
Decision No. C20-0899 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

PROCEEDING NO. 20R-0537EG 

IN THE MATTER OF EMERGENCY RULES MODIFYING COST RECOVERY FOR  

LOW-INCOME PROGRAMS OFFERED BY ELECTRIC AND NATURAL GAS UTILITIES 

PURSUANT TO 4 CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 723-3-3412 AND 723-4-4412. 

COMMISSION DECISION ADOPTING EMERGENCY 

RULES 

Mailed Date:   December 16, 2020 

Adopted Date: December 16, 2020 

I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. By this Decision, we adopt emergency rules to amend the Commission’s Rules 

Regulating Electric Utilities, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-3 (Electric Rules) and 

Rules Regulating Gas Utilities and Pipeline Operators, 4 CCR 723-4 (Gas Rules). The 

emergency rules revise Electric Rule 3412 and Gas Rule 4412 as they relate to cost recovery 

associated with income-based Percentage of Income Payment Plan (PIPP) Programs offered by 

regulated utilities, thus allowing for immediate PIPP Program expansion.  

2. This rulemaking satisfies the requirements of § 24-4-103(6)(a), C.R.S.  Given the 

ongoing novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic that is driving economic and employment 

challenges, and the critical nature of energy for health, welfare and safety, we find it imperatively 

necessary to increase the cap for the allowable surcharge that utilities may assess all customers 

from $0.31 to $1.00 in order to provide targeted low-income residential bill assistance.  

Increasing the cap for this surcharge through emergency rule allows utilities whose PIPP 
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Programs are currently budget-constrained to expand their available programs in time to provide 

relief to income-qualified customers this heating season, when the need is greatest. 

3. These emergency rules are effective for the earlier of 210 days from the effective 

date of this decision, or until the Commission issues permanent rules replacing these emergency 

rules. See § 40-2-108(2), C.R.S.  

B. Discussion 

4. Electric Rule 3412 and Gas Rule 4412 require regulated utilities to provide energy 

assistance to low-income customers as defined by § 40-3-106, C.R.S.  Per statute, eligible low-

income customers are those who have a household income at or below 185 percent of the current 

federal poverty level (FPL) and who otherwise meet the eligibility criteria set forth in 

Department of Human Services rules adopted pursuant to § 40-8.5-105, C.R.S.  For practical 

purposes, and based on Electric Rule 3412(c) and Gas Rule 4412(c), customers are automatically 

enrolled in PIPP Programs after they are enrolled in the Low-Income Energy Assistance Program 

(LEAP), which is administered by the Colorado Department of Human Services.  To enroll in 

LEAP, customers must demonstrate their prior 30 days’ income and information regarding their 

citizenship or legal residency status. 

5. Under Electric Rule 3412(e) and Gas Rule 4412(e), PIPP Programs include two 

important components:  an affordable payment plan and a process for providing arrearage 

credits.  The affordable payment plan applies to forward-looking bills.  PIPP Program 

participants’ bills are reduced to an “affordable percentage of income,” which varies depending 

on primary heating fuel, but is generally two to six percent.  The arrearage credits apply to 

backward-looking debts.  Utilities must allow PIPP Program participants to reduce their 

arrearages to $0.00 over not more than 24 months based on receiving regular bill payments. 
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6. PIPP Programs are funded by a surcharge on customers’ bills that varies by 

customer class, pursuant to Electric Rule 3412(g) and Gas Rule 4412(g).  Residential customers 

pay a fixed fee that is currently capped at $0.31 per month.  Costs are allocated to other rate 

classes based on their share of test year revenue requirements established in the utility’s last 

Phase II rate case, or through another reasonable, quantifiable methodology.  Revenues collected 

under these fees may fund program credits for current usage, program credits to reduce pre-

existing arrearages, program administrative costs (which are capped), and program evaluation 

costs. 

7. Colorado has been in a state of disaster emergency due to COVID-19 since March 

11, 2020. Governor’s Executive Orders have directed the Commission to “work with all public 

utilities to develop and provide payment assistance programs to aid customers, particularly 

customers qualified for the Low Income Energy Assistance Program, in the payment of their 

utility bills, related to the impacts of COVID-19.”1  These directives have continued to the 

present time.2  

8. Colorado continues to see an increase in reported COVID-19 cases.  According to 

the Colorado Department of Public Health and the Environment, about 150,000 positive 

COVID-19 cases were reported to the state in the month of November 2020.3 

9. Colorado unemployment levels have increased significantly since the beginning 

of 2020 and unemployment may continue to increase because personal and commercial 

bankruptcies may lag in a recession.  Furthermore, approximately 60,000 Coloradans are 

                                                 
1 Governor’s Executive Order D 2020 012 dated March 20, 2020.  
2 Governor’s Executive Order D 2020 270 dated December 3, 2020.  
3 https://covid19.colorado.gov/data (last visited December 10, 2020). 

https://covid19.colorado.gov/data
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expected to face expiration of unemployment benefits that were extended under the CARES Act 

at the end of the year.4  

10. Utilities and the Commission have taken steps to respond to COVID-19, including 

the suspension of late payment fees and disconnection or reconnection fees5 and customer 

outreach to notify customers of payment plan and bill assistance options to avoid larger arrears or 

discontinuance of service.6  By Decision No. R20-0664-I in Proceeding No. 20M-0267EG, issued 

September 16, 2020, the Commission required regulated utilities to submit information on 

arrears and disconnections on a monthly basis.  Information submitted demonstrates that most 

utilities are experiencing significant increases in both the number of residential customers in 

arrears and the amount of active arrears. 

11. At this time, most regulated utilities have resumed issuing notices of 

disconnections, and are believed to be conducting field disconnections.  Regulated utilities have 

voluntarily adjusted the terms under which they are disconnecting customers to raise the 

thresholds for past-due bills that are subject to disconnection.  However, as of September 30, 

2020, per the reports submitted in Proceeding No. 20M-0267EG on October 15, 2020, 

approximately 15,000 residential customers were eligible for disconnection of electric or gas 

service, or both, unless they were able to pay past-due bills, receive bill assistance, or enter 

payment plans. 

