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DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
 
FEES FOR TESTING AND FOR ISSUANCE OF RECORDS, LICENSES, PERMITS, AND 
IDENTIFICATION DOCUMENTS BY THE COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 
1 CCR 204-30 Rule 17 
 
[Editor’s Notes follow the text of the rules at the end of this CCR Document.] 

 

 
 
BASIS, PURPOSE and STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
 
The purpose of this rule is to establish fees collected by the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor 
Vehicles for testing, and for issuance of records, licenses, permits, and identification documents. The 
statutory bases for this regulation are sections: 24-4-103, 24-72.1-103, 42-1-206 (2), 42-2-107, 42-2-114, 
42-2-114.5, 42-2-117, 42-2-118, 42-2-127.7, 42-2-133, 42-2-306, 42-2-406 and 42-2-508, C.R.S. 
 
 
(100) DEFINITIONS 
 
CDL:  Commercial Driver’s License 
 
CO-RCSA:  Colorado Road and Community Safety Act, Title 42, Article 2, Part 5 of the C.R.S. 
 
C.R.S.:  Colorado Revised Statutes 
 
Department:  Colorado Department of Revenue 
 
Driver’s License:  A driver’s license, minor driver’s license, or instruction permit. 
 
Identification Card:  For the purpose of this rule, a document issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles or 
its equivalent that contains the applicant’s full legal name, full facial digital photograph, date of birth, and 
gender, but does not confer the right to operate a motor vehicle. 
 
 
(200) APPLICABILITY 
 
This Rule applies to specific drivers’ license fees collected on or after the effective date of this rule. 
 
 
(300) FEES 
 
 
a) The fee for a driving record under section 42-1-206 (2) C.R.S. is two dollars and fifty cents 

($2.50). 
 
b) The fee for a certified driving record under section 42-1-206 (2) C.R.S. is thee dollars ($3.00). 
 
c) The application fee for an instruction permit under section 42-2-107 C.R.S. is sixteen dollars and 

seventy five cents ($16.75). 
 
d) The fee for a driver's license or minor driver's license under section 42-2-114(2) (a) or (4) (a), 

C.R.S. respectively, is twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 
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e) The fee for retaking either of the following examinations under section 42-2-114 (2) (e) C.R.S. is: 

(i) knowledge test - eleven dollars and fifty cents ($11.50); and 
(ii) demonstration of skills ability - fifteen dollars ($15.00). 

 
f) The fee for a duplicate permit or minor driver's license under section 42-2-117 (1) C.R.S. is: 

(i) nine dollars ($9.00) for the first duplicate; and 
(ii) sixteen dollars ($16.00) for subsequent duplicates. 

 
g) The fee for a driver's license extension under section 42-2-118 (1) (b) (I) C.R.S. is three dollars 

and fifty cents ($3.50). 
 
h) The fee for the return of a license under section 42-2-127.7 (4) (b) (II) C.R.S. is five dollars 

($5.00). 
 
i) The fee for a replacement of a surrendered license under section 42-2-133 (2) C.R.S. is five 

dollars ($5.00). 
 
j) The fee for issuing or renewing an identification card under section 42-2-306 (1) (a) C.R.S. is 

twelve dollars ($12.00). 
 
k) The fee for reissuance of an identification card that has been cancelled or denied under section 

42-2-306 (1) (b) C.R.S. is twenty dollars ($20.00). 
 
l) The fee for issuance of a commercial driver's license by the Department under section 42-2-406 

(1) and (2) C.R.S. is thirty-five dollars ($35.00). 
 
m) The fee for the Department’s administration of a driving test for licensing a commercial driver, 

under section 42-2-406 (3) (b) C.R.S., is one hundred dollars ($100.00). 
 
n) The annual license fee for a commercial driver’s license testing unit‘s license, under section 42-2-

406 (4) C.R.S., is: 
(i) three hundred dollars ($300.00) for the initial license; and 
(ii) one hundred dollars ($100.00) for each subsequent annual license renewal. 

 
o) The annual license fee for commercial driver’s license driving tester’s license, under section 42-2-

406 (5) C.R.S., is: 
(i) one hundred dollars ($100.00) for the initial license; and 
(ii) fifty dollars ($50.00) for each subsequent annual license renewal. 

 
p) The fee for issuing an identification document under the CO-RCSA, is: 

(i) driver’s license or minor driver’s license - fifty dollars and fifty cents ($50.50); 
(ii) permit - fourteen dollars ($14.00); and 
(iii) identification card - fourteen dollars ($14.00). 
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