DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Colorado Parks and Wildlife

CHAPTER P-7 - PASSES, PERMITS AND REGISTRATIONS

2 CCR 405-7

[Editor's Notes follow the text of the rules at the end of this CCR Document.]

ARTICLE I - GENERAL PROVISIONS AND FEES RELATING TO PASSES, PERMITS AND REGISTRATIONS

VEHICLE PASSES

#700 - VEHICLE PASS

- 1. Except as otherwise provided in these regulations or by Colorado Revised Statutes, no motor vehicle shall be brought onto any Parks and Outdoor Recreation lands unless a valid pass issued by the Division is properly attached. Passes that are designed to be affixed to the windshield shall be attached to the extreme lower right-hand corner of the vehicle's windshield in a position so that the pass may be observed and identified. For an annual vehicle pass, including an aspen leaf annual pass to be properly attached to a windshield it must be permanently affixed. Any vehicle without a windshield shall be treated as a special case, but evidence of a pass shall be required. Other types of passes, such as hang tag passes, shall be continuously displayed in the motor vehicle in the manner described on the pass while the motor vehicle is operated or parked on Division properties.
- 2. No vehicle pass shall be required for:
 - a. Any snowmobile as defined in section 33-14-101, C.R.S.;
 - b. Any off-highway vehicle as defined in section 33-14.5-101(3), C.R.S.;
 - c. Any government-owned vehicle, emergency vehicle, or law enforcement vehicle on official business;
 - d. Any commercial delivery vehicle delivering goods to the park or a park concessionaire when the goods are directly related to the operation of the park or concession;
 - e. Any resident's vehicle displaying a Colorado disabled veteran's license plate pursuant to section 42-3-134(3)(a), C.R.S., and as provided for in section 33-12-106(1), C.R.S.;
 - f. Any vehicle bringing a qualified holder of a transferable Columbine or a Centennial annual pass into a park;
 - g. Any vehicle that is not required to have a vehicle pass pursuant to the special activity regulation #703;
 - h. Any vehicle entering a park on Colorado day;
 - i. Any vehicle that is exclusively towed; or

- j. Any vehicle occupied by a current, reserve or honorably discharged member of any United States military service, on the State observance of Veteran's Day. At least one form of past or present military identification shall be presented at the Park entrance. Acceptable forms of military identification include:
 - DD214;
 - Active, retired or veteran military cards;
 - The display of military license plates.
- 3. The types of annual vehicle passes available from the Division are as follows:
 - a. An Aspen Leaf annual pass as provided for in section 33-12-103, C.R.S.; and
 - b. An annual vehicle pass, which is available for any vehicle except passenger vans and buses operated by a commercial business.
 - (1) Commercial passenger vans and buses are eligible to purchase daily, but not annual, vehicle passes.
 - (2) School buses on official school outings, passenger vans and buses operated by a nonprofit corporation or organization as defined in 13-21-115.5 (3), C.R.S., and passenger vans and buses operated by any government agency are eligible for either daily or annual vehicle passes.
- 4. Daily vehicle passes are as follows:
 - a. A fee of \$7.00 per vehicle for any vehicle except for:
 - (1) Passenger vans and buses operated by a commercial business;
 - (2) A \$1.00 per vehicle capacity fee will be added to the cost of daily vehicle passes at Cherry Creek, Chatfield, and Boyd Lake State Recreation Areas, and Eldorado Canyon State Park.
 - b. School buses on official school outings, passenger vans and buses operated by a nonprofit corporation or organization as defined in 13-21-115.5 (3), C.R.S., and passenger vans and buses operated by any government agency are eligible to purchase a daily vehicle pass.
 - c. For passenger vans and buses operated by a commercial business, the daily vehicle pass fee will be based upon the number of passengers on-board. The fee shall be \$10.00 for up to fifteen passengers on-board, \$40.00 for sixteen to thirty passengers on-board, and \$50.00 for more than thirty passengers on-board.
- 5. An annual vehicle pass shall be issued and, by appropriate language, authorize entrance by motor vehicle to all state recreation areas and state parks during the period beginning on the date of purchase through the last day of the same month in the following year. Such authorization shall apply to the user and all passengers in the motor vehicle to which the pass is affixed. One pass shall cover all state recreation areas and state parks.
- 6. Additional annual vehicle passes may be issued to an owner or to the owner's immediate family members. Additional annual vehicle passes authorize entrance by motor vehicle to all state recreation areas and state parks during the period beginning on the date of purchase of the

additional pass through the expiration date of the associated original full-priced annual pass. Owners of school buses, passenger vans and buses owned by a nonprofit corporation or organization as defined in 13-21-115.5 (3), C.R.S., and passenger vans and buses owned by any government agency are limited to purchasing no more than two additional annual vehicle passes at a reduced fee per each annual vehicle pass purchased at the full fee. For the purpose of this regulation, "immediate family members" are defined as spouses and children with valid driver's licenses living at the same address. "Owner" is defined as the person whose name appears on the registration of both the original vehicle for which an annual pass was purchased and the additional vehicle, or a person who can provide proof of ownership of the original and the additional vehicle at a designated Division office.

- 7. If the motor vehicle for which an annual vehicle pass or additional vehicle pass was issued is sold or traded, or if the pass is lost or destroyed during the period in which it is valid, the person to whom the pass was issued may obtain a duplicate thereof, upon signing an affidavit reciting where and by whom it was issued and the circumstances under which it was lost or traded. Upon payment of a fee of \$5.00, a new pass effective for the remainder of the period that the lost or destroyed pass would have been valid may be issued only by the Division to the original owner of such pass.
- 8. A daily park pass, valid for one day only, shall authorize entrance by motor vehicle to the state recreation areas and state parks by the user and all passengers in the motor vehicle to which the pass is affixed during the day used and until 12:00 P.M. (noon) the following day.
- 9. A no fee pass shall be issued to any vehicle towed or carried in by a motor home if a camping permit or proof of a campsite reservation is presented at an attended visitor center, office or entrance station. The no fee pass, valid for the same time period as the camping permit or camping reservation, shall authorize entrance by motor vehicle to the state recreation areas and state parks by the user and all passengers in the motor vehicle to which the pass is affixed. For the purpose of this regulation, motor home means a vehicle designed to provide temporary living quarters and which is built into, as an integral part of or a permanent attachment to, a motor vehicle chassis or van.