12. Pursuant to Electric Rule 3412(k) and Gas Rule 4412(k), on October 13, 2020, the 

Evaluation of the Percentage of Income Payment Plans Final Report, prepared by ADM Energy 

                                                 
4 https://www.cpr.org/2020/11/29/unemployment-and-housing-benefits-are-expiring-colorado-will-try-to-

stop-the-bleeding-with-a-modest-stimulus/  
5 See, e.g., Proceeding Nos. 20V-0133G; 20V-0150EG; 20V-0152G; 20V-0154E; 20V-0158G. 
6 See generally Proceeding No. 20M-0267EG. 

https://www.cpr.org/2020/11/29/unemployment-and-housing-benefits-are-expiring-colorado-will-try-to-stop-the-bleeding-with-a-modest-stimulus/
https://www.cpr.org/2020/11/29/unemployment-and-housing-benefits-are-expiring-colorado-will-try-to-stop-the-bleeding-with-a-modest-stimulus/
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Research and Evaluation (Triennial Report) was submitted into Proceeding No. 20M-0013EG. 

On October 28, 2020, the Commission held a Commissioners’ Information Meeting (CIM) 

regarding the Triennial Report. This CIM also included presentations from the Colorado LEAP 

program and Energy Outreach Colorado (EOC) which were posted on the Commission website. 

13. The Triennial Report found that two utilities, Black Hills Colorado Electric 

(BHCE), and Colorado Natural Gas (CNG), are at the current maximum $0.31 per month 

funding fee. BHCE has a wait list for its program, meaning it cannot serve all the customers who 

would otherwise qualify for low income energy assistance.7  The Triennial Report recommended 

that BHCE increase its monthly residential surcharge by $0.54, to $0.85, to fully fund its waitlist, 

based on the 2018/2019 program year period.8  While CNG does not have a wait list, CNG does 

have a practice of providing a one-time low-income energy assistance payment to each qualified 

customer rather than monthly payments.  If CNG receives an increase in applications, the ability 

of the program to serve all customers who qualify could be at risk. 

14. At the CIM, EOC, which serves people with energy assistance needs through a 

variety of programs, reported that applications are up 25 percent compared to the same time last 

year.9  EOC reported that 48 of 64 Colorado counties are underfunded for bill assistance and that 

it anticipates liquidating 25 percent of its reserves to maintain 2018-2019 funding levels in 

2020-2021, but is likely to run out of energy assistance funding in Spring 2021.10  LEAP reported 

                                                 
7 Proceeding No. 20M-0013EG, ADM Energy Research and Evaluation, Evaluation of the Percentage of 

Income Payment Plans Final Report (October 13, 2020), at p. 53. 
8 Id. at line labeled “additional monthly charge per residential customer.” 
9 Energy Outreach Colorado, Triennial Review of Utility IQ Programs, Commissioners’ Information 

Meeting (October 28, 2020), available at https://drive.google.com/file/d/1e-

vee8HLxr5htLJHbyuqKleg7Smj3Z20/view. 
10 Id.  

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1e-vee8HLxr5htLJHbyuqKleg7Smj3Z20/view
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1e-vee8HLxr5htLJHbyuqKleg7Smj3Z20/view
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an increase in applications of 15 percent for program year 2019-2020 over program year 

2018-2019.11 

15. In October 2020, the National Consumer Law Center submitted to the 

Commission a report titled “Utility Bill Affordability in Colorado: Reforms to Protect 

Low-Income Consumers from Increasing Rates” (Affordability Report).12 The Affordability 

Report explains that the current $0.31 residential bill impact “is far less than the residential bill 

impacts in states with large-scale, comprehensive bill affordability programs,” and recommends 

that regulated utilities implement a fee of $1.00 per month in order to increase funding for PIPP 

Programs.13 

C. Findings and Conclusions 

16. The Commission may adopt emergency temporary rules without engaging in the 

processes required for a permanent rule if the agency finds that “immediate adoption of the rule 

is imperatively necessary to comply with a state or federal law or federal regulation or for the 

preservation of public health, safety, or welfare and compliance with [permanent rulemaking] 

requirements . . . would be contrary to the public interest.” § 24-4-103(6)(a), C.R.S.  For the 

reasons stated below, we find that immediate adoption of these emergency rules is imperatively 

necessary to provide for the health, safety and welfare of the public.  

17. Access to energy is critical in a period in which Coloradans are being encouraged 

to stay home for health and safety reasons.  Residents rely on electricity and natural gas in order 

to safely and comfortably work from home or educate their children from home. 

                                                 
11 Colorado Department of Human Services, Low-Income Energy Assistance Programs, Commissioners’ 

Information Meeting (October 28, 2020), available at  

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m6CcAA54uhUBHhAUxuSACSAJZOwQtC44/view. 
12 Proceeding No. 20M-0267EG, Decision No. R20-0842-I, issued December 7, 2020, Attachment A. 
13 Id. at 21-24. 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m6CcAA54uhUBHhAUxuSACSAJZOwQtC44/view
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18. Energy assistance allows Coloradans who qualify as low income not to have to 

choose between basic needs or paying their utility bill.  Utility-run PIPP programs are a vital part 

of energy affordability for many low-income Coloradans. These emergency rules will increase 

the number of low-income Coloradans who can be assisted by these programs and will help 

ensure that low-income energy assistance programs continue to provide assistance to those who 

need it this winter and spring. 

19. We find that increasing the maximum allowed impact on residential rates to $1.00 

is consistent with recommendations in the Triennial Report and Affordability Report and should 

provide sufficient funding to expand PIPP programs to customers on program waitlists and some 

customers who have recently become eligible for the programs or who will become eligible this 

heating season.  

20. The heating season and LEAP application season began on November 1, 2020.  

We find that the time necessary to conduct a permanent rulemaking on this issue would result in 

Coloradans who qualify as low-income pursuant to Commission Rules and § 40-3-106, C.R.S., 

being denied low-income energy assistance.  Therefore, we find that immediate adoption of 

emergency rules to authorize utilities to increase the cap on the residential surcharge from $0.31 

to $1.00 per month in order to expand PIPP Programs this heating season is imperatively 

necessary to preserve public health, safety, and welfare, and that complying with the longer 

permanent rulemaking timeline provided by § 24-4-103, C.R.S., would be contrary to the public 

interest.  We will consider engaging in a permanent rulemaking to address appropriate residential 

bill impact levels for long-term sustainability and cost recovery for low-income programs, as 

well as take into account recommendations from the recently completed Triennial Review. 
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21. We therefore adopt emergency rules modifying cost recovery for low income 

programs offered by electric and natural gas utilities.  These emergency rules modify the 

maximum residential bill impact allowed in Electric Rule 3412(g)(II)(B) and Gas Rule 

4412(g)(II)(B) from $0.31 to $1.00 to allow as many Coloradans as possible access to energy 

assistance during the 2020-2021 program year. 

