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INTRODUCTION 

This document contains an overview of the requirements for accessing the ballot as a State House 

candidate in Colorado.   

Use this guide as a reference tool only. Always refer to the United States Constitution, Colorado 

Constitution, and Colorado Revised Statutes for applicable laws.   

BASIC QUALIFICATIONS  

 

 

 

Age 25 years [Article V, Section 4, Colorado Constitution] 

State Residence 12 months [Article V, Section 4, Colorado Constitution] 

District Residence 12 months [Article V, Section 4, Colorado Constitution] 

US Citizen Yes [Article V, Section 4, Colorado Constitution] 

Length of Term 2 years [Article V, Section 3, Colorado Constitution] 

Number of Terms 4 terms [Article XVIII, Section 11, Colorado Constitution] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



State House of Representatives – Candidate Guide 

  

Revised 07/28/2023  Page 4 of 17 
 

BECOME A CANDIDATE 

Step 1: Are you qualified? 

Candidates must meet the basic qualifications for office.  

Step 2:  Campaign finance laws and rules 

Candidates must understand and comply with the following provisions:  

• Colorado Campaign and Political Finance rules 

• Colorado Constitution Article XXVIII (Amendment 27) and, 

• Title 1, Article 45, C.R.S. (Fair Campaign Practices Act)  

Step 3:  Publicly announce your intent to run for office  

A person becomes a candidate, for campaign finance purposes, once the person has publicly 

announced and thereafter has received a contribution or made an expenditure in support of the 

candidacy.  For more information regarding Publicly announcing, please review the Campaign 

and Political Finance rules available in the Colorado Campaign and Political Finance manual. 

Step 4:  Register a candidate committee OR are you a standalone candidate? 

If you intend to accept contributions, you must register a candidate committee.  

If you will not be accepting contributions (only spending your own money) in support of your 

candidacy, you are not required to register a committee and are therefore a standalone 

candidate.  All candidates are required to file a Candidate Affidavit through the TRACER website 

(see more details in Step 6).   

Step 5:  Receive or spend money in support of your candidacy 

You become a candidate when you publicly announce your intent to run for office AND 

THEREAFTER receive a contribution or make an expenditure in support of your candidacy. 

Unless you are a standalone candidate, you must register (through TRACER) a candidate 

committee before receiving any type of monetary or non-monetary contribution.  

Step 6:  File a candidate affidavit and voluntary spending acceptance, if applicable 

Within 10 days of becoming a candidate: 

1. Complete the Candidate Affidavit form, which you must file electronically. [Section 2(2), 
Article XXVIII of the Colorado Constitution] [1-45-110(1) C.R.S.] [Campaign Finance Rule 2.3]  
 
The affidavit is an attestation that you are familiar with campaign finance laws and 
regulations, so be sure to read the laws before submitting. 

https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/qualifications.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/rule_making/rules.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/rule_making/rules.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/info_center/laws/ArticleXXVIII.html
https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/CampaignFinance/files/CPFManual.pdf
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/standalone.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/standalone.html
https://tracer.sos.colorado.gov/CampaignFinance/Filings/CF-1_NoticeofOrganization_SearchCand.aspx?Public=A1Z2Y7B3-7901-567W-C1PU-8V5EU9ERSI10&CSRT=18165360676173266719
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2. If applicable, complete the Voluntary Spending Limits Acceptance section of the candidate 
affidavit. [Section 4(3) and 9(1)(c), Article XXVIII of the Colorado Constitution]  
 
If you choose to accept voluntary spending limits (VSL), you must indicate your acceptance 
on the candidate affidavit at the SAME time as your initial submission of the affidavit.  The 
acceptance of VSL is irrevocable except under very specific instances.  To learn more about 
VSL, please review the Colorado Campaign and Political finance manual.   

Step 7:  File a personal financial disclosure or update  

Within 10 days of submitting your candidate affidavit: 

1. Complete the Personal Financial Disclosure Statement (PDF)  
 
OR 
 
If you have previously submitted a personal financial disclosure statement, complete the 
Update Statement (PDF).     
 
Updates are due within 30 days of any change. [1-45-110(2)(a) & 24-6-202 C.R.S.] 