INDIVIDUAL PASSES

#701 - INDIVIDUAL PASSES

- Individuals entering state recreation areas and state parks by means other than a motor vehicle, such as on foot, bicycle, horseback, etc., may enter without purchasing a parks pass, except as otherwise required by these regulations. No individual pass shall be required under the circumstances identified in regulation # 700-2.a. through # 700-2.e. and # 700-2.g. through # 700-2.i.
- 2. A disabled resident may obtain a Columbine annual pass pursuant to 33-12-103.5, C.R.S. A resident who qualifies for a Centennial annual pass may obtain such pass as provided for in this regulation. The Columbine and the Centennial annual passes are transferable and are valid whenever temporarily affixed to any vehicle used to bring the pass holder into a park.
- 3. A Columbine or a Centennial annual pass shall authorize entrance by motor vehicle, when and where motor vehicle access is permitted, to all state recreation areas and state parks. Such authorization shall apply to the holder of the Columbine or the Centennial annual pass and all the passengers in, and the driver of, the motor vehicle carrying the holder of such annual pass. Such annual parks pass must be continuously displayed in the manner described on the pass while the motor vehicle transporting the holder of the pass is operated or parked on division properties. Additional fees may be required at some facilities such as campgrounds, group picnic areas and swim beaches.

- 4. A Columbine or a Centennial annual parks pass shall be issued following the Division's receipt of a completed application from a qualified resident of the state and the payment of the necessary fee.
- 5. In order to qualify for a Columbine annual parks pass, a resident must provide written proof to the Division:
 - a. That he or she has been determined to be totally and permanently disabled by the Social Security Administration; or
 - b. That he or she has been determined to be totally and permanently disabled by the Division of Workers' Compensation; or
 - c. That he or she has been determined by a physician to have a physical or mental impairment which prevents gainful employment and is reasonably certain to continue throughout the person's lifetime.
- 6. In order to qualify for a Centennial annual parks pass, a resident must show a photo identification card and provide written proof, in the form of a federal income tax return from the immediately preceding calendar year, that the federal total annual income of such individual is at or below the threshold amount, based on the number of dependents, for a state parks Centennial annual pass.

The federal total annual income amounts, based on the number of dependents, cannot be greater than those listed in the poverty guidelines set forth in the *Federal Register Volume 78, Number 16* (January 24, 2013) issued by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 404E, Humphrey Building, Department of Health and Human Services, Washington, DC 20201 under the authority of 42 U.S.C. 9902(2). This federal guideline, but not later amendments to or editions thereof, has been incorporated by reference. Information regarding how and where the incorporated materials may be examined, or copies obtained, is available from:

Regulations Manager Policy and Planning Unit Colorado Division of Parks and Wildlife 6060 Broadway Denver, Colorado 80216

If the individual's income is at a level where he or she was not required to file a federal income tax return for the immediately preceding calendar year, such individual shall sign a statement under penalty of perjury in the second degree to such effect. No such affidavit shall be required to be notarized.

- 7. The Columbine and the Centennial annual parks pass application shall be on a form provided by the Division. Blank applications shall be available, during regular business hours, at the Divisions' regional offices, Denver offices, and service centers.
- 8. Individuals applying to the Division for a Columbine or a Centennial annual parks pass must provide the following information:
 - a. Full name and address, including city, county, state and zip code; and
 - b. Phone number, unless the phone number is unlisted or non-published; and
 - c. Date of birth and age; and
 - d. Physical description, including sex, height, weight, hair and eye color; and

- e. Applicant's signature and date of application; and
- f. If applying for a Columbine annual parks, information concerning the nature of the applicant's disability, together with supporting evidence of the same.
- g. If applying for a Centennial annual parks pass, information concerning the applicant's total annual income and number of dependents together with supporting evidence of the same.
- 9. The Columbine and the Centennial annual parks pass application form shall contain language explaining that the completed and signed application, once submitted to the Division, will be treated in all respects as a sworn statement. The form shall also contain an oath that includes an affirmation attesting to the truth of that which is stated, the applicant is aware that statements made are intended to be represented as true and correct statements, and that false statements are punishable by law.
- 10. At the time that an application for a Columbine or a Centennial annual parks pass is submitted to the Division, the appropriate fee shall also be paid.
- 11. Pending the issuance of a Columbine or a Centennial annual parks pass, possession on the applicant of a bona fide copy of the application permits the applicant and others in the motor vehicle carrying the applicant entrance by motor vehicle to all state parks and state recreation areas, when and where motor vehicle access is permitted, for a period of thirty days following the date of filing the application with the Division or until receipt of notice from the Division either granting or denying the application request, whichever period of time is shorter.
- 12. Within 15 days of the Division's receipt of a completed Columbine or Centennial annual parks pass application and the appropriate fee payment, the Division shall review and approve or deny the application.
 - a. Completed applications shall be approved if the minimum qualifications set forth in this regulation are met.
 - b. Conversely, if the minimum qualifications are not met, then the application shall be denied. The applicant shall be notified in writing within five working days upon denial of a request. Such written notification shall include an explanation of the basis for denial and a refund of any fee paid.
 - c. The applicant may appeal this decision to the Division Director by notifying the Director in writing within sixty days of the Division's mailing of the denial notice. A faster appeal will be necessary when the calendar year will end prior to the expiration of the sixty-day appeal period.
 - d. The address utilized by the Division for all mailings associated with the processing of a Columbine or Centennial annual parks pass application shall be the address indicated on the application.
- 13. If a Columbine or a Centennial annual pass is lost or destroyed during the period of time that it would otherwise would have been valid, the person to whom the pass was issued may obtain a duplicate thereof, upon signing an affidavit reciting where and by whom it was issued and circumstances under which it was lost. Upon payment of a fee of \$5.00, a new pass may be issued only by the Division to the original owner of such Columbine or Centennial annual pass.

