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Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of § §
10-1-109, and 13-64-301(1)(b), C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of amending this regulation is to clarify for the applicant the documents and information that
are acceptable to the Commissioner to establish financial responsibility in compliance with § 13-64-301(1)
(b), (c), (d) and (e), C.R.S.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation applies to all health care institutions that are required to establish financial responsibility
as set forth in § 13-64-301(1)(b), (c), (d) and (e), C.R.S.

Section 4 Definitions

A. “Applicant” as used in this regulation means the health care institution or a corporation or other
entity which is assuming the risks of the underlying health care institution or institutions.

B. “Commissioner” as used herein means the Colorado Commissioner of Insurance.

C. “Holding company system” as used in this regulation means a structure whereby a parent
company directly or indirectly owns or controls the health care institution.
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Section 5 Requirements for Establishing Financial Responsibility

Sections 13-64-301(1)(b), (c), (d), & (e), C.R.S. provide that each health care institution, in order to
maintain its condition of active licensure, maintain one of the following forms of coverage: commercial
professional liability insurance coverage in an amount established by statute; a surety bond in a form
acceptable to the Commissioner; cash or cash equivalents on deposit with the Commissioner; or any
other security, acceptable to the Commissioner, which may include a plan of self-insurance.

A.

Each filing must be submitted by the applicant to the Corporate Affairs Section of the Division of
Insurance for review at least sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date of the prior qualifying
financial responsibility arrangement.

The submission shall include a detailed explanation of the overall plan of operation, list of each
health care institution included in the plan, each health care institution location, method of
compliance, whether coverage is to be on an occurrence or claims-made basis, administrative
procedures, including copies of any contracts and subcontracts related to the plan of financial
responsibility.

Where the coverage is being offered on a claims-made basis, the coverage must meet the
requirements of § 10-4-419, C.R.S., where applicable.

Applicants maintaining Surety bonds filed pursuant to § 13-64-301(1)(c), C.R.S. must file a copy
of the executed bond with the Division which includes the following information:

1. The name of the licensed insurance company, which is authorized to operate in the State
of Colorado, issuing the bond;

2. The amount of the bond;
3. The type of bond;
4, A provision that the bond is issued in favor of third party claimants against the applicant

for payments of medical malpractice settlements, arbitration awards, or judgments;

5. A provision for 90 day notice to the Commissioner of Insurance in the event of
cancellation or nonrenewal; and

6. Supplemental evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner that the amount of the bond is
sufficient to fund the applicant's approval year obligation of $500,000 per
incident/$3,000,000 aggregate per year per institution plus whatever remaining liability
there may be for prior year's coverage.

Applicants depositing cash or cash equivalents pursuant to § 13-64-301(1)(d), C.R.S. must
comply with the following:

1. The form of cash equivalents deposited by any applicant must be approved by the
Commissioner.

2. The funds shall be held under joint control with the Commissioner pursuant to § 10-3-
210, C.R.S.
3. The market value shall be sufficient to fund the applicant's approval year obligation of

$500,000 per incident/$3,000,000 aggregate per year per institution plus whatever
remaining liability there may be for prior year's coverage.
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F. To determine the adequacy of financial ability for those applicants choosing an alternative
security pursuant to § 13-64-301(1)(e), C.R.S. the following shall be submitted:

1.

10.

In the event an applicant files a plan of self-insurance for multiple health care institutions
and health care institution locations, the filing must clearly reflect that each individual
health care institution and each individual health care institution location meets the
minimum required coverage limits.

The name and address of each health care institution and each health care institution
location.

A detailed explanation of the overall plan of operation of the self-insurance program,
method of operation and coverage being offered including administrative procedures and
expertise in administration, actuarial and claims analysis, including copies of all contracts
and subcontracts.

Submission of an actuarial certification which includes a report setting forth any and all
self-insurance exposures by a qualified actuary. The applicant may request a waiver of
this requirement, but in no event may the period between certifications exceed two years.

An affidavit executed by a knowledgeable officer of the health care institution stating
whether or not the figure within the statement of actuarial opinion has been stated in the
institution's financial statements, and if so, to what extent.

Audited financial statements from the incorporation date to the present, but not to exceed
the past three years, for the entity which will be liable for the self-insurance exposure risk,
and consolidated financial statements for the entire organizational structure when the
institution(s) is/are part of a holding company system.

An organizational chart of all related corporate entities when the applicant and the
institution seeking to self-insure are members of a holding company system.

An explanation and listing of any and all pledges, commitments, letters of credit, or other
documents executed by the health care institution or any entity within the holding
company system, not reflected in the financial statements set forth above.

Any actuarial studies, reports, projections, feasibility studies, or justifications which the
applicant believes further demonstrates adequacy of the self-insurance program, or any
other document not requested above which the Commissioner deems necessary to fully
evaluate the proposed plan of self-insurance.

An applicant may establish a trust as the funding mechanism under this Subsection F.
The trust agreement must be submitted and approved and must be established with an
authorized trustee in a chartered state bank, savings and loan association, credit union,
or trust company authorized to act as fiduciary and under the supervision of the State
Bank and or Financial Services Commissioner or a national banking association, federal
credit union, or federal savings and loan association authorized to act as fiduciary in
Colorado. The trust must include provisions whereby termination may not occur without
prior written consent of the Commissioner.

G. In the event an applicant has secured commercial liability insurance coverage pursuant to § 13-
64-301(1)(b), C.R.S. and has retained a certain level of risk exposure prior to the commercial
carrier being at risk, the self funded portion of the plan is subject to the filing requirements of
Subsection F.
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H. In determining financial responsibility, the applicant's financial status will be reviewed to
determine the ability not only to make payments when due, but also to determine current financial
soundness. The information submitted will be reviewed to determine the acceptability of
underlying assumptions used in determining plan obligations, that the plan obligations will be
valued in accordance with commonly accepted actuarial practices and that the conservative
nature and intent of statutory accounting standards will be utilized where appropriate in valuing
assets used to support insurance responsibilities. The financial statements must establish good
and sufficient provisions for all incurred and unmatured obligations of the health care institution.

Section 6 Evidence of Compliance

A. The Commissioner shall issue a letter of approval for those health care institutions which meet
the requirements under items D, E, or F of Section 5 of this regulation. Applicants not meeting the
requirements shall be denied.

B. A letter of approval or denial from the Commissioner shall be remitted to the applicant and a copy
sent to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. A letter of denial shall state
all reasons for the denial. The letter of approval, at a minimum, will include the following

information:

1. The name and address of each health care institution to whom the letter of approval is
issued;

2. The form of financial responsibility approved by the Commissioner for use by the health

care institution of either surety bond, cash or cash equivalent, other security, or plan of
self-insurance;

3. A statement of compliance § 13-64-301 C.R.S,;

4, A determined effective and expiration date for the letter of approval;

5. A statement that the type of financial responsibility provided by the approved plan of
operation is limited to medical malpractice liability coverage; and

6. A statement that the renewal submission for review by the Division of Insurance of the
applicant's plan of self-insurance is due 60 days prior to the expiration date of the
approval.

C. The Commissioner shall notify the applicant within 30 days of receipt of the application if any

additional information is required and shall specify such additional information.
Section 7 Plan Changes

Health care institutions must notify the Division of Insurance of financial responsibility plan changes at
least 30 days prior to the effective date of the change. Changes requiring notification include, but are not
limited to, name changes and location changes of health care institutions, address changes, changes in
control of health care institutions, additions of health care institutions, deletions of health care institutions,
changes in trust arrangements, changes in coverage and changes in management or administration.

Section 8 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.
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Section 9 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this Regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license,
subject to the requirements of due process.

Section 10 Effective Date

This amended regulation shall be effective on November 1, 2012.
Section 11 History

Originally promulgated September 1, 1989.

Amended and effective June 1, 1990.

Amended and effective November 1, 1999.
Amended regulation effective November 1, 2012.
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Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of §10-
1-109(1), C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The intent and purpose of §10-3-209(1)(b)(1)(B), C.R.S. is to provide a tax incentive for insurance
companies to bring employment to the State of Colorado through the establishment of home or regional
home offices (hereinafter referred to as RHO) in the state. It is not intended to furnish tax relief to
companies that do not either perform the required level of the functions mandated by statute, or maintain
significant direct insurance operations supported by functional operations pertinent to a line or lines of
business written by the company.

The purpose of this regulation is to provide filing requirements and standards that are applicable to
companies making application for RHO qualification.
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Section 3 Applicability

This regulation applies to all companies seeking qualification as a regional home office in Colorado in
accordance with §10-3-209(1)(b)(1)(B), C.R.S.

Section 4 Forms

A. The first year applicant may elect to file for qualification using either the Long Form application,
which provides an extensive and detailed analysis of the applicant’s operations, or the Significant
Direct Insurance Operations application form, which requires the applicant to meet two (2) of
three (3) standards pursuant to Section 7B. of this regulation. If the applicant elects to qualify
using the Long Form, subsequent filings shall be made on a Short Form for the next four years or
until the Company’s operations have changed in such a manner as to materially affect its regional
home office operations; every fifth year the company shall file a Long Form.

B. A complete application is required to be filed before any determination can be made, either for a
new or renewal applicant. A complete application shall include the application form, all required
original signatures, and attachments specified by the application form and instructions. Due dates
for the complete application must be in accordance with Section 5 of this regulation.

C. The company is required to notify the Colorado Division of Insurance of any material changes in
operation which could affect their qualification within 30 days from the effective date of the
change. Upon review of this information the Division of Insurance may require additional filings
which may include the Long Form application if not already filed.

D. Once the application is approved, the applicant must attach a copy of its approval letter to each
Premium Tax Filing form. Forms filed without this authorization will be subject to the tax rate
required by statute in §10-3-209(1)(b)(I)(A), C.R.S.

Section 5 Qualification Process

A. All companies, except newly formed companies, must meet the qualification standards on
January 1 of the year of application and continuously maintain qualification throughout the year.

B. Newly formed companies meeting the qualification standards from their inception may apply
within sixty (60) days of the issuance of their certificate of authority for RHO qualification. If the
new company is approved as a RHO, the effective date of approval will be the date the company
was licensed.

C. New Applications must be received on or before December 31 preceding the calendar year for
which the initial RHO qualification is being submitted. New applications will undergo a detailed
review and an on-site verification, pursuant to the provisions of Section 6, of the company’s
performance of the mandated functions.

D. Renewal Applications must be received on or before March 1 of the year for which qualification is
being made. Significant changes noted upon review by the Division may result in a request for a
more detailed explanation, filing of the long form, and possible on-site verification. The request for
additional information beyond that required by the application form does not affect the receipt
date of the application.

E. Renewal applications, if approved will have an effective date of January 1.
F. Final written approval or disapproval of an RHO application will be made to the company within

forty five (45) days from the date of the receipt of the application, request for additional
information, or on-site verification, whichever occurs at the latest date.
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G. Each company is expected to independently meet the qualification standards; however, affiliated
or subsidiary companies as defined in §10-3-801, C.R.S., performing similar operations in
Colorado, sharing certain administrative and technical processes, can submit a single application
which clearly identifies the company name and NAIC number for all entities applying for regional
home office status.

Section 6 On-Site Verification

A. At the discretion of the Commissioner all qualifying companies are subject to on-site inspection.
The on-site verification will consist of an inspection of the premises of the Colorado office,
verification of the information contained in the application, and an interview with the senior
officers of the Colorado office.

B. On-site inspections of a group application will include verification that all companies included in
the application meet the required mandates.

Section 7 Standards

Approval of an application requires compliance with the statutory mandate to “substantially” perform
certain functions, or to maintain significant direct insurance operations supported by pertinent functional
operations in this state. The applicant may qualify by complying with one of the following standards:

A. The statutory functions must be performed in Colorado for a minimum of three (3) entire states or
all states in which the company is licensed, if less than three. The level of performance
considered substantial is defined as not less than 66% (two-thirds) of the nine functions described
in §10-3-209(1)(b)(N(B)(I1)(A), C.R.S. This level of performance shall apply to the number of
functions, the degree of performance of these functions, and other significant criteria particular to
each company. Analysis of a company's compliance with this standard includes a review of the
performance of these functions for each significant line of business transacted within the region.

The nine mandated functions described in section 10-3-209(1)(b)(ll), C.R.S. consist of various
sub-functions and tasks. Applicant is required to define its performance of each of the mandated
functions and various sub-functions and tasks of each function to qualify, taking into account the
line or lines of business the applicant transacts in the region. An applicant's definition of the
performance of each function may differ, depending upon the type and nature of the applicant's
business.

B. Maintenance of significant direct insurance operations supported by functional operations that are
both necessary and pertinent to a line or lines of business written by the applicant. The functional
operations for a line or lines of business written must be substantially equivalent to the functions
in §10-3-209(1)(b)(1), C.R.S., and must be representative of the type of insurance being written.
To substantiate compliance with the maintenance of significant direct insurance operations, the
applicant must provide adequate documentation substantiating that two (2) of the following three
(3) requirements are met by either the applicant or the applicant’s ultimate parent, subsidiary or
affiliate as defined in §10-3-801, C.R.S.

1. Maintain a work force of one hundred and fifty (150) individuals, per each regional home
office applicant company, located in Colorado, comprised of full time employees,
excluding agents and their staff, or

2. Own, or lease, office space in Colorado equivalent to 30,000 square feet per each
regional home office applicant company, or
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3. Expend, for salaries, administration, operating expenses, etc., not less than five (5)
million dollars per each applicant company in this state related to the performance of
functional operations.

C. For multiple companies with the same ultimate parent, subsidiary or affiliate the applicant must be
able to demonstrated that each applicant would meet the requirements if it directly employed the
full time employees; directly owned or leased the office space or directly expended the minimum
funds for operations.

D. If the applicant has made an application under either standard 7A. or 7B. above, and fails to
qualify, no other application shall be considered for the same year.

Section 8 Removal of Qualified Status

A. A company will no longer qualify as an RHO upon its notification to the Division of Insurance that
it no longer maintains an office in this state; upon failure to file the required application; upon the
Division's determination of noncompliance with the standards established for qualification as a
RHO resulting in a letter of denial; or by a change in the company's operations which impairs
qualification.

B. Upon the determination that the company no longer meets the qualification standards of a RHO,
the 1% premium tax rate will be granted for the amount of the actual premium written prior to the
date that the qualification is lost. The company is responsible for providing sufficient and
acceptable documentation to support the amount of premium written prior to such date. If the date
cannot clearly be determined, the rescission will be backdated to January 1 of the current year.

C. In the event the RHO no longer qualifies for the 1% premium tax rate and has already prepaid
estimated quarterly taxes at the 1% rate, the company must make payment of any deficient
quarterly payment in conjunction with the next subsequent quarterly (or year-end) payment.

Section 9 Administrative Appeal
A. A company which receives a letter from the Division of Insurance denying or revoking the RHO
status may appeal by submitting in writing, to the Division of Insurance, a petition setting forth

detailed explanations and support of the company's position that the denial was in error.

B. If the initial denial is affirmed by the Division of Insurance, the company may file a written request
for an administrative hearing, pursuant to §24-4-105, C.R.S.

C. Appeal actions exercised by the company must be submitted within thirty (30) days from the date
of the most recent letter of denial.

Section 10 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.

Section 11 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license,
subject to the requirements of due process.
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Section 12 Effective Date

This regulation is effective on August 1, 2013.
Section 13 History

Amended and Restated December 31, 1996.

Amended effective January 1, 2002.
Amended regulation effective August 1, 2013.

Regulation 2-1-3 CONCERNING THE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR
HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS

Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Definitions

Section 5 Requirements for Establishing Financial Responsibility

Section 6 Evidence of Compliance

Section 7 Severability

Section 8 Enforcement

Section 9 Effective Date

Section 10 History
Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of § §
10-1-109, 13-64-301, and 12-40-126, C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of amending this regulation is to clarify for the applicant the documents and information that
are acceptable to the Commissioner to establish financial responsibility in compliance with § 13-64-
301(1)(a),(a.5),(c), (d) and (e), C.R.S. and 12-40-126 (1)(b), (c) and (d), C.R.S.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation applies to all health care professionals that are required to establish financial responsibility
as set forth in § § 13-64-301(1), (c), (d), and (e), C.R.S. and 12-40-126 (1)(b), (c), and (d), C.R.S.

Section 4 Definitions

A. “Applicant” as used in this regulation means a physician licensed by the Colorado Medical Board,
a dentist licensed by the Colorado State Board of Dental Examiners, an optometrist licensed by
the Colorado State Board of Optometry, or a corporation or other entity which is assuming the
exposure risks of the underlying licensed physicians, dentists, or optometrists.

B. “Commissioner” as used herein means the Colorado Commissioner of Insurance.

C. “Professional malpractice” for purpose of this regulation shall mean those medical malpractice
claims arising out of the professions of physicians, dentists and optometrists.

D. “Professional” as used herein means a physician, dentist or optometrist.
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Section 5 Requirements for Establishing Financial Responsibility

The financial responsibility requirements are mandated in § § 13-64-301, and 12-40-126 C.R.S. for
applicants who are not specifically exempted under the Colorado Governmental Immunity Act, or
otherwise exempted under the statute. Sections 13-64-301 and 12-40-126 provide that an applicant, in
order to maintain condition of active licensure, maintain one of the following forms of coverage:
commercial professional liability insurance coverage; a surety bond; cash or cash equivalents; or any
other security, acceptable to the commissioner, which may include a plan of self insurance.

A. Each filing must be submitted by the applicant to the Corporate Affairs Section of the Division of
Insurance for review at least sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date of the professional license
with the appropriate licensing board.

B. The submission shall include a detailed explanation of the overall plan of operation, method of
compliance, whether coverage is to be on an occurrence or claims-made basis, administrative
procedures, including copies of any contracts and subcontracts related to the plan of financial
responsibility.

C. Where the coverage is being offered on a claims-made basis, the coverage must meet the
requirements of § 10-4-419, C.R.S., where applicable.

D. The Colorado Medical Board, the Colorado State Board of Dental Examiners or the Colorado
State Board of Optometry may establish financial responsibility standards which are less than
those prescribed in § § 13-64-301 and 12-40-126, C.R.S.. If the applicant is filing for reduced
financial responsibility standards, he/she must submit authorization for such standards from the
appropriate licensing board.

E. Surety Bonds

1. The following information must be provided to the Commissioner by any applicant posting
a surety bond as the method of financial compliance:

A copy of the executed bond which must clearly set forth:

a. The name of the insurance company, which is authorized to operate in the State
of Colorado, issuing the bond;

b. The amount of the bond;
C. The type of bond;
d. That said bond is issued in favor of third party claimants against the applicant for

payments of professional malpractice settlements;

e. The bond shall provide for 90 days advance notice to the Commissioner in the
event of cancellation or nonrenewal.

2. Evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner that the amount of the bond is sufficient to
fund the applicant's current license year obligation prescribed in § 13-64-301 (1), or § 12-
40-126 (1) C.R.S., plus whatever remaining liability there may be for prior year's
coverage.

10
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F. Cash or Cash Equivalent

The form of cash or cash equivalents deposited by any applicant must be approved by the Commissioner.
The funds shall be held under joint control with the Commissioner pursuant to § 10-3-210, C.R.S. The
market value shall be sufficient to fund the applicant's current license year obligation prescribed in § 13-
64-301 (1), or § 12-40-126 (1) C.R.S., plus whatever remaining liability there may be for prior year's
coverage.

G. Other Security, which may include plans of self insurance

1. In order to determine the adequacy of financial ability for those applicants choosing
another form of security, the applicant shall submit the following:

a. The name, address, license number (if available), and effective dates of the
licensure period of the applicant. When the applicant is a corporation or other
entity, the application must contain a list of all covered professionals, license
numbers, renewal/licensing dates, and appropriate documentation which creates
the legal obligation to cover the listed professionals.

b. Submission of an actuarial report by a qualified actuary which sets forth
exposures, funding methodology, and recommendations for the adequacy of
funding level and loss adjustment expense reserves.

