ARTICLE | - GENERAL PROVISIONS
#300 - Definitions
A. “Small game, except migratory birds,” means:
1. Game birds, including grouse, ptarmigan, pheasant, quail, partridge and wild turkey; and

2. Game mammals, including cottontail rabbit, snowshoe hare, jackrabbit, fox squirrel, pine
squirrel, and Abert's squirrel; and

3. Other small game, including prairie dogs, Wyoming (Richardson's) ground squirrel, and
prairie rattlesnake, European starling, and English or house sparrow; and,

NOTE: “Migratory Birds” is defined in regulation #500(A).
B. “Game reptiles” means snapping turtles.

C. “Furbearers” means those species with fur having commercial value and which provide opportunities
for sport harvest including badger, red fox, striped skunk, beaver, muskrat, coyote, bobcat, and
raccoon.

D. “Designated and marked trails” means any trail on public property or a public trail easement across
private lands that has signs to indicate that it is a public trail; is maintained; and has a trail
number or designation on a map or brochure published by the government entity who has
jurisdiction over the trail.

E. “Bona fide scientific research” means any research project conducted by the Division or authorized
by a scientific collection permit issued by the Division.

F. “Nonlethal share” means a snare with a stopping device designed to prevent strangulation of the
species for which the snare is set, or a mechanical or spring powered snare designed to catch the
animal by the foot or leg; as specified in #302(E)(5).

G. “Traps specifically designed not to kill” means padded steel jawed leghold traps, box traps, and
cage traps, as conditioned elsewhere in these regulations.

H. “Relocation” means movement of live wildlife captured by a person to another site which is not
contiguous to the capture site.

. “Canada Lynx Recovery Area” means the area of the San Juan and Rio Grande National Forests
and associated lands above 9,000 feet extending from Del Norte west to Dolores and north to
include the Uncompahgre and Gunnison National Forests in the Gunnison basin (as far north as
Taylor Park east to the Collegiate Range). The GMUs included in the area are: 55, 65, 66, 67, 68,
70,71,74,75,76,77,78,79, 80, 81, 551, 681, 711 and 751.

#301 - Hours

A. Hunting Hours:

1. Small Game - from one-half (1/2) hour before sunrise to sunset.

2. Furbearers - from one-half (1/2) hour before sunrise to one-half (1/2) hour after sunset.
Additionally; raccoon, coyote, bobcat, striped skunk, beaver, and red fox may be hunted



at night in accordance with Regulation #'s 302(E)(8) and (E)(9).
B. Trapping Hours:
1. Small game, except game birds; game reptiles, and furbearers - day or night.

2. All traps and snares must be visually checked at least once every day; except that traps and
snares used in accordance with the provisions of 33-6-204, C.R.S. (General
Exemptions); 33-6-205, C.R.S. (Exemption for Departments of Health); 33-6-206, C.R.S.
(Nonlethal Methods Exemptions); or 33-6-207, C.R.S. (Exemptions for Protection of
Crops and Livestock; all of which are exemptions authorized by Article XVIII, Section 12,
of the Colorado Constitution); in the Canada lynx recovery area or on properties known to
be occupied by Canada lynx must be checked every 24 hours.

#302 - Manner of Take:

The following are legal methods of take for game species listed in this chapter. Any method of take not
listed herein shall be prohibited, except as otherwise provided by Statute or Commission regulation or by
35-40-100.2-115, C.R.S.

A. Special Conditions
1. Contests Involving Small Game or Furbearers

a. No person shall advertise, conduct, offer to conduct, promote or participate in any competitive
event which involves:

1. The taking of any small game or furbearer species for which the daily bag or
possession is unlimited, including but not limited to coyotes and prairie dogs.
Provided, however, that such events are allowed if no more than five (5) of each
species are taken by each participant during the entire event.

2. The taking of marked or tagged small game released as part of such contest and
where money or other valuable prizes are awarded for the taking of such small
game and upland game birds. “Valuable prizes” shall not include certificates or
other similar tokens of recognition not having any significant monetary value.

b. Commercial and noncommercial wildlife parks and field trials licensed by the Division are
exempt from these provisions.

2. Thirty (30) Day Trapping Period for Livestock and Crop Protection

a. Landowners and others authorized by statute who are trapping pursuant to 33-6-207, C.R.S.
must notify the Division in accordance with 33-6-208, C.R.S. All definitions and other
provisions will be in accordance with 33-6-208, C.R.S, and 35-40-100.2-115, C.R.S.

3. Live Capture and Relocation

a. Unless relocation has been authorized in accordance with #303, small game and furbearers
captured in live traps cannot be moved from the capture site and must be killed or
released on site when the trap is checked.

b. Arelocation permit is required to relocate small game and furbearers, except tree squirrels,
cottontail rabbits, and raccoons trapped in cage or box traps, except that releases as a
result of rehabilitation are regulated by Chapter 14.



1. Relocation permit applications must be submitted to and approved by the Division
prior to relocation. Permit approval or denial shall be based on the following: size
of the relocation site; proximity of the site to public lands; habitat suitability and
potential to support the relocated species; escape control, including buffer zones
and active control if necessary; wildlife health and zoonotic disease concerns,
and any other appropriate wildlife management concerns. In addition,
applications for relocation permits for prairie dogs shall also include a
management plan specifically addressing the applicant's long term plans for the
maintenance or control of the prairie dog population on the property. For any
species which, in accordance with the provisions of § 35-7-203, C.R.S., requires
approval of the county commissioners, the applicant shall also submit a copy of
the resolution as approved by the county commissioners.

c. Tree squirrels, cottontail rabbits, and raccoons trapped in cage or box traps may be relocated
without a permit provided that the Division has been notified in advance; that the
relocation site is appropriate habitat for the species; that permission has been obtained
from the landowner or the land managing agency; and that relocation occurs within 10
miles of the capture site.

