
Rule 28 – In-Service Training Program  
Effective January 30, 2021  

  
The purpose of in-service training is to provide continuing education to certified 
peace officers to develop their knowledge and/or skills. The POST Board’s duties 
relating to annual in-service training are addressed in Colorado Revised Statutes § 
24-31-303(1). The POST Board can “promulgate rules deemed necessary by the 
Board concerning annual in-service training requirements for certified peace 
officers, including but not limited to evaluation of the training program and 
processes to ensure substantial compliance by law enforcement agencies and 
departments.” In-service training is mandatory for certified peace officers who are 
currently employed in positions requiring certified peace officers as defined in 
Colorado Revised Statutes section § 16-2.5-102. This includes certified fulltime, 
part-time and reserve peace officers. Failure to satisfactorily complete training can 
result in suspension or revocation of an individual’s POST certification, or other 
administrative sanction.  
  

(a) Annual Hour Requirement  
  

The in-service training program requires certified peace officers to complete a 
minimum of 24 hours of in-service training annually. Of the 24 hours, a 
minimum of 12 hours shall be perishable skills training as specified below.  

  
(b) Training Period  
  

(I) The training period shall be the calendar year, from January 1 
 to December 31, of each year. In-service training in excess of 24 
 hours each year shall not be credited towards any future or 
 prior training period.  
 
(II) Remedial training hours completed after January 1 to gain 
 compliance for a prior calendar year shall not count towards the 
 current year requirement. 

  
(c) Approved Training for POST Credit  
  

The authority and responsibility for training shall be with the chief executive 
of each law enforcement agency. The chief executive accepts responsibility 
and liability for the course content and instructor qualification. Legislatively 
mandated training may also be used for credit towards the training 
requirement.  

  



The following are examples of training that would qualify for in-service 
credit:  

  
(I) Training received during the Basic Academic Training Program (Basic 

Academy).  
  
(II) Computer or web-based courses that have been approved by the chief 

executive may be used for in-service credit.  
  
(III) The viewing of law enforcement related audiovisual material (DVD, 

video, etc.) or material related to the viewer’s position or rank can be 
used in conjunction with a facilitated discussion or other presentation. 
This could include roll call or lineup briefings where the session is 
dedicated to training and not for the purpose of information exchange.  

  
(IV) For each class hour attended at an accredited college or university in 

any course related to law enforcement or criminal justice that is 
required to earn a degree, one hour of in-service credit may be 
awarded.   

  
(d) Perishable Skills Training  
  

Perishable skills training shall consist of a minimum of 12 hours. The 
required 12 hours must include a minimum of one hour of training in each of 
the three perishable skills (Arrest Control, Driving, and Firearms) each 
calendar year. Examples of perishable skills training could include:  

  
(I) Arrest Control-live or simulator exercises and scenarios, classroom 

discussion followed by interactive scenario events. Arrest control 
fundamentals, agency policies and/or legal issues.  

  
(II) Driving-behind-the-wheel or simulator training, classroom discussion 

regarding judgment/decision making in driving, agency policies and/or 
legal issues.  

  
(III) Firearms-live or simulator exercises and scenarios, firearms 

fundamentals, use of force training or discussions, classroom training 
requiring student interaction and/or decision making, classroom 
discussion on agency policies and/or legal issue. Firearms 
qualification alone is insufficient to meet this mandate.  

  
(e) Agency Maintenance of Training Records  



  
The chief executive of each agency is responsible for the true, accurate and 
verifiable entry of training records into the POST database.   
 
Agencies are encouraged to enter training as it occurs, but shall enter 
training no later than the end of each calendar year for the certified peace 
officers employed at any time during that year, regardless of current 
employment status. This information shall be entered into the POST 
database.  
For in-person courses, agencies are required to keep records of sign-in sheets, 
topics covered, and lesson plans (if they exist).    
  