C. Financial statements for the past three years for the person or entity which will be
liable for the exposure risk, including balance sheets, income statements and
changes of financial position or equivalent statements and detail certified by an
independent public accountant.

d. Any actuarial studies, reports, projections, feasibility studies, or justifications
which the applicant believes further demonstrates adequacy of the program, or
any other document not requested above which the Commissioner of Insurance
deems necessary to fully evaluate the proposed plan.

2. An applicant may establish a trust as the funding mechanism under this subsection G.
The trust agreement must be submitted and approved and must be established with an
authorized trustee in a chartered state bank, savings and loan association, credit union,
or trust company authorized to act as fiduciary and under the supervision of the state
bank and savings and loan commissioner or a national banking association, federal credit
union, or federal savings and loan association authorized to act as fiduciary in Colorado.
The trust must include provisions whereby termination may not occur without prior written
consent of the Commissioner.

3. In determining financial responsibility under this subsection G., the applicant's financial
status will be reviewed to determine the ability not only to make payments when due, but
also to determine current financial soundness. The information submitted will be reviewed
to determine the acceptability of underlying assumptions used in determining plan
obligations, that the plan obligations will be valued in accordance with commonly
accepted actuarial practices and that the conservative nature and intent of statutory
accounting standards will be utilized where appropriate in valuing assets used to support
insurance responsibilities. The financial statements must establish good and sufficient
provisions for all incurred and unmatured obligations of the applicant.

11
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Section 6 Evidence of Compliance
A. The Commissioner shall issue a letter of approval for those applicants who meet the
requirements under items E, F or G of section 5 of this regulation. Applicants not meeting the
requirements shall be denied.
B. A letter of approval or a denial thereof from the Commissioner shall be remitted to the applicant
and copied to the appropriate licensing board. A letter of denial shall state all reasons therefor.
The letter of compliance will include the following information:
1. The name and address of the applicant;
2. The form of financial responsibility approved by the Commissioner for use by the
professional as either surety bond, cash or cash equivalent or other security, which may
include a plan of self insurance;

3. A statement that the applicant has demonstrated the ability to satisfy the minimum
coverage amounts as specified in § 13-64-301 (1), or § 12-40-126 (1) C.R.S;;

4, A determined effective and expiration date for the evidence of compliance;

5. That the type of financial responsibility provided by the approved plan of operation is
limited to professional malpractice liability coverage; and

6. That renewal submissions for review by the Division of Insurance of the applicant is due
60 days prior to the expiration date of the evidence of compliance.

C. The Commissioner shall notify the applicant within 30 days of receipt of the application if any
additional information is required and shall specify such additional information.

Section 7 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.

Section 8 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license,
subject to the requirements of due process.

Section 9 Effective Date

This amended regulation shall be effective on November 1, 2012.

Section 10 History

Originally promulgated January 1, 1990.
Amended regulation effective November 1, 2012.

Regulation 2-1-4 [Repealed eff. 03/01/2012]

Regulation 2-1-5 [Repealed eff. 06/01/2012]

12
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Regulation 2-1-7 CONCERNING ISSUANCE OF A CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY
Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Application by Foreign Insurers

Section 5 Formation of a Colorado Domestic Insurer
Section 6 Change to Existing Authority

Section 7 Reinstatement of Suspended Authority
Section 8 Confidentiality

Section 9 Severability

Section 10 Enforcement

Section 11 Effective Date
Section 12 History

Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of § §
10-1-109, 10-14-505, C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to clarify the standards for issuing certificates of authority to transact
insurance business in Colorado to insurers, fraternal benefit societies and interinsurance exchanges.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation applies to any company seeking a Certificate of Authority as a property, casualty, multiple
line, life or title insurer, fraternal benefit society or interinsurance exchange, or any such company seeking
to add lines of business, redomesticate, change its name or otherwise amend its Certificate of Authority.

Section 4 Application by Foreign Insurers

A. Any foreign company seeking a Certificate of Authority in Colorado as an insurer, fraternal benefit
society, or interinsurance exchange shall submit a UCAA expansion application.

B. An applicant’s capital and surplus must meet or exceed the minimum required by Colorado
statute. Section 10-3-201, C.R.S. establishes the minimum amount of capital and surplus for each
company type. The Division will review both the applicant's company type as determined by its
state of domicile and the lines of business that it currently writes. The Division will determine the
minimum required under each of these scenarios and apply the greater of the two amounts. For
example, an insurer licensed as a multiple line carrier by its state of domicile, which currently only
writes casualty lines of business as defined by a Colorado certificate of authority, would be
considered a multiple line carrier in Colorado. As such the company would need to meet the
capital and surplus requirement for a multiple line company.

C. If the company's operation is predominately that of a reinsurer the surplus requirements of a
reinsurer pursuant to § 10-3-118, C.R.S. must be met. The $20 million surplus requirement shall
not apply to reinsurance ceded and assumed pursuant to pooling arrangements among insurers
in the same holding company system.
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D.

The applicant must demonstrate the ability to maintain the minimum level of capital and surplus at
the time of initial licensure and on an on-going basis. This includes the ability to fund for product
development and for other causes of surplus strain resulting from increasing business writings or
new business ventures. An amount in excess of the statutory minimum capital and surplus is
necessary at the time of licensure to ensure that the company has a sufficient cushion to absorb
any surplus strain. Generally, the applicant should have three (3) times the authorized control
level based on the most recent annual risk based capital calculation.

The applicant must have a sound business plan, sufficient capital to support the plan, and
adequate access to additional capital. In addition, the applicant must also demonstrate favorable
liquidity, adequate reinsurance from companies authorized in this state, sound management, at
least three years of favorable operating results, and stable revenue, earnings and surplus trends.
The commissioner may waive the three years of favorable operating results requirement if the
applicant:

1. Is the wholly owned subsidiary of an insurance company authorized to transact insurance
in the State of Colorado, or

2. Is the successor in interest through merger or consolidation of an insurance company
authorized in Colorado, or

3. Is seeking authority to write only crop insurance policies reinsured by the Federal Crop
Insurance Corporation and the applicant company is designated by the United States
Department of Agriculture to provide insurance coverage through the Standard
Reinsurance Agreement, or

4, Is seeking authority to write a line, or lines, of insurance business that is underserved in
this state. Any applicant seeking a waiver of the three years of favorable operating results
requirement pursuant to this provision shall supplement the other required application
documents with the following:

a. Information and documentation as may be necessary to demonstrate to the
Commissioner that there is no reasonable or adequate market among authorized
insurers for the type of coverage involved in the request

b. Documentation that the applicant possesses the financial capability to adequately
fund the loss and underwriting costs associated with the type of coverage
involved

C. A certification from the applicant acknowledging that if the requested waiver is

approved, the applicant’s authority to transact business shall be limited to the
line, or lines of business and type, or types, of coverage involved in the request

The commissioner may require an actuarial opinion and a surplus sufficiency report prior to
licensure or at any time after licensure when the commissioner believes that there is a need to
review the adequacy of the available surplus with respect to the types of assets and writings of
the company. A company seeking licensure must be authorized by its domiciliary state to write
the lines of insurance being requested and demonstrate that it possesses the expertise
necessary to write and service such insurance. An applicant who is increasing its market to
include new products is also required to demonstrate the necessary expertise. The commissioner
may waive this requirement if the company is affiliated with a company licensed in Colorado that
writes the same type of insurance being requested. An applicant may be required to provide a
guaranty on a form prescribed by the commissioner, to maintain surplus either at the amount
required by statute or three (3) times the authorized control level based on the most recent
annual risk based capital calculation, whichever is greater.
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H. The commissioner may require any applicant, or affiliated company of the applicant to remedy
any hazardous financial condition as outlined in Regulation 3-1-7 prior to licensure.

l. Substantial errors, fraudulent statements contained in an application or incomplete applications
constitute sufficient grounds for denial of the application.

J. The most recent financial examination of the applicant must have a date of account no later than
five years from the date of the application for licensure.

Section 5 Formation of a Colorado Domestic Insurer

A. An application for the formation of a Colorado domestic insurance company as an insurer,
fraternal benefit society, or interinsurance exchange must be the UCAA primary application. The
applicant company's plan of operation narrative must include an explanation of how § 10-3-
128(1), C.R.S. requirements will be fulfilled.

B. The applicant must demonstrate the ability to maintain the minimum level of capital and surplus at
the time of initial licensure and on an on-going basis. This includes the ability to fund for product
development and for other causes of surplus strain resulting from increasing business writings or
new business ventures. An amount in excess of the statutory minimum capital and surplus is
necessary at the time of licensure to ensure that the company has a sufficient cushion to absorb
any surplus strain. Generally, the applicant should have three (3) times the authorized control
level based on the most recent annual risk based capital calculation.

C. If the company's operation is predominately that of a reinsurer the surplus requirements of a
reinsurer pursuant to § 10-3-118, C.R.S. must be met. The $20 million surplus requirement shall
not apply to reinsurance ceded and assumed pursuant to pooling arrangements among insurers
in the same holding company system.

D. The applicant must have a sound business plan, sufficient capital to support the plan, and
adequate access to additional capital. In addition, the applicant must also demonstrate favorable
liquidity, adequate reinsurance from companies authorized in this state, sound management, and
stable revenue, earnings and surplus trends.

E. The commissioner may require an actuarial opinion and report of the company’s surplus
adequacy prior to licensure or at any time during which the company is licensed when it is
believed that there is a need to review the adequacy of the available surplus with respect to the
types of assets and writings of the company.

F. Substantial errors, fraudulent statements contained in an application or incomplete applications
constitute sufficient grounds for denial of the application.

Section 6 Change to Existing Authority

A. A company may submit a UCAA corporate amendments application to add or delete lines of
business, redomesticate, change its name or otherwise amend its Certificate of Authority.

B. The Commissioner will determine whether the company has the necessary expertise, experience
and financial ability for continued licensure in Colorado after the proposed change.

Section 7 Reinstatement of Suspended Authority
Any suspended foreign or domestic insurer, fraternal benefit society or interinsurance exchange may

have its certificate of authority reinstated by demonstrating that it meets all the conditions and standards
for licensure. Applications must be on a form prescribed by the Commissioner.
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Section 8 Confidentiality

A. Documents submitted in compliance with this regulation, shall generally be considered public
records under the public records act, § 24-72-200.1, C.R.S., et seq.

B. If an applicant considers a document to be confidential, the applicant must submit the document
under separate cover clearly labeled “CONFIDENTIAL” with an explanation of why the applicant
believes the documents are confidential.

C. Documentation found to be confidential by the Division will be maintained in a separate,
confidential file and will not be released to the general public for inspection or copying except
upon court order or agreement of the applicant.

Section 9 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.

Section 10 Enforcement

Non compliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance or other laws which include the imposition of
fines, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license.

Section 11 Effective Date
This amended regulation shall be effective March 1, 2012

Section 12 History

Originally adopted November 1, 1990.
Amended September 1, 1992.
Amended March 1, 1994.

Amended November 1, 1999.
Amended September 1, 2002.
Amended March 1, 2012.

Regulation 2-1-8 CONCERNING RISK RETENTION GROUPS AND PURCHASING GROUPS
Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Definitions

Section 5 Risk Retention Groups Chartered in this State

Section 6 Risk Retention Groups Not Chartered in this State

Section 7 Compulsory Associations

Section 8 Purchasing Groups — Exemption from Certain Laws

Section 9 Notice and Registration Requirements of Purchasing Groups
Section 10 Restrictions on Insurance Purchased by Purchasing Groups
Section 11 Purchasing Group Taxation

Section 12 Administrative and Procedural Authority Regarding Risk Retention Groups and
Purchasing Groups

Section 13 Severability

Section 14 Enforcement

Section 15 Effective Date

Section 16 History
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Section 1 Authority
This regulation is promulgated under the authority of § § 10-1-109 and 10-3-1403, C.R.S.
Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to regulate the formation and/or operation of risk retention groups or
purchasing groups in this state formed pursuant to the provisions of the federal Liability Risk Retention
Act of 1986, 15 U.S.C. 3901 et seq (“RRA 1986”), to the extent permitted by such law.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation shall apply to any insurance company or purchasing group eligible or seeking to become
eligible to operate under the RRA 1986 in Colorado.

Section 4 Definitions
As used in this regulation

A. “Completed operations liability” means liability arising out of the installation, maintenance, or
repair of any product at a site which is not owned or controlled by

1. Any person who performs that work; or

2. Any person who hires an independent contractor to perform that work; but shall include
liability for activities which are completed or abandoned before the date of the occurrence
giving rise to the liability.

B. “Domicile”, for purposes of determining the state in which a purchasing group is domiciled, means
for a corporation, the state in which the purchasing group is incorporated; and for an
unincorporated entity, the state of its principal place of business.

C. “Hazardous financial condition” means that, based on its present or reasonably anticipated
financial condition, a risk retention group, although not yet financially impaired or insolvent, is
unlikely to be able to meet obligations to policyholders with respect to known claims and
reasonably anticipated claims; or to pay other obligations in the normal course of business.

D. “Insurance” means primary insurance, excess insurance, reinsurance, surplus lines insurance,
and any other arrangement for shifting and distributing risk which is determined to be insurance
under the laws of this state.

E. “Liability” means legal liability for damages (including costs of defense, legal costs and fees, and
other claims expenses) because of injuries to other persons, damage to their property, or other
damage or loss to such other persons resulting from or arising out of any business (whether profit
or nonprofit), trade, product, services (including professional services), premises, or operations;
or any activity of any state or local government, or any agency or political subdivision thereof; but
does not include personal risk liability and an employer's liability with respect to its employees
other than legal liability under the Federal Employers' Liability Act (45 U.S.C. 51 et seq.).

F. “Personal risk liability” means liability for damages because of injury to any person, damage to
property, or other loss or damage resulting from any personal, familial, or household
responsibilities or activities, rather than from responsibilities or activities referred to in Section 4

(E)-
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G. “Plan of operation or a feasibility study” means an analysis which presents the expected activities
and results of a risk retention group including, at a minimum:

1.

Information sufficient to verify that its members are engaged in businesses or activities
similar or related with respect to the liability to which such members are exposed by
virtue of any related, similar or common business, trade, product, services, premises
operations;

2. For each state in which it intends to operate, the coverages, deductibles, coverage limits,
rates, and rating classification systems for each line of insurance the group intends to
offer;

3. Historical and expected loss experience of the proposed members and national
experience of similar exposures to the extent that this experience is reasonably available;

4, Pro forma financial statements and projections;

5. Appropriate opinions by a qualified, independent casualty actuary, including a
determination of minimum premium or participation levels required to commence
operations and to prevent a hazardous financial condition;

6. Identification of management, underwriting and claims procedures, marketing methods,
managerial oversight methods, investment policies and reinsurance agreements;

7. Identification of each state in which the risk retention group has obtained, or sought to
obtain, a charter and license, and a description of its status in each such state; and

8. Such other matters as may be prescribed by the commissioner of the state in which the
risk retention group is chartered for liability insurance companies authorized by the
insurance laws of that state.

H. “Product liability” means liability for damages because of any personal injury, death, emotional

harm, consequential economic damage, or property damage (including damages resulting from
the loss of use of property) arising out of the manufacture, design, importation, distribution,
packaging, labeling, lease, or sale of a product, but does not include the liability of any person for
those damages if the product involved was in the possession of such a person when the incident
giving rise to the claim occurred.

l. “Purchasing group” means any group which

1.

2.

4.

1.

Has as one of its purposes the purchase of liability insurance on a group basis;

Purchases such insurance only for its group members and only to cover their similar or
related liability exposure, as described in Section 4 (1)(3);

Is composed of members whose businesses or activities are similar or related with
respect to the liability to which members are exposed by virtue of any related, similar, or
common business, trade, product, services, premises, or operations; and

Is domiciled in any state.

“Risk retention group” means any corporation or other limited liability association:

Whose primary activity consists of assuming and spreading all, or any portion, of the
liability exposure of its group members;
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2. Which is organized for the primary purpose of conducting the activity described in Section
4(J0)(1);
3. Which
a. Is chartered and licensed as a liability insurance company and authorized to
engage in the business of insurance under the laws of any state; or

b. Before January 1, 1985 was chartered or licensed and authorized to engage in
the business of insurance under the laws of Bermuda or the Cayman Islands
and, before such date, had certified to the insurance commissioner of at least
one state that it satisfied the capitalization requirements of such state, except
that any such group shall be considered to be a risk retention group only if it has
been engaged in business continuously since that date and only for the purpose
of continuing to provide insurance to cover product liability or completed
operations liability (as such terms were defined in the Product Liability Risk
Retention Act of 1981 before the date of the enactment of RRA of 1986);

4, Which does not exclude any person from membership in the group solely to provide for
members of such a group a competitive advantage over such a person;

5. Which
a. Has as its owners only persons who comprise the membership of the risk

retention group and who are provided insurance by such group; or
b. Has as its sole owner an organization which has as:
i. Its members only persons who comprise the membership of the risk
retention group; and
ii. Its owners only persons who comprise the membership of the risk
retention group and who are provided insurance by such group;
6. Whose members are engaged in businesses or activities similar or related with respect to
the liability of which such members are exposed by virtue of any related, similar or
common business trade, product, services, premises or operations;
7. Whose activities do not include the provision of insurance other than
a. Liability insurance for assuming and spreading all or any portion of the liability of
its group members; and

b. Reinsurance with respect to the liability of any other risk retention group (or any
members of such other group) which is engaged in businesses or activities so
that such group or member meets the requirement described in Section 1V
4(J)(6)for membership in the risk retention group which provides such
reinsurance; and

8. The name of which includes the phrase “Risk Retention Group”.

K. “State” means any state of the United States or the District of Columbia.
L. “NAIC” means National Association of Insurance Commissioners.
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Section 5 Risk Retention Groups Chartered in this State

A. A risk retention group shall be chartered and licensed to write only liability insurance as limited
by RRA 1986 and, except as provided elsewhere in this regulation, must comply with all of the
laws, rules, regulations and requirements applicable to insurers chartered and licensed in this
state and with Section 6 of this regulation to the extent such requirements are not a limitation on
laws, rules, regulations or requirements of this state.

B. Notwithstanding any other provision to the contrary, all risk retention groups chartered in this
state shall file with the Division of Insurance and the NAIC, an annual statement in a form
prescribed by the Commissioner and in diskette form, if required by the Commissioner and
completed in accordance with its instructions.

C. Before it may offer insurance in any state, each risk retention group shall also submit for approval
to the Commissioner a plan of operation or feasibility study. The risk retention group shall submit
an appropriate revision in the event of any subsequent material change in any item of the plan of
operation or feasibility study, within ten (10) days of any such change. The group shall not offer
any additional kinds of liability insurance, in this state or in any other state, until a revision of such
plan or study is approved by the Commissioner.

D. At the time of filing its application for license, and in addition to the filing requirements of Colorado
Insurance Regulation 2-1-7 the risk retention group shall provide to the Commissioner in
summary form the following information: the identity of the initial members of the group, the
identity of those individuals who organized the group or who will provide administrative services
or otherwise influence or control the activities of the group, the amount and nature of initial
capitalization, the coverages to be afforded, and the states in which the group intends to operate.
An additional copy of this information shall be filed and upon receipt of this information, the
Commissioner shall forward the information to the NAIC. Providing notification to the NAIC is in
addition to and shall not be sufficient to satisfy the requirements of Section 6 or any other
requirements of this regulation.

Section 6 Risk Retention Groups Not Chartered in this State

Risk retention groups chartered and licensed in states other than this state and seeking to do business as
a risk retention group in this state shall comply with the laws of this state as follows:

A. Notice of Operations and Designation of Commissioner as Agent.

1. Before offering insurance in this state, a risk retention group shall submit to the
Commissioner on a form prescribed by the Commissioner:

a. A statement identifying the state or states in which the risk retention group is
chartered and licensed as a liability insurance company, charter date, its principal
place of business, and such other information, including information on its
membership, as the Commissioner may require to verify that the risk retention
group is qualified under Section 4(J);

b. A copy of its plan of operations or feasibility study and revisions of such plan or
study submitted to the state in which the risk retention group is chartered and
licensed; provided, however, that the provision relating to the submission of a
plan of operation or feasibility study shall not apply with respect to any line or
classification of liability insurance which:

(1) Was defined in the Product Liability Risk Retention Act of 1981 before
October 27, 1986; and
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(2) Was offered before such date by any risk retention group which had
been chartered and operating for not less than three years before such
date; and

The risk retention group shall submit a copy of any revision to its plan of operation or
feasibility study required by Section 6(A)(1)(b) at the same time that such revision is
submitted to the commissioner of its chartering state.