4. Accidental Capture - Except for Canada lynx, which are subject to the provisions of Chapter 10, any

5.

1.

2.

person accidentally trapping any wildlife for which the trapping season is closed or for which
trapping is not a legal manner of taking, shall, in the event of live capture of such wildlife, release
such wildlife immediately, with or without the assistance of the Division of Wildlife. Nothing in this
section permits the killing of such accidentally captured wildlife. In the event of mortality resulting
from such accidental capture, the carcass of such wildlife shall be delivered to a Division of
Wildlife officer or office within five (5) days. Failure to deliver the carcass shall be prima facie
evidence of unlawful possession of such wildlife. Provided further that any trapper who complies
with this provision shall not be charged with illegal possession of such accidentally captured
wildlife

Non-toxic shot requirements
a. Arapaho National Wildlife Refuge (Jackson County).

No person shall use or possess shot (either in shot-shells or as loose shot for muzzle-
loading) other than non-toxic shot while taking or attempting to take any resident small
game species with a shotgun. “Non-toxic shot” - means only those types of shot pellets
made of soft iron compound known as steel shot (including copper-coated and nickel-
coated steel shot), bismuth/tin shot, tin shot, tungsten/iron shot, “tungsten polymer shot”,
and tungsten matrix shot.

Game Mammals

Any rifle or handgun.

Any shotgun not larger than 10 gauge, incapable of holding more than three (3) shells in magazine and
chamber combined.

Handheld bows and crossbows.

. Pellet guns and slingshots.
. Hawking

. Toxicants, except as prohibited by federal, state, and local statutes or regulations, for Richardson's



ground squirrel, rock squirrel, thirteen-lined ground squirrel, pocket gopher, marmots, black-tailed,
white-tailed, and Gunnison prairie dogs.

. Live traps, limited to cage or box traps, for tree squirrels and cottontail rabbits, for relocation or to
control damage in accordance with #305.

. Game Birds, except Migratory Birds

. Any rifle or handgun for blue grouse; ptarmigan, (except in game management unit 39); turkey during

the fall season (except in game management units 91, 92, 951, and 96). Rifles and handguns

used for the taking of turkeys shall use bullets of at least thirty-eight (38) grains in weight, with a

manufacturer's energy rating of at least one-hundred ten (110) foot pounds at one-hundred (100)

yards from the muzzle.

. Shotguns not larger than 10 gauge not firing a single slug, and incapable of holding more than three

(3) shells in the magazine and chamber combined. No shot (lead or steel) larger than size #2

shall be used to hunt turkey.

. Handheld bows and crossbows.

. Pellet guns and slingshots for blue grouse and ptarmigan.

. Hawking.

. Artificial decoys and calls, except recorded or electrically amplified calls or sounds; for turkey.

. Snapping Turtles, Prairie Rattlesnakes, and Species listed in #300(A)(3).

. Any method not otherwise prohibited.

. Furbearers

. Any rifle or handgun.

. Any shotgun.

. Handheld bows and crossbows.

. Live traps, limited to cage, box, or Snead-design colony traps.

. Traps and snares, when trapping is done in accordance with the provisions of 33-6-204, C.R.S.

(General Exemptions); 33-6-205, C.R.S. (Exemption for Departments of Health); 33-6-206,

C.R.S. (Nonlethal Methods Exemptions); or 33-6-207, C.R.S. (Exemptions for Protection of Crops

and Livestock; all of which are exemptions authorized by Article XVIII, Section 12, of the Colorado

Constitution; conditioned or except as follows:

a. All foothold (leghold) traps set on land must be equipped with: a) padded jaws; b) anchor
chains attached to the center of the trap; such chain shall have a double swivel
mechanism to prevent tangling of the chain; c) a spring device which serves as a shock
absorber.

b. All foothold (leghold) traps size 2 or greater and set on land must be equipped with a

pantension device set to a minimum release pressure of 4 pounds as tested at the center
of the pan.



o

. All pads on padded jaw traps must be maintained in good condition so as to effectively
minimize injury to the trapped animal.

Q

. Any foothold (leghold) trap, or any colony trap designed to be a drowning set, may be used as
a drowning set when trapping is done in accordance with the provisions of 33-6-205,
C.R.S. or 33-6-207, C.R.S.

e. Non-lethal snares: Snares set on land must be equipped with a stop designed to restrain
furbearers without suffocation, and must be equipped with an in line swivel, placed at
least one (1) foot from the stake, to prevent the snare from closing to a circumference of
not less than 10.5 inches, except stops may be set at a circumference of not less than
8.0 inches in areas and at times when red fox are causing damage to livestock. All snares
must be equipped with an in line swivel, placed at least one (1) foot from the stake.

b}

Passive or nonmechanical foot snares are prohibited, except when trapping is done in
accordance with the provisions of 33-6-205, C.R.S., or 33-6-207, C.R.S. Mechanical or
spring-powered foot snares, such as the Fremont or Godwin are permitted.

. Killing traps (such as Conibear) with a jaw spread of 8.5 inches or greater may not be used,
except in water set, and only when trapping is done in accordance with the provisions of
33-6-205, C.R.S., or 33-6-207, C.R.S.

«Q

>

. Killing traps with a jaw spread between 7.0 and 8.5 inches inclusive may not be used, except
in water sets, when set at least 5 feet above the ground, or when set in devices designed
to exclude dogs; and only when trapping is done in accordance with the provisions of 33-
6-205, C.R.S., or 33-6-207, C.R.S.

i. Killing traps used to take muskrat on land must be equivalent to or larger than a Conibear 120.
The Conibear 110 or equivalent is permitted for muskrat in submersion sets. Provided
further that any such use of Conibear traps must be in accordance with the provisions of
33-6-205, C.R.S.

j- Trapping in the following areas is prohibited except with: a) padded jaw traps; b) Conibear type
traps less than 220 in size; or c) land or water set snares with a closure size of 16 inch
circumference or larger. Provided further that padded jaw traps and snares may not be
used in drowning sets, that padded jaw traps and land set snares may only be set in
accordance with the provisions of 33-6-205, C.R.S., 33-6-206, C.R.S., or 33-6-207,
C.R.S.; and that water set snares and Conibear traps may only be set in accordance with
the provisions of 33-6-205, C.R.S., or 33-6-207, C.R.S.

