Contribution Limits

I am a...

527 organization
Business (not a corporation)
Candidate committee
Corporation
Federal PAC
Independent expenditure committee
Issue committee
Labor union
Natural person
Political committee
Political party
Small donor committee


This chart reflects contribution limits for all political committees, small donor committees, issue committees and political parties within the State of Colorado. Home Rule counties or municipalities may have their own contribution limits; therefore, you should contact the county clerk and recorder or municipal clerk.

The limits in this chart reflect adjustments made by CPF Rule 10.16 as required by Article XXVII, Sec. 3(13) of the Colorado Constitution and remain current through 2015.

In addition, please review Campaign and Political Finance Rules 3 and 4 relating to issue committee and political committee contributions.

 

527 Organization

DonorContributing toLimits
527 Organization Attorney General Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
County candidates (under state law) Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
CU Regent Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
District Attorney Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
Governor and Lt. Governor Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee No limit
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575
Political party (per calendar year) $3,650*
Regional Transportation District (RTD) Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
Secretary of State Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
State House of Representatives Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
State Senate Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
State Treasurer Consult Internal Revenue Service Regulations
*State, county, district, & local levels combined, of which no more than $3,050 may be given to the state party.


 

Top


Business (not a corporation)

DonorContributing toLimits
Business (not a corporation) Attorney General Primary*
$575
General*
$575
County candidates (under state law) No limit
CU Regent Primary*
$200
General*
$200
District Attorney Primary*
$200
General*
$200
Governor and Lt. Governor Primary*
$575
General*
$575
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee No limit
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575
Political party (per calendar year) $3,650*
Regional Transportation District (RTD) No limit
Secretary of State Primary*
$575
General*
$575
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State House of Representatives Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State Senate Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State Treasurer Primary*
$575
General*
$575

* All candidates may accept contributions for the primary and general election. Colorado law recognizes the Governor and Lt. Governor as one committee and the contribution and spending limits for governor apply to the joint committee.

Contribution limits double for a candidate who has accepted voluntary spending limits if his or her opponent has not accepted the voluntary spending limits and has raised more than 10 percent of the spending limit.

Contributions to a candidate committee by the candidate count as political party contributions when a candidate accepts voluntary spending limits. Any unexpended campaign contributions that carry forward to a subsequent election cycle also count as a political party contribution.

** State, county, district, & local levels combined, of which no more than $3,050 may be given to the state party.


Top

 

Candidate Committee

DonorContributing toLimits
Candidate Committee Attorney General Prohibited
County candidates (under state law) Prohibited
CU Regent Prohibited
District Attorney Prohibited
Governor and Lt. Governor Prohibited
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee Prohibited
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575*
Political party (per calendar year) $3,650 of unexpended campaign funds only**
Regional Transportation District (RTD) Prohibited
Secretary of State Prohibited
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Prohibited
State House of Representatives Prohibited
State Senate Prohibited
State Treasurer Prohibited

* Only if the stated purpose of the political committee includes supporting the candidate who is contributing.

** State, county, district, & local levels combined, of which no more than $3,050 may be given to the state party.

Top

 

Corporations & Labor Unions

DonorContributing toLimits
Corporations & Labor Unions Attorney General Prohibited
County candidates (under state law) Prohibited
CU Regent Prohibited
District Attorney Prohibited
Governor and Lt. Governor Prohibited
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee No limit
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575
Political party (per calendar year) Prohibited
Regional Transportation District (RTD) Prohibited
Secretary of State Prohibited
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Prohibited
State House of Representatives Prohibited
State Senate Prohibited
State Treasurer Prohibited

Top

 

Federal PAC
See Rule 7.1

DonorContributing toLimits
Federal PAC Attorney General Primary*
$575
General*
$575
County candidates (under state law) No limit
CU Regent Primary*
$200
General*
$200
District Attorney Primary*
$200
General*
$200
Governor and Lt. Governor Primary*
$575
General*
$575
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee No limit
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575
Political party (per calendar year) $3,650**
Regional Transportation District (RTD) No limit
Secretary of State Primary*
$575
General*
$575
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State House of Representatives Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State Senate Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State Treasurer Primary*
$575
General*
$575

* All candidates may accept contributions for the primary and general election. Colorado law recognizes the Governor and Lt. Governor as one committee and the contribution and spending limits for governor apply to the joint committee.

Contribution limits double for a candidate who has accepted voluntary spending limits if his or her opponent has not accepted the voluntary spending limits and has raised more than 10 percent of the spending limit.

Contributions to a candidate committee by the candidate count as political party contributions when a candidate accepts voluntary spending limits. Any unexpended campaign contributions that carry forward to a subsequent election cycle also count as a political party contribution.

