From:
To:
SoS Rulemaking

Subject: Comments - working draft charity rules

Date: Thursday, June 21, 2018 1:32:51 PM

The state should follow the IRS law for two things:

Extensions. The IRS allows an automatic 6 month extension 990s. Colorado should follow this instead of requiring an additional extension after 3 months.

The IRS does not require a 990 for nonprofits making less than \$50,000. Colorado should change their threshold of \$25,000 to \$50,000 for filings.

Also, certain items should be much easier to accomplish:

Having a third party prepare and sign the filing should be as simple as the organization completing a form and filing it online. Currently, your procedure is very vague.

Changing the organization contact name or email should also be easier. Again, a form that is completed online would be good instead of sending an email for such a change.

Thank you

Greg Jamieson

Greg Jamieson
Enrolled Agent
Accounting Services
615 North Nevada Avenue, Suite 3
Colorado Springs, CO 80903