22. The emergency rules shall become effective immediately and shall remain in 

effect until permanent rules become effective or for 210 days, whichever period is less. 

23. The emergency rules for electric utilities 4 CCR 723-3 in legislative 

(strikeout/underline) format and the emergency rules in final version format (Attachments A and 

B) and the emergency rules for gas utilities 4 CCR 723-4 in legislative (strikeout/underline) 

format and the emergency rules in final version format (Attachments C and D) are available 

through the Commission’s E-Filings system14 at:  

https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.Show_Docket?p_session_id=&p_docket_

id=20R-0537EG 

 

24. Electric or natural gas utilities seeking to file a revised advice letter and tariff in 

response to these rules shall do so as soon as practicable, on not less than two business days’ 

notice.  We expect utilities which are currently unable to serve all low-income customers who 

have qualified through the LEAP application under their existing fee surcharge will promptly file 

a revised advice letter and tariff with an increased surcharge up to $1.00 to serve as many 

qualified low-income customers as possible. We encourage regulated utilities to consider the 

likelihood that demand for these PIPP Programs will continue to increase as the COVID-19 

                                                 
14 From the Electronic Filings (E-Filings) system page 

(https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.homepage), the rules can be accessed by selecting “Search” and entering 

this proceeding number (20R-0537EG) in the “Proceeding Number” box and then selecting “Search”.   

https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.Show_Docket?p_session_id=&p_docket_id=20R-0537EG
https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.Show_Docket?p_session_id=&p_docket_id=20R-0537EG
https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.homepage
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pandemic continues, and to file their advice letter with an appropriate increase.  We also 

encourage utilities to consider additional customer outreach to inform low-income customers 

who may not be familiar with the utility’s PIPP Program of the Program’s existence. 

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. The rules in final version format available in this proceeding through the 

Commission’s E-Filings system are hereby adopted as emergency rules consistent with the 

discussion above. 

2. The emergency rules shall be effective on the mailed date of this Decision. 

3. Electric or natural gas utilities seeking to increase their currently assessed 

residential monthly surcharge for low-income residential bill assistance shall file, in a new 

proceeding, an advice letter and tariff in response to these rules, shall do so as soon as 

practicable, and on not less than two business days’ notice. 

4. The 20-day period provided in § 40-6-114, C.R.S., within which to file 

applications for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration, begins on the first day following the 

effective date of this Decision. 

5. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date. 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 

December 16, 2020. 
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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES 

Public Utilities Commission 

4 CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS (CCR) 723-3 

PART 3 
RULES REGULATING ELECTRIC UTILITIES 

      

3412. Electric Service Low-Income Program. 

Electric Service Low-Income Program. 

(a) Scope and applicability.  

(I) Electric utilities with Colorado retail customers shall provide low-income energy 
assistance by offering rates, charges, and services that grant a reasonable preference or 
advantage to residential low-income customers, as permitted by § 40-3-106, C.R.S. 

(II) Rule 3412 is applicable to investor-owned electric utilities subject to rate regulation by the 
Commission. 

(b) Definitions.  The following definitions apply only in the context of rule 3412.  In the event of a 
conflict between these definitions and a statutory definition, the statutory definition shall apply. 

(I) “Administrative cost” means the utility’s direct cost for labor (to include the cost of benefit 
loadings), materials, and other verifiable expenditures directly related to the 
administration and operation of the program not to exceed ten percent of the total cost of 
program credits applied against bills for current usage and pre-existing arrearages or 
$10,000, whichever amount is greater. 

(II) “Affordable percentage of income payment” means the amount of the participant’s annual 
bill deemed affordable under subparagraph 3412(e)(I). 

(III) “Arrearage” means the past-due amount appearing, as of the date on which a participant 
newly enters the program, on the then most recent prior bill rendered to a participant for 
which they received the benefit of service. 

(IV) “Colorado Energy Office” means the Colorado Energy Office created in § 24-38.5-101, 
C.R.S.  

(V) “Eligible low-income customer” means a residential utility customer who meets the 
household income thresholds pursuant to paragraph 3412(c). 
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(VI) “Fixed credit” means an annual bill credit established at the beginning of a participant’s 
participation in a program each year delivered as a monthly credit on each participant’s 
bill.  The fixed credit is the participant’s full annual bill minus the participant’s affordable 
percentage of income payment obligation on the full annual bill. 

(VII) “Full annual bill” means the current consumption of a participant billed at standard 
residential rates.  The full annual bill of a participant is comprised of two parts:  (1) that 
portion of the bill that is equal to the affordable percentage of income payment; and, (2) 
that portion of the bill that exceeds the affordable percentage of income payment. 

(VIII) “LEAP” means Low-Income Energy Assistance Program, a county-run, federally-funded, 
program supervised by the Colorado Department of Human Services, Division of Low-
Income Energy Assistance. 

(IX) “LEAP participant” means a utility customer who at the time of applying to participate in a 
program has been determined to be eligible for LEAP benefits by the Department during 
either:  (1) the Department’s current six-month (November 1 – April 30) LEAP application 
period, if that period is open at the time the customer applies for program participation; 
or, (2) the Department’s most recently closed six-month (November 1 – April 30) LEAP 
application period, if that period is closed at the time the customer applies to participate in 
the program and the Department’s next six-month (November 1 – April 30) LEAP 
application period has not yet opened, provided, however, that in order to retain status as 
a LEAP participant under part (2) of this definition, the utility customer must apply to the 
Department during the Department’s next six-month (November 1 – April 30) LEAP 
benefit application period and be determined eligible for such benefits. 

(X) “Non-participant” means a utility customer who is not receiving low-income assistance 
under rule 3412. 

(XI) “Participant” means an eligible low-income residential utility customer who is granted the 
reasonable preference or advantage through participation in an electric service low-
income program. 

(XII) “Percentage of Income Payment Plan” (or “PIPP”) means a payment plan for participants 
that does not exceed an affordable percentage of their household income as set forth in 
subparagraph 3412(e)(I).  