The risk retention group shall submit a statement of registration, which designates the
Commissioner as its agent for the purpose of receiving service of legal documents or
process.

The risk retention group shall submit a resolution of the board of directors, certified by the
corporate secretary or equivalent officer, which designates the Commissioner as agent
for the purpose of receiving service of legal documents or process.

B. Financial Condition.

Any risk retention group doing business in this state shall submit to the Commissioner:

1.

A copy of the group's financial statement submitted to the state in which the risk retention
group is chartered and licensed which shall be certified by an independent public
accountant and contain a statement of opinion on loss and loss adjustment expense
reserves made by a qualified actuary;

A copy of each examination of the risk retention group as certified by the commissioner
or public official conducting the examination;

Upon request by the Commissioner, a copy of any information or document pertaining to
any outside audit performed with respect to the risk retention group; and

Such information as may be required to verify its continuing qualification as a risk
retention group under Section 4(J).

C. Taxation.

1.

Each risk retention group shall be liable for the payment of premium taxes on business
for risks resident or located within this state, and shall report to the Commissioner the
gross premiums written for risks resident or located within this state. The risk retention
group shall be subject to taxation, and any applicable fines and penalties related thereto,
on the same basis as a foreign admitted insurer.

To the extent licensed agents or brokers are utilized, they shall report to the
Commissioner the premiums for direct business for risks resident or located within this
state which the licensees have placed with or on behalf of a risk retention group not
chartered in this state.

To the extent that insurance agents or brokers are utilized, the agent or broker shall keep
a complete and separate record of all policies procured from each risk retention group,
which record shall be open to examination by the Commissioner, as provided in § 10-1-
201, C.R.S. These records shall, for each policy and each kind of insurance provided
thereunder, include the following:

a. The limit of liability;
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b. The time period covered;
C. The effective date;
d. The name of the risk retention group which issued the policy;
e. The gross premium charged; and
f. The amount of return premiums, if any.
D. Any risk retention group shall comply with the laws of this state, specifically § 10-3-1104, C.R.S.,

regarding unfair, deceptive, false or fraudulent acts or practices. However, if the Commissioner
seeks an injunction regarding such conduct, the injunction must be obtained from a court of
competent jurisdiction.

E. Any risk retention group must submit to an examination by the Commissioner to determine its
financial condition if the commissioner of the jurisdiction in which the group is chartered and
licensed has not initiated an examination or does not initiate an examination within sixty (60) days
after a request by the Commissioner of this state. Any such examination shall be coordinated to
avoid unjustified repetition and conducted in an expeditious manner and in accordance with the
policies and procedures for examinations by the Colorado Division of Insurance.

F. Every application form for insurance from a risk retention group, and every policy (on its front and
declaration pages) issued by a risk retention group, shall contain in ten point type the following
notice:

NOTICE THIS POLICY IS ISSUED BY YOUR RISK RETENTION GROUP. YOUR RISK
RETENTION GROUP MAY NOT BE SUBJECT TO ALL OF THE INSURANCE LAWS AND
REGULATIONS OF YOUR STATE. STATE INSURANCE INSOLVENCY GUARANTY FUNDS
ARE NOT AVAILABLE FOR YOUR RISK RETENTION GROUP.

G. The following acts by a risk retention group are hereby prohibited:

1. The solicitation or sale of insurance by a risk retention group to any person who is not
eligible for membership in such group; and

2. The solicitation or sale of insurance by, or operation of, a risk retention group that is in
hazardous financial condition or financially impaired.

H. No risk retention group shall be allowed to do business in this state if an insurance company is
directly or indirectly a member or owner of such risk retention group, other than in the case of a
risk retention group all of whose members are insurance companies.

l. The terms of any insurance policy issued by any risk retention group shall not provide, or be
construed to provide, coverage prohibited generally by statute of this state or declared unlawful
by the highest court of this state whose law applies to such policy.

J. A risk retention group not chartered in this state and doing business in this state shall comply with
a lawful order issued in a voluntary dissolution proceeding or in a delinquency proceeding
commenced by a state insurance commissioner if there has been a finding of financial impairment
after an examination under Section 6(E).

K. A risk retention group that violates any provision of this regulation will be subject to fines and
penalties including revocation of its right to do business in this state, applicable to licensed
insurers generally.
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Section 7 Compulsory Associations

A. No risk retention group shall be required or permitted to join or contribute financially to any
insurance insolvency guaranty fund, or similar mechanism, in this state, nor shall any risk
retention group, or its insureds or claimants against its insureds, receive any benefit from any
such fund for claims arising under the insurance policies issued by such risk retention group.

B. When a purchasing group obtains insurance covering its members' risks from an authorized
insurer, only risks resident or located in this state shall be covered by the state guaranty fund
subject to § 10-4-501 et seq, C.R.S..

C. When a purchasing group obtains insurance covering its members' risks from an insurer not
authorized in this state or a risk retention group, no such risks, wherever resident or located, shall
be covered by any insurance guaranty fund or similar mechanism in this state.

Section 8 Purchasing Groups - Exemption from Certain Laws

A purchasing group and its insurer or insurers shall be subject to all applicable laws of this state, except
that a purchasing group and its insurer or insurers shall be exempt, in regard to liability insurance for the
purchasing group, from any law that would:

A. Prohibit the establishment of a purchasing group;

B. Make it unlawful for an insurer to provide or offer to provide insurance on a basis providing, to a
purchasing group or its members, advantages based on their loss and expense experience not
afforded to other persons with respect to rates, policy forms, coverages or other matters;

C. Prohibit a purchasing group or its members from purchasing insurance on a group basis
described in Section 8(B);

D. Prohibit a purchasing group from obtaining insurance on a group basis because the group has
not been in existence for a minimum period of time or because any member has not belonged to
the group for a minimum period of time;

E. Require that a purchasing group must have a minimum number of members, common ownership
or affiliation, or certain legal form;

F. Require that a certain percentage of a purchasing group must obtain insurance on a group basis;
G. Otherwise discriminate against a purchasing group or any of its members; or
H. Require that any insurance policy issued to a purchasing group or any of its members be

countersigned by an insurance agent or broker residing in this state.
Section 9 Notice and Registration Requirements of Purchasing Groups

A. A purchasing group which intends to do business in this state shall, prior to doing business,
furnish notice to the Commissioner which shall, on forms prescribed by the Commissioner:

1. Identify the state in which the group is domiciled;

2. Specify the lines and classifications of liability insurance which the purchasing group
intends to purchase;
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3. Identify the insurance company or companies from which the group intends to purchase
its insurance and the domicile of such company;

4, Specify the method by which, and the person or persons, if any, through whom insurance
will be offered to its members whose risks are resident or located in this state;

5. Identify the principal place of business of the group; and

6. Provide such other information as may be required by the Commissioner to verify that the
purchasing group is qualified under Section 4(1).

A purchasing group shall, within ten (10) days, notify the Commissioner of any changes in any of
the items set forth in Section 9 (A).

The purchasing group shall register and designate the Commissioner as its agent solely for the
purpose of receiving service of legal documents or process, accompanied by a Board of Directors
resolution authorizing the power of attorney, except that such requirements shall not apply in the
case of a purchasing group which only purchases insurance that was authorized under the
federal Products Liability Risk Retention Act of 1981, and:

1. Which in any state of the United States was domiciled before April 1, 1986; and is
domiciled on and after October 27, 1986;

2. Which before October 27, 1986 purchased insurance from an insurance carrier licensed
in any state; and since October 27, 1986 purchased its insurance from an insurance
carrier licensed in any state; or

3. Which was a purchasing group under the requirements of the Product Liability Risk
Retention Act of 1981 before October 27, 1986.

Each purchasing group that is required to give notice pursuant to subsection A of this section
shall also furnish such information as may be required by the Commissioner to:

1. Verify that the entity qualifies as a purchasing group;
2. Determine where the purchasing group is located; and

3. Determine appropriate tax treatment.

Section 10 Restrictions on Insurance Purchased by Purchasing Groups

A.

A purchasing group may not purchase insurance from a risk retention group that is not chartered
in a state or from an insurer not admitted in the state in which the purchasing group is located,
unless the purchase is effected through a licensed agent or broker acting pursuant to the surplus
lines laws and regulations of such state.

A purchasing group which obtains liability insurance from an approved surplus lines carrier or a
risk retention group shall inform each of the members of such group which have a risk resident or
located in this state that such risk is not protected by an insurance insolvency guaranty fund in
this state, and that such risk retention group or such insurer may not be subject to all insurance
laws and regulations of this state.

No purchasing group may purchase insurance providing for a deductible or self-insured retention
applicable to the group as a whole; however, coverage may provide for a deductible or self-
insured retention applicable to individual members.
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D. Purchases of insurance by purchasing groups are subject to the same standards regarding
aggregate limits which are applicable to all purchases of group insurance.

Section 11 Purchasing Group Taxation

Premium taxes and taxes on premiums paid for coverage of risks resident or located in this state by a
purchasing group or any members of the purchasing groups shall be:

A. Imposed at the same rate and subject to the same interest, fines and penalties as that applicable
to premium taxes and taxes on premiums paid for similar coverage from a similar insurance
source by other insureds; and

B. Paid first by such insurance source, and if not by such source by the agent or broker for the
purchasing group, and if not by such agent or broker then by the purchasing group, and if not by
such purchasing group then by each of its members.

Section 12 Administrative and Procedural Authority Regarding Risk Retention Groups and
Purchasing Groups

The Commissioner may make use of any of the provisions of Title 10 of the Colorado Revised Statutes to
enforce the laws of this state not specifically preempted by the RRA 1986 including the Commissioner's
administrative authority to investigate, issue subpoena, conduct depositions and hearings, issue orders,
impose penalties and seek injunctive relief. With regard to any investigation, administrative proceedings
or litigation, the Commissioner will rely on the procedural laws of this state.

Section 13 Severability

If any clause, sentence, paragraph, section or part of this regulation or the application thereof to any
person or circumstances, shall, for any reason, be adjudged by any court of competent jurisdiction to be
invalid, such judgment shall not affect, impair or invalidate the remainder of this regulation, and the
application thereof to other persons or circumstance, but shall be confined in its operation to the clause,
sentence, paragraph, section or part thereof directly involved in the controversy in which such judgment
shall have been rendered and to the person or circumstances involved.

Section 14 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license,
subject to the requirements of due process.

Section 15 Effective Date

This amended regulation shall become effective on July 1, 2012.

Section 16 History

Regulation amended and restated effective December 1, 1992

Amended regulation effective April 1, 2004
Amended regulation effective July 1, 2012
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Regulation 2-1-9 CONCERNING THE LICENSURE OF LIMITED SERVICE LICENSED
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Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated under the authority of §§ 6-18-302(1)(b), 10-1-108(13)(a), 10-1-109(1),
and 10-16-109, C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

In 1994, the Colorado General Assembly passed HB 94-1193, which authorized the commissioner
through regulation to set forth standards and requirements specific to “licensed provider networks” (i.e.,
provider networks engaged in the business of insurance) concerning their solvency and operational
capacity, or the performance of services consistent with the extent of risk being accepted by the licensed
provider network.

Provider networks desiring to provide only limited health services, in-patient hospital services, or home
health care, and only assume the level of risk commensurate with the provision of these limited benefits,
shall be licensed as limited service licensed provider networks pursuant to standards and requirements
established by this regulation.

The purpose of this regulation is to establish requirements for licensure as a limited service licensed
provider network, and to clarify the applicability of health benefit mandates and Title 10 requirements to
limited service licensed provider network health coverage plans.

Section 3 Definitions

A. “Capitation” means, for the purpose of this regulation, an arrangement whereby the amount of
money paid to the provider network is based upon the agreement to provide certain health care
services to covered persons, and does not vary on the basis of the number or type of services
actually rendered.

B. “Carrier” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(8) C.R.S.
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C. “Covered person” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(15), C.R.S.

D. “Employee assistance program” shall mean, for the purpose of this regulation, a worksite-focused
program designed to assist:

1. Work organizations in addressing productivity issues; and

2. Employee clients in identifying and resolving personal concerns (including, but not limited
to health, marital, family, financial, alcohol, drug, legal, emotional, stress, or other
personal issues that may affect job performance.

E. “Health care coverage plan” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-16-102(34), C.R.S.

F. “‘Home health care services” shall mean, for the purpose of this regulation, the following services
when provided to a covered person in his/her place of residence:

1. Skilled nursing services; home health aide services;
2. Provision of medical supplies, equipment, and appliances suitable for use in the home;
and
3. Physical therapy, speech and hearing therapy, or occupational therapy.
G. “Incidental services” means, for the purpose of this regulation, fees only for x-rays, laboratory

services, medications, and other services as approved by the commissioner.

H. “Inpatient hospital services” means, for the purpose of this regulation, services provided by a
licensed hospital to anyone requiring twenty-four (24) hours or more of continuous care in the
facility.

l. “Limited service licensed provider network” or “LSLPN” means, for the purpose of this regulation,
a provider network that offers to contract directly with a consumer(s) (e.g., individual, group,
employer, etc.) or their representative(s), to provide health care services restricted to:

1. A narrowly defined health specialty (e.g., substance abuse, radiology, mental health,
pediatrics, pharmacology, etc.), or

2. Services narrowly limited to a single type of licensed health facility (e.g., inpatient
hospital, birth center, long term care facility, hospice, etc.), or

3. Home health care services delivered in the covered person's residence only.

J. “Limited service licensed provider network health coverage plan” or “LSLPN health coverage
plan” means, for the purpose of this regulation, a contract, policy, certificate, or agreement
entered into or issued by an LSLPN that agrees to assume the risk for specific, limited health care
expenses and/or provide delivery of such services.

K. “Producer” shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-2-103(6), C.R.S.

L. “Provider network” shall have the same meaning as found at § 6-18-301.5(3), C.R.S.
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M.

“Risk assumption” or “risk sharing” means, for the purpose of this regulation, a transaction
whereby the chance of loss, including the expenses for the delivery of service, with respect to the
health care of a person, is transferred to or shared with another entity (e.g., carrier, including an
LSLPN), in return for a consideration. Examples include but are not limited to, full or partial
capitation agreements, withholds, risk corridors, and indemnity agreements. For the purposes of
this regulation, fee-for-service, per diem payments, diagnostic-related group payment
agreements, and employee assistance programs (EAPS) are not considered to be risk
assumption or risk sharing arrangements.

“Risk based capital” or “RBC” is a formula which quantifies the assets, liabilities, size and risk
profile of a regulated entity in order to determine the minimum amount of capital and surplus
required to be maintained by a company. The RBC formula provides an elastic means of setting
the capital and surplus requirement, in which the degree of risk taken by the entity is the primary
determinant.

Section 4 Applicability

The provisions of this regulation apply to:

A.

B.

Entities licensed as, or required to be licensed as, a sickness and accident insurance company; a
nonprofit hospital, medical-surgical, and health service corporation; or a health maintenance
organization (HMO) that contracts with provider networks for the delivery or provision of health
care services; and

Entities required to be licensed as a limited service licensed provider network.

Section 5 Licensure Options for Provider Networks Transacting the Business of Insurance

A

A provider network shall not issue any contract of insurance, including risk assumption or risk
sharing agreements, nor shall it accept or assume all or part of the risk inherent in a contract
issued by another entity, other than from a licensed carrier or with another entity that contracts
with licensed carriers as allowed by this regulation, without first receiving a license from the
commissioner.

Provider networks may apply to the Division of Insurance for a license to transact the business of
insurance as follows:

1. A provider network may apply for licensure as a sickness and accident insurance
company; a nonprofit hospital, medical-surgical, and health service corporation; or a
health maintenance organization, if the provider network meets the applicable terms and
conditions for such licensure. Once licensed, the provider network shall be subject to all
the statutory requirements of the insurance code under which it was licensed.

2. A provider network may apply for licensure as an LSLPN as provided by this regulation,
however.

a. In order to be eligible to make such application for this license, a provider
network must be legally bound and obligated to provide health care through an
LSLPN as defined in Section 3 of this regulation.

b. The provider network must agree that in the event a member of the network is
not able or willing to provide services to a consumer (e.g., individual, group,
employer, etc.) under contract with the network, the network will be obligated to
continue providing such services.
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C. The LSLPN may enter into contractual arrangements for incidental services with
other entities subject to the following:

(1) The LSLPN shall only contract for health services which are incidental,
but necessary to the performance of the LSLPN health coverage plans it
offers. Payments made for these incidental services shall not exceed ten
percent (10%) of total capitation fees/premiums received annually by the
LSLPN.

(2) The contract(s) for incidental service(s) shall contain a hold harmless
provision as outlined in § 10-16-705(3), C.R.S.

3. A provider network that meets the definition of a health maintenance organization (HMO)
pursuant to § 10-16-102(35), C.R.S. or, in the commissioner's opinion, offers services
which do not differ substantively from the basic services offered by an HMO, or that
provides comprehensive or major medical services to enrollees, either directly or through
contractual or other arrangements with other hospitals and/or physicians, shall not be
eligible for licensure as an LSLPN.

C. The services provided by the LSLPN must be limited in scope and must be significantly less than
the basic health care services offered by a health maintenance organization or under a
comprehensive or major medical policy. Family Practitioners, Independent Practice Associations
(IPAs) consisting of providers licensed in more than one specialty, or other similar medical/health
collaborations do not meet the definition of a narrowly defined health specialty and therefore may
not seek licensure under this limited license.

D. The commissioner may refuse to issue an LSLPN license to any provider or provider network, if,
in the opinion of the commissioner, the applicant qualifies as a licensed carrier under another
licensure category.

Section 6 Application for a License as an LSLPN

A. A provider network may apply for a license as an LSLPN, on a form prescribed by the
commissioner, if it is eligible to make such application pursuant to the provisions of Section 5.B.2.
of this regulation, by filing one (1) copy of each of the following:

1. An application to be licensed as an LSLPN. Such application shall:

a. Clearly disclose the type of authority being requested (e.g., a limited service
license to provide home health care services, or inpatient hospital services, etc.);

b. Be accompanied by a non-refundable filing fee of five hundred dollars ($500);
and
C. Be signed by an officer or authorized representative of the applicant.

If an applicant qualifies for licensure as an LSLPN, the applicant shall receive a certificate
of authority limiting its right to insure only those health services requested on its
application form. If the LSLPN discontinues providing any of these limited services, its
certificate of authority shall be amended to include only those services that the LSLPN
has the capacity, ability and legal authority to provide.
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2. A detailed summary of its proposed business plan with respect to its current business
operations and its proposed plan as an LSLPN. This business plan shall include, but not
be limited to:

a. The type of service to be provided; the network's form of ownership, including the
name and the percentage of ownership interest of all members;

b. Its capital structure;
C. A quantitative measurement of its capacity to provide contracted services;
d. A detailed description of the procedures to be established to provide protection

for the consumer (i.e., grievance procedures, peer review, case utilization
procedures, etc.);

e. A description of the network's geographical service area; and

f. An explanation of the techniques to be implemented to ensure continuity of care
for all covered persons should the LSLPN incur a change in its providers,
geographical area or financial solvency.

3. Biographical sketches of all proposed officers, directors, owners and organizers, and
information providing confirmation of their background and experience in the
management or delivery of the services to be delivered through the LSLPN. Such
biographical information shall be submitted on the NAIC form, Biographical Affidavit
(available upon request), along with a complete set of fingerprints, as may be secured
from local law enforcement sources, which shall be forwarded to the Colorado Bureau of
Investigation for the purpose of conducting a state and national fingerprint based criminal
history record check in accordance with § 10-3-112, C.R.S. Any person who has
managerial involvement or control of a company that underwent any adverse state
administrative action shall include information about the adverse administrative action.
Submission of the fingerprint set may be waived by the commissioner when deemed
appropriate.

