individuals operating a business, associations, 
or state or local government agencies conducting blasting operations shall have a certificate of 
liability insurance, be named as an also insured on another liability insurance policy, or shall have 
obtained a signed release of liability for damages from blasting operations from all parties who 
may be potentially affected by blasting operations. The U.S. Forest Service (USFS) should be  
notified prior to all blasting activities that occur on USFS land. 
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ARTICLE 3 EXPLOSIVES PERMIT 

Section 3-1 Basic Legal Obligations 

(A) Except as specifically allowed by these regulations, it is unlawful for any person to use, possess 
and control, manufacture, purchase, sell, store, transport, or dispose of any explosive material 
without possessing a valid permit from the Division (18-12-109 (2) and 9-7-101, et seq., C.R.S.). 

Section 3-2 General Requirements 

(A) Permits issued under these rules and regulations shall be dated and numbered. Each permit will 
indicate class of permit, and shall be valid for up to 36 months after the date of issue unless 
revoked or suspended by the Division, and shall be renewed on or before the expiration date. The 
application for renewal of permits shall be made to the Division prior to the renewal date to avoid 
possible lapse of said permit. The Division shall send a notice a minimum of 60 days prior to the 
expiration date. The failure of the permittee to receive timely notice from the Division shall not 
excuse the permittee’s requirement to submit a renewal application not less than 30 days prior to 
the expiration date. 

(B) Upon notice from the Division or any law enforcement agency having jurisdiction, a person using, 
manufacturing, purchasing, selling, storing, transporting, disposing, or otherwise in possession 
and control of any explosives without a permit shall immediately surrender any and all such 
explosives to the Division or to the law enforcement agency designated by the Division. 

(C) The Division shall require, as a condition precedent to the original issuance of any explosives 
permit, fingerprinting and criminal history record checks for every individual applicant.  
Fingerprints shall be submitted on forms provided to the applicant by the Division. If a Type I 
permit holder submits a complete application for renewal, fingerprint cards are not required 
unless requested by the Division.  As a condition precedent to renewal of any explosives permit 
for an individual, a criminal background check is required. 

(D) No person shall withhold information or make any false statement or fictitious oral or written 
statement or furnish or exhibit any false, fictitious, or misrepresented identification, intended or 
likely to deceive for the purpose of obtaining or retaining an explosives permit. 

(E) No person shall knowingly make any false entry in any record that a permittee is required to keep 
pursuant to these regulations. 

(F) When a permit has expired and has not been renewed, the applicable County Sheriff’s 
Department shall be notified by the Division, and the Type II permittee must turn over any 
remaining explosives which the permittee is in possession of directly to the Division or the law 
enforcement agency designated by the Division, or in the presence of the Division or the law 
enforcement agency designated by the Division, surrender control of all remaining explosives 
which the permittee is in possession of to a valid Type II permittee.  

(G) All permittees shall take every reasonable precaution to protect their permits from loss, theft, 
defacement, destruction, or unauthorized duplication. The loss or theft of any permit shall be 
reported immediately to the local law enforcement agency and to the Division. 

Section 3-3 Revocation, Suspension, or Denial of Explosives Permits 

(A) The Division shall not issue a permit to any person who: 

(1) Is under 21 years of age; 
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(2) Has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 
1 year; 

(3) Is currently charged with, or has a charge pending for a crime punishable by imprisonment 
for a term exceeding 1 year; 

(4) Is a fugitive from justice; 

(5) Has been convicted of a crime involving the illegal distribution of marijuana, any depressant 
or stimulant drug, or narcotic drug, perjury, fraud, false swearing, or bomb threats; 

(6) Has been adjudicated developmentally disabled, mentally unstable, mentally ill or insane, or 
to be incompetent due to any mental disability or disease; 

(7) Has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions; 

(8) Is an alien, other than an alien who is lawfully admitted for permanent residence or an alien 
who has obtained either a letter of clearance or letter of restoration of explosives privileges 
from the ATF; or 

(9) Having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced citizenship. 

(B) The Division shall deny or revoke and not renew the permit of any person who is currently 
charged with, has a charge pending or has been convicted of any of the following offenses: 

(1) A crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year; 

(2) A crime involving the illegal distribution of marijuana, any depressant or stimulant drug, or 
narcotic drug, bomb threats, perjury, fraud, or false swearing, including making a false 
affidavit or statement under oath to the Division in an application or report; or 

(3) A crime relating to use, manufacturing, sale, transportation, possession, or disposal of 
explosives. 

(C) The Division may revoke and not renew the permit of any person when the violation of any law or 
regulation relating to explosive material or the misuse of explosive materials results in loss of life 
or serious injury to any person. 

(D) A permit may be denied, suspended, or revoked by the Division because of, but not limited to the 
following: 

(1) Unlawful use of, or addiction to, alcohol, narcotics or illegal drugs; 

(2) Failure to exercise reasonable safeguards resulting in hazard to life, health, or property; 

(3) Failure to show legitimate use for a permit; 

(4) Failure to show sufficient proof of training or prior experience with explosives; 

(5) Non-compliance with an order issued by the Division within the time specified in such order; 

(6) Proof that the permittee or applicant advocates, or knowingly belongs to any organization or 
group that advocates the violent overthrow of, or violent action against any federal, state, or 
local government or institution; 

(7) Failure to comply with the Colorado Explosives Act, these regulations and Bureau of Alcohol, 
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Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), U.S. Department of Justice, Publication ATF P 
5400.7, ATF- Explosives Law and Regulations (2012); 

(8) Giving false information or a misrepresentation being willfully made to the Division and its 
investigators or inspectors to obtain or maintain a permit; 

(9) Making a false affidavit or statement under oath to the Division in an application or report; or 

(10) Other factors which, at the discretion of the Division, indicate an unfitness to hold an 
explosive permit in compliance with state and federal law and these regulations. 

(E) The Division shall revoke the permit of any person adjudicated to be mentally unstable, mentally 
ill or insane, or to be incompetent due to any mental disability or disease. The Division shall not 
renew the permit until the person has been legally restored to competency. 

Section 3-4 Procedure on Revocation, Suspension, or Denial of Explosives Permit 

(A) In any case where the Division denies a permit or the permittee is subject to suspension or 
revocation for a violation of Section 3-3 of these regulations, the Division shall notify the applicant 
or permittee in writing by first-class mail of the grounds for denial for the violation.  The notice 
shall state that the applicant or permittee may request a hearing in accordance with Sections 24-
4-104 and 24-4-105 C.R.S.  

(B) Upon notice of the revocation or suspension of any permit, the former permittee shall immediately 
surrender to the Division the permit and all copies thereof. In addition, the former permittee must 
surrender control of all explosive material in his/her possession to the Division or the law 
enforcement agency designated by the Division, or in the presence of the Division or the law 
enforcement agency designated by the Division surrender control of all explosive material in 
his/her possession to a valid Type II permittee until a final determination on the charges is made. 

(C) The period of denial, suspension, or revocation shall be within the sound discretion of the 
Division. 

(D) The Division may summarily suspend a permit if the Division has objective and reasonable 
grounds to believe that the public health, safety, or welfare requires emergency action.  In such 
case, the Division shall notify the permittee in writing by first-class mail of the grounds for 
summary suspension and shall state that the permittee may request a hearing in accordance with 
24-4-105 C.R.S.  

(E) Any person aggrieved by a decision after a hearing may seek judicial review pursuant to the 
provisions of 24-4-106 C.R.S. 

(F) Any person who has been denied a permit may not reapply to the Division for an explosives 
permit within one year of the decision, unless exception is made by the Division and the applicant 
establishes a substantial change in circumstances to indicate fitness to hold an explosive permit 
in accordance with the requirements of these regulations, State and Federal law. 

(G) In case of revocation or suspension of a permit, the Division shall notify all vendors of explosives 
of such revocation or suspension . 

Section 3-5 Permit Types and Classifications 

Permits are separated according to type. A permit may have more than one designated classification; 
however, for each and every classification requested, the applicant must show legitimate use and 
qualifications. 
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3-5-1 Type I Explosives Permit 

(A) All individuals who possess and control explosive materials shall have a valid Type I Explosives 
Permit issued by the Division. 

(B) The requirements of permitting a Type I permittee shall be: 

(1) An individual who possesses and controls explosive materials during the use, transportation, 
storage, distribution, manufacturing, sale, acquisition, or purchase of explosive materials. 

(2) An individual who makes any or all of the following decisions: 

(i) Decides total quantity of explosives used; 

(ii) Decides borehole size, spacing, or depth; 

(iii) Decides quantity of explosives in each borehole or charge; 

(iv) Decides initiation system to be used; 

(v) Decides timing delays to be used. 

(3) An individual who directly supervises all personnel assisting in the use of explosives and 
supervises all personnel in training. 

(4) An individual who shall also be physically present during the use of explosives, at the point 
of initiation when a charge is detonated and either initiates the detonation or gives the order 
to initiate the detonation of the charge. 

(C) The classification of permits the applicant may apply for shall be: 

(1) Construction 

(i) Applicant must also apply for a Type I transporter permit, or provide to the Division a 
written plan documenting the manner in which explosives shall be legally transported 
to and from construction sites. 

(2) Construction Limited 

(i) Applicant may use or possess class 1.4 or 1.5 explosives or binary products only. 

(3) Possession 

(i) An individual who possesses explosive materials during the storage, distribution, 
component assembly, manufacturing, sale, acquisition or purchase of explosive 
materials. This endorsement does not allow an individual to exercise responsibilities as 
described in 3-5-1 (B) (2) through (4). 

(ii) The requirement listed in 3-5-1(D)(3) does not apply to this classification. 

(4) Quarry Operations 

(5) Avalanche  Mitigation 

(6) Geophysical Research 
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(7) Transporter 

(i) Applicant must submit a copy of his/her Commercial Driver’s License with the Hazardous 
Material Endorsement included on it. 

(ii) Required for the transportation of explosive materials and blasting agents in quantities 
required to be placarded across or over roads within the state. 

(8) Well Perforation 

(9) Manufacturer 

(10) Special (special use or possession and control as described on the permit, including but not 
limited to fabrication, research and development, rock-breaker cartridges, demolition, law 
enforcement, unexploded ordnance disposal, purchasing agent, sales agent,.) 

(D) Type I permittee qualifications 

(1) The Type I permittee shall be able to understand and give written and oral orders. 

(2) The Type I permittee shall be qualified by reason of training, knowledge, and experience in 
the field of using, transporting, possessing, storing and handling of explosives, and have a 
working knowledge of state, federal and local laws and regulations which pertain to 
explosives. 

(3) The Type I permit applicant shall be required to submit proof of not less than one year of 
explosives experience or on the job training in explosives specific to at least one 
classification of permit. Avalanche mitigation applicants must meet training requirements as 
defined in Section 7-2. 

(4) The Type I permit applicant shall be required to submit proof of not less than six months of 
explosive experience or on-the-job training in explosives specific to each additional 
classification of permit applied for. 

(5) The Type I permittee shall be knowledgeable and competent in the use of each type of 
blasting method and initiation system used. 

(6) A Type I permit applicant for a transportation classification permit only shall have a valid 
commercial driver’s license with a hazardous materials endorsement and experience in the 
transportation of explosive materials for a period of not less than ninety days. 

(E) Type I permit limitations 

(1) A Type I permit shall be limited to possession and control of explosives while authorized by 
the Type II permittee(s) for whom the Type I permittee is employed or otherwise associated. 

(2) The Type I permit shall be placed on inactive status by the Division upon notification in 
accordance with Section 3-9(D) that the Type I permittee is no longer authorized to possess 
and control explosives for a Type II permittee. 

(3) Upon receipt of written notification by a Type II permittee of authorization and the return of 
the original Type I permit card, the Division shall return the Type I permit to active status and 
issue an updated permit card reflecting the change in employment or association.  

(4) An active status Type I permit card shall be carried by the Type I permittee at all times when 
using, transporting, or possessing explosives. 
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3-5-2 Type II Explosives Permit 

(A) Corporations, companies, partnerships, firms, individuals operating a business, associations, or 
state or local government agencies involved in the use, purchase, sale, manufacture, 
transportation, or disposal of explosives shall have a valid Type II Explosives Permit. 

(B) Only one Type II permit shall be required of any corporation, company, partnership, firm, 
individual operating a business, association, or state or local government agency, and may be 
issued for all or any of the following classifications: 

(1) CLASSIFICATION AS A MANUFACTURER OF EXPLOSIVES authorizes the possession, 
manufacture, and purchase of materials required in the process of manufacturing the 
finished product. A corporation, company, partnership, firm, individual operating a business, 
association, or state or local government agency that combines compounds to manufacture 
an explosive is engaged in the business of manufacturing explosives and shall be 
responsible for compliance with the provisions of 9-6-105 C.R.S., the Explosives Act, 9-7-
101, et seq. C.R.S., and any rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. 

(2) CLASSIFICATION AS A DEALER OF EXPLOSIVES authorizes the purchase, possession, 
and resale of explosives or blasting agents. A dealer permit is required of jobbers, 
wholesalers, distributors, dealers, and retailers, whether or not they physically handle, store, 
or have possession of the explosives or blasting agents. This permit is also required for all 
nonresidents who desire to sell explosives within the State of Colorado. 

(3) CLASSIFICATION AS A PURCHASER OF EXPLOSIVES authorizes the purchase or 
acquisition and possession of explosives and blasting agents. 

(4) CLASSIFICATION AS A PURCHASER LIMITED authorizes the purchase or acquisition and 
possession of 1.4 and 1.5 classes of explosives and binary products. 

(5) CLASSIFICATION AS A USER OF EXPLOSIVES authorizes the possession and use of 
explosives and blasting agents by a corporation, company, partnership, firm, individual 
operating a business, association, or state or local government agency conducting an 
operation or activity which requires the use of such materials. User permits shall be issued 
for the following types of operations: 

(i) Construction 

(a) Applicant must also apply for a Type II transportation permit, or provide to the 
Division a written plan documenting the manner in which explosives shall be 
legally transported to and from construction sites. 

(ii) Construction Limited 

(a) Applicant’s use and possession of explosives is limited to 1.4 and 1.5 classes of 
explosives and binary products. 

(iii) Quarry Operations 

(iv) Avalanche Mitigation 

(v) Geophysical Research 

(vi) Well Perforation 

(vii) Manufacturer 
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(viii) Special (special use or possession and control as described on the permit, including 
but not limited to fabrication, research and development, rock-breaker cartridges, 
demolition, law enforcement, unexploded ordnance disposal, purchasing agent, , 
sales agent, etc.) 

(6) A TRANSPORTATION permit authorizes the transportation of explosive materials and 
blasting agents in quantities that are required to be placarded across or over roads within the 
state when such transportation is in compliance with federal, state and local transportation 
laws and regulations. 

(i) A copy of a Hazardous Materials Transport Permit issued by the Public Utilities 
Commission (PUC) shall be submitted with the application. 

3-5-3 Type III Storage Permit 

(A) Corporations, companies, partnerships, firms, individuals operating a business, associations, or 
state or local government agencies that store explosives shall have a valid Type III permit. 

(B) Storage permits shall be issued to those persons who have approved storage magazine sites. 

(C) Approval by the Division of a permanent storage magazine site shall include a site inspection by a 
Division representative. Written notification of the location of the permanent storage magazine 
site shall be made to the applicable fire district or department. 

(D) Approval by the Division of temporary magazine sites shall be made for a period not to exceed 90 
days upon written notification to the Division as to the location of the magazine site, the type(s) 
and supplier of the magazines being utilized, the type and quantity of explosives being stored and 
proof of written notification of the location of the storage magazine to the applicable fire district or 
department and county sheriff. 

(E) An inspection shall be required at each permanent storage magazine site, including any added 
permanent storage magazine sites, prior to the renewal of the Type III permit. 

Section 3-6 Permit Application 

(A) Application for each type of original permit or renewal shall be made on forms available from the 
Division and shall provide the following information: 

(1) The name and address of the applicant 

(2) Front and reverse side copies of applicant’s driver’s license 

(3)  The reason for desiring to use, purchase, sell, store, manufacture, transport or dispose of 
explosives 

(4) The applicant’s citizenship, if the applicant is an individual 

(5) If the Type II applicant is a partnership, the names and addresses of the Type I permitted 
partners and their citizenship 

(6) If the Type II or Type III permit applicant is a corporation, company, firm, association or state 
or local government agency, the names and addresses of the Type I permitted owner(s), 
manager(s) or other designated individual thereof, and their citizenship 

(7) Where application for a Type II explosives permit is made in the name of a corporation, 
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company, partnership, association, state or local government agency or firm, the application 
shall be signed by the permitted owner(s), partner(s), manager(s) or other designated 
individual(s) who will have access to explosive materials and be directly responsible for 
compliance with the provisions of the Explosives Act, 9-7-101, et seq. C.R.S., and any rules 
and regulations promulgated thereunder 

(8) The name(s) of the valid Type II permittee the Type I permit applicant is employed by or 
associated with, and for whom the applicant will possess and control explosive materials 

(9) Evidence that the Type I applicant is sufficiently trained and experienced in the use, 
transportation, storage, purchase, sale, disposal or manufacturing of explosives 

(10) Such other pertinent information as the Division shall require to effectuate the purpose of 
these regulations 

(B) Application forms may be obtained from the Division. 

(C) The submission of an application shall be a certification by the Type I permit applicant that the 
applicant, or Type I permittee acting as the responsible person for the Type II or Type III permit 
applicant, has read, understands and accepts these regulations and shall comply with all 
requirements of these regulations. 

(D) Payment of the application fee for a period of 36 months, according to the following list, must 
accompany each application for a permit. 

Type I Explosives Permit: $110.00 

Type II Explosives Permit: $225.00 

Type III Explosives Permit: $375.00 

(E) A check or money order for the fee shall be made payable to the Division and submitted to the 
address provided on the application. 

(F) The applicant may be asked to supply additional information requested by the Division in order to 
verify statements in an application or in order to facilitate a Division inquiry prior to the issuance 
or renewal of a permit. 

(G) Each Type II application for a manufacturer or dealer permit shall be accompanied by a copy of 
the applicant’s current federal license issued by The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and 
Explosives. 

(H) The Type II application for a manufacturer or dealer permit shall list the location(s) in Colorado 
where explosives will be manufactured or from where explosives will be sold. This shall not be 
required for the manufacturers of binary explosives. 

(I) A valid Type I permit shall be held by at least one of the individual owners, partners, managers or 
other designated individual for each classification of use requested on the Type II Explosives 
Permit application. 

(J) Each application for an original Type II permit or a renewal permit shall be accompanied by a list 
of valid Type I permittees authorized to possess and control explosives on behalf of the Type II 
permittee. The Division shall be notified of any changes of such Type I permittees. 

(K) An application for a Type III storage permit shall include the location of all storage facilities and 
types of magazines to be utilized. 
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(L) Each application for a Type II permit to purchase shall have a list of Type I permittees authorized 
to order and receive explosives on behalf of the purchaser. The list of Type I permittees 
authorized to order and receive explosives on behalf of the purchaser shall be provided to dealers 
prior to the purchase of explosives. 

(M) In addition to the application form, all new Type I applicants, all Type I applicants requesting a 
change in classification of their permit, and all Type I applicants who have not renewed their 
permit within 60 days after expiration will be required to obtain a score of not less than 90% on a 
written examination prepared and administered by the Division. A Type I applicant failing the 
examination may retake the examination at any time. A Type I applicant failing the examination a 
second time must wait for a period of at least 14 days before retaking the exam. 

(N) All Type I applicants renewing their permits are required to obtain a score of not less than 90% on 
a written examination prepared and administered by the Division every 3 years or provide proof of 
16 hours attendance during the previous 3 years in a training course approved by the Division. 

(O) The Division shall obtain a photograph of Type I permit applicants. 

(P) Upon receipt of an incomplete application or an application requiring additional information, the 
applicant will be notified of the deficiency or additional requirements. If the deficiency is not 
corrected or if the Division does not receive the additional information within 180 days following 
the date of notification, the application shall be considered abandoned and the Division shall not 
retain the application. 

(Q) Upon receipt of a completed Type I application the applicant will be sent an exam notification. If 
the Type I permit applicant fails to complete the exam within 180 days of the exam notification, 
the application shall be considered abandoned and the Division shall not retain the application. 

(R) A Type I renewal applicant must complete the exam, if required, within 180 days of the date of the 
renewal notification letter sent by the Division. Should the renewal applicant fail to complete the 
exam within 180 days of the date of the renewal letter, the application shall be considered 
abandoned and the Division shall not retain the application. 

Section 3-7 Protection and Exhibition of Permits 

Permittees shall take every reasonable precaution to protect their permits from loss, theft, defacement, 
destruction or unauthorized duplication. 
 
The loss or theft of any permit shall be reported immediately to the local law enforcement agency and to 
the Division. 
 
Permits, or copies thereof, shall be exhibited in conformity with the following provisions: 
 
(A) Manufacturer - the permit shall be posted at the facility where explosives or blasting agents are 

manufactured. Manufacturing permits for bulk mix trucks shall be posted in the office of the 
permittee. 

(B) Dealer- the permit shall be posted in the office at the location where explosives or blasting agents 
are sold. 

(C) Purchaser - the permit or a copy of the permit must be displayed at magazine/warehouse where 
explosives or blasting agents are received and stored. 

(D) User - the permit shall be posted in the main office of explosives operations. 

(E) Storage - a copy of the permit must be displayed at the office, warehouse, or in at least one 
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magazine where explosives or blasting agents are received for storage. 

(F) A Type I permit card shall be carried by the Type I permittee at all times when using, transporting, 
or possessing explosives and presented to representatives of the Division and law enforcement 
officials, upon request, along with valid personal identification. 

Section 3-8 Records of Transactions 

All permittees shall keep a complete record of all transactions in, or operations involving explosives for 
five years following the year in which the transactions or operations involving explosives or blasting 
agents occurred. The permittees must retain copies thereof and furnish such copies to the Division during 
normal business hours upon request. When the permittee is employed by another person who holds a 
valid permit, the records of the employer shall be deemed to satisfy these record-keeping requirements. 

3-8-1 Manufacturer 

The records of a person having a permit to manufacture explosives or blasting agents shall include the 
following information: 

(A) Amount and kinds manufactured. 

(B) Amounts and kinds acquired for manufacture. 

(C) Names and addresses of the persons from whom acquired and dates on which acquired. 

(D) Amount and kinds sold or otherwise disposed of. 

(E) Names, addresses and permit numbers of persons to whom sold or otherwise disposed of and 
dates of the sales or other dispositions. 

(F) Amounts and kinds on hand at each location at the end of each day on which there are 
transactions or operations. 