(XIII) “Program” means an electric service low-income program approved under rule 3412. 

(XIV) “Program credits” means the amount of benefits provided to participants to offset the 
unaffordable portion of a participant’s utility bill and /or dollar amounts credited to 
participants for arrearage forgiveness. 

(XV) “Unaffordable portion” means the amount of the estimated full annual bill that exceeds 
the affordable percentage of income payment. 
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(c) Participant eligibility. Eligible participants are limited to those with a household income at or below 
185 percent of the current federal poverty level and who otherwise meet the eligibility criteria set 
forth in rules of the Colorado Department of Human Services adopted pursuant to § 40-8.5-105, 
C.R.S. 

(I) The utility shall obtain household income information from LEAP. 

(II) If a participant’s household income is $0, the utility may establish a process that verifies 
income on a more frequent basis. 

(III) Program participants shall not be required to make payment on their utility account as a 
condition of entering into the program. 

(d) Enrollment.  Utilities shall be responsible for the methods by which participant enrollment in their 
approved low income program is obtained and sustained, however the utility should engage in 
enrollment processes that are efficient and attempt to maximize the potential benefits of 
participation in the low income program by low income customers. 

(e) Payment plan. 

(I) Participant payments for electric bills rendered to participants shall not exceed an 
affordable percentage of income payment.  The percentage of a participant’s household 
income for which the participant is responsible shall be determined as follows: 

(A) for electric accounts for which electricity is the primary heating fuel, participant 
payments shall be no lower than three percent and not greater than six percent 
of the participant’s household income; and 

(B) for electric accounts for which electricity is not the primary heating fuel, 
participant payments shall be no lower than two percent and not greater than 
three percent of the participant’s household income. 

(II) In the event that a primary heating fuel for any particular participant has been identified 
by LEAP, that determination shall be final. 

(III) Notwithstanding the percentage of income limits established in subparagraph 3412(e)(I), 
a utility may establish minimum monthly payment amounts for participants with 
household income of $0, provided that: 

(A) the participant’s minimum payment for an electric heating account shall be no 
more than $20.00 a month; and 

(B) the participant’s minimum payment for an electric non-heating account shall be 
no more than $10.00 a month. 

(IV) Full annual bill calculation.  The utility shall be responsible for estimating a participant’s 
full annual bill for the purpose of determining the unaffordable portion of the participant’s 
full annual bill delivered as a fixed credit on the participant’s monthly billing statement. 
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(V) Fixed credit benefit.  The fixed credit shall be adjusted during a program year in the event 
that standard residential rates, including commodity or fuel charges change to the extent 
that the full annual bill at the new rates would differ from the full annual bill upon which 
the fixed credits are currently based by 25 percent or more. 

(VI) Levelized budget billing participation.  A utility shall enroll participants in its levelized 
budget billing program as a condition of participation in the program.  Should a participant 
fail to meet monthly bill obligations and be placed by a utility in its regular delinquent 
collection cycle, the utility may remove the participant from levelized budget billing in 
accordance with the utility’s levelized budget billing tariff. 

(VII) Arrearage credits.  

(A) Arrearage credits shall be applied to pre-existing arrearages. 

(B) Arrearage credits shall be sufficient to reduce, when combined with participant 
copayments, if any, the pre-existing arrearages to $0.00 over a period not less 
than one month and not more than twenty-four months. 

(C) Application of an arrearage credit to a participant account may be conditioned by 
the utility on one or more of the following: 

(i) the receipt of regular participant payments toward bills for current usage; 
or 

(ii) the payment of a participant copayment toward the arrearages so long 
as the participant’s copayment total dollar amount does not exceed one 
percent of gross household income. 

(D) Should the participant exit the program prior to the full forgiveness of all pre-
existing arrearages, the amount of remaining pre-existing arrearages shall 
become due in accordance with the utilities tariff filed under rules 3401, 3407, 
and 3408. 

(E) Pre-existing arrears under this subparagraph shall not serve as the basis for the 
termination of service for nonpayment or as the basis for any other utility 
collection activity while the customer is participating in the program.  

(F) A participant may receive arrearage credits under this section even if that 
participant does not receive a credit toward current bills, if the participant enters 
into and maintains a levelized budget billing plan. 

(VIII) Portability of benefits.  A participant may continue to participate without reapplication 
should the participant change service addresses, but remain within the service territory of 
the utility providing the benefit, provided that the utility may make necessary adjustments 
in the levelized budget billing amount to reflect the changed circumstances.  A participant 
who changes service addresses and does not remain within the service territory of the 
utility providing the benefit must reapply to become a participant at the participant’s new 
service address. 
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(IX) Payment default provisions.  Failure of a participant to make his or her monthly bill 
payments will result in a utility placing the participant in its regular collection cycle.  
Missed, partial or late payments shall not result in the removal of a participant from the 
program. 

(f) Program implementation. 

Each utility shall maintain effective terms and conditions in its tariffs on file with the Commission 
containing its low-income program. 

(g) Cost recovery. 

(I) Each utility shall include in its low income tariff terms and conditions how costs of the 
program will be recovered. 

(II) Program cost recovery. 

(A) Program cost recovery shall be based on a fixed monthly fee. 

(B) The maximum impact on residential rates shall be no more than $00.311.00 per 
month. 

(C) In order to determine monthly rates applicable to rate classes other than 
residential, program costs shall be allocated to each retail rate based on each 
rate class’s share of the test year revenue requirement established in the utility’s 
last Phase II rate case, or under another reasonable methodology supported by 
quantifiable information.  The monthly rate per this subparagraph to be charged 
each rate schedule customer shall be clearly stated on a tariff sheet. 

(D) Utilities shall separately account for the cumulative program cost recovery and 
cumulative program and administrative costs to determine if the net of program 
cost recovery and program and administrative cost are in balance during the 
program year. 

(i) By December 31, 2016, utilities shall determine if the total cumulative 
cost recovery amount exceeds total cumulative program and 
administrative costs through September 30, 2016.  If at that time total 
cumulative cost recovery exceeds total cumulative program and 
administrative costs by 50 percent or more, the over collected amount 
shall be refunded to all customers in accordance with rule 3410. 

(ii) Beginning December 31, 2017 and in each year thereafter, the utility 
shall file a report with the Commission in the most recent miscellaneous 
proceeding for annual low-income filings detailing the net difference 
between program cost recovery and program costs as of September 30 
of each year.   