Note:  Incumbents, seeking re-election, that timely file their annual PFD due on or before 
January 10th of each year are not required to file a new PFD assuming no changes have 
occurred since the annual filing.   

2. Personal Financial Disclosure Statements or Updated Statements MUST be filed by email to 
cpfhelp@coloradosos.gov. 

Step 8:  File campaign finance disclosure reports 

Campaign finance disclosure reports must be filed timely to avoid penalties.   

View the filing calendars 

Step 9:  Need help with Campaign Finance or the TRACER website 

Contact Campaign Finance Support by email at cpfhelp@coloradosos.gov or by phone at       

303-894-2200 (dial 3, then 1). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/CampaignFinance/forms/CPF_PFD.pdf
https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/CampaignFinance/forms/CPF_PFD_UPDATE.pdf
mailto:cpfhelp@coloradosos.gov
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/CampaignFinance/filingCalendar.html
mailto:cpfhelp@coloradosos.gov
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BALLOT ACCESS OPTIONS 

ASSEMBLY DESIGNATION –  MAJOR PARTY 

Step 1: Eligibility for nomination 

Candidates must meet the basic qualifications for office. 

A candidate must be registered as affiliated with that party no later than the first business day in 

January of the election year, unless otherwise provided in party bylaws. [1-4-601(4)(a), C.R.S.]  

Candidates who wish to gain ballot access through the party assembly must receive at least 30% 

of the votes cast by assembly delegates present and voting for that specific office at the party 

assembly. [1-4-601(2), C.R.S.]  

Proof of registration and affiliation qualifications will be as shown in the statewide voter 

registration system. [1-4-601(2) & 1-4-601(4)(a), C.R.S.] 

Step 2: Contact your political party 

Candidates are required to contact their political party to provide notice of their candidacy. The 

political party can also provide information about assembly date and times, party protocol, 

announcements, party campaign rules, etc. [1-4-601, C.R.S.] 

Political Party Information 

Step 3: Assembly process 

Candidates may be designated for the primary election ballot during their party’s congressional 

district or state assembly, which must be held no later than 73 days before the primary election. 

[1-4-601(1), C.R.S.]  

A candidate needs at least 30% of the votes cast to be placed on the primary election ballot.     

[1-4-601(2), C.R.S.]  

If no candidate receives at least 30% of the votes cast, a second ballot must be cast.  If on the 

second ballot, no candidate receives at least 30% of the votes cast, the two candidates receiving 

the highest number of votes will be placed on the primary election ballot. [1-4-601(2), C.R.S.] 

Step 4: Submit certificate of designation form  

Complete the Certificate of Designation (PDF) form. It must be signed by the chair or secretary 
of the party. 

Mail, hand deliver, email, or fax the designation form to: 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/qualifications.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/PoliticalPartyDirectory.html
https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/AssemblyDesignation.pdf
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Colorado Secretary of State – Elections Division 
Attention:  Ballot Access 
1700 Broadway, Suite 550 
Denver, CO 80290 
Email: ballot.access@coloradosos.gov  
Fax: 303-869-4861 
 
The original or emailed/faxed copy must be filed with the Secretary of State’s office no later 
than four days after adjournment of the assembly.  If the form is sent electronically, the original 
must also be filed and postmarked no later than 10 days after adjournment of the assembly.                      
[1-4-604(3), C.R.S.] 

Step 5: Submit candidate acceptance form  

Complete the Candidate Acceptance of Assembly Designation (PDF) form and have it notarized. 
[1-4-601(3)(a), C.R.S.]  
The candidate acceptance form must state the candidate’s name the way it will appear on the 
ballot. Candidate names cannot contain any title or degree designating the business or 
profession of the candidate. [1-4-601(3)(a) & 1-5-407(4), C.R.S.]  

Mail, hand deliver, email or fax the acceptance form to: 
 
Colorado Secretary of State – Elections Division 
Attention:  Ballot Access 
1700 Broadway, Suite 550 
Denver, CO 80290 
Email: ballot.access@coloradosos.gov  
Fax: 303-869-4861 
 
The original or emailed/faxed copy must be filed with the Secretary of State’s office no later 
than four days after adjournment of the assembly.  If the form is sent electronically, the original 
must also be filed and postmarked no later than 10 days after adjournment of the assembly.                      
[1-4-601(3)(a), C.R.S.] 

