DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES
DIVISION OF REAL ESTATE
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
4CCR 725-1

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING HEARING
December 6, 2011

RULE B. CONTINUING EDUCATION

Pursuant to and in compliance with Title 12, Article 61 and Title 24, Article 4, C.R.S. as amended,
notice of proposed rulemaking is hereby given, including notice to the Attorney General of the
State of Colorado and to all persons who have requested to be advised of the intention of the
Colorado Real Estate Commission (the “Commission”) to promulgate rules, or to amend, repeal
or repeal and re-enact the present rules of the Commission.

STATEMENT OF BASIS

The statutory basis for the rules titled Rules of the Colorado Real Estate Commission is Part 1 of
Title 12, Article 61, Colorado Revised Statutes, as amended.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

The purpose of this rule is to effectuate the legislative directive to promulgate necessary and
appropriate rules in conformity with the state statutes of the real estate practice act.

SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF THIS RULEMAKING

The specific purpose of this rule is to amend or repeal existing rules with respect to requirements
for continuing education for real estate brokers.

Proposed New, Amended and Repealed Rules

Rule B. Continuing Education
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The Commission has determined that the license renewal process can be made more efficient by
apportioning license renewals throughout the entire calendar year. Brokers must satisfy the
continuing education requirements prior to applying to renew an active license, to activate an
inactive license or to reinstate an expired license to active status. All license renewals shall be
for a full three-year period called the “anniversary date renewal period”. This period shall
commence on the broker’s initial date of issuance, i.e. the anniversary date, and expire three
years later on the broker’s anniversary date.

B-3. Annual Commission Update course standards.

(a) Pursuant to 12-61-110.5(2), C.R.S. and Rule B-2(a), the 4-hour “Annual Commission Update”
course shall be developed and presented by the Division of Real Estate and furnished to
approved providers. Said course shall be presented without additional development by the
provider or instructor.

(b) Any provider specified in commission rule B-6(a) or B-7(a) may request and offer the “Annual
Commission Update” course. All other providers must apply annually for approval to offer the
course using the commission-approved form and procedures in commission rule B-12, except
that the course outline (B-12(a)) and course exam (B-12(b)) will be furnished by the
Commission.

(c) Each active licensed broker must complete the “Annual Commission Update” course by
achieving a passing score of 70% on a written or on-line course examination developed by
the Commission. The Commission shall provide multiple course examinations for successive
use by licensed brokers failing the end-of-course examination.

B-8. Administrative rules for continuing education courses.
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The following course format and administrative requirements apply to all Colorado continuing real
estate education for licensed brokers:

(a) Courses must be at least 1 hour in length, containing at least 50 instructional minutes.

(b) A maximum of 8 hours of credit may be earned per day.

(c) No course may be repeated for credit in the same calendar year.

(d) Instructors may receive credit for classroom teaching hours once per course taught per
year.

(e) Hours in excess of 24 may not be carried forward to satisfy a subsequent renewal
requirement.

(f) No school/provider may waive, excuse completion of, or award partial credit for the full
number of course hours.

(9) No challenge exam or equivalency may substitute for the full course outline.

(h) No credit may be earned for remedial education stipulated to between a licensed broker
and the Commission as part of a disciplinary action, or alternative to disciplinary action.

(i) No course offering by a provider will be accepted unless the provider has either been
granted a certificate of approval by the Colorado Department of Higher Education,
Division of Private Occupational Schools, or is exempt from such requirement pursuant to
12-59-104, C.R.S.

() Courses approved for continuing education must maintain and improve a broker’s skill,
knowledge, and competency in real estate practice.

Each approved provider must retain copies of course outlines or syllabi and complete records of
attendance for a period of four (4) years, and provide the records to the Commission upon
request.

A hearing on the above subject matter will be held on Tuesday, December 6, 2011, at the
Colorado Division of Real Estate, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1250C, Denver, Colorado 80202
beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Any interested person may participate in the rule making through submission of written data,
views and arguments to the Division of Real Estate. Persons are requested to submit data, views
and arguments to the Division of Real Estate in writing no less than ten (10) days prior to the
hearing date and time set forth above. However, all data, views and arguments submitted prior to
or at the rulemaking hearing or prior to the closure of the rulemaking record (if different from the
date and time of hearing), shall be considered.

Please be advised that the rule being considered is subject to further changes and modifications
after public comment and formal hearing.
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