(G) The records kept in accordance with Section 6-1(U) shall meet the record requirements for the 
manufacture of binary products. 

 

3-8-2 Dealer 

The records of a person having a permit for dealer shall include the following information: 

(A) Amounts and kinds acquired. 

(B) Names and addresses of persons from whom acquired and dates on which acquired. 

(C) Amounts and kinds sold or otherwise disposed of. 

(D) Names, addresses, and permit numbers of persons to whom sold or otherwise disposed of and 
the dates of sales or other dispositions. This requirement shall not apply to the sale of smokeless 
powder. 

3-8-3 Type II Permit 
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A person holding a Type II permit to use explosives or blasting agents shall maintain a record of all 
explosive material transactions including a daily inventory record of all explosives received, removed 
from, or returned to each storage magazine in accordance with Section 4-1(F)(6) of these regulations, 
and records completed by Type I permittees in accordance with Section 6-1(U) and Section 7-4(B)(11). 

3-8-4 Type I Permit 

Type I permittees shall complete and sign records of explosives used in accordance with Section 6-1(U) 
or Section 7-4(B)(11) of these regulations. 

Section 3-9 Permit Changes 

The Division shall be notified immediately when: 

(A) There is a change in the permittee’s permanent address. 

(B) There is a change in the name of a permittee, or a change in the Type I permitted owner(s), 
manager(s), or other designated individual(s) acting as the responsible person of any Type II or 
Type III permittee. 

(C) The location of an explosives storage facility is changed or added and the address of the new 
location shall be provided. 

(D) There is a change in the Type II permitted employer or association for whom the Type I permittee 
will possess and control explosive materials. 

(E) There is a change in the Type I permitted individuals authorized to possess and control 
explosives on behalf of a Type II permittee. 

(F) A Type I Permit holder is currently charged with, has a pending charge of or has been convicted 
of any of the offenses listed in 3-3 (B) 1-3. 

Section 3-10 Explosives Sales to Permittees 

(A) When an order for explosives is placed by a purchaser, the dealer shall request proper 
authorization and identification from the purchaser and shall record the purchaser’s permit 
number on the sales record. 

(B) The purchaser shall provide to the dealer a list of Type I permittees authorized to order and 
receive explosives on behalf of the purchaser. A dealer shall not distribute explosive materials to 
a company or individual on the order of a person who does not appear on the most current list of 
authorized Type I permittees, and if the person does appear on the list, the dealer shall verify the 
identity of such person. 

(C) The authorized Type I permittee who physically receives the purchased explosives shall present 
his permit and proper identification to the dealer. The receiver of the explosives shall sign a 
receipt documenting the explosives received with his legal signature and permit number. 

(D) All such receipts shall be retained by the dealer for not less than 5 years from the date of 
purchase. 

(E) The dealer shall keep a record of all explosives purchased and sold as required by federal 
regulations. 
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(F) Any package containing any explosive or blasting agent that is sold or is delivered for shipment 
by a dealer shall be properly labeled in accordance with 9-6-105 C.R.S. to indicate its explosive 
classification. 
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ARTICLE 4 STORAGE OF EXPLOSIVE MATERIALS 

Section 4-1 General Requirements 

(A) All explosive materials, special industrial explosive materials, and any newly developed and 
unclassified explosive materials shall be kept in magazines which meet the requirements as 
defined in these regulations, unless they are in the process of manufacture, being physically 
handled in the operating process, being used, or being transported to a place of storage or use. 
Refer to Section 4-3 for a summary of storage requirements. 

(B) High explosives shall not be stored unattended outdoors, or in any building or structure, except in 
a Type 1 or Type 2 magazine. 

(C) Detonators that will not mass detonate (1.4s and 1.4b classification) and are in the original and 
closed shipping container may also be stored in a Type 4 magazine. 

(D) The requirements for the storage of binary explosives shall be: 

(1) Storage of the flammable liquid component of a binary explosive shall be in secure storage 
that complies with the uniform fire code. 

(2) Storage of the powder component of a binary explosive shall be in secure storage. 

(3) Liquid and powder components shall not be stored together. 

(E) Detonators shall not be stored in the same magazine in which other explosives are kept or stored 
except under the following circumstances: 

(1) In a Type 1 or Type 2 magazine, detonators may be stored with delay devices, electric 
squibs, safety fuse, igniters, and igniter cord. 

(2) In a Type 4 magazine, detonators that will not mass detonate (1.4s and 1.4b classification) 
may be stored with electric squibs, safety fuse, igniters, and igniter cord. 

(F) Inventory and Responsibility 

(1) Magazines shall be in the charge of a valid permittee at all times who shall be held 
responsible for the enforcement of all safety precautions. 

(2) All explosives shall be accounted for at all times. 

(3) Explosives not being used shall be kept in a locked magazine and the keys or combinations 
to the locks shall be unavailable to persons not holding a valid Type I permit. 

(4) The Type II permittee shall maintain an inventory and use record of all explosive materials. 

(5) Type I permittees shall record any receipt, removal, or return of explosives materials on 
inventory records within the magazine or at one central location on the business premises 
provided that  transactions for each magazine are kept separate.  

(6) The inventory records shall be maintained on forms approved by the Division and shall 
include: 

(i) Type of explosive material product 
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(ii) Manufacturer’s name or brand name 

(iii) Identifying or date shift code 

(iv) Amounts received, removed from or returned to the magazine 

(v) The signature of the permittee receiving, removing or returning explosive materials 

(vi) Total quantity remaining on hand 

(7) Explosive materials shall be physically counted at least monthly. 

(8) Explosive materials sold and received in individual unit quantities shall be inventoried as 
individual units. 

(9) Explosive materials sold and received as pounds shall be inventoried as pounds when in 
unopened cases, and as individual cartridges or units when in opened cases. 

(10) The Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, the Division, and local 
law enforcement agencies shall be notified immediately of any loss, theft, or unauthorized 
entry into a magazine. 

(G) Surrounding Area 

(1) The land surrounding a magazine shall be kept clear of trash, dried grass, leaves or trees 
(except for live trees more than 10 feet tall) for a distance of at least 25 feet. Living foliage 
used to stabilize the earthen coverings of a magazine need not be removed. 

(2) Any other combustible materials shall not be stored within 50 feet of magazines. 

(3) Smoking, matches or an open flame shall not be permitted: 

(i) In any magazine; 

(ii) Within 50 feet of any outdoor magazine; or 

(iii) Within any room containing an indoor magazine. 

(4) Firearms shall not be permitted inside of, or within 50 feet of magazines. 

(5) The premises on which all outdoor magazines are located shall be posted with signs with the 
words “DANGER—KEEP OUT” in letters at least 3 inches high. Signs shall be posted to 
warn any person approaching the magazine of the hazard, but shall be located so that a 
bullet passing through the sign will not strike the magazines. 

(6) All normal access routes to outdoor explosives storage sites shall be posted with a sign with 
the words “DANGER- NEVER FIGHT FIRES ON THIS SITE. CALL _______________” in 
letters at least 2 inches high. An emergency contact number shall be written on the sign. 

(7) Indoor magazines shall be visibly marked with the words “DANGER – KEEP FIRE AWAY.” 

(H) Temporary storage at a site for blasting operations shall be located away from neighboring 
inhabited buildings, railways, highways, and other magazines in accordance with the American 
Table of Distances (see Section 4-5). 

(I) Storage Within Magazines 
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(1) Packages of explosive materials shall be laid flat with top side up. Corresponding grades 
and brands shall be stored together in such a manner that brands and grade marks show. All 
stocks shall be stored so as to be easily counted and checked. Packages of explosives shall 
be stacked in a stable manner. When any kind of explosive is removed from a magazine for 
use, the oldest of that particular kind shall always be taken first. 

(2) Packages of explosives requiring impact or potentially spark producing methods to open or 
to close shall not be opened or closed in a magazine, nor within 50 feet of a magazine or in 
close proximity to other explosive materials. 

(3) Tools used for opening packages of explosives shall be constructed of non-sparking 
materials. 

(4) Opened packages of explosives shall be securely closed before being returned to a 
magazine. 

(5) Magazines shall not be used for the storage of any metal tools nor any commodity except 
explosives; however, this restriction shall not apply to the storage of blasting agents and 
non-metal blasting supplies. 

(6) Magazine floors shall be regularly swept, kept clean, dry, and free of grit, paper, empty used 
packages, and rubbish. Brooms and other cleaning utensils shall not have any spark- 
producing metal parts. Sweepings from floors of magazines shall be properly disposed of. 
Magazine floors stained with nitroglycerin shall be cleaned according to instructions of the 
manufacturer. 

(7) When any explosive has deteriorated to an extent that it is in an unstable or dangerous 
condition, or if nitroglycerin leaks from any explosives, then the person in possession of such 
explosives shall immediately proceed to destroy such explosives in accordance with the 
instructions of the manufacturer. Only Type I permittees experienced in the destruction of 
explosive materials shall be allowed to do the work of destroying explosives. 

(8) When magazines need inside repairs, all explosives shall be removed and the floors 
cleaned. In making outside repairs, if there is a possibility of causing sparks or fire the 
explosives shall be removed from the magazine. Explosives removed from a magazine in 
order for repair shall either be placed in another class appropriate magazine, or placed a 
safe distance from the magazine where they shall be properly guarded and protected until 
repairs have been completed, at which time they shall be returned to the magazine. 

(9) Explosive materials within a magazine are not to be placed against the interior walls and 
must be stored so as not to interfere with ventilation when required. 

(10) Any person storing explosive materials shall open and inspect the magazine at least every 7 
days. This inspection need not be an inventory, but must be sufficient to determine whether 
there has been unauthorized entry or attempted entry into the magazine, or unauthorized 
removal of the contents. 

(11) Flammables, such as the liquid components of binary products, shall not be stored with other 
explosives. 

(J) Lighting Within Magazines 

(1) Battery-activated safety lights or battery-activated safety lanterns may be used in explosives 
storage magazines. 

(2) Electric lighting, including wiring and fixtures, used in any explosives storage magazine must 
meet the standards prescribed by the National Electrical Code for the conditions present in 
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the magazine at any time. All electrical switches are to be located outside of the magazine 
and also meet the standards prescribed by the National Electrical Code. 

(3) Light fixtures shall be enclosed to prevent sparks or hot metal from falling on the floor or on 
materials stored in the magazine. 

(4) Interior magazine lights shall be turned off when the magazine is unattended. 

(5) Copies of invoices, work orders or similar documents which indicate that the lighting 
complies with the National Electrical Code must be available for inspection by the Division.  

Section 4-2 Classes of Explosive Materials and Examples 

For the purposes of this article, there are three classes of explosive materials. These classes, together 
with the description of explosive materials comprising each class, are as follows: 

(A) High Explosives - Explosive materials which can be caused to detonate by means of a detonator 
when unconfined.  Examples include: 

(1) Dynamite and detonators; 

(2) Detonator-sensitive slurry/water gels and emulsions; and 

(3) Mixed binaries. 

(B) Low Explosives - Explosive materials which can be caused to deflagrate when confined.  
Examples include:  

(1) Black powder; 

(2) Pull wire igniters; and 

(3) Safety fuse. 

(C) Blasting Agents - Explosives materials consisting of fuel and oxidizer which cannot be detonated 
by means of a number 8 test detonator when unconfined. Examples include: 

(1) Ammonium Nitrate/Fuel Oil mixture (ANFO); and 

(2) Non detonator-sensitive slurry/water gels and emulsion products. 

Section 4-3 Summary of Storage Requirements 

Table 4-3 Summary of Storage Requirements 

Storage Type Classes of Explosive Materials Which May Be Stored Therein 
Type 1  

(Permanent) High Explosives, Low Explosives, Blasting Agents 

Type 2 
(Portable, Mobile or Fixed) High Explosives, Low Explosives, Blasting Agents 

Type 3 
(“Day Box” for Temporary Storage) High Explosives, Low Explosives, Blasting Agents 

Type 4 
(Portable, Mobile or Fixed) 

Blasting Agents, Low Explosives,  
Detonators (Original, Closed Cartons of 1.4b, 1.4c And 1.4s) 



33 

Type 5 
(Portable, Mobile or Fixed) Blasting Agents 

Section 4-4 Storage Magazine Construction by Type 

Table 4-4 Storage Magazine Construction By Type 

Construction Features Type 1 Type 2 Type 3 Type 4 Type 5 
Permanent X   X X 
Portable or Mobile  X X X X 
Bullet-Resistant X X    
Fire-Resistant X X X X X (1) 
Theft- Resistant X X X X X 
Weather- Resistant X X X X X 
Ventilated X X  X  

(1)  Over the road trucks or semi-trailers used as Type 5 magazines for temporary storage need not be fire 
resistant. 

4-4-1 Type 1 Storage 

A Type 1 magazine shall be a permanent structure, e.g., a building, an igloo or Army-type structure, a 
tunnel, or a dugout. It shall be bullet-resistant, fire-resistant, weather-resistant, theft-resistant, and 
ventilated. 

(A) Buildings: All building-type magazines shall be constructed of masonry, wood, metal, or a 
combination of these materials and shall have no openings except for entrances and ventilation. 
The ground around building magazines shall slope away for drainage or other adequate drainage 
shall be provided. 

(B) Masonry Wall Construction: Masonry wall construction shall consist of brick, concrete, tile, 
cement block, or cinder block and shall be not less than 8 inches in thickness. Hollow masonry 
units used in construction shall have all hollow spaces filled with well-tamped, coarse, dry sand or 
weak concrete (at least 1 part cement + 8 parts of sand with enough water to dampen the mixture 
while tamping in place). Interior walls shall be constructed of, or covered with, a non- sparking 
material. 

(C) Fabricated Metal Wall Construction: Metal wall construction shall consist of sectional sheets of 
steel or aluminum, not less than #14 gauge, securely fastened to a metal framework. Metal wall 
construction shall be either lined inside with brick, solid cement blocks, hardwood not less than 4 
inches thick, or shall have at least a 6-inch sand-fill between interior and exterior walls. Interior 
walls shall be constructed of, or covered with, a non-sparking material. 

(D) Wood Frame Wall Construction: The exterior of outer wood walls shall be covered with steel or 
aluminum not less than #26 gauge. An inner wall of, or covered with, non-sparking material shall 
be constructed so as to provide a space of not less than 6 inches between the outer and inner 
walls. The space shall be filled with coarse, dry sand or weak concrete. 

(E) Floors: Floors shall be constructed of, or covered with, a non-sparking material and shall be 
strong enough to bear the weight of the maximum quantity materials to be stored. Use of pallets 
covered with a non-sparking material is considered equivalent to a floor constructed of, or 
covered with, a non-sparking material. 

(F) Foundations: Foundations shall be constructed of brick, concrete, cement block, stone, or wood 
posts. If piers or posts are used in lieu of a continuous foundation, the space under the buildings 
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shall be enclosed with metal. 

(G) Roof: Except for buildings with fabricated metal roofs, the outer roof shall be covered with no less 
than #26 gauge steel or aluminum fastened to 7/8-inch sheathing. 

(H) Bullet-Resistant Ceilings on Roofs: Where it is possible for a bullet to be fired directly through the 
roof and into the magazine at such an angle that the bullet would strike the explosives within, the 
magazine shall be protected by one of following methods: 

(1) A sand tray with a layer of building paper, plastic, or other nonporous material filled with not 
less than 4 inches of coarse, dry sand, shall be located at the tops of inner walls covering 
the entire ceiling area, except that portion necessary for ventilation. 

(2) A fabricated metal roof shall be constructed of 3/16-inch thick plate steel lined with 4 inches 
of hardwood. For each additional 1/16-inch of plate steel, the hardwood lining may be 
decreased by 1 inch.  

(I) Doors: All doors shall be constructed of 1/4-inch plate steel and lined with 3 inches of hardwood. 
Hinges and hasps shall be attached to the doors by welding, riveting, or bolting (with nuts on the 
inside of the door). They shall be installed in such a manner that the hinges and hasps cannot be 
removed when the doors are closed and locked. 

(J) Locks: Each door shall be equipped with at least one of the following types of locks: 

(1) Two mortise locks 

(2) Two padlocks fastened in separate hasps and staples 

(3) A combination of a mortise lock and a padlock 

(4) A mortise lock that requires two keys to open 

(5) A three-point lock.  

Padlocks shall have at least 5 tumblers and a case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch in 
diameter. Padlocks shall be protected with 1/4-inch sheet hoods constructed so as to prevent 
sawing or lever action on the locks, hasps, and staples. These requirements shall not apply to 
magazine doors that are adequately secured on the inside by means of a bolt, lock, or bar that 
cannot be actuated from the outside. 

(K) Ventilation: Ventilation shall be provided to prevent dampness and heating of stored explosive 
materials. Ventilation openings shall be screened to prevent the entrance of sparks. Ventilation 
openings in sidewalls and foundations shall be offset or shielded for bullet-resistance purposes. 
Magazines having foundation and roof ventilators with the air circulating between the side walls 
and the floors and between the side walls and the ceiling shall have a wooden lattice lining or 
equivalent to prevent the packages of explosive materials from being stacked against the side 
walls and blocking the air circulation. 

(L) Exposed Metal: No sparking material shall be exposed to contact with the stored explosive 
materials. All ferrous metal nails in the floor and sidewalls which might be exposed to contact with 
explosive materials shall be blind-nailed, countersunk, or covered with a non-sparking latticework 
or other non-sparking material. 

(M) Igloos, Army-Type Structures, Tunnels, & Dugouts: Igloo, army-type structure, tunnel, and dugout 
magazines shall be constructed of reinforced concrete, masonry, metal, or a combination of these 
materials. They shall have an earth mound covering of not less than 24 inches on the top, sides, 
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and rear unless the ceiling or roof meets the bullet-resistant ceiling or roof requirements of this 
section. Interior walls shall be constructed of, or covered with, a non-sparking material. 
Magazines of this type shall also be constructed in conformity with the requirements of the floors, 
doors, locks, ventilation, and exposed metal portions outlined in this section. 

4-4-2 Type 2 Storage 

A Type 2 magazine shall be a portable or mobile structure such as a box, skid-magazine, trailer, or semi-
trailer. 

4-4-2-1   Outdoor Type 2 Magazines 

Outdoor Type 2 magazines shall be bullet-resistant, fire-resistant, weather-resistant, theft-resistant, and 
ventilated. They shall be supported to prevent direct contact with the ground and, if less than 1 cubic yard 
in size, shall be securely fastened to a fixed object. The ground around outdoor magazines shall slope 
away for drainage or other adequate drainage shall be provided. When unattended, vehicular magazines 
shall have wheels removed or shall otherwise be effectively immobilized by methods approved by the 
Division. 

(A) Exterior Construction: The exterior and covers or doors shall be constructed of 1/4-inch steel and 
shall be lined with 2 inches of hardwood. Magazines with top openings shall have lids with water-
resistant seals or which overlap the sides by at least 1 inch when in a closed position. 

(B) Hinges & Hasps: Hinges and hasps shall be attached to the covers or doors by welding, riveting, 
or bolting (with nuts on the inside of the door). Hinges and hasps shall be installed so that they 
cannot be removed when the doors are closed and locked. 

(C) Locks: Each door shall be equipped with at least one of the following types of locks:  

(1) Two mortise locks 

(2) Two padlocks fastened in separate hasps and staples 

(3) A combination of a mortise lock and a padlock 

(4) A mortise lock that requires two keys to open 

(5) A three-point lock.  

Padlocks shall have at least 5 tumblers and a case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch 
diameter. Padlocks shall be protected with 1/4-inch steel hoods constructed so as to prevent 
sawing or lever action on the locks, hasps, and staples. These requirements do not apply to 
magazine doors that are adequately secured on the inside by means of a bolt, lock, or bar that 
cannot be actuated from the outside. 

(D) Ventilation: Ventilation shall be provided to prevent dampness and heating of stored explosive 
materials. Ventilation openings shall be screened to prevent the entrance of sparks. Ventilation 
openings in sidewalls shall be offset or shielded for bullet-resistance purposes. Packages of 
explosive materials shall not be stacked against the side walls and block the air circulation. 

4-4-2-2   Indoor Type 2 Magazines 

Indoor Type 2 magazines shall be fire-resistant and theft-resistant if the buildings in which they are stored 
provide protection from the weather and from bullet penetration. No indoor magazine may be located in a 
residence or dwelling. The indoor storage of high explosives may not exceed a quantity of 50 pounds. 
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More than one indoor magazine may be located in the same building if the total quantity of all explosive 
materials stored does not exceed 50 pounds. Detonators shall be stored in separate magazines. 

(A) Exterior Construction:  Indoor magazines shall be constructed of wood or metal according to one 
of the following specifications: 

(1) Indoor magazines constructed of wood shall have sides, bottoms, and lids or doors 
constructed of two-inch wood and shall be well-braced at the corners. The magazines shall 
be covered on the exterior with sheet metal of not less than #26-gauge. Nails exposed to the 
interior of magazines shall be countersunk. 

(2) Indoor magazines constructed of metal shall have sides, bottom, and lids or doors 
constructed of at least #12-gauge metal and shall be lined inside with a non-sparking 
material. Edges of metal covers shall overlap sides at least 1 inch. 

(B) Hinges & Hasps: Hinges and hasps shall be attached to the covers or doors by welding, riveting, 
or bolting (with nuts on the inside of the door). Hinges and hasps shall be installed so that they 
cannot be removed when the doors are closed and locked. 

(C) Locks: Each door shall be equipped with at least one of the following types of locks:  

(1) Two mortise locks 

(2) Two padlocks fastened in separate hasps and staples 

(3) A combination of a mortise lock and a padlock 

(4) A mortise lock that requires two keys to open 

(5) A three-point lock.  

Padlocks shall have at least 5 tumblers and a case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch 
diameter. Padlocks shall be protected with 1/4-inch steel hoods constructed so as to prevent 
sawing or lever action on the locks, hasps, and staples. Indoor magazines located in secure 
rooms, that are locked as provided in this paragraph, may have each door or opening locked with 
1 steel padlock (which need not be protected by a steel hood) having at least 5 tumblers and a 
case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch diameter, if the lock hinges and hasps are securely 
fastened to the magazine and to the door frame. These requirements do not apply to magazine 
doors that are adequately secured on the inside by means of a bolt, lock, or bar that cannot be 
actuated from the outside. 

4-4-3 Alternate Construction Standards for Storage Facilities 

It has been determined that a wide range of construction criteria meet the bullet-resistant requirements of 
ATF Rule 76-18 as published in Bureau Of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, Department Of 
The Treasury, Publication ATF p 5400.7 (2012) for the construction of storage facilities for explosive 
materials. 
 