Step 6: Submit audio recording  

A candidate audio recording must be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office no later than 

four days after the adjournment of the assembly. The audio recording must state the 

candidate’s name exactly as it appears on the candidate acceptance form, as this is how the 

candidate’s name will appear on the ballot. [SOS Election Rule 4.6.1]  

Audio Recording Instructions. 

Step 7: Name placed on primary election ballot 

 

 

 

mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/StateRepAcceptance.pdf
mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/AudioRecordingInstructions.html
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ASSEMBLY DESIGNATION –  MINOR PARTY 

Step 1: Eligibility for nomination 

Candidates must meet the basic qualifications for office. 

A candidate must be registered as affiliated with that party no later than the first business day 

of January of the election year, unless otherwise provided in party bylaws.                                    

[1-4-1304(2)(b), C.R.S.]  

Candidates who wish to gain ballot access through the party assembly must receive at least 30% 

of the votes cast by assembly delegates present and voting for that specific office at the party 

assembly. [1-4-1304(1.5)(b)(II), C.R.S.]  

Minor party candidates nominated by assembly are placed on the general election ballot unless 

there is more than one candidate for that office nominated by assembly and/or petition; then 

the candidates are placed on the primary ballot. [1-4-1304(1.5)(c) & (d), C.R.S.]  

Proof of registration and affiliation qualifications will be as shown in the statewide voter 

registration system. [1-4-1304(2)(b), C.R.S.]  

Step 2: Contact your political party 

Potential candidates should contact their party to determine the exact date and time of the 

assembly. The political party will be able to answer questions about party protocol, 

announcements, party campaign rules, etc. [1-4-1304(1.5)(b)(I), C.R.S.] 

Political Party Information 

Step 3: Assembly process 

Candidates may be designated for the ballot during their party’s assembly, which must be held 

no later than 73 days before the primary election. [1-4-1304(1.5)(b)(I), C.R.S.]  

A candidate needs at least 30% of the votes cast to be placed on the primary election ballot.     

[1-4-1304(1.5)(b)(II), C.R.S.]  

If, after the assembly, there are multiple candidates for an office (either because two candidates 

received at least 30% of the assembly votes, or at least one candidate has been designated for 

that office by petition), the candidates must be nominated by primary election.                           

[1-4-1304(1.5)(c), C.R.S.]  

Step 4: Submit certificate of designation form  

Complete the Certificate of Designation (PDF) form. It must be signed by the chair or secretary 
of the party. 

Mail, hand deliver, email, or fax the certificate of designation to: 
 

http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/qualifications.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/PoliticalPartyDirectory.html
https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/AssemblyDesignation.pdf
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Colorado Secretary of State – Elections Division 
Attention:  Ballot Access 
1700 Broadway, Suite 550 
Denver, CO 80290 
Email: ballot.access@coloradosos.gov  
Fax: 303-869-4861 
 
The original or faxed/emailed copy of the designation form must be filed with the Secretary of 
State’s office no later than four days after the adjournment of the assembly.                                
[1-4-1304(3), C.R.S.] 

Step 5: Submit candidate acceptance form  

Complete the Candidate Acceptance of Assembly Designation (PDF) form and have it notarized. 
[1-4-1304(4), C.R.S.]  
  
The candidate acceptance form must state the candidate’s name the way it will appear on the 
ballot. Candidate names cannot contain any title or degree designating the business or 
profession of the candidate. [1-5-407(4), C.R.S.]  

Mail, hand deliver, email, or fax the acceptance form to: 
 
Colorado Secretary of State – Elections Division 
Attention:  Ballot Access 
1700 Broadway, Suite 550 
Denver, CO 80290 
Email: ballot.access@coloradosos.gov 
Fax: 303-869-4861 
 
The original or emailed/faxed copy must be filed with the Secretary of State’s office no later 
than four business days after adjournment of the assembly.  If the form is sent electronically, 
the original must also be filed and postmarked no later than 10 days after adjournment of the 
assembly. [1-4-1304(4), C.R.S.] 