(1) Should the net difference of program cost recovery over program 
costs be greater than 50 percent derived in (ii) above, either 
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positive or negative, and the utility is not currently at the 
maximum impact for non-participants, the utility shall file with the 
Commission an advice letter and tariff pages seeking approval 
for the rates determined in subparagraph 3412(g)(II)(D) in order 
to bring the projected recovery in balance for the ensuing 12 
month period. The revised charge shall not exceed the maximum 
impact for non-participants in subparagraph 3412(g)(II)(C). 

(III) The following costs are eligible for recovery by a utility as program costs: 

(A) program credits or discounts applied against bills for current usage. 

(B) program credits applied against pre-existing arrearages. 

(C) program administrative costs; and  

(D) Commission-sponsored program evaluation costs required under paragraph 
3412(k) 

(IV) The utility shall apply, as an offset to cost recovery, all program expenses attributable to 
the program.  Program expenses include utility operating costs; changes in the return 
requirement on cash working capital for carrying arrearages; changes in the cost of credit 
and collection activities directly related to low-income participants; and changes in 
uncollectable account costs for these participants. 

(V) LEAP grants.   

The utility shall apply energy assistance grants provided to the participant by the LEAP program 
to the dollar value of credits granted to individual program participants. 

(A) A utility shall apply any energy assistance benefit granted to the participant by 
LEAP to that portion of the program participant’s full annual bill that exceeds the 
participant’s affordable percentage of income payment. 

(B) If the dollar value of the energy assistance grant is greater than the dollar value 
of the difference between the program participant’s full annual bill and the 
participant’s affordable percentage of income payment, the dollar amount by 
which the energy assistance grant exceeds the difference will be applied: 

(i) first, to any pre-existing arrearages that at the time of the energy 
assistance grant continues to be outstanding; and 

(ii) second, to the account of the program participant as a benefit to the 
participant. 

(C) No portion of an energy assistance or LEAP grant provided to a program 
participant may be applied to the account of a participant other than the 
participant to whom the energy assistance grant was rendered. 



Attachment A – Adopted Rules in Legislative Format 
Decision No. C20-0899 

Proceeding No. 20R-0537EG 
Page 7 of 9 

 

(D) If an all-electric utility’s low-income customers do not benefit widely from LEAP 
grants, the utility shall not apply the dollar value of credits granted to individual 
LEAP grantees to the dollar value of credits granted to individual program 
participants. 

(h) Other programs.  In addition to the utility’s low-income program, with Commission approval, a 
utility may offer other rate relief options to eligible households. 

(l) Other programs offered by the utility under rule 3412 must be intended to reach low-
income households that do not substantially benefit from the provisions of the low-income 
program.  Such programs may take the form of discount rates, tiered discount rates or 
other direct bill relief methods where the low-income household benefitting from the 
program is granted a reasonable preference in tariffed rates assessed to all residential 
utility customers. 

(ll) Cost recovery for other programs combined with the Percentage of Income Payment Plan 
shall not exceed the maximum impact on residential rates described in subparagraph 
3412(g)(II)(C). 

(i) Energy efficiency and weatherization. 

(I) The utility shall provide all program participants with information on energy efficiency 
programs offered by the utility or other entities and existing weatherization programs 
offered by the state of Colorado or other entities. 

(II) The utility shall provide the Colorado Energy Office with the name and service address of 
participant households for which annual electricity usage exceeds 10,000 kWh annually. 

(j) Stakeholder engagement.  A utility shall conduct annual meetings with low-income stakeholders 
for the purpose of seeking solutions to issues of mutual concern and aligning program practices 
with the needs of customers and other stakeholders. 

(k) Program evaluation.  A triennial evaluation of the program provisions under rule 3412 beginning 
in 2019 shall be undertaken in order to review best practices in similar low-income assistance 
programs in existence in other regulatory jurisdictions, as well as evaluate operation of each 
utility’s program for effectiveness in achieving optimum support being provided to low income 
participants.  The evaluation shall also recommend modifications if available that improve the 
delivery of benefits to participants and increase the efficiency and effectiveness of each program 
as they exist at the point of evaluation. 

(I) Procurement of the third-party vendor that will perform the evaluation will be undertaken 
by the Colorado Energy Office.  The CEO shall seek the involvement of interested 
stakeholders including, but not limited to, Commission staff, all Commission regulated 
electric and gas utilities, LEAP, the Office of Consumer Counsel, and Energy Outreach 
Colorado in the design of the requirements regarding study focus and final reporting. 

(II) Approval of the third-party vendor shall be the responsibility of the Commission. The CEO 
shall file with the Commission in the most recent annual report proceeding, a request for 
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approval of the contract of the vendor selected.  The Commission shall review and act on 
the request within 30 days. 

(III) $00.0013 per customer per month shall be set aside by the utility starting in the 2016-
2017 program year in order to fund the triennial evaluation of the program evaluation 
described in paragraph 3412(k). 

(IV) The dollars resulting from the $00.0013 charge shall be recovered as a program cost 
under subparagraph 3412(f)(IV). 

(V) The evaluation will be filed by Commission staff in the most recent miscellaneous 
proceeding for annual low income filings. 

(VI) Staff and the CEO will assess the individual utilities’ deferred balances set aside for the 
program evaluation starting in 2019 at the conclusion of the third program year and each 
three years thereafter and will determine the amounts each utility is to remit to the third 
party evaluator based on the contractual terms approved by the Commission for the 
evaluation. 

