
Issue Committee Registration Thresholds, State by State

States in grey do not have initiative or referendum

State Provision Threshold for Registration Name Litigation

AL

AK
Alaska Stat. section 

15.13.050

$0. Registration must be made before any 

expenditure is made by more than one person 

"in support of or in opposition to a ballot 

proposition or question or to an initiative 

proposal application filed with the lieutenant 

governor."

Alaska uses the terms 

"committee" to apply to all 

groups, whether they support 

issues or otherwise.

Disclosure requirements for non-group entities 

have been upheld, however Alaska law excludes 

"issues communications" from the definition of 

"expenditure." Furthermore, issues 

communications as defined in Alaska law 

reference candidates. Alaska Right to Life Comm. 

v. Miles , 441 F.3d 773 (9th Cir. 2006).

AZ
A.R.S. sections 16-

901, 16-902.01

$500 in contributions or expenditures. The 

statutory language requires registration once 

a group intends  to raise or spend $500 or 

more, even if funds have not yet been raised 

or spent.

Committees that intend to spend less than 

$500 must file an exemption statement.

Political committee (umbrella 

term)
None.

AR
A.C.A. section 7-9-

404

$500. Registration is required once a group 

makes expenditures or accepts  contributions 

of $500 to expressly advocate for or against a 

ballot question. 

There is also a registration threshold (2% of 

annual spending or $10,000) for groups that 

give to existing ballot question committees.

Ballot Question Committee None.

CA Cal Gov Code 82013
$1,000 in contribution to the committe or 

expenditures of $10,000 by the committee.
Ballot Measure Committee None.
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CO

Art. XXVIII Sec. 

2(10), Colo. 

Constitution

$200 in spending. Issue Committee

Registration threshold of $200 held 

unconstitutional as applied to a group opposed to 

a local annexation issue in Sampson v. Buescher , 

numbers 08-1389 and 08-1415 (10th Cir. 2010).

CT

DE

FL
Fla. Stat. section 

106.011(1)

$500 to advocate passage or defeat of a ballot 

issue, $0 for the sponsor of an initiative who 

intends to collect signatures.

Political committee (umbrella 

term)

Contribution limits on moneys given to 

committees advocating for or against issues held 

unconstitutional in Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc. v. 

State , 408 So.2d 211 (Fla. 1981).

GA

HI

ID
Idaho Code section 

67-6602

"Any person who receives contributions and 

makes expenditures in an amount exceeding 

five hundred dollars ($500) in any calendar 

year for the purpose of supporting or 

opposing one (1) or more candidates or 

measures" must register a committee.

Political committee (sometimes 

referred to as Political issues 

committee)

None.

IL

IN

IA

KS

KY

LA
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ME
21-A M.R.S. § 1056-

B

$5,000 raised or spent to promote or defeat 

ballot issue(s).
Ballot question committee

Motion for temporary restraining order against 

this provision filed on First Amendment grounds 

denied (case proceeded on other grounds, issue 

committee portion did not continue). Nat'l Org. 

for Marriage v. McKee , 666 F. Supp. 2d 193 (D. 

Me. 2009).

MD

MA
M.G.L. chapter 55 

sections 1 and 5

$0 "favoring or opposing the adoption or 

rejection" of a ballot measure.

Ballot question committee, which 

is a subcategory of political 

committees.

None.

MI

MCLS 169.202, 

169.203(3)(4), 

169.224(24)

$500 in contributions or $500 in expenditures 

in a calendar year. Registration must be 

within 10 days after a committee is formed.

Ballot question committee

None.

An opinion from the state Attorney General 

upheld ballot measure disclosure requirements as 

applied to voluntary unincorporated associations 

in 1988.

MN

MS
Miss. Code Ann. 

Section 23-15-801(c)

Contributions of $200 or expenditures of 

$200 in a calendar year.

Political committee (umbrella 

term)
None.

MO
130.011(3), (9) 

R.S.Mo.

$500 in aggregated contributions or 

expenditures OR any single contribution of 

$250.

Campaign committee, which is a 

subcategory of committees 

generally

None.

MT

Mont. Code Ann. 13-

1-101(22)(b), 13-37-

201

$0: A "certification" is required within 5 days 

of making "an expenditure" (or authorizing 

another to make an expenditure on its behalf).

Political committee (umbrella 

term)
None.
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NE
R.R.S. Neb. Sections 

49-1406, 49-1413

$5,000 in contributions or expenditures in a 

calendar year.

Ballot question committee, which 

is a subcategory of committees 

generally

None.

NV

Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. 

294A.0055, 

294A.230

$0. Committee must register "before it 

engages in any activity in this State."

Committee for political action 

(umbrella term)
None.

NH

NJ

NM

NY

NC

ND

N.D. Cent. Code, § 

16.1-08.1-01(8), 16.1-

08.1-03.1(1)

$100 in contributions.

Measure committee, which is a 

subcategory of political 

committee

None.

OH
ORC Ann. Section 

3517.10

$1,000 in contributions and $1,000 in 

expenditures (both thresholds must be met)
Political action committee None.

OK

74 Okl. St. Chap. 62, 

Appx., 257:10-1-11, 

10-1-12

$500 in contributions or expenditures. Ballot measure committee None.

OR
ORS 260.005, 

260.118

$0. Registration must be made within a 

designated time frame (depending on type of 

committee) once any contribution is received 

or expenditure made.

Petition committee (includes 

referendum petition committee, 

initiative petition committee, and 

recall petition committee)

None.

PA

RI

SC
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SD

S.D. Codified Laws 

section 12-27-1, 12-

27-3

$500 in contributions or expenditures. Ballot question committee None.

TN

TX

UT

Utah Code Ann. 

Section 20A-11-

101(29)

$750 in contributions or $50 in expenditures. 

Registration is required yearly unless notice 

of dissolution has been filed.

Political issues committee

Definition of political issues committee held 

unconstitutional as being vague and overbroad; 

however, the definition has been subsequently 

amended. Nat'l Right to Work Legal Def. & Educ. 

Found., Inc. v. Herbert , 581 F. Supp. 2d 1132 (D. 

Utah 2008).

The threshold for registration has not been 

litigated.

VT

VA

WA

Rev. Code Wash. 

Section 42.17.020, 

42-17-040

$0. Registration is required within two weeks 

of the time when a group expects that it will 

accept contributions or make expenditures.

Political committee (umbrella 

term).

Organization must have political as its primary 

purpose or one of its primary purposes before it 

can be required to register. State v. Dan J. Evans 

Campaign Comm. , 546 P.2d 75 (Wash. 1976).

Disclosure requirements upheld, even for a group 

that does not have political advocacy as its sole 

purpose, in Human Life of Wash., Inc. v. 

Brumsickle , 624 F.3d 990 (9th Cir. 2010).

WV

WI

WY
Wyo. Stat. section 22-

25-106(b), (f)

A definition of committee types cannot be 

located nor can a threshold for registration.
Political action committee None known.
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