Step 6: Submit audio recording  

A candidate audio recording must be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office no later than 

four days after the adjournment of the assembly. The audio recording must state the 

candidate’s name exactly as it appears on the candidate acceptance form, as this is how the 

candidate’s name will appear on the ballot. [SOS Election Rule 4.6.1]  

Audio Recording Instructions. 

Step 7: Name placed on ballot 

Minor party candidates nominated by assembly are placed on the general election ballot unless 

there is more than one candidate for that office nominated by assembly and/or petition; then 

the candidates are placed on the primary ballot. [1-4-1304(1.5)(c) & (d), C.R.S.]  

 

mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/StateRepAcceptance.pdf
mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/AudioRecordingInstructions.html
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CANDIDATE PETITION – MAJOR PARTY 

Step 1: Eligibility for nomination and petition circulation 

Candidates must meet the basic qualifications for office. 

A candidate must be affiliated with the political party no later than the first business day in 

January of the election year. [1-4-801(3), C.R.S.]  

A candidate that attempted and failed to receive 10% of the votes cast for a particular office at 

the party assembly is not eligible to run by petition on behalf of the same political party and 

office. [1-4-801(4), C.R.S.]  

Proof of registration and affiliation qualifications will be as shown in the statewide voter 

registration system. [1-4-801(3), C.R.S.]  

In order to be eligible to circulate a petition, a person must be a citizen of the United States and 

at least 18 years of age. [1-4-905(1), C.R.S.]  

Step 2: Petition signature requirements 

Only eligible electors registered as affiliated with the political party for at least 22 days and 

residing within the district for which the petition is being circulated may sign the petition. An 

elector may not sign more than one candidate’s petition for the same office.                                 

[1-4-904(2)(a), C.R.S.]  

The petition for a state house candidate must contain the lesser of 1,000 signatures or 

signatures equal to 30% of the votes cast in the district at the contested or uncontested primary 

election for the political party’s candidate for the office for which the petition is being circulated 

or, if there was no primary election, at the last preceding general election for which there was a 

candidate for the office. [1-4-801(2)(b), C.R.S.] 

Step 3: Receive petition format approval  
 

Petition formats must be approved by the Secretary of State’s office prior to circulation.           
[1-4-903, C.R.S.]  

Contact the Secretary of State’s office at 303-894-2200 x6333 or at 

ballot.access@coloradosos.gov to learn about the petition format approval process.  

Step 4: Start circulating petition 

Once your petition format is approved, you can begin circulating the petition on the third 

Tuesday in January of the general election year (January 16, 2024).  [1-4-801(5), C.R.S.]  

Step 5: Submit petition and candidate acceptance form 

The completed petition must be filed no later than the third Tuesday in March of the general 

election year (March 19, 2024).  [1-4-801(5), C.R.S.]  

http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/qualifications.html
mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
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1. Complete the Candidate Acceptance of Petition Nomination (PDF) form and have it 
notarized. [1-4-906, C.R.S.]  
 
The form must state the candidate’s name the way it will appear on the ballot. Candidate 
names cannot contain any title or degree designating the business or profession of the 
candidate. [1-4-906 & 1-5-407(4), C.R.S.]  
  

2. Submit the notarized acceptance with the completed petition. [1-4-906, C.R.S.] 

3. Hand deliver together the petition and candidate acceptance form to:  
 
Colorado Secretary of State – Elections Division 
Attention:  Ballot Access 
1700 Broadway, Suite 550 
Denver CO, 80290 

*Please contact the Secretary of State’s office at 303-894-2200 x6333 or 
ballot.access@coloradosos.gov for more information on procedures for submitting 
petitions. 

Step 6: Signature verification, cure, and notice of sufficiency or insufficiency  

Petition signatures will be verified by the Secretary of State’s office. If found to be sufficient, the 

petition will be deemed valid, unless a protest is made in writing within five days after the 

statement of sufficiency is issued. [1-4-908 & 1-4-909, C.R.S.]  

During the petition review, the Secretary of State’s office will notify candidates of any errors or 
insufficiencies in the circulator affidavits. Upon receipt of such notification, candidates have five 
calendar days to cure the errors by submitting a new circulator affidavit that corrects the 
mistakes.  [1-4-912(2), C.R.S.]  