- 14. The receipt for the annual vehicle pass shall be used as an annual walk-in pass for visitors entering Eldorado Canyon State Park, Lory State Park, Colorado State Forest State Park, Arkansas Headwaters Recreation Area.
- 15. Individual daily pass fees are as follows:
 - a. A fee of \$3.00 per person for any person of the age of sixteen or more years shall be charged for a daily pass for all visitors entering Eldorado Canyon, Colorado State Forest, and Lory State Parks, except those entering the park in a motor vehicle with a valid parks pass.
 - b. A fee of \$3.00 per person for any person of the age of sixteen or more years shall be charged for a daily pass for all visitors entering the developed and posted fee sites of Arkansas Headwaters Recreation Area, except those entering the park in a motor vehicle with a valid parks pass.
- 16. Volunteers for the division of parks and outdoor recreation are eligible for a volunteer park pass while serving in accordance with a signed individual volunteer agreement and after donating a minimum of 48 hours of approved volunteer service within a previous consecutive 12-month period.
 - a. A valid volunteer pass shall be accepted in lieu of a fee assessed for a park pass.
 - b. The volunteer park pass is valid for one year from the date of issue.
 - c. The volunteer park pass is transferable and valid whenever temporarily affixed to any vehicle used to bring the pass holder into a park, or for walk-in use, when in possession of the eligible pass holder.
- 17. Volunteers for the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation who are 64 years of age or older, regardless of their state of residence, are eligible for the senior volunteer park pass while serving in accordance with a signed individual volunteer agreement and after donating a minimum of 48 hours of approved volunteer service within a previous consecutive 12 month period.
 - a. A valid senior volunteer pass shall be accepted in lieu of a fee assessed for a park pass.
 - b. The senior volunteer park pass is valid for one year from the date of issue.
 - c. The senior volunteer park pass is transferable and valid whenever temporarily affixed to any vehicle used to bring the pass holder into a park, or for walk-in use, when in the possession of the eligible pass holder.
 - d. Senior volunteer pass holders shall receive campground use permits at a reduced rate equal to the current aspen leaf pass holder camping permit rate, as specified in regulation #705. This reduced rate applies to all days of the year when such areas are open, except weekends and holiday. For the purpose of determining reduced rate campground permit eligibility, "weekend" means the time period beginning at noon on Friday through 12 noon on Sunday, and "holiday" shall mean the time period beginning at noon on the day prior to the legal holiday through 12 midnight on the legal holiday. The camping permit reduced fees associated with the senior volunteer pass are identified in regulation #708.

#702 - BOARD AUTHORITY

1. The Board may waive the requirement for a park pass, or it may close any state park or state recreation area, or portions thereof, whenever it finds the action necessary to protect and promote the health, safety and general welfare of the people of this state.

SPECIAL ACTIVITIES

#703 - SPECIAL ACTIVITIES REQUIRING PERMITS

- "Special activities" means those events which have the potential for a significant adverse impact on park values or health, safety or welfare of park visitors or which may otherwise require special planning/scheduling for proper management. Special activities shall require prior approval in the form of a special-activities permit. Applications thereof generally shall be made to the Park Manager at least ninety (90) days prior to the event. Such application must be accompanied by the appropriate application filing fee. This requirement for an application to be filed ninety days prior to an event will be waived in rare circumstances where arrangements can be made in a shorter time without putting undue administrative burden on the Park Manager or when no special arrangements are necessary.
- 2. The decision of whether to approve special activity permits will be made by the Park Manager when it is determined that the special activities will not involve the use of a park or recreation area by a group of persons totaling more than the park or recreation area's established carrying capacity. Otherwise, the Regional Manager shall make the decision of whether to approve the permits. The decision of whether to approve special activities permits will be based on the impact on park values and/or the health, safety and welfare of park visitors and other affected persons, and also will be based on:
 - a. The nature of the park or recreation area and the types of recreational opportunities/resources it is intended to provide the public
 - b. The carrying capacity of the facility or facilities to be utilized during the special activity compared to:
 - (1) The total number of park visitors (including participants and spectators in the special activity) expected to utilize such facilities; and
 - (2) The total number of vehicles, vessels or persons expected to participate in or be attracted to such activities.
 - c. The extent to which the special activity will contribute to the variety of outdoor recreational opportunities available to the people of this state and its visitors.
 - d. The extent to which the activity places an administrative burden on the staff of the park area.
- Permits will be denied when a proposed special activity would have significant adverse impact on park values, pose significant threats to the health, safety or welfare of park visitors or other person, be inconsistent with area management plans or intended facility use, or place an unreasonable administrative burden on park staff.
- 4. Whenever it is determined that any special activity will involve the use of a park or recreation area by a group of persons totaling more than the park's or recreation area's established carrying capacity a thirty day written public comment period and a public meeting shall be required prior to the granting of a permit. The Park Manager shall publish notice of both the written comment period and the meeting at least once in a newspaper of general circulation in the county or counties wherein said park or recreation area is located. The meeting shall be conducted by the Division representative responsible for the permit issuance decision and shall be held either at the park or recreation area, or within a county in which the park or recreation area is located. Such public meeting is not intended to be an adjudicatory licensing hearing under the provisions of the Colorado Administrative Procedures Act, but only as an opportunity for public comment.

- 5. An application for a permit shall be acted upon promptly, and the applicant shall be notified immediately after the taking of action on the application. If the application is denied, the applicant shall be notified in writing within five working days of such action. Such written notification shall include the basis for the denial. The applicant may submit a written appeal of a denial to the Division Director within sixty days of receipt of the denial, requesting a hearing pursuant to section 24-2-104(9), C.R.S., If the date of the proposed special activity is to occur within the sixty day appeal period, then the applicant shall submit any written appeal as soon as practicable so as to allow a reasonable time for the Director to act upon the appeal. Absent special circumstances justifying a later submittal and depending upon the nature of the proposed special activity, generally an appeal submitted less than twenty-five days prior to the proposed special activity will be deemed untimely.
- 6. Upon written request, the Division shall waive the requirement for a parks pass for those vehicles when all the occupants are entering parks and outdoor recreation areas for the purpose of administering permitted special activities and not for the purpose of their own recreation.
- 7. For special activities where the Division representative responsible for the permit issuance decision determines it will be a greater administrative ease for the Division to administer the activity, an alternative fee of \$2.00 per person per day may be charged for admission of persons attending or participating in the special activity. This permission shall apply only to groups of twenty or more persons.