1. That portion of the Gunnison River and five (5) miles upstream along each of its
tributaries in Montrose and Delta Counties from the Black Canyon of the
Gunnison National Monument downstream to that point where the river meets
Highway 92; and all lands within 100 yards of the high water line of this portion of
the Gunnison River and all tributaries thereof.

2. That portion of the Piedra River upstream from Navajo Reservoir to the headwaters
including East Fork and Middle Fork of the Piedra River in Hinsdale and
Archuleta counties and 9 miles upstream on the First Fork. This restriction
includes the following tributaries: Sand Creek, Weminuche Creek, Little Sand
Creek, Williams Creek and all lands within 100 yards of the high water line of the
above waters.

3. The Dolores River from McPhee Reservoir downstream to Bed Rock is closed within
100 yards of the high water line.



4. The San Juan River from Pagosa Springs downstream to the New Mexico state line is
closed within 100 yards of the high water line.

k. On all public land the use of leghold traps is prohibited on or within 30 feet of either side of
officially designated and marked trails unless such traps are placed in water or off the
ground. Provided further that such traps may only be set in accordance with the
provisions of 33-6-205, C.R.S., or 33-6-206, C.R.S.

I. The use of ground set leghold traps and snares is prohibited within 30 feet of the exposed
carcass of any game wildlife or domestic animal. Provided further that such traps may
only be set in accordance with the provisions 33-6-205, C.R.S., 33-6-206, C.R.S., or 33-
6-207, C.R.S.

1. For the purpose of regulation #302(E)(5)(I) only, “carcass” means the meat and
internal organs of game wildlife and domestic animals and does not include
bones, hides or other nonedible parts.

m. No trap or snare, except for those lawfully placed on private property, may be set within 50
feet of either side of the traveled portion of any state highway, U.S. or Interstate highway,
or any county road.

n. All leg hold traps used within the area designated below must be set with a pan tension device
that requires a minimum of 4 pounds of force to activate the trap. Except for water or tree
sets, Kill traps (for example, conibear type traps) are prohibited within the following area:
That portion of Delta, Mesa and Montrose counties bounded on the north by the Mesa-
Garfield county line from the Utah state line east to U.S. Interstate 70; bounded on the
east by U.S. Interstate Highway 70 from the Mesa-Garfield county line to Colorado State
Highway 65; from Colorado State Highway 65 to its junction with the northern boundary
of the Grand Mesa Forest and following the boundary line west, south and then east to its
junction with Colorado State Highway 65, from Colorado State Highway 65 to its junction
with the Gunnison River, from the Gunnison River to Colorado State Highway 347, from
Colorado State Highway 347 to its junction with U.S. Highway 50; bounded on the south
by U.S. Highway 50 from its junction with Colorado State Highway 347 to the Gunnison
River, from the Gunnison River to its junction with the Colorado River, from the Colorado
River to the Utah state line; and bounded on the west by the Utah state line. Provided
further that any such trapping must be done in accordance with the provisions of 33-6-
205, C.R.S., 33-6-206, C.R.S., or 33-6-207, C.R.S.

6. Baits and scents, except as follows:

a. The use of wildlife as bait is prohibited except as provided in #302(E)(5)(l), and except for the
carcass or parts thereof of skinned furbearers, carp, shad, and suckers, except razorback
sucker, and nonedible portions of legally obtained game mammals, birds and sport fish.

b. Visual lures, fresh meat baits, fish oil, and anise oil lures meant to attract felids are not
permitted in the Canada lynx recovery area or on properties known to be occupied by
Canada lynx.

7. Electronic call devices, during legal hunting hours.
8. Motor Vehicles, by permit only.
a. The Division may issue permits, which shall be free of charge, for the taking of coyotes by

motor vehicle when it is determined by an Area Wildlife Manager or District Wildlife
Manager that such a permit is necessary for the protection of property including crops or



livestock. Applicants shall fill out applications furnished by the Division and shall give
such information thereon as may be required by the Division; including, if requested, a
map of the area where control of animal damage is needed.

b. Permits shall not be issued for longer than a sixty (60) day period. A permit may, however, be
renewed without submitting a new application unless deemed necessary by the Regional
Wildlife Manager. Any such permit may be revoked by the Regional Wildlife Manager at
any time. Permittees shall abide by restrictions and conditions set forth on the permit.

c. Permits to use motor vehicles may be issued by Area Wildlife Managers and District Wildlife
Managers.

9. Aircraft, by permit only.

a. The Division may issue permits for the taking of coyotes by aircraft when it is determined by
the Director that such a permit is necessary for the protection of wildlife populations.
Applicants shall fill out applications furnished by the Division and shall give such
information thereon as may be required by the Division; including, if requested, a map of
the area where control of animal damage is needed.

b. Permits shall not be issued for longer than a thirty (30) day period. A permit may, however, be
renewed without submitting a new application unless deemed necessary by the Director.
Any such permit may be revoked by the Director at any time. Permittees shall abide by
restrictions and conditions set forth on the permit.

c. Permits to use aircraft will be issued only upon authority of the Director.
d. Reporting.

1. Within ten (10) days after expiration of an aircraft permit the permittee shall file a
report on forms provided by the Division. The report shall contain all information
the Division may request, including but not limited to: a) number of coyotes killed,
b) location of each kill, and c) number of hours flown.