(l) Annual report.  No later than December 31, 2016, each utility shall file a report in the most recent 
miscellaneous proceeding for annual low-income filings using the form available on the 
Commission’s website, based on the seven-month period April 1, 2016 through October 31, 2016, 
and then on November 30 each of the following years, based on each 12-month period ending 
October 31, containing the following information: 

(I) monthly information on the program including number of participants, amount of benefit 
disbursement, type of benefit disbursement, LEAP benefits applied to the unaffordable 
portion of participant’s bills, administrative costs, and revenue collection; 

(II) the number of applicants for the program; 

(III) the number of applicants qualified for the program; 

(IV) the number of participants; 

(V) the average assistance provided, both mean and median; 

(VI) the maximum assistance provided to an individual participant; 

(VII) the minimum assistance provided to an individual participant; 

(VIII) total cost of the program and the average rate impact on non-participants by rate class, 
including impact based on typical monthly consumption of both its residential and small 
business customers; 

(IX) the number of participants that had service discontinued as a result of late payment or 
non-payment, and the amount of uncollectable revenue from participants; 



Attachment A – Adopted Rules in Legislative Format 
Decision No. C20-0899 

Proceeding No. 20R-0537EG 
Page 9 of 9 

 

(X) an estimate of utility savings as a result of the implementation of the program (e.g., 
reduction in trips related to discontinuance of service, reduction in uncollectable revenue, 
etc.); 

(XI) the average monthly and annual total electric consumption in PIPP participants’ homes; 

(XII) the average monthly and annual total electric consumption in the utility’s residential 
customer’s homes; 

(XIII) the number of program participants referred to the weatherization program; 

(XIV) a description of the ways in which the program is being integrated with existing energy 
efficiency of DSM programs offered by the utility; 

(XV) a description of the ways in which the program is being integrated with existing 
weatherization programs offered by the state of Colorado; 

(XVI) a description of program outreach strategies and metrics that illustrate the effectiveness 
of each outreach strategy;  

(XVII) the number of participants at the start of the program year that the utility removed for any 
reason, the number of potential participants rejected because of the existence of a cap 
on the program, the period of arrearage time from date participants became eligible and 
were granted arrearage forgiveness, and the number of participants who came back as 
eligible participants in the program year after being eligible in a prior program year and 
were provided arrearage credits in the program year; and 

(XVIII) a narrative summary of the utility’s recommended program modifications based on report 
findings. 
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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES 

Public Utilities Commission 

4 CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS (CCR) 723-3 

PART 3 
RULES REGULATING ELECTRIC UTILITIES 

      

3412. Electric Service Low-Income Program. 

Electric Service Low-Income Program. 

(a) Scope and applicability.  

(I) Electric utilities with Colorado retail customers shall provide low-income energy 
assistance by offering rates, charges, and services that grant a reasonable preference or 
advantage to residential low-income customers, as permitted by § 40-3-106, C.R.S. 

(II) Rule 3412 is applicable to investor-owned electric utilities subject to rate regulation by the 
Commission. 

(b) Definitions.  The following definitions apply only in the context of rule 3412.  In the event of a 
conflict between these definitions and a statutory definition, the statutory definition shall apply. 

(I) “Administrative cost” means the utility’s direct cost for labor (to include the cost of benefit 
loadings), materials, and other verifiable expenditures directly related to the 
administration and operation of the program not to exceed ten percent of the total cost of 
program credits applied against bills for current usage and pre-existing arrearages or 
$10,000, whichever amount is greater. 

(II) “Affordable percentage of income payment” means the amount of the participant’s annual 
bill deemed affordable under subparagraph 3412(e)(I). 

(III) “Arrearage” means the past-due amount appearing, as of the date on which a participant 
newly enters the program, on the then most recent prior bill rendered to a participant for 
which they received the benefit of service. 

(IV) “Colorado Energy Office” means the Colorado Energy Office created in § 24-38.5-101, 
C.R.S.  

(V) “Eligible low-income customer” means a residential utility customer who meets the 
household income thresholds pursuant to paragraph 3412(c). 
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(VI) “Fixed credit” means an annual bill credit established at the beginning of a participant’s 
participation in a program each year delivered as a monthly credit on each participant’s 
bill.  The fixed credit is the participant’s full annual bill minus the participant’s affordable 
percentage of income payment obligation on the full annual bill. 

(VII) “Full annual bill” means the current consumption of a participant billed at standard 
residential rates.  The full annual bill of a participant is comprised of two parts:  (1) that 
portion of the bill that is equal to the affordable percentage of income payment; and, (2) 
that portion of the bill that exceeds the affordable percentage of income payment. 

(VIII) “LEAP” means Low-Income Energy Assistance Program, a county-run, federally-funded, 
program supervised by the Colorado Department of Human Services, Division of Low-
Income Energy Assistance. 

(IX) “LEAP participant” means a utility customer who at the time of applying to participate in a 
program has been determined to be eligible for LEAP benefits by the Department during 
either:  (1) the Department’s current six-month (November 1 – April 30) LEAP application 
period, if that period is open at the time the customer applies for program participation; 
or, (2) the Department’s most recently closed six-month (November 1 – April 30) LEAP 
application period, if that period is closed at the time the customer applies to participate in 
the program and the Department’s next six-month (November 1 – April 30) LEAP 
application period has not yet opened, provided, however, that in order to retain status as 
a LEAP participant under part (2) of this definition, the utility customer must apply to the 
Department during the Department’s next six-month (November 1 – April 30) LEAP 
benefit application period and be determined eligible for such benefits. 

(X) “Non-participant” means a utility customer who is not receiving low-income assistance 
under rule 3412. 

(XI) “Participant” means an eligible low-income residential utility customer who is granted the 
reasonable preference or advantage through participation in an electric service low-
income program. 

(XII) “Percentage of Income Payment Plan” (or “PIPP”) means a payment plan for participants 
that does not exceed an affordable percentage of their household income as set forth in 
subparagraph 3412(e)(I).  

(XIII) “Program” means an electric service low-income program approved under rule 3412. 

(XIV) “Program credits” means the amount of benefits provided to participants to offset the 
unaffordable portion of a participant’s utility bill and /or dollar amounts credited to 
participants for arrearage forgiveness. 

(XV) “Unaffordable portion” means the amount of the estimated full annual bill that exceeds 
the affordable percentage of income payment. 
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(c) Participant eligibility. Eligible participants are limited to those with a household income at or below 
185 percent of the current federal poverty level and who otherwise meet the eligibility criteria set 
forth in rules of the Colorado Department of Human Services adopted pursuant to § 40-8.5-105, 
C.R.S. 

(I) The utility shall obtain household income information from LEAP. 

(II) If a participant’s household income is $0, the utility may establish a process that verifies 
income on a more frequent basis. 

(III) Program participants shall not be required to make payment on their utility account as a 
condition of entering into the program. 

(d) Enrollment.  Utilities shall be responsible for the methods by which participant enrollment in their 
approved low income program is obtained and sustained, however the utility should engage in 
enrollment processes that are efficient and attempt to maximize the potential benefits of 
participation in the low income program by low income customers. 

(e) Payment plan. 