CAMPGROUND USE PERMITS

#704 - CAMPGROUND USE PERMITS AND GROUP CAMPGROUND USE PERMITS

- 1 No person shall camp in designated campgrounds or use any campground facilities of any park or recreation area unless such use is by authority of a valid campground-use permit issued by the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation.
- 2. In order to obtain a campground-use permit, a member of the camping party must be present with the camping unit, ready to make immediate occupancy of the campsite, or a reservation must be made through the approved campsite reservation system. No person may reserve or hold a campsite for another party by purchasing a campground-use permit for an additional site.
- 3. Possession of a valid campground-use permit visibly displayed at a place provided at each campsite shall authorize a single camping unit (tent, camper, etc.) occupied by a single family unit, or a maximum of six (6) persons to camp in a campsite for a single night until 12:00 P.M. (noon) the following day. No person shall remove a valid campground-use permit or reservation card from the place provided for display prior to the expiration of such permit or card and/or occupy any campsite displaying such a permit or card or otherwise posted as already occupied by another party in accordance with these regulations.
- 4. A valid vehicle or individual pass, as required by regulations # 700 and # 701 respectively, shall be required for each motor vehicle for each night of camping.
- 5. Definitions as used in these regulations, unless the context requires otherwise:
 - a. "Full-Hookup Campground" means those with highly developed facilities. Individual campsites will be designated and include a high-use pad with table, grill and/or fire ring and individual pressurized water, sewer and/or electrical connections. Flush toilets, lavatory and shower facilities, and trash receptacles will be available. Grocery store, food-service facilities, sanitary dump station, laundry facilities, or other developed amenities may be available.

- b. "Electrical Campground" means those with fairly developed facilities. Individual campsites will be designated and include a high-use pad, picnic table, grill and/or fire ring and individual electrical connections.
- c. "Basic Campground" includes those campgrounds providing basic facilities and improvements. Individual campsites shall be designated and include a table, grill and/or fire ring.
- d. "Primitive Campground" includes those campgrounds where only limited facilities or improvements are provided. Individual campsites may not be designated and may not include individual tables, grills or fire rings. Centrally located vault toilets and trash receptacles may be provided; however, drinking water generally will not be available.
- e. Notwithstanding the established campground fees, the Board delegates to the Division Director the authority to lower a campground's classification by one class, and consequently lower the campground fee, when the Division Director determines that it is necessary to do so based upon one or more of the following criteria:
 - (1) A significant increase in the vacancy rate for the campground exists.
 - (2) A significant need to rehabilitate the campground facilities exists.
 - (3) A temporary closure of campground facilities is necessary in order to implement repairs.

Upon a determination by the Division Director that the cause for lowering the campground classification has been abated, the original campground classification will be reinstated.

- 6. For the following facilities all camping reservations shall be for a minimum of two nights:
 - a. From May 1 November 30:
 - (1) All yurts at Pearl Lake State Park.
 - (2) All cabins at Mueller State Park.
 - (3) Large cabin #1 at Sylvan Lake State Park.
 - b. Year-round:
 - (1) All facilities at Harmsen Ranch and Works Ranch at Golden Gate Canyon State Park.
- 7. The cancellation fee for group camping reservations at all group camping sites in the system shall be equal to the amount of the first night's fee if the cancellation is made within fourteen days of the first reserved date.

#705 - ASPEN LEAF ANNUAL PASSHOLDERS

- 1. A resident of this state who is sixty-four years of age or older may obtain an Aspen Leaf annual pass. The fee for an Aspen Leaf annual pass is identified in regulation #708.
- 2. Individuals possessing a valid Aspen Leaf annual pass shall receive campground use permits at a reduced rate all days of the year when such areas are open, except weekends and holidays. For the purpose of determining reduced rate campground permit eligibility, "weekend" means the time period beginning at 12 noon on Friday through 12 noon on Sunday, and "Holiday" shall mean the

time period beginning at 12 noon on the day prior to the legal holiday through 12 midnight of the legal holiday. The camping permit reduced fees associated with the Aspen Leaf annual pass are identified in regulation # 708.

- 3. The aspen Leaf Annual pass holder must own in whole or in part any vehicle to which the Aspen Leaf annual pass is affixed and used to enter a park area.
- 4. A resident of this state who is sixty-four years of age or older may obtain an Aspen Leaf Lifetime Pass, valid from the date the pass is purchased through the lifetime of the pass holder. An Aspen Leaf Lifetime Passholder may obtain a free Aspen Leaf annual pass for a single vehicle the holder owns in whole or in part. The free Aspen Leaf annual pass shall be affixed to such vehicle owned by the passholder. Additional passes may be purchased pursuant no. 708(1)(e)(2).

#706 - GROUP PICNIC AREA PERMITS

- 1. No person shall use any facility of any group picnic area unless such use is by authority of a valid permit issued by the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation.
- 2. All permits and reservations must be received in advance. The group picnic area cancellation fee for all group picnic sites within the system shall be equal to 25% of the base fee if the cancellation is made more than fourteen days prior to the reserved date. If the cancellation is made within fourteen days of the reserved date, then the cancellation fee shall be 100% of the base fee.
- 3. Definitions as used in these regulations, unless the context requires otherwise:
 - a. "Class A Deluxe Group Picnic Area" means those with highly developed facilities. The picnic area will be designated and include a covered shelter, picnic tables, a grill, and electrical connections. Restroom facilities, trash receptacles, water and lighting will be available.
 - b. "Class B Improved Group Picnic Area" means those with fairly developed facilities. The picnic area will be designated and include picnic tables and a grill. Trash receptacles and water will be available.
 - c. "Class C Basic Group Picnic Area" means those providing basic facilities. The picnic area will be designated and include picnic tables and a grill. Sanitary facilities shall generally consist of vault-type toilets.