10. Atrtificial light (private land) may be used at night to take raccoon, coyote, bobcat, striped skunk,
beaver and red fox on private land with permission of the landowner or his designated agent.

11. Artificial light (public land) may be used at night to take raccoon, coyote, bobcat, striped skunk,
beaver and red fox on public lands by permit only, as follows:

a. Each permit shall be valid only for the time, species, and location specified on the permit. No
permit will be valid during any deer, elk or antelope rifle season or during the 24-hour
period prior to the opening weekend; nor during the opening weekend of any grouse,
pheasant, quail, turkey or waterfowl season in those areas where such seasons are in
progress.

b. An artificial light which is permanently attached to, or projected from within a vehicle is
prohibited.

o

. Taking shall not be permitted within 500 yards of a dwelling, building, or other structure, or in
any area of public concentration where human safety would be jeopardized.

Q

. Such permit shall be carried while hunting and available for inspection upon demand.

e. Area wildlife managers and district wildlife managers may deny a permit where there is a



potential that night hunting activities may result in significant adverse impact on wildlife
resources by causing movement of large numbers of big game or otherwise. Provided
further that night hunting permits for bobcat will not be issued on public lands in the
Canada lynx recovery area where Canada lynx are known to be present. When one
Canada lynx has been taken by a bobcat hunter during the current year's hunting season
no night hunting permits for bobcat will be issued for the remainder of the calendar year
in the Canada lynx recovery area or in the area outside the Canada lynx recovery area
where the Canada lynx was taken. In such instance, any night hunting permits for bobcat
already issued under this provision shall be terminated.

f. A permit shall not be required of any person, member of the person's family, lessee, agent,
designee, or any employee of the person when necessary to protect such person's
property.

#303 - License requirements
Except as provided in 33-6-107(9) C.R.S., the following license requirements shall apply:

A. A small game license is required to take those species defined in #300(A) as small game, except wild
turkey.

B. Afurbearer license is required to take those species defined in #300(C) as furbearers, except as
provided in #303(C).

C. A small game or a furbearer license is required to take coyote, red fox, raccoon, striped skunk.
Coyotes may be taken without a license during any big game season provided that the hunter has
an unfilled big game license for that season and unit. Manner of take must be the same as that of
the big game license.

D. Aturkey license is required to take wild turkey.
E. Snapping turtles may be taken with either a small game license or a fishing license.

F. Arelocation permit is required to relocate small game and furbearers, in accordance with special
conditions listed in #302(A)(3).

G. Each hunter must call 1-866-COLOHIP (1-866-265-6447) prior to their first hunting trip of the season
to register their intent to hunt small game or furbearers. For the purposes of this Section G,
“season” means the period September 1 through March 15.

H. Walk - In Access Any person 16 years of age or older hunting small game, furbearers or waterfowl on
any lands enrolled in the Division of Wildlife Walk-In Access Program must purchase, sign, and
attach to their conservation certificate an access permit or purchase an access permit through the
Total Licensing System from the Division of Wildlife or a license agent prior to hunting. The Walk-
In Access permit fee is $20.00. Hunters must carry such permits on their person when hunting on
these properties. Hunters under 16 years of age may hunt on lands enrolled in the Walk-In
Access Program without obtaining or possessing an access permit.

1. Public access is prohibited from 1 hour after sunset to 1 hour before sunrise.

2. Public access is permitted from the opening day of pheasant season through the end of
February only.

3. Access shall be by foot only. Entry by horseback, motorized vehicle, or other means is
prohibited.



4. Access is permitted for hunting small game, furbearers, or waterfowl only; all other activities
are prohibited. Individuals may accompany hunters without obtaining or possessing a
Walk-In Access permit provided they do not hunt.

5. Walk-in Access permits are not transferable to any other person, nor do they confer hunting
privileges to any person other than the purchaser of the stamp.

6. Access is allowed to lands enrolled in the Walk-In Access Program only during established
small game, furbearers, or waterfowl seasons.

#304 - Evidence of Sex/Species
Refer to General Provisions #003.

ARTICLE Il - SMALL GAME SEASON DATES, UNITS (AS DESCRIBED IN #020 OF THESE
REGULATIONS), BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS, LIMITED LICENSES AND PERMITS

#305 - Special Conditions

A. Exemption for wildlife in conflict with people
In addition to the authority granted in subsection 33-6-107(9) C.R.S. to take wildlife causing
damage; any person, members of their family, or their agents may, without securing licenses to do

so, take:

1. Tree squirrels and cottontail rabbits on property owned or administered by them whenever
such wildlife is causing damage on such property.

2. Marmots and porcupines which are causing damage to such person's personal property.
Methods of take used must be in accordance with federal, state, and local law.
#306 - Cottontail Rabbit, Snowshoe Hare, White-tailed & Black-tailed jackrabbit
A. Season Dates and Units
1. Statewide: October 1 through February 28
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Ten (10) cottontail rabbits, ten (10) snowshoe hares, ten (10) jackrabbits.