During the petition review, the Secretary of State’s office will notify candidates of any signer 

signatures that do not match the signatures in the voter registration records. Upon receipt of 

such notification, candidates have three calendar days to cure the mismatched signatures by 

submitting a form provided by our office that is completed by the signer and a copy of the 

signer’s identification.  [1-4-908, C.R.S.] 

The Secretary of State’s office will notify you of your petition’s sufficiency or insufficiency in 

writing. For a faster response, please provide an email address where we can send the 

statement of sufficiency/insufficiency. 

Step 7: Submit audio recording 

A candidate audio recording must be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office no later than 

the third Tuesday in March of the general election year (March 19, 2024). The audio recording 

must state the candidate’s name exactly as it appears on the candidate acceptance form, as this 

is how the candidate’s name will appear on the ballot. [SOS Election Rule 4.6.1]  

Audio Recording Instructions 

 

https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/StateRepPetitionAcceptance.pdf
mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/AudioRecordingInstructions.html
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Step 8: Name placed on primary election ballot 

CANDIDATE PETITION – MINOR PARTY 

Step 1: Eligibility for nomination and petition circulation 

Candidates must meet the basic qualifications for office. 

A candidate must be affiliated with the political party no later than the first business day in 

January of the election year. [1-4-802(1)(g)(II), C.R.S.]  

Proof of registration and affiliation qualifications will be as shown in the statewide voter 

registration system. [1-4-802(1)(g)(II), C.R.S.]  

In order to be eligible to circulate a petition, a person must be a citizen of the United States and 

at least 18 years of age. [1-4-905(1), C.R.S.]  

Step 2: Petition signature requirements 

Only eligible electors within the district or political subdivision may sign the petition. An elector 

may not sign more than one candidate’s petition for the same office.                                              

[1-4-802(1)(c) & 1-4-904(1), (2)(b), C.R.S.] 

The petition for a state house of representatives candidate must contain the lesser of 1,000 

signatures or signatures equal to 5% of the votes cast in the house district at the most recent 

general election for the office.  [1-4-802(1)(c)(V), C.R.S.] 

Step 3: Receive petition format approval  
 

Petition formats must be approved by the Secretary of State’s office prior to circulation.           
[1-4-903, C.R.S.]  

Contact the Secretary of State’s office at 303-894-2200 x6333 or at 

ballot.access@coloradosos.gov to learn about the petition format approval process.  

Step 4: Start circulating petition 

Once your petition format is approved, you can begin circulating the petition on the first 

Monday in February of the general election year (February 5, 2024). [1-4-802(1)(d)(II), C.R.S]  

Step 5: Submit petition and candidate acceptance form 

The completed petition must be filed no later than 85 days before the primary election (April 1, 

2024).  [1-4-802(1)(f)(II), C.R.S.] 

1. Complete the Candidate Acceptance of Petition Nomination (PDF) form and have it 
notarized. [1-4-906, C.R.S.]  
 
The form must state the candidate’s name the way it will appear on the ballot. Candidate 
names cannot contain any title or degree designating the business or profession of the 
candidate. [1-4-906 & 1-5-407(4), C.R.S.]  

http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/qualifications.html
mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/StateRepPetitionAcceptance.pdf
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2. Submit the notarized acceptance form with the completed petition. [1-4-906, C.R.S.]  

3. Hand deliver together the petition and candidate acceptance form to: 
 
Colorado Secretary of State – Elections Division 
Attention:  Ballot Access 
1700 Broadway, Suite 550 
Denver CO, 80290 

*Please contact the Secretary of State’s office at 303-894-2200 x6333 or 
ballot.access@coloradosos.gov for more information on procedures for submitting 
petitions. 

Step 6: Signature verification, cure, and notice of sufficiency or insufficiency  

Petition signatures will be verified by the Secretary of State’s office. If found to be sufficient, the 

petition will be deemed valid, unless a protest is made in writing within five days after the 

statement of sufficiency is issued. [1-4-908 & 1-4-909(1), C.R.S.]  

During the petition review, the Secretary of State’s office will notify candidates of any errors or 
insufficiencies in the circulator affidavits. Upon receipt of such notification, candidates have five 
calendar days to cure the errors by submitting a new circulator affidavit that corrects the 
mistakes. [1-4-912(2), C.R.S.]  