In order to promote standards of safety and security in the storage of explosive materials while allowing 
the industry a wide latitude in the selection of construction materials, it is held that storage facilities 
(magazines) that are constructed according to the following minimum specifications are bullet-resistant 
and meet the requirements of the regulations as set forth in 27 CFR Part 55 (all steel and wood 
dimensions are actual thicknesses. To meet the concrete block and brick dimensions indicated, the 
manufacturers’ represented thicknesses may be used). 
 
(A) Exterior of 5/8-inch steel, lined with an interior of any type of non-sparking material. 
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(B) Exterior of 1/2-inch steel, lined with an interior of not less than 3/8-inch plywood. 

(C) Exterior of 3/8-inch steel, lined with an interior of 2 inches of hardwood. 

(D) Exterior of 3/8-inch steel, lined with an interior of 3 inches of softwood or 2¼ inches of plywood. 

(E) Exterior of 1/4-inch steel, lined with an interior of 3 inches of hardwood. 

(F) Exterior of 1/4-inch steel, lined with an interior of 5 inches of softwood or 5¼ inches of plywood. 

(G) Exterior of 1/4-inch steel, lined with an intermediate layer of 2 inches of hardwood and an interior 
lining of 1½ inches of plywood. 

(H) Exterior of 3/16-inch steel, lined with an interior of 4 inches of hardwood. 

(I) Exterior of 3/16-inch steel, lined with an interior of 7 inches of softwood or 6¾ inches of plywood. 

(J) Exterior of 3/16-inch steel, lined with an intermediate layer of 3 inches of hardwood and an 
interior lining of 3/4-inch of plywood. 

(K) Exterior of 1/8-inch steel, lined with an interior of 5 inches of hardwood. 

(L) Exterior of 1/8-inch steel, lined with an interior of 9 inches of softwood. 

(M) Exterior of 1/8-inch steel, lined with an intermediate layer of 4 inches of hardwood and an interior 
lining of 3/4-inch plywood. 

(N) Exterior of any type of fire-resistant material which is structurally sound, lined with an intermediate 
layer of 4 inches of solid concrete block, or 4 inches of solid brick or 4 inches of solid concrete; 
and, an interior lining of 1/2-inch plywood placed securely against the masonry lining. 

(O) Standard 8-inch concrete block with voids filled with well-tamped sand/cement mixture. 

(P) Standard 8-inch solid brick. 

(Q) Exterior of any type of fire-resistant material which is structurally sound, lined with an intermediate 
6-inch space filled with well-tamped dry sand or well-tamped sand/cement mixture. 

(R) Exterior of 1/8-inch steel, lined with a first intermediate layer of 3/4-inch plywood, a second 
intermediate layer of 3⅝ inches of well-tamped dry sand or sand/cement mixture and an interior 
lining of 3/4-inch plywood. 

(S) Second intermediate layer of 3⅝ inches well tamped dry sand or sand/cement mixture, a third 
intermediate layer of 3/4-inch plywood, and a fourth intermediate layer of two inches of hardwood 
or #14 gauge steel and an interior lining of 3/4-inch plywood. 

(T) 8-inch thick solid concrete. 

4-4-4 Type 3 Storage 

A Type 3 magazine shall be a “day-box” or other portable magazine. It shall be fire-resistant, weather-
resistant, and theft-resistant. A Type 3 magazine shall be constructed of #12-gauge metal lined with 
either 1/2-inch plywood or 1/2-inch Masonite-type hardboard. Doors shall overlap sides by at least 1 inch. 
Hinges and hasps shall be attached by welding, riveting or bolting (with nuts on the inside of the door). A 
single lock having at least 5 tumblers and a case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch diameter shall be 
sufficient for locking purposes. Explosive materials may not be left unattended in Type 3 magazines, but 
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must be removed to either a Type 1 or 2 magazine for unattended storage. 

4-4-5 Type 4 Storage 

A Type 4 magazine shall be a building, igloo or army-type structure, tunnel, dugout, box, trailer, or a semi-
trailer or other mobile magazine. 

4-4-5-1   Outdoor Type 4 Magazines 

Outdoor Type 4 magazines shall be fire-resistant, weather-resistant, theft-resistant, ventilated and shall 
be at least 1 cubic yard in size, or securely fasted to a fixed object. The ground around outdoor 
magazines shall slope away for drainage or other adequate drainage shall be provided. When 
unattended, vehicular magazines shall have wheels removed or shall otherwise be effectively immobilized 
by other methods approved by the Division. 

(A) Construction: Outdoor magazines shall be constructed of masonry, metal-covered wood, 
fabricated metal, or a combination of these materials. Foundation shall be constructed of brick, 
concrete, cement block, stone, or metal or wood posts. If piers or posts are used in lieu of a 
continuous foundation, the space under the buildings shall be enclosed with fire-resistant 
material. The walls and floors shall be constructed of, or covered with, a non-sparking material or 
lattice work. The doors or covers shall be metal or solid wood covered with metal. 

(B) Hinges and Hasps: Hinges and hasps shall be attached to the covers or doors by welding, 
riveting, or bolting (nuts on inside of door). Hinges and hasps shall be installed so that they 
cannot be removed when the doors are closed and locked. 

(C) Locks: Each door shall be equipped with at least one of the following types of locks:  

(1) 2 mortise locks 

(2) 2 padlocks fastened in separate hasps and staples 

(3) A combination of a mortise lock and a padlock 

(4) A mortise lock that requires two keys to open 

(5) A three-point lock.  

Padlocks shall have at least 5 tumblers and a case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch 
diameter. Padlocks shall be protected with 1/4-inch steel hoods constructed so as to prevent 
sawing or lever action on the locks, hasps, and staples. These requirements do not apply to 
magazine doors that are adequately secured on the inside by means of a bolt, lock, or a bar that 
cannot be actuated from the outside.  

(D) Ventilation: Ventilation shall be provided to prevent dampness and heating of stored explosive 
materials. Ventilation openings shall be offset or shielded and screened to prevent the entrance 
of sparks. The packages of explosive materials shall not be stacked against the side walls and 
block the air circulation. 

4-4-5-2   Indoor Type 4 Magazines 

Indoor magazines shall be fire-resistant and theft-resistant. They need not be weather-resistant if the 
buildings in which they are stored provide protection from the weather. No indoor magazine may be 
located in a residence or dwelling. The indoor storage of low explosives may not exceed a quantity of 50 
pounds. More than one indoor magazine may be located in the same building if the total quantity of all 
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explosive materials stored does not exceed 50 pounds. Detonators that will not mass detonate shall be 
stored in separate magazines and the total number of detonators may not exceed 5,000. 

(A) Construction: Indoor magazines shall be constructed of masonry, metal-covered wood, fabricated 
metal, or a combination of these materials. The walls and floors shall be constructed of, or 
covered with, a non-sparking material. The doors or covers shall be metal or solid wood covered 
with metal. 

(B) Hinges & Hasps: Hinges and hasps shall be attached to the covers or doors by welding, riveting, 
or bolting (with nuts on the inside of the door). Hinges and hasps shall be installed so that they 
cannot be removed when the doors are closed and locked. 

(C) Locks: Each door shall be equipped with at least one of the following types of locks:  

(1) 2 mortise locks 

(2) 2 padlocks fastened in separate hasps and staples 

(3) A combination of a mortise lock and a padlock 

(4) A mortise lock that requires two keys to open 

(5) A three-point lock.  

Padlocks shall have at least 5 tumblers and a case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch 
diameter. Padlocks shall be protected with 1/4-inch steel hoods constructed so as to prevent 
sawing or lever action on the locks, hasps, and staples. Indoor magazines located in secure 
rooms, that are locked as provided in this paragraph, may have each door or opening locked with 
one steel padlock (which need not be protected by a steel hood) having at least five tumblers and 
a case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch diameter, if the lock hinges and hasps are securely 
fastened to the magazine and to the door frame. These requirements do not apply to magazine 
doors that are adequately secured on the inside by means of a bolt, lock, or bar that cannot be 
actuated from the outside. 

4-4-6 Type 5 Storage 

A Type 5 magazine shall be a building, igloo or army-type structure, tunnel, dugout, bin, box, trailer, or a 
semitrailer or other mobile facility. 

4-4-6-1   Outdoor Type 5 Magazines 

Outdoor Type 5 magazines shall be weather-resistant, fire-resistant and theft-resistant. Over-the-road 
trucks or semi-trailers used as Type 5 magazines for temporary storage need not be fire-resistant. The 
ground around magazines shall slope away for drainage or other adequate drainage shall be provided. 
When unattended, vehicular magazines shall have wheels removed or shall otherwise be effectively 
immobilized by kingpin locking devices or other methods approved by the Division. 

(A) Construction: The doors or covers shall be constructed of solid wood or metal. 

(B) Hinges & Hasps: Hinges and hasps shall be attached to the covers or doors by welding, riveting, 
or bolting (with nuts on the inside of the door). Hinges and hasps shall be installed so that they 
cannot be removed when the doors are closed and locked. 

(C) Locks: Each door shall be equipped with 1 padlock having at least 5 tumblers and a case-
hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch diameter. Indoor magazines located in secure rooms, that 
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are locked as provided in this paragraph, may have each door or opening locked with 1 steel 
padlock (which need not be protected by a steel hood) having at least 5 tumblers and a case-
hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch diameter, if the lock hinges and hasps are securely 
fastened to the magazine and to the door frame. These requirements do not apply to magazine 
doors that are adequately secured on the inside by means of a bolt, lock or bar that cannot be 
actuated from the outside. 

4-4-6-2   Indoor Type 5 Magazines 

Indoor Type 5 magazines shall be theft-resistant. They need not be weather-resistant if the buildings in 
which they are stored provide protection from the weather. No indoor magazine may be located in a 
residence or dwelling. Indoor magazines containing quantities of blasting agents in excess of 50 pounds 
shall be subject to the American Table of Distances in Section 4-5-1 of this subpart. 

(A) Construction: The doors or covers shall be constructed of wood or metal. 

(B) Hinges and Hasps: Hinges and hasps shall be attached to the covers or doors by welding, 
riveting, or bolting (with nuts on the inside of the door). Hinges and hasps shall be installed so 
that they cannot be removed when the doors are closed and locked. 

(C) Locks: Each door shall be equipped with 1 padlock having at least 5 tumblers and a case- 
hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch diameter. 

Indoor magazines located in secure rooms that are locked as provided in this paragraph may have each 
door or opening locked with 1 steel padlock (which need not be protected by a steel hood) having at least 
5 tumblers and a case-hardened shackle of at least 3/8-inch diameter if the lock hinges and hasps are 
securely fastened to the magazine and to the door frame. These requirements do not apply to magazine 
doors that are adequately secured on the inside by means of a bolt, lock or bar that cannot be actuated 
from the outside. 

Section 4-5 Location of Magazines 

(A) Outdoor magazines in which high explosives are stored shall be located no closer to inhabited 
buildings, passenger railways, public highways or other magazines in which high explosives are 
stored than the minimum distances specified in the American Table of Distances for Storage of 
Explosive Materials in Table 4-5-1. 

(B) Outdoor magazines in which low explosives are stored shall be located no closer to inhabited 
buildings, passenger railways, public highways or other magazines in which explosives are stored 
than the minimum distances specified in the American Table of Distances for Storage of Low 
Explosives in Table 4-5-2. The distances shown therein may not be reduced by the presence of 
barricades. 

(C) Outdoor magazines in which blasting agents are stored shall be located no closer to inhabited 
buildings, passenger railways or public highways than the minimum distances specified in the 
American Table of Distances for Storage of Explosive Materials in Table 4-5-1. 

(D) Ammonium nitrate and magazines in which blasting agents are stored shall be located no closer 
to magazines in which high explosives or other blasting agents are stored than the minimum 
distances specified in the American Table of Distances for the Separation of Ammonium Nitrate 
and Blasting Agents in Table 4-5-3. However, the minimum distances for magazines in which 
explosives and blasting agents are stored from inhabited buildings, passenger railways or public 
highways may not be less than the distances specified in the American Table of Distances for 
Storage of Explosive Materials in Table 4-5-1. 
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Table 4-5-1 American Table of Distances for Storage of Explosive Materials  

 
Quantity of Explosive 

Materials (1,2,3,4)
 

Distances in Feet 

Inhabited Buildings (9)
 

Public Highways with Traffic 
Volume of less than 3,000 

Vehicles/Day (11)
 

Passenger Railways-Public 
Highways with Traffic Volume of 

more than 3,000 Vehicles/Day (10, 11)
 

Separation of Magazines (12)
 

Pounds Over Pounds Not Over Barricaded 
(6,7,8)

 Unbarricaded Barricaded 
(6,7,8)

 Unbarricaded Barricaded 
(6,7,8)

 Unbarricaded Barricaded 
(6,7,8)

 Unbarricaded 

0 5 70 140 30 60 51 102 6 12 
5 10 90 180 35 70 64 128 8 16 

10 20 110 220 45 90 81 162 10 20 
20 30 125 250 50 100 93 186 11 22 
30 40 140 280 55 110 103 206 12 24 
40 50 150 300 60 120 110 220 14 28 
50 75 170 340 70 140 127 254 15 30 
75 100 190 380 75 150 139 278 16 32 

100 125 200 400 80 160 150 300 18 36 
125 150 215 430 85 170 159 318 19 38 
150 200 235 470 95 190 175 350 21 42 
200 250 255 510 105 210 189 378 23 46 
250 300 270 540 110 220 201 402 24 48 
300 400 295 590 120 240 221 442 27 54 
400 500 320 640 130 260 238 476 29 58 
500 600 340 680 135 270 253 506 31 62 
600 700 355 710 145 290 266 532 32 64 
700 800 375 750 150 300 278 556 33 66 
800 900 390 780 155 310 289 578 35 70 
900 1,000 400 800 160 320 300 600 36 72 

1,000 1,200 425 850 165 330 318 636 39 78 
1,200 1,400 450 900 170 340 336 672 41 82 
1,400 1,600 470 940 175 350 351 702 43 86 
1,600 1,800 490 980 180 360 366 732 44 88 
1,800 2,000 505 1,010 185 370 378 756 45 90 
2,000 2,500 545 1,090 190 380 408 816 49 98 
2,500 3,000 580 1,160 195 390 432 864 52 104 
3,000 4,000 635 1,270 210 420 474 948 58 116 
4,000 5,000 685 1,370 225 450 513 1,026 61 122 
5,000 6,000 730 1,460 235 470 546 1,092 65 130 
6,000 7,000 770 1,540 245 490 573 1,146 68 136 
7,000 8,000 800 1,600 250 500 600 1,200 72 144 
8,000 9,000 835 1,670 255 510 624 1,248 75 150 
9,000 10,000 865 1,730 260 520 645 1,290 78 156 

10,000 12,000 875 1,750 270 540 687 1,374 82 164 
12,000 14,000 885 1,770 275 550 723 1,446 87 174 
14,000 16,000 900 1,800 280 560 756 1,512 90 180 
16,000 18,000 940 1,880 285 570 786 1,572 94 188 
18,000 20,000 975 1,950 290 580 813 1,626 98 196 
20,000 25,000 1,055 2,000 315 630 876 1,752 105 210 
25,000 30,000 1,130 2,000 340 680 933 1,866 112 224 
30,000 35,000 1,205 2,000 360 720 981 1,962 119 238 
35,000 40,000 1,275 2,000 380 760 1,026 2,000 124 248 
40,000 45,000 1,340 2,000 400 800 1,068 2,000 129 258 
45,000 50,000 1,400 2,000 420 840 1,104 2,000 135 270 
50,000 55,000 1,460 2,000 440 880 1,140 2,000 140 280 
55,000 60,000 1,515 2,000 455 910 1,173 2,000 145 290 
60,000 65,000 1,565 2,000 470 940 1,206 2,000 150 300 
65,000 70,000 1,610 2,000 485 970 1,236 2,000 155 310 
70,000 75,000 1,655 2,000 500 1,000 1,263 2,000 160 320 
75,000 80,000 1,695 2,000 510 1,020 1,293 2,000 165 330 
80,000 85,000 1,730 2,000 520 1,040 1,317 2,000 170 340 
85,000 90,000 1,760 2,000 530 1,060 1,344 2,000 175 350 
90,000 95,000 1,790 2,000 540 1,080 1,368 2,000 180 360 
95,000 100,000 1,815 2,000 545 1,090 1,392 2,000 185 370 

100,000 110,000 1,835 2,000 550 1,100 1,437 2,000 195 390 
110,000 120,000 1,855 2,000 555 1,110 1,479 2,000 205 410 
120,000 130,000 1,875 2,000 560 1,120 1,521 2,000 215 430 
130,000 140,000 1,890 2,000 565 1,130 1,557 2,000 225 450 
140,000 150,000 1,900 2,000 570 1,140 1,593 2,000 235 470 
150,000 160,000 1,935 2,000 580 1,160 1,629 2,000 245 490 
160,000 170,000 1,965 2,000 590 1,180 1,662 2,000 255 510 
170,000 180,000 1,990 2,000 600 1,200 1,695 2,000 265 530 
180,000 190,000 2,010 2,010 605 1,210 1,725 2,000 275 550 
190,000 200,000 2,030 2,030 610 1,220 1,755 2,000 285 570 
200,000 210,000 2,055 2,055 620 1,240 1,782 2,000 295 590 
210,000 230,000 2,100 2,100 635 1,270 1,836 2,000 315 630 
230,000 250,000 2,155 2,155 650 1,300 1,890 2,000 335 670 
250,000 275,000 2,215 2,215 670 1,340 1,950 2,000 360 720 
275,000 300,000 2,275 2,275 690 1,380 2,000 2,000 385 770 

Table:  American Table of Distances for Storage of Explosive Materials as Revised and Approved by the Institute of Makers of 
Explosives – June 1991
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Table 4-5-2 Table of Distance for the Storage of Low Explosives 

Quantity of Explosives (In Pounds) Distance in Feet 

Over Not Over From Inhabited Buildings 
From Public Railways 

and Highways 
From Above Ground 

Magazine 

0 1,000 75 75 50 
1,000 5,000 115 115 75 
5,000 10,000 150 150 100 

10,000 20,000 190 190 125 
20,000 30,000 215 215 145 
30,000 40,000 235 235 155 
40,000 50,000 250 250 165 
50,000 60,000 260 260 175 
60,000 70,000 270 270 185 
70,000 80,000 280 280 190 
80,000 90,000 295 295 195 
90,000 100,000 300 300 200 

100,000 200,000 375 375 250 
200,000 300,000 450 450 300 

Table: Department of Defense Ammunition and Explosives Standards, Table 5–4.1 Extract; 4145.27 M, March 
1969 

 

Table 4-5-3 Table of Separation Distances of Ammonium Nitrate and 
Blasting Agents from Explosives or Blasting Agents1,6 

Donor Weight Minimum Separation Distance of Acceptor when Barricaded2 (ft.) 

Pounds Over Pounds Not Over Ammonium Nitrate3 Blasting Agent4 
Minimum Thickness of 

Artificial Barricades5 (in.) 

 100 3 11 12 

100 300 4 14 12 

300 600 5 18 12 

600 1,000 6 22 12 

1,000 1,600 7 25 12 

1,600 2,000 8 29 12 

2,000 3,000 9 32 15 

3,000 4,000 10 36 15 

4,000 6,000 11 40 15 

6,000 8,000 12 43 20 

8,000 10,000 13 47 20 

10,000 12,000 14 50 20 

12,000 16,000 15 54 25 

16,000 20,000 16 58 25 

20,000 25,000 18 65 25 

25,000 30,000 19 68 30 

30,000 35,000 20 72 30 

35,000 40,000 21 76 30 

40,000 45,000 22 79 35 

45,000 50,000 23 83 35 

50,000 55,000 24 86 35 

55,000 60,000 25 90 35 

60,000 70,000 26 94 40 

70,000 80,000 28 101 40 

80,000 90,000 30 108 40 

90,000 100,000 32 115 40 

100,000 120,000 34 122 50 

120,000 140,000 37 133 50 

140,000 160,000 40 144 50 

160,000 180,000 44 158 50 

180,000 200,000 48 173 50 

200,000 220,000 52 187 60 

220,000 250,000 56 202 60 

250,000 275,000 60 216 60 

275,000 300,000 64 230 60 

Table: National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Official Standard No. 492, 1968  
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Explanatory Notes Essential to the Application of the American Table of Distances 
for Storage of Explosive Materials 

NOTE 1 “Explosive materials” means explosives, blasting agents and detonators. 

NOTE 2 “Explosives” means any chemical compound, mixture, or device, the primary or common 
purpose of which is to function by explosion. For quantity and distance purposes, 
detonating cord of 50 grains per foot should be calculated as equivalent to 8 lbs. of high 
explosives per 1,000 feet. Heavier or lighter core loads should be rated proportionately. 

NOTE 3 “Blasting agents” means any material or mixture, consisting of fuel and oxidizer, 
intended for blasting, not otherwise defined as an explosive provided that the finished 
product as mixed for use or shipment, cannot be detonated by means of a No.8 test 
blasting cap when unconfined. 

NOTE 4 “Detonator” means any device containing any initiating or primary explosive that is 
used for initiating detonation. A detonator may not contain more than 10 grams of total 
explosives by weight, excluding ignition or delay charges. The term includes, but is 
not limited to, electric blasting caps of instantaneous and delay types, electronic 
detonators, blasting caps for use with safety fuses, detonating cord delay connectors, 
and non-electric instantaneous and delay blasting caps which use detonating cord, shock 
tube, or any other replacement for electric leg wires. All types of detonators in strengths 
through No.8 cap should be rated at 1 1/2 lbs. of explosives per 1,000 caps. For 
strengths higher than No.8 cap consult the manufacturer. 

NOTE 5 “Magazine” means any building, structure, or container, other than an explosives 
manufacturing building, approved for the storage of explosive materials. 

NOTE 6 “Natural Barricade” means natural features of the ground such as hills, or timber of 
sufficient density that the surrounding exposures which require protection cannot be seen 
from the magazine when the trees are bare of leaves. 

NOTE 7 “Artificial Barricade” means an artificial mound or wall of earth of a minimum thickness of 
three feet. 

NOTE 8 “Barricaded” means the effective screening of a building containing explosive materials 
from the magazine or other building, railway, or highway by a natural or an artificial 
barrier. A straight line from the top of any sidewall of the building containing explosive 
materials to the eave line of any magazine or other building or to a point twelve feet above 
the center of a railway or highway shall pass through such barrier. 

NOTE 9 “Inhabited Building” means a building regularly occupied in whole or part as a 
habitation for human beings, or any church, schoolhouse, railroad station, store, or other 
structure where people are accustomed to assemble, except any building or structure 
occupied in connection with the manufacture, transportation, storage or use of explosive 
materials. 