4, A current audit report, certified by an independent certified public accountant, of the
applicant’s financial condition, or current financial information attested to by an officer of
the LSLPN applicant. In addition, three (3) years of financial projections, including
balance sheets, income statements and statements of cash flow must be provided. The
financial projections shall contain projected per member per month enroliment at its fiscal
year end, and a concise summary of all assumptions used to generate the projections.

5. A copy of the LSLPN'S proposed health coverage plan(s), contracts, arrangements,
marketing and advertising material, and a complete listing of its producers.

6. A copy of the LSLPN's organizational documents (e.g. articles of incorporation,
partnership agreements, etc.) including any contracts with providers. Copies of the forms
used for all contractual arrangements with providers of incidental services are also
included in this requirement. The commissioner retains the right to review the actual
contractual arrangement between the LSLPN and the provider of incidental services to
determine whether such arrangement is contrary to the best interests of the public. If any
contract is found to be contrary to the best interests of the public, the LSLPN will be
expected to amend or terminate the contract.

7. A copy of any management or administrative contract(s) entered into, or to be entered
into, by the LSLPN.
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8. A list of the providers comprising the LSLPN'S provider network, including each
provider's medical designation, field of practice or specialty, licensure category, and a
description of the LSLPN'S procedures for determining, on an on-going basis, that each
provider is duly licensed.

9. Information with regard to the measures and protections in place to ensure the financial
solvency of the provider network. Such measures and protections may include access to
additional capital, stop-loss insurance, business interruption insurance, etc.

10. A copy of the LSLPN'S plan to coordinate benefits with respect to workers'
compensation, personal injury protection benefits, third-party recovery and subrogation

rights.
11. Confirmation that the LSLPN uses standardized codes, billing processes and formats.
12. Confirmation that the applicant has the capability to satisfactorily manage the health care

coverage issued. This confirmation is to include a detailed description of the LSLPN's
procedures established and implemented to ensure the maintenance of all books and
records necessary to meet all reporting requirements. This requirement can be met
through a third party management or administration agreement.

13. Schedule of rates or charges, including all co-payments, deductibles, premiums and
incidental fees. This information shall include the basis for the calculation of the rate or
charge (e.g., use of usual, customary, and reasonable (UCR) rates).

14. Any other information deemed necessary by the commissioner in evaluating the
application.

Prior to implementing any material changes in its operations or in the coverage offered by the
LSLPN, the LSLPN must, in no less than thirty (30) days prior to the anticipated change, submit
to the commissioner a written description of any material modification to its plan of operation, or a
written explanation of any material changes to the information submitted in accordance with
Section 6.A.

Section 7 Standards of Operation for an LSLPN

All LSLPNSs shall be responsible for meeting the following standards of operation both at the time of initial
licensure, in the evaluation of their application, and continuously thereafter:

A.

Maintaining an unqualified annual audited financial report certified by an independent certified
public accountant (CPA), performed in accordance with Generally Accepted Auditing Standards
(GAAS), which is based upon Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP). All CPA reports
must provide separate detail for income and expenses derived from:

1. Risk sharing and risk assumption arrangements between the LSLPN and licensed
carriers; and

2. The LSLPN health coverage plans issued by the licensed LSLPN.
Demonstrating financial stability to the commissioner and maintaining a minimum net worth.
Minimum net worth, excluding any goodwill or other intangible assets, must be equal to the

greatest of:

1. One hundred thousand dollars ($100,000);
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2. Two (2) times the authorized control level of the most recent risk based capital
calculation; or

3. Such other amount as may be determined by the commissioner and commensurate with
the risks assumed by the LSLPN.

Demonstrating its capacity to administer the health plans being offered; its ability to achieve,
monitor, and evaluate the quality and cost effectiveness of care being provided by its health care
providers; and the adequacy of its provider network and third-party agreements in assuring
reasonable access to care.

Providing for the collection of capitation fees/premium payments from the individual, employer, or
group, on a monthly basis only, unless otherwise approved by the commissioner.

Providing an annual certification by an executive officer of the LSLPN attesting that LSLPN health
coverage plan(s), contracts or agreements or a combination thereof are not being offered and
marketed as a substitute for comprehensive or major medical insurance coverage.

Assuring that all administrative and management agreements include:

1. A provision that the contract may not restrict the LSLPN governing body from appointing,
removing or changing officers or employees of the LSLPN;

2. A clear statement of the responsibilities and ownership of all books and records, assets,
liabilities and compensation under the contract, where applicable; and

3. If the LSLPN contracts for electronic data processing (EDP) and/or management
information systems (MIS), a provision providing appropriate access to the system upon
examination by the commissioner, and a mechanism under which the system is available
to the LSLPN or its successor upon insolvency of the LSLPN, or termination or
cancellation of the contract.

Providing a written notice of cancellation to the commissioner within sixty (60) days prior to
canceling any administrative or management agreement.

Section 8 Statutory Deposit

A.

Each LSLPN shall deposit securities, acceptable to the commissioner, in an amount based on
enrolliment levels achieved on the last day of the LSLPN's fiscal year according to the following
schedule:

1. $300,000 for enroliment of less than 60,000;

2. $350,000 for enrollment of 60,000 but less than 100,000; and

3. $400,000 for enrollment of 100,000 or more.

The deposit shall be in a manner provided pursuant to § 10-3-210, C.R.S. and subject to the joint
control of the commissioner for the protection of Colorado contract holders. The securities must

be in marketable securities and should, at all times, be of top quality, readily marketable, and
have a fair market value equal to the amount required.
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Section 9 Fidelity Bond

The funds received from enrollees must be treated in a fiduciary capacity. In order to protect the LSLPN
contract holders from misuse of contract holder funds, an LSLPN licensed in Colorado shall maintain a

fidelity bond covering the officers, directors, and employees who have access to the LSLPN funds. The
fidelity bond must be issued by an insurance company holding a certificate of authority in this state and

meet the requirements of Colorado Insurance Regulation 3-1-1 (3 CCR 702-3).

Section 10 Annual Reporting and Licensing Procedures
A. The license shall expire on September 1 of each year and shall be renewed annually if the
LSLPN has continued to comply with this regulation. Every license shall automatically be

extended until such time as the commissioner refuses to renew the license of such LSLPN.

B. An LSLPN license shall be deemed renewed if the LSLPN is in compliance with the provisions of
Section 7 of this regulation, and does all of the following:

1. Remits an annual filing fee of five hundred dollars ($500) by September 1.

2. Remits annually by September 1 the greater of one hundred dollars ($100) or an amount
equivalent to five cents ($0.05) per person enrolled in the LSLPN program as of the
immediately preceding fiscal year end.

3. Files an annual audited financial report:

a. All LSLPNs shall file the audited financial report with the commissioner no later
than one hundred fifty (150) days following the LSLPN's fiscal year end. See
Appendix A for Guidelines for Filing of Annual Audited Financial Reports.

b. The annual audited financial report shall include:

(1) The contract(s) for incidental service(s) shall contain a hold harmless
provision as outlined in § 10-16-705(3), C.R.S.

(2) The amount of all capitation fees/premiums collected during the fiscal
year;
(3) The amounts actually paid/allocated during such year for health care and

incidental services for the covered persons;

(4) The amounts established in claim and policyholder reserve liabilities,
including incurred but not yet paid/performed, unreported and unbilled
cases, retroactive cost adjustments and unearned premium;

(5) All other liabilities and obligations required of such LSLPN;

(6) The number of members and member months; and

(7) Such other information relating to the performance of the LSLPN as is
necessary to enable the commissioner to carry out his/her duties.

4, Files a complete Risk Based Capital report for the same period of time.

5. Any other information or reports requested by the commissioner.
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C. Any late filings shall be subject to a penalty up to one hundred dollars ($100) per day for each
day late and/or shall result in suspension or revocation of the license.

Section 11 Requirements of LSLPN Health Coverage Plans

A. All LSLPN health coverage plans, contracts, policies, and agreements shall be subject to all
provisions of Title 10 that apply to health policies, plans, or contracts issued on a group basis as
provided for in Section 15 of this regulation, except as provided herein:

1. LSLPN health coverage plans shall only be required to comply with those mandatory
coverage provisions enumerated in § 10-16-104, C.R.S., that relate directly to the type of
medical care or health service benefits (e.g. mental health care, hospital care, etc.)
contractually provided for by the LSLPN health coverage plan as allowed by this
regulation.

2. LSLPN health coverage plans shall not contain any provision that would provide
coverage for a covered person for services received outside of the LSLPN.

B. All LSLPN health coverage plans shall prominently disclose on the front page of the plan the type
of medical specialty benefits and/or limited health care service being provided, and shall state
that the plan is being provided by an LSLPN. Such plan must clearly be labeled as a “Limited
Service Licensed Provider Network Health Coverage Plan.”

C. All LSLPN health coverage plans shall prominently disclose, in large type, in any written
agreement, certificate, contract, plan, or policy issued by such LSLPN, the following language:

“‘NOTICE”

This health coverage plan is issued by your Limited Service Licensed Provider Network. This plan
is subject to some but not to all of the insurance laws and regulations of Colorado, and is not a
substitute for comprehensive or major medical coverage. Colorado insurance guaranty funds are
not available for your Limited Service Licensed Provider Network Health Coverage Plan in the
event of an insolvency of this plan.”

Section 12 Evidence of Coverage

A. Every contractholder/enrollee shall be issued an evidence of coverage, which shall contain a
clear and complete statement of:

1. The limited health service to which each contract holder/enrollee is entitled;

2. Any limitation of the service, kinds of service or benefits to be provided, and any
exclusions, including any deductible, co-payment or other charges;

3. Where, and in what manner, information is available as to where and how services may
be obtained; and

4. The method for resolving complaints.

B. Any amendment to the evidence of coverage shall be provided to the contractholder/enrollee in a
separate document at least thirty (30) days prior to the effective date of the amendment.
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Section 13 Complaint System

A complaint system shall be maintained by all LSLPNs and shall be in compliance with § 10-3-1104(1)(i),
C.R.S.

Section 14 Filing of Policy Forms, Rates and Charges
A. Policy forms shall be certified in accordance with § 10-16-107.2, C.R.S.

B. The rates and charges shall be reasonable in relation to the service provided. No schedule of
charges or rates shall be used by an LSLPN unless a copy of such schedule of charges or rates,
or amendments thereto, has been filed with the commissioner prior to use. Rate filings are to
include an actuarial certification that the rates are not excessive, inadequate or unfairly
discriminatory. Rates and premiums for products issued by an LSLPN are to be determined on a
fixed prepayment basis. Therefore, no LSLPN product may be issued on a cost plus or
retrospective rating basis. An LSLPN may require co-payments, co-insurance or deductible
payments of enrollees as a condition for the receipt of specific health service unless otherwise
prohibited by law. Such payments for service shall be shown in the contract as a specified dollar
amount or percentage. An annual certification, by a qualified actuary, to the appropriateness of
the charges or rates, based on reasonable assumptions, shall accompany the annual rate filing
along with adequate supporting information.

Section 15 Other Provisions Applicable to LSLPNS

A. The provisions of Title 10 and appropriate regulations shall apply except as they are inconsistent
or inapplicable to LSLPNs.

B. It is the duty of all LSLPNSs licensed pursuant to this regulation to comply with all other applicable
state and federal regulations.

Section 16 Suspension/Revocation of an LSLPN's License

An LSLPN's license may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner for failure to comply with the
provisions of this regulation, or with any other applicable state regulations and statutes, or if the
commissioner determines that continued licensure would be detrimental to the covered individuals,
insurance buying public, or the general public of this state.

Section 17 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.

Section 18 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license,
subject to the requirements of due process.

Section 19 Effective Date

This regulation shall become_effective on February 1, 2016.
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Section 20 History

Originally adopted November 1, 1996.
Amended effective November 1, 2003.
Amended effective January 1, 2009.

Regulation amended effective February 1, 2016.

APPENDIX A Guidelines for Filing of Annual Audited Financial Reports
1. Filing and extensions for filing of annual audited financial reports and related information.

A. All LSLPNs shall have an annual audit by an independent certified public accountant and
shall file the audited financial report with the commissioner no later than one hundred fifty
(150) days following the LSLPN's fiscal year end.

B. Extensions of the filing date may be granted by the commissioner for thirty (30) day
periods, upon a showing by the LSLPN and its independent certified public accountant of
the reasons for requesting such extension and upon determination by the commissioner
of good cause for an extension. The request for extension must be submitted in writing
not less than ten (10) days prior to the due date in sufficient detail to permit the
commissioner to make an informed decision with respect to the requested extension.
“Press of business” or similar reasons shall not be grounds for an extension.

2. Contents of annual audited financial report.

A. The annual audited financial report shall be performed in accordance with generally
accepted auditing standards and the financial position of the LSLPN as of the end of the
most recent fiscal year and the results of its operations, cash flows and changes in net
worth for the year then ended in conformity with Generally Accepted Accounting
Principles (GAAP).

B. The annual audited financial report shall include the following:

i. Report of independent certified public accountant;

ii. Balance sheet reporting assets, liabilities and net worth;

iii. Statement of operations;

iv. Statement of cash flows;
V. Statement of changes in net worth; and
Vi. Notes to financial statements. These notes shall also include a summary of
ownership and relationships of the LSLPN network and all affiliated provider
networks.
C. The financial statements included in the audited financial report:

i. Shall be comparative, presenting the amounts as of the current fiscal year end
and the amounts as of the immediately preceding fiscal year end. However, in
the first year in which an LSLPN is required to file an audited financial report, the
comparative data may be omitted.
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ii. Amounts may be rounded to the nearest thousand dollars ($1,000), and
immaterial amounts may be combined.

3. Qualifications of independent certified public accountant.

The commissioner shall not recognize as a qualified independent certified public accountant, and
shall not accept any annual audited financial report, prepared in whole or in part by, any natural
person who:

A. Has been convicted of fraud, bribery, a violation of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt
Organizations Act, 18 U.S.C. Sections 1961-1968, or any dishonest conduct or practices
under federal or state law;

B. Has been found to have violated the insurance laws of Colorado with respect to any
previous reports submitted under this regulation; or

C. Has demonstrated a pattern or practice of failing to detect or disclose material information
in previous reports filed under the provisions of this regulation.

4. Notification of adverse financial condition.

The LSLPN shall require the independent certified public accountant to report, in writing within
five (5) business days to the board of directors and its audit committee, any determination by the
independent certified public accountant that the LSLPN has materially misstated its financial
condition as reported to the commissioner as of the balance sheet date currently under audit or
that the LSLPN does not meet the minimum net worth requirements under this regulation as of
that date. The LSLPN which has received a report pursuant to this paragraph shall forward a
copy of the report to the commissioner within five (5) business days of receipt of such report and
shall provide the independent certified public accountant making the report with evidence of the
report being furnished to the commissioner. If the independent certified public accountant fails to
receive such evidence within the required five (5) business day period, the independent certified
accountant shall furnish the commissioner a copy of its report within the next five (5) business
days.

5. Report on significant deficiencies in internal controls.

In addition to the annual audited financial statements, each LSLPN shall furnish the
commissioner with a written report prepared by the independent certified public accountant
describing significant deficiencies in the LSLPN's internal control structure noted by the
accountant during the audit. No report shall be issued if the accountant does not identify
significant deficiencies. If significant deficiencies are noted, the written report shall be filed
annually by the LSLPN with the Division within sixty (60) days after filing the annual audited
financial statements. The LSLPN is required to provide a description of remedial actions taken or
proposed to correct significant deficiencies, if such actions are not described in the accountant's
report.

6. Accountant's letter of qualifications.

The accountant shall furnish to the LSLPN in connection with, and for inclusion in, the filing of the
annual audited financial report, a letter stating:
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A

That the accountant is independent with respect to the LSLPN and conforms to the
appropriate standards of the profession, including the code of professional ethics and
pronouncements of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and
the rules of professional conduct of the Colorado Board of Public Accountancy, or similar
code, as then might be in effect.

The background and experience in general, and the experience in audits of companies of
the staff assigned to the engagement and whether each is an independent certified public
accountant. Nothing within this regulation shall be construed as prohibiting the
accountant from utilizing such staff as deemed appropriate where use is consistent with
standards prescribed by Generally Accepted Auditing Standards (GAAS).

That the accountant understands the annual audited financial report and the opinion
thereon will be filed in compliance with this regulation and that the commissioner will be
relying on this information in the monitoring and regulation of the financial positions of
LSLPNS.

That the accountant consents and agrees to make available for review by the
commissioner, or the designee or appointee of the commissioner, the workpapers as
defined in Section 7. below, and that the workpapers will be retained for a period not to
less than five (5) years.

A representation that the accountant is properly licensed by an appropriate state
licensing authority and is a member in good standing in the AICPA.

7. Review and retention of workpapers and documents.

A

Every LSLPN required to file an audited financial report pursuant to this regulation shall
require the accountant to make available for review by Division examiners, upon
reasonable notice and during normal business hours, all workpapers prepared in the
conduct of his/her audit, including any communication related to the audit between the
accountant and the LSLPN. The accountant's workpapers shall be made available at the
offices of the LSLPN, at the Division or at any other reasonable place designated by the
commissioner. The LSLPN shall require that the accountant retain the audit workpapers
including communication documents until the Division has filed a report on examination
covering the period of the audit, but not less than five (5) years from the date of the audit
report.

In the conduct of an examination by the Division examiners, it shall be agreed that
photocopies of pertinent audit workpapers may be made and retained by the Division. All
working papers including communications obtained shall be afforded the same
confidentiality as other examination workpapers generated by the Division.

Notwithstanding the above, audit reports and workpapers are additionally subject to, and
protected by, the provisions of Article 2 of Title 12, C.R.S.

This regulation shall not prohibit, preclude or in any way limit the commissioner from ordering

and/or conducting and/or performing examinations of LSLPNS under Colorado laws and
regulations.
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Regulation 2-1-10 MOTOR VEHICLE SELF-INSURANCE

Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose
Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Definitions

Section 5 Filing Requirements
Section 6 Standards

Section 7 Examination of Records
Section 8 Modifications to the Plan of Operation
Section 9 Confidentiality

Section 10 Severability

Section 11 Enforcement

Section 12 Effective Date
Section 13 History

Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of §
§10-1-109, 42-7-501, 10-4-601.5 and 42-7-201, C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

Section 10-4-624 C.R.S., provides that any person in whose name more than twenty-five (25) motor
vehicles are registered may qualify for self-insurance. This provision affords owners of fleets of motor
vehicles a cost effective method of complying with Colorado's motor vehicle financial responsibility
requirements while affording coverage and protection to the general public. The purpose of this regulation
is to set the filing requirements and standards for certification as a self-insurer under §10-4-624, C.R.S. It
is the opinion of the Commissioner that any owner of motor vehicles which must be registered should
either obtain complying motor vehicle insurance or comply with this regulation.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation shall apply to any person that either currently has, or is seeking to obtain, a motor vehicle
certificate self-insurance issued by the Colorado Division of Insurance.

Section 4 Definitions

As used in this regulation, and unless the context requires otherwise:

A. “Applicant” shall mean the person in whose name the motor vehicles to be self-insured are
registered.
B. “Holding company system” means a structure whereby a parent company directly or indirectly

owns or controls more than 50% of the issued and outstanding voting securities of the applicant.

C. “‘Registered” means a motor vehicle registered in the state of Colorado in the name of the
applicant.

Section 5 Filing Requirements

A. Initial and renewal certificates of self-insurance shall be valid for one year after issuance for

private entities and for three years after issuance for government entities. Initial and renewal
filings shall be submitted to the Division's Corporate Affairs Section.
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B. Each initial filing shall include the following:

1.

10.

11.

Name, address, phone number of the applicant, and a description of the nature of the
applicant's business. The information should include any trade names or d/b/a's of the
applicant.

Detailed explanation of the plan of operation including administrative procedures, risk
management, risk retention, reinsurance, actuarial and claims handling procedures and
description of the expertise of the personnel providing actuarial and claims handling
services.

List of motor vehicles owned by the applicant with the vehicle identification number (VIN)
and registration number for each vehicle. The applicant must demonstrate that it will
maintain registration of at least 25 motor vehicles throughout the certification period.

If the applicant intends to self-insure a motor vehicle not registered in its name, it shall
cite the Colorado statute or regulation requiring it to maintain a complying policy of
insurance upon said vehicle. The applicant shall affirm that it is in compliance with all
provisions of said statute or regulation.