During the petition review, the Secretary of State’s office will notify candidates of any signer 

signatures that do not match the signatures in the voter registration records. Upon receipt of 

such notification, candidates have three calendar days to cure the mismatched signatures by 

submitting a form provided by our office that is completed by the signer and a copy of the 

signer’s identification. [1-4-908, C.R.S.] 

The Secretary of State’s office will notify you of your petition’s sufficiency or insufficiency in 

writing. For a faster response, please provide an email address where we can send the 

statement of sufficiency/insufficiency. 

Step 7: Submit audio recording 

A candidate audio recording must be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office no later than 

85 days before the primary election (April 1, 2024). The audio recording must state the 

candidate’s name exactly as it appears on the candidate acceptance form, as this is how the 

candidate’s name will appear on the ballot. [SOS Election Rule 4.6.1]  

Audio Recording Instructions 

Step 8: Name placed on ballot 

Minor party candidates nominated by petition are placed on the general election ballot unless 

there is more than one candidate for that office nominated by assembly and/or petition; then 

the candidates are placed on the primary ballot. [1-4-1304(1.5)(c) & (d), C.R.S.]  

 

mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/AudioRecordingInstructions.html
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CANDIDATE PETITION - UNAFFILIATED 

Step 1: Eligibility for nomination and petition circulation 

Candidates must meet the basic qualifications for office. 

A candidate must be registered as unaffiliated no later than the first business day in January of 

the election year. [1-4-802(1)(g)(II), C.R.S.]  

Proof of registration and affiliation qualifications will be as shown in the statewide voter 

registration system. [1-4-802(1)(g)(II), C.R.S.]  

In order to be eligible to circulate a petition, a person must be a citizen of the United States and 

at least 18 years of age. [1-4-905(1), C.R.S.]  

Step 2: Petition signature requirements 

Only eligible electors within the district or political subdivision may sign the petition. An elector 

may not sign more than one candidate’s petition for the same office.                                              

[1-4-802(1)(c) & 1-4-904(1), 2(b), C.R.S.]  

The petition for a state house of representatives candidate must contain the lesser of 1,000 

signatures or signatures equal to 5% of the votes cast in the house district at the most recent 

general election for the office.  [1-4-802(1)(c)(V), C.R.S.] 

Step 3: Receive petition format approval 

Petition formats must be approved by the Secretary of State’s office prior to circulation.           
[1-4-903, C.R.S.]  

Contact the Secretary of State’s office at 303-894-2200 x6333 or at 

ballot.access@coloradosos.gov to learn about the petition format approval process.  

Step 4: Start circulating petition 

Once your petition format is approved, you can begin circulating the petition on the 173rd day 

before the general election (May 16, 2024). [1-4-802(1)(d)(I), C.R.S.] 

Step 8: Submit petition and candidate acceptance form 

The completed petition must be filed no later than 3 p.m. on the 117th day before the general 

election (July 11, 2024). [1-4-802(1)(f)(I), C.R.S.]  

1. Complete the Candidate Acceptance of Petition Nomination (PDF) form and have it 
notarized. [1-4-906, C.R.S.]  
 
The form must state the candidate’s name the way it will appear on the ballot. Candidate 
names cannot contain any title or degree designating the business or profession of the 
candidate. [1-4-906 & 1-5-407(4), C.R.S.]  

2. Submit the notarized acceptance with the completed petition. [1-4-906, C.R.S.]  

http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/qualifications.html
mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/StateRepPetitionAcceptance.pdf
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3. Hand deliver together the petition and candidate acceptance form to: 
 
Colorado Secretary of State – Elections Division 
Attention:  Ballot Access 
1700 Broadway, Suite 550 
Denver CO, 80290 

*Please contact the Secretary of State’s office at 303-894-2200 x6333 or 
ballot.access@coloradosos.gov for more information on procedures for submitting 
petitions. 

Step 6: Signature verification, cure, and notice of sufficiency or insufficiency  

Petition signatures will be verified by the Secretary of State’s office and a declaration of 

sufficiency or insufficiency will be made no later than 96 days before the general election 

(August 1, 2024).  [1-4-908(3), C.R.S.] 