#707 - SWIM BEACH PASSES - "Reserved"

1. A daily or annual swimbeach pass shall be required for a person to enter the Rock Canyon swim beach within Pueblo State Recreation Area.

#708 - PASS AND PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE

1. The fees for the types of vehicle passes issued by the Division are as follows.

a. Aspen leaf annual pass	\$60.00
b. Aspen Leaf Lifetime Pass	\$300.00
c. Annual vehicle pass	\$70.00

d. Annual vehicle passes purchased in large quantities during a single sale, transaction will be discounted as follows.

(1) Twenty or more passes, but less than fifty20% discount
(2) Fifty or more passes, but less than one hundred25% discount
(3) One hundred passes or more
e.(1) Each additional annual vehicle pass for noncommercial vehicles\$35.00
(2) Each additional Aspen Leaf vehicle pass for noncommercial vehicles\$30.00
f. Each replacement annual vehicle pass\$5.00
g. Each daily vehicle pass (exceptions follow)\$7.00
(1) At Cherry Creek, Chatfield, and Boyd Lake State Recreation Areas, and Eldorado Canyon State Park\$8.00
h. Each daily vehicle pass for a passenger van or bus operated by a commercial business:
(1) carrying up to fifteen passengers\$10.00
(2) carrying sixteen to thirty passengers\$40.00
(3) carrying more than thirty passengers\$50.00
 The fees for the types of individual passes issued by the Division are as follows. Eligibility requirements are stated in regulation #701.
a. Columbine or Centennial annual pass\$14.00
b. Each replacement Columbine or Centennial annual pass\$5.00
c. Individual daily passes (applies to persons sixteen years of age or older) for Eldorado Canyon, Colorado State Forest, Lory State Parks and Arkansas Headwaters Recreation Area\$3.00
3. The fees associated with special activities, as provided for in regulation # 703 are:
a. Special activity alternate individual fee (applies to groups of twenty or more people in size)\$2.00
b. Special activity application filing fee\$20.00
 The fees for the type of campground-use permits issued by the Division are as follows. Campground classes are defined in regulation #704.
a. Campground-use permit for "Full Hookup Campgrounds"\$24.00/night
b. Campground-use permit for "Electrical Campgrounds"
c Campground-use permit for "Basic Campgrounds"\$16.00/night
d. Campground-use permit for "Primitive Campgrounds"

- e. From May 1 through September 30 at Chatfield, Cherry Creek, Cheyenne Mountain, Golden Gate, Highline, Mueller, Pearl Lake, Rifle Falls, Ridgway, St. Vrain, Steamboat and Sylvan Lake the camping fees shall be:
 - (1) Campground-use permit for "full hookup campgrounds"\$26.00/night
 - (2) Campground-use permit for "electrical campgrounds"\$22.00/night
 - (3) Campground-use permit for "basic campgrounds"\$18.00/night
 - (4) Campground-use permit for "primitive campgrounds"\$12.00/night
- 5. The fees for reduced rate Aspen Leaf and senior volunteer park pass campground-use permits issued by the Division are as follows. Eligibility requirements are stated in regulation #701 and regulation #705. Reduced rates are offered all days of the year when the campground is open, except weekends and holidays.

a. Campground-use permit for "Full Hookup Campgrounds"	.\$21.00/night
b. Campground-use permit for "Electrical Campgrounds"	\$17.00/night
c. Campground-use permit for "Basic Campgrounds"	.\$13.00/night

- d. Campground-use permit for "Primitive Campgrounds"\$7.00/night
- e. From May 1 through September 30 at Chatfield, Cherry Creek, Cheyenne Mountain, Golden Gate, Highline, Mueller, Pearl Lake, Rifle Falls, Ridgway, St. Vrain, Steamboat and Sylvan Lake the camping fees for reduced rate Aspen Leaf and senior volunteer pass campground-use permits shall be:
 - (1) Campground-use permit for "full hookup campgrounds"\$23.00/night
 - (2) Campground-use permit for "electrical campgrounds"\$19.00/night
 - (3) Campground-use permit for "basic campgrounds"\$15.00/night
 - (4) Campground-use permit for "primitive campgrounds"\$9.00/night
- 6. The fees for types of campground-use areas are as follows. Campground classes are defined in regulation #704.
 - a. In group camp areas of "Full Hookup Campgrounds," the fee shall be \$24.00 per night per campsite assigned to such group area.
 - b. In group camp areas of "Electrical Campgrounds," the fee shall be \$20.00 per night per campsite assigned to such group area.
 - c. In group camp areas of "Basic Campgrounds," the fee shall be \$16.00 per night per campsite assigned to such group area.
 - d. In group camp areas of "Primitive Campgrounds," the fee shall be \$10.00 per night per campsite assigned to such group area.

- e. From May 1 through September 30 at Chatfield, Cherry Creek, Chevenne Mountain, Golden Gate, Highline, Mueller, Pearl Lake, Rifle Falls, Ridgway, St. Vrain, Steamboat and Sylvan Lake the camping fees for group camp areas shall be: (1) Campground-use permit for "Full Hookup Campgrounds"\$26.00/night (2) Campground-use permit for "Electrical Campgrounds"\$22.00/night (3) Campground-use permit for "Basic Campgrounds"\$18.00/night (4) Campground-use permit for "Primitive Campgrounds"\$12.00/night 7. The fees for types of cabins and yurts are as follows: a. For small cabins and yurts that may accommodate a maximum of six people: (1) Standard......\$70.00/night (2) Premium......\$100.00/night b. For large cabins and yurts that may accommodate seven or more people: (1) Standard.....\$100.00/night (2) Premium two bedroom.....\$130.00/night (3) Premium three bedroom......\$170.00/night (4) Premium four bedroom......\$230.00/night (5) Each additional premium bedroom over four bedrooms......\$60.00/night c. For Mueller State Park Cabins and Harmsen Ranch at Golden Gate Canyon State Park: (1) Premium two bedroom......\$140.00/night (2) Premium three bedroom......\$200.00/night (3) Premium four bedroom.....\$260.00/night d. The maximum occupancy shall be posted in each cabin and yurt. e. There shall be an additional fee of \$10.00/night for pets where pets are allowed. For barn and corral facilities, there shall be a boarding fee of \$10.00/animal/night. f. Premium facilities contain showers and flush toilets.
 - g. Notwithstanding the established cabin and yurt fees, the board delegates to the division director the authority to lower a cabin or yurt fee by twenty-five percent when the division director determines that it is necessary to do so based upon one or more of the following criteria:

- (1) A significant increase in the vacancy rate for the cabin or yurt exists.
- (2) A significant need to rehabilitate the cabin or yurt facilities exists.
- (3) A temporary closure of facilities is necessary in order to implement repairs.

Upon a determination by the division director that the cause for lowering the cabin or yurt fee has been abated, the original fee will be reinstated.

- 8. The fees associated with the reservation system are as follows:
 - a. Campsite, cabin and yurt reservation fee\$10.00/campsite, cabin or yurt
 - b. Each reservation change or cancellation......\$6.00/each
 - For cancellations made fourteen days or more prior to the beginning date of the reservation, the campsite reservation fee will be retained and the cancellation fee will be charged.
 - (2) For cancellations made less than fourteen days prior to the beginning date of the reservation, the campsite reservation fee will be retained and the first night's camping fee will be charged.
 - c. On-park facility reservation fee.....\$10.00/facility
 - (1) For group camping areas, group picnic areas, and event facilities, the cancellation fees shall be as described in regulations #704, #706, and #708, respectively.
- 9. The group picnic area permit fees for the permits issued by the Division are as follows. Group picnic area classes are defined in regulation #706.
 - a. Permit for "Class A Deluxe Group Picnic Area"\$90.00
 - b. Permit for "Class B Improved Group Picnic Area"\$60.00
 - c. Permit for "Class C Basic Group Picnic Area"\$30.00
- 10. Event facility permit fees are as follows.
 - a. For Bridge Canyon Overlook and Pikes Peak Amphitheater at Castlewood Canyon State Park, Panorama Point at Golden Gate Canyon State Park, Soldier Canyon Shelter at Lory State Park, and Lyons Overlook at Roxborough State Park:
 - (1) Monday through Friday.....\$150.00/2 HOURS
 - (2) Saturday and Sunday.....\$300.00/2 HOURS
 - b. For event facilities numbers 1 and 3 at Castlewood Canyon State Park and Timber Event Facility at Lory State Park:
 - (1) Monday through Friday.....\$100.00
 - (2) Saturday and Sunday.....\$150.00

c. For event facility number 2 at Castlewood Canyon State Park, Fountain Valley Overlook at Roxborough State Park and South Eltuck Event Facility at Lory State Park:
(1) Monday through Friday\$75.00
(2) Saturday and Sunday\$125.00
d. For the Red Barn at Golden Gate Canyon State Park:
(1) Monday through Friday\$150.00
(2) Saturday and Sunday\$200.00
e. For Mariner Point at Boyd Lake State Park:
(1) Monday through Friday\$90.00
(2) Saturday, Sunday, and holidays\$180.00
f. For Prairie Skipper event facility at Cheyenne Mountain State Park:
(1) Monday through Friday\$150.00/DAY
(2) Saturday and Sunday\$200.00/DAY
g. For Prairie Falcon event facility at Cheyenne Mountain State Park:
(1) Fridays and Saturdays from the first weekend in May through the last weekend in September\$300.00/2 HOURS
(2) Fridays and Saturdays October through April\$150.00/2 HOURS
(3) Sunday through Thursday year round\$150.00/2 HOURS
h. For PA-CO-CHU-PUK event facilities at Ridgway State Park:
(1) single event shelter A or B:
(a) Monday through Thursday\$125.00/DAY
(b) Friday through Sunday and holidays\$150.00/DAY
(2) Shelters and A and B combined:
(a) Monday through Thursday\$235.00/DAY
(b) Friday through Sunday and holidays\$275.00/DAY
i. Conference and/or meeting rooms\$100.00/DAY

j. Cancellation fees for event facility reservations are equal to 25% of the base fee if the cancellation is made more than fourteen days prior to the reserved date. If a cancellation is made within fourteen days prior to the event, the cancellation fee shall be 100% of the total event permit fee.

- k. The maximum occupancy and hours of operation shall be posted at each event facility.
- 11. The fees associated with dog off leash areas at Chatfield State Park and Cherry Creek State Park, as provided for in regulation # 100 are:

a. Dog off leash annual pass\$20.00
b. Dog off leash daily pass\$2.00
12. The fee associated with the mandatory youth education course for motorboat operators\$15.00
13. The fees associated with the Lone Mesa State Park Hunting Special Use Permits are as follows:
a. Resident archery\$100.00
b. Non-resident archery\$200.00
c. Resident antlerless muzzleloading\$100.00
d. Resident antlered muzzleloading\$200.00
e. Non-resident antlerless muzzleloading\$200.00
f. Non-resident antlered muzzleloading\$300.00
g. Resident either sex elk only first season\$150.00
h. Non-resident either sex elk only first season\$250.00
i. Resident antlerless second, third or fourth season\$100.00
j. Resident antlered second, third, or fourth season\$200.00
k. Non-resident antlerless second, third, or fourth season\$200.00
I. Non-resident antlered second, third, or fourth season\$300.00
14. The fees associated with the Cheyenne Mountain State Park Field/3D Archery Range are as follows:

- a. Daily individual archery range permit.....\$3.00
- b. Annual individual archery range permit.....\$30.00
- 15. It is unlawful for any person to transfer, sell, or assign any permit issued by the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation, including special activity permits, campground use permits, and group picnic area permits.
- 16. The fees associated with the Golden Gate Canyon State Park hunting special use permit are as follows:
 - a. Application filing fee \$10.00 per application
 - b. Resident and non-resident archery, muzzleloading, antlered, antlerless, or either sex, for first, second, third or fourth season permit \$100.00.