In the case of an applicant owned by a holding company system, a guarantee from the
parent company, or an affiliate which files a consolidated financial statement with the
applicant, guaranteeing to pay all claims or judgments arising from the operation of the
self-insured motor vehicle.

Applicant's audited financial statements from its date of formation to the present, not to
exceed the prior three years, or consolidated audited financial statements for the entire
organization when the applicant is part of a holding company system, for the prior three
years.

A qualified actuarial analysis and opinion estimating the reserves necessary to pay
anticipated claims and costs for the next twelve months.

A copy of the applicant’s prior three years' claim registers which must include each
incident, the date incurred, initial estimate of the claim, the date and amount of
settlement, a statement of the number of claims in litigation and the amount of said
claims, investigations of claims extending more than thirty days after receipt and claim
denials. Prior to approval of the initial application, the applicant shall immediately amend
the application to include any material change in the number or amount of current claims.

An affidavit acknowledging that the provisions of §10-3-1104(1)(h), C.R.S. shall apply to
the applicant.

A description of any reinsurance or insurance program, including a copy of any insurance
contract which would be available to pay motor vehicle claims and judgments.

Any other information which the Commissioner deems necessary to evaluate the
application.

C. Renewal applications shall be submitted at least sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of the
applicant's current certificate of self-insurance. Each filing shall include the following:

1.

List of motor vehicles owned by the applicant with the VIN and registration number for
each vehicle. The applicant must demonstrate that it intends to operate at least 25 motor
vehicles throughout the certification period.
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2. The applicant's most recent audited financial statement or most recent consolidated
audited financial statement if part of a holding company system.

3. A qualified actuarial analysis and opinion estimating the reserves necessary to pay
anticipated claims and costs.

4. A description and copy of any amendments to any reinsurance or insurance program.

Within thirty (30) days of receipt of the renewal application the Commissioner will either issue a
new certificate of self insurance or notify the applicant of deficiencies with the renewal application
or with the applicant's future ability to pay its self insurance obligations. Depending upon the
nature of the deficiency, the applicant may be given two weeks from the date of receipt of
notification from the Division to correct the deficiency. Applications that are deficient and not
accepted for filing will be returned to the applicant.

An applicant may request a waiver of the requirements to file some or all of the information to be
filed with the renewal application. The request must affirm that there have been no material
adverse changes in the self-insurance plan, current ratio, net worth, or motor vehicle claims
history since the date of the most recent audited financial statement filed with the Division. In
granting or denying an application for waiver, the Commissioner shall consider all pertinent facts
and information regarding an applicant's operations and financial condition, applicant's general
compliance with this regulation and any complaints received by the Division regarding an
applicant's self-insurance program. A request for waiver must be made at least 90 days prior to
the expiration of the current certificate of self-insurance.

Section 6 Standards

A

A certified self-insurer shall operate as if it were a licensed insurer. It shall comply with all statutes
and regulations governing the prompt investigation and payment or denial of claims.

In determining financial responsibility, the applicant's financial status will be reviewed to
determine its ability to make payments when due and its current financial soundness. The
information submitted will be reviewed to determine the acceptability of underlying assumptions
used in determining plan obligations. The applicant's obligations will be valued in accordance with
commonly accepted actuarial practices. The applicant's assets will be valued in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles.

A private entity's financial information will be reviewed to ensure that the necessary funding levels
and reserves have been established for the applicant's current and future motor vehicle self-
insured obligations.

An applicant's net worth will be determined without considering its intangible assets.

Private entities must demonstrate two year’s profitable operations out of the most recent three (3)
years.

In determining the amount of a surety bond allowed under §10-4-624(3), C.R.S., the
Commissioner shall rely on a qualified actuarial analysis and opinion provided by the motor
vehicle carrier or contract carrier by motor vehicle estimating the reserves necessary to pay
anticipated claims and costs.
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G. The Division shall not accept new applications for self-insurance certification utilizing cash
deposits or other trusts to secure payment of self-insured obligations. Self-insurers certified as of
January 31, 1998, may continue to use any existing trust or cash deposits to secure its self-
insurance obligations if the Division is otherwise reasonably satisfied that the self-insurer can pay
its self-insured obligations as they become due.

Section 7 Examination of Records

A. Certified self-insurers shall maintain and make the following records available to the
Commissioner for inspection either at the Division, or another location acceptable to the Division,
upon seven days notice:

1. Claim file for each incident.

2. A claims register which must include each incident, the date incurred, initial estimate of
the claim, the date and amount of settlement, a statement of the number of claims in
litigation and the amount of said claims, investigations of claims extending more than
thirty days after receipt and claim denials.

3. Separate general ledger account to track claim payments.

4, A detailed listing of all claimants in rehabilitation with information regarding the estimated
monthly payments.

5. A detailed listing of all structured settlements including those amounts transferred to an
insurer and those retained by the applicant.

6. Subrogation claims and payments.

7. Evidence of compliance with any Colorado statute or regulation requiring the applicant to
maintain a complying policy of insurance on a motor vehicle not registered in its name.

B. If an examination or renewal application reveals that a self-insurer: (1) is operating in a manner
which renders it hazardous to the public; (2) misstated or misrepresented its financial condition;
or, (3) is in violation of §10-3-1104(1)(h), C.R.S., the Commissioner shall provide written notice to
the self-insurer of those requirements necessary to abate the condition. Failure to abate the
condition in the time allowed by the Commissioner may be grounds to modify or revoke the
certificate of self-insurance upon five days' notice and after a hearing pursuant to §10-4-624(2),
C.R.S.

Section 8 Modifications to the Plan of Operation

A certified self-insurer may modify its plan of operation only after approval by the Commissioner. The
request shall be made in writing at least thirty (30) days prior to the effective date of the modification.

Section 9 Confidentiality

Documentation requested by the Division of Insurance and submitted in compliance herewith shall
generally be considered a public record under the Public Records Act, § 24-72-201 through 206, C.R.S.
In the event any requested documentation is considered by the applicant to be confidential in nature, the
applicant must submit the requested information under separate cover or in a sealed envelope or file
clearly labeled “CONFIDENTIAL”. Attached to the documents submitted under confidential cover should
be an explanation of why they are to be considered confidential. Documentation so submitted, if found to
be confidential in nature by the Division of Insurance, will be maintained in a separate, confidential file
and will not be released to the general public for inspection or copying.
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Section 10 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.

Section 11 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this Regulation or any applicable statute may result, after notice and hearing
pursuant to §10-4-624(2), C.R.S. in the cancellation of a self insurer's certification.

Section 12 Effective Date
This regulation shall become effective April 1, 2009.

Section 13 History

Hearing date: December 1, 1997; Effective; January 31, 1998.
Amended and Effective May 1, 2000.

Amended effective February 1, 2004.

Amended effective April 1, 2009.

Regulation 2-1-11 VIATICAL SETTLEMENTS

Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose
Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Definitions

Section 5 License Requirements
Section 6 Reporting Requirement
Section 7 General Rules

Section 8 Prohibited Practices
Section 9 Insurance Company Practices
Section 10 Severability

Section 11 Enforcement

Section 12 Effective Date
Section 13 History

Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated under the authority of § § 10-1-109 and 10-7-615, C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to implement the Viatical Settlements Act, part 6, article 7, title 10,
C.R.S. which governs viatical settlements and licensing requirements of viatical settlement providers and
protects the rights of a life insurance policyowner seeking a viatical settlement.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation applies to all licensed viatical settlement providers, any person seeking a viatical

settlement provider license, and life insurance producers negotiating a viatical settlement on behalf of a
viator.
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Section 4 Definitions
In addition to the definitions in §10-7-602, C.R.S., the following definitions apply to this regulation:
A. “Insured” means the person covered under the policy being considered for viatication.

B. “Patient identifying information” means an insured’s address, telephone number, facsimile
number, electronic mail address, photograph or likeness, employer, employment status, social
security number, or any other information that is likely to lead to the identification of the insured.

Section 5 License Requirements

A. The initial application and any subsequent renewal application for a viatical settlement provider
shall be accompanied by a fee as prescribed in §10-3-207(1.5), C.R.S. If a viatical settlement
provider fails to pay the renewal fee within the time prescribed, or a viatical settlement provider
fails to submit the reports required in this regulation, the nonpayment or failure to submit the
required reports shall result in expiration of the license. If a viatical settlement provider has, at the
time of renewal, viatical settlements where the insured has not died, it shall do one of the

following:
1. Renew or maintain its current license status until the earlier of the following events:
a. The date the viatical settlement provider properly assigns, sells or otherwise
transfers the viatical settlements where the insured has not died; or
b. The date that the last insured covered by viatical settlement transaction has died.
2. Appoint, in writing, either the viatical settlement provider that entered into the viatical

settlement, the producer who received commissions from the viatical settlement, if
applicable, or any other viatical settlement provider or producer licensed in this state to
make all inquiries to the viator, or the viator's designee, regarding the health status of the
insured or any other matters.

B. A viatical settlement provider shall file with the commissioner, and thereafter for as long as the
license remains in effect shall keep in force, evidence of financial responsibility in the sum of not
less than $100,000. This evidence shall be in the form of a surety bond issued by an insurer
authorized in the State of Colorado. The bond shall not be terminated without thirty (30) days
prior written notice to the licensee and the Commissioner.

Section 6 Reporting Requirement

A. On or before March 1 of each calendar year, the licensed viatical settlement provider shall submit
an annual statement on a form prescribed by the commissioner along with the fees required in
§10-3-207 (1.5), C.R.S.

B. A life insurance producer shall file a notice of intent to transact viatical settlement business with
the Division no later than thirty (30) days after the date the producer first negotiates a viatical
settlement on behalf of a viator. The notice shall be filed regardless of whether the viatical
settlement contract is consummated. The notice of intent shall be on a form prescribed by the
Commissioner, and shall be accompanied by a fee of $30.00. No additional notices of intent to
transact viatical settlement business are required.
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Section 7 General Rules

A. With respect to policies containing a provision for double or additional indemnity for accidental
death, the additional payment shall remain payable to the beneficiary last named by the viator
prior to entering into the viatical settlement contract, or to such other beneficiary, other than the
viatical settlement provider, as the viator may thereafter designate, or in the absence of a
beneficiary, to the estate of the viator.

B. Payment of the proceeds of a viatical settlement pursuant to § 10-7-609, C.R.S. shall be by
means of wire transfer to an account designated by the viator or by certified check or cashier’s
check.

C. Payment of the proceeds to the viator pursuant to a viatical settlement shall be made in a lump

sum except where the viatical settlement provider has purchased an annuity or similar financial
instrument issued by a licensed insurance company or bank, or an affiliate of either. Retention of
a portion of the proceeds not disclosed or described in the viatical settlement contract by the
viatical settlement provider or escrow agent is not permissible without written consent of the
viator.

D. A viatical settlement provider or life insurance producers negotiating viatical settlements shall not
discriminate in the making or soliciting of viatical settlements as provided by § 10-3-1104, C.R.S,,
or discriminate between the viators with dependents and without.

E. A viatical settlement provider or life insurance producer negotiating viatical settlements shall not
pay or offer to pay any finder’'s fee, commission or other compensation to any insured’s physician,
or to an attorney, accountant or other person providing medical, legal or financial planning
services to the viator, or to any other person acting as an agent of the viator.

F. A viatical settlement provider or life insurance producer negotiating viatical settlements shall not
knowingly solicit purchasers who have treated or have been asked to treat the iliness of the
insured whose coverage would be the subject of the investment.

G. If a viatical settlement provider enters into a viatical settlement that allows the viator to retain an
interest in the policy, the viatical settlement contract shall contain the following provisions:

1. A provision that the viatical settlement provider will effect the transfer of the amount of the
death benefit only to the extent or portion of the amount viaticated. Benefits in excess of
the amount viaticated shall be paid directly to the viator’s beneficiary by the insurance
company.

2. A provision that the viatical settlement provider will, upon acknowledgement of the
perfection of the transfer, either:

a. Advise the insured, in writing, that the insurance company has confirmed the
viator’s interest in the policy, or

b. Send a copy of the instrument sent from the insurance company to the viatical
settlement provider that acknowledges the viator’s interest in the policy, and

3. A provision that apportions the premiums to be paid by the viatical settlement provider
and the viator, provided that the contract provides premium payment terms and
nonforfeiture options no less favorable, on a proportional basis, than those included in the

policy.
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H.

In all cases where the insured is a minor child, disclosures to and permission of a parent or legal
guardian satisfy the requirements of the Viatical Settlements Act and this regulation.

If an insured is terminally or chronically ill, a viatical settlement provider shall pay an amount
greater than the cash surrender value or accelerated death benefit then available.

Section 8 Prohibited Practices

A.

A viatical settlement provider or life insurance producer negotiating viatical settlements shall
obtain from a person that is provided with patient identifying information a signed affirmation that
the person or entity will not further divulge the information without procuring the express, written
consent of the insured for the disclosure. Notwithstanding the foregoing, if a viatical settlement
provider or life insurance producer negotiating viatical settlements is served with a subpoena and,
therefore, compelled to produce records containing patient identifying information, it shall notify
the viator and the insured in writing at their last known addresses within five (5) business days
after receiving notice of the subpoena.

A viatical settlement provider shall not act also as a life insurance producer negotiating viatical
settlements, whether entitled to collect a fee directly or indirectly, in the same viatical settlement.

A life insurance producer negotiating viatical settlements shall not, without the written agreement
of the viator obtained prior to performing any services in connection with a viatical settlement,
seek or obtain any compensation from the viator.

Section 9 Insurance Company Practices

A.

Life insurance companies authorized to do business in this state shall respond to a request for
verification of coverage from a viatical settlement provider or a life insurance producer authorized
to write viatical settlement contracts within thirty (30) calendar days of the date a request is
received, subject to the following conditions:

1. A current authorization consistent with applicable law, signed by the policy owner or
certificate holder, accompanies the request;

2. In the case of an individual policy or group insurance coverage where details with respect
to the certificate holder’s coverage are maintained by the insurer, submission of a form
substantially similar to one prescribed by the commissioner, which has been completed
by the viatical settlement provider or life insurance producer negotiating viatical
settlement contracts in accordance with the instructions on the form.

Nothing in this section shall prohibit a life insurance company and a viatical settlement provider or
a life insurance producer negotiating viatical settlement contracts from using another verification
of coverage form that has been mutually agreed upon in writing in advance of submission of the
request.

A life insurance company may not charge a fee for responding to a request for information from a
viatical settlement provider or life insurance producer negotiating viatical settlement contracts in
compliance with this section in excess of any usual and customary charges to contract holders,
certificate holders or insureds for similar services.

The life insurance company may send an acknowledgment of receipt of the request for
verification of coverage to the policy owner or certificate holder and, where the policy owner or
certificate owner is other than the insured, to the insured. The acknowledgment may contain a
general description of any accelerated death benefit that is available under a provision of or rider
to the life insurance contract.
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E. A life insurance company shall not require the viator or insured to sign any request for change in
a policy or a group certificate from a viatical settlement provider that is the owner or assignee of
the insured’s insurance coverage, unless the viator or insured has ownership, assignment or
irrevocable beneficiary rights under the policy. In such a situation, the viatical settlement provider
shall provide timely notice to the insured that a settlement transaction on the policy has occurred.
Timely notice shall be provided within fifteen (15) calendar days of the change in a policy or group
certificate.

Section 10 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstances is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of regulation shall not be affected.

Section 11 Enforcement

Non compliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance or other laws, which include the imposition
of fines, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license.

Section 12 Effective Date

This amended regulation shall become effective on September 1, 2012

Section 13 History

Replaces Emergency Regulation 05-E-6 in its entirety

New regulation effective March 1, 2006
Amended regulation effective September 1, 2012

Regulation 2-2-1 CONCERNING PUBLIC ENTITY SELF-INSURANCE POOLS
Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Definitions

Section 5 Formation of Self-Insurance Pools

Section 6 Continued Operations of Self-Insurance Pools

Section 7 Investments

Section 8 Intergovernmental Agreement

Section 9 Surplus Levels

Section 10 Certificate of Authority
Section 11 Joint Deposit
Section 12 Filings
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Section 14 Records
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Section 1 Authority
This regulation is promulgated under the authority of § 10-1-109, C.R.S.
Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to clarify the requirements for the formation and operation of public entity
self-insurance pools.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation shall apply to public entities cooperating with one another to from a self-insurance pool to
provide the insurance coverage required by Article 44 of Title 8, C.R.S and authorized by Articles 10 of
Title 24 and Article 13 of Title 29, C.R.S.

Section 4 Definitions

A. “Admitted Assets” means investments authorized for pools pursuant to Parts 6 and 7 of Article 75
of Title 24, C.R.S., and § § 8-44-204 (9), 24-10-115.5 (8), and 29-13-102 (6), C.R.S.; cash;
demand deposits in solvent banks and trust companies; interest, dividends, and other income due
and accrued which are not more than ninety days delinquent; uncollected contributions which are
less than ninety days past due; receivables from solvent insurance companies licensed to
transact business in the State of Colorado or otherwise approved as qualified non-admitted
reinsurers or approved surplus lines carriers; electronic or mechanical equipment constituting a
data processing or accounting system, subject to the limitations of § 10-1-102 (1) (p), C.R.S.; and
other assets deemed by the Commissioner to be available for the payment of losses and claims,
at values acceptable to the Commissioner.

B. “Impaired” means a pool's surplus is less than required pursuant to this regulation.
C. “Insolvent” means a pool's admitted assets are less than all of its liabilities.
D. “Member” means an entity which participates in a self-insurance pool.

E. “Public entity” means an entity authorized by § § 29-13-102, 24-10-115.5, or 8-44-204, C.R.S, to
form a self-insurance pool.

F. “Self-insurance pool” or “pool” means a pool formed by public entities pursuant to § § 29-13-102,
24-10-115.5, or 8-44-204, C.R.S.

G. “Surplus” means that amount which remains after subtracting the pool's liabilities from its
admitted assets.

Section 5 Formation of Self-lnsurance Pools

For every self-insurance pool, organized after the effective date of this regulation, there shall be
submitted to the Commissioner a written proposal of the pool's plan of operation which shall include the
following:
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A. A narrative which shall include a description of the self-insurance pool's plan of operation, which
shall describe the facilities to manage the pool, administration and claims servicing, description of
the duties and responsibilities of any management provider, types of coverages and applicable
limits, proposed evidence of coverage certificates (policies), underwriting rules, loss reserving
procedures, claims adjusting procedures, a list of proposed membership, and proposed excess or
reinsurance coverages. If the self- insurance pool proposes to provide worker's compensation
insurance, the narrative shall also describe how the public entities are provided the insurance
coverage required by Article 44 of Title 8, C.R.S.

B. For each contract service provider referenced in the application, a detailed description of the
expertise and qualifications of these providers, including the expertise and qualifications of their
personnel must be submitted.

C. A feasibility study projecting future loss experience and contribution levels required to fund
minimum surplus and initial operations as determined by a qualified actuary. The study shall
include:

1. The underlying methods and assumptions used;

2. A summary of available loss history;

3. Any financial projections which have been prepared.
D. Method, plan and timing of capitalization.

E. Proposed intergovernmental agreement which shall comply with § § 29-1-201 through 29-1-203,
C.R.S., and shall include as a minimum the provisions of Section 8 contained herein.

F. Proposed structure and limits of reinsurance agreements or excess of loss policies, if any
reinsurance agreement or excess of loss policy is proposed to be obtained, and evidence of
coverage in the form of a binder, placement slip, letter of intent or other document indicating the
coverage intended, properly executed and authorized.

G. Proposed management, claims management, investment, custodial, and safekeeping
agreements, where appropriate. Other agreements shall be made available at the request of the
Commissioner.

H. Proposed fidelity bond and other proposed coverages if applicable.

l. Completed application for certificate of authority accompanied by an application processing fee of
one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500), which shall represent the cost of review and
processing of the proposal including the cost of any organizational examination.

J. Additional information as necessary pursuant to § § 29-13-102(3), 24-10-115.5(3), or 8-44-204(5),
C.R.S., to determine whether or not proper insurance techniques and procedures will be followed.