NOTE 10 “Railway” means any steam, electric, or other railroad or railway which carries 
passengers for hire. 

NOTE 11 “Highway” means any public street, public alley, or public road. 
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NOTE 12 When two or more storage magazines are located on the same property, each 
magazine must comply with the minimum distances specified from inhabited buildings, 
railways and highways, and, in addition, they should be separated from each other by 
not less than the distances shown for “Separation of Magazines,” except that the 
quantity of explosive materials contained in detonator magazines shall govern in 
regard to the spacing of said detonator magazines from magazines containing other 
explosive materials. If any two or more magazines are separated from each other by less 
than the specified “Separation of Magazines” distances, then such two or more 
magazines, as a group, must be considered as one magazine, and the total quantity of 
explosive materials stored in such group must be treated as if stored in a single magazine 
located on the site of any magazine of the group, and must comply with the minimum of 
distances specified from other magazines, inhabited buildings, railways, and highways. 

NOTE 13 Storage in excess of 300,000 lbs. of explosive materials, in one magazine is 
generally not required for commercial enterprises. 

NOTE 14 This Table applies only to the manufacture and permanent storage of commercial 
explosive materials. It is not applicable to transportation of explosives or any handling or 
temporary storage necessary or incident thereto. It is not intended to apply to bombs, 
projectiles, or other heavily encased explosives. 

NOTE 15 When a manufacturing building on an explosive materials plant site is designed to 
contain explosive materials, such building shall be located from inhabited buildings, public 
highways and passenger railways in accordance with the American Table of Distances 
based on the maximum quantity of explosive materials permitted to be in the building at 
one time. 

 
 

American Table of Distances 

The American Table of Distances applies to the manufacture and permanent storage of commercial 
explosive materials. The distances specified are those measured from the explosive materials storage 
facility to the inhabited building, highway or passenger railway, irrespective of property lines. 
 
The American Table of Distances covers all commercial explosive materials, including, but not limited to, 
high explosives, blasting agents, detonators, initiating systems and explosives materials in process. The 
Table is not designed to be altered or adjusted to accommodate varying explosive characteristics such as 
blast effect, weight strength, density, bulk strength, detonation velocity, etc. 
 
The American Table of Distances should not be used to determine safe distances for blasting work, the 
firing of explosive charges for testing or quality control work, or the open detonation of waste explosive 
materials. The American Table of Distances may be utilized as a guide for developing distances for the 
unconfined, open burning of waste explosive materials where the probability of transition from burning to 
high order detonation is improbable. 
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Notes to Table of Recommended Separation Distances of Ammonium Nitrate and 

Blasting Agents from Explosives or Blasting Agents 

NOTE 1 Recommended separation distances to prevent explosion of ammonium nitrate and 
ammonium nitrate-based blasting agents by propagation from nearby stores of high 
explosives or blasting agents referred to in the Table as the “donor.” Ammonium nitrate, by 
itself, is not considered to be a donor when applying this Table. Ammonium nitrate, 
ammonium nitrate-fuel oil or combinations thereof are acceptors. If Stores of ammonium 
nitrate are located within the sympathetic detonation distance of explosives or blasting 
agents, one-half the mass of the ammonium nitrate should be included in the mass of the 
donor. 

NOTE 2 When the ammonium nitrate and/or blasting agent is not barricaded, the distances shown 
in the Table shall be multiplied by six. These distances allow for the possibility of high 
velocity metal fragments from mixers, hoppers, truck bodies, sheet metal structures, metal 
containers, and the like which may enclose the “donor.” Where storage is in bullet-
resistant magazines is recommended for explosives or where the storage is protected by a 
bullet-resistant wall, distances and barricade thicknesses in excess of those prescribed in 
the American Table of Distances are not required. 

NOTE 3 The distances in the Table apply to ammonium nitrate and ammonium nitrate based materials 
that show “negative” (-) result in the UN Test Series 2 Gap Test and show “positive” (+) 
result in the UN Test Series 1 Gap Test. Ammonium nitrate and ammonium nitrate based 
materials that are DOT hazard Class 1 sensitive shall be stored at separation distances 
determined by the American Table of Distances. 

NOTE 4 These distances apply to blasting agents which pass the insensitivity test prescribed in 
regulations of the U.S. Department of Transportation and the U.S. Department of the 
Treasury, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms. 

NOTE 5 Earth, or sand dikes, or enclosures filled with the prescribed minimum thickness of earth or 
sand are acceptable artificial barricades. Natural barricades, such as hills or timber of 
sufficient density that the surrounding exposures which require protection cannot be seen 
from the “donor” when the trees are bare of leaves, are also acceptable. 

NOTE 6 For determining the distances to be maintained from inhabited buildings, passenger railways, 
and public highways, use the American Table of Distances for Storage of Explosives 
Materials on pages 58 and 59. 

 *For construction of bullet-resistant magazines see Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, 
Department of the Treasury, Publication ATF P 5400.7 (9/00), ATF-Explosives Law and 
Regulations. 
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ARTICLE 5 TRANSPORTATION OF EXPLOSIVES 

Section 5-1 General Requirements 

(A) Transportation of explosives, blasting agents, and blasting supplies on public highways, railways, 
and airways shall be in accordance with the provisions of Title 42 Article 20 C.R.S. and any 
regulations promulgated pursuant thereto and Title 49 CFR Parts 171-179 and Parts 390-397, 
Motor Carriers. 

(B) Requirements for the transportation of explosives, blasting agents and blasting supplies by 
motorized vehicle or conveyance on job sites shall be: 

(1) No person shall smoke, carry matches or any other flame-producing device or carry firearms 
or loaded cartridges while in or near a motor vehicle or conveyance transporting explosives. 

(2) No person shall drive, load or unload a vehicle or conveyance transporting explosives in a 
careless or reckless manner. 

(3) Vehicles or conveyances transporting explosives, blasting agents or blasting supplies shall 
not be taken inside a garage or shop for repairs or servicing. 

(4) Vehicles or conveyances used for transporting explosives shall be equipped to carry the load 
without difficulty and shall be in good mechanical condition. 

(5) A motor vehicle or conveyance used for transporting explosives shall be given the following 
inspection prior to the transportation to determine that it is in proper condition for the safe 
transportation of explosives: 

(i) Fire extinguishers shall be filled and in proper working order; 

(ii) All electrical wiring shall be completely protected and securely fastened to prevent short-
circuiting; 

(iii) Chassis, motor, pan and underside of body shall be completely free of excess oil and 
grease; 

(iv) Fuel tank and fuel line shall be secure and have no leaks; 

(v) Brakes, lights, horn, windshield wipers and steering apparatus shall function properly; 

(vi) Tires shall be checked for proper inflation and defects; and 

(vii) The vehicle shall be in proper condition in every other respect and acceptable for 
handling explosives. 

(6) All vehicles or conveyances used for transporting explosives shall have tight floors, and any 
exposed spark-producing metal on the inside of the body shall be covered with wood or 
other non-sparking materials to prevent contact with packages of explosives. 

(7) Packages of explosives or blasting agents shall not be loaded above the sides of an open- 
body vehicle or conveyance. 

(8) Explosives shall not be transported with other materials or cargoes in the same 
compartment. In no case shall flammable materials be carried on the same vehicle as 
explosives, with the exception of desensitizing agents. 
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(9) Each vehicle or conveyance used for transportation of explosives shall be equipped with at  
least one charged fire extinguisher each with an extinguisher rating of at least 4-A:10B:C.  
Extinguishers shall be located where they will be accessible for immediate use. 

(10) Explosives shall be transferred from a disabled vehicle or conveyance to another vehicle or 
conveyance only when proper and qualified supervision is provided. Local fire departments 
and police departments shall be notified if a transfer occurs in a congested area. In remote 
areas, they shall be notified if appropriate. 

(11) A motorized vehicle or conveyance which contains explosives or detonators shall not be 
parked under any of the following circumstances: 

(i) On or within 5 feet of the traveled portion of a public street or highway; or  

(ii) Within 300 feet of a bridge, tunnel, building, or place where people work, assemble, or 
congregate, except for brief periods when the necessities of operation require the 
vehicle or conveyance to be parked and make it impracticable to park the vehicle or 
conveyance in any other place. 

(12) A motorized vehicle or conveyance transporting explosives, detonators, or blasting agents 
shall not be left unattended. 

(13) A motorized vehicle or conveyance shall be deemed attended only when the driver or other 
attendant is physically on or in the vehicle or conveyance, or has the vehicle or conveyance 
within the driver or attendant’s field of vision and can reach the vehicle or conveyance 
quickly and without any kind of interference; attended also means the driver or attendant is 
awake, alert, and not engaged in any other duties or activities which may divert his/her 
attention from the vehicle or conveyance. 

(14) Detonators may not be transported in the same vehicle or conveyance with other explosives 
unless: 

(i) The detonators and explosives are placed in separate locked Type 2 magazines secured 
within the body of the vehicle or conveyance; 

(ii) The detonators and explosives are placed in a suitable locked container and separated 
by 4 inches of hardwood and the detonators are totally enclosed or confined by the 
hardwood construction;  

(iii) The detonators and explosives are placed in separate locked containers or container 
compartments constructed in accordance with the Institute of Makers of Explosives 
Safety Library Publication No. 22, “IME Standard for the Safe Transportation of 
Detonators in a Vehicle with Other Explosives”; or 

(iv) The detonators and explosives are placed in separate locked Type 3 magazines. 

(C) Requirements for the transportation of explosives, blasting agents and blasting supplies to 
blasting areas by non-motorized means shall be: 

(1) Explosives and blasting agents shall be carried in day boxes, original containers or shall be 
placed in bags or containers that are water-resistant and constructed of non-sparking and 
nonconductive material. 

(2) Detonators shall be wrapped in suitable padding and carried in separate bags or containers 
from other explosives.
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ARTICLE 6 USE OF EXPLOSIVE MATERIALS 

Section 6-1 General Requirements 

(A) While explosives are being handled or used, smoking, matches or any other source of fire or 
flame shall not be within 50 feet of the blast site. 

(B) No person shall handle explosives while under the influence of intoxicating liquors, narcotics, or 
other dangerous drugs. This rule does not apply to persons taking prescription drugs and/or 
narcotics as directed by a physician providing such use shall not endanger the worker or others. 

(C) When blasting is done in populated or residential areas or in close proximity to a structure, 
railway, or highway or any other installation that may be damaged, the following precautions shall 
be taken: 

(1) The blast shall be covered, before firing, with a mat or material that is capable of preventing 
fragments from being thrown; 

(2) The blast shall be loaded in compliance with the Table of Scaled Distance (Table 6-10) or be 
monitored by a seismograph; and 

(3) All persons within the blast area shall be given reasonable notification prior to blasting 
operations and informed as to the type of warning signal that will be given prior to the blast. 

(D) Blasters conducting blasting operations shall take every reasonable precaution, including but not 
limited to warning signals, flags and barricades to insure the safety of the general public and 
workers. 

(E) Surface blasting operations shall be conducted during periods of daylight, when the blast area is 
clearly visible. Blasting operations conducted after periods of daylight shall be approved by the 
Division and local law enforcement agency prior to each blast. Approval shall only be granted if 
such approval serves the safety of the general public. 

(F) The blaster shall perform all required notification to and obtain all required permits from local 
jurisdictions or authorities, including, but not limited to, the County Sheriff, local fire districts and 
fire departments before beginning blasting operations. 

(G) Whenever blasting is being conducted in the vicinity of gas, electric, water, fire alarm, telephone, 
telegraph, steam utilities or transportation corridors, the blaster shall notify the appropriate 
transportation or utility representatives at least 24 hours in advance of blasting, specifying the 
location and intended time of such blasting. 

(H) The blaster shall suspend all blasting operations and remove all persons from the blast site 
during the approach and progress of an electrical storm. 

(I) No fire shall be fought where the fire is in imminent danger of contact with explosives. All 
employees shall be removed to a safe area and the fire area guarded against intruders. 

(J) Detonators or other explosives shall never be carried in pockets of clothing. 

(K) Detonators shall not be inserted in explosive materials that do not have a cap well without first 
making a hole in the cartridge with a non-sparking punch of proper size, or the appropriate 
pointed handle of a cap crimper. 
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(L) The detonator shall be secured within the primer so that no tension is placed on the leg wires, 
safety fuse, shock tube, plastic tubing or detonating cord at the point of entry into the detonator. 

(M) The detonator shall be fully inserted into the primer cartridge or booster and shall not protrude 
from the cartridge. 

(N) Cast primers and boosters shall not be used if the hole is too small for the detonator, and 
attempting to enlarge the hole in a cast primer or booster shall not be permissible. 

(O) Primers are not to be prepared in a magazine or near large quantities of explosive materials. 

(P) Explosives and blasting agents shall be kept separated from detonators until the charge is 
placed. 

(Q) Only non-sparking metallic slitters may be used for opening fiberboard cases. 

(R) Cartridges or packages of explosives showing signs of discoloration or deterioration must be 
carefully set aside and properly disposed of in accordance with manufacturer’s recommendations. 

(S) No explosive material shall be abandoned or left in any location for any reason, nor left in such a 
manner that they may easily be obtained by children or other unauthorized persons. All unused 
explosives shall be returned to proper storage facilities. 

(T) A record of each blast shall be kept. All records, including seismograph reports, shall be retained 
at least five years, be available for inspection by the Division, and contain at least the following 
minimum data, as applicable: 

(1) Person for whom blasting operations are conducted 

(2) Name, permit number, and signature of the blaster 

(3) Exact location or address of the blast, date and time of detonation 

(4) Type of material blasted 

(5) Number of holes, burden and spacing 

(6) Diameter and depth of holes 

(7) Types of explosives used 

(8) Amount and type of explosive loaded in each borehole or used in each charge 

(9) Total amount of each explosive used 

(10) Maximum amount of explosives and holes detonated within 8 milliseconds 

(11) Method of firing and type of circuit 

(12) Direction, distance in feet, and identification of the nearest dwelling, house, public building, 
school, church, commercial or institutional building neither owned nor leased by the person 
or company conducting the blasting 

(13) Weather conditions 

(14) Type and height or length of stemming 
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(15) A statement as to whether mats or protection against flyrock were used 

(16) Type of delay caps used and delay periods used 

(17) The person taking the seismograph reading shall accurately indicate exact location of the 
seismograph if used and shall show the distance of the seismograph from the blast 

(18) Seismograph records, where required, which shall include: 

(i) Name of person and firm analyzing the seismograph record; and 

(ii) Seismograph reading. 

(19) Sketch of blast pattern including number of holes, burden and spacing distance, delay 
pattern, and if decking is used, a hole profile. 

Section 6-2 Drilling and Loading 

(A) Procedures that permit safe and efficient loading shall be established before the loading of 
explosive materials is started. 

(B) All boreholes shall be sufficiently large to admit freely the insertion of the cartridges of explosives. 

(C) Tamping shall be done only with wooden rods or with approved plastic tamping poles without 
exposed metal parts, but non-sparking metal connectors may be used for jointed poles. Violent 
tamping shall be avoided. The primer shall never be tamped. 

(D) No boreholes shall be loaded except those to be fired in the next round of blasting. After loading, 
all remaining explosive materials shall be immediately returned to magazines or day boxes. 

(E) No explosives or blasting agents shall be left unattended on a blast site. 

(F) Drilling shall not be started until all remaining butts of old boreholes are examined for unexploded 
charges, and if any are found, they shall be refired or removed before work proceeds. 

(G) No person shall be allowed to deepen boreholes that have contained explosives or blasting 
agents. 

(H) Drilling shall not be conducted where there is a danger of intersecting a loaded borehole or 
misfired explosive material. 

(I) Equipment, machines and all tools not used for loading explosives into boreholes shall be 
removed from the immediate location of boreholes being loaded with explosives. Equipment shall 
not be operated within 50 feet of loaded boreholes except when equipment is needed to add 
cover or mats. 

(J) Loaded boreholes shall not be left unattended. 

(K) The Type I permittee shall maintain an accurate, up-to-date record of explosives, blasting agents 
and all blasting supplies used in a blast and shall keep an accurate running inventory of all 
explosives and blasting agents stored on the operation. 

(L) Pneumatic loading of blasting agents into blast holes primed with electric detonators or other 
static-sensitive initiation systems shall conform to the following requirements: 
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(1) A positive grounding device for the equipment shall be used to prevent the accumulation of 
static electricity. 

(2) A semi-conductive hose shall be used. 

(3) A qualified person shall evaluate all systems to assure that they will adequately dissipate 
static under potential field conditions. 

(M) Primers shall be made up immediately prior to placing the primer in the borehole. 

(N) Dropping or pushing a primer or any explosive with a lighted fuse attached into a borehole is 
prohibited. 

(O) Detonators shall not be loaded into a hot hole or exposed to temperatures above 150° F unless 
specifically designed and approved by the manufacturer for higher temperatures. 

Section 6-3 Electric Initiation of Blasts 

(A) Electric detonators may be used for blasting operations in congested districts, or on highways, or 
adjacent to highways open to traffic, except where sources of extraneous electricity make such 
use dangerous. 

(B) Electric detonator wires shall be kept short-circuited (shunted) until they are connected into the 
circuit for firing. 

(C) Signs shall be posted warning against the use of mobile radio transmitters on all adjacent 
highways and roads. 

(D) Mobile radio transmitters that are less than 100 feet away from electric detonators shall be de- 
energized and effectively locked when the detonators are not in the original containers. 

(E) Electric detonators shall be used in compliance with the recommendations of IME with regard to 
blasting in the vicinity of radio transmitters as stipulated in Safety Guide for the Prevention of 
Radio Frequency Radiation Hazards in the Use of Commercial Electric Detonators (Blasting 
Caps), IME Safety Library Publication No. 20, December 2011. 

(F) Precautions in accordance with the recommendations of IME with regard to blasting in the vicinity 
of radio transmitters as stipulated in Safety Guide for the Prevention of Radio Frequency 
Radiation Hazards in the Use of Commercial Electric Detonators (Blasting Caps), IME Safety 
Library Publication No. 20, December 2011 shall be taken to prevent accidental discharge of 
electric detonators from current induced by radar, cellular telephones, radio transmitters, battery 
contact, lightning, adjacent power lines, static electricity, dust storms, blowing snow or other 
sources of extraneous electricity. 

(G) Before adopting any system of electrical firing, the blaster shall conduct a thorough survey for 
extraneous currents, and all dangerous currents shall be eliminated before any holes are loaded. 

(H) In any single blast using electric detonators, all detonators shall be of the same style or function 
and be of the same manufacture. 

(I) Electric blasting shall be carried out by using blasting circuits or power circuits, in accordance 
with the electric detonator manufacturer’s recommendations. 

(J) The firing line shall be checked with an approved testing device at the terminals before being 
connected to the blasting machine or other power source. 
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(K) The circuit, including all detonators, shall be tested with an approved testing device before being 
connected to the firing line. 

(L) When firing a circuit of electric detonators, care shall be exercised to ensure that an adequate 
quantity of delivered current is available, in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendation. 

(M) Connecting wires and lead wires shall be insulated single solid wires of sufficient current- carrying 
capacity and shall not be less than #20 gauge (American wire gauge) solid core insulated wire. 

(N) Firing line or leading wires shall be solid single wires of sufficient current carrying capacity, and 
shall be not less than #14 gauge (American wire gauge) solid core insulated wire. Bus wires 
depend on the size of the blast, but #14 gauge (American wire gauge) copper is recommended. 

(O) The ends of lead wires which are to be connected to a firing device shall be shorted by twisting 
them together or otherwise connecting them before they are connected to the leg wires or 
connecting wires, and they shall be kept in the possession of the person who is doing the loading 
until loading is completed and the leg wires attached. Lead wires shall not be attached to the 
firing device until the blaster is ready to fire the shot and must be attached by the blaster. 

(P) The ends of the leg wires on electric detonators shall be shorted in a similar manner and not 
separated until all holes are loaded and the loader is ready to connect the leg wires to the 
connecting wires or lead wires. 

(Q) When firing electrically, the insulation on all firing lines shall be adequate and in good condition. 

(R) A power circuit used for firing electric detonators shall not be grounded. 

(S) When firing from a power circuit, the firing switch shall be locked in the open or “off” position at all 
times, except when firing. It shall be so designed that the firing lines to the cap circuit are 
automatically short-circuited when the switch is in the ‘off’ position. Keys to this switch shall be 
entrusted only to the blaster. 

(T) Blasting machines shall be in good condition and the efficiency of the machine shall be tested 
periodically to make certain that it can deliver power at its rated capacity. 

(U) When firing with blasting machines, the connections shall be made as recommended by the 
manufacturer of the electric detonators used. 

(V) The number of electric detonators connected to a blasting machine shall not be in excess of its 
rated capacity. A series or circuit shall contain no more detonators than the limits recommended 
by the manufacturer of the electric detonators in use. 

(W) The blaster shall be in charge of the blasting machines, and no other person shall connect the 
leading wires to the machine. 

(X) Blasters, when testing circuits to charged holes, shall use only blasting testers especially 
designed for this purpose. 

(Y) In electrical firing, only the person making leading wire connections shall fire the shot. All 
connections shall be made from the borehole back to the source of firing current, and the lead 
line wires shall remain shorted and not be connected to the blasting machine or other source of 
current until the charge is to be fired. 

(Z) After firing an electric blast from a blasting machine, the leading wires shall be immediately 
disconnected from the machine and short-circuited. 
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(AA) When electric detonators have been used, workers shall not return to misfired holes for at least 
thirty minutes. 

Section 6-4 Safety Fuse Initiation of Blasts 

(A) A safety fuse that is deteriorated or damaged in any way shall not be used. 

(B) The hanging of safety fuse on nails or other projections which will cause a sharp bend to be 
formed in the fuse is prohibited. 

(C) Before assembling fuse detonators and safety fuse, a short length shall be cut from the end of the 
supply reel so as to assure a fresh cut end in each fuse detonator. 

(D) Only cap crimpers specifically designed for the purpose of crimping caps shall be used for 
attaching fuse detonators to safety fuse. Crimpers shall be kept in good repair and accessible for 
use. 

(E) No fuse detonators and safety fuse shall be assembled, or primers made up, in any magazine or 
near any possible source of ignition or initiation. 

(F) The assembly of fuse detonators, safety fuse and making of primers shall only be done in a place 
selected for this purpose and at least 100 feet away from any storage magazine. 

(G) The burning rate of the safety fuse in use at any time shall be measured, posted in conspicuous 
locations, and brought to the attention of all workers concerned with blasting. 

(H) New rolls of fuse shall be tested for burn rate prior to use and all partial rolls shall be tested at 
least every 30 days. A record of the burn rate shall be kept by the permittee. 