(I) Participant payments for electric bills rendered to participants shall not exceed an 
affordable percentage of income payment.  The percentage of a participant’s household 
income for which the participant is responsible shall be determined as follows: 

(A) for electric accounts for which electricity is the primary heating fuel, participant 
payments shall be no lower than three percent and not greater than six percent 
of the participant’s household income; and 

(B) for electric accounts for which electricity is not the primary heating fuel, 
participant payments shall be no lower than two percent and not greater than 
three percent of the participant’s household income. 

(II) In the event that a primary heating fuel for any particular participant has been identified 
by LEAP, that determination shall be final. 

(III) Notwithstanding the percentage of income limits established in subparagraph 3412(e)(I), 
a utility may establish minimum monthly payment amounts for participants with 
household income of $0, provided that: 

(A) the participant’s minimum payment for an electric heating account shall be no 
more than $20.00 a month; and 

(B) the participant’s minimum payment for an electric non-heating account shall be 
no more than $10.00 a month. 

(IV) Full annual bill calculation.  The utility shall be responsible for estimating a participant’s 
full annual bill for the purpose of determining the unaffordable portion of the participant’s 
full annual bill delivered as a fixed credit on the participant’s monthly billing statement. 
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(V) Fixed credit benefit.  The fixed credit shall be adjusted during a program year in the event 
that standard residential rates, including commodity or fuel charges change to the extent 
that the full annual bill at the new rates would differ from the full annual bill upon which 
the fixed credits are currently based by 25 percent or more. 

(VI) Levelized budget billing participation.  A utility shall enroll participants in its levelized 
budget billing program as a condition of participation in the program.  Should a participant 
fail to meet monthly bill obligations and be placed by a utility in its regular delinquent 
collection cycle, the utility may remove the participant from levelized budget billing in 
accordance with the utility’s levelized budget billing tariff. 

(VII) Arrearage credits.  

(A) Arrearage credits shall be applied to pre-existing arrearages. 

(B) Arrearage credits shall be sufficient to reduce, when combined with participant 
copayments, if any, the pre-existing arrearages to $0.00 over a period not less 
than one month and not more than twenty-four months. 

(C) Application of an arrearage credit to a participant account may be conditioned by 
the utility on one or more of the following: 

(i) the receipt of regular participant payments toward bills for current usage; 
or 

(ii) the payment of a participant copayment toward the arrearages so long 
as the participant’s copayment total dollar amount does not exceed one 
percent of gross household income. 

(D) Should the participant exit the program prior to the full forgiveness of all pre-
existing arrearages, the amount of remaining pre-existing arrearages shall 
become due in accordance with the utilities tariff filed under rules 3401, 3407, 
and 3408. 

(E) Pre-existing arrears under this subparagraph shall not serve as the basis for the 
termination of service for nonpayment or as the basis for any other utility 
collection activity while the customer is participating in the program.  

(F) A participant may receive arrearage credits under this section even if that 
participant does not receive a credit toward current bills, if the participant enters 
into and maintains a levelized budget billing plan. 

(VIII) Portability of benefits.  A participant may continue to participate without reapplication 
should the participant change service addresses, but remain within the service territory of 
the utility providing the benefit, provided that the utility may make necessary adjustments 
in the levelized budget billing amount to reflect the changed circumstances.  A participant 
who changes service addresses and does not remain within the service territory of the 
utility providing the benefit must reapply to become a participant at the participant’s new 
service address. 
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(IX) Payment default provisions.  Failure of a participant to make his or her monthly bill 
payments will result in a utility placing the participant in its regular collection cycle.  
Missed, partial or late payments shall not result in the removal of a participant from the 
program. 

(f) Program implementation. 

Each utility shall maintain effective terms and conditions in its tariffs on file with the Commission 
containing its low-income program. 

(g) Cost recovery. 

(I) Each utility shall include in its low income tariff terms and conditions how costs of the 
program will be recovered. 

(II) Program cost recovery. 

(A) Program cost recovery shall be based on a fixed monthly fee. 

(B) The maximum impact on residential rates shall be no more than $1.00 per 
month. 

(C) In order to determine monthly rates applicable to rate classes other than 
residential, program costs shall be allocated to each retail rate based on each 
rate class’s share of the test year revenue requirement established in the utility’s 
last Phase II rate case, or under another reasonable methodology supported by 
quantifiable information.  The monthly rate per this subparagraph to be charged 
each rate schedule customer shall be clearly stated on a tariff sheet. 

(D) Utilities shall separately account for the cumulative program cost recovery and 
cumulative program and administrative costs to determine if the net of program 
cost recovery and program and administrative cost are in balance during the 
program year. 

(i) By December 31, 2016, utilities shall determine if the total cumulative 
cost recovery amount exceeds total cumulative program and 
administrative costs through September 30, 2016.  If at that time total 
cumulative cost recovery exceeds total cumulative program and 
administrative costs by 50 percent or more, the over collected amount 
shall be refunded to all customers in accordance with rule 3410. 

(ii) Beginning December 31, 2017 and in each year thereafter, the utility 
shall file a report with the Commission in the most recent miscellaneous 
proceeding for annual low-income filings detailing the net difference 
between program cost recovery and program costs as of September 30 
of each year.   

(1) Should the net difference of program cost recovery over program 
costs be greater than 50 percent derived in (ii) above, either 
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positive or negative, and the utility is not currently at the 
maximum impact for non-participants, the utility shall file with the 
Commission an advice letter and tariff pages seeking approval 
for the rates determined in subparagraph 3412(g)(II)(D) in order 
to bring the projected recovery in balance for the ensuing 12 
month period. The revised charge shall not exceed the maximum 
impact for non-participants in subparagraph 3412(g)(II)(C). 

(III) The following costs are eligible for recovery by a utility as program costs: 

(A) program credits or discounts applied against bills for current usage. 

(B) program credits applied against pre-existing arrearages. 

(C) program administrative costs; and  

(D) Commission-sponsored program evaluation costs required under paragraph 
3412(k) 

(IV) The utility shall apply, as an offset to cost recovery, all program expenses attributable to 
the program.  Program expenses include utility operating costs; changes in the return 
requirement on cash working capital for carrying arrearages; changes in the cost of credit 
and collection activities directly related to low-income participants; and changes in 
uncollectable account costs for these participants. 

(V) LEAP grants.   