During the petition review, the Secretary of State’s office will notify candidates of any errors or 
insufficiencies in the circulator affidavits. Upon receipt of such notification, candidates have five 
calendar days to cure the errors by submitting a new circulator affidavit that corrects the 
mistakes.  [1-4-912(2), C.R.S.]  

During the petition review, the Secretary of State’s office will notify candidates of any signer 

signatures that do not match the signatures in the voter registration records. Upon receipt of 

such notification, candidates have three calendar days to cure the mismatched signatures by 

submitting a form provided by our office that is completed by the signer and a copy of the 

signer’s identification. [1-4-908, C.R.S.] 

We will notify you of your petition’s sufficiency or insufficiency in writing. For a faster response, 

please provide an email address where we can send the statement of sufficiency/insufficiency. 

Step 7: Submit audio recording 

A candidate audio recording must be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office no later than 3 

p.m. 117 days before the primary election (July 11, 2024).  The audio recording must state the 

candidate’s name exactly as it appears on the candidate acceptance form, as this is how the 

candidate’s name will appear on the ballot. [SOS Election Rule 4.6.1]   

Audio Recording Instructions 

Step 8: Name placed on general election ballot 

WRITE-IN 

Step 1: Eligibility for write-in 

Candidates must meet the basic qualifications for office. 

Proof of registration and affiliation qualifications will be as shown on the candidate’s voter 

registration record. [1-4-501(1), C.R.S.]  

mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/AudioRecordingInstructions.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/qualifications.html
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Step 2: Submit affidavit of intent 

File a Write-in Affidavit with the Secretary of State’s office. [1-4-1101(1), C.R.S.] 
 
The form must be filed no later than the close of business on the 67th day before the primary 
election (April 19, 2024) or by the close of business 110 days before the general election (July 
18, 2024). [1-4-1102(1), C.R.S.] 
  
Mail, hand deliver, email, or fax write-in affidavits to: 
 
Colorado Secretary of State – Elections Division 
Attention:  Ballot Access 
1700 Broadway, Suite 550 
Denver, CO 80290 
Email: ballot.access@coloradosos.gov  
Fax: 303-869-4861 

Step 3: Name placed on eligible write-in list for the primary or general election 

AUDIO RECORDING INSTRUCTIONS 

Why do I need to submit an audio recording? 

In order to meet the required standards for accessible voting equipment, all county clerks in the state of 

Colorado must produce an audio ballot. The audio recording must contain the correct pronunciation of 

each candidate’s name. 

How do I submit my audio recording? 

Our office has set up a voicemail box specifically for this purpose. 

• Dial 303-894-2200. 

• Dial extension 6314. 

• After the voice prompt, clearly state your:  

o Name (as it will appear on the ballot; it must match the name you provided on your 

candidate acceptance form) 

o Office and jurisdiction if applicable (for example, State House District 5) 

o Party affiliation (not required for the nonpartisan office of RTD and judgeships) 

• Press “#” when your message is complete. 

• Follow the prompts to review/edit or complete/send your recording. 

 

 

https://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/WriteinAffidavitStateRep.pdf
http://devapp.sos.state.co.us/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/Write-inAffidavit.pdf
http://devapp.sos.state.co.us/pubs/elections/Candidates/files/Write-inAffidavit.pdf
mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
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USEFUL LINKS 

Check your voter registration information 

Political party contact information 

Ballot access forms 

Campaign finance information and TRACER 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

Questions about accessing the ballot: 303-894-2200 x6333 
     ballot.access@coloradosos.gov 
 
Questions about campaign finance: 303-894-2200 (dial 3 then 1) 
     cpfhelp@coloradosos.gov  
 
Colorado Secretary of State’s website: www.coloradosos.gov  

 

https://www.coloradosos.gov/voter/pages/pub/olvr/findVoterReg.xhtml
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/PoliticalPartyDirectory.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/PoliticalPartyDirectory.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/Candidates/FormsList.html
http://www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/elections/CampaignFinance/home.html
mailto:ballot.access@coloradosos.gov
mailto:cpfhelp@coloradosos.gov
https://www.coloradosos.gov/