(I) The length of safety fuse shall be in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations. In no 
case shall the length of fuse be less than 3 feet and shall not have a burn time of less than 120 
seconds at the time of initiation. 

(J) Lighting of safety fuse shall be done with hot wire lighters, pull-wire lighters, thermalite 
connectors, or igniter cord and thermalite connectors. 

(K) Matches, cigarette lighters, cigarettes, pipes, cigars or other unsafe means shall not be used to 
ignite safety fuse. 

(L) Igniters shall be used in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations and shall not be 
attached to a safety fuse until the charge is at the blast site and the crew is fully prepared to light 
the charge. 

(M) At least two persons shall be present when fuse detonator and safety fuse blasting is done by 
hand-lighting methods. 

(N) When blasting with safety fuses, consideration shall be given to the length and burning rate of the 
safety fuse and shall be used in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations. A 
sufficient time of not less than 120 seconds, with a margin of safety, shall always be provided for 
the blaster to reach a place of safety. 

(O) No more than 12 safety fuses shall be lit by each blaster when hand lighting devices are used. 
However, when two or more safety fuses in a group are lit as one by means of igniter cord or 
other similar fuse-lighting devices, they may be considered as one fuse. 



54 

(P) Fuse detonators and safety fuse shall not be used for firing mud cap charges unless charges are 
separated sufficiently to prevent one charge from dislodging other shots in the blast. 

(Q) Only sufficient primers for one day’s use shall be made up at a time. 

(R) Any loose cartridges of explosives, detonators, primers and assembled fuse detonators and 
safety fuse unused at the end of the shift shall be returned to their respective and separate 
magazines and locked up. 

(S) Safety fuse shall not be used in blasting operations in populated areas, public areas, on highways 
or adjacent to roads open to traffic. 

(T) When the fuse lighter has been ignited, the blaster shall assume initiation of the safety fuse has 
occurred. 

(U) If the safety fuse does not show evidence of initiation, the blaster shall not attempt any further 
initiation and retreat to a safe location for at least one hour. 

(V) When safety fuse is used, workers shall not return to a misfire for at least one hour. 

(W) If explosives are suspected of burning, all persons in the endangered area shall move to a safe 
location and no one shall return to the area for at least one hour after signs of burning have 
ceased. 

Section 6-5 Non-electric Initiation of Blasts 

(A) Blasters shall be familiar with and follow the manufacturer’s warnings and instructions, especially 
hook-up and safety precautions. 

(B) Operations shall be discontinued during the approach and progress of electrical storms. 

(C) Non-electric leads shall not be held during firing. 

(D) Primary initiators shall not be attached to the round or shot until after all the connections have 
been made and the blasting area has been cleared. 

(E) Non-electric delay connectors shall not be exposed to excessive impact, friction, flame, electrical 
discharge, static electricity or lightning. 

(F) Delay detonators shall not be disassembled from the plastic connector block, nor shall the delay 
detonators be used without the block. 

(G) Shock tube connections shall be at right angles to detonating cord. 

(H) Connections with other initiation devices shall be secured in a manner that provides for 
uninterrupted propagation. 

(I) Factory made units shall be used as assembled and shall not be cut except that a single splice is 
permitted on the lead-in trunkline during dry conditions. 

(J) No tool shall be used to pry on any component containing a detonator, nor shall any tool be used 
to open, fasten or clean out any connector containing a detonating device. 

(K) Care shall be taken to ensure that a vehicle is not driven over the tubing, connectors or any 
surface delay component. 
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(L) In multiple row blasts, the initiation system shall not be connected from row to row until all drilling 
and loading has been completed. In single row blasts, the components shall not be connected 
from hole to hole until all drilling and loading has been completed. 

(M) A safety line consisting of trunkline or other non-electric tubing shall be connected to the last hole 
in each row and shall extend beyond the area of cover in a covered or matted blast and shall be 
used to check for complete detonation of each row. 

(N) Before firing the shot, the blaster shall visually inspect and verify that all connections in the 
initiation system are made in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations. 

Section 6-6 Use of Detonating Cord 

(A) Care shall be taken to select a detonating cord consistent with the type and physical condition of 
the borehole and stemming and the type of explosives used. 

(B) Detonating cord shall be handled and used with the same respect and care given other 
explosives. 

(C) If using a detonating type cord for blasting, the double-trunkline or loop systems shall be used. 

(D) In multiple-row blasts, the trunkline layout shall be designed so that the detonation can reach 
each blast hole from at least two directions. 

(E) All detonating cord knots shall be tight and all connections shall be kept at right angles to the 
trunklines. 

(F) The line of detonating cord extending out of a borehole or from a charge shall be cut from the 
supply spool before loading the remainder of the bore hole or placing additional charges. 

(G) Detonating cord shall be handled and used with care to avoid damaging or severing the cord 
during and after loading and hooking-up. 

(H) Detonating cord connections shall be made in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommended 
methods. Knot-type or other cord-to-cord connections shall be made only with detonating cord in 
which the explosive core is dry. 

(I) Detonating cord shall be cut with a sharp knife, razor blade or cutters designed for use with 
detonating cord. Scissors or plier type cutters shall not be used. 

(J) All detonating cord trunklines and branch lines shall be free of loops, sharp kinks, or angles that 
direct the cord back toward the oncoming line of detonation. 

(K) All detonating cord connections shall be inspected before firing the blast. 

(L) When detonating cord millisecond-delay connectors or short-interval-delay electric detonators are 
used with detonating cord, the practice shall conform strictly to the manufacturer’s 
recommendations. 

(M) When connecting a detonator to detonating cord, the detonator shall be taped or otherwise 
attached securely along the side or the end of the detonating cord, with the end of the detonator 
containing the explosive charge pointed in the direction in which the detonation is to proceed. 

(N) When initiating detonating cord with fuse detonators and safety fuse, two fuse detonators shall be 
required. 
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(O) Detonators for firing the trunkline shall not be brought to the loading area nor attached to the 
detonating cord until the area has been cleared for the blast. 

Section 6-7 Electronic Initiation of Blasts 

(A) Permittees shall be trained in the manufacturer’s procedures for use of electronic detonators and 
shall follow the manufacturer’s warnings and instructions, especially hook-up and safety 
precautions. 

(B) Test equipment and blasting machines designed for use with electric detonators shall not be used 
with electronic detonators. 

(C) Manufacturer’s recommended practices shall be followed to protect electronic detonators from 
electromagnetic, radio frequency or other electrical interference sources. 

(D) Electronic detonators shall only be fired with the equipment and procedures recommended by the 
manufacturer. 

(E) Electric detonators and electronic detonators shall not be used in the same blast, even when 
made by the same manufacturer, unless the manufacturer approves such use. 

(F) Test equipment and blasting machines that are designed for electronic detonators shall not be 
used with electric detonators. 

(G) Electronic detonator wires, connectors, coupling devices, shock tube or other components shall 
be protected from mechanical abuse and damage. 

(H) Electronic detonators of different types and/or versions shall not be used in the same blast, even 
if made by the same manufacturer, unless such use is approved by the manufacturer. 

(I) Equipment or electronic detonators that appear to be damaged or poorly maintained shall not be 
used. 

(J) Only blasting machines, testers, or instruments that are specifically designed for the electronic 
detonator system shall be used. 

(K) Never mix or use electronic detonators and equipment made by different manufacturers. 

(L) The handling or use of electronic detonators shall be discontinued during the approach and 
progress of an electrical storm. Personnel must be withdrawn from the blast area and moved to a 
safe location. 

(M) Electronic detonator systems shall not be exposed to or used in operational temperature and 
pressure ranges outside those specified by the manufacturer. 

(N) Electronic detonators shall never be tested or programmed in a booster, cartridge or other 
explosive component (primer assembly) before it has been deployed in the borehole or otherwise 
loaded for final use. 

(O) An electronic detonator shall not be held while it is being tested or programmed. 

 

Section 6-8 Firing the Blast 
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(A) It shall be the duty of the blaster to determine the time of blasting. The blaster shall conduct all 
blasting operations and no shot shall be fired without the blaster’s presence and approval. 

(B) All blasting in congested areas or in close proximity to a structure, railway, highway or any other 
installation where the blasting may cause injury or damage by flying rock shall be covered with 
blasting mats or other protective material before firing. 

(C) All persons within the blasting area shall be notified of the time of the blast and moved to a safe 
distance or under sufficient cover. Guards shall be posted to prevent entry into the blast area. 

(D) All surplus explosive materials shall be removed to a safe location before blasting. 

(E) Flaggers shall be safely posted on highways that pass through the danger zone so as to stop 
traffic during blasting operations. 

(F) Guards shall be posted around the perimeter of the blasting area to prevent unauthorized entry 
into the blast area. Either visual or verbal communication must be possible between guards. 

(G) Before the blast is fired, the warning signal shall be given by the blaster in charge or the individual 
designated by the blaster in charge. 

(H) An inspection of the blast area to determine if all charges have detonated shall be done by the 
blaster before guards and flaggers are cleared by the blaster to leave their posts. 

Section 6-9 Misfires 

(A) The blaster shall provide proper safeguards for excluding all unauthorized persons from the 
danger zone if a misfire is found. 

(B) No other work shall be performed except what is necessary to remove the hazard of the misfire 
and only those employees necessary to perform the work shall remain in the danger zone. 

(C) Explosives shall not be extracted from a hole that has misfired unless it is impossible or 
hazardous to detonate any unexploded explosive materials by insertion of an additional primer. 

(D) If there are any misfires while using fuse detonators and safety fuse, all employees shall remain 
away from the charge for at least one hour. Misfires shall be handled under the direction of the 
person in charge of the blasting. All fuses shall be carefully traced and a search made for the 
unexploded charges. 

(E) When electric detonators have been used, workers shall not return to the blast area for at least 30 
minutes unless the manufacturer recommends additional time before returning to the blast area. 
All wires shall be carefully traced and a search made for unexploded charges. 

(F) When a completely non-electric initiation system, other than safety fuse, has been used, all 
employees shall remain away from the blast area for at least 15 minutes. All shock tubes shall be 
traced and a search made for unexploded charges. 

(G) When electronic detonators have been used, workers shall not return to the blast area for at least 
30 minutes unless the manufacturer recommends additional time before returning to the blast 
area. 

(H) If explosives are suspected of burning in a hole, all persons in the endangered area shall move to 
a safe location and no one shall return to the hole for at least one hour after evidence of 
combustion ceases. 
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(I) No drilling, digging or picking shall be permitted until all missed holes have been detonated or the 
blaster in charge has approved that work can proceed. 

(J) Explosive materials recovered from misfires shall not be reused and shall be disposed of in the 
manner recommended by the manufacturer. 

Section 6-10 Blasting Vibration and Air Over-Pressure Standards 

(A) In all blasting operations, blasters shall use one of the following methods to monitor or control the 
intensity of motion in the ground at the nearest dwelling, house, school, church, commercial or 
occupied building. These limits do not apply to property owned, leased or contracted by the 
blaster’s company or property on which the owner provides a voluntary written waiver from these 
restrictions. 

(1) Option 1 - Frequency Versus Particle Velocity graph. A blasting operation shall have the option to 
use the graph shown in Figure 6-10 to limit peak particle velocity based upon the frequency of the 
blast vibration. Allowable vibrations fall below the limits indicated by the central lines; non-
allowable vibrationsNon-Allowable Vibrations lie above the lines. Seismographs shall meet the 
following requirements: 

(i) Monitoring instruments shall have a flat frequency response between 2 and 250Hz for 
particle velocity. 

(ii) The digitizing sampling rate for peak particle measurements shall be at least 1,024 
samples per second. 

(iii) Seismographs shall be capable of performing a self-test of velocity transducers and 
printed event records shall indicate whether or not the sensor test was successful. 

(iv) Monitoring instruments shall be capable of recording particle velocities with intensities 
ranging from 0.02 to 5.0 inches per second. 

(v) Monitoring systems shall be calibrated by a service center approved by the manufacturer 
within at least two years of the time of use. Certificates documenting date of 
calibration, issued by the approved service center, shall be kept by the user. 

(vi) Monitoring systems shall be capable of printing hard-copy reports showing the date and 
time of monitoring, the maximum peak particle velocity (PPV) measurements, and 
plotted PPV-time waveform plots. 

(vii) For all blasts with a scaled distance less than 100 ft/lb0.5, seismographs monitoring 
motion shall be set to trigger at a level of 0.05 in/s.  

The following equation shall be applied when calculating the scaled distance. 
 

 
 

Where:  Ds = Scaled distance (ft/lb0.5) 

  D = Distance to the nearest structure (ft) 

W = Maximum weight of explosive detonated within any 8 
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millisecond window (lb) 

(viii) Vibration analysis results must be presented in comparison with the RI 8507, adopted 
by United States Bureau of Mines (USBM) and as shown in Figure 6-10. 

(ix) If a valid vibration record showing compliance with the MAPV limits shown in figure 6-10 
is not available for inspection, the maximum charge weight per delay (W) must 
conform to the scaled distance limitations as prescribed in Option 2. 

FIGURE 6-10 

Option 1: Particle Velocity Versus Frequency 

 

Table: U.S. Bureau of Mines RI 8507, 2009 

 

(2) Option 2 Scaled Distance – when seismic monitoring is not performed, the maximum weight 
of the explosive detonating within any 8-millisecond time period shall not exceed the amount 
allowed by a calculation using the scaled distance factors given in Scaled Distance column 
of Table 6-10. 

The following equation shall be applied when utilizing the scaled distance calculations to 
control blast-induced vibration. 
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Where:  Ds = Scaled distance (ft/lb0.5) 

  D = Distance to the nearest structure (ft) 

  W = Weight of explosive detonated within any 8 millisecond window (lb) 

 

Example Maximum Charge Weight per Delay (W) Calculation: 

Given:  Ds = 55 (ft/lb0.5) 

  D = 500 ft. 

therefore 

  W = (500 / 55)2 = 82.6 lb 

 

Table 6-10 Blasting Vibration and Air Over-Pressure Standards 

Distance 
From Blast (Ft) 

Option 2 
Scaled Distance Factor 

Units Are Ft/Lb0.5 

0 to 300 50 

301 to 5000 55 

5001 and Greater 65 

 
 
 

(B) Air over-pressure (air blast) limitation: Air over-pressure at the nearest dwelling house, school, 
church, or otherwise occupied buildings shall not exceed 133 dB (0.0129 psi). Measuring air over-
pressure is not required for all blasting operations. However, due to complaints or other 
circumstances, the Division may require blasters to monitor air over-pressure. All instruments 
used to measure air over-pressure compliance shall: 

(1) Employ linear microphones with a flat frequency response between 2 and 200 Hz 

(2) Have a digital sampling rate of at least 1024 samples per second; and 

(3) Be capable of measuring air over-pressure from 120 to 140 dB-Linear (0.0029 to 0.029 psi).   
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ARTICLE 7 AVALANCHE MITIGATION 

Section 7-1 General Requirements 

(A) The use of explosives and blasting agents for avalanche mitigation shall comply with this article 
unless explosives are used in compliance with Article 6. 

(B) The requirements of this article shall only be applicable to the use of explosives for avalanche 
mitigation. The use of explosives for other purposes, such as demolition, site clearing or 
construction shall be in compliance with Article 6. 

(C) Explosives and blasting agents shall not be stored, kept, assembled, combined to form armed 
charges, or had in any inhabited areas, structures or buildings except in compliance with this 
Article or Article 4. 

(D) Only blasters shall supervise the assembly, arming of explosive components, and detonation of 
explosive charges. 

(E) Each avalanche mitigation blasting crew or team shall consist of a blaster and at least one 
assistant trained as applicable per Section 7-2. The crew may consist of two blasters, but only 
one shall act as the blaster in charge. 

(F) Untrained personnel may accompany the blasting crew for training purposes but shall only 
participate in actual firing of charges for completion of training in accordance with Section 7-
2(B)(1)(iii)(a)(3). 

(G) The blaster in charge of each crew or team shall be responsible for all decisions made regarding 
preparation and placement of charges. 

(H) Blasting operations shall be conducted during periods of daylight with personnel guarding the 
area, or when the area has been closed. Nighttime blasting operations shall be approved by the 
Division, and approval shall only be granted if such approval serves the safety of the general 
public. 

(I) The blaster in charge shall pre-plan the escape route and all crew members shall understand the 
plan before initiating the charge. 

(J) No person shall accept or be given a job assignment that is beyond the individual’s ability, 
training, or qualifications. 

(K) Cold temperatures, high winds, and heavy snowfall are conditions that should be anticipated in 
avalanche mitigation blasting. These conditions shall be considered in determining a person’s 
physical ability, training, and qualifications for conducting safe blasting operations and in the 
management of safe blasting operations. 

(L) Operations utilizing hanging or dangling charges must have a hang cord entanglement safety 
procedure.   

Section 7-2 Training Requirements 

(A) Type II Avalanche Mitigation permit applicants shall submit a training program for personnel 
involved in the use, storage and transportation of explosives to the Division. The Division shall 
approve the training program prior to issuance of the permit. 

(B) The training program shall include at least the following for each personnel type: 
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(1) Blaster in Training: 

(i) A minimum of 8 hours of classroom education and a written examination to include the 
following: 

(a) Explosives Regulations of the Division 

(b) Explosives Regulations of the Division and federal requirements for the storage 
of explosives and magazine locations, inventory procedures, and magazine 
access 

(c) Safety procedures for explosives and blasting agents used within the company, 
including the properties and classification of each type of explosive, and 
consequences of the unsafe use of explosives 

(d) Explosives Regulations of the Division for preparing, handling, and using hand 
charges to include: 

(1) Hand charge assembly procedures for both field arming and make-up room 
arming; 

(2) Crimping procedures; 

(3) Transportation to blast site by skiing or aerial tramways for both field armed 
charges and make-up room armed charges; 

(4) Use of igniters and determining successful initiation of fuse; 

(5) Misfire procedures; 

(6) Procedures for clearing and guarding the blasting area; and 

(7) Deployment of initiated hand charges. 

(e) Hazard training for cornice control operations  

(f) Hang cord entanglement safety procedures 

(g) Hazard training for avalauncher operations 

(h) Record keeping procedures, including: 

(1) Records of transactions; 

(2) Explosive inventory record keeping; 

(3) Explosive use and route log record keeping; and 

(4) Misfire documentation. 

(ii) Simulated Field Training for Hand Charges 

(a) During weather conditions typical to avalanche mitigation and under the 
supervision of a blaster, the trainee shall: 

(1) Attend demonstration with simulated components; 
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(2) Attach igniters to fuse without a detonator and successfully ignite fuse not 
less than 5 times; 

(3) Attach igniters to fuse without a detonator and twice simulate an 
unsuccessful attempt to light the fuse and follow the procedures for a 
misfire; 

(4) Attach igniters to fuse with a detonator and successfully ignite and deploy 
the detonator and fuse assembly not less than 5 times; and 

(5) When training occurs at operations not utilizing a pre-manufactured 
detonator and safety fuse assembly, assemble detonator and fuse, attach 
igniters to fuse with detonator and successfully initiate and deploy the 
detonator and fuse assembly not less than 5 times. 

(iii) Field Experience Training for Hand Charges 

(a) Under the supervision of a blaster, the trainee shall: 

(1) Accompany a blasting crew on 5 routes or the deployment of not less than 
20 charges as an observer; 

(2) Accompany a blaster, as an assistant only, for the initiation and deployment 
of not less than 20 charges; and 

(3) Accompany a blaster and initiate and deploy not less than 20 charges under 
the direct supervision of the blaster. 

(iv) Avalauncher Operator 

(a) Trainee shall complete 8 hours classroom and field training before becoming an 
avalauncher operator. This training shall include: 

(1) Operating instructions for each type of avalauncher used; 

(2) Procedures on performing preventive maintenance inspections; 

(3) Procedures on assembly of charges; 

(4) Procedures for checking the elevation, aiming, and pressure settings of the 
avalauncher; 

(5) Procedures for test firing the avalauncher; 

(6) Procedures for loading charges in the avalauncher; 

(7) Procedures for clearing and guarding the target area; 

(8) Emergency procedures; and 

(9) Requirements for securing the equipment. 

(b) Qualifications for avalauncher operator shall be: 

(1) One year experience as a blaster in charge; 
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(2) Must have assisted on the avalauncher crew not less than five times; and 

(3) Must load and fire the avalauncher under the supervision of a qualified 
operator not less than 10 times. 

(2) Howitzer Operator 

(i) All Howitzer operations shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of The 
Avalanche Artillery Users of North America Committee (AAUNAC) Standard (Revised 
May 16, 2012). 

(3) Requirements for Annual Refresher Training 

(i) All blasters shall attend a minimum of 4 hours of refresher training at the beginning of 
each season. 

(a) Classroom training shall include: 

(1) Review of operation techniques such as throwing techniques, air blasting, 
dangling charges, hang cord entanglement safety procedures, cornice 
blasting, avalauncher and howitzer procedures; 

(2) Review of assembly and transportation procedures; and 

(3) Review of snow safety program. 

(b) Field training shall include: 

(1) Review of initiation techniques; 

(2) Review of misfire procedures; and 

(3) A walk through of storage and make-up facilities. 

(ii) Annual refresher training may count towards the 16-hour requirement of Section 3.6(N) of 
these rules when the refresher training program is specifically approved by the 
Division. 

Section 7-3 Make-up Room Requirements 

(A) Location of Make-up Rooms 

(1) Make-up rooms shall not be located in buildings or structures that are at any time open to 
the public. 

(B) Construction of Make-up Rooms 

(1) The interior of the make-up room shall be finished and equipped to the following minimum 
standards: 

(i) Walls shall be constructed of, or covered with, a non-sparking material. Nails or screws 
shall be countersunk, blind nailed or covered; 

(ii) Floors shall be constructed of, or covered with, a non-sparking material; 

(iii) The building and make-up room shall be well ventilated, and the ventilation system shall 
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discharge to the outside from the make-up room; 

(iv) The make-up table shall be constructed of non-sparking, nonconductive material; and 

(v) The make-up table shall be located away from the area where explosives are kept before 
and after assembly. 

(2) The building in which the make-up room is located shall be theft-resistant and secured by at 
least one steel padlock having at least 5 tumblers and a case hardened shackle at least 3/8-
inch in diameter. The door shall have hinges and hasps attached so that they cannot be 
removed from the outside when in the closed position with the lock in place. 

(C) Make-up Room Restrictions 

(1) Heating units shall be explosion proof, dust-proof and not depend on a combustion process 
when properly designed and located. National Electric Code-rated explosion-proof and dust-
proof heating units may be located inside make-up rooms. 

(2) Temperature control devices must be sufficiently designed to prevent overheating of make-
up rooms where explosives are stored. 