(I) Waiver of In-Service Requirements  
  

All certified peace officers shall meet the minimum annual hours. 
However, under the circumstances listed below, an agency may 
request a waiver for a portion of the annual in-service training 
requirement. Any waiver of the annual training request must be made 
in writing to the POST Director by January 31st of the following year.  

  
(A) Perishable Skills Waiver  

Agency executives may request an exemption from the 
perishable skills training requirement. This request shall be in 
writing to the POST Director. This request shall state that 
either their certified peace officers do not carry firearms, or they 
infrequently interact with or effect physical arrests, or they do 
not utilize marked or unmarked emergency vehicles as part of 
their normal duties.  

  
(B) Partial Year Employment Waiver  

The 24 hours of in-service training is required if a certified peace 
officer is employed for the entire calendar year. Certified peace 
officers who are employed after the start of the calendar year only 
need to complete a prorated number of training hours. Therefore, 
two hours of training per month, with a minimum of one hour of 
perishable skills training shall be required.  (Example: If a 
certified peace officer is hired in July, 12 hours of training with a 
minimum of six hours of perishable skills training must be 
completed for that calendar year).  

  
(C) Long Term Disability, Medical Leave or Restricted Duty  

If a certified peace officer is unable to complete the in-service 
annual hours due to long term disability, medical leave or 



restricted duty, the agency must obtain a letter from a physician 
stating that participation in any type of training including 
audiovisual or online training would be detrimental to the 
officer’s health.  The letter should define the time that the 
officer is unable to attend any training. Those granted a waiver 
will be on a prorated basis for the time stated in the physician’s  
letter. The agency does not need to forward the physician’s letter 
to POST but only reference it in a waiver request.  

  
(D) Military Leave  

Those certified peace officers deployed in military service only 
need to complete a prorated number of training hours.  

  
(E) Administrative Leave  

If a certified peace officer is unable to complete the in-service 
annual hours due to placement on administrative leave, the 
officer must complete a prorated number of training hours.  

  
(II) Compliance  

  
(A)  Agencies and individual peace officers are required to be in 

compliance with the in-service training requirements. 
  
(1) Agencies 
 

(a)  POST will send out a preliminary compliance 
report following each training period. The report 
will provide the compliance status of each agency 
and its certified peace officers. Agencies shall have 
thirty (30) days from the date of the preliminary 
report to dispute the POST data and provide 
additional training information. Following the 
thirty-day period, POST will distribute the final 
compliance reports to all agencies.  

 
(b) POST may declare an agency noncompliant after 

the final compliance report has been issued if new 
information is discovered.  

 
(c) Once the final compliance report has been sent to 

all agencies; an agency seeking to appeal the POST 
data must do so within thirty (30) days of being 



notified of failure to comply with Rule 28.  Agencies 
may appeal this by following the process outlined in 
Rule 5, Hearings.  Upon conclusion of all appeal 
hearings POST will issue a final report indicating 
whether the agency was found in compliance.   

 
(d)  If upon the final decision by POST the agency was 

found not compliant, such a finding shall constitute 
a basis for the board to levy an administrative 
sanction.  

 
(2) Individual peace officers   

 
(a) POST will send out a preliminary compliance 

report following each training period. The report 
will provide an individual peace officer’s compliance 
status. Individuals shall have thirty (30) days from 
the date of the preliminary report to dispute the 
POST data and/or complete the training 
requirements.  
 

(b) Individual peace officers failing to satisfactorily 
complete the training requirements within the 30 
day period shall have their POST certification 
suspended by POST staff, until such time as they 
come into compliance. If an individual peace officer 
is suspended, the peace officer may appeal the 
suspension within thirty (30) days, as provided in 
rule 5(c). 
 

(c) Failure to satisfactorily complete POST training 
requirements may result in a recommendation by 
the Director to the Board for revocation of the 
individual’s POST certification, or other 
administrative sanction.   

  
(III) The POST Board shall evaluate the program annually following the release of 
 the final compliance reports. Such evaluation will include a review and 
 evaluation of the program. The evaluation may be based on the compliance 
 rate, agency survey and other performance metrics. 
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