Q: If I don't know my Colorado Driver's License or Colorado ID card number may I provide my Social Security Number instead?
A: No. If you have a Colorado Driver's License or ID card issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue, you must provide that number for your application to be complete.
Q: How will I know if my registration was processed?
A: You will receive an official information card from your County Clerk and Recorder’s office approximately 20 days after they receive your online application.
You may also check your status on this website. However, your information on this website will not be updated automatically. Your county’s election office will process your application and notify you of its status.
Q: Am I eligible to register to vote?
A: You are eligible to vote if you:
- will be 18 years of age or older at the time of the next election
- are a United States citizen
- are a Colorado resident and have lived in your current precinct for at least 30 days before the election
- are not serving a sentence (including parole) for a felony conviction
Q: Who should I contact if I have more questions?
A: Contact your County Clerk and Recorder. County Clerk and Recorder contact information is available on our website at the following link: County Clerk and Recorder Contact Information.
You may also contact the Secretary of State's office
Phone: 303-894-2200 ext. 6307
Q: Will I need identification to vote?
A: If you vote in person, yes. A complete list of acceptable forms of identification is available on our website at the following link: Acceptable Forms of Identification.
Q: When is the last day to register to vote?
A: 29 days before an election.
Q: What is mail-in voting?
A: If you choose not go to the polls on Election Day, you may apply to vote by mail-in ballot.
Under Colorado law, your Mail-in Ballot Application must contain your printed name, signature, residence address, mailing address if you wish to receive the ballot by mail, and date of birth. If you do not provide all of this information, you may not receive a mail-in ballot according to the rules established by the Secretary of State. [Section 1-8-104(6), C.R.S.]
Q: What is permanent mail-in voting?
A: If you choose to be placed on the list of permanent mail-in voters, you will receive a mail-in ballot for every applicable election. Alternatively, you may ask for a mail-in ballot for a specific election or the calendar year.
Q: What is the deadline for requesting a mail-in ballot?
A: Your County Clerk and Recorder must receive your application no later than the close of business on the 7th day before the election. If you mail your application, make sure to allow time for delivery. If you want to pick up your mail-in ballot, you may pick it up at your County Clerk and Recorder’s office no later than the Friday before the election.
Q: May I register to vote if I was arrested for or convicted of a crime?
A: Yes, if you:
- are on probation for either a misdemeanor or felony
- are a pretrial detainee awaiting trial
- are currently in jail serving a misdemeanor sentence only
- have served your sentence for a felony conviction, including any period of parole
Once you have served your complete sentence, you are automatically eligible to register to vote. If you were previously registered, that registration will have been canceled and you must re-register if you wish to vote.