(3) Lighting fixtures shall be National Electric Code explosion-proof rated fixtures and all wiring 
shall be in sealed conduit. 

(4) Electric control switches shall be located outside the make-up room. 

(5) Electrical outlet boxes are not permissible inside the make-up room. 

(6) Smoking, matches, open flames or flame or spark producing devices shall not be permitted 
inside the make-up room. 

(7) Flammable liquids or flammable compressed gases shall not be stored or had in the make-
up room. 

(8) Occupancy of the make-up room shall be restricted to authorized and trained personnel 
when explosives are present. 

(9) A make-up room shall not be used for the unattended storage of armed charges. 

(10) Explosives stored inside the make-up room must be stored in at least a Type 2 storage 
magazine suitable for indoor storage. 

(D) Make-up Room Housekeeping 

(1) The make-up room shall be kept clean and orderly. 

(2) Metal tools shall not be used or stored in the make-up room. 

(3) Brooms used in the make-up room shall be made of non-sparking materials. 

(4) Sweepings and empty explosive material containers shall be disposed of as recommended 
by the manufacturer. 

(5) The make-up room shall be cleaned and all explosives materials shall be removed before 
any repairs are made to the make-up room. 
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(6) The make-up table or bench shall be cleaned regularly and shall be kept free of any 
materials or tools not used in the assembly of the charges. 

Section 7-4 Use of Explosives 

(A) General Requirements 

(1) While explosives are being handled or used, smoking, matches, or any other source of fire 
or flame shall not be within 50 feet of the blast site. 

(2) No person shall handle explosives while under the influence of intoxicating liquors, narcotics 
or other controlled substances. This rule does not apply to persons taking prescription drugs 
and/or narcotics as directed by a physician, providing such use shall not influence the 
blaster’s ability to conduct safe blasting operations. 

(3) Blasters conducting blasting operations shall take every reasonable precaution, including but 
not limited to warning signals, flags and barricades to insure the safety of the general public 
and workers. 

(4) The blaster shall suspend all blasting operations and remove all persons from the blast site 
during the approach and progress of an electrical storm. 

(5) No fire shall be fought where the fire is in imminent danger of contact with explosives. All 
employees shall be removed to a safe area and the fire area guarded against intruders. 

(B) Explosives 

(1) Explosives shall have a shelf life of at least 1 operating season in the storage facilities in 
which they will be stored. 

(2) Blasting caps must be at least a No. 6 cap and no larger than a No. 8 cap except when 
recommended by the explosives manufacturer for a particular explosive used within a 
specific application. 

(3) Detonator and safety fuse assemblies manufactured with thermalite connectors shall not be 
used for avalanche mitigation operations. 

(4) Detonating cord used for initiating primers must be at least a 25-grain cord. 

(5) Explosive materials chosen must have excellent water resistance and be capable of 
detonation in cold temperatures. 

(6) Explosive materials that are damaged, show signs of deterioration, or have misfired shall not 
be used. 

(7) Detonators and other explosive materials, with the exception of fuse igniters, shall never be 
carried in pockets of clothing. 

(8) Should cartridges or packages of explosive materials show signs of discoloration or 
deterioration, such explosive materials must be carefully set aside and properly disposed of 
according to the manufacturer’s recommendations. 

(9) Only non-sparking metallic slitters may be used for opening fiberboard cases. 

(10) No explosive material shall be abandoned or left in any location for any reason, nor left in 
such a manner that they may easily be obtained by children or other unauthorized persons. 
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All unused explosives shall be returned to the proper storage facilities. 

(11) A record of each blast shall be completed and signed by the Type I permittee acting as the 
blaster in charge. All records shall be retained at least five years, shall be available for 
inspection by the Division, and shall contain at least the following data: 

(i) Name of company or contractor; 

(ii) Date, time and location of route; 

(iii) Name, permit number and signature of blaster-in-charge of the route; 

(iv) Number of charges used on each route; 

(v) Names of employees on each route; 

(vi) Types of explosives used; 

(vii) Total amount of each explosive received and used; 

(viii) Method of initiation; 

(ix) Type of blasting (hand charge, cornice control, avalauncher); 

(x) Weather conditions; and 

(xi) Statement noting any misfires, the location of misfires, steps taken to recover or refire 
any misfires, and the date the misfire was found and disposed of. 

(C) Hand Charges 

(1) Safety Fuse 

(i) Safety fuse that is deteriorated or damaged in any way shall not be used. 

(ii) The hanging of safety fuse on nails or other projections which will cause a sharp bend to 
be formed in the fuse is prohibited. 

(iii) Pre-manufactured detonator and fuse assemblies shall be used in accordance with the 
manufacturer’s requirements. 

(iv) Before assembling fuse detonators and safety fuse, a minimum of 1 inch shall be cut 
from the end of the supply reel so as to assure a fresh cut end in each fuse detonator. 

(v) The burning rate of the safety fuse in use at any time shall be measured, posted in 
conspicuous locations, and brought to the attention of all workers concerned with 
blasting. 

(vi) New rolls of safety fuse shall be tested for burn rate prior to use and all partial rolls shall 
be tested at least every 30 days. A record of the burn rate shall be kept by the Type II 
permittee. 

(vii) Only a bench or hand-held cap crimpers designed for the purpose of crimping fuse 
detonators shall be used for attaching fuse detonators to safety fuse. Crimpers shall 
be kept in good repair and accessible for use. 



68 

(viii) No fuse detonators and fuse shall be assembled, or primers made up, in any 
magazine or near any possible source of initiation. 

(ix) Assembly of fuse detonators and safety fuse and pre-arming of charges shall only be 
done in a warm, dry, well-lit make-up room. 

(x) Any loose cartridges of explosives, detonators, and assembled fuse detonators and 
safety fuse unused at the end of the shift shall be returned to their respective and 
separate magazines and locked up. 

(xi) Detonators, fuse detonator and fuse assemblies, armed charges or safety fuse igniters 
shall not be carried into nor stored in any magazine containing cartridge high 
explosives. 

(xii) Detonators shall not be inserted in the explosives without first making a hole in the 
cartridge of proper size using a tool designed for that purpose. 

(2) Arming of Charges With Detonators 

(i) Cast primers and boosters shall not be used if the hole is too small for the detonator, and 
attempting to enlarge the hole in a cast primer or booster shall not be permissible. 

(ii) The detonator shall be secured within the primer so that no tension is placed on the 
safety fuse at the point of entry into the detonator. 

(iii) The detonator shall be fully inserted into the primer cartridge or booster and shall not 
protrude from the cartridge. 

(iv) After the fuse detonator and safety fuse assembly is inserted, the explosive contains a 
sensitive detonator and is then vulnerable to premature detonation, therefore delaying 
the arming of a charge until just before tossing the charge should be standard 
procedure when wind and/or temperatures are not severe. 

(v) When arming the charge at the blast site the blaster shall: 

(a) Insure that the fuse detonator is installed on the correct length of fuse prior to 
transporting to blast sites; 

(b) Place detonators in adequate protective padding or shields before placing in 
approved avalanche mitigation packs; 

(c) Place detonators and explosives in separate approved avalanche mitigation 
packs while transporting to the blast site; 

(d) Safety fuse igniters shall not be placed inside the pack when it contains 
explosives or detonators, but shall be carried in a separate pack; 

(e) Insure that the detonator is secured to the charge before attaching fuse igniter. 

(vi) Depending on weather condition, the charges may be armed in a make-up room as 
follows: 

(a) All fuse detonators shall be installed on the required length of safety fuse before 
the explosive cartridges or primers are brought to the make-up area; 

(b) Fuse detonator and safety fuse assemblies shall be secured correctly to each 
type of explosive charge being used; 
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(c) Fuse detonator and safety fuse assemblies shall not be attached to explosive 
charges until just before the time of distribution to patrol personnel; 

(d) Each hand charge shall be placed in an area separate from the assembly area 
immediately after assembly is completed; and 

(e) Distribution of hand charges into approved mitigation packs shall take place 
away from the assembly area. 

(3) Initiation of Hand Charges 

(i) The length of safety fuse shall be in accordance with manufacturer’s recommendations, 
and shall be 3 feet in length or have a burn time of not less 120 seconds at the time of 
initiation. 

(ii) The lighting of fuse shall be done with hot-wire lighters or pull-wire lighters. 

(iii) Matches, cigarette lighters, cigarettes, pipes, cigars or other unsafe means shall not be 
used to ignite fuse. 

(iv) Igniters shall be used in accordance with manufacturer’s recommendations and shall not 
be attached to a safety fuse until the charge is at the blast site and the crew is fully 
prepared to initiate the charge. 

(v) At least two persons shall be present when fuse detonators and safety fuse blasting is 
done by hand lighting methods. 

(vi) When blasting with safety fuses, consideration shall be given to the length and burning 
rate of the safety fuse, and safety fuse shall be used in accordance with 
manufacturer’s recommendations. A sufficient time of not less than 120 seconds, with 
a margin of safety, shall always be provided for the blaster to reach a place of safety. 

(vii) When the fuse lighter has been placed on the fuse, the blaster shall assume initiation 
of the safety fuse has occurred.  

(viii) If the safety fuse does not show evidence of initiation after the fuse lighter has been 
ignited, the blaster shall not attempt any further initiation of the charge but adequately 
mark the charge and retreat with the blasting crew to a safe distance for not less than 
1 hour. 

(ix) After waiting at least 1 hour, the blaster shall: 

(a) Determine that initiation failed and ignite the uninitiated charge; or 

(b) Determine that the initiation was successful and dispose of the misfired explosive 
charge with a secondary charge. 

(4) Use of Detonating Cord 

(i) Detonating cord shall be handled and used with the same respect and care given other 
explosives. 

(ii) All detonating cord knots shall be tight and all connections shall be kept at right angles. 

(iii) Detonating cord shall be handled and used with care to avoid damaging or severing the 
cord. 
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(iv) Detonating cord connections shall be made in accordance with approved and 
recommended methods. Knot-type or other cord-to-cord connections shall be made 
only with detonating cord in which the explosive core is dry. 

(v) Detonating cord shall be cut with a sharp knife, razor blade, or cutters designed for use 
with detonating cord. Scissors or plier type cutters shall not be used. 

(vi) All detonating cord connections shall be inspected before firing the blast. 

(vii) When connecting a detonator to detonating cord, the detonator shall be taped or 
otherwise attached securely along the side of the end of the detonating cord with the 
end of the detonator containing the explosive charge pointed in the direction in which 
the detonation is to proceed. 

(viii) Two fuse detonators shall be required for the initiation of detonating cord with fuse 
detonator and safety fuse. 

(ix) Detonators shall not be attached to the detonating cord until the area has been cleared 
for the blast. 

(5) Avalanche Mitigation Packs 

(i) Mitigation packs shall be constructed of material that is water-resistant, non-sparking and 
non-conductive. 

(ii) Mitigation packs shall have sufficient individual compartments to separate hand charges 
or explosive components from tools or other equipment or supplies that may be 
carried in the pack. 

(iii) Tools or other equipment shall not be placed in compartments containing explosives. 

(iv) Each compartment used for hand charges or explosive components shall have an 
independent means of closure. 

(v) Mitigation packs shall be inspected daily for holes, faulty compartments or closures and 
explosive residue. Packs shall not be used until adequately repaired or cleaned. 

(vi) Mitigation packs shall not be left unattended, or used for storing explosives. All explosive 
material shall be returned to the approved storage facility at the end of individual 
mitigation routes. 

(vii) Individual mitigation team members shall not carry more than 35 pounds of explosives 
material in avalanche mitigation packs. 

(D) Avalauncher and Launcher 

(1) All personnel assigned to work on an avalauncher or launcher crew shall be trained in the 
following: 

(i) All operating instructions; 

(ii) Safety precautions; 

(iii) Emergency procedures; and 

(iv) Securing requirements for equipment. 
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(2) All equipment shall be in good working condition and maintained as recommended by the 
manufacturer. 

(3) The components of projectile assemblies shall not be interchanged and shall be assembled 
and used in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions. 

(4) All projectiles shall be inspected before transporting them to the firing location. Such 
inspection shall include: 

(i) Cast explosives for cracks, dents, fractures and smooth nose surface; 

(ii) Cap wells should be clear of obstructions and debris and centered and straight for proper 
alignment of the cap; and 

(iii) Fin assembly should be inspected for properly-functioning components and safety items, 
including pressures plate, pressure plate arming wire, bore rider pin, safety pin, 
magnet and firing pin. 

(5) Defective projectiles shall not be used and shall be disposed of or returned to the 
manufacturer. 

(6) Safety devices or components shall not be removed. 

(7) If explosives are not at least 20 feet from the avalauncher/launcher during firing procedures, 
they shall be kept in a closed Type 3 magazine. 

(8) The transport safety pin shall not be removed until just prior to inserting the projectile into the 
barrel. 

(9) Avalaunchers/Launchers must be fired with compressed nitrogen gas only. 

(10) Avalaunchers/Launchers shall be connected to the compressed nitrogen source through a 
satisfactory pressure regulator. 

(11) The pressure regulator shall be set to limit the launch pressure to the maximum 
recommended by the manufacturer. 

(12) The first round fired in a mitigation mission shall be a test fire to test the proper functioning of 
the launcher without a projectile. 

(13) The blaster in charge, trained assistants, and blasters in training shall be the only personnel 
within 100 feet of the avalauncher/launcher during loading and firing. 

(E) Misfires 

(1) An explosive charge or any part of an explosive charge that fails to detonate after initiation 
shall be considered a misfire. 

(2) If a misfire occurs, the blaster shall note the location of the misfired explosive and shall not 
approach the misfired explosive for at least 1 hour. 

(3) Explosives which are aflame or emitting smoke shall not be approached for at least 1 hour 
after evidence of combustion ceases. 

(4) The area shall remain guarded or closed until a search of the area has been done and the 
misfire hazard is removed or the blaster-in-charge pronounces the area safe. 
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(5) Misfires shall be handled by the blaster-in-charge and only those employees necessary to 
remove the hazard and the area shall remain guarded.  

(6) Impact to explosive materials shall be avoided when searching for nonvisible misfired 
charges. 

(7) A misfired armed charge shall be disposed of where it is found with a secondary charge. 

Section 7-5 Transportation 

(A) Transportation of explosives, blasting agents, and blasting supplies on public highways, railways, 
and airways shall be in accordance with the provisions of title 42 Article 20 C.R.S., any 
regulations promulgated pursuant thereto and Title 49 CFR Parts 171-179 and Parts 390-397, 
Motor Carriers. 

(B) Requirements for the transportation of explosives, blasting agents and blasting supplies by 
motorized vehicles on job sites shall be: 

(1) No person shall smoke, carry matches or any other flame-producing device or carry firearms 
or loaded cartridges while in or near a motor vehicle transporting explosives. 

(2) No person shall drive, load or unload a vehicle transporting explosives in a careless or 
reckless manner. 

(3) Vehicles transporting explosives, blasting agents or blasting supplies shall not be taken 
inside a garage or shop for repairs or servicing. 

(4) Vehicles used for transporting explosives shall be equipped to carry the load without 
difficulty and shall be in good mechanical condition. 

(5) A motor vehicle used for transporting explosive materials shall be inspected prior to loading 
to determine that it is in proper condition for the safe transportation of explosive materials. 

(6) All cargo areas of vehicles used for transporting explosive materials shall have tight floors 
and any exposed spark-producing metal on the inside of the cargo area shall be covered 
with wood or other non-sparking materials to prevent contact with packages of explosive 
materials. 

(7) Packages of explosive materials shall not be loaded above the sides of an open-body 
vehicle. 

(8) Explosive materials shall not be transported with other materials or cargoes in the same 
compartment. In no case shall flammable materials be carried on the same vehicle as 
explosive materials. 

(9) A motorized vehicle which contains explosive materials shall not be parked under any of the 
following circumstances: 

(i) On or within 5 feet of the traveled portion of a public street or highway; 

(ii) On private property; or 

(iii) Within 300 feet of a bridge, tunnel, building, or place where people work, assemble, or 
congregate. 

(10) A motorized vehicle transporting explosive materials shall not be left unattended. 
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(11) A motorized vehicle shall be deemed attended only when the driver or other attendant is 
physically on or in the vehicle or conveyance or has the vehicle within the driver’s or 
attendant’s field of vision and can reach the vehicle or conveyance quickly and without any 
kind of interference; attended also means the driver or attendant is awake, alert and not 
engaged in any other duties or activities which may divert his/her attention from the vehicle. 

(12) Detonators may not be transported in the same vehicle with other explosives unless: 

(i) The detonators and explosives are placed in separate locked Type 2 magazines secured 
within the body of the vehicle or conveyance; 

(ii) The detonators and explosives are placed in suitable locked containers and separated by 
4 inches of hardwood, and the detonators are totally enclosed or confined by the 
hardwood construction; or 

(iii) The detonators and explosives are placed in separate locked containers or container 
compartments constructed in accordance with the IME Safety Library Publication No. 
22, “IME Standard for the Safe Transportation of Detonators in a Vehicle with Other 
Explosives”; or 

(iv) The detonators and explosives are placed in separate locked Type 3 magazines. 

(C) Requirements for the transportation of explosives on passenger tramways when the public is 
present shall be: 

(1) Explosives shall not be transported in the same enclosed passenger tramway carrier with 
the public. 

(2) Transportation of explosives on non-enclosed passenger tramways shall require the 
following: 

(i) Explosives shall be attended at all times; 

(ii) Warning signs indicating that explosives are currently being transported on the tramway 
and passengers may ride the tramway at their own discretion shall be clearly posted 
at the tramway entrance; 

(iii) Passengers shall not be allowed to ride the passenger tramway in the opposing direction 
of the explosives; 

(iv) A minimum distance of 200 feet shall be maintained in front of and behind the chair 
transporting explosives and chairs transporting the public; 

(v) The amount of explosives being transported shall not exceed50 pounds per carrier; and 

(vi) Nothing in Section 7-5(C)(2) is intended to limit liabilities as set forth in the Colorado Ski 
Safety Act (C.R.S. 33-44-101 thru 114). 

ARTICLE 8 GEOPHYSICAL RESEARCH 

Section 8-1 General Requirements 

(A) Seismic Blasting shall conform to the requirements of Articles 4, 5 and 6 of these regulations for 
the storage and transportation of all explosive materials, for the preparation of charges, for the 
loading of charges and for the detonation of charges. 

(B) Surface charges, above-surface charges, and armed charges loaded in seismic drill holes less 
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than 20 feet in depth shall not be left unattended. 

(C) Charges which have not been armed may be left unattended in holes less than 20 feet deep 
provided that: 

(1) The hole has been loaded such that the charge has been anchored, cannot be removed and 
is capped with a hole plug; 

(2) The charge does not exceed an amount that would cause damage to persons or property on 
the surface if accidentally detonated; and 

(3) The backfill material in the loaded hole is a continuous column from the charge to the collar 
of the drill hole. Any drill holes in which the backfill material has bridged and the hole has not 
been fully backfilled shall not be left unattended. 

(D) Armed or unarmed charges loaded in seismic drill holes greater than 20 feet deep may be left 
unattended provided that: 

(1) The hole has been loaded such that the charge has been anchored, cannot be removed and 
legwires have been made inaccessible and capped with a hole plug; 

(2) The charge does not exceed an amount that would cause damage to persons or property on 
the surface if accidentally detonated; and 

(3) The backfill material in the loaded hole is a continuous column from the charge to the collar 
of the drill hole. Any drill holes in which the backfill material has bridged and the hole has not 
been fully backfilled shall not be left unattended. 

(E) Armed and unarmed charges that are loaded in inhabited areas shall not be left unattended. 

(F) Blasting signs shall be posted on roads and trails leading to the blast site. 
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ARTICLE 9 BLACK POWDER EXPLOSIVES 

Section 9-1 General Requirements 

(A) Black powder shall be stored in shipping containers as required by regulations of the U.S. 
Department of Transportation, 49 CFR, Section 173.60, as currently published. 

(B) Black powder intended for personal use shall be sold and stored according to the Uniform Fire 
Code (sections 77.202, 77.203, and 77.203a).  
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ARTICLE 10 ALTERNATE METHODS AND EMERGENCY VARIANCES 

Section 10-1 Alternate Methods or Procedures 

(A) The permittee, on specific approval by the Division as provided by this paragraph, may use an 
alternate method or procedure in lieu of a method or procedure specifically prescribed in these 
regulations.  

(B) The Division may approve an alternate method or procedure, subject to stated conditions, when 
found that: 

(1) Good cause is shown for the use of the alternate method or procedure; 

(2) The alternate method or procedure is within the purpose of, and consistent with the effect 
intended by, the specifically prescribed method or procedure and is substantially equivalent 
to that specifically prescribed method or procedure; and 

(3) The alternate method or procedure will not be contrary to any provision of law and will not 
result in an increase in cost to the Division or hinder the effective administration of these 
regulations.  

(C) Where the permittee desires to employ an alternate method or procedure, the permittee shall 
submit a written application to the Division. The application shall specifically describe the 
proposed alternate method or procedure and shall set forth the reasons for it.  

(D) Alternate methods or procedures may not be employed until the application is approved by the 
Division.  

(E) The permittee shall, during the period of authorization of an alternate method or procedure, 
comply with the terms of the approved application.  

(F) Authorization of any alternate method or procedure may be withdrawn whenever, in the judgment 
of the Division, the effective administration of this article is hindered by the continuation of the 
authorization.  

(G) As used in this paragraph, alternate methods or procedures include alternate construction or 
equipment. 

Section 10-2 Emergency Variances from Requirements 

(A) The Division may approve construction, equipment, and methods of operation other than as 
specified in this part, where it is found that an emergency exists and the proposed variations from 
the specified requirements are necessary and the proposed variations: 

(1) Will afford security and protection that are substantially equivalent to those prescribed in 
these regulations; 

(2) Will not hinder the effective administration of these regulations; and 

(3) Will not be contrary to any provisions of law. 

(B) Variations from requirements granted under this paragraph are conditioned on compliance with 
the procedures, conditions and limitations set forth in the approval of the application.  
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(C) Failure to comply in good faith with the procedures, conditions and limitations shall automatically 
terminate the authority for the variations and the permittee shall fully comply with the prescribed 
requirements of regulations from which the variations were authorized.  

(D) Authority for any variation may be withdrawn when, in the judgment of the Division, the effective 
administration of these regulations is hindered by the continuation of the variation.  

(E) Where the permittee desires to employ an emergency variation, the permittee shall submit a 
written application to the Division.  

(F) The application shall describe the proposed variation and set forth the reasons for it. Variations 
may not be employed until the application is approved, except when the emergency requires 
immediate action to correct a situation that is threatening to life or property. Corrective action may 
then be taken concurrent with the filing of the application and notification of the Division via 
telephone. 