The utility shall apply energy assistance grants provided to the participant by the LEAP program 
to the dollar value of credits granted to individual program participants. 

(A) A utility shall apply any energy assistance benefit granted to the participant by 
LEAP to that portion of the program participant’s full annual bill that exceeds the 
participant’s affordable percentage of income payment. 

(B) If the dollar value of the energy assistance grant is greater than the dollar value 
of the difference between the program participant’s full annual bill and the 
participant’s affordable percentage of income payment, the dollar amount by 
which the energy assistance grant exceeds the difference will be applied: 

(i) first, to any pre-existing arrearages that at the time of the energy 
assistance grant continues to be outstanding; and 

(ii) second, to the account of the program participant as a benefit to the 
participant. 

(C) No portion of an energy assistance or LEAP grant provided to a program 
participant may be applied to the account of a participant other than the 
participant to whom the energy assistance grant was rendered. 
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(D) If an all-electric utility’s low-income customers do not benefit widely from LEAP 
grants, the utility shall not apply the dollar value of credits granted to individual 
LEAP grantees to the dollar value of credits granted to individual program 
participants. 

(h) Other programs.  In addition to the utility’s low-income program, with Commission approval, a 
utility may offer other rate relief options to eligible households. 

(l) Other programs offered by the utility under rule 3412 must be intended to reach low-
income households that do not substantially benefit from the provisions of the low-income 
program.  Such programs may take the form of discount rates, tiered discount rates or 
other direct bill relief methods where the low-income household benefitting from the 
program is granted a reasonable preference in tariffed rates assessed to all residential 
utility customers. 

(ll) Cost recovery for other programs combined with the Percentage of Income Payment Plan 
shall not exceed the maximum impact on residential rates described in subparagraph 
3412(g)(II)(C). 

(i) Energy efficiency and weatherization. 

(I) The utility shall provide all program participants with information on energy efficiency 
programs offered by the utility or other entities and existing weatherization programs 
offered by the state of Colorado or other entities. 

(II) The utility shall provide the Colorado Energy Office with the name and service address of 
participant households for which annual electricity usage exceeds 10,000 kWh annually. 

(j) Stakeholder engagement.  A utility shall conduct annual meetings with low-income stakeholders 
for the purpose of seeking solutions to issues of mutual concern and aligning program practices 
with the needs of customers and other stakeholders. 

(k) Program evaluation.  A triennial evaluation of the program provisions under rule 3412 beginning 
in 2019 shall be undertaken in order to review best practices in similar low-income assistance 
programs in existence in other regulatory jurisdictions, as well as evaluate operation of each 
utility’s program for effectiveness in achieving optimum support being provided to low income 
participants.  The evaluation shall also recommend modifications if available that improve the 
delivery of benefits to participants and increase the efficiency and effectiveness of each program 
as they exist at the point of evaluation. 

(I) Procurement of the third-party vendor that will perform the evaluation will be undertaken 
by the Colorado Energy Office.  The CEO shall seek the involvement of interested 
stakeholders including, but not limited to, Commission staff, all Commission regulated 
electric and gas utilities, LEAP, the Office of Consumer Counsel, and Energy Outreach 
Colorado in the design of the requirements regarding study focus and final reporting. 

(II) Approval of the third-party vendor shall be the responsibility of the Commission. The CEO 
shall file with the Commission in the most recent annual report proceeding, a request for 
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approval of the contract of the vendor selected.  The Commission shall review and act on 
the request within 30 days. 

(III) $00.0013 per customer per month shall be set aside by the utility starting in the 2016-
2017 program year in order to fund the triennial evaluation of the program evaluation 
described in paragraph 3412(k). 

(IV) The dollars resulting from the $00.0013 charge shall be recovered as a program cost 
under subparagraph 3412(f)(IV). 

(V) The evaluation will be filed by Commission staff in the most recent miscellaneous 
proceeding for annual low income filings. 

(VI) Staff and the CEO will assess the individual utilities’ deferred balances set aside for the 
program evaluation starting in 2019 at the conclusion of the third program year and each 
three years thereafter and will determine the amounts each utility is to remit to the third 
party evaluator based on the contractual terms approved by the Commission for the 
evaluation. 

(l) Annual report.  No later than December 31, 2016, each utility shall file a report in the most recent 
miscellaneous proceeding for annual low-income filings using the form available on the 
Commission’s website, based on the seven-month period April 1, 2016 through October 31, 2016, 
and then on November 30 each of the following years, based on each 12-month period ending 
October 31, containing the following information: 

(I) monthly information on the program including number of participants, amount of benefit 
disbursement, type of benefit disbursement, LEAP benefits applied to the unaffordable 
portion of participant’s bills, administrative costs, and revenue collection; 

(II) the number of applicants for the program; 

(III) the number of applicants qualified for the program; 

(IV) the number of participants; 

(V) the average assistance provided, both mean and median; 

(VI) the maximum assistance provided to an individual participant; 

(VII) the minimum assistance provided to an individual participant; 

(VIII) total cost of the program and the average rate impact on non-participants by rate class, 
including impact based on typical monthly consumption of both its residential and small 
business customers; 

(IX) the number of participants that had service discontinued as a result of late payment or 
non-payment, and the amount of uncollectable revenue from participants; 
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(X) an estimate of utility savings as a result of the implementation of the program (e.g., 
reduction in trips related to discontinuance of service, reduction in uncollectable revenue, 
etc.); 

(XI) the average monthly and annual total electric consumption in PIPP participants’ homes; 

(XII) the average monthly and annual total electric consumption in the utility’s residential 
customer’s homes; 

(XIII) the number of program participants referred to the weatherization program; 

(XIV) a description of the ways in which the program is being integrated with existing energy 
efficiency of DSM programs offered by the utility; 

(XV) a description of the ways in which the program is being integrated with existing 
weatherization programs offered by the state of Colorado; 

(XVI) a description of program outreach strategies and metrics that illustrate the effectiveness 
of each outreach strategy;  

(XVII) the number of participants at the start of the program year that the utility removed for any 
reason, the number of potential participants rejected because of the existence of a cap 
on the program, the period of arrearage time from date participants became eligible and 
were granted arrearage forgiveness, and the number of participants who came back as 
eligible participants in the program year after being eligible in a prior program year and 
were provided arrearage credits in the program year; and 

(XVIII) a narrative summary of the utility’s recommended program modifications based on report 
findings. 
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