Subsequent to the issuance of the pool's certificate of authority, the pool has 90 days to submit executed
copies of those items in E, F, G and H above.

Section 6 Continued Operations of Self-Insurance Pools

A written description of any modification to the plan of operation which affects the pool's self-insurance
retained risk by more than 25%, and any modification of the method of funding or method of determining
loss reserves, must be filed with the Commissioner. Any such modification shall be deemed approved
unless the Commissioner disapproves such filing, in writing, within 30 days from the date of submission.
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Section 7 Investments

A. Any investment whereby the underlying instrument is not in the custody of the pool shall be
subject to a custodial and safekeeping agreement meeting the following requirements:

1. The custodian must be a bank with a safekeeping or a trust department and legally
qualified to act as a fiduciary.

2. Registered investments must be in the name of the pool, the name of the custodian's
nominee, the name of the pool's own nominee, or other entity filed with and approved by
the Commissioner, or must otherwise reflect the interest of the pool in the investments.

3. After safe delivery of securities to the bank and until redelivery or other disposition of the
securities pursuant to instructions of the pool, the bank assumes liability for loss thereof
due to negligence or malfeasance of the bank, its agents, officers or employees, and for
mysterious or unexplained disappearance of same. Safe delivery must be evidenced by a
receipt signed by any trust officer of the bank.

4, The securities of the pool in its account shall be kept separate and apart from other
securities and in the case of book entry securities be separately identified from other
securities; and shall at all times be available for inspection by the pool's auditor and any
regulatory officials, and the bank shall cooperate with the pool's auditor in making any
audit which requires inspection and verification of all said securities and property.

B. Pool investments shall be those permitted pursuant to Parts 6 and 7 of Article 75 of Title 24, and
§ § 8-44-204(9), 24-10-115.5(8), and 29-13-102(6), C.R.S.

C. Investments through banks shall be fully insured or protected pursuant to the provisions of the
Public Deposit Protection Act, Article 10.5 of Title 11, C.R.S.

Section 8 Intergovernmental Agreement

The intergovernmental agreement shall include at least the following:

A. Provisions for the election or appointment of a board of directors and their powers and duties.
B. Provisions for the election of officers and their powers and duties.
C. Requirements and provisions for regular and special meetings of the board of directors and, if all

members are not represented on the board of directors, provisions specifically allowing
membership to call special meetings without approval of the board of directors or officers.

D. Provisions regarding membership.

E. Provisions regarding expulsion or withdrawal of pool members including provisions to handle
obligations associated with such members.

F. Procedures for the dissolution of the pool, including a requirement that the pool provide the
Commissioner at least ninety (90) days advance notice of dissolution and that no dissolution shall
take effect until the Commissioner approves the plan of dissolution, which shall include a
methodology for addressing all debts and obligations of the pool.

G. Provisions regarding the payment of contributions by membership.
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H. Provisions that any distribution of surplus or excess earnings of the pool shall not cause the pool
to become impaired or insolvent.

l. Provisions that permit assessments of members in such amounts and at such times as necessary
to ensure the solvency and avoid impairment of the pool.

Section 9 Surplus Levels
A. The minimum surplus levels for each coverage of a self-insurance pool shall be established and

maintained at the following levels. Where the pool enters into multiple types of coverage listed
below, the minimum surplus shall be the combined total of the individual minimum surplus levels.

1. Property $100,000
2. Casualty $200,000
3. Workers’ Compensation $200,000

Such minimum surplus shall be accumulated and in place within ninety (90) days from the pool's
first acceptance of risk.

B. The initial minimum surplus levels of a pool may be met by the use of subordinated debt meeting
the conditions and requirements of § 10-3-239, C.R.S.

C. A higher amount of minimum surplus may be required to begin and to continue operations if the
Commissioner can determine that the type and size of risk being insured, the level of
contributions, the size of the asset base, the existence of assessment authority, the geographical
locations of insured risks, the nature and quality of the reinsurance structure, the quality,
diversification and liquidity of the pool's investments, the financial status of the pool's members,
or other relevant factors justify additional surplus.

Section 10 Certificate of Authority

A. The Commissioner shall issue a certificate of authority to a pool after finding that proper
insurance techniques and procedures are included in the written proposal submitted pursuant to
Section 5 of this regulation.

The Division shall respond to all written proposals submitted within thirty (30) days of submission.
The Commissioner shall notify the pool in writing if it is found that proper insurance techniques
and procedures are not demonstrated in the submission and shall identify all deficiencies therein.

B. The Commissioner may revoke or suspend the Certificate of Authority of a pool if the
Commissioner finds that revocation or suspension is in the best interest of the public and that the
pool is insolvent. The Commissioner may approve a plan of abatement submitted by the pool as
an alternative to such revocation or suspension.

The Commissioner may require a pool which is impaired to prepare, subject to approval of the
Commissioner, a plan of abatement. Failure of an impaired pool to prepare a plan of abatement
when required by the Commissioner, or to implement an approved plan of abatement, shall be
grounds for revocation or suspension of the pool's Certificate of Authority.

No proceeding to revoke or suspend a pool's Certificate of Authority shall be initiated until the
Commissioner has given the pool notice, in writing, of facts or conduct that may warrant such
action; afforded the pool opportunity to submit written data, views, and arguments with respect to
such facts or conduct; and, except in cases of deliberate and willful violation, given the pool a
reasonable opportunity to comply with all lawful requirements.

51



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 3 CCR 702-2
Division of Insurance

Any proceeding to revoke or suspend a pool's Certificate of Authority shall comply with the State
Administrative Procedure Act, Article 4 of Title 24, C.R.S

Section 11 Joint Deposit

Cash or securities representing the minimum surplus established by this regulation, shall be deposited
with the Commissioner in a manner provided by § 10-3-210, C.R.S. Such securities shall be admitted
assets which shall at all times have a market value at least equal to the minimum surplus required.

Section 12 Filings

A. Each pool shall prepare and file with the Commissioner, by March 30 of each year, an annual
report which reflects the operations of the pool. The report shall be in such form as included in
Appendix A herein.

B. Each pool shall file with the Commissioner an itemized annual statement of market value of
securities on joint deposit before March 30 of each year. This statement shall be filed in
accordance with the format identified in section 11l of Regulation 3-1-2, 3 CCR 702-3.

C. Within seven (7) months following the end of the pool's fiscal year, each pool shall file with the
Commissioner a CPA audited financial report as required under § 29-1-603(4), C.R.S. Such
report shall be prepared on a statutory basis.

D. Each pool shall cause to be made an actuarial report by a qualified actuary analyzing the loss
funding methodology and the adequacy of the pool's loss reserves. Such report shall describe
loss funding levels sufficient to pay obligations, the pure risk rate used to determine such levels,
and shall recommend loss reserves and loss adjustment expense reserves sufficient to maintain
minimum statutory surplus.

1. The actuarial report shall be conducted by a qualified actuary pursuant to Colorado
Insurance Regulation1-1-1, 3 CCR 702-1.

2. The contents of the report shall set forth the underlying methods and assumptions used.

3. The report shall be prepared annually to coincide with fiscal year-end financial reporting
requirements set forth in this section and shall be filed with the audit report identified in
Part C of this section.

4. The pool may request a waiver of the annual actuarial report. Such request shall explain
the reason and basis for waiver and be submitted to the Commissioner four months prior
to the pool's fiscal year end. A letter from a qualified actuary which justifies the waiver
may be required.

5. If the pool does not use the recommended loss reserve figures of the qualified actuary
the pool shall attach an explanation of what figures were used and how and why they
were modified.

E. The fiscal year for all above noted annual reporting of the pool may differ from a calendar year
basis only with prior written approval of the Commissioner. In all cases the audit report and
actuarial report must be as of the same evaluation date.

Section 13 Discounting of Loss Reserves

A public entity self-insurance pool may request authorization to discount loss reserves. Such request shall
be submitted at least 60 days prior to the requested date of implementation.
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A

Loss reserve discounting shall be permitted only for lines or types of insurance which justify
consideration of the time value of money held in reserves for subsequent claim payments. These
lines are defined to be those which have an expected payout period extending beyond three
years with no more than 75% of the expected payout within the first two years, or fixed or certain
payment dates. Additionally, the applicant shall comply with the following:

1. Define and justify the interest rate assumptions used for discounting. This rate shall not
exceed the lesser of (i) the company's actual 36 month average net investment yield and
(ii) the current valuation rate used for life polices of duration greater than 10 years but not
more than 20 years.

2. Provide an explanation of the basis and methodology upon which reserves are
calculated.
3. Present a summary of all relevant loss and loss reserve history to demonstrate the

appropriateness of past and current reserve practices.

4, The reserves established, together with available surplus, shall be sufficient to provide, in
the actuary's opinion, a 95% confidence that funds are available to pay claims.

5. The reserves established shall take into consideration the timing of the cash flows of all
assets and liabilities of the applicant. In valuing this standard, any receivable or
investment in affiliated entities or persons shall not be considered, unless the actuary
states in his required written opinion that the funds will be available.

6. All elements outlined in the preceding numbered paragraphs must be supported by and
accompanied with a formal report and written opinion of a qualified actuary.

The Commissioner, in his discretion, may authorize loss reserves to be discounted pursuant to
the applicant's request, or may modify the request in any way he sees fit, based on the
justification submitted to support the standards contained in this section and any additional terms,
or conditions imposed by the Commissioner. Requests shall be considered on a case-by-case
basis. Approval may be granted to the applicant for specified lines of business. Approval may be
subsequently withdrawn in whole or in part, in the event there is any material change in the
acceptability of the assumptions or the experience shows that continued loss reserve discounting
fails to satisfy the standards of this section.

If approval is given, the company will be required to file an actuarial report and opinion prepared
by a qualified actuary annually. This report shall be of sufficient detail to verify that the above
stated standards continue to be met and shall be accompanied by an opinion so stating such
compliance.

Section 14 Records

To facilitate examination of each pool as required by law:

A.

A complete set of accounting records shall be maintained by each pool for each year of
operation, which shall accurately disclose the nature and detail of all accounting transactions.
Such records shall at a minimum include a general ledger, a cash receipts journal and a cash
disbursements journal.

An accurate and detailed written record of investment transactions shall be maintained by the
pool. The board of directors may delegate the general investment duties to a committee, an
individual or investment management service; however, the Board must review and, at least
semiannually, ratify such investment transactions.
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C. Each pool shall maintain minutes of meetings of the members, the board of directors and
committees.
D. Each pool shall maintain a separate claim file for each claim. Information on claims incurred after

the effective date of this regulation shall be maintained to include, as a minimum, claim payments
by line of business, claim number, claimant's name, date incurred, date reported, date paid, and
the amount of each payment (including allocated loss adjustment expenses), and shall at the
Commissioner's direction be summarized and filed in a hard copy form prescribed by the
Commissioner or by a mutually acceptable electronic transfer means.

E. Claim files must be maintained for at least five years. The original file or an electronic format is
acceptable. A historical summary of reserve transactions and payments must be incorporated into
each file unless this information is maintained electronically in a form which is readily accessible
and verifiable to the underlying data.

Section 15 Reinsurance and Credit for Reserving on Ceded Risks

A. Any reinsurance agreement must meet the requirements as set forth in § 10-3-118, C.R.S., and
Colorado Insurance Regulation 3-3-5, 3CCR 702-3.

B. Credit for reserves on ceded risks may only be taken if the conditions as set forth in § 10-3-118,
C.R.S., are satisfied.

Section 16 Evidence of Coverage

Each member of a pool shall be issued a document specifically identifying the pool's direct coverage
obligation.

Pools providing Workers' Compensation Insurance shall be administratively and ultimately financially
responsible to see that the underlying insured is provided coverage to statutory limits. The insured at all
times shall seek settlement for workers' compensation coverage from the pool, and the pool shall ensure
that there exists no interruption in coverage to its members.

Section 17 Examinations

A. The Commissioner shall cause to be made an annual examination of each pool which shall
include determining whether or not proper underwriting techniques, sound funding, loss reserving,
and claims processing procedures are being followed. For such purposes, the Commissioner, or
any person authorized by him, shall have access to all books, papers and documents of the pool,
except to the extent that a conflict of interest exists in claims which involve the State of Colorado.
Such examinations may consist of either an on-site examination or a desk audit based on the
financial filings, actuarial reports and other information filed with the Commissioner.

B. An annual examination fee in the total amount of $1,000 which shall represent the cost of
conducting the division examination shall be paid by the pool by March 30 of each year

Section 18 Fidelity Coverage

A. Each pool shall obtain fidelity coverage in accordance with Colorado Insurance Regulation 3-1-1,
3 CCR 702-3.
B. Unless waived by the Commissioner, self-insurance pools shall require that contract service

providers which handle or have access to pool funds obtain fidelity coverage.
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Section 19 Confidentiality

Documentation requested by the Division of Insurance and submitted in compliance herewith, shall
generally be considered a public record under the Public Records Act, § § 24-72-201 through 206, C.R.S.

In the event any requested documentation is considered by the pool to be confidential in nature, the pool
must submit the requested information under separate cover or in a sealed envelope or file clearly labeled
“CONFIDENTIAL”. Attached to the documents submitted under confidential cover should be a brief, typed
explanation of why they are to be considered confidential.

Documentation so submitted, if found to be confidential in nature by the Division of Insurance, will be
maintained in a separate, confidential file and will not be released to the general public for inspection or

copying.
Section 20 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.

Section 21 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license,
subject to the requirements of due process.

Section 22 Effective Date

This amended regulation shall be effective October 1, 2012.

Section 23 History

Amended and Restated Regulation effective December 31, 1992
Amended Regulation effective October 1, 2012

APPENDIX A
NAME OF POOL
DATE OF STATEMENT December 31, or Fiscal Year Ended

A. STATEMENT OF ASSETS, LIABILITIES AND SURPLUS

Assets:

Invested Securities

Cash

Uncollected contributions

Other uncollected assessments

Other Admitted Assets
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Total Assets
Liabilities:
Loss reserves
Loss adjustment expense reserves
Unearned contributions
Other expenses
Other liabilities
Total Liabilities
Surplus:
Subordinated debt
Contributed surplus
Unassigned surplus
Total Surplus

B. STATEMENT OF INCOME

Revenue:

Contributions and assessments earned

Investment income
Other income
Total Income
Expenses:
Losses incurred
Loss adjustment expenses incurred
Other underwriting expenses
Total Expenses
Net Income (Loss)

COVERAGE(S) PROVIDED

Number of members

Type & character of coverage(s)
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Attach a schedule to be included with this report which details any reinsurance credit/debit incorporated
herein and the name of each such carrier.

This report is sworn to be a true and correct statement of the condition of the above named pool.
Chief Executive Officer (signature)

Chief Executive Officer (printed)

Regulation 2-2-2 CONCERNING EMPLOYERS WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SELF-
INSURANCE POOLS

Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Definitions

Section 5 Formation of Self-Insurance Pools

Section 6 Continued Operations of Self-Insurance Pools

Section 7 Pool Agreement

Section 8 Minimum Surplus Levels and Financial Requirements

Section 9 Security Deposit

Section 10 Standards for Approval

Section 11 Issuance of Certificate of Authority

Section 12 Examinations

Section 13 Records

Section 14 Annual Filing Requirements

Section 15 Investment of Pool Funds

Section 16 Reinsurance and Credit for Reserves on Ceded Risks

Section 17 Evidence of Coverage

Section 18 Dissolution

Section 19 Fidelity Coverage

Section 20 Contract Service Providers

Section 21 Severability

Section 22 Enforcement

Section 23 Effective Date
Section 24 History

Section 1 Authority
This regulation is promulgated under the authority of § § 8-44-205(9), and 10-1-109, C.R.S.
Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to clarify the requirements for the formation and operation of employers’
workers’ compensation self-insurance pools.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation shall apply to employers cooperating with one another to from a self-insurance pool to
provide the insurance coverage required by Article 44 of Title 8, C.R.S.
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Section 4 Definitions

A. “Admitted Assets” means the securities set forth in Section 15 of this regulation and interest
earned thereon, but shall also include membership claim deductibles as specifically permitted by
the workers’ compensation laws of the State of Colorado to the extent that the aggregate
receivable for such deductibles does not exceed one percent (1%) of admitted assets and such
receivable amounts have not been accrued for more than ninety days from the date the claim was
paid; uncollected premium contributions which are less than ninety days past the effective date of
coverage; and receivables from solvent insurance companies licensed in the State of Colorado or
otherwise approved as qualified non-admitted reinsurers.

B. “Board of Directors” means the governing body of the pool consisting of at least five (5) directors.
C. “Commissioner” means the commissioner of insurance.
D. “‘Deductible” is the amount indicated on the declarations page as per requirements in Articles 40

to 47 of Title 8, C.R.S., the existence of which shall not affect the requirement of an employer to
report an injury or death to the division as required in § 8-43-103(1), C.R.S.

E. “Employers” means a bona fide trade or professional association or two or more employers which
are engaged in the same or similar type of business or are members of the same bona fide trade
or professional organization.

F. “Expected level of funding” means the level of funding, as determined by a qualified actuary that
provides for expected indemnity and medical losses, and expected allocated loss adjustment
expenses.

G. “Impaired” means that a pool’s surplus is less than required pursuant to this regulation.

H. “Insolvent” means that a pool's admitted assets are less than all of its liabilities or the pool is

unable to pay its obligations.

l. “‘Member” or “Members” mean an employer which has joined the self insurance pool.

J. “Pool Agreement” means the agreement in which the governing articles of the pool are set forth.

K. “Proposal” means the description of the pool’s plan of operation submitted to the Commissioner
which shall include fully executed documents and agreements as indentified in Section 5 of this
regulation.

L. “Qualified Actuary” means those actuaries that meet the qualification requirements described in

Sections 4 and 5 of Regulation 1-1-1, 3 CCR 702-1.
M. “Self-Insurance pool” or “pool” means a pool formed by employers pursuant to § 8-44-205, C.R.S.

N. “Surplus” means that amount which remains after subtracting the pool’s liabilities from its
admitted assets. Subordinated debentures referred to in Section 8 of this regulation, shall not be
deemed a liability until repayment of principal and/or interest has been approved by the
Commissioner.

0. “Trust Fund” or “Premium Fund” is the pool’s retention under the terms of an aggregate excess
insurance contract, or if no aggregate excess coverage is provided, the expected level of funding
established to pay workers’ compensation claims as determined by a qualified actuary.

58



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 3 CCR 702-2
Division of Insurance

Section 5 Formation of Self-Insurance Pools

For every self-insurance pool formed there shall be submitted to the Commissioner a written proposal of
the pool’s plan of operations which shall include the following:

A. A.d(.atailed description of the self-insurance pool’s plan of operations which shall include at a
minimum:
1. Facilities to manage the pool;
2. Administrative and claims servicing arrangements;
3. Custodial and investment management services;
4, Types of coverages and applicable limits;
5. Reinsurance structure;
6. Underwriting rules and procedures;
7. Medical treatment plan;
8. Safety and loss control plan; and
9. Qualifications and standards of membership.
B. A feasibility study prepared by a qualified actuary projecting future loss experience and premium

levels required to fund minimum surplus and initial operations.

C. Executed pooling agreement which shall comply with § 8-44-205, C.R.S., and this regulation.
D. Five-year financial projection of the pool’s operations.
E. Specimen of proposed reinsurance agreements and evidence of coverage in the form of binder,

placement slip or other document properly executed and authorized.

F. Fidelity bond.

G. Completed application for certificate of authority accompanied by an application processing fee of
one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500), which shall represent the cost of review and

processing of the proposal including the organizational examination.

H. Composition of the pool’s board of directors, officers and principal employees including
biographical affidavits for all such persons.

l. Conflict of interest policy and executed conflict of interest statements.

J. Investment policy and guidelines which define investment authority.
K. Custodial, investment, and safekeeping agreements(s), which shall conform to Colorado
regulations.
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L. Executed management, claims management, investment, custodial, and safekeeping
agreements. Other agreements shall be made available at the request of the Commissioner.

For each contract service provider referenced in the application, a detailed description of the
expertise and qualifications of these providers including the expertise and qualifications of their
personnel must be submitted.