#709 - REGISTRATION FEE SCHEDULE

- 1. The fees for types of vessel registrations issued by the Division are as follows:
 - a. Vessel registration (including annual resident registration and each rental vessel registration):
 - (1) For vessels less than twenty feet in length.....\$35.00
 - (2) For vessels twenty feet to less than thirty feet in length......\$45.00
 - (3) For vessels thirty feet or more in length......\$75.00
 - (a) Dealer registration for all vessels owned by dealer which are operated for research, testing, experimentation, or demonstration purposes only:
 - (i) When the dealer sells twenty-five or fewer vessels within the preceding year......\$45.00
 - (ii) When the dealer sells more than twenty-five vessels within the preceding year......\$75.00
 - (b) Manufacturer registration for all vessels owned by a manufacturer which are operated for demonstration or testing purposes only.......\$25.00
 - (c) Nonresident annual vessel registration for a person from a state or country where registration is not permitted.......\$50.00
- 2. The fees for the types of snowmobile registrations issued by the Division are as follows:
 - a. Snowmobile registration (including annual resident registration and each rental snowmobile)......\$30.00
 - b. Dealer registration for all snowmobiles owned by a snowmobile dealer which are operated for demonstration or testing purposes only:
 - (1) When the dealer sells twenty-five or fewer snowmobiles within the preceding year.........\$35.00
 - (2) When the dealer sells more than twenty-five snowmobiles within the preceding year.........\$60.00
 - c. Manufacturer registration for all snowmobiles owned by a manufacturer which are operated for research, testing, experimentation or demonstration purposes only......\$35.00
 - d. Nonresident annual snowmobile permit......\$30.00
- 3. The fees for the types of off-highway vehicle registrations issued by the Division are as follows:
 - a. Off-highway vehicle registration and nonresident off-highway vehicle permit......\$25.00
 - b. Dealer registration for all off-highway vehicles owned by an off-highway vehicle dealer and operated for demonstration or testing purposes only:

- (1) When the dealer sells twenty-five or less off-highway vehicles within the preceding year......\$35.00
- (2) When the dealer sells more than twenty-five off- highway vehicles within the preceding year......\$60.00
- c. Manufacturer registration for off-highway vehicles owned by a manufacturer which are operated solely for research, testing, experimentation, or demonstration purposes.....\$35.00
- d. Registration for off-highway vehicles owned by a lessor for rental purposes only:
 - (1) When the lessor owns ten or less off-highway vehicles within the preceding year......\$35.00
 - (2) When the lessor owns more than ten off-highway vehicles within the preceding year......\$60.00
- 4. A duplicate vessel, snowmobile, or off-highway vehicle registration......\$5.00

ARTICLE II - PASS OR REGISTRATION AGENTS

#710 - PASS OR REGISTRATION AGENTS

- 1. Pass or registration agents will be established and authorized to sell designated passes or registrations stipulated under C.R.S., 33-12-104 (1) and the following regulations shall apply.
- 2. An applicant for a pass or registration agent shall meet the following requirements:
 - a. Be a business, i.e., a sole proprietorship, a partnership, or a corporation, located at a specific permanent location(s) within the State of Colorado.
 - b. Provide an approved instrument of financial surety as required by C.R.S., 11-35-101(1), 11-35-101.5(1), as amended, 33-12-104(1) and section #713 of these regulations or purchase passes or registrations for cash as provided by section #715-1.a. of these regulations; for the purpose of these regulations, an approved instrument of financial surety shall include a surety bond, a savings account, a certificate of deposit or an irrevocable letter of credit.
- 3. Consolidated Agencies
 - a. A business which owns two or more outlet stores may apply for establishment of a consolidated agency. Consolidated agencies must report to the Division from only one office and receive passes or registrations from the Division at only one address. Passes or registrations may be shifted from one outlet to another within the consolidated agency as needed. Internal shifting of passes or registrations is not to be reported to the Division. However, the consolidated agency is responsible for all passes or registrations consigned to it.
- 4. Succession of pass and registration agents
 - a. The pass or registration agent shall notify the Division in advance of the sale, lease or transfer of any business at which the passes and registrations are sold.

- b. The termination procedure for financially secured pass or registration agents shall include having the agent:
 - (1) File the final quarterly report;
 - (2) Account for and pay the Division all monies due and owing the state;
 - (3) Turn over to the Division or its representative all unsold passes or registrations consigned to the agent by the appropriate due date.
- c. The termination procedures for pass or registration agents who purchase passes or registrations for cash shall include having the agent:
 - (1) Turn over to the Division or its representative all unsold passes or registrations.
- d. One or more outlets (stores) of a consolidated agency may be suspended or cancelled in accordance with the provisions of these regulations without suspension or cancellation of the entire agency.

#711 - PASS AND REGISTRATION AGENT REQUIREMENTS

- 1. Pass or registration agents shall meet the following general requirements:
 - a. Keep accurate records of all sales of passes or registrations;
 - b. Keep all passes or registrations in a safe place in their place of business;
 - c. Sell passes or registrations only at the permanent business location;
 - d. Fill out all passes or registrations completely, legibly, and truthfully;
 - e. Display and distribute all public information provided by the Division;
 - f. Immediately report the pass or registration numbers of all stolen or lost passes or registrations to the Division with written documentation of the circumstances;
 - g. Sell passes or registrations only for the face value of each pass and registration;
 - Keep all monies received from the sale of passes or registrations not acquired by the agent from the Division on a cash sale basis pursuant to 33-10-104(9), C.R.S., in a safe place and separate and apart from any other funds;
 - i. Comply with all rules and regulations of the Parks Board;
 - j. Submit final payment and return all unused passes by no later than November 15. Registrations may be carried over from year to year unless otherwise notified by the Division, in which case instructions will be given as to return/payment deadlines;
 - k. Follow all directives of the Director.
- 2. Financially secured pass or registration agents shall also meet the following additional requirements:
 - a. Provide financial surety in the amount required by subsection #714-1.a. of these regulations;

b. Provide financial surety renewal notification no later than one month prior to the time of expiration of the previous instrument.