Section 10-3 Retention of Approved Variations 

(A) The permittee shall retain, as part of his records available for examination by the Division, any 
application approved by the Division under this section. 
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ARTICLE 11 ENFORCEMENT 

Section 11-1 Enforcement Program 

The Division provides these regulations to assist operators with maintaining safe use, manufacture, 
possession, sale, storage, transport, or disposal of explosives materials or blasting agents.  When 
circumstances regarding regulated explosives materials or blasting agents are found to be not in 
compliance with these regulations, the Division will pursue enforcement actions against the operator.  
 
The enforcement process will include requiring the permittee to make repairs and/or upgrades, provide 
records, and complete other actions necessary to come back into compliance. During and following the 
enforcement process, the Director will continue to assist the operator to remain in compliance. The 
enforcement process may include monetary penalties up to $1,000 per violation per day according to 
statute (C.R.S. 8-20-104) if the enforcement obligations are not implemented according to the required 
schedule. 

Section 11-1-1 Notice of Violation 

(A) A notice of violation (NOV) may be issued when a regulated party is found to be out of 
compliance with these regulations (7 C.C.R. 1101-9) and/or statutes (C.R.S. 8-20, 9-6 and 9-7).  
The notice of violation may include fines and/or an order to cease explosives-related operations 
until all violations are satisfactorily corrected.  

(B) Within 10 working days after an NOV has been issued, the person issued the NOV may file a 
written request with the  Division for an informal conference regarding the NOV. Upon receipt of 
the request, the Division shall provide the alleged violator with notice of the date, time and place 
of the informal conference. During the conference, the alleged violator and Division personnel 
may present information and arguments regarding the allegations and requirements of the NOV.   

(C) Within 20 days after the informal conference, the Division shall uphold, modify, or strike the 
allegations within the NOV in the form of a settlement agreement or an enforcement order. 

(D) If the alleged violator fails to timely request an informal conference, the terms of the NOV become 
a binding enforcement order not subject to further review. 

Section 11-1-2 Enforcement Order 

(A) An enforcement order may be issued when the violations included within an NOV are not 
resolved within the prescribed time frame or the schedule set forth in a settlement agreement is 
not met.  

(B)  An enforcement order may include increased fines up to $1,000 per violation for each day of 
violation. In addition, the enforcement order may include shut-down of the explosives-related 
operation, suspension and/or revocation of an explosives permit. 

(C) An alleged violator may appeal the enforcement order to the Division for a hearing under C.R.S. 
24-4-105. The Division shall then issue a final decision which is subject to judicial review under 
C.R.S. 24-4-106. 
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DEPARTMENT OF LOCAL AFFAIRS
Division of Housing
RESOLUTION # 23 – LIMITS FOR REVOLVING LOAN PROGRAM
8 CCR 1302-5
[Editor’s Notes follow the text of the rules at the end of this CCR Document.]

_________________________________________________________________________
Low-income families are those with incomes of less than 80% of median family income for 
specific geographical areas and family size as determined by the United States Department of 
Housing and Urban Development's Section 8 Program. Moderate-income families are those with 
incomes of less than 100% of the median family for specific geographical areas and family size 
as determined by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development's Section 8 
Program.

Resolution #23,  DEFINITION OF SINGLE PERSON AS AN ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR ASSISTANCE
FROM THE HOME INVESTMENT TRUST FUND

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE STATE HOUSING BOARD OF THE STATE OF COLORADO:
THAT PURSUANT TO C.R.S. 24-32-717(4)(a) et. seq. as amended, the State Housing Board 
adopts the following definition of single person as an eligibility criteria for persons and 
affordable housing projects seeking assistance from the Colorado Housing Trust Fund.
A single person is an unmarried person and is eligible for assistance under the Home Investment 
Trust Fund when such person's income, added to the income(s) of any persons residing at the 
same address, do not, in total, exceed the limits established by the State Housing Board under 
C.R.S. 24-32-717(4)(b).

ATTEST:
Thomas Hart,Director Colorado Division of 
Housing

Lee S. Mendel, ChairmanColorado State Housing 
Board

DATED:12/15/92 DATED: 12-15-92

_________________________________________________________________________
Editor’s Notes
History
Entire rule eff. 01/30/1993.

Code of Colorado Regulations 1
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Rule 1. Sex Designation

For purposes of Article 2 of Title 42, and all rules, regulations, and forms related to 
Article 2 of Title 42, "sex" or "gender" means female, male, or intersex.

Rule 2. Amendment of the Sex Designation

Before changing the sex on a driver 's license, identification card, or identification document 
issued by the Motor Vehicles Division, the Department must:

A.Confirm the name on the driver's license, identification card, or identification
document and the name of the individual for whom the change is requested match or
can be linked through submitted documentation.

B.Receive, in the form and manner prescribed by the Department, a letter from a licensed 
treating medical or behavioral healthcare provider confirming the individual has 
received appropriate clinical treatment for their correct sex. The letter must be signed 
and include the provider's license or certificate number and the issuing U.S. 
State/Foreign Country.

i. Nothing in this rule should be read to require an individual to undergo 
any specific surgery, treatment, clinical care, or behavioral healthcare.
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ARTICLE 1  GENERAL PROVISIONS

Section 1-1 Statement of Basis and Purpose

These regulations are promulgated to establish rules for the Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission (Safety
Commission) responsibilities within the Excavation Requirements Act (the Act), Title 9 Article 1.5 Colorado Revised 
Statutes (CRS). The purpose of Safety Commission is to prevent injury to persons and damage to property.

Section 1-2 Statutory Authority

These regulations have been created pursuant to Section 104.2 (2)(d) of the Act.

Section 1-3 Effective Date

These regulations shall be effective on February 14, 2019.

Section 1-4 Definitions

Terms in these regulations shall have the same definitions as those found in the Act or as defined below.

ASCE 38.  The standard for defining the quality of an underground facility location as defined in the current edition of the 
American Society of Civil Engineers' "Standard Guideline for the Collection and Depiction of Existing Subsurface 
Utility Data (CI/ASCE 38-02)" or an analogous successor standard as determined by the safety commission.

DAMAGE.  Includes the penetration or destruction of any protective coating, housing, or other protective device of an 
underground facility, the denting or partial or complete severance of an underground facility, or the rendering of 
any underground facility inaccessible.

EMERGENCY SITUATIONS.  Includes ruptures and leakage of pipelines, explosions, fires, and similar instances where 
immediate action is necessary to prevent loss of life or significant damage to property, including, without limitation,
underground facilities, and advance notice of proposed excavation is impracticable under the circumstances.

EXCAVATION.  means any operation in which earth is moved or removed by means of any tools, equipment, or 
explosives and includes augering, backfilling, boring, ditching, drilling, grading, plowing-in, pulling-in, ripping, 
scraping, trenching, hydro excavating, postholing, and tunneling. "Excavation" does not include:

(1)  Routine maintenance on existing planted landscapes; or

(2)  An excavation by a rancher or a farmer, as defined in section 42-20-108.5, CRS, occurring on a ranch or farm
when the excavation involves:

(a)  Any form of existing agricultural activity that is routine for that ranch or farm;

(b)  Land clearing if the activity does not involve deep ripping or deep root removal of trees or shrubs; or

(c)  Routine maintenance of:

(i)  An existing irrigation facility if the facility has been subjected to maintenance in the previous 
24 months; or

(ii)  Existing fence lines.

FARMER. A person or such person's agent or contractor engaged in the production or raising of crops, poultry, or 
livestock.
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FRIVOLOUS COMPLAINT. A complaint filed with the Safety Commission that is entirely without merit and is made with 
the intention of causing inconvenience, harassment or expense.

GRAVITY-FED SYSTEM.  Any underground facility that is not pressurized and that utilizes gravity as the only means to 
transport its contents. These systems include sanitary sewer lines, storm sewer lines, and open-air irrigation 
ditches.

LICENSED PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER.  A professional engineer as defined in section 12-25-102, CRS.

NOTIFICATION ASSOCIATION.  The statewide notification association of owners and operators of underground facilities 
created in section 9-1.5-105, CRS, also known as Colorado 811 and the Utility Notification Center of Colorado.

OPERATOR or OWNER.  Any person, including public utilities, municipal corporations, political subdivisions, or other 
persons having the right to bury underground facilities in or near a public road, street, alley, right-of-way, or utility 
easement. Operator or owner in these regulations does not include any railroad.

PERSON.  Any individual acting on his or her own behalf, sole proprietor, partnership, association, corporation, or joint 
venture; the state, any political subdivision of the state, or any instrumentality or agency of either; or the legal 
representative of any of them.

ROUTINE MAINTENANCE.  A regular activity that happens at least once per year on an existing planted landscape if 
earth is not disturbed at a depth of more than twelve inches by nonmechanical means or four inches by 
mechanical means and if the activities are not intended to permanently lessen the ground cover or lower the 
existing ground contours. Mechanical equipment used for routine maintenance tasks shall be defined as aerators, 
hand-held rototillers, soil injection needles, lawn edgers, overseeders, and hand tools.

SAFETY COMMISSION. Also known as the “Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission.” The enforcement 
authority as established by statute.

SUBSURFACE UTILITY ENGINEERING NOTIFICATION.  A notice to the notification association that a project is being 
designed by a licensed professional engineer and that the project will include the investigation and depiction of 
existing underground facilities that meet or exceed the ASCE 38 standard. 

SUBSURFACE UTILITY ENGINEERING-REQUIRED PROJECT.  A project that meets all of the following conditions:

(1)  The project involves a construction contract with a public entity, as that term is defined in section 24-91-102, 
CRS;

(2)  The project involves primarily horizontal construction and does not involve primarily the construction of 
buildings;

(3) The project:

(a)  Has an anticipated excavation footprint that exceeds two feet in depth, not including rotomilling, and is
a contiguous one thousand square feet, not including fencing and signing projects; or

(b)  Involves utility boring.

(4)  The project requires the design services of a licensed professional engineer.

UNDERGROUND FACILITY.  Any item of personal property which is buried or placed below ground for use in connection 
with the storage or conveyance of water or sewage, electronic, telephonic, or telegraphic communications or 
cable television, electric energy, or oil, gas, or other substances. An item of personal property, as used in this 
definition, includes, but is not limited to, pipes, sewers, conduits, cables, valves, lines, wires, manholes, and 
attachments thereto.
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VIOLATION. A determination by the Safety Commission that a violation of the Act has occurred.

VIOLATION, MAJOR. A violation where any of the following has occurred: 

(1) The violation is a causal factor in an injury or fatality.

(2) The violation is a causal factor in the striking of high pressure gas or electric facilities.  

(3) Excavator does not notify Colorado 811 prior to excavation activities. 

(4) Willful or malicious removal of marking except in the excavation.

(5) The excavator does not use nondestructive means of excavation to identify a facility, does not use reasonable 
care to protect a facility, or does not expose the facility when requested by the facility owner or permit 
issuing entity.

(6) The excavator does not report underground facility damage to the facility owner and, if the damage is to a high
pressure gas facility, to 911.

(7) The Review Committee finds the violation to be in blatant disregard for the best practices and the potential for 
injury to the public or property is highly probable.

VIOLATION, MINOR. A violation where any of the following has occurred:

(1) A Cancel Request is not submitted prior to the expiration of the "Locate by Date." 

(2) The violation involves administrative management of data or reporting of information. 

(3) Any violation of Section 104.2 of the Act caused by the Safety Commission.

(4) Failure of the excavator to properly notify property owners in the event of the removal of underground facilities.

(5) The Review Committee finds the violation to be relevant, and the potential for injury to the public or property is 
not a factor.

(6) Frivolous complaint.

VIOLATION, MODERATE. A violation where any of the following has occurred:

(1) Facility owner does not appropriately respond to a locate request. 

(2) Excavator fails to request a reverification of markings or facility owner fails to reverify the markings within a 
reasonable time. 

(3) A person performing maintenance does not notify Colorado 811 and the facility owner/operator when it is 
discovered.

(4) In emergency situations, the excavator does not take reasonable precautions to avoid damage to facilities. 

(5) Failure of Colorado 811 to re-notify a facility owner when a positive response is not completed by the owner. 

(6) A person performing maintenance does not take reasonable care when disturbing the soil. 

(7) A new facility is installed after August 8, 2018, and is not electronically locatable.

(8) The Review Committee finds the violation to not within best practices and the potential for injury to the public 
or property is foreseeable.

Section 1-5 Scope

These regulations apply to requirements defined in Sections 104.2, 104.4, 104.7 and 104.8 of the Act, although they may 
refer to other Sections of the Act.
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Section 1-6 Safety Commission

The Safety Commission will conduct itself according to its adopted Bylaws and Code of Conduct, and these regulations.
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ARTICLE 2  ENFORCEMENT OF VIOLATIONS

Section 2-1 Enforcement Process 

The Safety Commission provides these regulations to denote its process for reviewing complaints and conducting 
hearings. When a person is found to be in violation of the Act and/or these regulations, the Safety Commission will pursue
penalties or remedial actions against the person.

Section 2-2 Complaints

(1) The Safety Commission may review complaints from any person of alleged violations of the Act.

(a) A person who brings a frivolous complaint, as determined by the Safety Commission, commits a minor 
violation and is subject to a fine.

(b) The person filing the complaint may voluntarily withdraw the complaint prior to a hearing.

(2) The review of a complaint shall be completed by a Review Committee. The Review Committee shall:

(a) Be comprised of three to five members of the Safety Committee.

(b) Have an equal number of members representing excavators and owners/operators.

(c) Include at least one member who does not represent either excavators or owners/operators.

 (3) The complaint process shall include:

(a) A complaint form, and if applicable a damage form, being completed and submitted to the Safety Commission.

(b) Within 90 days of the complaint form being received a hearing will be scheduled. 

(i) Both the person filing the complaint and the alleged violator will be sent hearing notification letters to 
advise them of the logistics for the hearing.

(ii) Both parties shall receive a copy of the complaint form, and as applicable damage form.

(iii) The scheduled hearing date can be modified by mutual agreement of all parties and when the Review 
Committee is available.

(c) If applicable, the Safety Commission will file a Data Request Form with Colorado 811, to gain ticket 
information.

Section 2-3 Hearing

(1)  Hearings shall be conducted in the following manner, unless otherwise directed by the Review Committee:

(a) Presentation of positions - every party to the proceeding shall have the right to present their case by oral and 
documentary evidence and shall provide eight copies of supporting documentation.
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(b) The Review Committee shall utilize the Complaint and (as applicable) Damage Forms the presentations, the 
response to the Colorado 811 Data Request Form, and their experience in the field in their discussion and
finding of facts.

(c) Any member of the Review Committee may ask questions to any person involved in the hearing.

(2) Hearings shall be conducted in the following order, unless otherwise directed by the Review Committee: 

(a) Complaint Report # is called.

(i) Introduction of Review Committee members and explanation of the proceedings. 

(ii) Determination of whether any Review Committee members have a conflict of interest; this can be 
determined prior to the formation of a Review Committee, and will be reviewed at the start of the 
hearing.

(b) Presentation of position and submittal of documentation or other material by the person filing the complaint.

(c) Presentation of position and submittal of documentation or other material by the person alleged to be in 
violation, in the complaint. 

(d) Rebuttal by the person filing the complaint. 

(e) Questions from the Review Committee to both parties.

(f) Discussion by the Review Committee on the findings of fact and recommendations for remedial action (if 
applicable).

(3) Maximum time allowed for hearings shall be the following, unless otherwise directed by the Review Committee:

(a) Each party shall have 20 minutes to present their case.

(i) The Review Committee may allow additional time for presentations. 

(ii) If the Review Committee grants additional time to one person, the same amount of additional time will 
be offered to the other person.

(b) The person filing the complaint shall have five minutes for rebuttal.

(c) The Review Committee shall take as much time as is necessary to ask questions and discuss the complaint.

(4) Burden of Proof

(a) The person filing the complaint has the burden to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the alleged 
violator committed a violation. 

(5) Application of Technical Knowledge 

(a) The Review Committee may utilize its experience, technical competence, and specialized knowledge in the 
evaluation of the evidence presented to it. 

(b) The Review Committee may take notice of general, technical, or scientific facts within its knowledge, but only if
the fact so noticed is specified in the record or is brought to the attention of the persons involved in the 
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complaint before final decision and both the person filing the complaint and the person alleged to be in 
violation is afforded an opportunity to controvert the fact so noticed. 

(6) Representation by Counsel 

(a) Any person permitted or compelled to testify or to submit data or evidence shall be entitled to the benefit of 
legal counsel of his or her own choosing and at his or her own expense, but a person may appear for his 
or her self. 

(b) An attorney who is a witness may not act as counsel for the person calling him or her as a witness.

Section 2-4 Final Decision

(1) Review Committee’s Finding of Facts:

(a) After due consideration of written and oral statements, and accompanying documentation, the Review 
Committee shall determine whether a violation of the law has occurred and, if appropriate, recommend 
remedial action, or make such determination of the matter as it shall deem appropriate consistent within 
the Act. 

(b) Within seven business days after the completion of the hearing, the Review Committee shall provide to the 
Safety Commission a report of its findings and recommendations. 

(2) Safety Commission’s Final Determination:

(a) The Safety Commission shall review the Review Committee’s findings and recommendations at their next 
scheduled meeting.

(i) The Safety Commission is bound by the Review Committee’s findings of fact and decision.

(ii) The Safety Commission may adjust the Review Committee’s recommendation of remedial action or 
penalty if an adjustment is supported by at least 12 members of the Safety Commission. 

(b) Within 10 business days after the Safety Commission’s meeting to review the Review Committee’s findings 
and recommendations, the Safety Commission shall provide both parties involved in the complaint a 
summary of the Review Committee’s findings and the Safety Commission’s final determination with 
respect to any required remedial action or penalty. 

(c) The decision of the Safety Commission is final agency action subject to review by the District Court pursuant to
section 24-4-106, CRS.

Section 2-5 Remedial Actions

(1) A recommendation of remedial action that includes a fine requires a unanimous vote of the Review Committee.

(2) The Review Committee shall not recommend remedial action or a fine against a Homeowner, Rancher, or Farmer (as 
defined), unless the Review Committee finds by clear and convincing evidence that a violation of the law has 
occurred. 

(3)  The Safety Commission may consider training, support services, or other remediation measures that will improve the 
behavior of the person found in violation.

(4) Guidance for the recommendation of remedial action shall be consistent with the following principles:
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(a) Is the alleged violation classified as a Minor, Moderate or Major violation (as defined).

(b) For a person that has not had a violation in the previous 12 months, the Safety Commission may consider 
alternatives to fines.

(c) The number of violations, relative to the number of notifications received, are a part of the consideration.

(d) The maximum fines are in Table 2-5.

Table 2-5: Potential Enforcement Penalties

Type of Violation
Number of Violations within the previous 12 months

1 2 3 4

Frivolous $100 $200 $500 $2,000

Minor $250 $500 $1,000 $5,000

Moderate $1,000 $2,500 $5,000 $25,000

Major $5,000 $25,000 $50,000 $75,000

Section 2-6 Home Rule Entity

(1) This enforcement process shall not apply to a home rule county, city and county, municipality, or power authority 
established pursuant to 29-1-204 (1), CRS; except that if the Safety Commission identifies an alleged violation by 
the home rule entity, the Safety Commission shall:

(a) Inform the home rule entity of the alleged violation.

(b) If requested by the home rule entity, suggest corrective action.

(2) Every home rule entity described in subsection (1) shall:

(a) Adopt by resolution, ordinance, or other official action either:

(i) Its own damage prevention safety program similar to that established pursuant to the Act; or

(ii) A waiver that delegates its damage prevention safety program to the Safety Commission.

(b) Notify the Safety Commission of the decision in subsection (a).
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ARTICLE 3  BEST PRACTICES

(1) The Safety Commission shall advise the Notification Association and other state agencies, the general assembly, and 
the local government on:

(a) Best practices and training to prevent damage to underground utilities. 

(b) Policies to enhance public safety, including the establishment and periodic updating of industry best 
standards, including marking and documentation best practices and technology advancements.

(c) Policies and best practices to improve efficiency and cost savings to the Colorado 811 program, including the 
review, establishment, and periodic updating of industry standards, to ensure the highest level of 
productivity and service for the benefit of both excavators and owners and operators.
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633 17th Street, Suite 500 
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JUSTIFICATION FOR EMERGENCY RULING 

 
 
The Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission (Safety Commission) has a 
statutory requirement for its review committee to schedule complaint hearings within 
90 days of receiving complaints. 
 
Although the Safety Commission was not in place until January 1, 2019, the 90-day 
hearing scheduling requirement was effective August 8, 2018.  
 
The statutes require that hearing procedures be included in regulations, so in order to 
schedule hearings for the complaints that were received in 2018, the Safety 
Commission needs to have regulations in place as soon as possible. 
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The mission of the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing is to improve health care 

access and outcomes for the people we serve while demonstrating sound stewardship of 
financial resources. 

  
www.colorado.gov/hcpf 

 

PUBLIC NOTICE 
 

February 28, 2019 through March 30, 2019 
 

Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Waiver Amendment Public 
Comment 

 
The Department intends to submit waiver amendments for the following Home- and 
Community Based-Services (HCBS) waivers:  
 

• Persons with Brain Injury (BI) 
• Children’s Home- and Community-Based Services (CHCBS) 
• Children with a Life-Limiting Illness (CLLI) 
• Community Mental Health Supports (CMHS) 
• Persons who are Elderly, Blind, and Disabled (EBD) 
• Persons with a Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) 

 
The proposed waiver amendments include the following changes: 

• Update language related Post Payment Review (PPR) Function and Oversight (BI, 
CHCBS, CLLI, CMHS, EBD, SCI) 

• Update Performance Measures for multiple Quality Improvement Strategies 
sections (BI, CHCBS, CLLI, CMHS, EBD, SCI) 

• Update the Supported Living Program (SLP) rate methodology (BI) 
• Update Cost Neutrality Projections (BI, CHCBS, CLLI, CMHS, EBD, SCI) 

 
The Department will post the amendments for public notice from February 28, 2019 
through March 30, 2019. The Department will ask for an effective date of June 30, 2019 
for these amendments. 
 
For a more detailed summary of all changes, please go to the Department’s website at 
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/hcbs-waiver-transition to view the full draft 
waivers and the amendment fact sheet. You may also obtain a paper or electronic copy 
by calling 303-866-3684 or by writing or visiting the Department at 1570 Grant St, 
Denver, CO 80203. 
 
To provide public comment or request a paper or electronic copy of any materials, 
please contact LTSS.PublicComment@state.co.us; submitted by phone at 303-866-
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3684; submitted by fax at 303-866-2786 ATTN: HCBS Waiver Amendments; or in-
person at 1570 Grant Street, Denver CO 80203.  
 