M. Additional information as necessary pursuant to § 8-44-205, C.R.S., to determine whether or not
proper insurance techniques and procedures will be followed.

Section 6 Continued Operations of Self-Insurance Pools
A written description of any significant modifications to the plan of operation licensed by the

Commissioner must be filed and approved before implementation. Subjects that are deemed to be
significant include, but are not necessarily limited to the following:

A. Changes in retained risk if the risk increases by more than 25%.
B. Changes in funding methodology which must be accompanied by a certification from a qualified
actuary.

Failure to submit modifications shall be grounds for revocation or suspension of pool’s certificate of
authority pursuant to § § 8-44-205, (7)(a)(VI) and (VII); or supervision or rehabilitation pursuant to § § 8-
44-205, (8)(d) and (e), C.R.S. Any such modification shall be deemed approved unless the Commissioner
disapproves such filings in writing within 30 days from the date of submission.

Section 7 Pool Agreement
This agreement must jointly and severally bind each member to pay claims and comply with all provisions

of the workers’ compensation laws of the State of Colorado. In addition, this agreement must also
specifically set forth the following:

A. Provisions for the election or appointment of a board of directors and their powers and duties.

B. Provisions for the election of officers and their powers and duties.

C. Requirements and provisions for meetings of the membership and the board of directors.

D. Criteria for membership in the pool which may include time in business, net worth, business
experience, acceptance of risk management/loss control standards or cost containment
procedures.

E. Provisions for the withdrawal or expulsion of pool members.

F. Provisions for the dissolution of the pool per Section 18.

G. Provisions for the payment of annual and periodic premium contributions, and the payment of

initial surplus contributions as applicable. Such premium contributions shall at least equal, in the
aggregate, 100% of the expected level of funding of the retained risk, net of reinsurance.

H. Provisions for the distribution of surplus or excess earnings so as not to cause the pool to
become impaired or insolvent.
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J.

K.

Provisions for the assessment of members in such amounts and at such times as necessary to
insure the solvency, continued operation and avoid impairment of the pool. This will include
financial standards for membership and standards for securing unpaid assessments of withdrawn
members.

1. Should a member not have the financial resources to pay an assessment, the remaining
members may be assessed as required to fund all reserve liabilities.

2. Any member who withdraws from the pool must remain liable for any outstanding
assessments or future assessments made by the pool for incurred obligations. Any
unpaid assessments due from a withdrawing member must be secured by that member.
Such security must qualify as an admitted asset and be assigned to the pool.

Specifically define insolvency and impairment as set forth in Section 4 of this regulation.

Other provisions as applicable and as deemed necessary.

Section 8 Minimum Surplus Levels and Financial Requirements

A

The minimum surplus level shall be the greater of:

1. $400,000

2. One-third of the annual net written premiums, or

3. Two times the pool’s specific per occurrence retention.

A higher amount of minimum surplus may be established to begin and continue operations if the
Commissioner determines that the type and size of risk being insured; the level of contributions;
the size of the asset base; the existence of assessment authority; the geographical location of
insured risks; the nature and quality of the reinsurance structure; the qualify, diversification and
liquidity of the pool’s investments; the financial status of the pool’'s members; or other relevant
factors justify additional funding. The minimum surplus level shall be accumulated and in place
before acceptance of any risk.

The initial capitalization of a pool may be held in the form of cash, acceptable securities or one or
more subordinated debentures which shall conform to the provisions of § 10-3-209, C.R.S.

The pool must have combined annual net premiums of at least $500,000. For the initial policy
year of operation, such premium contributions must be in place before coverage is provided. For
succeeding policy years, a deposit premium of at least 40% of the estimated annual premium
must be made upon binding coverage.

Section 9 Security Deposit

A.

Acceptable securities representing the minimum surplus established by this regulation shall be
deposited with the Commissioner in the manner provided by § 10-3-210, C.R.S., and shall
comprise only admitted assets of the pool as described below, which shall at all times have a
market value at least equal to the minimum surplus required.
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In addition to cash, deposit funds acceptable to the Commissioner shall be U.S. Government
bonds, notes or bills issued or guaranteed by the United States of America and certificates of
deposit issued by solvent commercial banks or savings and loan associations which are fully
insured as to principal and interest by the Federal Savings and Loan Association, Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation or other government sponsored insurance program, and such other
investments as are approved by the Commissioner.

Such deposit shall be established before the pool is permitted to bind coverage.
Pools shall file annually with the Commissioner an itemized statement of market value of

securities on deposit. This statement shall be filed in accordance with the provisions of Section 3
of Regulation 3-1-2, 3 CCR 702-3.

Section 10 Security Standards

A

All self insurance pools shall provide coverage to statutory limits and annually establish a trust

fund to provide payment of the total workers’ compensation loss costs incurred by membership.
The trust fund shall equal or exceed the expected level of funding as determined by a qualified

actuary.

The pool is permitted to engage in reinsurance transactions for the purpose of limiting the
exposure and risk of the pool.

For each policy year, premium contributions from membership shall be charged so as to maintain
the trust fund being equal to the recommended total expected level of funding of the retained risk,
net of reinsurance, as determined by a qualified actuary, plus the additional funds sufficient to pay
reinsurance costs and the administrative costs of the pool.

Section 11 Issuance of Certificate of Authority

A

The Commissioner shall issue a certificate of authority to a pool after finding that proper
insurance techniques and procedures included in the written proposal submitted pursuant to
Sections 5, 8, and 9 of this regulation are acceptable.

Costs of the review of the submission incurred by the Commissioner shall be paid by the pool as
stated in Section 5.G of this regulation.

Section 12 Examinations

A.

Prior to licensure, the Commissioner may conduct an organizational examination to verify that the
pool has been established in accordance with the submission of the written proposal to form the
pool.

In addition to the organization examination, the Commissioner shall conduct an examination of
each pool as required by law, which efforts shall include determining whether or not proper
underwriting techniques and sound funding, loss reserving and claims processing procedures are
being followed. For such purposes, the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s authorized
representative shall have access to all books and records, papers and documents of the pool.
Such examinations may consist of an on-site examination or desk audit based on the financial
filings, actuarial reports and other information filed with the Commissioner.
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Section 13 Records
To facilitate examination of each pool as required by law the pool shall maintain the following records:

A. A complete set of accounting records shall be maintained by each pool, which shall accurately
disclose the nature and detail of all accounting transactions. Such records shall at a minimum
include a general ledger, a cash receipts journal and a cash disbursements journal.

B. A detailed written record of advance approval of investment transactions shall be maintained. The
Board of Directors may delegate the general investment duties to a committee, an individual or
investment management service; however, the board must review and, at least quarterly, ratify
such investment transactions.

C. Each pool shall maintain a separate claim file for each claim. Information on claims shall be
maintained to include medical and indemnity payments, claim number, claimant’'s name, date
incurred, date reported, date paid, and the amount of each payment (including allocated loss
adjustment expenses), and shall at the Commissioner’s discretion be summarized and filed in a
form prescribed by the Commissioner. In addition, the pool must maintain and prepare summary
loss reports and payroll reports on each member.

D. Claim files must be maintained for at least seven years. The original file or an electronic format is
acceptable. A historical summary of reserve transactions and payments must be incorporated into
each claim file.

Section 14 Annual Filing Requirements
The pool is required to file certain reports with the Commissioner as follows:
A. The fiscal year for annual reporting purposes shall be the calendar year.

B. Each pool shall prepare and file with the Commissioner an annual report (Appendix A) prepared
on a statutory basis by March 30, of each year, accompanied by a fee of one thousand dollars
($1,000 annual fee) which shall represent the cost of conducting the division examination. The
report need only be signed by the chief administrative officer of the pool as designated by the
board of directors.

C. The Commissioner may require that a pool report more frequently than annually in such form as
determined by the Commissioner.

D. Each pool shall annually cause to be made an audit of its statutory financial statement as of each
fiscal year end and shall file the results of this audit with the Commissioner on or before August 1,
of each year. Such audit shall be performed by an independent certified public accountant.

E. Annually each pool shall cause to be made an actuarial study of the rates, funding and loss
reserves of the pool. Such reports shall certify that the pool provides funding levels sufficient to
pay obligations and maintain statutory surplus. Such reports shall meet the following
requirements:

1. The actuarial report shall be made by a qualified actuary.
2. The contents of the report shall set forth the underlying methods and assumptions.
3. The report shall be prepared to coincide with fiscal year end reporting requirements set

forth in this regulation.
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4, The Commissioner may require a special actuarial study if necessary.

5. A copy of each report (preliminary or final) shall be filed with the Commissioner upon
completion.

6. The actuarial recommendations for funding shall take into account all retained risks of the

pool including deductibles and risks up to statutorily required levels in excess of any
reinsurance in effect.

Section 15 Investment of Pool Funds
The board of directors is authorized to invest pool funds in the following manner:

A. Securities issued by the United States government or U.S. government agencies and which are
general or full faith and credit obligations of the U.S. government.

B. Securities issued by the State of Colorado, or any agency or political subdivision which are
backed by the full faith and credit of the State of Colorado.

C. Certificates of deposit and money market accounts in federally insured banks and savings and
loan associations located in the State of Colorado to the extent that such investments are
insured.

Section 16 Reinsurance and Credit for Reserves on Ceded Risks

Credit for reserves on ceded risks may only be taken if the conditions set forth in § 10-3-118, C.R.S., are
satisfied.

Section 17 Evidence of Coverage

Each member of a pool shall be issued a document specifically identifying the pool’s workers’

compensation coverage which must meet the minimum statutory requirements and pool’s limits

for employers’ liability coverage as determined by the board of directors.

Section 18 Dissolution

A. The pool agreement shall contain procedures for the dissolution of the pool, including a
requirement that the pool provide the Commissioner at least ninety (90) days advance notice of
the intent to dissolve. No dissolution shall take effect until the Commissioner approves the plan of

dissolution, and all debts and obligations have been paid or reinsured.

B. The plan of dissolution must require that each member remain liable for all outstanding claims
liabilities and remain subject to periodic assessment until all claims are fully settled.

Section 19 Fidelity Coverage

Each pool shall maintain fidelity coverage in accordance with Regulation 3-1-1, 3 CCR 702-3.
Section 20 Contract Service Providers

A. Pools shall provide at least thirty (30) days advance notice to the Commissioner of the

cancellation of pool management, claims management, or investment, custodial and safekeeping
contracts, except that the notice need not be given in advance for material breach of contract.
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B. Unless waived by the Commissioner, self-insurance pools shall require that contract service
providers which handle or have access to pool funds obtain fidelity coverage.

Section 21 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.

Section 22 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance or other laws which include the imposition of
civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license, subject
to the requirements of due process.

Section 23 Effective Date

This amended regulation shall be effective October 1, 2012.

Section 24 History

Amended and Restated Regulation effective December 31, 1992
Amended Regulation effective October 1, 2012

APPENDIX A
NAME OF POOL
DATE OF STATEMENT December 31,

A STATEMENT OF ASSETS, LIABILITIES AND SURPLUS

Assets:

Invested securities

Cash

Uncollected contributions
Other uncollected assessments

Other Admitted assets

Total Assets

Liabilities:

Loss reserves

Loss adjustment expense reserves

Unearned contributions

Other expenses
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Other liabilities

Total Liabilities

Surplus:
Subordinated debt

Contributed surplus

Unassigned surplus

Total Surplus

B) STATEMENT OF INCOME

Revenue:

Contributions and assessments earned

Investment income

Other income

Total Income

Expenses:

Losses incurred

Loss adjustment expenses incurred

Other underwriting expenses

Total Expenses

Net Income (Loss)

COVERAGE(S) PROVIDED

Number of members

Type & character of coverage(s)

Attach a schedule to be included with this report which details any reinsurance credit/debit incorporated

herein and the name of each such carrier.

This report is sworn to be a true and correct statement of the condition of the above named pool.

Chief Executive Officer (signature)

Chief Executive Officer (printed)
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REGULATION 2-3-1 CONCERNING THE FORMATION AND OPERATIONS OF CAPTIVE
INSURANCE COMPANIES IN COLORADO

Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of § §
10-1-109, and 10-6-129, C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to set forth the formation, operation and reporting requirements for
captive insurance companies formed pursuant to the Colorado Captive Insurance Company Act, Article 6
of Title 10, C.R.S., and to ensure that licensed captive insurance companies are financially sound.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation shall apply to any person that currently has, or is seeking to obtain, a certificate of
authority to transact the business of insurance as a captive insurance company.

Section 4 Filing Requirements
A. Initial Application
1. All initial applications shall include the following documents in addition to the documents

required in § § 10-6-107(1) and 10-6-107(3), C.R.S.:

a. A complete UCAA primary application;
b. A copy of the proposed bylaws or other internal operating instructions;
C. Three (3) years of audited financial reports on any party owning or controlling ten

percent (10%) or more of the voting stock, or other controlling interest, of the
captive insurance company; and

d. The identification of the certified public accountant pursuant to Colorado
Insurance Regulation 3-1-4(3 CCR 702-3), the qualified actuary as defined in
Colorado Insurance Regulation 1-1-1 (3 CCR 702-1) and any managing general
agent or reinsurance intermediary to be used.

2. All applicants intending to operate as a risk retention group shall also include information
sufficient to demonstrate compliance with Colorado Insurance Regulation 2-1-8 (3 CCR
702-2)
B. Annual Reports
1. All group captives shall file the following documents in addition to filing the information

required by § § 10-3-208(3) to 10-3-208(7), C.R.S. Unless otherwise indicated, the filings
are due on the dates set by the Commissioner in the published annual filing instructions:

a. A certification by an officer of the captive insurance company that it maintains its
principal and home office in the State of Colorado, and that such office performs
a significant portion of the insurance services necessary to manage and
administer the captive insurance company operations, including maintaining the
original books and records in the State of Colorado. This certification is due
March 1st;
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g.

An actuarial opinion in accordance with Colorado Insurance Regulation 3-1-3 (3
CCR 702-3);

An actuarial report supporting the actuarial opinion. The actuarial report is due
April 1st;

Management Discussion and Analysis ;

An audited CPA financial statement prepared in accordance with Colorado
Insurance Regulation 3-1-4 (3 CCR 702-3);

Financial Statement Supplements; and

Quarterly Financial Statements.

2. All pure captives shall file the flowing documents:

a.

Annual financial information which includes a jurat page, balance sheet, and an
income statement in the NAIC blank format. This requirement may be met by
filing the audited CPA financial statement prepared in accordance with Colorado
Insurance Regulation 3-1-4(3 CCR 702-3) with an affidavit by the pure captive’s
president, treasurer, and secretary affirming that the information in the financial
statement is true and correct to the best of their knowledge. This report is due
within sixty (60) days of the captive’s fiscal year end;

A certification by an officer of the captive insurance company that it maintains its
principal and home office in the State of Colorado, and that such office performs
the insurance services necessary to manage and administer the captive
insurance company’s operations, including maintaining the original books and
records in the State of Colorado. This certificate is due within sixty (60) days of
the captive’s fiscal year end;

An actuarial opinion prepared in accordance with Colorado Insurance Regulation
3-1-3 (3 CCR 702-3). The actuarial opinion is due within sixty (60) days of the
captive’s fiscal year end;

An actuarial report supporting the actuarial opinion. The actuarial report is due
within ninety (90) days of the captive’s fiscal year end; and

An audited CPA financial statement prepared in accordance with Colorado
Insurance Regulation 3-1-4 (3 CCR 702-3). The audited financial statement is
due within one hundred fifty (150) days of the captive’s fiscal year end.

3. A pure captive that issues surety coverage, or a pure captive whose financial statement
reflects a loan to or receivables from the parent company that exceeds fifty percent of the
captive’s statutory capital and surplus, shall file a copy of the parent company's audited
financial statement. This audited financial statement is due within one hundred fifty (150)
days of the captive’s fiscal year end.
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Section 5 Plan of Operation

A. The plan of operation filed with the Commissioner for review and approval shall provide the basis
and limitations for the captive insurance company's operations. Any licensed captive insurance
company shall operate within its approved plan of operation. Each plan of operation shall contain
the details of the captive insurance company's proposed operations, including but not limited to
the following:

1. An organizational chart which includes the proposed captive insurance company and
affiliated companies or group members as defined in § 10-6-103, C.R.S;

2. The identity of all officers and directors and owners of ten percent (10%) or more of the
outstanding voting securities, or other means of direct or indirect control, of the captive
insurance company, accompanied by biographical affidavits on the form prescribed by
the Commissioner. The Commissioner may require a fingerprint set from any officer,
director or owner;

3. Proposed contractual agreements with, and identification of, managers, administrators,
claims service providers, investment advisors, custodian, or others who will furnish
services or insurance expertise to the captive. Any agreement concerning essential
insurance services to the captive insurance company must provide for ninety (90) days
advance notice to the Commissioner prior to termination and that the captive insurance
company retains full ownership of all original records. Where services are routinely
provided by a parent, affiliated company, or group member, a service agreement must be
executed;

4, The location(s) of all books, records and offices, including description of the functions to
be performed at each office and how compliance with § 10-6-107(5), C.R.S. is achieved;

5. For pure captives, the identification of the fiscal year of the parent company and the
captive ( this may be the calendar year or the same fiscal year as the parent);

6. The method, plan, timing, source and amount of the proposed initial capitalization. All risk
retention group captives shall maintain capital levels in compliance with Colorado
Insurance Regulation 3-1-11 (3 CCR 702-3). Group captives shall maintain capital levels
at such amounts as the Commissioner deems appropriate considering the risks to be
insured, the amount of risk retained and other relevant factors;

7. For a pure captive, whether or not loans to the parent are anticipated. Any loan shall
conform to Section 7 of this regulation;

8. Information on how the captive funds are protected;

9. A description of the type and form of risks to be written;

10. Copies of all insurance contract forms;

11. Copies of any advertising or marketing material intended for use;

12. A description of pricing or funding methods to be employed if not provided elsewhere;
13. For group captives, a description of the proposed underwriting standards and claims

handling procedures;
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14. Disclosure of the maximum limits proposed to be written on any one risk, including any
other solvency safeguards provided, in the event of adverse experience; and

15. The identification of proposed reinsurers and a summary of the reinsurance program
structure and arrangements. Draft copies of all reinsurance agreements anticipated to be
used, including facultative contracts, shall be filed. Captive insurance companies,
including risk retention groups, may take credit for reinsurance without prior written
approval of the Commissioner if the reinsurer is authorized to transact reinsurance
business in Colorado and the reinsurance agreement complies with § 10-3-118, C.R.S.
and Insurance Regulation 3-3-3 (3 CCR 702-3). Captive insurance companies, with the
exception of risk retention groups, may take credit for non-complying reinsurance with
approval by the Commissioner.

B. A captive insurance company may modify the approved plan of operation with prior written
approval of the Commissioner. A new feasibility study may be required. If the change results in an
amendment to the certificate of authority, the previously issued certificate must be returned with a
completed UCAA corporate amendments application for an amended certificate of authority.

Section 6 Feasibility Study

As used in this regulation, a feasibility study is an analysis of the anticipated operations of the captive
insurance company, accompanied by a report and opinion of a qualified actuary, stating that the proposed
operations are anticipated to be financially sound under expected and adverse experience. The actuary
shall also issue an opinion on the adequacy of the proposed capitalization and funding levels or pricing
structures for the anticipated risks to be written. The actuarial report must incorporate at a minimum the
applicable information contained in the submitted plan of operation and the historical and expected loss
experience of the initial insureds, the credibility of such data in determining reserves, and the disclosure
of any other experience of similar exposures used to provide credible loss projections. The methods and
assumptions used in the feasibility study and pro forma projections are for illustrative purposes only and
are not to be considered as approved methods or assumptions unless specifically requested in the plan of
operation and approved by the Commissioner.

Section 7 Admitted Assets

A. A letter of credit may be reported as an admitted asset only if it is held by, or under joint control
with, the Commissioner; names the Commissioner as beneficiary; has been filed and approved in
the plan of operation; is used to fund capital or surplus required or permitted by the
Commissioner; and meets the three following provisions. The captive, or other person
responsible for reimbursing the issuer of the letter of credit, shall disclose any collateral
supporting the reimbursement obligation under the letter of credit in the event of a draw, which
must not include assets of the captive, or submit an affidavit that reimbursement is not supported
by assets of the captive insurance company.