2. Possession Limit: Twenty (20) cottontail rabbits, twenty (20) snowshoe hares, and twenty (20)
jackrabbits.

#307 - Abert's Squirrels
A. Season Dates and Units

1. Statewide: November 15 through January 15
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits

1. Daily Bag Limit - Two (2) squirrels



2. Possession Limit - Four (4) squirrels
#308 - Fox Squirrel and Pine Squirrels
A. Season Dates and Units
1. Statewide: October 1 through February 28
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Five (5) fox squirrels and five (5) pine squirrels
2. Possession Limit - Ten (10) fox squirrels and ten (10) pine squirrels

#309 - Wyoming (Richardson's) ground squirrel, black-tailed, white-tailed, and Gunnison prairie
dogs, European Starling, and English or house sparrow

A. Season Dates and Units

1. Wyoming ground squirrel, white-tailed, and Gunnison prairie dogs, European starling, and
English or house sparrow:

a. Statewide: January 1 through December 31.
2. Black-tailed prairie dogs:
a. Black-tailed prairie dog hunting is prohibited east of |-25, and in Adams, Arapahoe,
Boulder, Broomfield, Custer, Douglas, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Jefferson,
Las Animas, Larimer, Pueblo, and Weld counties.
#310 - Snapping Turtle
A. Season Dates and Units
1. Statewide: April 1 through October 31
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. There shall be no bag or possession limit.
#311 - Marmot
A. Season Dates and Units
1. Statewide: August 10 through October 15
B. Daily Bag and Possession limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Two (2) marmots
2. Possession limit - Four (4) marmots

#312 - Prairie rattlesnake (Crotalus viridis viridis)

A. Season Dates and Units



1. Statewide: June 15 through August 15
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits

1. Daily Bag Limit - Three (3) snakes

2. Possession Limit - Six (6) snakes

C. Nothing in this section is intended to interfere with or prohibit the lawful protection of life or property as
provided for in Section 33-6-107(9), C.R.S.

#313 - Blue Grouse
A. Season Dates and Units

1. Area: Limited to game management units west of U.S. Interstate 25. September 1 through
November 12, 2003

B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Three (3) birds
2. Possession Limit - Nine (9) birds
#314 - White-tailed Ptarmigan
A. Season Dates and Units (as described in #020 of these regulations).

1. Statewide except units 53, 54, 66, 67, 68, 70, 71, 74, 75, 751, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81.
September 13 through October 5, 2003

2. Units 53, 54, 66, 67, 68, 70, 71, 74, 75, 751, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81. September 13 through
November 12, 2003

B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Three (3) birds
2. Possession Limit - Six (6) birds
#315 - Sage Grouse
A. Season Dates and Units
1. Units 3, 6, 10, 11, 16, 17, 18 except that portion of unit 18 east of Colo 125 in Grand County,
27, 37, 28 except that portion of GMU 28 north and east of Grand Co Rd 50 (Church Park
Rd), 161, 171, 181, 201, and 211. September 13 through September 19, 2003
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Two (2) birds
2. Possession Limit - Four (4) birds

#316 - Mountain Sharp-tailed Grouse



A. Season Dates and Units.

1. Closed statewide except: Units 4, 5, 12, 13, 14, 131, 211, 214, 441. September 1 through
September 21, 2003

B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Two (2) birds
2. Possession Limit - Four (4) birds
#317 - Chukar Partridge
A. Season Dates and Units
1. Statewide: from September 1 through November 23, 2003.
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Four (4) birds
2. Possession Limit - Twelve (12) birds
#318 - Pheasant
A. Season Dates and Units
1. In all Game Management Units east of I-25: November 15, 2003 through January 18, 2004
2. In all game management units west of 1-25: November 15, 2003 through January 4, 2004
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Daily Bag Limit - Three (3) cocks
2. Possession Limit - Nine (9) cocks
#319 - Quail (Northern Bobwhite, Scaled, Gambel's)
A. Season Dates and Units
1. In all game management units east of U.S. Interstate 25 and south of Interstate 70 from [-25 to
Byers and U.S. Highway 36 from Byers to the Kansas line. November 15, 2003 through
January 18, 2004
2. In all Game Management Units east of U.S. Interstate 25 and north of Interstate 70 from 1-25
east to Byers and U.S. Highway 36 from Byers to the Kansas line. November 15, 2003
through January 4, 2004
3. In all areas west of U.S. Interstate I-25. November 15, 2003 through January 4, 2004

B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits

1. Daily Bag Limit - Eight (8) quail of each species



2. Possession Limit - Twenty-four (24) quail of each species
#320 - Greater Prairie Chicken

A. Season Dates, Hunt Types, Areas, and Limited Permits. Limited permits are valid only for the time
period and in the area indicated below.

Area and Method of Take | Hunt Code Date Opened Date Closed

Those portions of GMU's | P-E-098-01-R 09/20/2003 10/05/2003
98, 101, and 102, in
Yuma County and north
of US 36, only

Those portions of GMU's P-E-098-O1-F 09/20/2003 12/31/2003
98, 101, and 102 in Yuma
County and north of US

36 only, by hawking only

B. Annual Bag and Possession Limit
1. The annual bag and possession limit shall be two greater prairie chickens of either sex.
C. Limited Permits

1. In addition to a small game license or, in the case of falconry, the appropriate license(s) as
required in Chapter 6, a limited prairie chicken permit is required.

D. Applications for Limited Permits
1. Application requirements
a. No person shall submit more than one (1) application per season.
b. Group applications will not be accepted.
c. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
2. Drawing applications submittal

a. Applications will be accepted only on the appropriate application form provided by the
Division.

b. A $20.00 permit fee and a $3.00 non-refundable application fee shall be submitted for
each application.

c. Applications for limited permits must be received or postmarked no later than midnight
on June 30 annually, at the Colorado Division of Wildlife, Atin: Greater Prairie
Chicken, P.O. Box 21000, Denver, CO 80221-0015.

E. Special Restrictions

1. Landowner permission



a. Applicants must obtain permission to hunt from private property owners prior to
submitting their application for permits to hunt greater prairie chickens.

2. Tagging Requirements

a. When any person Kills a greater prairie chicken such person must immediately detach,
sign, and date the carcass tag. Such tag must be attached to the carcass of the
bird while it is transported in any vehicle or while in camp or at a residence or
other place of storage.

b. Such tag, when so dated, signed and attached to the prairie chicken lawfully taken or
killed and lawfully in possession, authorizes the possession, use, storage, and
transportation of the carcass, or any part thereof, within the state.

c. If the carcass tag is inadvertently or accidentally detached from the license or is lost or
destroyed, the licensee must obtain a duplicate carcass tag before he can
lawfully hunt with such license. The duplicate carcass tag may be obtained upon
furnishing satisfactory proof as to the inadvertent or accidental nature of the
detachment, loss, or destruction to the Division of Wildlife.