** State, county, district, & local levels combined, of which no more than $3,050 may be given to the state party.

Top

 

Independent expenditure committee

DonorContributing toLimits
Independent expenditure committee Attorney General Prohibited
County candidates (under state law) Prohibited
CU Regent Prohibited
District Attorney Prohibited
Governor and Lt. Governor Prohibited
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee Prohibited
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) Prohibited
Political party (per calendar year) Prohibited
Regional Transportation District (RTD) Prohibited
Secretary of State Prohibited
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Prohibited
State House of Representatives Prohibited
State Senate Prohibited
State Treasurer Prohibited

Top

 

Issue committee

DonorContributing toLimits
Issue committee Attorney General Prohibited
County candidates (under state law) Prohibited
CU Regent Prohibited
District Attorney Prohibited
Governor and Lt. Governor Prohibited
Independent expenditure committee Prohibited
Issue committee No limit
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) Prohibited
Political party (per calendar year) Prohibited
Regional Transportation District (RTD) Prohibited
Secretary of State Prohibited
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Prohibited
State House of Representatives Prohibited
State Senate Prohibited
State Treasurer Prohibited

Top

 

Natural person

DonorContributing toLimits
Natural person Attorney General Primary*
$575
General*
$575
County candidates (under state law) No limit
CU Regent Primary*
$200
General*
$200
District Attorney Primary*
$200
General*
$200
Governor and Lt. Governor Primary*
$575
General*
$575
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee No limit
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575
Political party (per calendar year) $3,650**
Regional Transportation District (RTD) No limit
Secretary of State Primary*
$575
General*
$575
Small donor committee (per calendar year) $50
State Board of Education Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State House of Representatives Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State Senate Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State Treasurer Primary*
$575
General*
$575

* All candidates may accept contributions for the primary and general election. Colorado law recognizes the Governor and Lt. Governor as one committee and the contribution and spending limits for governor apply to the joint committee.

Contribution limits double for a candidate who has accepted voluntary spending limits if his or her opponent has not accepted the voluntary spending limits and has raised more than 10 percent of the spending limit.

Contributions to a candidate committee by the candidate count as political party contributions when a candidate accepts voluntary spending limits. Any unexpended campaign contributions that carry forward to a subsequent election cycle also count as a political party contribution.

** State, county, district, & local levels combined, of which no more than $3,050 may be given to the state party.

Top

 

Political committee

DonorContributing toLimits
Political committee Attorney General Primary*
$575
General*
$575
County candidates (under state law) No limit
CU Regent Primary*
$200
General*
$200
District Attorney Primary*
$200
General*
$200
Governor and Lt. Governor Primary*
$575
General*
$575
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee Prohibited
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575
Political party (per calendar year) $3,650**
Regional Transportation District (RTD) No limit
Secretary of State Primary*
$575
General*
$575
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State House of Representatives Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State Senate Primary*
$200
General*
$200
State Treasurer Primary*
$575
General*
$575

* All candidates may accept contributions for the primary and general election. Colorado law recognizes the Governor and Lt. Governor as one committee and the contribution and spending limits for governor apply to the joint committee.

Contribution limits double for a candidate who has accepted voluntary spending limits if his or her opponent has not accepted the voluntary spending limits and has raised more than 10 percent of the spending limit.

Contributions to a candidate committee by the candidate count as political party contributions when a candidate accepts voluntary spending limits. Any unexpended campaign contributions that carry forward to a subsequent election cycle also count as a political party contribution.

** State, county, district, & local levels combined, of which no more than $3,050 may be given to the state party.

 

Top

 

Political party

DonorContributing toLimits
Political party Attorney General $123,000
County candidates (under state law) No limit
CU Regent $15,975
District Attorney $15,975
Governor and Lt. Governor $615,075
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee No limit
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575
Political party (per calendar year) $3,650*
Regional Transportation District (RTD) No limit
Secretary of State $123,000
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education $15,975
State House of Representatives $15,975
State Senate $22,125
State Treasurer $123,000
* State, county, district, & local levels combined, of which no more than $3,050 may be given to the state party.

Top

 

Small donor committee

DonorContributing toLimits
Small donor committee Attorney General Primary*
$6,125
General*
$6,125
County candidates (under state law) No limit
CU Regent Primary*
$2,425
General*
$2,425
District Attorney Primary*
$2,425
General*
$2,425
Governor and Lt. Governor Primary*
$6,125
General*
$6,125
Independent expenditure committee No limit
Issue committee Prohibited
Political committee (per State House of Representatives election cycle) $575
Political party (per calendar year) $18,425**
Regional Transportation District (RTD) No limit
Secretary of State Primary*
$6,125
General*
$6,125
Small donor committee (per calendar year) Prohibited
State Board of Education Primary*
$2,425
General*
$2,425
State House of Representatives Primary*
$2,425
General*
$2,425
State Senate Primary*
$2,425
General*
$2,425
State Treasurer Primary*
$6,125
General*
$6,125

* All candidates may accept contributions for the primary and general election. Colorado law recognizes the Governor and Lt. Governor as one committee and the contribution and spending limits for governor apply to the joint committee.

Contribution limits double for a candidate who has accepted voluntary spending limits if his or her opponent has not accepted the voluntary spending limits and has raised more than 10 percent of the spending limit.

Contributions to a candidate committee by the candidate count as political party contributions when a candidate accepts voluntary spending limits. Any unexpended campaign contributions that carry forward to a subsequent election cycle also count as a political party contribution.

** State, county, district, & local levels combined, of which no more than $15,350 may be given to the state party.

Top

Primary
$200