#712 - DELINQUENCY, SUSPENSION AND CANCELLATION OF PASS AGENTS

- 1. Failure of a pass agent to comply with C.R.S., 33-12-104, applicable rules and regulations of the Parks Board or any lawful directives of the Director of the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation shall be grounds for an agent being declared delinquent, or for the suspension or cancellation of the pass agent.
- 2. Any proceeding to suspend or cancel a pass agent shall be in accordance with C.R.S., 24-4-104 and 24-4-105.
- 3. Delinquency failure of an agent to provide quarterly reports and/or all monies due and owing the State on the first due date, notice of financial surety renewal, or failure to timely comply with pass agent performance standards as required by these regulations shall result in that agent being declared delinquent. Until the required conditions have been met, no further pass consignments shall be made to that agent. If the conditions of delinquency are not resolved within (30) days from the due date, the agent will be suspended immediately with a notice of hearing issued concurrently.
- 4. Deliberate and willful failure of an agent to provide either quarterly reports, and/or all monies due and owing the State or financial surety as required by any of these regulations or correct conditions of delinquency shall result in summary suspension of the pass agent and may include the following:
 - a. No consignment of additional passes to the agent until the agent is reinstated;
 - b. Upon demand by the Director or an authorized representative, the agent may be required to return all passes and account for all monies due and owing the State, or may be required to furnish an inventory of all passes in the possession of the agent.
 - c. Initiation of cancellation proceedings in accordance with C.R.S., 24-4-104 and 24-4-105.

#713 - PROCEDURES FOR FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY OF AGENTS

- 1. All instruments of financial surety and renewals thereof shall be submitted to the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation. These instruments shall include:
 - a. Surety bond from an insurance company of the agent's choice licensed to do business in the State of Colorado, having a resident representative and maintaining an active claims department in the state; or
 - b. Any of the following methods which may be satisfied by a deposit in or issuance by a state or national bank doing business in this state or a state or federal savings and loan association doing business in this state:
 - (1) Irrevocable letter of credit Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation listed as beneficiary with original letter being retained by the Division.
 - (2) Certificate of deposit assigned to the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation and certificate held by State Treasury. Interest to be paid to the agent.
 - (3) Savings account in the name of the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation only at the bank of the agent's choice. Interest to be paid to the agent.

#714 - STANDARDS OF FINANCIAL SURETY FOR AGENTS

- 1. Amount of surety
 - a. The amount of financial surety required of each agent shall be sufficient to insure payment to the Division for all passes and registrations consigned to the agent, less amounts allowed for commissions.
 - b. No pass or registration will be consigned until surety is provided to the Division to cover the agent's obligations. The initiation and expiration dates of the surety coverage must be stated on the surety or the renewal thereof.
 - c. The outstanding value of consignments of passes or registrations shall not exceed the amount of the financial surety set by the Division for that agent in section #714-1.a.
 - d. Failure of any agent to provide the minimum financial surety shall be grounds for suspension or cancellation of the pass or registration agency.
- 2. Periods of financial surety responsibility
 - a. Surety coverage shall be provided for a 12 month period, or multiples of 12 month periods, i.e., periods of 24 or 36 month duration.
 - b. A continuation certificate issued by a bonding company or financial institution or evidence of current method of financial surety shall be required for renewal of the pass or registration agency for each successive 12 month period.
- 3. Settlement of delinquent accounts
 - a. The surety provided by the agent shall guarantee that upon written notice from the Division to the institution providing financial surety that reason exists to cancel the agent as provided in section #712-3, the institution providing financial surety for the pass or registration agent being canceled will pay the amount of the proven loss in the delinquent account, plus interest, within 60 days following notice from the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation.

#715 - CASH PURCHASE IN LIEU OF FINANCIAL GUARANTY

- 1. Except for agents exempted from surety requirements in accordance with C.R.S., 33-12-104(9), when cash sales are made to financially secured license agents they shall be subject to the following conditions:
 - Purchase shall be made at the Littleton Office Center of the Colorado Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation, 13787 S. Hwy 85, Littleton, Colorado 80125 or by submitting funds by mail. Funds submitted for purchase must be in the exact amount of the State's share for the number of passes or registration;
 - b. All mail orders will be placed on order forms supplied by the Division.
- Redemption of unsold licenses may be made at the Littleton Office Center of the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation, 13787 S. Hwy 85, Littleton, Colorado 80125 by submitting unsold passes or registrations to the Division by mail.

Editor's Notes

Chapters of 2 CCR 405-1 have been recodified effective 05/01/2013. See list below. Versions and rule history prior to 05/01/2013 can be found in 2 CCR 405-1. Prior versions can be accessed from the History link located above the rule text.

- Chapter 1 has been recodified as 2 CCR 405-1, CHAPTER P-1 PARKS AND OUTDOOR RECREATION LANDS.
- Chapter 2 has been recodified as 2 CCR 405-2, CHAPTER P-2 BOATING.
- Chapter 3 has been recodified as 2 CCR 405-3, CHAPTER P-3 RIVER OUTFITTERS.
- Chapter 4 has been recodified as 2 CCR 405-4, CHAPTER P-4 SNOWMOBILE REGULATIONS.
- Chapter 5 has been recodified as 2 CCR 405-5, CHAPTER P-5 OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE REGULATIONS.
- Chapter 6 has been recodified as 2 CCR 405-6, CHAPTER P-6 PROCEDURAL RULES.
- Chapter 7 has been recodified as 2 CCR 405-7, CHAPTER P-7 PASSES, PERMITS AND REGISTRATIONS.
- Chapter 8 has been recodified as 2 CCR 405-8, CHAPTER P-8 AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES (ANS).

History

- Sections 701, 704, 708 eff. 05/01/2013.
- Sections #708.14 #708.16 emer. rule eff. 09/12/2013.
- Sections #708.14 #708.16 eff. 11/01/2013.