#321 - Wild Turkey

A. Daily Bag and Possession Limit

1. The annual bag and possession limit shall be one bearded turkey in the spring season and
one turkey of either sex in the fall season except as provided below.

a. The limit shall be two (2) bearded turkeys in the spring for those persons who possess
a limited spring license. One turkey must be harvested on the limited license and
in the limited area. The additional bearded turkey must be harvested in an area
without limited licenses. Hunters who harvest two turkeys in the spring season
shall not be able to harvest an additional bird in the fall.
B. Applications for Limited Licenses
1. Application requirements
a. No person shall submit more than one (1) application per season.
b. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

2. Drawing applications submittal

a. Applications will be accepted only on the appropriate application form provided by the
Division.

b. Payment for limited licenses must accompany each application and must be in the
form of a check or money order. Payment shall include a $3.00 non-refundable
application fee and a $.25 fee designated for search and rescue operations.

c. Spring season
1. Applications for limited licenses must be received or postmarked no later than

mid- night, on the second Thursday in February, annually, at the
Colorado Division of Wildlife, P.O. Box 173781, Denver, Colorado,



80221.
d. Fall season

1. Applications for limited licenses must be received or postmarked no later than
mid- night, on the second Thursday in July, annually at the Colorado
Division of Wildlife, P.O. Box 173781, Denver, Colorado, 80221.

3. Preference systems

a. Preference Points: Preference will be given for correct applications for first choice hunt
codes only and shall be subject to the following provisions:

1. One preference point will be awarded to each person who qualifies for and
fails to draw a limited license as a first choice in the drawing or who
applies using a first choice hunt code established for the purpose of
accumulating a preference point only. Provided further, however, that no
applicant may accumulate more than one turkey preference point per
calendar year.

2. Preference points will be used in future drawings for the same species and
will continue to accumulate until the applicant obtains a license as a first
choice or does not apply at least once during a five-year period at which
time all accumulated points become void.

3. Applications receiving preference will be given priority over all applications
with fewer points.

4. Group applications will receive preference at the level of the group member
with the fewest accumulated points.

5. Unsuccessful applicants to the drawing will receive a refund check stub; this
will provide accumulated preference point totals.

6. Licenses issued to successful second choice applicants will show
accumulated preference point totals.

b. Mobility-Impaired Hunting Licenses - The Director may make licenses valid in certain
GMU's available to qualified mobility-impaired hunters.

1. Applicants for mobility-impaired hunting licenses must have a mobility
impairment resulting from permanent medical conditions, which makes it
physically impossible for them to hunt without the assistance of an
attendant. Evidence of an impossibility to participate in the hunt without
the assistance of an attendant may include, but is not limited to
prescribed use of a wheel chair; shoulder or arm crutches; walker; two
canes; or other prescribed medical devices or equipment.

2. Applications for mobility-impaired licenses shall be made on the form available
from, and submitted with the applicable license fee to, the Division of
Wildlife, Limited License Office, 6060 Broadway, Denver, Colorado.
Hunters may apply from the Monday after the November Commission
meeting through the last day of the spring season.

3. Applications for mobility-impaired hunting licenses shall contain a statement



from a licensed medical doctor or a certified physical, occupational, or
recreational therapist describing the applicant's mobility impairment and

the permanent medical condition which makes it impossible for the
applicant to hunt without the assistance of an attendant. Additional

documentation may be required if necessary to establish the applicant's
eligibility for a mobility-impaired hunting license. Once certified by the
Division as mobility-impaired according to these regulations, applicants

will not be required to submit the medical statement.

4. Ten (10) mobility-impaired hunting licenses will be available for the spring
season, valid only on private lands in units 91,92, 96, and 102. The
licenses will be valid for the season dates established for the authorized
hunt code. Mobility-impaired licenses may not be issued for ranching for

wildlife properties unless otherwise provided in the ranch contract.

C. Special Restrictions - Tagging Regulation

1. Tagging Requirements

a. When any person kills a turkey such person must immediately detach, sign, and date
the carcass tag. Such tag must be attached to the carcass of the bird while it is
transported in any vehicle or while in camp or at a residence or other place of

storage.

b. Such tag, when so dated, signed and attached to the turkey lawfully taken or killed

and lawfully in possession, authorizes the possession, use, storage, and
transportation of the carcass, or any part thereof, within the state.

c. If the carcass tag is inadvertently or accidentally detached from the license or is lost or

destroyed, the licensee must obtain a duplicate carcass tag before he can

lawfully hunt with such license. The duplicate carcass tag may be obtained upon
furnishing satisfactory proof as to the inadvertent or accidental nature of the

detachment, loss, or destruction to the Division of Wildlife.

2. Spanish Peaks SWA

a. Hunting during the spring turkey season shall be permitted only on Saturdays,

Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays on the Spanish Peaks State Wildlife Area.

3. Higel and Rio Grande SWA's

a. Turkey hunting access during the spring turkey season requires an access permit.
Access permits will be issued for each property, from the Division Office in Monte
Vista through a hand drawing. Permit applications may be obtained from DOW,
0722 S. Road 1E, Monte Vista, CO 81144. Group applications will be accepted.
No more than two (2) applicants per group. Application deadline is January 31 of

each year. Successful applicants will be notified by mail. The date, time and
location of the drawing will be included on the application.

