# COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT DIVISION OF LABOR

## NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING CONCERNING COLORADO MINIMUM WAGE ORDER NUMBER 32

Notice is hereby given of a public hearing to afford all interested persons an opportunity to be heard prior to the adoption of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32, 7 CCR 1103-1 under the authority granted the Division of Labor in § 8-1-107(2)(p), § 8-6-106, § 8-6-108(2), § 8-6-109, C.R.S. (2015).

Date and Time of Hearing:	Monday, November 9, 2015, at 2:00 p.m.
Place of Hearing:	Colorado Department of Labor Division of Labor 633 17 <sup>th</sup> Street, Second Floor, Suite 200 Denver, CO 80202

This hearing will be held in accordance with the provisions of the Colorado Administrative Procedures Act, § 24-4-101, et seq., C.R.S. (2015), to receive any testimony, written data, views, or arguments which interested parties may wish to submit regarding the proposed rules.

## Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32:

It is proposed, in accordance with Article XVIII, Section 15, of the Colorado Constitution, that the Director of the Division of Labor adopt Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32, 7 CCR 1103-1, to reflect the new state minimum wage.

Pursuant to Article XVIII, Section 15, of the Colorado Constitution, Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32 will establish a new state minimum wage of \$8.31 per hour.

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32 differs from the current Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 31 in the state minimum wage.

Copies of the proposed sets of rules shall be available at least five days before the hearing at <u>www.coloradolaborlaw.gov</u> or:

Colorado Division of Labor 633 17<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 200 Denver, Colorado 80202

To ensure sufficient time for consideration prior to adopting final rules, comments must be provided to the Division by the close of business on Monday, November 9, 2015. Comments will be accepted at any time prior to the hearing.

Comments may be delivered by mail, faxed to 303-318-8400, or emailed to <u>Elizabeth.Funk@state.co.us</u>.

# Comment Deadline: Monday, November 9, 2015

#### STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE

#### COLORADO MINIMUM WAGE ORDER NUMBER 32 7 CCR 1103-1

**BASIS:** § 8-1-107(2)(p), § 8-6-106, § 8-6-108(2), and § 8-6-109 C.R.S. (2015), provide the Director of the Division of Labor with the authority to adopt rules and regulations pertaining to state minimum wage rates and workplace conditions.

**PURPOSE:** The purpose of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32 is to reflect the new state minimum wage of \$8.31 per hour. The new state minimum wage is required by Article XVIII, Section 15 of the Colorado Constitution, which provides:

Section 15. State minimum wage rate.

Effective January 1, 2007, Colorado's minimum wage shall be increased to \$6.85 per hour and shall be adjusted annually for inflation, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for Colorado. This minimum wage shall be paid to employees who receive the state or federal minimum wage. No more than \$3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of employees who regularly receive tips.

Pursuant to § 24-4-103(4)(b), C.R.S. (2015), the Director finds that: 1) there is a demonstrated need for the rules; 2) the proper statutory authority exists for the rules; 3) to the extent practicable, the rules are clearly stated so that their meaning will be understood by any party required to comply with the rules; 4) the rules do not conflict with other provisions of law; and 5) the duplicating or overlapping of the rules is explained by the agency proposing the rules.