1. The letter of credit must be clean, irrevocable, and unconditional. Such letter of credit
shall be issued by, or confirmed by, and drawn upon a Qualified United States financial
institution as defined by §10-1-102(17), C.R.S. The letter of credit shall contain an issue
date and date of expiration; shall stipulate that the Commissioner or representative need
only draw a sight draft under the letter of credit and present it to obtain funds; and that no
other document need be presented, other than the letter of credit, if required;

2. The letter of credit must not contain a statement that the obligation of the issuer under the
letter of credit is contingent upon reimbursement; and
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C.
Section 8
A.
B.

The term of the letter of credit shall be for at least one year and shall contain an
“evergreen clause” which automatically renews it unless at least ninety (90) days notice
has been given to the Commissioner that the letter of credit will not be renewed at its
expiration date.

Pure captive insurance companies may report loans to their parent as admitted assets on their
financial statements subject to the following:

The reported asset value for such loan must be within the maximum aggregate limit filed
and approved in the plan of operation; and

a. the recipient of the loan has current assets exceeding its current liabilities, with
the loan being reflected as a current liability on a non-consolidated basis with the
captive; and

b. the audit opinion on the financial statement of the recipient of the loan is

unqualified; and

C. the recipient of the loan does not report intangible assets, on a non-consolidated
basis with the captive, in excess of one hundred percent (100%) of its net worth.

For situations not meeting the above conditions, prior written approval of the
Commissioner must be obtained, which may include a requirement that the loan
agreement provide for an automatic repayment schedule tied to some mutually agreeable
index, such as the rating agency rating of the parent company.

Any authorized loan must be in a formal agreement containing a provision that the loan is
due and payable within ninety (90) days of a written request by the Commissioner, and
must contain specific interest and maturity provisions. The loan agreement must be filed
with the Commissioner annually in conjunction with the filing of the annual financial
information.

Consolidated financial information for the recipient of the loan shall be acceptable only if
the report also contains consolidating worksheets.

A pure captive insurance company’s non-admitted assets defined under § 10-1-102(16), C.R.S.

or the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual shall not be admitted assets for
statutory reporting purposes.

Reinsurance

Risk Retention Groups may not take credit for reinsurance agreements with unauthorized
reinsurers, or which do not comply with § 10-3-118, C.R.S. and Colorado Insurance Regulation 3-
3-3 (3 CCR 702-3).

Risk Retention Groups may not assume the liability of any other risk retention group (or any
members of such other group) unless the ceding risk retention group (or member) meets the
requirements for membership in the assuming risk retention group.
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Section 9 Discounting of Loss Reserves

A. A captive insurance company may request written authorization to discount loss reserves for
financial statements in its plan of operation. Such request shall be submitted at least sixty (60)
days prior to the requested date of implementation. Discounting shall not occur until the captive
insurance company receives prior written authorization from the Commissioner. This approval will
not be available on a retroactive basis. Approval may be subsequently withdrawn, in whole or in
part, in the event there is any material change in the acceptability of the assumptions, or the
experience shows that continued loss reserve discounting fails to satisfy the standards of this
section or may create a hazardous financial condition.

B. Loss reserve discounting will be permitted only for the specific types of claims authorized in the
Statement of Statutory Accounting Principles.

C. The Applicant Requesting Authorization Shall:
1. Define and justify the interest rate assumptions used for discounting;
2. Provide an explanation for the basis and methodology upon which reserves are
calculated;
3. Provide a summary of all available historical loss data, historical development factors,

loss payout factors, and a history of the frequency and severity of past experience;

4, Provide a statement of opinion by an actuary that the funds available in the captive
insurance company for payment of losses and loss expenses are adequate, at a ninety
five percent (95%) confidence level, to pay all losses and loss expense obligations
incurred and unpaid as of the statement date. The actuary’s statement shall include the
basis of accepting the captive insurance company’s available loss data as being credible
in order to give the required confidence level representation. Where credible loss data is
not available, the actuary must disclose the data used in order to make the required
confidence level representation;

5. An actuarial opinion and the supporting report evidencing compliance with the above
standards must be submitted at time of application and with each annual financial report
filed thereafter. The opinion must include a statement that the assets supporting the
discounted reserves are sufficient to support the anticipated cash flows associated with
the reserve development. Approval for discounting reserves may be withdrawn if the
submitted opinion is other than unqualified.

Section 10 Examinations

The Commissioner or any person authorized will conduct a formal financial examination of every risk
retention group not less frequently than once every five years.

Section 11 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.
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Section 12 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result, after proper notice and hearing, in the imposition of any of
the sanctions made available in the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance or other
laws which include the imposition of fines, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or
revocation of license. Among others, the penalties provided for in § 10-3-1108, C.R.S. may be applied.

Section 13 Effective Date
This regulation is effective February 1, 2012
Section 14 History

Originally issued as Regulation 89-1, effective October 1, 1989

Amended Regulation 89-3, effective December 1, 1990

Amended Regulation 89-3, effective December 31, 1991

Recodified as Regulation 2-3-1, effective June 1, 1992

Amended Regulation 2-3-1, effective November 30, 1994

Amended Regulation 2-3-1, effective December 1, 1998

Amended Regulation 2-3-1, effective September 30, 2004

Repealed and Repromulgated Regulation 2-3-1, effective February 1, 2012.

Regulation 2-4-1 CONCERNING SURPLUS LINES INSURANCE ISSUED BY NONADMITTED
INSURERS

Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Disclosure

Section 5 Premium Rates

Section 6 Procurement

Section 7 Taxes on Premium

Section 8 Eligible List

Section 9 Filings

Section 10 Standards for Approval
Section 11 Severability

Section 12 Enforcement

Section 13 Effective Date

Section 14 History

Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated under the authority of § § 10-1-109, and 10-5-117, C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to establish standards regarding the placement of insurance by
producers and the qualification of insurers pursuant to the Colorado Nonadmitted Insurance Act, § 10-5-
101, et seq., C.R.S. and the “Nonadmitted and Reinsurance Reform Act of 2010” ,15 U.S.C. sec 8201 et.

seq., as amended. This regulation also serves to further protect Colorado insurance consumers by setting
forth necessary disclosure requirements for surplus lines insurance contracts.
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Section 3 Applicability

This regulation shall apply to any company eligible, or seeking to become eligible, to effect a contract of
insurance pursuant to Colorado's Nonadmitted Insurance Act, to any producer or Colorado surplus lines
broker, as defined by § 10-5-101.2(3), C.R.S., procuring or assisting in the procurement of surplus lines
insurance for an insured whose home state, as defined in § 10-5-101.2(7), C.R.S., is Colorado, and any
person that enters into an independent procurement for nonadmitted insurance.

Section 4 Disclosure

A. Every insurance contract procured and delivered as a surplus line coverage to an insured whose
home state is Colorado must include the disclosure stated in § 10-5-104, C.R.S.

B. In accordance with Section 10-5-119, C.R.S., if the policy is written on a claims-made basis, the
following shall also appear on the policy:

“This policy is a claims-made policy which provides liability coverage only if a claim is made during the
policy period or any applicable extended reporting period.”

C. If an automobile policy does not provide the basic complying policy coverages in § 10-4-620,
C.R.S. the following must appear on the policy:

“This policy does not meet the statutory requirements of this State's financial responsibility laws. It does
not provide liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage.”

D. The provisions of §10-5-101.5 (1)(b), C.R.S. shall apply to policies of property and casualty
insurance issued or delivered in this state by an unauthorized insurer affording coverage only on
property located temporarily or permanently, or operations conducted temporarily or permanently
outside the boundaries of the United States of America, its territories or possessions when the
policy is placed by licensed property and casualty producers or brokers of this state, who shall
remain responsible for verifying that the insuring company is licensed or authorized by the
appropriate regulatory bodies to transact the business of insurance in that jurisdiction, and
contains the following disclaimer:

“This policy is issued by an insurance company that is not regulated by the Colorado Division of
Insurance. The insurance company may not provide claims service and may not be subject to service of
process in Colorado. If the insurance company becomes insolvent, insureds or claimants will not be
eligible for protection under Colorado insurance law.”

E. These required disclosures shall be affixed to the declaration page of the contract given to the
insured. A copy, bearing the disclosures, shall also be maintained by the broker, in the case of
the issuance of a binder prior to the formal policy, such disclosure shall also appear on the
binder.

Section 5 Premium Rates

The provisions of § 10-5-103, C.R.S. allow for the use of an eligible nonadmitted insurer if coverage is not
available or affordable. In determining affordability, the rate quoted by each admitted insurer must exceed
the rate quoted by the eligible nonadmitted insurer by 10% for comparable benefits and provisions.

Section 6 Procurement

Section 10-5-103, C.R.S. requires that a diligent effort be made to procure coverage with an admitted
insurer before placing coverage with an eligible nonadmitted insurer.
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A

Due diligence shall be satisfied by documentation prepared by the producer, office of the
producer or broker. The documentation must demonstrate that the coverage required was not
procurable after a comprehensive search was made from a minimum of three admitted insurers
authorized to and currently transacting that line of business in this state. If there are fewer than
three admitted insurers in this state which are authorized and currently transacting the line of
business needed, such diligent effort shall be met by searching this lesser market.

A written record documenting diligent search efforts shall be maintained by the broker or producer
for a period of not less than three years from the effective date of the coverage. The broker may
rely upon representations made by a producer with regard to search efforts made by the
producer.

Given that availability and affordability of coverages is continually changing, the determination of
placement and evidence of diligent search efforts must be made each policy period prior to
placement of coverage with an eligible nonadmitted insurer.

If the insurance transaction is primarily for automobile liability to meet the financial responsibility
requirements in Colorado any eligible surplus lines carrier must comply with the provisions of §-
10-4-601 et. seq, C.R.S., including § 10-4-633 C.R.S., and with the reporting requirements
contained in § 10-4-615, C.R.S.

Section 7 Taxes on Premium

A.

Each broker shall treat all premium tax revenues received for surplus lines insurance written in
Colorado in a fiduciary capacity.

Each broker shall, no later than the 15th of each month for the prior month, submit a report to the
Division of Insurance showing each policy written including those accepted from licensed
producers. The report shall include the name of the insured, line of business, name of non
admitted insurer, surplus lines premium, policy fees charged and surplus lines taxes due. Such
report shall be on a form prescribed by the Commissioner.

In accordance with §10-5-109, C.R.S., a broker reporting a policy written with a non admitted
insurer that is not listed on the Division of Insurance’s eligible list is required to retain
documentation verifying that the non admitted insurer meets the requirements of Sec,. 524 of the
Nonadmitted and Reinsurance Reform Act of 2010, or the type of insurance is listed in § 10-5-
101.5, C.R.S.

In accordance with § 10-5-110(1), C.R.S, the reporting period will be the calendar year. On or
before the first day of March each broker and every person that enters into an independent
procurement for nonadmitted insurance shall file their statement of, and remit the premium taxes
for, all nonadmitted insurance transacted during the preceding calendar year.

Section 8 Eligible List

A.

The Commissioner will prepare, at least annually, a listing of those nonadmitted insurers whose
filings have been reviewed by the Division of Insurance and found to meet the qualification
requirements of Sec. 524 of the Nonadmitted and Reinsurance Reform Act of 2010. Such list will
be effective from July 1 of each year through June 30 of the following year unless otherwise
amended.

The Commissioner, within his/her discretion, may consider a filing received during the current
approval period. If such filing is approved, such approval will expire on June 30 following
acceptance.

75



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 3 CCR 702-2
Division of Insurance

Section 9 Filings

A. A foreign or alien non admitted insurer that wants to be included on the Division of Insurance’s
eligible list shall, on or before March 1st of every year, submit to the Division a completed form
approved by the Commissioner and the fees as prescribed by Sections 10-3-207 and 24-31-
104.5, C.R.S.

B. An Insurance Exchange; a Lloyds plan, or other similar unincorporated group of individual
insurers or a combination of both unincorporated and incorporated insurers; or a group of
incorporated insurers under common administration, shall annually file such other information
necessary to determine compliance with the conditions contained in § 10-5-108, C.R.S.

Section 10 Standards for Approval

A. A foreign company seeking inclusion on the eligible list of nonadmitted insurers must meet the
qualification requirements and criteria contained in section 5A(2) and 5C(2)(a)(i) of the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners’ Non-Admitted Insurance Model Act unless Colorado
has adopted nationwide uniform requirements, forms and procedures in accordance with section
521(b) of the Nonadmitted and Reinsurance Reform Act of 2010.

B. An alien company seeking inclusion on the eligible list of nonadmitted insurers must be listed on
the Quarterly Listing of Alien Insurers maintained by the International Insurers Department of the
NAIC.

C. A foreign insurer with less than the minimum required capital and surplus may make formal

request of the Commissioner that they be given consideration for approval as an Eligible
Nonadmitted insurer. Companies applying for special consideration must demonstrate at a
minimum: 1) that they primarily write risks for which they maintain a specialty; 2) exceptional
expertise in these specialty risks; and 3) sufficient surplus for the potential volatility of the risks
written. Applications should be accompanied by an actuarial opinion and a supporting report
specifically addressing the sufficiency of reserves and surplus for the risks written and anticipated
to be written. Additionally, the applicant shall provide a copy of the audited financial report of the
parent and the ultimate controlling company (person), if any, and any other additional information
requested by the Commissioner.

Section 11 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected.

Section 12 Enforcement

Noncompliance with the Regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance or other laws which include the imposition of
civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license, subject
to the requirements of due process.

Section 13 Effective Date

This amended regulation shall be effective September 1, 2012.

Section 14 History

New Regulation 90-14, effective January 1, 1991
Amended Regulation effective February 1, 1996
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Executive Order D0004-97 reviewed December 1998
Amended Regulation effective April 1, 2000

Amended Regulation effective March 2, 2002

Sections 4.C. and 6.D. amended effective February 1, 2004
Amended Regulation effective January 1, 2007

Amended Regulation effective January 1, 2009

Amended Regulation effective March 1, 2012

Amended Regulation effective September 1, 2012

Regulation 2-5-1 CONSUMER GOODS SERVICE CONTRACT PROVIDER REGISTRATION
Section 1 Authority

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

Section 3 Applicability

Section 4 Definitions

Section 5 Registration Requirements

Section 6 Severability

Section 7 Enforcement

Section 8 Effective Date

Section 9 History

Appendix A Consumer Goods Service Contract Provider Registration Form
Section 1 Authority

This regulation is promulgated and adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance under the authority of §§
10-1-109 and 10-4-1609(5), C.R.S.

Section 2 Scope and Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to establish the requirements for the registration of providers of service
contracts pursuant to the requirements of § 10-4-1603(9)(b), C.R.S.

Section 3 Applicability

This regulation shall apply to all providers of service contracts sold in the state of Colorado, except those
specifically excluded in § 10-4-1602, C.R.S.

Section 4 Definitions

A. “Provider”, for the purposes of this regulation, shall have the same meaning as found at § 10-4-
1601(9), C.R.S.

B. “Service contract”, for the purposes of this regulation, shall have the same meaning as found at §
10-4-1601(14), C.R.S.

Section 5 Registration Requirements

A. Providers of service contracts shall register with the Commissioner in accordance with the
requirements of § 10-4-1603(9)(b), C.R.S.

B. The requirement to register shall be fulfilled by a provider of service contracts by:

1. Submitting the Consumer Goods Service Contract Provider Registration Form found at
Appendix A of this regulation to the Division; and
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2. Submitting a complete copy of:

a. The reimbursement insurance policy issued by a licensed insurer insuring all
service contracts; OR

b. Submitting a copy of the provider’s or provider’'s parent company’s most recent
Form 10-K or Form 20-F that has been filed with the federal securities and
exchange commission, or, if the company does not file with the federal securities
and exchange commission, a copy of the company’s audited financial statements
showing the provider or its parent company has a net worth of at least one
hundred million dollars; and

3. One original fully executed Uniform Consent to Service of Process form (NAIC form 12).
C. If there is any change to the information contained in the Consumer Goods Services Contract
Provider Registration form, the provider must update its registration information within thirty (30)
days of the change. The update shall include all information provided in subsection B. above.
D. Providers of service contracts registering with the Commissioner shall pay a fee in the amount of
$500 upon registration, and annually thereafter, to defray the cost for processing and maintaining

the registration information, pursuant to the requirements found at § 10-4-1603(9)(b)(ll), C.R.S.

E. Registration must be renewed annually by March 31 of each subsequent year after initial
registration.

Section 6 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of it to any person or circumstance is for any reason
held to be invalid, the remainder of this regulation shall not be affected

Section 7 Enforcement

Noncompliance with this regulation may result in the imposition of any of the sanctions made available in
the Colorado statutes pertaining to the business of insurance, or other laws, which include the imposition
of civil penalties, issuance of cease and desist orders, and/or suspensions or revocation of license,
subject to the requirements of due process.

Section 8 Effective Date

This regulation shall become effective March 15, 2015.

Section 9 History
New regulation effective March 15, 2015.

Appendix A: Consumer Goods Service Contract Provider Registration Form (§ 10-4-1603 C.R.S)

Filing Fee $500.00
Due March 31, Annually Year

Legal Name of Service Contract Provider:
D.B.A. (if applicable):
FEIN #:

Applicant’s state of domicile and date of incorporation:
Corporate Address:
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Contact Person:
Title:

Telephone number:
Email Address:

Service of Process Agent Name: (Submit a completed Service of Process form as an attachment to this
Application)

Administrator Name and Contact Person (if applicable):
Administrator Telephone number and email address:

The Provider must meet one of the following requirements in order to qualify as a Service Contract
Provider:

1) Does the Provider have a reimbursement insurance policy issued by a licensed insurer
insuring all service contracts? Yes No If yes, please provide
the following:

a.) Name of Insurer and NAIC#:
b.) Insurance Policy Number and Policy Period:
c.) Attach a copy of the complete policy.

Or
2) Does the Provider maintain, or together with its parent maintain, a net worth or
stockholders’ equity of at least one hundred million ($100,000,000) dollars? Yes
No If yes, provide either:
a.) A copy of Applicant’s most recent Form 10-K, Form 20-F, or
b.) A copy of the Applicant’s most recent audited financial statements, or
c.) A copy of the parent company’s most recent Form 10-K or Form 20-F or parent

company’s audited financial statements, and

A guarantee agreement from the parent company which guarantees the
obligation of the provider relating to service contracts sold by the provider in this
state.

o
~

| hereby certify that all of the information contained in this application and its attachments is true and
complete. | acknowledge that providing false and misleading information in the application, or omitting
pertinent or material information in connection with this registration application is sufficient grounds for
administrative action by the commissioner and potentially, applicable civil penalties.

Signature: Title:

Printed Name: Date:

Note: If any of the information provided on this form changes, the applicant must provide a written notice
to the Commissioner within 30 days after the change.

Please send the $500.00 check payable to:

Colorado Division of Insurance
Attn: Cash Management

1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202

Email inquiries to: DORA_INS CORPORATEAFFAIRS@STATE.CO.US
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Uniform Consent to Service of Process NAIC Form 12 can be found at:
http://www.naic.org/documents/industry ucaa form12.pdf

Regulation 2-6-1 [Repealed eff. 09/01/2012]

Editor’s Notes

History

Regulations 2-1-9, 2-4-1 eff. 01/01/2009.

Regulation 2-1-10 eff. 04/01/2009.

Regulation 2-3-1 eff. 02/01/2012.

Regulations 2-1-7, 2-4-1. Regulation 2-1-4 repealed eff. 03/01/2012.
Regulation 2-1-5 repealed eff. 06/01/2012.

Regulation 2-1-8 eff. 07/01/2012.

Regulations 2-1-11, 2-4-1 eff. 09/01/2012. Regulation 2-6-1 repealed eff. 09/01/2012.
Regulations 2-2-1-2-2-2 eff. 10/01/2012.

Regulations 2-1-1, 2-1-3 eff. 11/01/2012.

Regulation 2-1-2 eff. 08/01/2013.

Regulation 2-5-1 eff. 03/15/2015.

Regulation 2-1-9 eff. 02/01/2016.
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