D. Season Dates and Units - Unlimited Licenses.

1. Spring Seasons

Units

Hunt Code

Date Open

Dated Closed

003, 004, 005, 006, 007,

TMOOOU1R

04/10/04

05/23/04




008, 009, 010, 011, 012,
013,014,016, 017, 018,
019, 020, 022, 024, 028,
029, 032, 033, 038, 039,
040, 041, 042, 046, 048,
049, 050, 051, 052, 053,
054, 055, 056, 057, 058,
059 except on the Beaver
Creek SWA and the Table
Mountain State Trust
Land Lease, 060, 061,
062, 063, 064, 065, 066,
067, 068, 069, 070, 071,
072,073, 074, 075, 076,
077,078, 079, 082, 083,
084, 085, 086, 087, 088,
089, 094, 097, 099, 100,
104, 110, 112, 113, 114,
116, 117, 118, 119, 122,
123, 128, 130 S of US 50,
131, 133, 134, 135, 136,
137, 140 except on James
M. John and Lake
Dorothey State Wildlife
Areas, 141, 142, 143,
144, 145, 146, 147, 161,
171, 181, 191, 211, 214,
231, 301, 391, 411, 421,
441, 461, 481, 500, 501,
511, 512, 521, 551, 561,
581, 591, 681, 691, 711,
741,751,771, 851 except
the Bosque del Oso SWA,
861, 951 and.

2. Fall Seasons

Unit

Hunt Code

Open Date

Close Date

003, 004, 005, 006, 007,
008, 009, 010, 011, 012,
013, 014, 016,017, 018,
019, 020, 022, 024, 028,
029, 032%*, 033, 038, 039,
040%*, 041%*, 042*, 046,
048, 049, 050, 051, 052,
054, 055, 056, 057, 058,

TEOOOU2R

09/01/2004

10/03/2004




059 except on the Beaver
Creek SWA and the Table
Mountain State Trust
Land Lease, 060, 061,
062, 064, 065, 066, 067,
068, 069, 070, 071, 072,
073,074, 075, 076, 077,
078, 079, 082, 083, 084,
085 except on the Spanish
Peaks State Wildlife Area,
086, 087, 088, 099, 104,
110, 112, 113, 114, 116,
117,118, 119, 122, 123,
128, 130, 131, 133, 134,
135, 136, 137, 140 except
on the James M. John and
Lake Dorothey State
Wildlife Areas, 141, 142,
143, 144, 145, 147, 161,
171, 181, 191, 211, 214,
231,301, 391, 411, 421%*,
441, 461, 500, 501, 511,
512,521, 551, 561, 581,
591, 681, 691, 711, 741,
751,771, 851 except on
the Bosque del Oso SWA,
861, 951 and *except in
those portions of units 32,
40, 41, 42, and 421 within
one-half (1/2) mile either
side of the Colorado
River from the Una
bridge east of Debeque
downstream to the Utah
state line.

E. Season Dates and Units -Limited Licenses and Limited License Areas. Limited licenses shall be valid
only for the time period and game management unit(s) or area(s) indicated on the license.

1. Spring Season.

Unit Hunt Code | Date Opened | Date Closed
Bearded Turkey Only

23 TMO02301R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
31 TMO03101R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
34 TMO03401R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
43 TMO04301R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004




59 - Beaver Creek State TMO05901R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
Wildlife Area and Table
Mountain State Trust
Land Lease only
91 TM09101R 04/10/2004 04/25/2004
91, except on state TMO091S1R 04/10/2004 04/25/2004
wildlife areas
91 TM09102R 04/26/2004 05/16/2004
91, except on state TMO091S2R 04/26/2004 05/16/2004
wildlife areas
92 TM09201R 04/10/2004 04/25/2004
92, except on state TMO92S1R 04/10/2004 04/25/2004
wildlife areas
92 TM09202R 04/26/2004 05/16/2004
92, except on state TMO092S2R 04/26/2004 05/16/2004
wildlife areas
96 TM09601R 04/10/2004 04/25/2004
96, except on state TMO096S1R 04/10/2004 04/25/2004
wildlife areas
96 TM09602R 04/26/2004 05/16/2004
96, except on state TMO096S2R 04/26/2004 05/16/2004
wildlife areas
102 TM10201R 04/10/2004 04/25/2004
102 TM10202R 04/26/2004 05/16/2004
103, 107, and 109 TM10301R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
105 TMI10501R 04/10/2004 05/16/2004
124, 125, and 129 TM12401R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
126, 146 TM12601R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
127,132 TMI12701R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
130 - North of US 50 TM13001R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
138, 139 TM13801R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
140 - Lake Dorothey TM14001R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
State Wildlife Area only
140 - James John State TM14002R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
Wildlife Area only
444 TM44401R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
851 - Bosque del Oso TMS85101R 04/10/2004 05/23/2004
State Wildlife Area only
Total

2. Fall Season
Unit Hunt Code Date Opened Date Closed
Either Sex
31 except that portion TEO31L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004




within one-half (1/2) mile

either side of the

Colorado River from the

Una bridge east of

Debeque downstream to

the Utah state line

43 TE043L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
59 - Beaver Creek State TEOS9L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
Wildlife Area and Table

Mountain State Trust

Land Lease only

85 - Spanish Peaks State TEO85LIR 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
Wildlife Area Oberosler

Tract only

85 - Spanish Peaks State TEO85L2R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
Wildlife Area - Dochter

Tract only

85 - Spanish Peaks State TEO85L3R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
Wildlife Area -

Sakariason Tract

91 TE091L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
92 TE092L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
96 TEQ96L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
103, 107, and 109 TE103L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
105 TE105L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
124, 125 and 129 TE124L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
126, 146 TE126L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
127, 132 TE127L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
130 - North of US 50 TE130L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
140 - Lake Dorothey TE140L1R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
State Wildlife Area only

140 - James John State TE140L2R 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
Wildlife Area only

851 - Bosque del Oso TE851LIR 09/01/2004 10/03/2004
State Wildlife Area only

Total

F. Ranching For Wildlife - Turkey

1. The Director is authorized to implement the Ranching for Wildlife program, including the
authority to determine ranch enroliment status, enter into cooperative agreements with
ranches, establish and modify public and private season dates on each ranch, and
establish and modify license allocations to each ranch including the subsequent
distribution of licenses to the public and private share annually, subject to the following
provisions.



a. Ranch Entry And Maintenance

Ranches must have a minimum of 12,000 acres of privately owned land in one
contiguous unit, except for Mountain Meadows Ranch, which shall be considered
grandfathered for this minimum acreage. Ranches that meet this a12,000-acre minimum
requirement may include privately owned non-contiguous parcels in the program if the
Director determines that their inclusion will contribute to meeting the performance
standards for the ranch.

