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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
MARIJUANA ENFORCEMENT DIVISION 

Emergency Rule Adoption 

Amended Rules, 1 CCR 212-3 

Rule 1-105 – Engaging in Business 

Rule 2-205 – Fees 

Rule 2-225 – Renewal Application Requirements  

Rule 2-260 – Changing, Altering, or Modifying Licensed Premises  

Rule 2-265 – Owner Employee License: License Requirements, Applications, Qualifications, and 
Privileges 

Rule 3-345 – Emergency Allowances, Restrictions, and Requirements in Response to COVID-19  

Rule 3-605 – All Regulated Marijuana Businesses 

Statement of Emergency Justification and Adoption 

Pursuant to sections 24-4-103 and 44-10-203, C.R.S., I, Heidi Humphreys, Deputy Executive Director of 
the Department of Revenue and State Licensing Authority, hereby adopt the Colorado Marijuana Rules, 
which are attached hereto.  

Section 24-4-103(6), C.R.S., authorizes the State Licensing Authority to issue an emergency rule if the 
State Licensing Authority finds that the immediate adoption of the rule is imperatively necessary to comply 
with state law, or for the preservation of public health, safety, or welfare, and compliance with the 
requirements of section 24-4-103, C.R.S., would be contrary to the public interest. I find: (1) the immediate 
adoption of these revised rules is necessary to comply with the constitutional and statutory mandates of 
the Colorado Marijuana Code, sections 44-10-101 et seq., C.R.S.; (2) the immediate adoption of these 
revised rules is necessary to preserve the public health, safety, and welfare; and (3) compliance with the 
notice and public hearing requirements of section 24-4-103, C.R.S., would be contrary to the public 
interest.  

Statutory Authority  

The statutory authority for the attached rules is identified in the statement of basis and purpose preceding 
each rule. Statutory authority for these rules includes but is not limited to section 44-10-203(1)(f), 44-10-
203(1)(j), 44-10-203(2)(a), 44-10-203(2)(c), 44-10-203(2)(e), 44-10-203(2)(h), 44-10-203(2)(i), 44-10-
203(2)(w), C.R.S.  

Purpose 

The purpose of the revisions to these rules on an emergency basis is as follows: 

Emergency Rules in Response to COVID-19 

▪ On March 11, 2020, the Governor issued Executive Order D 2020 003 “Declaring a Disaster 
Emergency Due to the Presence of Coronavirus Disease 2019 in Colorado.” Executive Order D 
2020 018, signed on March 26, 2020, Executive Order D 2020 032, signed on April 8, 2020, 
Executive Order D 2020 058, signed on May 7, 2020, and Executive Order D 2020 076, signed on 
May 22, 2020, amended and extended Executive Order D 2020 003. 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1szJfU9WF36-lCVgRhXMAnJdlQyTSG83e/view
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1szJfU9WF36-lCVgRhXMAnJdlQyTSG83e/view
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20058%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20Distaster%20Order.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20076%20Extending%20Disaster%20Order%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1szJfU9WF36-lCVgRhXMAnJdlQyTSG83e/view
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1szJfU9WF36-lCVgRhXMAnJdlQyTSG83e/view
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20032%20Extending%20D%202020%20003.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20058%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20Distaster%20Order.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20076%20Extending%20Disaster%20Order%20D%202020%20003.pdf
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▪ On March 20, 2020 the Governor Issued Executive Order D 2020 011 “Ordering the Temporary 
Suspension of Certain Regulatory Statutes Due to the Presence of COVID-19” suspending section 
44-10-601(7) prohibiting Retail Marijuana Stores from conducting online sales. Executive Order D 
2020 029, signed on April 6, 2020, Executive Order D 2020 052, signed on April 30, 2020, and 
Executive Order D 2020 084, signed on May 29, 2020, amended and extended Executive Order D 
2020 011. 

▪ On March 25, 2020, the Governor issued Executive Order D 2020 015 “Authorizing the Executive 
Directors of Certain State Agencies to Promulgate and Issue Emergency Rules Extending the 
Expiration Date of Licenses and Other Documents Due to the Presence of COVID-19” providing a 
thirty-day extension for Regulated Marijuana Business licenses expiring between March 25 and 
April 25, 2020. Executive Order D 2020 042, signed on April 23, 2020, amended and extended 
Executive Order 2020 015, providing a second thirty-day extension for licenses expiring between 
April 23, 2020 and May 23, 2020. On May 22, 2020, the governor issued Executive Order D 2020 
075 which amended and extended Executive Order D 2020 015 and Executive Order D 2020 042, 
providing a third thirty-day extension. 

The Emergency Rules seek to limit exposure to and mitigate harm caused by COVID-19, by allowing 
Regulated Marijuana Businesses to implement “social distancing” and related measures consistent with 
guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Colorado Department of Public Health and 
Environment and by allowing a thirty-day extension for the renewal of licenses. For the reasons described 
above, the State Licensing Authority adopted the Emergency Rules, 1 CCR 212-3, on June 5, 2020.  