Public Comments will be accepted February 7 through March 9, 2019. 
 
General Information 
 
A link to this notice is posted on the Department’s website. Written comments may be 
addressed to: Department of Health Care Policy and Financing, ATTN: HCBS Waiver 
Amendments, 1570 Grant Street, Denver CO 80203. 
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The mission of the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing is to improve health care 

access and outcomes for the people we serve while demonstrating sound stewardship of 
financial resources. 

  
www.colorado.gov/hcpf 

 

 
PUBLIC NOTICE 

 
March 25, 2019 

 
Supplemental Medicaid Payment for Private Nursing Facilities 
 
Effective April 1, 2019, the Department proposes to submit a State Plan Amendment to 
increase the total amount allowable of a supplemental payment to reimburse private 
nursing facilities for the nursing care of chronically acute, long-stay patients currently 
treated in an inpatient hospital setting.  
 
Due to available room under the federal upper payment limit for private nursing 
facilities, the Department is able to increase supplemental payments to private nursing 
facilities. The payment will be $1,400,000 payable to private nursing facilities.  This is 
an increase of $400,000 from the previously allowed amount of $1,000,000.  This 
increase in payment amount is a result of the change to the current state budget bill 
through the supplemental process.  This proposed supplemental payment will be made 
after all other rate payments through the Medicaid Management Information System 
(MMIS) and other supplemental payments, including provider fee payments to private 
nursing facilities have been made. Aggregate payments to private nursing facilities will 
remain under the federal upper payment limit for private nursing facilities in Colorado.  
 
This payment will be funded by an intergovernmental transfer from Denver Health and 
Hospital Authority to the Department and matching federal Medicaid funds. No state 
general funds will be used.   
 
General Information 
 
A link to this notice will be posted on the Department’s website starting on March 25, 
2019.  Written comments may be addressed to:  
 
Director, Health Programs Office 
Department of Health Care Policy and Financing 
1570 Grant Street 
Denver, CO 80203. 
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County Contact Information 
 
Copies of the proposed changes are available for public review at the following county 
locations: 
 
County 
Name 

Official Name Physical Address Mailing Address 

Adams Adams County Human 
Services Department 

11860 Pecos Street 
Westminster, CO 80234 

Same as physical 

Alamosa Alamosa County 
Department of Human 
Services 

8900 C Independence 
Way, Alamosa, CO 
81101 

PO Box 1310, Alamosa, 
CO 81101 

Arapahoe Arapahoe County 
Human Services 

14980 E. Alameda Dr., 
Aurora, CO 80012 

14980 E. Alameda Dr., 
Aurora, CO 80012 

Arapahoe Satellite Office 1690 W. Littleton Blvd., 
Littleton, CO 80120 

 

Archuleta Archuleta County 
Human Services 

551 Hot Springs Blvd., 
Pagosa Springs, CO 
81147 

PO Box 240, Pagosa 
Springs, CO 81147 

Baca Baca County 
Department of Social 
Services 

772 Colorado St. Ste 
#1, Springfield, CO 
81073 

Same as physical 

Bent Bent County Social 
Services 

138 6th Street, Las 
Animas, CO  81054 

Same as physical 

Boulder Boulder County 
Department of Housing 
& Human Services 

3400 Broadway, 
Boulder, CO 80304 

PO Box 471, Boulder, 
CO 80306 

Broomfield Broomfield Health and 
Human Services 

100 Spader Way, 
Broomfield, CO 80020 

Same as physical 

Chaffee Chaffee County 
Department of Human 
Services 

448 E. 1st St, Ste 166, 
Salida, CO 81201 

PO Box 1007, Salida, 
CO 81201 

Cheyenne Cheyenne County 
Department of Human 
Services 

560 W. 6 N, Cheyenne 
Wells, CO 80810 

PO Box 146, Cheyenne 
Wells, CO 80810 

Conejos Conejos County 
Department of Social 
Services 

12989 Cty. Rd. G.6, 
Conejos, CO 81129 

PO Box 68, Conejos, CO 
81129 

Costilla Costilla County 
Department of Social 
Services 

233 Main St, San Luis, 
CO 81152 

Same as physical 

Crowley Crowley County 
Department of Human 
Services 

631 Main Street Ste 
100, Ordway, CO 81063 

Same as physical 
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Custer Custer County 
Department of Human 
Services 

205 S. 6th St., 
Westcliffe, CO 81252 

PO Box 929 Westcliffe, 
CO 81252 

Delta Delta County 
Department of Human 
Services 

560 Dodge St, Delta, 
CO 81416 

Same as physical 

Denver Denver Department of 
Human Services 

1200 Federal Blvd, 
Denver, CO 80204 

Same as physical 

Dolores Dolores County 
Department of Social 
Services 

409 Main Street, Dove 
Creek, CO 81324 

PO Box 485 Dove 
Creek, CO 81324 

Douglas Douglas County 
Department of Human 
Services 

4400 Castleton Court, 
Castle Rock, CO 80109 

Same as physical 

Eagle Eagle County 
Department of Human 
Services 

551 Broadway, Eagle, 
CO 81631 

PO Box 660, Eagle, CO 
81631 

El Paso El Paso County 
Department of Human 
Services 

1675 W. Garden of the 
Gods Road, Colorado 
Springs, CO 80907 

Same as physical 

Elbert Elbert County Health 
and Human Services 

75 Ute. Ave, Kiowa, CO 
80117 

PO Box 924, Kiowa, CO 
80117 

Fremont Fremont County 
Department of Human 
Services 

172 Justice Center 
Road, Canon City, CO 
81212 

Same as physical 

Garfield Garfield County 
Department of Human 
Services 

195 W. 14th St., Rifle, 
CO 81650 

Same as physical 

Gilpin Gilpin County 
Department of Human 
Services 

2960 Dory Hill Rd. Ste 
100, Black Hawk, CO 
80422 

Same as physical 

Grand Grand County 
Department of Social 
Services 

620 Hemlock St., Hot 
Sulphur Springs, CO 
80451 

PO Box 204, Hot 
Sulphur Springs, CO 
80451 

Huerfano Huerfano County 
Department of Social 
Services 

121 W. 6th St., 
Walsenburg, CO 81089 

Same as physical 

Jackson Grand County 
Department of Social 
Services 

620 Hemlock St., Hot 
Sulphur Springs, CO 
80451 

PO Box 204, Hot 
Sulphur Springs, CO 
80451 

Jefferson Jefferson County 
Human Services 

900 Jefferson County 
Parkway, Golden, CO 
80401 

Same as physical 

Kiowa Kiowa County 1307 Maine St., Eads, PO Box 187, Eads, CO 
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Department of Social 
Services 

CO 81036 81036-0187 

Kit Carson Kit Carson County 
Department of Human 
Services 

252 S. 14th St., 
Burlington, CO 80807 

PO Box 70, Burlington, 
CO 80807 

La Plata La Plata County 
Department of Human 
Services 

10 Burnett Court 1st 
Floor, Durango, CO 
81301 

Same as physical 

Lake Lake County 
Department of Human 
Services 

112 W. 5th St. 
Leadville, CO 80461 

PO Box 884 Leadville, 
CO 80461 

Larimer Larimer County 1501 Blue Spruce Drive Same as physical 
Las Animas Las Animas County 

Department of Human 
Services 

204 S. Chestnut St., 
Trinidad, CO 81082 

Same as physical 

Lincoln Lincoln County 
Department of Human 
Services 

103 3rd Ave, Hugo, CO 
80821 

PO Box 37, Hugo, CO 
80821 

Logan Logan County 
Department of Human 
Services 

508 S. 10th Ave, STE B, 
Sterling, CO 80751 

Same as physical 

Mesa Mesa County 
Department of Human 
Services 

510 29 1/2 Rd, Grand 
Junction, CO 81504 

PO Box 20000, Grand 
Junction, CO 81502 

Mineral Rio Grande/Mineral 
County Department of 
Social Services 

1015 6th St, Del Norte, 
CO 81132 

Same as physical 

Moffat Moffat County 
Department of Social 
Services 

595 Breeze St., Craig, 
CO 81625 

Same as physical 

Montezuma Montezuma County 
Department of Social 
Services 

109 W. Main St. Room 
2013, Cortez, CO 81321 

Same as physical 

Montrose Montrose County Health 
& Human Services 

1845 S. Townsend Ave., 
Montrose, CO 81401 

PO Box 216, Montrose, 
CO 81402-216 

Morgan Morgan County 
Department of Human 
Services 

800 E. Beaver Ave., Fort 
Morgan, CO 80701 

PO Box 220, Fort 
Morgan, CO 80701 

Otero Otero County 
Department of Human 
Services 

215 Raton Ave, La 
Junta, CO 81050 

PO Box 494, La Junta, 
CO 81050 

Ouray Ouray DSS 177 Sherman St., Unit 
104, Ridgway, CO 
81432 

PO Box 530 Ridgway, 
CO 81432 
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Phillips Phillips County 
Department of Social 
Services 

127 E Denver St., 
Holyoke, CO, 80734 

Same as physical 

Pitkin Pitkin County 
Department of Health 
and Human Services 

0405 Castle Creek Rd., 
Suite 104, Aspen, CO 
81611 

Same as physical 

Pueblo Pueblo County 
Department of Social 
Services 

201 W. 8th St, Pueblo, 
CO 81003 

320 W. 10th St, Pueblo, 
CO 81003 

Rio Blanco Rio Blanco County 
Department of Health 
and Human Services 

345 Market St., Meeker, 
CO 81641 

Same as physical 

Routt Routt County 
Department of Human 
Services 

135 6th St., Steamboat 
Springs, CO 80477 

PO Box 772790, 
Steamboat Springs, CO 
80477 

Saguache Saguache County 
Department of Social 
Services 

605 Christy Ave, 
Saguache, CO 81149 

PO Box 215, Saguache, 
CO 81149 

San Miguel San Miguel DSS 333 W. Colorado Ave, 
Telluride, CO 81435 
(San Miguel); 

PO Box 96 Telluride, CO 
81435 

Sedgwick Sedgwick County 
Human Services 

118 W. 3rd St., 
Julesburg, CO 80737 

PO Box 27, Julesburg, 
CO 80737 

Washington Washington County 
DHS 

126 W. 5th St., Akron, 
CO 80720 

PO Box 395, Akron, CO 
80720 

Yuma Yuma County 
Department of Human 
Services 

340 S. Birch, Wray, CO 
80758 

Same as physical 
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NOTICE OF PUBLIC INFORMATIONAL HEARING 
BEFORE THE 

COLORADO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION 
 
 
SUBJECT: 
 

Triennial review of the commission's current regulation titled: 
 

“The Basic Standards for Ground Water," Regulation #41 (5 CCR 1002-41). 
 
PURPOSE OF HEARING: 
 

This hearing is to fulfill State statutory requirements for triennial review of control 
regulations.  

 
SCHEDULE OF IMPORTANT DATES: 
 
Written comments due 05/01/2019 Additional submittal information below 

Public Hearing 05/13/2019 
9:00 a.m. 

Florence Sabin Conference Room 
Department of Public Health and Environment 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246 

 
PROCEDURAL MATTERS: 
 

The commission encourages input from interested persons, either in writing prior to 
the hearing or orally at the hearing.  Interested persons should provide their opinions 
or recommendations as to whether the foregoing regulation should be continued in its 
current form, repealed, or changed and if so in what respect. 
 
The commission will receive all written submittals electronically.  Submittals must be 
provided as PDF documents and may be emailed to cdphe.wqcc@state.co.us, provided 
via an FTP site, CD or flash drive, or otherwise conveyed to the commission office so 
as to be received no later than the date shown above.  Written comments will be 
available to the public on the commission’s web site. 
 
Any suggested changes deemed by the commission to require further action will be 
proposed as regulatory changes for subsequent public rulemaking.  Recommendations 
for changes should be concise and supported by reference to the evidence that would 
be offered if the commission moved forward to formally consider the recommended 
regulatory amendments.  At this informational hearing the commission does not desire 
to hear the full evidence that would be presented at a rulemaking hearing that would 
follow.  The commission requests only the information needed to determine whether 



or not to propose a regulatory change. Oral public comment will be accepted at the 
hearing.  

 
AUTHORITY FOR PUBLIC HEARING: 
 

The provisions of 25-8-202(1)(f) C.R.S. and section 21.5 B of the "Procedural Rules" (5 
CCR 1002-21) provide the authority for this hearing. 

 
PARTY STATUS: 
 

This is not a rulemaking hearing; therefore, party status provisions of 25-8-101 et. 
seq., and 24-4-101 et. seq., C.R.S. do not apply.  Party status requests shall not be 
considered by the commission. 
 

 
Dated this 20th day of March 2019 at Denver, Colorado. 
 
 

   WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION  
   
       
 
 
      ______________________________________ 

   Trisha Oeth, Administrator 
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NOTICE OF PUBLIC INFORMATIONAL HEARING 
BEFORE THE 

COLORADO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION 
 
 
SUBJECT: 
 

Triennial review of the commission's current regulation titled: 
 

“Site-Specific Water Quality Classifications and Standards for Ground Water," 
Regulation #42 (5 CCR 1002-42). 

 
PURPOSE OF HEARING: 
 

This hearing is to fulfill State statutory requirements for triennial review of control 
regulations.  

 
SCHEDULE OF IMPORTANT DATES: 
 
Written comments due 05/01/2019 Additional submittal information below 

Public Hearing 05/13/2019 
9:00 a.m. 

Florence Sabin Conference Room 
Department of Public Health and Environment 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246 

 
PROCEDURAL MATTERS: 
 

The commission encourages input from interested persons, either in writing prior to 
the hearing or orally at the hearing.  Interested persons should provide their opinions 
or recommendations as to whether the foregoing regulation should be continued in its 
current form, repealed, or changed and if so in what respect. 
 
The commission will receive all written submittals electronically.  Submittals must be 
provided as PDF documents and may be emailed to cdphe.wqcc@state.co.us, provided 
via an FTP site, CD or flash drive, or otherwise conveyed to the commission office so 
as to be received no later than the date shown above.  Written comments will be 
available to the public on the commission’s web site. 
 
Any suggested changes deemed by the commission to require further action will be 
proposed as regulatory changes for subsequent public rulemaking.  Recommendations 
for changes should be concise and supported by reference to the evidence that would 
be offered if the commission moved forward to formally consider the recommended 
regulatory amendments.  At this informational hearing the commission does not desire 
to hear the full evidence that would be presented at a rulemaking hearing that would 
follow.  The commission requests only the information needed to determine whether 



or not to propose a regulatory change. Oral public comment will be accepted at the 
hearing.  

 
AUTHORITY FOR PUBLIC HEARING: 
 

The provisions of 25-8-202(1)(f) C.R.S. and section 21.5 B of the "Procedural Rules" (5 
CCR 1002-21) provide the authority for this hearing. 

 
PARTY STATUS: 
 

This is not a rulemaking hearing; therefore, party status provisions of 25-8-101 et. 
seq., and 24-4-101 et. seq., C.R.S. do not apply.  Party status requests shall not be 
considered by the commission. 
 

 
Dated this 20th day of March 2019 at Denver, Colorado. 
 
 

   WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION  
   
       
 
 
      ______________________________________ 

   Trisha Oeth, Administrator 
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NOTICE OF PUBLIC INFORMATIONAL HEARING 
BEFORE THE 

COLORADO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION 
 
 
SUBJECT: 
 
Triennial review of the commission's current regulation titled: 
 
 “Dillon Reservoir Control Regulation", Regulation #71 (5 CCR 1002-71). 
 
PURPOSE OF HEARING: 
 
This hearing is to fulfill State statutory requirements for triennial review of control 
regulations.  
 
SCHEDULE OF IMPORTANT DATES: 
 
Written comments due 05/01/2019 Additional submittal information below 

Public Hearing 05/13/2019 
9:30 a.m. 

Florence Sabin Conference Room 
Department of Public Health and Environment 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246 

 
PROCEDURAL MATTERS: 
 
The commission encourages input from interested persons, either in writing prior to the 
hearing or orally at the hearing.  Interested persons should provide their opinions or 
recommendations as to whether the foregoing regulation should be continued in its current 
form, repealed, or changed and if so in what respect. 

 
The commission will receive all written submittals electronically.  Submittals must be 
provided as PDF documents and may be emailed to cdphe.wqcc@state.co.us, provided via an 
FTP site, CD or flash drive, or otherwise conveyed to the commission office so as to be 
received no later than the date shown above.  Written comments will be available to the 
public on the commission’s web site. 

 
Any suggested changes deemed by the commission to require further action will be proposed 
as regulatory changes for subsequent public rulemaking.  Recommendations for changes 
should be concise and supported by reference to the evidence that would be offered if the 
commission moved forward to formally consider the recommended regulatory amendments.  
At this informational hearing the commission does not desire to hear the full evidence that 
would be presented at a rulemaking hearing that would follow.  The commission requests only 
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the information needed to determine whether or not to propose a regulatory change. Oral 
public comment will be accepted at the hearing.  
 
AUTHORITY FOR PUBLIC HEARING: 
 
The provisions of 25-8-202(1)(f) C.R.S. and section 21.5 B of the "Procedural Rules" (5 CCR 
1002-21) provide the authority for this hearing. 
 
PARTY STATUS: 
 
This is not a rulemaking hearing; therefore, party status provisions of 25-8-101 et. seq., and 
24-4-101 et. seq., C.R.S. do not apply.  Party status requests shall not be considered by the 
commission. 

 
 
Dated this 20th day of March 2019 at Denver, Colorado. 
 
 

   WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION  
   
       
 
 
      _____________________________________ 

   Trisha Oeth, Administrator  
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NOTICE OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION HEARING 
 BEFORE THE 
 COLORADO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION 
 
 
SUBJECT: 
 
At the date, time and location listed below, the Water Quality Control Commission will hold a 
public Administrative Action Hearing to consider approval of the 2018 update to the water 
quality management plan (section 208 plan) for the North Front Range Water Quality 
Planning Association.  The proposed plan is available at the following link. 
 
https://www.nfrwqpa.org/pdf/208_Plan_Update/2018208PlanMarch2019final.pdf  
 
SCHEDULE OF IMPORTANT DATES: 
 
Written comments 
due 

May 1, 2019 Additional submittal information below 

Public 
Administrative 
Action Hearing 

May 13, 2019 
9:45 a.m. 

Florence Sabin Conference Room 
Department of Public Health and Environment 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246 

 
PROCEDURAL MATTERS: 
 
The commission encourages input from interested persons, either in writing prior to the 
hearing or orally at the hearing.  Interested persons should provide their opinions or 
recommendations regarding the proposed intended use plans. 
 
The commission will receive all written submittals electronically.  Submittals must be 
provided as PDF documents and may be emailed to cdphe.wqcc@state.co.us, provided via an 
FTP site, on a CD or flash drive, or otherwise conveyed to the commission office so as to be 
received no later than the due date.  Written comments will be available to the public on the 
commission’s web site. 

 
AUTHORITY FOR PUBLIC HEARING: 
 
The provisions of 25-8-202(1)(g),(h), (i), (o) and (2) C.R.S. and Section 21.5 B of the 
"Procedural Rules", Regulation #21 (5 CCR 1002-21) provide the authority for this hearing. 
 
PARTY STATUS: 
 
This is not a rulemaking hearing; therefore, party status provisions of 25-8-101 et. seq., and 
24-4-101 et. seq., C.R.S. do not apply.  Party status requests shall not be considered by the 
commission. 
 
Dated this 20th day of March 2019 at Denver, Colorado. 
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WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION 
 
 
 
 
___________________________________ 
Trisha Oeth, Administrator 
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NOTICE OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION HEARING 
 BEFORE THE 
 COLORADO WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION 
 
 
SUBJECT: 
 
At the date, time and location listed below, the Water Quality Control Commission will hold a 
public Administrative Action Hearing to consider approval of the Water Quality Control 
Division’s proposed submittal of projects for FY19 Section 319 nonpoint source funds.   
 
SCHEDULE OF IMPORTANT DATES: 
 
Initial list of 
recommended 
projects available 

Apr. 5, 2019 On commission’s web at 
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdphe/wqcc-
administrative-action-hearings 

Written comments 
due 

Apr.17, 2019 Additional submittal information below 

Final list of 
recommended 
projects available 

May. 1, 2019 On commission’s web at 
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdphe/wqcc-
administrative-action-hearings 

Public 
Administrative 
Action Hearing 

May 13, 2019 
10:30 a.m. 

Florence Sabin Conference Room 
Department of Public Health and Environment 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246 

 
PROCEDURAL MATTERS: 
 
The commission encourages input from interested persons, either in writing prior to the 
hearing or orally at the hearing.  Interested persons should provide their opinions or 
recommendations as to whether the proposed list should be approved by the commission and 
forwarded to EPA. 
 
The commission will receive all written submittals electronically.  Submittals must be 
provided as PDF documents and may be emailed to cdphe.wqcc@state.co.us, provided via an 
FTP site, on a CD or flash drive, or otherwise conveyed to the commission office so as to be 
received no later than the due date.  Written comments will be available to the public on the 
commission’s website. 

 
AUTHORITY FOR PUBLIC HEARING: 
 
The provisions of 25-8-202(1)(h), (i) and (2) C.R.S. and Section 21.5 B of the "Procedural 
Rules", Regulation #21 (5 CCR 1002-21) provide the authority for this hearing. 
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PARTY STATUS: 
 
This is not a rulemaking hearing; therefore, party status provisions of 25-8-101 et. seq., and 
24-4-101 et. seq., C.R.S. do not apply.  Party status requests shall not be considered by the 
Commission. 
 
Dated this 20th day of March 2019 at Denver, Colorado. 
 

 
WATER QUALITY CONTROL COMMISSION 
 
 
 
 
___________________________________ 
Trisha Oeth, Administrator 



Calendar of Hearings
Hearing Date/Time Agency Location
04/18/2019 09:15 AM Division of Gaming - Rules promulgated by Gaming

Commission
17301 W. Colfax Ave., Suite 135, Golden, CO 80401

04/18/2019 09:15 AM Division of Gaming - Rules promulgated by Gaming
Commission

17301 W Colfax Ave, Suite 135, Golden, CO 80401

04/15/2019 10:00 AM Division of Professions and Occupations - Office of Barber
and Cosmetology Licensure

1560 Broadway, 19th Floor - Conference Room 1250 A

04/18/2019 09:00 AM Division of Conservation 1560 Broadway - Conf Room 110-D Denver
04/16/2019 09:00 AM Division of Oil and Public Safety 633 17th St., Suite 500, Denver, CO 80222
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