1. Ranches must annually provide a minimum of thirty (30) public licenses, in
total for all species for which there is a public season established. Except
that ranches located in Game Management Units east of Interstate 25
must offer a minimum of twenty (20) public licenses in total for all species
if no female licenses for deer, elk, or antelope are allocated to the ranch.

2. Ranches must develop a Ranching For Wildlife Management Plan that
includes goals, objectives, and strategies for achieving such goals and
objectives for wildlife habitat management, species management, and
public hunting management. The Management Plan must be approved
by the Division prior to execution of a Cooperative Agreement for
Ranching For Wildlife.

3. Ranches may not charge public hunters an access fee for hunting.

4. Except as agreed to in writing by the Division when necessary to meet the
ranch performance standards or as mutually agreed and contained in the
Management Plan, ranches must provide for equality of access in terms
of geographical area and mode of transportation for both public and
private hunters. No closure or restriction of land or roads shall apply to
public hunters that do not also apply to private hunters.

5. Public hunts must be established at a time when the species to be hunted are
present and available for harvest. No public seasons shall be established
during times when normal winter conditions would prevent access to
most of the ranch, nor when normal migration patterns of the species to
be hunted result in the species having migrated off the ranch.

6. Ranches that establish coinciding or overlapping public and private hunts may
not exclude public hunters from any portion of the ranch due to the
presence of private hunters.

2. Cooperative Agreements, Enrollment, Denial Of Enrollment, Termination Of Enroliment
a. The Division is authorized to enter into Cooperative Agreements with ranches.
b. Ranches may appeal enroliment decisions to the Wildlife Commission.

c. Cooperative Agreements shall incorporate approved Ranching For Wildlife
Management Plans as part of the Cooperative Agreement.

d. The Division shall evaluate ranches for enrollment and shall establish minimum
performance standards for ranches enrolled in the program, including wildlife
habitat management and improvement, public recreation opportunity and
experience, and any factors intended to contribute to meeting turkey
management objectives. Such performance standards shall be incorporated into



the Cooperative Agreement with the ranch.
3. Turkey Season Structures
a. Public and private spring season opening and closing date parameters.
1. Private seasons may not begin before April 1, nor extend beyond June 1.

2. Public seasons may only be established within the opening and closing dates
of the regularly established spring season.

3. Public hunting seasons shall be a minimum of ten (10) consecutive days.
b. Public and private fall season opening and closing date parameters.

1. Public and private seasons may not begin before September 1, nor extend
beyond November 1.

2. Public hunting seasons shall be a minimum of ten (10) consecutive days.
c. Manner of Take

1. The manner of take for spring or fall RFW turkey seasons shall be the same
as that for regularly established spring or fall seasons.

4. License Allocation

a. A maximum of 100 bearded turkey licenses in the spring season and 100 either sex
turkey licenses in the fall season may be allocated to each ranch annually, and
subsequently distributed to the public and private share according paragraph b of
this regulation.

(o

. The public shall receive a minimum of forty percent (40%) of the total number of
licenses allocated for each turkey season on each ranch.

c. License allocation for each ranch shall be approved by the Division and recommended
to the Director, based upon harvest objectives for the ranch jointly determined by
the Division and the ranch, hunter crowding, enhancement of hunter harvest, and
relative densities of the species on the ranch.

d. Substitution of licenses of one species or sex for licenses of another species or sex
shall not be permitted.

e. Landowner preference shall not be used for any public or private Ranching For
Wildlife license.

5. License Distribution
a. Applications

1. Applications for private hunter licenses stamped with the ranch name and
season dates shall be available to the landowner for distribution.

2. Public hunter licenses shall be available through application and selection
from the Division during the annual limited license drawing process,



except as provided in this regulation.

#322 -Badger, red fox, raccoons, striped skunk and muskrat
A. Season Dates and Units

1. Statewide: November 1 through February 28.
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits

1. Unlimited bag and possession
#323 - Bobcat
A. Season Dates and Units

1. Statewide: December 1 through February 28
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits

1. Unlimited bag and possession.

2. Special Restrictions.

a. All bobcat, or their pelts, must be sealed with a tag provided by the Division within 30
days after capture. Any bobcat pelt not having a tag within 5 days after the close
of the season shall be illegal. Tags will only be placed on bobcat legally taken in
Colorado. The legal possession tag, when attached to the bobcat or the pelt shall
authorize possession, transportation, and sale thereof.

#324 - Coyote
A. Season Dates and Units

1. Statewide: January 1 through December 31
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits

1. Unlimited bag and possession

#325 - Badger, muskrat, beaver, red fox, bobcat, striped skunk, coyote, raccoon, and black-tailed
prairie dogs

A. These species may be taken year-round under the provisions of 33-6-107(9) C.R.S. as necessary to
protect private property.

B. Alicense shall not be required of any person, member of the person's family, lessee, agent, designee,
or any employee of the person when necessary to protect such person's property.

#326 - Beaver
A. Season Dates and Units

1. Private Lands: Statewide, October 1 through April 30.



2. Public Lands: Statewide, October 1 through April 30.
B. Daily Bag and Possession Limits
1. Private Lands: Unlimited bag and possession

2. Public Lands: Unlimited bag and possession