While these Emergency Rules provide another thirty-day extension for Regulated Marijuana Business 
Licensees and Owner Licensees to submit their renewals, Licensees subject to this extension are still 
encouraged to file their renewals as soon as possible to ensure timely submission and to minimize 
application processing delays. Please visit the Marijuana Enforcement Division’s website for guidance 
regarding renewal application submission options. Further, please be advised that although the deadline 
to file a renewal application may have been extended by Emergency Rules, the renewed license 
will still expire one year from the original expiration date, not one year from the renewal date.  

Emergency Rules Regarding Reinstatement of Regulated Marijuana Business Licenses 

In addition to the Emergency Rules that seek to limit exposure and mitigate harm caused by COVID-19, 
these rules further extend emergency rules enacted on February 7, 2020 (SOS 2020-0062) which provided 
for the reinstatement of an expired Regulated Marijuana Business license in certain circumstances. Under 
previous law, statute1 provided licensees a 90-day period following the expiration of a license within which 
to submit a renewal application; however, Senate Bill 19-224 amended this provision to eliminate this 90-
day period. Therefore, the statute now provides any license which is not renewed prior to the expiration 
date, is immediately invalid.  

During and following the Marijuana Enforcement Division’s 2019 permanent rulemaking session, the 
Division took steps to alert Licensees of this upcoming change and restriction on licensees’ ability to 
operate following the expiration of a license. However, neither the Division nor the regulated marijuana 
industry identified how the change in law would impact Retail Marijuana Business licenses in a disparate 
manner compared to Medical Marijuana Business licenses, and the related public health, safety, and 
welfare concerns. Further, the emergency rules adopted under SOS 2020-0062 will expire pursuant to the 
state Administrative Procedure Act on June 6, 2020. In anticipation of adopting the emergency 
reinstatement rule permanently through the Division’s permanent rulemaking process, the Emergency 
Rules re-adopt those provisions to provide consistency for licensees between June and the effective date 
of permanent rules.  

 

 
1 SB 19-224 repealed the previous Medical Marijuana Code, sections 44-11-101 et seq., C.R.S., and Retail Marijuana 
Code, sections 44-12-101 et seq., C.R.S., and replaced them with the Colorado Marijuana Code. The license renewal 
statutory provisions in both the Medical Marijuana Code and the Retail Marijuana Code was substantively the same, 
each allowing for the 90-day grace period within which a Regulated Marijuana Business could submit a renewal 
application. 

https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20011%20Ordering%20the%20Temporary%20Suspension%20of%20Certain%20Regulatory%20Statutes_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20011%20Ordering%20the%20Temporary%20Suspension%20of%20Certain%20Regulatory%20Statutes_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20052%20Ext%20of%20D%202020%20011%20and%20D%202020%20029.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20084%20Regulatory%20Statutes%20Extension.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20015%20Extending%20the%20Expiration%20Date%20of%20Licenses%20and%20Other%20Documents_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20015%20Extending%20the%20Expiration%20Date%20of%20Licenses%20and%20Other%20Documents_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20042%20Extending%20015.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20042%20Extending%20015.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20075%20Licensure.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20075%20Licensure.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/enforcement/med-licensing
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20011%20Ordering%20the%20Temporary%20Suspension%20of%20Certain%20Regulatory%20Statutes_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20011%20Ordering%20the%20Temporary%20Suspension%20of%20Certain%20Regulatory%20Statutes_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20029%20Amending%20and%20Extending%20D%202020%20011_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20052%20Ext%20of%20D%202020%20011%20and%20D%202020%20029.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20084%20Regulatory%20Statutes%20Extension.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20015%20Extending%20the%20Expiration%20Date%20of%20Licenses%20and%20Other%20Documents_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20015%20Extending%20the%20Expiration%20Date%20of%20Licenses%20and%20Other%20Documents_0.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20042%20Extending%20015.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20042%20Extending%20015.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20075%20Licensure.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/governor/sites/default/files/inline-files/D%202020%20075%20Licensure.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/enforcement/med-licensing
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Effective Date of Emergency Rules and Permanent Rulemaking 

The attached Emergency Rules are effective immediately upon adoption. 

Unless otherwise noted in the Emergency Rule provision, the attached Emergency Rules remain in effect 
pursuant to section 24-4-103(6), C.R.S., of the state Administrative Procedure Act, for 120 days from the 
date of adoption, or until repealed by the State Licensing Authority upon filing of a notice of such with the 
Secretary of State. 

The State Licensing Authority will monitor national and statewide updates to evaluate whether additional 
public health guidance or directives requires the re-adoption of the aforementioned Emergency Rules 
and/or the initiation of permanent rulemaking proceedings for such rules. 

  

 

 

 
               
Heidi Humphreys       Date 
Deputy Executive Director/Chief Operating Officer 
Colorado Department of Revenue 
State Licensing Authority  

Heidi Humphreys (Jun 5, 2020 09:48 MDT) 06/05/20
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